Renault Talisman brings Korean charm to the Chinese

This is the Talisman, another product of the Franco-Korean alliance Renault Samsung Motors that premiered yesterday at Auto China 2012. For the ever-brand-conscious Chinese market, this car wears a Renault badge but is actually otherwise the same as the Renault Samsung SM7, which went on sale in Korea last year.

A Nissan-sourced V6 engine will be offered in 2.5-litre and 3.5-litre displacements, which respectively produce 187 and 254 hp. Drive is sent to the front wheels via either a CVT or six-speed tiptronic gearbox.

Renault CEO Carlos Ghosn declares the Talisman the company’s flagship in China and emphasises the significance of the car’s launch into this fast-growing market. The mid-size sedan is built in the South Korean city of Busan, and Chinese buyers will be able to get their hands on the exports by June, costing them in the region of 300,000 RMB (RM150,000).

Renault have so far been unsuccessful in their attempts to join forces with a Chinese manufacturer to build cars in China. Let’s hope this Talisman will be their lucky charm.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• nebula87 on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:09 pm

i first thought Toyota Camry…=.=

• Truth on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Boring car, with interesting name

• Unforgiven on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Do we have cars lover in M’sia? How much do you think we have lost in this Global World?
    How many cars have been enjoyed by the developing countries (Thailand/Vietnam/India/etc)…

Proton may be sucking even more money from the tax payers (mainly those who are not paying the zakat), especially when they get delisted, things will be done covered up. Yet, they are still protected, and we still need to pay much more for a car (with 9 yrs loan).

The person who indirectly getting advantages from others, should just go to hell. You should know who you are, god will punish you one day.

• Truth on Apr 25, 2012 at 3:20 am

Dun wait for God, do it now. You guys all know what to do !
      Don’t talk about it, be about it!

• Unforgiven on Apr 28, 2012 at 7:40 pm

We may need a leader to Bersih it first, so that we just need to pay max RM150k for this car…

• Paparazzi on Apr 25, 2012 at 12:01 am

I’m awfully sorry for off topic, I wonder why everytime send my car to service, sure lost something, my new car wash shampo, car perfume…all this kind of shit happened.

• waheng on Apr 25, 2012 at 8:38 pm

only this service center located Batu 3 ¾, Jln Kelang Lama which i always send in…

• Look at other countries….even singapore ppl launch their new car there…..malaysia we have only naza motor show….haih

• Is it important? Singapore has big org kaya2, china lubuk dunia, india low cost small car, US large money spender, indonesia big untap market, thai the car manufacture there.

Japan oso nobody “world debut their car” except local auto…same like bolehland

• Unforgiven on Apr 28, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Once the car industry is Bersih, you’ll know what most M’sian are driving…