Bufori’s flagship Geneva makes China debut in Beijing

Bufori has officially launched its flagship Geneva model in China with a debut at the ongoing Beijing show. The Geneva, which made its world debut at Geneva 2010, is like nothing else on earth – the big car features a 6.4 litre engine, powered rear-hinged coach doors, adjustable air suspension and a luxurious cabin.

The unit displayed in Beijing was specially hand crafted for Tan Sri Yeoh Tiong Lay, founder of YTL Corporation. Not able to decide what to give a man who has everything, the Yeoh family commissioned Bufori to build a car that became the precursor of the Bufori Geneva.

Like them, Chinese customers will be able to personalise the Geneva to their exact requirements. An unlimited choice of interior trim colours and combinations, wood veneers, exterior paint colours and combinations will be available.

One of the highlights of the Geneva is its rear centre console, which can accommodate a coffee machine, mini-bar, fridge and even a fine bone China tea set with instant hot and cold water, among other things.

This is another milestone for the Malaysian-based company, after the recent opening of its flagship showroom in Shanghai. Bufori’s expansion in China will continue with the opening of dealerships in Beijing, Chengdu and Shenzhen.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• China Low Quality Cars on Apr 26, 2012 at 9:30 am

This will fail in China as China, being Asian culture, only want branded names. Things such as Bentley, RR, Porsche, BMW, Mercedes all will sell. Things like Rolex will sell.
    Armani, Versace, LV all will sell.

Chinese are like the Hong Kong people, brand is so so important to them.

New upcoming brands are sure to fail.

• awesome on Apr 26, 2012 at 10:17 am

bufori is not a new brand at all, they started in Australia in 1987 something and move to Malaysia in 1994. the mark-vi (geneva) is their 6th model. their 2nd car price is much higher than a new one, each one is with its own interior trim n leather finishing and the seat is designed to the drivers size and driving style.

their showroom in china is line up with the other luxury branded showroom such as bentley and RR.

• How can they ‘fail’ when their order books from China are already FULL?

• awesome on Apr 26, 2012 at 12:46 pm

agree, they have like almost of 2 year of units booked and paid already. for now i think they are producing about below 20 car units a year. each car can almost be a million near ringgit.

• superman on Apr 26, 2012 at 3:27 pm

do you believe them? I recall full order books in Geneva!!!!

• I don’t think it makes any difference to them or anyone what I believe. All I know is they’ve been around for many years and are still building cars right from from our own backyard and exporting Malaysian made cars overseas. Definitely good for GNP.

Whatever I believe, they are at the Beijing show which is huge and they were at other world shows in the past. Any Malaysian company that speaks through action gets my vote. I prefer this than all other Malaysian pipe dream or has-been projects that have folded before they even opened their doors. Remember TVR.. Esna Venere etc.. ?

• awesome on Apr 26, 2012 at 5:35 pm

well just think like this, the china market is bigger n gigantic than us, for sure there will be orders from there and thats why they opened a dealer n showroom there.

*the last pagani zonda was produced 12-10 units a year, and it is still going good and come up with a new model after these years. this is boutique car maker and they already full at hand i think.

• miaomiao on Apr 26, 2012 at 10:16 am

If I could, I would make this polite but I can’t.

Bufori cars are ugly. especially the silver one.

It has a spider eye, a pig nose, a duck backside…

• awesome on Apr 26, 2012 at 12:44 pm

the spider eyes mimics the vintage styling that they had on the previous models, that grill is kinda big but it suits their front end heritage (the previous models are much smaller cars but this on is a big car so does the front grill is suited to its large size) and a duck tail rear is very iconic to the streamline design that is in the 30s of automobile history especially the american market, in term of aerodynamic this flow of form does make the car efficient and faster.

• miaomiao on Apr 26, 2012 at 3:14 pm

I know how a classic car looks like.

Jaguar did a pretty good job at making a modern looking classical car. This Bufori on the other hand is an eye sore. Again, I am no designer but I am expressing what I feel.

Bentley and Roll Royce did a good job too at reinterpreting classical cars in a modern style.

And you don’t need to be a chef to know what good food is.

• awesome on Apr 26, 2012 at 5:30 pm

agree with u, on the other side bufori could do better but i think they are restarting again their business and this model is the most modern approach that they did, maybe the future model would look better. maybe its good to ave a pool vote right? (lol from here we can see its exterior design is so-so)

*among the big point with this kind of car segment its not only the exterior design but also the interior design which is truly personalize and comfort. the car also packed with the latest driving tech and ICE.

• Katak on Apr 26, 2012 at 10:37 am

Wow, I’m seriously katak bawah tempurung, this is from Malaysia!!! Are the designers Malaysian too? Or just production only? Design wise, err… no comment lar. Different people different taste.

• awesome on Apr 26, 2012 at 12:45 pm

yup 100% malaysian except for the company owner but i think he already have a malaysian id. all in kepong, they also have their own race car and race team. but the race car doesnt look to vintage like this

• Jolly_idiot on Apr 26, 2012 at 10:59 am

The girl is nice but not the car.

• Money can’t buy taste apparently

• jolly_idiot on Apr 26, 2012 at 11:34 am

We should say rich man have no taste. or they have special taste?

• carnoisseur on Apr 26, 2012 at 12:16 pm

I would applaud Bufori for trying and i must say some of the previous models (not the girl ) look better but this one needs some refinement because it now looks like a sterile coffin ,just my two cents worth !

• carazy on Apr 26, 2012 at 1:20 pm

are u so serious, this car exterior so fugly, no words can describe it.. not my cup of tea

• serious on Apr 26, 2012 at 1:46 pm

the one behind geneva looks better.

• superman on Apr 26, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Mr Awesome, are you a bufori salesman or employee? you seem to always have an answer to all negative remarks on bufori.

• awesome on Apr 26, 2012 at 5:32 pm

i am just avid wiki reader lol…and i also had studied car design.. for me bufori can do better, just gave them time and good critics

• NONICKNAME on Apr 26, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Malaysian will only praised Myvi, no matter the interior or exterior is fugly. Nak beli toyota x mampu, beli Myvi je la sbb DNA Toyota

• DArkerMarker on Apr 26, 2012 at 11:21 pm

the front grille looks like coffin…..

• even the model looks elegant and gorgeous

• Leonardo on Apr 27, 2012 at 12:50 pm

In order to off-set the ugly car, Bufori management have to hire a beautiful model to distract potential buyers! LOL.