Hyundai Langdong launched in China – it’s the Elantra MD

Hyundai, whose joint venture in China is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, unveiled the Elantra Langdong at the ongoing Beijing show. Langdong, which can be translated as a “dynamic (car) for the young, new generation,” is based on the C-segment ‘MD’ Elantra, but with a more conventional chrome bar grille. Which face do you prefer?

As with our Elantra, Hyundai’s 1.6L (Gamma) and 1.8L (Nu) MPI engines with D-CVVT will be offered on Langdong. With six-speed automatic and manual transmissions, and Active ECO driving mode, Hyundai claims best in class fuel economy in China.

Premium features include a navigation system, dual-zone auto air con, ventilated/heated powered seats, push start button, side airbags and a tyre pressure monitoring system, among other things.

Also, Hyundai will introduce its Blue Link infotainment system in the Langdong. Blue Link offers a variety of features such as safety and maintenance alerts, navigation and remote control. This Blue Link service will be introduced throughout the brand’s range in China this year.

The Langdong will be produced at Hyundai’s new, third plant in Beijing in the second half of 2012. Currently under construction, the plant will raise Hyundai’s maximum production capacity in China to one million units.

Click here for our local launch report and here for our review of the Elantra.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• _xXx_ on Apr 26, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Interesting. How much is this Langdong 1.6M?

• Ash Menon on Apr 26, 2012 at 2:16 pm

No thanks, I’m already used to crazy front fascias by Hyundai. This looks very….Toyota in comparison.

I don’t get why automakers always tailor make their models for the Chinese market, especially now that so many of them tout the whole ‘global car’ approach. What is it about the Chinese market that demands that their cars look different?

• Josh Ling on Apr 26, 2012 at 5:03 pm

When you find out that your can easily sell tens of thousands or even tens of thousands units of cars in a market, you will be more than happy to fulfill whatever the market demands, even if they demand a steering wheel full of diamond crusts, i think you will “oblige” it with a joyful heart…..

• batman on Apr 26, 2012 at 2:30 pm

bro, china now the biggest car market in the world..so they have the power to request for their own style..manufacturers will follow as long as their cars sells

• hyundai onwer on Apr 26, 2012 at 9:22 pm

China car are cheaper than us. A MG6 turbo cost RM 70k.But,to register a number plate for shanghai will cost u RM30k as per this month. And monthly increase of RM500.So, to gain market share car company will join venture with China local car manufacturer. At here,most of taxi are VW.

• that’s why China can even demand for an elongated F30!

• confused on Apr 26, 2012 at 3:10 pm

I prefer this front fascia.. Subtle yet elegant..

• Hyundai_KW on Apr 26, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Not bad, at least we still able to see the hyundai badge rather than our “i” badge, with a overpriced tag…

• They also get much more exciting features for the interior…. compared to our “I” product!

• I wish our Elantra MD will have side airbags and a tyre pressure monitoring system, among other things. Why Sime Darby is not providing those?

• Unforgiven on Apr 27, 2012 at 1:00 am

Do we have cars lover in M’sia? How much do you think we have lost in this Global World?
    How many cars have been enjoyed by the developing countries (Thailand/Vietnam/India/etc)…

Proton may be sucking even more money from the tax payers (mainly those who are not paying the zakat), especially when they get delisted, things will be done covered up. Yet, they are still protected, and we still need to pay much more for a car (with 9 yrs loan).

The person who indirectly getting advantages from others, should just go to hell. You should know who you are, god will punish you one day.

• serious on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:14 am

that front design looks ok too.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:43 am

Whay Not Name it Hyundai Lontong :-P

• ss427 on Apr 27, 2012 at 9:55 am

Guys, do see this report on Hyundai record operating profit

Notice their CEO is now gunning for BMW and Mercedes Benz and they’re making sure Hyundai will have the finest products to compete with these Germans brands…

Haha and some of you guys were arguing Hyundai’s main competitor is Proton… haha :D Hyundai doesn’t even give much damn to the Japs these days cos they know they’re on a roll and their products are better than the Japs…

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story/A1Story20120427-342355.html

• armandd on Apr 27, 2012 at 1:39 pm

I think the styling is too ‘busy’, with too many lines. Preve looks better in comparison, simple yet smart. This is just my own opinion..

• yak…..pui!! why a sporty car like MD can be transformed to a Camry looked UNCLE’s car!!

• beruk88 on Apr 28, 2012 at 6:28 pm

ok wat. mind you “slap you” will definitely sell better than lan-e.