Audi Approved :plus – Audi now sells pre-owned cars

Audi will officially open their doors to the company’s first pre-owned vehicle centre tomorrow, April 28. Called Audi Approved :plus, the centre is located beside Audi Glenmarie 3S Centre and it is created to meet the demand for quality pre-owned Audi cars.

The premises cover the area of 1,500 square feet and can hold up to 20 cars on the showroom floor at any given time. Plans for expansion are in the works.

The Audi Approved :plus programme ensures that customers buy with peace of mind. Each car sold will have a mileage of less than 100,000 km and are less then three years. All vehicles sold here will come with certified and documented assessment history and will have to pass a 110-multi point check by Audi technicians.

Factors about the car that will be scrutinized are mechanical, bodywork, interior and electrical components. The car will also undergo a full road test to detect any irregularities and will be corrected with Audi Genuine Parts. Only cars that tick all the boxes will get the Audi Approved seal and consecutively sold.

In addition, pre-owned cars sold under this programme will have a minimum six-month warranty, 24-hour Audi Roadside Assistance together an attractive financing and insurance package.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• A positive step in the right direction I suppose but they should definitely increase the warranty period for new Audi car. 2 years warranty period is seriously a big joke.

Even BMW and Mercedes is going for 4 years. Koreans are giving 5 years and even Peugeot and Volkswagen is giving 5 years warranty now. 5 years should be the standard for Audi if they’re hoping to compete with BMW or Mercedes here.

With more improvements maybe the secondhand value will increase. As it is, the secondhand value of an used Audi is really poor coupled with expensive and hard to find spare parts.

• droll on Apr 27, 2012 at 5:04 pm

spare parts for audi not difficult to find. you just need to know the parts supplier in malaysia.

• If you say spare parts are hard to find, that would only means that you intend to go through non-Audi workshop. If you say parts are expensive, then yes they are and you can’t afford it now if you have to mention it. And if you further have to mention about re-sale value, then the car is not for you.

• Comparing the sales with other luxury makes, I think the reason why is pretty obvious. So it’s not for a lot of people too. Duh.

• Jimmy on Apr 27, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Yup, if you have not reached the standard of ignoring re-sale value and spare part prices, then you should not buy luxurious cars like Merc/BMW/Audi. You better buy Lexus SUV which you can later rebadge as Toyota Harrier and get good resale value. That is why driving a Lexus is always not as glamourous and respectable as driving a Merc/BMW/Audi.
        So rich people buy RR/Bentley because she has good resale value and cheap spare parts/mantainence?
        If you are rich enough, you buy the cars that you love.

• BMW Fan on Apr 27, 2012 at 4:25 pm

“Pre-owned cars sold under this programme will have a minimum six-month warranty”

Minimum should be 1-year la. Otherwise how to compete with BMW’s Pre-owned Programme?

• Lim Kopi on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Agreed ….6 months is just not sincere enough from Euromobil….

Audi cars are not exactly problem free …. they require certain amount of care, like a BMW.

• Kevin Lee on Apr 27, 2012 at 4:26 pm

hopefully audi comes ipoh!

• niuhje on Apr 27, 2012 at 4:30 pm

there is hope after all…

• don^don on Apr 27, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Audi will officially open their doors to the company’s first pre-owned vehicle centre tomorrow, April 28 2011.

time machine? April 28 2011?

• good move…! they shud look at expanding their 3S, 4S centres to compete with other Euro marqs..

• rear light on Apr 27, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Price?

• droll on Apr 27, 2012 at 5:05 pm

you can expect price to be slightly above what the 2nd hand market out there is pushing. i’m guessing this is because they will use the reason of “fully tested, guarantee good, etc etc and has 6 months warranty”.

• Major T-roll on Apr 27, 2012 at 5:34 pm

What abt Audi A5 4 door model?

• seancorr on Apr 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Another good move by Audi here in Malaysia. As other members pointed out the 2 year warranty for a new car is a joke. BMW offers 3 and Merc now offers 4 years. Any wise man buying a German car would go for a BMW or Merc.

The pre-owned cars should have 1 year warranty like the others pointed out. C’mon we’re paying top dollar for it! Hopefully the price for the pre-owned models boleh tahan la.

As for the service centres…indeed they are lacking in terms of locations offered. Audi seriously needs to expand their 3S centres.

• venven81 on Apr 29, 2012 at 9:18 am

when Euromobil is the one managing the marque here, that is the expectation la. THEY ARE NOT BL@RDY AGGRESSIVE! sigh…

• I wonder how much will the re-sale values of the cars after going through this channel ? Only for lovers of all things Audis that happily collect cars, or for men going through mid-life crisis, wanting to re-affirm their manliness, and possibly can barely afford it. *Tongue firmly in cheek*

• Jimmy on Apr 27, 2012 at 11:21 pm

True. It is shameful to own a pre-owned luxurious car, so it is to own a re-cond one.
      Remember to put proper dealer’s name on your car number plate to show that you bought a brand new one throught proper channel.

• albag on Apr 28, 2012 at 8:59 am

i believe owning these cars is like owning a brand new german car as well <_<

pre-owned konon…

• hway de Cruz on Apr 28, 2012 at 10:02 am

would be better if they put in a 24mth warranty ofr the pre-owned since they claim these cars get 110 mulkti-points checks by audi technicians. otherwise, their 110 multi-point checks do not really mean much. or do they really do the 110 multi-point checks? or not confident enuf of audi built quality?

• Still cannot afford my dreamcar Audi A4 and new A6, really regret last time didnt study hard…some of my schoolfrens earning five figure incomes..

• jhuan on Apr 29, 2012 at 1:15 pm

so what if you really study hard?

Few of my classmates that are setting up companies with sales revenue more than million ringgits are those who always ponteng class during college days, haha. Merc/BMW/Audi indeed are choice of cars, never bother about re-sale value. Anyway, company accountants will help them to do the rest in terms of depreciation etc. And yes, change car every 2-3 years. Period!

Study hard does not always guarantee success in life. Nowaday education system only teach one to become a very very good ’employee’ as they do not encourage learning thru’ mistake, no creativity, do not how to seize oppurtunities when it arrives.

Sorry, off-topic.

• Black Dog on Apr 28, 2012 at 3:00 pm

compared with thousands who buy pre-owned (Recon) cars from kampong AP holders without any warranty at all….

• Llani on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:48 pm

wah so much class! You all drunk Chadoanay too ah? If you drive a 4 year old Audi and you paid 400k for it and someone buys a 4 year second hand Audi for 250k, it’s same lo. Both are 4 year olds. Or you buy from returning kampong students with AP, it’s still the same. I fly business class but I look for the cheapest airlines, so looking for a luxury car with low maintenance is not odd.

• Mariappan on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:06 pm

My son is a pilot by profession.He owns an Audi A4 1.8T.Already 2 years and it gives a super performance.Oil change recommended for every 15K km.The service centre staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about Audi cars.He used to travel frequently to out station and really enjoys the ride.So far his problem was the Audi original tires whereby it gets torn easily when any sharp object inflicted into it.If u do not halt the car immediately,or else you have to replace the tire which will be costly.I wish to know whether there is any robust tires available in the market which can be fitted for Audi A4 1.8T.

T

• Mariappan a/l Perianan on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:08 pm

I thought I am required to provide my full name.