Volkswagen Polo R Line – gets more aggressive styling

Soon-to-be Volkswagen Polo owners in the UK have another trim to consider. The Polo R Line builds on the Polo Match trim, which replaced the SE and Moda trims in the UK.

The R Line gives the Polo a sportier styling pack. It consists of a deeper, more aggressive R Line front and rear bumpers, a black gloss radiator grille with R Line badging, deeper side sills and 16-inch ‘Mallory’ alloy wheels. The rear windows are dark-tinted with a 65% light-absorbing material. As for the foglights, it gets the static cornering function.

The R Line also extends inside beginning with the aluminium scuff plates with R Line logos. Sports seats are wrapped in ‘Kyalami’ cloth and the R Line logo are displayed into the headrests. The three-spoke steering is wrapped in leather, again with the R Line logo incorporated into it. Two more changes come in the form of aluminium-capped pedals and the roof is finished in black cloth lining.

Not to be confused with Volkswagen R cars, which are the hottest versions of its respective range, the R Line only tweaks the trim and styling. Which is why only one engine will be getting the R Line treatment: the 1.2-litre 105 PS TSI paired with a six-speed manual gearbox.

Prices on the road start at £15,195 for the three-door model and £15,815 for the five-door versions. Volkswagen UK has opened orders for the car with first deliveries expected in July.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• pravin5267 on Apr 30, 2012 at 10:29 am

Lagi power pagi best!

• Psychology of Man on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:43 pm

The other day, a Golf GTi wanted to race with me at the traffic light. He was revving his engine and looking at me. When the lights turned green, he sped off as if he wanted me to chase him. I drive a BMW 323i. I just let the guy speed off. I could see him looking at his rear mirror to see my reaction. I just drove slowly.

This VW guy and probably most VW guys are just wannabes. They want to prove to BMW owners that their machine is far advanced than the BMW I presume. I think its a serious form of inferiority complex. I asked several people and they too have seen this kind of racing behaviour in Golf owners. I hope the JPJ can come up with classes to educate the public that

a) Our roads are not for racing
      b) There is no need to be a wannabe in this world. Buy what you can afford and be proud of it.
      c) There is no real competition or rat race amongst adults. Having a bigger or smaller car does not make you a bigger or smaller man.

• Zippy Polo on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:50 pm

To your comment of most VW guys are just wannabes, I think is very unfair of you to say that….I drive a Polo and I get cucuk alot by Myvis…. what do you wanna say about that? All myvis are wannabes and suffering from inferiority complex? Inferiority complex can appear in you cos your beemer cost more but you got out perform by a VW…… sighhhh!!!!

And I must say your eyes sight must be super bright n sharp to be able to see the Golf owner looking at you from his rear mirror….. you must be also tailing him closely otherwise I dont think you can see his eyes looking back at you if he would have sped of either from your left or right….

I guess the Golf owner probably want to play with you….and dont tell me you dont have any of this urge to gun yr beemer once in awhile and is all well and fine if you choose not to entertain…after all yours are far more superior machine then the Golf or VW as claimed by a few people here….

I love to drive my VW and I dont have to prove to anyone what it can do …..I just do it as and when I feel like it…..DAS AUTO

• Against Racing On Roads on May 02, 2012 at 9:19 am

Zippy Polo, you just prove what has been said by Psychology of Man. Its sad people like you that make our roads a race track. (You said…and dont tell me you dont have any of this urge to gun yr beemer once in awhile)

Only a child will speak like you. Our roads are for adults and if you want to race, you to a proper race track. People like you cause deaths and accidents.

• Zippy Polo on May 02, 2012 at 11:36 am

Assured me that you dont AT ALL have a quick sprint in whatever your are driving….. then I think yr comment is valid.(are you riding on a bicycle? and even that sometime you do have the urge to cycle fast)
            I dont drive un responsibly (cant even categorize myself as racing here ) ….i know when and best to do it all all times so I dont harm anyone and by the way… who is talking about racing here ….. a quick sprint once awhile on a open clear road to me is perfectly fine, you can rest assured I dont agree to cutting in and out of traffic in a racing manner and thus endangering road user (you get that alot in those heavily mod cars) ….By the way… I have been driving for 26yrs…. and I am still enjoying my 55% till date and never been fined for speeding accept for parking ticket…

So dont openly accused me of causing death on the road…..by the way… I hope you are not 1 of those that drive slowly …. do you know slow drivers do cause accident too….esp those driving slowly on the far right lane….and refuse to move to the left …. and give other drivers no choice but to overtake on the left… and endangering everybody else…..

By the way….. the reason I comment in here is mostly because PoM made quite a generalized remark on VW owners…. He shd have ended at “this VW guy” …….and leave the ” most VW owners” out.

• Against Racing On Roads, don’t argue with them, arrogance young chiku will never listen to advise.

• Not only young chiku love to racing even some Auntie r driving so fast now ! cut in or cut out and never turn signal lights ! also some young ppl r driving slow and normal !

• Mohd Khamis on May 03, 2012 at 9:32 am

Zippy Polo, from how you write I can deduce you are just a wannabe also. Grow up! Even though its your father’s money, our roads are public roads and safety is of utmost importance.

• Zippy Polo on May 03, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Md Khamis,

I am sorry to say that your are another judgmental freak…. with loose canon..

I earn every sen on my own…. and who are you to assume that I got the car from my dad…. even if I do get the car from my dad it would be a damm good choice……

You got the choice to own one……..only an envious person would think like you….. just because you see another person probably younger that you drive a golf or Polo and you start to think Ahhhh daddy’s money….I think you need to wake up and smell the roses….. and GROW UP

• What do you expect from them when most of them are childish young chiku.

• Mohd Khamis on May 03, 2012 at 9:35 am

Young chikus, just want to0 prove to the world they have money but instead use fathers money to buy Polo or Golf.

• VW Self Realisation. on Apr 30, 2012 at 10:31 am

Great to hear this but I am really concerned with VW owners in Malaysia. I notice a hint of arrogance. They think their car is happening and is “up there”. They even dare to claim their car is in the same league of Mercedes and BMW. I appeal to all vW owners in Malaysia to rethink their superiority complex. The VW brand all over the world is just a “normal” car. Its like Proton in Malaysia. There is nothing great about VW. I have no idea why in Malaysia, VW owners syiok sendiri and think their car is happening. Just because your car is expensive you cannot equate it to Mercedes or BMW. Its expensive because your local dealership is screwing you up, that’s all. In Europe, the VW car is so cheap and common. In UK for instance, all the Mini Cab drivers use Passat, VW owners like to rebut by saying in Europe Mercedes and BMW are taxis too but let me inform VW owners that they are taxis because taxi drivers don’t mind forking out a huge amount of money because they are super durable and gives at least 25 years of service.

• PetrolLeg on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:52 am

To be fair, actually you cannot really blame people now who can ‘afford’ or so called ‘afford’, we have been deprived of choices for like 2 decades, I believed during our parents time they have actually driven much of continental makes such as FIAT, BMW, ALFA, AUDI, and of course VW isn’t new in Malaysia. It is only came the time when so called national car and all other policies start coming into place which of course lopsided us to their makes.

I agree there is nothing great about VW but to many now, it is a new step, understanding these owners you gotta turn back time, they were probably once owners of national makes, and so as the market eases and have more choices, they switch to Japanese, and now most of these Japanese owners have moved to VW. Asked any sales representatives of VW and they can tell you that majority are previous owners of Japanese makes.

As for having the idea of equate to BMW or Mercedes, I would say it is the next best alternative.

Also you can fault anyone who syiok sendiri, for those people who comments about this, and if they can afford someday, they have to also be called syiok sendiri. Be fair, I’m very sure many who are national car makes owners once also cursed at those people who drives more premium cars than theirs and also dream of owning something better.

• The Enthusiast on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:56 pm

“Be fair, I’m very sure many who are national car makes owners once also cursed at those people who drives more premium cars than theirs and also dream of owning something better.”

That’s a bit condescending don’t you think?

• VW Kolot Car on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I have to agree. The Golf Owners are so cocky. They drive also so lansi. So action. You try to switch lane, if Gold owner other lane, he tekan faster to block you

• That happens to all makes dude

• PetrolLeg on May 01, 2012 at 5:11 pm

It doesn’t have to be VW owners that the ‘Lansi’ juju comes out, I agree with Roy, wind the clock back 15 years ago, not many continental on the road, look left or right you see nothing much but wira, perdana and iswara, some who had extra boost meters though no turbo, lansi already, exhaust pipe bigger a bit lansi already, more bass than some, lansi already. Even kancil cars put evolution skirting, lansi already. So think about it, you don’t have to own a VW to be lansi, it is in your blood and not all VW people are like that. What about civic owners? 3 series people? Come on! Everyone is different, if you are born lansi, what ever F car you drive, your bloody attitude shows.

• PetrolLeg says:

Agree…

• Canaanite on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:44 pm

u r absolutely right.
          I encountered these golf GTi dungus many time and every time I smoked their arse miles away lol.
          btw I m a cruiser of Megane RS…

• Wak Dogol on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Wat so special abt Renault Megane RS250? it just the same class with vw golf gti.. nothing special ok..

• Your King on May 03, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Megane RS!? A big LOL Smoked it tons of time in Sepang , Useless piece of junk and understeer all the time off the track.

• Yes I fully agreed with you. Some GTI drivers always think they are king of the road. I had a most satisfying experience since I had my Mazda MPS when I met a GTI one day in Kesas. With no intention of racing I came right behind a GTI on the fast lane at around 120kmh. I really have no intention to race and just waiting for him to give way. He floored his car as i can see some carbon spurting out frm the exhaust…but within seconds I was in front of him an pulling away. I m not trying to show off how fast my MPS can go but just want to tell many arrogant GTI owners ( not all as i know there are many good owners too) that there are still many much faster cars out there. I gave way when I m not driving fast and just enjoy my car when there is a chance to do so.

• Simon Ng on Apr 30, 2012 at 12:37 pm

You said
      ” I am really concerned with VW owners in Malaysia”

How does it concern you when VW owners think like what you have described? I am asking because I might be affected too. :-)

• ben yap on Apr 30, 2012 at 12:40 pm

are you driving a VW or just a potong car who is a sour grape?

• Come on on Apr 30, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Come on man… VW owners pay a lot to feel premium in Malaysia… doesnt matter la if VW is common at europe, but in Malaysia, proton and perodua is the one that common…

• The Enthusiast on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:51 pm

I agree. To some people, even driving a Toyota or a Honda is “psedo”-premium too.

• vw pole sedan and gti price at 70k and 140k in labuan…..it that cheap?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:22 pm

This is usually from someone who has not owned a VW. Yes it might be ordinary, but it is always special. And if you say not comparable to a Benz or bimmer how bout that of a touareg? That is even higher class than a ml350 or x5…. It is practically the same car as a Porsche cayenne…..Volkswagen owners are proud because they pay the justifiable price for technology… When vw has a technology, they give it to every car in the range, just look at dsg and tsi.. However look at some crap Japanese brand like Toyota where only Lexus gets the new stuff.. The only commendable effort from a Japanese company is Mazda where everything in the range get skyactive engines and skydrive transmission. So stop condemning vw owners, they all have a reason to be proud and compare it to a Benz and bimmer because they could…..learn or get left behind.

• civic fan on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:20 pm

i dont believe your comment . Thumds down . sorry but no sorry :)

• VW Kolot Car on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:16 pm

You are wrong lah as usual. The Japs give latest engines also. Honda engines in Msia are latest. How can you call crap?

Btw, you cannot compare touareg lah, thats is RM450,000. Compare Apple to Apple.

• BeemerFreak on May 01, 2012 at 10:19 am

you are wrong as usual la…did i say honda crap? Perasan…..I only said toyota crap rite? try reading carefully next time before commenting……

• Sarbath on May 22, 2012 at 12:30 pm

VW Kolot : Ape yang wrong nye ? Comparing toureg to a merc or bmw in its own class its apple to apple comparison la omg noob nye you ni.. Its toureg agaisnt ml35O/X5 .. the toureg on par with them.. You kow how much x5 is ? ml35O is ?? haha yet talk cock !

• IluvVW on Oct 10, 2012 at 2:19 pm

VW still the best…

• NoNamelau on May 01, 2012 at 3:19 pm

I really really love your comment… you really understand most of us…

• VW in Europe is common

Mercedes is the same…

http://youtu.be/OyH-351Z_-0

Or BMW

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BMW_5_Gran_Turismo_als_Taxi_%28M%C3%BCnchen%29.JPG

• BeemerFreak on Apr 30, 2012 at 10:40 am

When will vgm launch the facelifted passat cc? it has been ages since our neighbour countries had them despite ours achieving the best sales… Vw has to be faster and even more aggressive, like BMW

• golf for life on Apr 30, 2012 at 10:51 am

Just last Tuesday a Polo 1.2Tsi broke down at my office, 1 yr old, lady driver…guess what, gearbox problem; second time already! According to the emergency assist guys, 3-4 polo breaks down in kl a day and they have to tow to Vw…great car….!?

• ben yap on Apr 30, 2012 at 12:42 pm

i see many malaysian & jap cars breakdown too. I think it’s just a matter of luck if u get a not so reliable one. also we don’t know if they lady abuse the car or not. it is just our guess.

• exactly!VW definitely has gear box problem.esp the 7-speeder batch,be pole,golf,jetta,sirroco all sharing same pltform.
      to all car lovers,VW is hidding to the terrible truth behind the scene,before you plan to get one adviseble to visit the vw sc and listen to customer complain,then you will reliaze for yourself what do you mean by”true german quality”.
      i’d gave up vw long time ago,great car but major issue with gearbox awaiting to be resolved!

• droll on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:29 pm

get manual one la. no more gearbox problem. :)

*runs away*

• Chris on May 01, 2012 at 8:20 am

” Which is why only one engine will be getting the R Line treatment: the 1.2-litre 105 PS TSI paired with a six-speed manual gearbox.”

No problem here! But I think they should at least put in the 1.4tsi engine of the polo gti

• VW Kolot Car on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Aaaiyoo,if 3 or 4 Polos breakdown daily, that is very scary. After 5 years warranty, gearbox rosak, how to pay RM50,000 for the gear box? I have to sell backside lah.

• Maybe not breakdown ! just no more petrol !

• Unforgiven on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:01 am

I believe once the car industry is Bersih in M’sia, we should be able to see plenty of good cars…

• 15,815.00 EUR = 63,570.29 MYR

thanks malaysia gov.

• mokkf on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:54 am

Sorry but I do get kinda boring reading VW golf R, Polo R.. this R that R.
    Kinda same and just a twick to the engine.

• Kjryth on Apr 30, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Proton better

• AP King is traitor on Apr 30, 2012 at 12:19 pm

16K pound = RM77K. All because of AP and some people wanted to shake legs and make money, Malaysians must pay more than double for this car.

• civic fan on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Hello bros .

Pls dont compare VW with BMW / merz /audi . is different league .

The good marketing strategy from VW is try to make themselves on par with BMW /Merz/Audi is try to put their price near their German competitors .

Oppps near amout of money , you dont go for VW . Thats for sure .

P/s your mother in law will think you are stingy fellow but you pay a high price for a VW.

BMW /Merz/Audi wins hand down against VW … thats the fact . No need to argue !

• droll on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:36 pm

it really depends on what yo mean by “wins”. wins in what category?

VW’s 1.4tsi engine won engine of the year award – http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/winners_09/winner.html so how? BMW sucks now? VW better than BMW??

VW has good price performance ratio. 0-100 in 6.9s for 135k polo git. BMW so how? BMW is fleecing its customers of money??

bro, for each of those arguments, you can spin another story around BMW and Mercedes and make them both look superior to VW.

i hate arguments where the person arguing is VAGUE.

• civic fan on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Droll ….. i hope you understand ayam jantan is not phoenix …. LOL .

Pity if you dont understand. LOL

• droll on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:27 pm

why pity? you making a personal attack now saying i am stupid and you are superior to me?

pls lar….this argument about brand better etc all depends on the person buying it. is vw better than bmw? it depends on how you define better. is bmw better than vw? same thing too.

is ayam jantan better than phoenix? well let me give u example. maybe yes for some folks because ayam jantan is cheaper to maintain, or ayam jantan is smaller, or ayam jantan less flashy than phoenix, or phoenix burns everything around it all the time etc. kapish?

so if bmw is phoenix, then what is bugatti? mclaren? gtr? maybach? bentley? i dont know what is “better” than a phoenix.

• Gitu-gitu on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:09 pm

wah keyboard warrior(s)…
        no need fight2..

if VW sucks..
        why in the world they owned Audi, Lambo, Bentley, Bugatti, Seat, Skoda, Porsche (j/v), Scania, MAN.. and recently Ducati.

thats why they niche their marque(s)…
        Luxury: Audi
        Ultra luxury: Bentley
        Ultra performance: Lambo, Bugatti, Porsche
        People’s car: VW, Seat, Scoda
        Performance bike: Ducati
        Utility: Scania/MAN

mmmm anyway; wah never expect so many keyboard warrior(s)..
        type type type people..
        all also type type type..

then NATO
        NO ACTION TYPE ONLY…

• Sarbath on May 22, 2012 at 12:35 pm

You’re absolutely right gitu-gitu.. VW owned so much others high level branded car.. oppss with the amount near the money civic fan are talk shit about ? Audi A1 18Ok against Polo GTI 13Ok :-D .. You judged yourself in term of everything bro ! you want more ?

• Neon CJ on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

well?I absolutely agree that VW had nothing special.
    But for malaysian,it’s a German car company that signifies industrial quality.
    Of course, maybe some individual cases said that this car that car broke down that day and this car lousy that car lousy.
    C’mon, see things on both side. We can’t judge it with a simple case. Of course Vw owner are proud that they own a VW,as those car are consider expensive, IN MALAYSIA.(My parents can’t afford it,same as all person that I know) And it had more better quality,no doubt.
    Stop compare us with outer country like europe,german.
    Why don’t you compare us with the pitful india and africa?
    Guyz, be thankfull on what you have. AND,it’s OTHER’S car, jealous? Work hard and buy one,not complaining at here. VW won’t treat you like your mum,feed you with a polo.
    At last,this polo are boring…

• Edmund G on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:30 pm

dear “VW Self Realisation”, I bet you’re totally wrong, fact is group of my BMW friends changing to Passat CC, R and toureg. Why? Compatibly, they are much higher end with the price they pay with 5 years warranty. not to mention, if you’re getting BMW M spec/Merc Brabus, how much it cost you? hope you think before you write, get your homework done 1st before condeming! BTW, R U driving BMW or merc or maybe the salesman from there? Dont forget VW have the technology if u know Bugatti car, they the one who developed it, not even mention about Audi.

• VW Kolot Car on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:07 pm

This is an outright lie. No BMW driver will ever downgrade themselves to Volks. Not only its a downgrade, Volks handling is nothing compared to BMW. Next thing you gonna say is Rolls Royce owners now opting for VW.

• civic fan on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Aiya ….. later he will say is bunch of friends will downgrade from VW to Preve because to save fuel la ….. Ignore this guy la …….wasting time talking about his friends do this and do that …….. He likes VW compare with BMW let him buy la …..
        He also talk syiok sendiri …….. Pity him la

• droll on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:22 pm

i know someone who sold his 5 series for a mondeo. so how now?? why did that bmw driver downgrade? oh he said his 5 series was giving him a lot of problems already.

common la, this argument is pointless about which brand is better because “better” means different things to different people. people pay rm200k for an elise that has nothing in the interior but will smoke a lot of supercars on a hill run. people pay 240k for a bmw that has a 2.0NA that can be smoked by an old ek9 with a b16 engine. see what i mean?

why do people buy the gtr vs a ferrari? or vice versa.

just leave it be. lansi owners are lansi owners, regardless of what marque they drive or own. i hate those people. at the end of day, it is the fella’s own money. he can buy whatever car he or she wants.

peace.

• Ben Dover on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Volks handling is nothing compared to BMW? I daresay you’re wrong there because I can think of a number of VW’s which handle way better than BMW’s and also a number of BMW’s which handle way better than a Volks. You really have to be a little more specific in order for that statement to stand. I’m guessing you do drive a beemer? You seem quite adamant that no BMW driver would ever downgrade to a Volks. Well I’m guessing you’ve clearly spoken to all the BMW drivers in the world. Nice to meet you by the way. Strange though as I do know BMW and RR owners who do own VW’s. Now where does your statement stand then. Hmmm..oh I’m sure they’re shoddy drivers who don’t know what a good car is meant to handle like and therefore ‘opt’ for VW’s. You’re completely right ‘VW Kolot Car’. You know what they say, you can go to school all you want but money can’t buy you class.

By the way I’m curious though what car would you recommend that has amazing handling? What car do you drive at the moment ?

• My neighbour sold his 5 series and changed to a Passat CC

• My friend’s friend change from Bentley to Passat CC!!!

• Ash Menon on May 02, 2012 at 12:58 am

My friend’s neighbor’s auntie’s cousin’s wife’s stepsister’s former classmate just bought a car.

• KL fella on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:48 pm

VW Kolot Car, you are also wrong to say no one downgrades from BMW to VW.. i have heard from 2nd hand car dealers that accept trade ins that BMW onwers (especially the 3-series) so called “downgraded” to VW golf, the reason being less problem, better performance..

• tmsoo on May 03, 2012 at 11:02 am

My bro. is one of the ex-E46 owner. His car masuk garage few times a yr when reaching 100,000km. He has booked a VW now. Who say nobody change from BMW to VW. Well, this is downgrade or upgrade, I don’t know. Not sure his E46 is CKD or CBU but his VW is CBU.

• droll on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:33 pm

ok bmw handling is king?.??? pls lar….i may agree rwd handling, 50:50 balance is good yes. but not everyone buys a car because of handling. u think the 50 year old auntie driving her 320 take corners at 200kmh and say wow amazing handling!!?

make no mistake. i have no ill feelings towards vw and bmw. both have their strengths and weaknesses. what i hate are people who think they know everything and generalize.

• F Fiesta on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:41 pm

You know what guys, VW is overpriced with minimal specs in Malaysia. All features VW (outside Malaysia) you could get Ford Fiesta.

I dare to say that Ford Fiesta overall better than VW Polo R even can match up easily with VW GTI.

• Gitu-gitu on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:45 pm

hahahaha sah bebal (ultra idiot)..
      F Fiesta cant also fully optimized its slow-mo dual clutch..
      not even like other DCT/DSG or even auto which allow’s FULLY manual control of the gear..
      also dude; F Fiesta engine is slow compare to other generic 1.6…
      + very super noisy..
      u much be a sales men i think..

• Storm on May 01, 2012 at 7:34 am

Please la.. Fiesta is really a piece of cheap metal. Looks nice but full of cheap and inferior parts.

• BlackCurrent on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:14 pm

as usual interior look dull and boring….

• Interior is simple and nice ! not too much…but R line suppose to be most fastest Polo ever ! why it’s still using the 1.2TSI 105ps ?

• Ben Dover on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Volks handling is nothing compared to BMW? I daresay you’re wrong there because I can think of a number of VW’s which handle way better than BMW’s and also a number of BMW’s which handle way better than a Volks. You really have to be a little more specific in order for that statement to stand. I’m guessing you do drive a beemer? You seem quite adamant that no BMW driver would ever downgrade to a Volks. Well I’m guessing you’ve clearly spoken to all the BMW drivers in the world. Nice to meet you by the way. Strange though as I do know BMW and RR owners who do own VW’s. Now where does your statement stand then. Hmmm..oh I’m sure they’re shoddy drivers who don’t know what a good car is meant to handle like and therefore ‘opt’ for VW’s. You’re completely right ‘VW Kolot Car’. You know what they say, you can go to school all you want but money can’t buy you class.

By the way I’m curious though what car would you recommend that has amazing handling? What car do you drive at the moment ?

Cheers

• Against Racing On Roads on May 02, 2012 at 9:32 am

How to take someone seriously when his handle name is a British porn star? Respect the comment section? A person who has no class is a person who puts porn names as their handles.

• Ben Dover on May 02, 2012 at 12:03 pm

My handle name is British porn star? Well I know what you do in your free time T_T . A person who has no class is a person who puts porn names as their handles. First off, if that’s how you judge someone on class, all your friends must be the classiest people in the world. Good on you for having respectable classy friends. I hope they do have a sense of humour too because they might just get along with a good mate of mine who I dont think you’ll like. His name is Mike Hunt.

Good day. Drive safe

• Gitu-gitu on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Polo R “Rubbish”… same spec 105 tsi but no DSG? ish2.. slow..
    the POLO GTI is way superior why create un-likely choice?
    mmmm…

• matlimmutu on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:20 pm

this polo design is so DULL n BORING.. the nice part is only it’s engine.

• KenZen on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Guys, it’s easy to get a test drive these days. Go ahead and do yourself a favour and just test drive one of those cars you so firmly believe is inferior. I’ve tested the Polo TSi, Scirocco TSi 1.4 and the Golf GTi. The GTi impressed me the most due to its overall balance of performance and comfort. I don’t think the sales manager was lying when he said that a number of 3 series owners traded in for the Golf because even a 328i will have difficulty out running the Golf. I’m not sure how easy it is to test drive a bimmer for you to compare… My brother in law had the last 2 version of 328i so I know. But really, until you compare on your own, I don’t think you should condemn others outright.

Also, you can check with your contacts. BMW sales was affected so much by VW that they have made numerous complains to the ministry to force VW to increase their process. Passat CC price was raised twice, thanks to BMW complains. Now, they also complained about Polo GTi so VW is going to increase the price by 15k. Please, don’t believe me. Go and ask for yourself. But if you don’t bother to ask, then don’t just assume that it’s not possible. VW might be a peoples car but Germans NEVER compromise their engineering. I know cuz I’ve worked for a German engineering company

• KenZen on May 01, 2012 at 12:17 am

Continue. Sorry, pressed summit by mistake as I’m painfully typing on my mobile.

I’ve work in a German engineering company for almost 10 years. Everything is made to last beyond the stated period. They are always proud to proclaim over engineering, never compromise. That is what you guys pay for, good German engineered products. However, they have no sense of humour or nice designs. Audi had a Spanish designer, BMW had a British. I’m quite sure VW has a German from the looks of their designs!

Anyway, I’m sorry for spinning way off topic. I think this is a bad joke on the parts of the UK VW. What is the point of slapping on body kits and accessories and call it a R when it has no go at all? How can a R be slower than the GTi? This is like an AMG with all the look fast bits but without the true blue AMG engine. Can someone smack these UK flers awake please?

• Peter is a German who design the car for the Kia ! without German without cars today…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automobile

Albert Einstein is a German too :) Germans are Genius !

• rosdi on May 01, 2012 at 12:25 am

R Line? You gotta be serious!.. How confusing is that?? When we see R we immediately think it is THE best spec of the model.., unless it is R Line… can’t they come with another alphabet? There are 26 alphabets available, just pick one that is not R, how hard can that be??

• Many VW salesman are formerly Myvi salesman, when they work for perodua, they say Myvi is equal to Toyota, now they work for VW, they say VW is equal to Audi.

• KenZen on May 01, 2012 at 1:06 pm

They are not exactly wrong you know. Myvi is pretty much a rebadged Toyota Pasio. Some Audi uses a common chassis and quite a bit of the engine management as well as engines made by VW. BUT, they have been tuned differently so that each brand can maintain their own set of identity. So equal can be pushing it because even though the A4 2.0T characteristics are very similar with the Golf GTi, the overall feel in your pants are different. A4 is a lot smoother, feels more luxurious and up market. After all, the cost difference can buy a Myvi so that is expected.

At the end of the day, you get what you pay for but I think VW is giving quite a good value package. Opel is not here or they can be an alternative. No matter how you look at it, they are the cheapest German make in Malaysia.

Btw, I thought Einstein was Austrian?

• Bennett on May 03, 2012 at 1:12 am

This remind me the SUZUKI SWIFT SPORT White(manual), but does swift cheaper and more powerful(120PS)?

• Nobody on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Dear Bennett,

the Suzuki Swift Sport much powerful, but continental cars bit differ with Japanese cars..even though on a piece of paper its state 120PS, and Polo 105PS, its doesn’t mean polo would be left behind..

regards,
      Men & Wheels

• tmsoo on May 03, 2012 at 11:21 am

No point to argue which is good which is junk. The sales is the best results to judge. I’m talking about globally sales, not only in one country.
    Polo.. I like it too but I didn’t own one. If you say Polo in Malaysia selling like hot cakes then what about in UK? I can see a lot of polo around and VW has quite high second hand value in the market. Not only Polo, VW Golf/GTi always has higher 2nd hand value than BMW/Merc in UK. Comparing in same milleage being done. Not yr of manufacturer.

• HeyDude on May 08, 2012 at 1:12 am

I just sold my golf gti and bought a gtr35. My group of vw friends just laugh at me why the F change a Japanese from germen? i didnt say anything but my car let them stop talking shit after challenged by them on the road….

ps: there are no suck car only suck driver…

• MotoRoto on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Dudes, its just a car. Its main purpose is to get u from A-B. Now all of you put your pants back on.