Honda City facelift – how the 2012 model shapes up

Still no sign of the Honda City facelift, which was announced in Thailand late last year, and which we ran leaked brochure scans of, as well as a video. Presumably, the arrival of the car here has been delayed due to the effects of the severe flooding that hit Thailand last year.

Over in Australia, the car has just been introduced, so the photos give an impression of how it’ll shape up to the eye. Two variants are available there, these being the VTi (in manual and automatic form) and VTi-L, essentially the equivalent of the Thai S and SV grades.

Both variants wear the external cues mentioned in our earlier story – new chrome grille, redesigned front and rear bumpers as well as a new brake light design.

The VTi-L wears the newly-designed 16-inch alloys and adds a master door lock switch on the driver’s side, and aside from the blue-lit speedometer mentioned previously, the City gains aluminum-look treatment for the interior panels and trim, while the audio and climate controls in the VTi-L receive a chrome treatment.

There’s also a new seat fabric, with the VTi-L’s receiving additional blue stitching. Elsewhere, thicker window glass and enhanced floor carpeting has come about to significantly improve cabin quietness.

No changes to the running gear – the 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC continues on with 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm at 4,800 rpm. Given that the car has now begun selling in Australia, it shouldn’t be too long before we finally get going with it. Well, hopefully that’s the case.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Prelude on May 02, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Boring…

• u r damn right..its so boring..

• OMG…weird design of the sport rim and rear lamp….

• jenny ping on May 02, 2012 at 3:44 pm

its just the same with honda city….

• alldisc on May 02, 2012 at 8:41 pm

gigantic grille need some attention. the one on insight prooved Honda can do better

• rebadge on May 02, 2012 at 4:52 pm

previous sport rim is better

• Prefer the new Hyundai exterior…handling and performance maybe is the same…the best choice is the Mazda 3 i think !

• Alpha on May 02, 2012 at 10:31 pm

It is quite a boring car,but seriously drives better than the dugong.Both boring,but one is even more boring.

• Sakar on May 03, 2012 at 11:36 am

WOW the rear look like E-class very elegant horrrrr !!!!

• Hope next election PR have majority win so this car should be cheaper.

• DewaSemut on May 02, 2012 at 1:56 pm

PR wins the election? Maybe…
      Cheaper car? I don’t think so… any government won’t let go of its source of income so easily…

continue hoping, bro … cheers :P

• /ngeTaRD on May 02, 2012 at 1:57 pm

first need to get rid of kroni in MITI. “restructure” the management and follow the real AFTA rule and regulation. then you can enjoy “real world” car price

• You kill all MITI kroni will done nothing…it should be parlimen member can change that…malaysia already follow AFTA for auto industry since 2010…other industry i dont know la

• alldisc on May 02, 2012 at 8:48 pm

afta applies to only import tax. malaysia did reduce import tax, but increased excise the other way round.

the reason there was very little change in terms of car prices.

camry 2.2 was 160K in year 2000

camry 2.0 was 150K in 2010
          2.4 was 170K.

basically still the same.

• i support for better transportation system, thus private vehicle price should be keep high in order to make people choose public transport system instead of driving. just like how singapore do it. klang valley always jam during rush hour due to >90% of vehicle is one-vehicle-one-passenger. of course, at the same time Gov should have a holistic plan in improving public transport system.

thats because, mind you that widening the road is only a short-term solution. long term-solution with better capital spent should be pour into public transport. you know why? rakyat always complain vehicle price high. but at the same time they complain about traffic jam. what a irony…

• PakAbu on May 02, 2012 at 7:24 pm

How to have to a holistic plan when there’s no clear policy regarding public transportation.

Take Penang for example. Are they going to squeeze in as many vehicles into the island or what? Is that the idea when they plan the second bridge where no train track was included? So that more cars and lorries can squeeze into Bayan Lepas? Don’t tell me they are going to provide for/encourage more busses instead of cars. Because it’s not happening for the current bridge.

It looks to me they don’t believe in public transportation. They want to see more cars on the road. Bumper to bumper. Inch by inch. Spewing more toxic smoke. So that we can become a better polluter.

Sad. Disgusting. Idiocity.

• thats why i said. gov need proper and holistic plan and at the same time clear principles. sigh…

• theanswer on May 02, 2012 at 4:43 pm

heheh logically why they need to let go their source of income? think abt it.

• xavier lert on May 02, 2012 at 1:07 pm

any different??

• ada la sikitttt

• Tu pic tahun lepas kat siam dulu la, tak ada apa2 yg lain pun. Tailights,grill je lain . Seperti yang encik Anthony cakap kat atas, yang FL baru mungkin delay.

• Yes, the front grille and the tailights. The front and rear bumper too.

• TypiCal of honda , change grille, bumper, rim design, lamp cluster and its a facelift! Possibly a few thousand extra too…. Will see how this city perform now given there are so many choices in the B segment, and some C segment selling at B segment prices. All the best….

• Wisdom on May 02, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Thats why it was called a ‘facelift’. They change the face & appearance.
      All manufacturers do.

• Hence time for the Asian manufacturers to learn from the EU manufacturers what is their definition of FL….which also include changes to engine and transmissions! Read the latest Audi FL report at this site.

• underskinned on May 02, 2012 at 5:42 pm

That is what UMW Toyota did with Altis. In 2008 they introduced E140 with orthodox engines and transmission carried over from E120 – people are angry and sales were sluggish. The E140 facelift introduced in 2010 traded the VVT-i with Dual VVT-i and 4sp auto with 7sp CVT.

I bet the trend will continue with the Camry XV50. Rip off.

• How about the latest facelift for T.Altis?

• only merc done their best for their C class.. interior and front lights are almost completely different

• vee_duble_vey on May 02, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Yes…if the manufacturer changes everything, it’s not a facelift anymore…it’d be called a replacement model

• alldisc on May 02, 2012 at 8:57 pm

a car manufacturer or distributor has several choice when it comes to introducing new models.

it can be AN ALL NEW model, usually happened at a span of 4-6 years.

or a mid-life facelift and this can be a minor or not (which is not common to malaysia)

if there a lot of changes done to a car including looks and technical aspects, they are called major revamp.

one example of a major revamp was the corolla SEG AE111 of 98 into 99 which gets a whole new face, a whole new rear (taillamp, bumper, quarter panel) and also a whole new dashboard.

it is not very surprising though because every time giant manufacturer like Toyota or Honda introduced a totally new model, they come in several versions and up to the distributor which to choose for their specific country.

Honda does the same with the Accord (including smaller Euro Accord or the bigger Inspire like we have in Malaysia now)

• not aggressive looking prime as the old one, this is more uncleish..

• not aggressive looking as the old one, this is more uncleish..

• Ronnie on May 02, 2012 at 1:34 pm

I keep seeing either Civic or City…. how about Accord ?… no updates on it ?

• look uncleish,,old one is more aggresive..

• Tony Montana on May 02, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Someone says the the pre-facelift model looks better than this one.

You know what? Both are ugly! How about that?

• puterakupang84 on May 02, 2012 at 1:38 pm

somehow I prefer the current model…whatever it is I hope Honda can give us the better quality for the current this model were overpriced…

• honda should include features such as push start button, built in GPS etc etc to stay ahead of the competition! now it’s just an overpriced car with minimum features..

• OMG.With this price, better buy Korean cars – Kia Forte & Hyundai Elantra…value for money….in term of features, much more better than this ugly facelift.

• 4agze on May 02, 2012 at 1:41 pm

same old sh*t

• oh dear…boring.. keep this boring trend coming H&T!! and soon both of u will be replace by H&K!!

• mad aly on May 02, 2012 at 1:58 pm

T&H and H&K need to fight with Preve now!! haha
      good luck!!

• Supa Hiro on May 02, 2012 at 1:57 pm

With this kind of facelift, Preve stands out being the most handsome lot. I though Forte was the ugliest but this City facelift beats them all – f******g ugly. I’m a proud owner of Preve now.

• jolly_idiot on May 02, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Got different?

• carnoisseur on May 02, 2012 at 2:02 pm

doesnt excite me at all ….

• ss427 on May 02, 2012 at 2:03 pm

The FL tailights looks like Waja’s doesn it? :(

And the new bumper leading edges is so pronounced now that looks like a chin sticking out at the front! OMG… WTF Honda is doing?

In SG, City LX (top spec) 5MT and 5AT actually cost more than the Forte SX 2L and the new Elantra 1.6 GLS Elite… And yet we’ve got tone of cheap looking plastic and Honda continue to deny its customers the chance of having full digital climate controls instead of those 3 cheap looking manual HVAC knobs… :( And is there any reason why the AT shifter looks so dated and long while the Jazz’s version (and our FDs) looks so much better?
    Clearly the Japs are still living in their dreamland.. Cheap cars (which is not that cheap) doesn’t have to look and feel cheap these days..

• alldisc on May 02, 2012 at 9:41 pm

the japs are not dreaming. those japanese cars are so cheap in their homeland that the koreans do not dare to enter the market. its just not worth it. besides, JDM cars are just too advanced. just too sophisticated against many cars in other markets

hehehe.. i believe its like that.

• MoFaz on May 03, 2012 at 11:28 am

you won’t find many Hyundai / Kia cars in Japan. likewise, you won’t find many Toyota / Honda cars in Korea. Both countries are even more protective of their local industries than Malaysia.
        only 5% of cars in Korea are imported, mostly are luxury cars like BMW. it’s a little bit higher in Japan, around 10%. what about Malaysia? CKD and CBU of foreign brands is about 40% in Malaysia.

• When H did MINOR facelift..their supporter will say..its better than nothing..
    When Proton did MAJOR facelift..that supporter will say..ni je ke facelife..baik tak payah..

• Vader on May 02, 2012 at 3:48 pm

nope..
      u can see mostly the reader is about to give negative statement on this H minor facelift..

• nabill on May 02, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Aah…da car dat excells at noting but da badge…

• pok man on May 02, 2012 at 2:11 pm

harga naik ke maintain? setakat tukar grille, sport rim, lampu blakang, bumper…baik maintain je harga…kalu naik gak nak wat camane still ade pembeli jugak

• _xXx_ on May 02, 2012 at 2:26 pm

lampu depan copy breve punye!!! honda lu tarak idea baru kah???

• Vader on May 02, 2012 at 3:50 pm

muahahah.. this city not change anything on the lampu depan la…
      so u agree the preve look alike city lampu depan?

• theanswer on May 02, 2012 at 4:47 pm

ke ‘breve’ yg tiru… sbb city dh keluar lame daa…

• Honda Power on May 02, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Hello, u butakah? Proton Preve copied Honda City’s front head lights, not the other way round. Present City was launched in December 2008, Preve just launched two weeks ago. Now who copiede who? Check your facts before posting, u moron!!!!

• hello, u butakah? preve headlight is from savvy single face design, at that time new honda city was not available yet
        so now who copied who?
        Check your facts before posting, u moron!!!!

• _xXx_ on May 03, 2012 at 10:33 am

hey jurujual honda, xde biz ke? sibuk je…gi sebelah. power my ess

• littlefire on May 02, 2012 at 2:45 pm

We cant even compare to Australia spec as they have at least VSA & 6 air-bags as standart.. Compare to here… 2 Air-bags & ABS only… LOL!

http://city.honda.com.au/about-the-car_safety.aspx

Really do hope Honda Malaysia can put all the new line of Honda vehicle standard with VSA

• _xXx_ on May 02, 2012 at 4:32 pm

mat salleh punye nyawa lebih bernilai maa
      Asian punye mcm nyamuk le…

• dreamaxe on May 02, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Isn’t it plain boring by giving just a face lift?

• Wisdom on May 02, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Somehow the front overhangs still too long. And the rear lights seems too fancy.

They should add more feature e.g auto wiper & headlamps, auto climate control, and improve the safety by including VSA and/or more airbags.

I rather add a couple of thousands more for an Insight.

• Hmm?

wondering if they aim to break Myvi ‘Guinness’ record of Editions…

• Yuzdi on May 02, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Hmm, always FL here & there for City. I blief d price will increase. They shud start FL for EX5. Make it more sporty. Too outdated!!!

• PREVE’ better than this

• TurboMan!!! on May 02, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Although i agree Preve is a decent turbo-ed car, but having somebody posting “Preve is better” on almost every article on paultan.org is getting annoying.

Are you guys so insecure about it that u have to tell every1 all the time how great it is? I know and every1 knows it is a good car. Just stop this nonsense.

I mean you guys everywhere. BMW. Preve is better. Mercedes, Preve is better. Heck even on a sports car, somebody was proclaiming that Preve is better/faster/can tapao.

Have some sense of decency guys. You guys are just spoiling the preve brand.

• The last time when Proton launched that turbo mpv, they also behaved as its the best thing happen in the world. But look at their sales now? Even Toyota sell more Hilux than that mpv.

• sub_zero on May 03, 2012 at 10:22 pm

are sure? so where the proof of the sales? don”t just talk cock

buy hilux for what? so can avoid bumpy road? or the it is because of “TOYOTA” name slapped on it?

i lol malaysian mentality

• fraz006 on May 03, 2012 at 10:38 pm

that is mpv. me also dont want to drive a freaking mpv.
          preve different story.
          already got 4500booking and counting now.

• fraz006 on May 07, 2012 at 8:33 pm

i talk only facts la uolsss………dislike? butthurt much, mate? hahaha

• Mr. Biggy on May 02, 2012 at 6:41 pm

So hardcore…….

• Chow 1 on May 02, 2012 at 6:44 pm

What’s the difference???

• athlon on May 02, 2012 at 7:01 pm

guys, many criticized Proton Preve until not worth a single cent… i can bet if Preve is Volkswagen or Audi or T or H, whole damn world will say good… in fact, not many will compare Preve with RM73k range of cars… you guys compare it with C or even D segment cars… i’m giving up my booked 9th gen Civic 2.0 and choosing Preve because of the specs, 5 years warranty and important thing is RM73k value… i pay 73k and get tonnes of specs inside… what so special about VW and the 4 rings badge on the car? once your “new car” touch the road, your car value will depreciate… i’m proud to be a malaysian driving a preve and living in a million value condo…. why i need to support foreign brand and what so good about them? bigger and larger c*ck?

• Medic on May 03, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Wait till your ‘Preve’ develops over heating,CVT prob,suspension going ‘klong klong over time, then you’ll regret.Also your c*ck must be so small &limp till you’re feeling insecure &conscious bout it.Bro,it’s your money..go ahead &buy what you want,but don’t come here &boast crap!

• Unforgiven on May 08, 2012 at 7:04 am

Another guy that will be driving Proton for another 5 years? Ha ha…

• The all new PREVE’

• DArkerMarker on May 02, 2012 at 7:48 pm

recycle lagi ka, Honda?

• F Fiesta on May 02, 2012 at 8:31 pm

This is the nexe level of Ah Beng car.

For me better take Ford Fiesta

Fiesta>Polo>Forte>Preve>City>Vios

• gotoDMC on May 02, 2012 at 8:49 pm

I’m very disappointed with Honda’s offering for this face-lift City. Perhaps, they have other plans in mind with the recently launched EDT. I guess this is not a good time for me to buy City. Well I’m not in a hurry as I can still can wait :)

• RedBeanBun on May 02, 2012 at 9:27 pm

now i will see how the Pre-way compete this in Aus market..

• anjez on May 02, 2012 at 10:48 pm

OMG what happen to honda? Did some one from proton got hired in honda?
    looks worst than PREVE front.Very ugly looks very old design.
    If you put PREVE and FACELIFT CITY together…they both look ugly..

• kurakura on May 02, 2012 at 11:47 pm

my fiesta sport is a lot more better than this. my colleague bring his boring city to work, nobody cares…nobody gives a fuck…but i bring my fiesta to work, everybody asked whose car i that…so cute yet kinda rare on the road in my town.

• Littlebear on May 03, 2012 at 8:44 am

Not everyone is an attention whore like you bro. Some people would prefer a plain,simple & reliable car to ferry them around.

• LOL clearly shows your mentality.u have forsaken:
      1.Boot capacity -506 liters
      2.Cabin space
      3.Ride comfort
      4.Smooth shifitng gearbox for a jerky low grade dual clutch transmission
      5.Honda city 1.5 produces 120PS,ur fiesta 1.6 with Dual clutch produces 122PS(only 2 PS more wth)
      6.Resale value
      Just to show off and get someone’s attention

Really matured of you bro,keep it up

• I think Fiesta looks like your ‘name’…Kura-Kura. Moves also like kurakura. With that kind of characteristic, sure will create attention….

• It’s refreshing to see Honda & Toyota got booed nowadays. It didn’t happen last 10 years. I guess our local Honda & Toyota distributors got drowned by their past glories.

• Still this city looks ok and nice then the fugly ungly waste toyota vios..eeee tat vios looks like a whale on wheels..

• Jarred on May 03, 2012 at 8:50 am

I’ll buy Honda Insight anytime

• mokkf on May 03, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Bro, Go test drive one unit during hot sunny days in a traffic condition. U will get excited that time!

• Carl Wong on May 05, 2012 at 5:37 pm

I did, I had to increase the temperature because the air con was getting too cold lol………

• apeng on May 03, 2012 at 1:40 pm

nothing much…

• matlimmutu on May 03, 2012 at 3:11 pm

boring honda city. saw the new civic, hmm boring juga.

• silver on May 03, 2012 at 3:30 pm

went to honda show room the other day .. from the brochure. the old one looks better didnt really do much except for the fog light rear light and rim as well as more crome all over.. prefer the old one.. look more sporty . since people that are buying this are usually youth. why make it look so old.. the JAZZ hybrid which in my oppinion is alot better interioir spec and exterioir. But not sure if it has enough power to climb up a hill though. As for the air condition problem during traffic, the sales men toldme that if your no in eco mode it works like normal .

• fraz006 on May 03, 2012 at 10:42 pm

not handsome as 2009s.

rims look smaller.

body looks kind of out of proportion. must be the revised reduced frontal area.

again, i hate ‘go green’ spirit.

• tyrespare on May 04, 2012 at 4:24 pm

hahahaha..better look at the real car before make any conclusion..btwn honda n preve like sky and earth comparison..good luck for those who buy preve …

• fraz006 on May 07, 2012 at 8:45 pm

handling – confirm lose
      space- lose
      stability – lose
      engine- lose
      traction control- lose
      airbags – lose
      exterior – lose
      interior – win, but heck i think both still plasticky
      FC – win
      wow factor – win coz msian mindset
      Operating cost – lose
      comfort – lose
      rear suspension – lose (sad torsion beam)
      air cond – comfirm lose
      price – lose
      quality/durability – win, if u assume proton still in pre DSZ era. i think now quite acceptable.

So how can u say HC is better?

• kjryth on May 04, 2012 at 7:41 pm

proton better

• MLCM24 on May 07, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Over price & Under Spec Car. Good Work Honda Malaysia

• rumplestiltskin on May 09, 2012 at 12:57 pm

I don’t know but their facelift this time is worse than that of Proton’s. Other than the sport rim, one will have to go through the brochures to know that it is the facelift version

• Bot dempeng on May 10, 2012 at 6:43 am

Janganlah nak compare dengan proton jauh lagi bha….mcm langit n bumi..honda terbaikkk…..proton hancusss!!!!!!xpercaya belilah proton

• tyrespare on Jun 06, 2012 at 11:11 pm

ramai btul commentator..aku rasa klu komen2 ni d kumpul dan buat sebijik kereta tentu dah kluar kreta yg terbaik..hahahha …katak bawh tempurung btul korang ni

• From what I know honda city 2004 is using CVT. What about Honda City 2009 and 2012? Still using CVT? Or is there any enhanced “ECVT”?

• abg ngah on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:06 am

I’m not proton or honda fan. my wife own NHC bought in 2010. i’d been test drive preve previously. as comparison, both car have pros and cons. in term of handling, preve is the best but comfort driving i’ll prefer NHC. not sure FC. NHC average 14-15km/l town driving. interior&exterior is subjective but i prefer NHC. Preve is more solid even you can feel inside the car but NHC is like tin milo. full spec preve have 4 airbags, NHC-2 airbags. both have paddle shifter, NHC is more powerful than preve in term of pick up.

• aku guna city 2012 selesa. engine sangat power dan jimat. proton juga begitu, walau kereta murah engine’nya tahan lasak. semua jenis minyak hitam boleh digunakan. sudah hampir 7 tahun my gen2 (2006) is good. setakat ni, tiada masalah berat.
    apa pun, yang mahal lebih selesa dan terbaik. sayang my honda city