Mitsubishi Motors Thailand to export the Mirage to Japan

Mitsubishi Motors Thailand, which builds the Mirage at its Laem Chabang plant in Chonburi, will export the small car to Japan. Export volume has not been confirmed, but shipment starts in July, according to the Bangkok Post.

The Thai-made Mirage will be inspected by MMC personnel from Japan before exports start to ensure quality is on par with Japanese standards. MMC also plans to export the Mirage to ASEAN and Europe, among other markets.

“It is important to maintain the same level of high quality offered by vehicles produced at plants in Japan. I believe that the new Mirage is a highly competitive model that will be widely accepted in markets all over the world. We have high hopes that this global strategic model, the new Mirage, will play a big role in further growth of our company,” said MMC president Osamu Masuko.

The Mirage went on sale in Thailand last month, priced between THB 380,000 to 551,000. So far, 15,000 bookings have been collected and deliveries are expected to start this month. It has been spotted in Malaysia already, and we’re expecting Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia to introduce the car in the near future.

Click here for more info and a full gallery from Thailand.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on May 02, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Wow!! A good result from our NAP I presumed..

• sleepy on May 02, 2012 at 10:40 pm

can u elaborate. What exactly did they change in the NAP? I don’t see any changes yet…..am I missing something.

• huh.
      looks ok i guess..
      but i think the price if it comes to malaysia..
      around i10 price..which is still unreasonable..
      so better get proton saga for that price

• shawal on May 02, 2012 at 4:54 pm

it has to be really2 cheap to sell, cuz it looks really2 bland…

• PakAbu on May 03, 2012 at 9:22 am

They can just slap in some chrome, skirting, fog lamps etc…. and call it some fancy name… like “Elite”, “Extreme”… etc
      … then increase the price.
      … because it looks “expensive”.

:mrgreen:

• muddy on May 02, 2012 at 5:21 pm

IMHO, our current MYVi design is way better with more details than this basic car…

• Mitsu fan raging.. lol

• miaomiao on May 02, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Less is more. There is a difference between creative and over-creative.

• farghmee on May 03, 2012 at 10:29 am

u see..

design is very subjective..some1 like, some1 dislike.

imo, current myvi is pointless in design. no continuity, cacamerbah.
      this mirage looks tame, cute summore, no-fuss lines.

now u see..my opinion differs.

• Stephen on May 02, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Hope it won’t cost more than 70k.

• buncit on May 02, 2012 at 6:21 pm

myvi deign looks better

• anakayam on May 02, 2012 at 6:50 pm

savvy look-alike seriously

• mad aly on May 03, 2012 at 2:06 pm

maybe savvy replacement.. PROTON rebadge this to b came savvy!! and price for highspec below 45k.. than Myvi susaaaaaaah!!

• Black Dog on May 02, 2012 at 7:05 pm

15,000 booking? wow the volume is huge!

• apeng on May 02, 2012 at 8:28 pm

nothing special…

• slimershine on May 02, 2012 at 8:59 pm

what is this shet..

• never thought I’d see the day Thailand would export cars to Japan…..whole world’s gone crazy man

• hway de Cruz on May 03, 2012 at 8:48 am

thailand is doing great cause they hv the right policy, which benefit both the nation and its ppl…. unlike in bolehland, only certain cronies n some particular ball carriers only benefit. the NAP does not really benefit the rakyat here

• Japan version is not same with Asean version.. Try to believe it.

• /ngeTaRD on May 03, 2012 at 1:26 am

bro tuna,
      you sounds like a newly launch local test car slogan that have weak suspension system

• This is a plain jane… Not many will consider it unless really cheap (prcing has to be right) or has an evo engine… :D There are many better choices like the New Suzuki Swift, myvi se, or maybe honda jazz hybrid??

• fortebestt on May 03, 2012 at 12:55 pm

this is not those segment la duhhh…this is viva segment car…open your eyes and talk with brain

• In Malaysia, i think consumers are more sensitive towards pricing of the vehicle rather than segment. If compared to viva, its obvious this mirage would be better. The pricing will very much determine for this car, made for budget, meant for budget.

• blackgalaxy on May 03, 2012 at 7:23 am

the closes design to replace the oldskewl mirage is the proton neo, but mitsu or jap fanboys will drool over anything that the japs gave in even this not too handsome car.

*on certain styling the myvi does have it edges but this mirage do have better trim n package i think

• omanjedi on May 03, 2012 at 8:25 am

As long it offers good FC in comparison with MYVI/VIVA – its a good product. Definitely Mirage has a market in M’sia

• Thai easily got 15000 order before any delivery made!
    Hope to see this Mirage baby in Malaysia at Myvi price range and we will be able to see the similar 15000 order right after launch!

• slimershine on May 03, 2012 at 7:53 pm

seriously, this is too ugly..

• ghufdghnidfngh on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:56 pm

yeah…so ugly even the price at rm30k oso i dont want to buy…furthermore this car is so so girl style…look at the rims…..uerghh…..cant even look at it….tak kesah if this car can go 200kmp oso….i’m not interested….k bye..!!