DRIVEN: Volkswagen Polo Sedan 1.6 tested!

Unlike other car manufacturers out there, Volkswagen Malaysia has found itself in a very unique situation. It now has a car for pretty much every segment of the market, with prices that start from a hair under RM100,000, right up to a few strands under RM400,000.

The company’s latest is also the least expensive of its offerings. This is the Polo Sedan, and it’s made in India, one of the many Volkswagen factories in the world that produces cars to the exact specification and quality directives that come from Wolfsburg.

The car you see here is also sold in Russia, South Africa, India and China. It comes at a price of RM99,888, to make it a viable choice to those who want a starter Volkswagen, but need something bigger than the pocket-sized Polo.

But earning 454 litres of boot space is not as simple as taking a Polo and gluing a boot behind it; that would just make the car look awkward. Instead, the Polo Sedan has been designed from a clean-ish sheet of paper.

Clean-ish, because the sedan sits on a stretched version of the PQ25 platform that the hatchback is currently running on. It gives the sedan another 82 mm to the wheelbase, for a total of 2,552 mm. Elsewhere, the car measures in at 4,384 mm long, 1,699 mm wide and 1,466 mm tall.

Truth be told, the look of the Polo Sedan is not one you’d call awe-inspiring. In fact, the car has the same subdued tone and manner similar to the Passat. That said, I do think that the look of the headlight assembly is one of the best in the market.

The interior looks simple as well. One glance is all you need to see most of the car. All amenities are in here and accounted for, and there are quite a number of storage areas. Two catches my attention – the bottle holder on the door panels can fit a 1.5 litre bottle snugly, and the pocket underneath the radio is surprisingly deep. If you need to know more of what the Polo Sedan has inside, I’ve already covered that in the launch report.

There’s also quality in here. While most of the materials used for the dashboard and the door cards feel inflexible, they are well textured to cheat the eye into thinking otherwise. The bits of chrome also successfully elevate the status of the interior. The pieces of the interior are well joined together, with no glaring gaps that commonly plague cars in the similar segment.

Let me side track a bit, still going about its quality. The doors open with the slightest of touches and it takes getting used. You’ll pull the door too hard at first, expecting something heavy to move, but the door is light feel like feather at the handle, yet gives a satisfying solid thud when you shut it close.

The sedan also ticks the ‘comfort’ box. The foam is not too firm and the fabric holds quite well. Importantly, there is space in here. Admittedly, I am one of those who feel like a gorilla in a cage whenever I get into a Polo hatchback. Not so with the Polo Sedan. Space in here seems to have been expanded … as if it has been pushed outwards, none more obvious than with the rear seats. Not only I can easily get inside, there is also significant legroom that actually allows my knees some breathing room. Headroom is adequate, although you might find it nearer if you’re above six feet in height.

You can also turn the rear seating area into an extension of the boot. The seats folds flat and fit flushed to the boot floor without much fuss. And figuring out what folds where is easy. Here’s a paultan.org seat-folding top tip: tilt the seats forward before removing the headrests.

Move to the front and we’re at the bonnet. Pop it skyward and you’ll notice how light the lid is. Inside the engine bay is a controversy, in this case a 1.6 litre MPI (multi-point injection) powerplant that does 105 PS at 5,250 rpm and 153 Nm at 3,800 rpm. The engine comes with its long-standing partner, a six-speed conventional automatic transmission with tiptronic.

The Polo Sedan clocks its 0-100 km/h in 12.3 seconds and has a top speed of 183 km/h. The numbers are not extraordinary, but they are what you would normally squeeze out from a 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated engine.

If these facts make the Polo Sedan feel like its less compensated, well, it isn’t. There’s a reason this choice has been made. For one, Volkswagen has employed the engine and transmission partner many times, and the pairing has proved reliable. Also, if you stop to ponder about it, the maintenance will also be easier, because the engine and transmission is less complicated. Still, does this mean that Volkswagen’s latest pride and joy is any less ‘momentous’?

A step on the accelerator proves that it is not. It feels more powerful than the quoted 105 PS, and it definitely feels more able than examples that boast 120 PS with their petrol burners. The six-speeder picks up the power quickly and makes for a lively push away from zero.

So, maybe a slushbox transmission with a non-charged engine isn’t the end of the world, as you might think. You’ll barely notice the transmission going through up or down the gears. The engine noise is muted until you stand on the accelerator, at which point do you begin to hear the engine straining to meet your demands.

You’ll also hear wind noises coming in at around 100 km/h, and you’ll hear the road noise throughout. No shakes and rattles from the dashboard though, even when the car is traversing on a particular piece of craggy road. Then again, Langkawi does not have beaten up roads like the rest of Klang Valley.

The ride has that signature Volkswagen pliability, dialed in enough to make the spring and dampers firm without forgetting creature comfort. Handling is respectable too. The Polo Sedan does well in restraining body roll and understeer does not kick up a big fuss.

The car also feels sure-footed, a sign that the unfamiliar-brand tyre is up to task. There’s enough communication through the steering, which also feels immediate and sharp. It is a class above than the rest of the B-segments, with the exception of the Fiesta.

In spite of the fact that the Polo Sedan is a basic car, it also has the same Volkswagen vibe that a high-range Passat gives. There is no denying that it is better than most of the crop out there, and my initial impression of it has been a positive one.

Still, there’s only so much you can take back from a one-hour test drive around a small island on the Straits. A preview drive indeed; a more complete four-day test drive is in the works, and we’ll be giving you a full report once that happens.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Baba O'Reilly on May 04, 2012 at 10:27 am

Not bad. Thanks for the review but RM99,888 isn’t the OTR price is it?

• MoFaz on May 04, 2012 at 11:07 am

spec wise, only few things better than Saga. They looks almost the same too! but the price is RM50k more for ‘made in INDIA’ product. I would say it’s not worth the money. if you’re car enthusiast, please consider adding few thousands more (+RM15k) and get the ‘real’ polo with TSI and CBU from GERMAN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
      • Leonon on May 04, 2012 at 1:40 pm

If not mistaken, the Polo hatchback we are getting here is made in South Africa
        and not CBU from GERMANY.

• MoFaz on May 04, 2012 at 3:41 pm

owhh.. ya ka? my mistake then. sorry.

• BeemerFreak on May 05, 2012 at 10:55 am

Yesterday alone I saw 2 Polos on a carry tow truck being towed into workshop. S, I guess the inherent faulty gearbox story is true after all. Ask tow truck operators and they will tell you they tow at least 3 a day. So much for German quality. Dont always get excited about German quality, Germany also produces very low qualtiy range. When I was in Germany there was this chain of supermarkets called LIDL and they sold German stuff that was so low in quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
          • No more high quality stuff on the world these days…I phone,electric…whatever…everything r not made in Japan,US or Europe now ! everything’s getting expensive now so they need to cut costs to grow stronger and do more in less time !

• And the DSG tech is still new and young just like first gen of Toyota Prius ‘ brake problems ‘ every brands have their own problems no matter is premium brand or normal brand…last time someone destroy his lamborghini coz of the problems…Porsche or Ferrari fire…they can make the less problems car but u or ppl dare 2 drive it ?super slow, less features, without power windows, bad fuel consumption…

• Director on May 07, 2012 at 3:02 am

With this news, a Volkswagen, especially those made in india and africa, is redundant.

Even the golf cbu german is blindly overrated here as there’s nothing special driving one. Too small for a 6 digits car too.

• But at least the Polo Hatchback is using the German TSI and DSG technology,and the Hatchback is selling in Germany too…in Germany they never sell the Polo Sedan there so the Sedan version is not considered to be a true German car ! of bcoz only the brand is came from Germany…so u can read the news paper ‘ German engineering ‘

• As a Polo Hatch owner i think this car is plain and dull ! i don’t like the rear and the seat design ! i prefer the Hyundai Elantra !

• shitoryuu on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Why don’t we exchange our car once a while?
        I have never experience a Volkswagen before.
        BTW, I am driving the new Elantra.

• awooo on Jan 22, 2013 at 12:36 am

We own a Polo hatch too, 1.2 TSi & DSG, the car may look plain especially with its 15″ wheels but when you floor the throttle……yeehaa!!!

• As usual, VW Malaysia does not declare their prices on-the-road unlike other car brands which declare their prices as-it-is. This is to give the impression that it is cheaper than it actually is. Don’t forget to factor in at least about 2k to maybe 3k for the on-the-road pricing.

• Wallstreet on May 05, 2012 at 11:57 am

‘Now Everyone Can Drive VW’…..from RM99K. Better still, get Tony Fernandes in the board. Later VW will come out with buy one free one promotion. VW standard is not high anyway so why not come out with all those cheap deals?

• Ok la for that price…after all so much works have been done like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HwHVK_a62A&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Bongcs on May 04, 2012 at 10:28 am

Dear Paul,

Does the Polo Sedan offers leather seats variant ?

Regards,

Fan.

• Chris Ng (Member) on May 04, 2012 at 10:41 am

None offered as yet.

• Gabla on May 04, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Sorry for the ignorance question but does the engine have any valve related wizardry like VVT or camshaft adjustment?

• awooo on Jan 22, 2013 at 12:40 am

Don’t think so. Apart from its multi point injection, the engine is quite plain jane, which may not be a bad thing, less things to go wrong.

• Good review..

• horrible review…see it on yr own…crapppseat and door panel…too bad as compared to Polo Tsi

• mad aly on May 04, 2012 at 10:47 am

its look like Saga FLX for me.. haha

• Yeah, more than 100K for this piece of chapati…I will rather get a saga and go for holiday in India, visit Taj Mahal and still have money left for few years petrol expenses. That’s how stupid to get this polo, my opinion..

• Wisdom on May 07, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Rather than visit india, why not visit german and tell the board directors of VW: “You think Malaysia is a dump-site?
        I really recommend Proton to tune old stocks Iswara/LMST passed their emission, put some airbags and sell them in German. See how they feel about that.

• NinjaTurtleneck on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:52 am

Of course. You can only afford a Saga. Don’t talk cock,maybe in 10 years you can afford a Preve

• Noel D on May 04, 2012 at 10:53 am

I was seriously contemplating trading my Honda City for this but was disappointed to learn that the audio system does not have a USB plug-in or the iPod! You would think that this is now one of the more basic functions considering that no one really buys CDs anymore….

• klimk on May 04, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Go for Ford Fiesta. You won’t regret it.

• Noel D on May 04, 2012 at 3:20 pm

I’m a big and tall guy…. Got into the driver’s seat of the Fiesta and had to pull the seat all the way behind. There was no room left for anyone in the back once I did that… :-(

• fiesta is like a tiny college kid’s car. really tiny.

• i love the fiesta. too bad i cant fit in it.

• sufyan on May 05, 2012 at 5:01 pm

yup, me also like the design n interior part..but im a big guy

• aslam_chelsea on May 04, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Bro, ive tested the car. Its ok la.. As what said by Paul.. But i think the price is not worth it for that car.. Maybe you can opt for fiesta or elantra md

• From India with love.

• Bersih 3.0 on May 04, 2012 at 11:10 am

I still think this car is overpriced!!!
    Just wait for the CKD model 1st!

• pravin5267 on May 04, 2012 at 11:12 am

preve better!

• Tony Montana on May 04, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Yeah, right . In fact Preve is better than any BMW cars in the eyes of Proton fanboys.

• Sniper on May 04, 2012 at 11:13 am

RM99,888????????
    Dude…you’re buying the badge not the car.

• edliew80 on May 04, 2012 at 11:17 am

The car you see here is also sold in Russia, South Africa, India and not China.
    China version is based in Polo Mk IV.

• Chris Ng (Member) on May 04, 2012 at 12:44 pm

In the press conference, I was told that the Polo Sedan is available in all the mentioned countries.

• edliew80 on May 04, 2012 at 2:44 pm

browse this site – /www.vw.com.cn/zh/models/new_polojinqu.html

• Donkey Kong on May 04, 2012 at 1:11 pm

But in all those countries, they cost roughly RM50k or so. In Malaysia, VW takes the opportunity to shaft yuppies whenever they have the chance to.

• Its not VW….but our tax structure is like that…30% imp tax, 75% excise n 10% sales tax

• Unforgiven on May 07, 2012 at 8:10 am

If Naza is able to do something with 207, I don’t see why Drb/Tun M couldn’t. Unless Naza is a better King? Or what?

• hellomaliq on May 04, 2012 at 11:29 am

I think car is very interesting. for me, 100k you get a VW in malaysia, it is a bargain. im sure the car is good even when i went to India, this particular car cost around 50k or less.. but i can bet u this car is better than any honda or toyota..

• interesting my a**…dude this is what we call dull & boring design.. just compare this car to proton blm, dont compare it with honda or toyota, not even par..open your eyes & ears….this is RM100000 thousand ringgit man. u can get better value..i reckon the new hyundai elantra or preve…this polo sedan is a rip off…if you really want to get real vw, buy the one with TSI engine. Infact i think it is a rebadge of proton BLM (kekekeke)….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Sepot Reem on May 04, 2012 at 11:37 am

No TSI, no DSG gearbox, it’s like eating chicken rice without the chicken and with unreasonable price tag. good luck VW.

• taboogen on May 04, 2012 at 11:41 am

wow for 100k you wont event get heat insulator for the front hood….

• shawal on May 04, 2012 at 11:53 am

this vs proton preve , naza forte , prius c , insight since its within the same price bracket, tho the preve cfe is 27,000 cheaper

• MrDDR on May 04, 2012 at 12:54 pm

27k is for badge front and rear. you cannot get this at kedai potong.

• shawal on May 04, 2012 at 3:24 pm

(+ fiesta too) , most might agree to that, cuz on paper, the proton preve wins hands down, but we wouldn’t know for sure until we do a side by side comparison, like handling and refinement, because new technology doesn’t necessarily mean a better drive, fuel consumption, sales and service, (forget depreciation, if its a good car, and ages well, keep it for longer, don’t waste money) , the overall feel, of coz wutever we read sometimes wont affect our final decisions on buying the car, but we’d like to know what the pros genuinely feel when they drive them ,the pros and cons of each car. I remembered autocar asean compared a perdana vg, kia optima and another D-segment in the same price range, the perdana won.

• xavier lert on May 04, 2012 at 3:30 pm

prius C? ..aiyo kete tu interior dia standard kancil jek..

• anti-proton on May 04, 2012 at 12:00 pm

all those pop up ads are getting ridiculously annoying!

• bystander on May 04, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Very good review, close to my test drive experience! The engine noise does make an issue but other than that it’s all no frill ultimate enjoyable ride! However, the entertainment unit really outdated n cries out for an upgrade, n I would really appreciate a usb port! Some say CKD is a go, so Chris, u have any info to share?
    CKD n the diesel engine would have make my day.

• Chris Ng (Member) on May 04, 2012 at 12:48 pm

CKD? The question did pop up during the Launch Press Conference. They’ll only start CKD when there is market demand for it.

• jalan54 on May 04, 2012 at 12:54 pm

I don’t think the demand is high due to the price tag, and I still think the CKD version will be out soon as this might be one of the marketing strategy from VW. Anyway, just my humble opinion.

• MoFaz on May 04, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Don’t just think about Malaysian market. think about Asean. Thai, Malaysia and Indonesia has market volume about 2 million cars per year!
          but, to be eligible for AFTA 0% tax, VW must use 40% local parts from Malaysia or any other Asean countries. do CKD here and they could grab a big piece of cake.

• Why should VW launch this POLO if there is no demand? Launching a failure project?

• jalan54 on May 04, 2012 at 4:46 pm

My friend, low demand is not equal to no demand. As mentioned, launching this model might just another marketing strategy from VW.

• market forces on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:57 pm

If the demand is weak, i bet VW will be forced to either plonk in the 1.2 tsi and DSG in for about the same price OR more likely to produce the CKD version of this car for a slight premium compared to the earlier 1.4 liter model i.e 80-85k..

Of course some might say there is a bit of arm twisting to prop up the demand for proton artificially.

• Proton Prevé Owner Club. on May 04, 2012 at 12:24 pm

better go for preve.. only 73k on the road.. polo sedan 100k on the road.. take that xtra 27k and invest.. another 5 years it could be double or triple..

for me la, the polo sedan:

1) Looks boring and lame.
    2) not sporty at all.
    3) Over price.
    4) Under power.
    5) Boring and cheap interior.
    6) buy it today, people tod u already used it last 10years.

i call it POLO SAGA… SAGA FLX 1.6 CVT MUCH2 better and cheaper (can get 2 with POLO SEDAN price)…

• polo saga on May 05, 2012 at 9:30 am

hey, it’s me start with the name of Polo Saga, ok?
      :P

• Preve 73K also over price. Did you think before Malaysia Government just protect the nation car by adding the Tax to Oversea car. Actual price for oversea car like Polo, city , Vios lower than RM50k

• Rulered on May 04, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Any comments on the safety features for this car?

• Chris Ng (Member) on May 04, 2012 at 12:49 pm

I covered it here: http://paultan.org/2012/04/19/volkswagen-polo-sedan-launched-rm99888/

• nighttrain on May 04, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Wow.. like there’s no safety features here, total ripoff for a 100 grand.

• Rulered on May 04, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Probably I missed the earlier article. Thanks for the link. It’s an ‘okay’ safety features otherwise, for those who missed the article like me, (copy and paste) :
      In terms of safety, the vehicle is outfitted with four airbags (two at the front and two at the sides), electronic Brake Pressure Distribution (EBD) and pinch-guard for all four windows. There’s also an Intelligent Crash Response System, or ICRS, that automatically unlocks your doors and turns on the hazard lights in case of accidents.

• Mienzz92 on May 05, 2012 at 5:11 am

Intelligent Crash Response System, or ICRS=
        automatically unlocks your doors and turns on the hazard lights in case of accidents

#Proton Exora also have that feature (Body Control Module)

• MrDDR on May 04, 2012 at 12:44 pm

This is what u pay for german quality. But wait….
    Picture no 8 only right lamp “menyala”.
    So this is india quality afterall

• jalan54 on May 04, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Friend, all vw models are like that…

• MrDDR on May 04, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Than all VW models is India Quality. Look at aircond dial. Like “Semi-auto washing machine” instead of “Fully-Auto Washing Machine”. 1 dial for washing timer. 1 for Spin timer and 1 for release water.

• Dino Omar on May 04, 2012 at 1:04 pm

I believe, as with a lot of contis out there, you would have one lamp for the rear fog lights (my guess is it’s the one lit right now) and the other would be the reverse light.

• MrsDDR on May 04, 2012 at 1:27 pm

picture no 8 only right lamp “menyala’ because its rear fog light which is compulsory as per EU regulation dictate all car must have at least 1 rear fog light installed in all car.

the left side lamp is reverse lamp. so this is not “india quality afterall”

• anonymous on Jul 31, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Friend, according to German Road Laws, only one reversing lamp is required when backing up
      Not issues on India quality

• Ugly…. Boring exterior design..

• jalan54 on May 04, 2012 at 12:58 pm

I’m not saying its not a good car, but with such price tag, I can get bigger size car with cheaper maintenance cost. It is ridiculous for me to buy a B-segment car with such price tag without dsg gearbox and tsi engine.

• i rather get a fiesta… with racing stripes! =D

• F Fiesta on May 04, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Better buy Fiesta..

Even Forte also could not beat the awesomeness of Ford Fiesta.

• Alan Ridzuan on May 04, 2012 at 3:30 pm

my Lancer GT (2.0) 2010 model or my latest baby, Inspira 1.8 maual – R3 version can cream this anytime bebeh!

• taiburn on May 08, 2012 at 8:26 am

mcm rider CBR berenti tepi rider EX5 pastu ckp “makan asap moto aku je la”…pehal x eksen lancer gt ko kat ferrari terus?

• anonymous on May 21, 2012 at 11:38 pm

sebab segmen lain lah dol. Segmen C & D untuk sedan tak jauh. Yang ko bandingkan dengan supercar, memang ler…. adehh mamat nie… Belajar tinggi2 pandai gak ko jawap yer :P

• but still preve wins

• bongek on May 05, 2012 at 6:49 am

not yet not, i still waiting proton properly tune their preve first, hope they can solve it , and i am ready to book…

• omanjedi on May 04, 2012 at 4:53 pm

i agree…….its better to buy Fiesta…at least it is internationally recognized and specifications are way much better…
      cost down VW? – sorry…

• ong chin aun on May 04, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Yes, i fully agreed the car , polo sedan in Malaysia, is overpriced ! But what to do, perhaps is the policy. Certainly, i admire the car, but not going to own it. As compare to other makes either Jap. or Korean lack lot of modern gargets like USB, reverse camera with screen and other sensors and indicators to name a few.

• power on May 04, 2012 at 1:41 pm

there are better cars with that price. The reason people get vw cars are for performance and there certainly arent any of it in this car…

• kamaji on May 04, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Not much different from a saga 1.6 FLX , so merely buying a VW badge for 50k..hhmmmmm is that really worth it or we’re again taken for another expensive ride.

• orange on May 04, 2012 at 2:38 pm

for 100k price it’s not worth it. Boring and dull looking, spec is good but lack on technology.

• sepucps on May 04, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Offering euro 2 engine shows how low our standars are..malaysia boleh!!!

• salty on May 04, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Hi Paul,

I am newbie here and I’m at the dilemma between hyundai elantra 1.8 & polo sedan 1.6.
    Just to compare below…

questions/concern below:
    1. car engine wise between this 2 model of the cars although both also using same MPI (multi-point injection) engine.
    2. resale value for both
    3. maintenance wise for both
    4. can the features like bluetooth & GPS can be added for polo sedan?

conclusion…

Just compare both this car beside local car.
    Hear from your opinion.

Thanks!

• xavier lert on May 04, 2012 at 3:30 pm

gud review..
    my say:
    saga standard with the price of 2.. better get prebeh bebeh… the balance? simpan ! byk bnde lg ble buat.

• Tony Montana on May 04, 2012 at 3:33 pm

How to get rid of that curry smell in this car?

• Storm on May 07, 2012 at 5:40 pm

I think you can get some tips on how to remove curry smells or stains from some mamak restaurant.

• Audi Owner on May 04, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Is there any VW company can install a turbo charger?

• underskinned on May 04, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Why am I seeing multiple “better buy Fiesta” and “can’t beat Fiesta” here? Fiesta sedan looks like it is dragged by a lorry from KL to Sungkai at 170 km/h and steamrolled 6 times over. Fug.

• Nissan on May 04, 2012 at 4:04 pm

funny button on image “IMG_8087b”…..so many kosong butto!! haha….many functions has already been cut before reach here.

• thebugbud on May 04, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Tested preve a week back. Everything is nicely done, handling is great but… Engine and transmission are seriously lacking on the cfe model. I’m not expecting sport like response but it feels retarded and the noisy and cvt transmission is loud. Even the back passenger is clearly noticed. Feels that it’s even louder than my saga blm.

If that’s improved, preve is great. At this point, both polo and preve are not a good or value option. (If looking for a good value and good handling car)

• MoFaz on May 04, 2012 at 10:54 pm

i prefer CFE response in Exora Bold than Preve. Preve just don’t have the same pickup. Proton should re-tune it to Exora setting.

• Since you guys tested in Langkawi, how much will this car cost in duty0free Langkawi? 50k?

• nighttrain on May 04, 2012 at 7:10 pm

If you see this car on the road, stare, point and laugh at the driver..

• respectt on May 05, 2012 at 2:01 pm

thats lame……just because others already laughed at you…doesnt mean u have to laughed at others….

• respectt on May 05, 2012 at 2:01 pm

thats lame……just because others already laughed at you…doesnt mean u have to laugh at others….

• sufyan on May 05, 2012 at 4:59 pm

just laugh in the heart la (ketawa dalam hati)

• Metroboy on May 06, 2012 at 12:08 am

Yes.. and especially if you yourself driving a proton preve’, huh?

• oh..frgot to mention..i drve toyota rav4 2006..whats you ride..volkswagen passat R ke??

• at least im not crack in head to spend rm 100k for this crap polo blm

• r u drivn polo blm? or u the VW salesman huh?? either way, i ketawa dalam hati

• peYno on May 04, 2012 at 7:53 pm

preve better

Rakyat prefer PREVE

• QChan on May 04, 2012 at 8:22 pm

haha….. More than just a passing resemblance to our Saga BLM!

At this price – an absolute no-go for me…… VW badge notwithstanding.

Far too basic and plain and……. wey, no USB port, how can…??

• seems like alot of bad comments about Polo Sedan. Drove a Honda City/Kia Forte/Polo Sedan…the VW felt more sturdy than the rest…its the comfort and quality, of course VW did not plan to target the high performance market…but they are offering a more reliable car holding their badge…

certainly its an individual’s own preference. but for me, i kinda like it compared to the koreans/japan…holding a VW badge, why not? im no rich guy, but i still feel the polo sedan is the most sturdy car in its class…

• wow..a very comprehensive review…i’ll get one tomorrow…very sturdy ya for RM100k..well done proton BLM eh sorry wassit polo or blm i just saw haaa?

• well, i guess its not for u then…everyone has their own personal opinion, i would go for the polo sedan just because its an affordable continental sedan…i cant afford a jetta or passat at the moment, but continental cars kickass anytime, hands down…buyers, just follow ur feeling…this debate will never end on whether the price tag is worth its value..

• amir_mf on Jan 17, 2013 at 10:28 am

hello amir mf …. go get a life. come back here when you have the money to buy a car.

• More sturdy is one thing but you are paying more than 100k for a B segment car. That’s still ok if you talk about the VW badge but it’s not like any other VW models. Old NA engine, not their DSG, poor ICE system and worst still, not even an insulator for front hood!! This VW has been stripped to the max frm India…More than 100K for a skeleton?

• well guys, i guess its not for u then…a proton will always be a proton…a fiesta will always be a fiesta….its all about personal preference, so buyer…, if u like it, just go for it

• Ah dui on May 04, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Pantai kok??

• MrDDR on May 05, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Yes. Near Anna & the King movie set. Sadly that set is like ghost set already

• sufyan on May 04, 2012 at 11:47 pm

first of all, VW should not tag this car as ‘people’s car’ coz it is not..not worth it or not afford thats depends individually. So when VW release the car price (which was not as expected by most malaysian, there u get the bad comments)

Secondly, it does not have TSI engine..so i as malaysian feels like being con by VW at that price

Thirdly, corporate social responsibility advertising this car as people’s car…which is NOT…seriously malaysian, open la your eyes..pity la those keep on saying this car is better than this car & that car..it must be, well at least becoz it is RM 100k car. I know VW wants profit, bss must have profit maaa, but i think this one they go too much..i honestly feels like VW are conning Malaysia with this product . even if it sells at rm 80k still i think twice before getting one. Your advertising or pricing strategy need to be adjusted to increase sale vol.

• what do you mean by VW conning Malaysia? u can decide to buy or not to buy…if u buy it and later feel being conned by VW…you are just plain stupid…thats all about it…

• yeah, spend rm100k for this grandious polo sedan then we’ll call you very smart people indeed

• if people have the money, they can spend whatever they like…if you say its for the badge, why not? ppl still buy Prada, Gucci, etc…and everyone is comparing Polo Sedan with the Proton Saga…to me its a totally different class, in terms of quality…why not compare to a proton iswara instead? its 4x the price isnt it?

gimme a continental sedan that we can compare with the Polo Sedan…same range same price…if you keep bitching about the price, then go get a KIA Forte then…certainly Value for money!!! U win!!!

• nighttrain on May 07, 2012 at 6:24 pm

There you go again.. this is NOT sold in the European Continent. They refuse to drive cars with this quality. They’d rather drive Preve, which has more gadgets, tech and safety features.

• Its funny how u ASSUME europeans refuse to drive the Polo Sedan or prefer the Preve…looking forward to your justification about this…if u cant, next time please run through your words through your brain before spitting it out…

also, would love to see how Preve perform in Europe…

• Metroboy on May 05, 2012 at 2:33 am

No matter what, a VW is still a VW just as a Proton will still always still be a proton and the same goes for every other car brand as well. That’s the underlying explanation why car that does not seem to be worth it’s price in metal still sells no matter what and vice-versa. As the saying goes, the car you drive says a lot about you. So end of the day it’s each individual person choice. If you think this car is not right for you because in this case the price tag is on the high side compared to other car brand of the same ‘segment’ yes indeed this car is not for you.

• Wallstreet on May 05, 2012 at 12:05 pm

You have to go a little further than just the badge. Yes no doubt VW sounds better than few other brands but I will rather drive a Civic, Mazda 3 etc than to drive the ‘cheapest’ low spec VW. Yes it’s a VW but a cheap VW, no thanks.

• Metroboy on May 06, 2012 at 12:01 am

My point is every car is different and everything in that car is embodied in the badge. So it is really not just about the piece of metal we call the badge that we are talking about here. In my house (and I’m sure so does many other people nowadays) there is a Kia, a Perodua, a Honda and a Volkswagon which we interchangeably use. Each car is different and has its own unique characteristic and feel. Myself and my son (he is 18) prefer the VW because of it ‘solid’ feel, superb sound system, etc. My wife on the other hand love the Honda because of it ‘light’ feel (she doesn’t bother much about anything else including the road/wind noise coz she doesn’t drive beyond 110). My daughter on the other hand prefer the Perodua because of it ‘city car’ design – large front screen, frequent stop/go & quick rev kind of handling. And the Kia (it a Forte 6 speed btw) it’s a universal car, it tries to be everything (German, US, Japanese?) so none of us could really get connected to it in the same way we do to the VW or the Honda. But of course we still use it a lot. The point is, if you really want to own a particular type or brand of car of your choice, in this case a VW sedan version, and the Jetta and or the Passat is beyond your budget, they have given you an opportunity to do so. So go ahead, follow your dream, what matter you like the car and the brand personifies you. In short all the connection between yourself, the car and the brand are in unison. I would gladly throw RM100K for that.

• sufyan on May 06, 2012 at 12:52 pm

you are talking philosophy…in malaysia, practicality wins..follow your dream & next time want to sell it secondhand for rm 70 to 80k pun people tak mau beli..very basic car not worth it..

• Mohan Nair on May 05, 2012 at 6:51 am

I see many people dizzing the fact that this car is made in India. Get over the fact that Malaysia is not a big car market as India or China or for that matter Indonesia. The volumes does not justify the kind of investment required to setup manufacturing in Malaysia.

BTW, Hyundai, Ford, VW, Suzuki all export CBU from India to all over the world and haven’t heard anyone complaining about the quality.

What I see exported out of Malaysia here in the US is self-assemble furniture and remotes .

• mohamad on May 05, 2012 at 10:15 am

buy saga at 50k and u can only drive for 3-4 years max …

buy polo at 100k but it can last u min 10 years …

who is smarter?

• Wallstreet on May 05, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Of course buyers of saga…first of all what car can only drive for 3-4 years? Even 20 year old saga still on the road today. Secondly, changing a car after 4-5 years is getting very normal these days. Thirdly, how many actually will drive their car for more than 10 years these days? So the answer to your question, Saga.

• sufyan on May 05, 2012 at 5:07 pm

i think the real question is who is stupid enuf to spend rm100k to buy this car

• Metroboy on May 06, 2012 at 8:58 pm

People with money and who want to be a class above. I would generally not classify such people as stupid.

• You call this Polo sedan a class above?? oh please la…

• r u metrosexual too…auw..no wonder, i think metrosexual guys loves VW batch..it makes them……super .sexxyyyyyy….kekekekekeke

• dhoby ghaut on May 05, 2012 at 10:53 am

every car has its own features, good or bad, really depends on one’s needs and wants. we should open up ourselves and respect people’s choice. for this case, those with extra money, can opt to buy this polo sedan. but those with limited budget, can choose other less expensive from the same class. i myself do own a proton car for several years already and i have enough of it. now, i’ve booked a polo sedan to taste the continental likes. i’ve made comparisons with mazda 3 1.6 & altis 1.6 and i think i’m satisfied with my choice. for me gadgets isn’t a priority. i chose for safety and reliability.

• Its funny when you mentioned safety and reliability are your main priority and yet you chose Polo sedan over Mazda 3. Mazda 3 achieved maximum 5 star euro ncap but Polo sedan was not tested or proven in the test. Secondly reliability, again I will confidently choose a Mazda over an unproven Indian polo sedan. I have lost count on just how many complaints on reliability issue on Polo hatchback.

• German Crap on May 05, 2012 at 12:51 pm

VW is a good car.
    BUT the nightmare is the service centre only holds basic parts like engine/transmission/brake oils, filters and basic2 needs.
    THEY DONT HAVE OTHER PARTS in storage.

Speaking form my experienced of owning a VW…
    Also..
    Let say you need to claim your part(s) which is covered by the warranty you need to be ultra patient as they will only fly or deliver the part(s) from Germany which takes around 60-90 days..
    So just imagine if your car part(s) which is critical you may NOT ABLE TO USE YOUR CAR FOR FEW MONTHS..
    WOW: pay 200-300K for such worse backup service.

NOT AS PER ADVERTISE!
    SO to make the nightmare the worse part is VW may not or never honor their 5 years warranty..
    GOT TO BE CAREFUL.

• Metroboy on May 05, 2012 at 9:39 pm

I think you are referring to an era that was 5 or 10 yrs ago. If you are up to date, you would have realized the world change very fast.

• Its true, I was told VW doesn’t keep stocks on major components. A friend of mine waited for more than 2 months for gearbox replacement and he told me the car was in workshop more than on the road.

• letstorque on May 06, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Are you my father?
      Your experience is just like my father’s experience.

In the first 7 months, 3 times load on car transportoer back to the main workshop. As we not living in KL, that are really bad experiences.

Our humble and boring Camry seems more reliable and loyal.

• VW is a good car.
    Heavily promoted with their 5 years warranty..

But the thing is.. their support in Malaysia sucks..
    Owning one since 2010; I’ve noticed that..
    Their service centers only holds standard parts such as engine/ transmission/ brake oil, filters and standard service consumable..

Lucky for me still my engine and DSG fully function..
    Speaking from experienced…
    Here’s some story..
    Let say you have major part(s) to be claim warranty yes they let you claim.
    BUT the parts is not in Malaysia..
    Standard quote “sorry sir no stock; we have to order..”
    Each time they order it would takes around 60-90 days to arrive..

JUST IMAGINE if its a very crucial part(s) hence YOU CANT EVEN USE UR CAR!
    They promoted in their 5 years program they give you temporary car “my foot!” they dont even offer you; when ever you ask always standard quote again “sorry sir, no car right now…”

The best part VW centre(s) do not communicate or update their customer..
    SO U HAVE TO CONTACT THEM AT ALL TIMES on your car/part(s) status..
    FUNNY THING IS; we pay them to do work..
    Oh…

So go figure..
    If you want GERMAN take other brand(s)…
    if budget not permit; seek for Japs or Koreans..

Trust me after such $$ buying VW; yet service and support still suck(s)!

• No matter how those people say about the VW suxxk…such a bad thing but my two VW r fine and the Service is good…want faster part,then go for the national car or Thailand car ‘ T and H ‘ easy and faster :)

• golf for life on May 07, 2012 at 4:37 pm

I would agree..I am thinking of selling off my golf as service center/maintenance and 5 year warranty is merely a gimmick. Better consider other makes with reliable support! Just couldn’t take it anymore…

• RedBeanBun on May 05, 2012 at 5:36 pm

It will become…

Protong Polo Sedan…2013…hahaha…

• helmi on May 06, 2012 at 11:07 am

Really not worth for that amount of money. RM100k for 3rd world car with 3rd class specification and engine assemble in a 3rd country for the 3rd world market. VW Malaysia, like UMWToyota is insulting us as they think they can sell well because of the brand. People, let’s give them the hardest lesson this time.

• sufyan on May 06, 2012 at 12:53 pm

yeah..lets unite & teach them

• i agree, they need to learn never try con malaysian..volkswagen, u’ve gone to far with this piece of crap and selling it at rm100k..do you think we stupid???? im very dissatisfy with Vw because of the pricing & specs. If you want to sell it, sell cheap la.. “true people’c car my ars**’..not rm100k..i honestly feel insulted by them

• Mohan Nair on May 08, 2012 at 8:04 am

The same car sells for around RM50K in India. If your government has levied taxes to protect your national car. You need to talk to your government not diz VW.

Get the facts straight.

• RyanL. on May 06, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Stop comparing this to the Saga.
    Basically it’s like saying, ‘Why stay in a bungalow when you can stay in a low cost house?’

Think about it, when you have the money for the polo, will you even look at the saga?
    Same goes to the other way round, if you can only afford the saga, why bother the polo?
    Ask yourselves.

Placed my booking for the Polo & have no regrets about it.

• Err…you calling this cheap VW a bungalow?? It’s still a low cost house but maybe located in a better location. If Polo sedan is a bungalow, Jetta must be a Palace already then? Wah what about Passat or Passat CC? Heaven?

• He mean if compared to a Saga,the Polo sedan is considered as a bungalow ! i agree…

• polo sedan is a ‘bungalow’ WOW….u have such a grandious mind..let me refer you to a shrink aka psychiatrist

• RyanL. on May 07, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Dei, pakai otak sikit la. Common sense please. -.-

• Storm on May 07, 2012 at 5:35 pm

If you really use your common sense, he meant Saga and Polo Sedan are not very far apart…which i agreed.

• if they give me free car to own, choose between the new hyundai elantara, pug 308VTI, preve and this….polo sedan will be the last choice…cant complain about ppl comparing this with blm..design got similarity dude

• You got common sense?? If you have one you will not equate Polo sedan as bungalow and saga as low cost house. You could say a Toureg as bungalow but Polo sedan should only be a terrace house at most…So your comparison of bungalow to a low cost house is way too far. Use some common sense..

• X-VW fan on May 08, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Now2, don’t be emotional guys…relax.

• fuel cell phone on May 06, 2012 at 9:38 pm

imho, the vw polo sedan should be priced competitively against other b segment conti like pug 207 sv (otr 76,888), not to mention other makes from japan and korea

with current pricing, even the pug 308 vti is the better option with more features

• flying keyboard on May 07, 2012 at 1:53 pm

yea, browsing thru the comments, no one stated 308 Vti yet until you. Pug 308 Vti is a good alternative for the price and features.

• ankleguy2003 on May 06, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Hey..im 40 and i think this VW sedan really look like an “apek” car.

• Shahrul on May 07, 2012 at 11:56 am

Is the price is final? It maybe a bargain but not much is offered but the marquee :(
    Damn, I’ve been postponing my latest car purchase for news like this. Sigh.

• sarawakiana on May 27, 2012 at 12:25 am

The prices tag in India is about the price tag of Proton Saga in Malaysia, in other words, it costs less than half of the price in Malaysia than in India.

• azr76 on Jun 03, 2012 at 11:35 pm

It is a fact that cars are expensive in Malaysia. Local cars enjoy preferential tax treatment in order to compete. This plus other protective mechanisms made by the government actually made Thailand the car manufacturing capital and Indonesia are also enjoying foreign investments instead of Malaysia.

Anyway, I am looking for a car and I was in Sg Besi recently. So I went to Proton, VW and Toyota who are all in Sg Besi.

My personal opinions:

VW Polo Sedan. ( I know TSI is a better buy but I want a boot)
    It does look like Saga BLM and the interior is very plasticky. Same standard as Saga BLM. The author is being kind not to say this but it is made of very hard plastic like those you find in Saga BLM.
    Nevertheless it has some useful features like you can adjust your headlamps and dim your dashboard lights etc.
    Though some may not like the exterior, it seems rather dignified to me. But I really don’t like the interior. there is no arm rest, just a big gap.

I am considering also Altis 1.6 which is marginally more expensive. VW has 6 speed AT and is also lighter than Altis. The torque figures are almost similar but VW peaks at 3700rpm whereas Altis 1.6 peaks at over 5000 rpm. So I think VW will have much better performance.

Altis 1.6 cannot fold down the back seat but VW can. I kinda like going to Ikea. VW will be more handy.

I am not a P1 fanboy, but Preve interior beats this VW hands down. P1 interior is quite well laid out and the built quality is certainly much better than what is spread around in the internet.

Why not the Preve? It is 30k cheaper.

I don’t think I want to buy a car with CVT until this technology is proven reliable. The reason I am changing my car is because of CVT issues. I don’t think many manufacturers mate CVTs with turbocharged engines. So, even if Preve is sold at 60k now, I will not touch it by a mile unless no issue after 5 years.

What about the non turbo version? You expect a 1.6 normally aspirated engine to pull a car over 1300kg? Yes, Preve is heavier than Altis and VW polo sedan.

I will rush out to buy a 4 or 5AT 1.8 Preve if Proton has one. No thanks for now.

Looks like I will end up with the non CVT Altis which is stuck with an old tech 4AT. I would have chosen the VW if they made the interior slightly better (like honda city at least) but I cannot accept a 104k car with a Proton Saga FL interior.

• azr76 on Jun 03, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Another thing to add. The VW front view seems limited. Either you are too high with the rear view mirror blocking your view or you are too low to see the road. So you need to sit close to the front to see better. Then your knees will touch the dash. If you are tall, you will have this issue

• What99 on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:07 am

I had a look at preve & polo sedan, please check this the preve still use the same room light as waja, my waja and friend reading lamp button will not function after a while. The worst is the meter, please find me any other car that have the word ‘Trip’ bigger then the numbers that is more important! What a failure with proton. The beauty of normal mpi and auto box is you know you will have less problem and after the warranty you can service it like anywhere……even India !

• mikey on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Polo Sedan is from India. Does not enjoy AFTA import tax exemptions. If the gov allows a true level playing field, no excise tax rebates for Proton, this VW will be the same price as Preve. Though they can boast that Preve is a global car but it still need tax protection from the government!

• John Doe on Jun 16, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Purchased 2011 model at RM7k discount. OTR around 95k now.

• Patrick Sebastian on Jun 17, 2012 at 11:25 am

The Polo Sedan if consider the price it may be expensive compared to Asian makes.No doubt it is manufactured in India (Also Asian)this high price could be due to tax and duty imposed by our local Government as everyones know.Performance is outstanding if compared to a japanese make with the same capacity on acceleration and overtaking when “sport” mode is engaged.The car do not wobble on any corners.Take a test drive and floor the accelerator and you may judge your opinion whether is value for money. (Performance only not price)

• ejuilkaraki on Nov 17, 2012 at 1:20 pm

whatever people say about this car, i still like the design,engine,etc.but the price it’s abit pricey..ohohoh no money im still studying

• Just got my Polo Sedan with 10K discount. With 4 airbags, 5 years unlimited warranty & 15k service interval, I m a happy man.

• Still thinking either honda city or polo sedan. Today VW offer 11k rebate. What u all think? Any opinion.

• love in first sight with p.sedan on Dec 20, 2012 at 7:58 pm

get the polo. i myself test drove both city and the sedan and i think the polo is worth it! now with the discounts, it is even more worth it!

• I got 8k discount….and now Im driving it…..whohooo……solid, love the insulation, stable, im happy nman too…

• I got myself a Polo Sedan after reading many good reviews about the car. But sadly to say, the fuel comsumption is killing me….full tank can only travel 500-520km….that’s not efficiency.

• How much is the full tank?

• malaysia polo sedan sux! on Dec 20, 2012 at 2:46 am

well, it can really good in fc if hatchback polo is what u bought, 1.2tsi engine are very ideal at producing fast acceleration and low fc

• That y now Im decide to book City since they also give free insurance + rebate. So total up to RM4k++. In addition, they also promise give me tinted, trunk tray and 5yrs unlimited mileage. Look reasonable.
    Hopefully City fuel consumption better than VM.

• Strikeee on Dec 28, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Hopefully i’m not late to reply u, i drove i-vtec city changed to this polo sedan.
      city FC save only for the first year, after that FC not save at all.
      I am the first badge of polo sedan onwer, from BM to ipoh to cameron highland n back ipoh to BM only rm60.
      Maintenance also save, service every 15000km once.
      In honda need to service 3 times dy, vw only service 1 nia. labour u pay 1 or u wanna pay 3 triple?

What u wan for???

• malaysia polo sedan sux! on Dec 20, 2012 at 2:39 am

if they offer the same car and the same price that remains 1.2 tsi and 7-speed dsg like the hatchback did, this will definitely selling like hotcakes

• Jan Helen Niar on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:14 pm

regret buying the polo sedan aka imitation.Pricey, noisy,view problem, no rear wiper & saga shape. my daughter said twas good for retirees with some $$ so … At any time my prevous jap/korean cars gave much more satisfaction. VW u cheaters!!!

• Sell it then lest you’ll look like a retiree for many more years to come.

• atz1999 on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:13 am

polo sedan with at least 1.2tsi engine similar like hatch … then it can be value for money

• anti-caffeine on Jan 26, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Wife needed a new car recently. Test drove ford focus 2.0 new, city i-ctec, insight, polo sedan and golf.
    VW wins hands down, no matter golf or polo. If u ACTUALLY drove it, It’s not even about the brand. It’s the feeling when u step on pedal. I felt good, very in control.

• Hoyhoysum on Feb 06, 2013 at 6:53 pm

As for me i like it, i dont mind the old tech engine or the old transmission gear. If it is proven and reliable, why not. Further our local mechanic also cannot handle high tech stuff. To them this is already very high tech stuff. They might scratch their head when they see this car. Most important not much kacau and no need to be repaired at all for the next 7 years. After 7 years change car. However the price is not so “syiok” If it sell for world wide average price of RM100K then it is ok for me. But if it sells somewhere cheaper and most probabley cheaper or on par with T,H or N cars then i find it hard to buy. We look like a fool buying such a high price. I have nothing against India manufacturing capability and the raw components, as matter of fact they are better than China produced ones. IMHO, i observe their metal products are better.
    They should put stainless steel plates to protect the paint from scratching as you sling your shoes over the door entrance.(I dont know what that partis called) But most Japs car have it.
    The fuel lid better to have it enable from the interior of the car instead of being able to open from the outside. Who knows one day you found out, you run out of fuel as someone siphoned out your fuel in the middle of the night.

• No worry about someone siphoned out your fuel, the lid is lock as long as your car is lock.

• Dropby on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Class to class comparison, Polo Sedan better than T&H or others. Interior a bit dull, but got salesman who can offer upgrade to leather seat and LCD unit with reverse sensor (minus some cash from the promo 9k). Price wise, i am now in doubt over Polo Sedan or a 2.0P Inspira. Test drove an Inspira, couldn’t believe the comfort and NVH it offers, not to mention the power. I am a happy Prius owner btw. IMHO, it’s up to your requirement/liking anyway. Any thoughts? Please share..thanks

• Goofy on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:14 am

hmmm … i’m thinking, i’m thinking.

• Don’t think, just drive and see. Many of them above comment base of looking and not even touch the vehicle.(Don’t blame them).
    After you test drove it, then u really know the difference with others.

• Goofy on Mar 30, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Hi mm, do you own one ? I need to know if it gives any engine/gear problem, I’m nervous after reading so many complaints about having spare parts and servicing problems. Thanks.

• Norman on Apr 25, 2013 at 11:25 am

Think this conventional 6 speed gearbox is much better than those dsg.My Golf 1.4 TSI ever stay in workshop for 10 days cause of DSG problem

• fazrin on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Hello Paul Tan & the rest of the crews.
    Can you make a review & test drive for the new CKD Volkswagen Polo Sedan. If possible, compare it with others at the same class, price, cc, etc. Perhaps, you can make a new Driven video/series. Thanks