Government planning more incentives for hybrid and EV – details to be revealed when revised NAP is announced

The Star earlier reported that the Government may pile on more incentives for hybrid and electric vehicles. This move is being done to encourage more Malaysians to embrace environment-friendly vehicles.

On top of the current incentives, which include the 100% import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrids below 2,000 cc in place until December 2013, the Government is exploring other avenues to spur the uptake of such vehicles. One such incentive the Government is looking at is possible income tax exemption.

International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said that the incentives will be revealed when the second revision of National Automotive Policy is announced later this year.

He said that there are currently about 8,000 hybrid cars on the road, which the government sees as a very low figure. He added that the goal is to increase the number of both hybrid and electric vehicles on Malaysian roads significantly by 2020.

The announcement was made during the launch of Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s Nissan Leaf Pilot Programme. The Leaf is not yet available for sale in Malaysia, but it is available for a limited period for test drives at selected locations.

Our man, Danny, has taken the Leaf for a spin. Read his thoughts here.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• kjryth on May 04, 2012 at 7:22 pm

y buy this when can beli proton

• Diesel on May 05, 2012 at 10:07 am

Clean diesel engines has better fuel consumption than hybrid! Why wasn’t any tax exemption is granted to them as well? The government seriously lack the foresight and the technical expertise to implement a proper NAP in place.

• U do?

• diesel does have more foresight then either bn/proton or kzm. current diesel engines give more mileage than any hybrid on sale. and we have want to support the development of our homegrown biodiesel industry or LYNAS rare earths which will be needed for all those hybrid batteries?

• Director on May 07, 2012 at 1:40 am

Current diesel give more mileage than hybrid. U must be drunk. Hybrid average consumption is mere 5 liters per 100 km while for example, diesel like focus tdci consume at least 6 liters per 100 km, with higher co2 level too, especially when tuned down to match lower grade diesel we have here.

Yes diesel have higher energy density per drop but with higher soots too.Those write up saying diesel record high mileage was purely european running turtle with aircond off. Possible in their region but not here.

• littlefire on May 07, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Bro, have u think about the maintenance / ownership cost between diesel powered cars & hybird / electric cars?

Before u talk like some pro, why a lot of Europeans are still driving diesel cars & not hybrid?

By the way, petrol hybrid cars are not perfect also.. As petrol engine cars will never be efficient compare to diesel engine, that why Europeans are now going for diesel hybrid which will even stretch it even better in term of FC…

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505164_162-57411789-10391734/study-hybrid-car-owners-unlikely-to-buy-another/

A recent study shows that nearly two-thirds of hybrid owners decide not to purchase another hybrid vehicle when it’s time to trade in.. Why leh?

• Wisdom on May 08, 2012 at 5:34 pm

You need to read the whole story. Hybrid segment loyalty has been between 30-40% all the way since 2008.

Between them, Honda hybrid recorded 52% loyalty compared to Toyota only 51%. Isnt Prius is the world’s best hybrid?

https://www.polk.com/company/news/only_35_percent_of_hybrid_owners_buying_hybrids_again_says_polk

• lepak aa bro… one by one lah.
        if they plan to give for hybrid and ev, then complement them for that. later, request lah pulak for diesel. ini semua benda nak hentam. tak bagi hentam, dah nak bagi hentam juga lagi y this and y that.

learn to say thank you first. when you appreciate what you get, you ll get more.

• BeemerFreak on May 05, 2012 at 10:46 am

If government is planning incentive later, why buy now? Better we wait when it is announced. Silly to buy now cause when they intro better incentives and the price drops, if we buy a hybrid now, the value will drop and we rugi. I advice people to wait for the announcement.

• Director on May 07, 2012 at 1:51 am

The news mentioned the additional incentive will be in the form of income tax exemption. I dont think manufacturers with current hybrid line up will push the price further down. Believe me the price wont go any cheaper. Unless proton come up with hybrid or ev, e.g saga ev or exora reev. Or maybe korean hybrid. But be careful, they have less experience with hybrid and ev, reliability still a question mark.

Our neighbour down south already jelous with us posing hybrid cars below rm 100k. Pity them.

• tiadaid on May 04, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Even without taxes hybrids are so much expensive – with car companies taking huge margins from each car sold.

• Always Look Alike on May 04, 2012 at 10:18 pm

That is the objective of all businessman.

• drMpower on May 04, 2012 at 10:41 pm

see this is what i meant
      without taxes, the cars still over 90k a pop

so i think at this juncture please do not blame the government

not that i am defending them but i think we need more intelligence in consumerism

• Malaysian are not stupid on May 05, 2012 at 10:12 am

I agree. Even with the so-called tax-exemption, these “affordable” vehicles hybrids selling in our country is almost RM100,000 each! And we’re only talking about the small compact sedan/hatch hybrid vehicles!

How do you suppose to increase the take-up for these cars when it’s still priced 30% higher than other countries! Talk about an obscene amount of profit margin.

Malaysian are not stupid!

• Well other country subsidize, rebate n give incentive for the purchase of this kind of car…

• Crazy Old Fool on May 05, 2012 at 10:14 am

Some wise men told me that a crazy fool is a person who expects a different result by doing the same thing again and again. Are we as a nation are heading that way with the NAP ?

The constant with all naps are .

1. Maintain high car prices

2. Protect inefficient local businesses

3. Malaysian consumers will have to be sacrificed for the good of the local motor industry.

Frankly, after nearly 30 years of post proton era, I am seriously feeling like a crazy old fool.

• drMpower on May 05, 2012 at 2:44 pm

jesus christ
        are u not understand the point?
        with ALL taxes excluded, why the cars still 90k minimum 200k maximum?

the answer is not NAP. not proton. not barisan nasional.

the answer is GREDDY DEALERS. jesus christ get real.

• Always Look Alike on May 06, 2012 at 10:16 pm

I wonder you talk like this when you are operating your own business???

• insight on May 04, 2012 at 7:49 pm

aiya, now only wan give more incentives.

• ya lah. y only now? so no need to give lah since only now. it should have been 20 years ago. so please dont give now.

• insight on May 04, 2012 at 7:50 pm

aiya, now oni wan give incentives.

• chuakz on May 04, 2012 at 10:19 pm

if only they offer import and excise duty exemption for ALL hybrids regardless of engine size…imagine…BMWs, Porsches….damn

• MoFaz on May 04, 2012 at 10:50 pm

and you think you could buy them…? if you can’t afford Insight or Prius, don’t even dream about BMW or Porsche hybrids..
      besides, those who buy those brands are rich.. let gov tax the rich laa!

• chuakz on May 05, 2012 at 7:48 pm

I can’t now but my parents can….I will do my part in supporting the growth of our country once I’m able to….but I can safely say that car tax in Malaysia won’t be decreased even 10 years ahead from now….the closest thing we get is this hybrid incentive thing

• maybe, but it is better to have a choice!

• drMpower on May 04, 2012 at 10:38 pm

so with 100% exemption of taxes and duties, the cheapest not so hybrid is jazz at over 90k a pop. and the highest value of hybrid is the lexus at nearly 200k.

so somebody please tell me why on earth hybrid or part hybrid vehicles are damn expensive in malaysia?

u answer that, then u know why our vehicles are among the highest RRP.

• dreaming of maserati on May 05, 2012 at 12:19 am

greedy dealers!

• _xXx_ on May 06, 2012 at 5:06 pm

u forgot tat there’s another grp of ppl buyers need to feed….

• tokmoh on May 07, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Before jazz hybrid was launched, there were a few mudah ads for jazz hybrid at RM85k. Just shows, eh?

Pressure govt to remove car tax they say… Cars will be cheap they say…

• Gopeng Zai on May 04, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Go hybrid, Go electric and Go green…..

• Insight Owner on May 07, 2012 at 2:40 am

I have an Insight under my garage and it has been my favorite ride since last year. It has been serving me well and matching its fully imported qualities. No complaint so far.

The best part was when refueling. For RM60 of fuel, i can travel average 600 km. Compared to my other car (conventional engine), with comparable engine output and power, i saved more than RM300 per month on my fuel bill. I wont mind if the hybrid battery need to be changed after 5 years (cost RM5K only) as i’ll be saving more. That is the best part in terms of ownership.

In terms of environment, the car is really making sense as its convert the waste energy to electricity stored in the battery an reused them when accelerate. The engine only consume fuel when i step on the gas. When i release the accelerator, the car immediately recharge the battery and double the charging when i step on brake. I only use energy when i need, and reduce energy waste when braking. Being efficient and less polluting feels really good.

In term of performance, really no disappointment as this car can accelerate to 100km/h in mere 10 seconds under sport mode and top speed 200km/h. Still, the worst & most inefficient driving returns me more than 15 km per liter.

I really welcome the government to increase the incentive to hybrid and ev owners as these car really making sense. It will attract more people to convert to hybrid or ev. Some might argue on the car credibility but you have to own one to know.

• Insight kaki on May 07, 2012 at 11:13 am

I share your sentiments, my only grouse is the prehistoric 5k service intervals. 200km/h? Dude, did u reflash your ecu or something?

• PPKIA on May 04, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Bear in mind there are still many 2-strokes motorcycles on the road. Ban those, then talk about environment-friendly vehicles.
    Many companies in Taiwan attempted to enter our market with their eco-friendly electric motorcycles and mopeds but are rejected outright.
    Profit driven no doubt, but at least do it with moral and social resposibilities.

• Sorchai on May 04, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Last time some stupid mentri said that electric bikes and cars not allowed on our roads as motorised “vehicles” because our law measures vehicles in cc and not kW.

Now boleh already??? Malaysia boleh!

Electric car saves fuel…yes. Green??? Maybe. Read some of the research on hybrids and electrics. They are not really green. The mines for raw material is dead and toxic. Waste batteries dumped in China and India stripped by children exposing toxic materials.

I don’t know. I have my doubts. Hope some one can do some real science and show facts.

• yes the mining and all is toxic. But, and this is a very big but, those mines and dumping areas are most probably very far out from where ppl actually lives. The idea is to reduce the air pollution in the city. Imagine all the cars in KL are electric. I think our sky will be very clear instead of hazy like the situation now.

• cut the crap, our electricity mainly generated by fossil fuels. thus, no difference.

• you should also cut the crap on May 07, 2012 at 10:39 am

you should cut your crap as well. yes, electricity in our country is still mainly generate by fossil fuel because we aren’t up to standards with european, US and japan standards of electricity generation.

we don’t know the future, but fossil fuel will definitely run out one day if you depend on it. our geological location also plays a part in setting up power plants for electricity.

this is the future, while you are still arguing about the present. get your head out of a hole and try to look further ahead. electricity is still more sustainable.

• dood, where is the plant that used the fossi fuel to generate electricity? is it in the middle of KL? right next to KLCC? that’s why i said the mines/dumping site is most probably far away from the population. Haihhh

• tikus on May 06, 2012 at 11:38 pm

What to do lots of people vote for the stupid mentri and still support till now.

• RedBeanBun on May 05, 2012 at 12:54 am

dont be a joke to have EV car here..plug at own home? TNB is waiting to laugh it out..

why other country can do it because they are using the cheapest power resources, which is Nuclear…

Just killed the NAP, and abolish the import car tax and bring in better grade diesel will be better than this wayang kulit initiatives…

• drMpower on May 05, 2012 at 2:51 pm

u can now install PV at your homes, u know that?
      i bet u dont know

and u know they are having this similar to hire purchase scheme for PVs as well?
      i bet u dont know

the system is about 3-5 years on return of investment ROI do u know that?
      i bet u dont know

and lastly, do u know u can power up ur EV or whatevers using the system
      i bet u dont know

so there are many things people dont know yet offer their opinions. nuclear is great but if u mention that, puziah will come to you with guns blazing. or guan eng will come camping on ur doorsteps demanding…whatever he wants.
      i am no politics but these two clowns are the real life individuals (apart from many others) and speak cunts about topics they know shite about
      we all know how much a tiny bit nuclear can do to generate electric and etc but in malaysia so many of us dont use god given brain. they mostly use god given stupidity.

so unless most of us use brain, nuclear is off topic. in the meantime, u can generate ur own electricity
      read more son. it never harm u

• MoFaz on May 05, 2012 at 2:57 pm

which other countries are you talking about? Japan? USA? yes they use nuclear but their electricity is not cheaper than Malaysia. we still need to source the uranium from other country, and if the uranium producer increase the price, we’ll back energy crisis again.

• ame_nooooo!!!! on May 06, 2012 at 12:15 pm

if only gov-crony manipulate uranium price

• any problems happen is due to cronyism in Malaysia. sigh… get life lah.

• Cronism is normal what the fuss…most company in malaysia are like that eg family control company listed or nonlisted..politic both side same…ur family n fren i bet oso do the same…only time cronism not involve when u sleep in ur grave…most time cronism take place when we need help from someone…dont tell me u never done cronism..if u say no u lie…

• abdul123 on May 05, 2012 at 10:59 am

This revised NAP will be a failure. Manufacturers can’t survive on hybrid cars

alone. They also need to produce normal cars. A lot of parts are similar. eg wheels,

doors, shock absorber, headlights, pistons, seats and many more.

Incentives should be for all range of cars.

If the revised NAP have a lot of rules, regulations and restriction telling a manufacturer

what you can or cannot do, it will be a failure. Selling price of cars should be fix by

market forces and not government control. Manufacturers shold be allow to do

promotion like in supermarket.

No businessman like big brother telling you what to do.

• nazri on May 05, 2012 at 12:14 pm

is unfair only EV and hybrid car get incentives,how about low turbo petrol/diesel car, infact cheapest hybrid car now pricing at RM90k, better improve our fuel quality first before EV and hybrid car get incentives

orang kaya semakin kaya orang miskin semakin miskin

• langit hitam on May 05, 2012 at 2:43 pm

I hope this revied NAP will include TAX deduction or other incentive for Fuel Efficient Car, not only for EV or Hybrid.

Just my half cents thought

• tok-kok on May 05, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Prius in Malaysia is Tax free but not AP free

Basic model is about USD25000 over at US.
    We are paying RM140K for it.

Some of the money we pay still go to AP .. dunno how much only…

• biggie on May 07, 2012 at 9:36 am

AP for dealership is free

• tok-kok on May 07, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Wow.. Free AP for dealers?
        Then where did the extra RM65K goes?? UMW makes RM65K selling a Prius wow.. good money for them!

• Yes free for franchise AP…open AP need RM10000 per AP…how many percent gov share and how many percent toyota share, plus dealer profit…dont u guy find it odd that many car dealer able to give discount almost RM1-7k plus many goodies

• and yet, proton/perodua is always to be blamed for high price of other cars

• tax break for the rich where do I hear this before?

• paparadzi on May 06, 2012 at 8:53 am

The government want to give incentive for hybrid vehicles, but NOT for saving fuel.

Hybrid or not should be less a concern compared to saving fuel and the environment. They should make cars cheaper and fuel more expensive. Therefore there will be incentive for people to buy more fuel efficient vehicles as well as adjusting their driving style for better efficiency. Using engine capacity as a measure for tax should be dumped into the wastebasket..

The beauty of hybrid and electric vehicles are that it can shut down the engine when not in use such as at the traffic light, and recovering the energy when decelerating and braking, sort of kinetic energy recovery system. Even the most efficient diesel can’t do that.

When will we see a hybrid diesel?

• Richard on May 06, 2012 at 9:46 am

Just test drive yesterday.
    Nice design, comfortable interior & very very quiet motor. Only aware the motor is on because of air-cond and all the indication lights.

Easy to handle than conventional engine car. Complete with all “standard” features (hopefully ETCM will maintains all these features without higher pricing). Low maintenance cost and less frequent normal services. Estimated running cost for a new Leaf is RM0.05 per KM if TNB maintain the current rate. Current Road Tax is RM38 based on the kW not cc. (Langkawi test drive unit is RM10 – NAP increased pricing for Rd Tax).

But fully charged battery only can run for about 160 km and the charging time is 6 hours. No info about the replacement battery price & standby portable battery if the car’s battery flat. Only said the battery life can last longer than the life of the car. (forgot to ask whether is Japanese standard or Malaysian standard – malaysian’s car life is longer than the Japs due to our NAP).

Hope that the pricing for this “Leaf” is a real leaf weight not trunk weight. So more rakyat can afford this car. Hope that Nissan can improve the fully charged battery mileage to 400 km so that we can use this car as balik kampung car.

“Gambate”

• Common sensor on May 06, 2012 at 1:55 pm

The revised NAP to be announced later this year??? Thought it was supposed to be announced end of last year. No confidence about it’s revision content …? Just do it Sir, liberalize the industry and the market, don’t worry about the AP holders threat (PEKEMA), or the basher, its just another act of endangered species.

• PEKEMA (grey importer) not involve with mass car brought in by officially by manufacturer…they only concern with open ap not franchise ap

• michael jackson on May 06, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Hello everybody,
    I was wondering….if they say 0 excise duty and 0 import duty for hybrids, will the authorities allow us to buy the car ourselves overseas and ship it into Malaysia? Is it possible? Will the customs allow it?

• tok-kok on May 06, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Unless you have an AP to import car to Malaysia.
      Else your car will be stuck at Westport Klang…Ha Ha Ha

• michael jackson on May 07, 2012 at 8:17 am

How do I get my hands on an AP? Can I apply? Will anybody sell one to me?

• koochai on May 07, 2012 at 12:17 pm

student ap maybe?

• tok-kok on May 07, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Student AP is classified under Personal Import. Next time if wanna sell the car.. Banks cannot give loan to new buyer wan… cash buyer only….

• tok-kok on May 07, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Blacks are not entitled to apply for AP in Malaysia.
          Only Bumis with strong contact with MITI can apply.

• michael jackson on May 07, 2012 at 5:29 pm

even michael jackson not entitled?

• tok-kok on May 09, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Micheal Jackson already have lah .. Janet just burned a new face lift Prius and Prius C for him last week.

• jflee169 on May 07, 2012 at 9:13 am

I think the policy maker and the F minister should use their brain before announcing. Giving tax exemption will not benefit to the car buyers/consumers. It will only benefit to the company and shareholders. Anyway, don’t expect too much policy could benefit the consumers. Let’s wait until the GST kicks in, it will be another reason for the car price can’t be reduced.

• Car Driver on May 07, 2012 at 11:31 pm

How do you expect people to buy enmass when the price of Hybrids so d*** expensive.
    Remove AP and the MITI regulated price and lets the market dictate the price and
    and believe me the objective to improve the environment will be achieved.

If this continue as the way it is the takeup rate will be even less and lesser as people realised they can just never be ‘fooled’ anymore!