SPIED: Changan Alsvin sedan spotted in Johor

Another Chinese sedan looks to be ready to enter the local market – reader Caddilac Wong spotted an example of the Chana Alsvin in Johor, and has kindly sent us photos of the parked trade-plated vehicle.

The Alsvin is equipped with a JL475QD 1.5 litre DOHC mill, good for 97 hp at 5,500 rpm and 137 Nm of torque at 3,500 to 4,500 rpm, and transmission options for the car are a five-speed manual or, in the case of the vehicle in the photos, a four-speed auto.

The example in the photos is a 1.5 AT Luxury variant, as determined by its fabric seats. Kit on the 4.36 metre-long offering should include two airbags, ABS and EBD as well as cruise control, based on the equipment list found on the domestic version.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on May 07, 2012 at 11:55 am

how easy it is for chinese automaker to go in to other country market but make it difficult for other makers to go in to their market… so fair right.. but no one in china said their G is protecting their automotive market…… i wonder why it only happened here.

• watchman on May 07, 2012 at 12:14 pm

they also imposed duties and quotas in Korea and other car-manufacturing countries. the only difference between them and Msia is that the Msian govt allow Proton to do whatever they please, including pricing Proton cars higher than they would overseas. this is a strictly no-no. if your intention is to build affordable cars for all your own countrymen, you don’t produce crap quality cars and jack up the prices and expect their business to subside your overseas expansion. and after 20 years, they are still complaining and demanding while never showing any sincerity on their parts to improve. even if Proton is your own son, if your son keep on screwing you and burning your money, after 20 years, I think you will feel like disowning him.

• Major T-roll on May 07, 2012 at 2:30 pm

I think they finally did.

• Proton cars are cheap..what made them not so cheap is excise tax..the tax already more than 70%..how can they price low if tax almost same as cost of manufacturing.

• watchman on May 07, 2012 at 6:14 pm

it is obvious you don;t know what are you talking about. those excise duties are imposed across the board on EVERY cars in Malaysia. and Proton obtained various rebates and exemptions by virtue of the fact it is a NATIONAL car. the current prices of PROTON is NET OF those rebates and exemptions. please do some research before you blast off. the simple fact is this, the market for PROTON cars simply isn;t large enough for them to spread the cost of development and production adequately to price their cars competitively. they DON’T HAVE the economies of scale and this fact is even acknowledged by your good doctor from Kedah. the captive market of Malaysia is too small for PROTON to keep on developing new cars as fast and as varied as other car-makers. the solution for them is to expand aggressively overseas but we all know what’s the outcome of PROTON effort in overseas expansions so far, don;t we ? the kind of cars available in PROTON stable simply is not competitive enough, regardless of your personal and nationalistic sentiments. if PROTON cars are good enough, they will sell overseas. just like KIA and HYUNDAI increased its market share in USA and EUROPE. is PREVE good enough ? it is not convincing. only time will tell but at the rate they are introducing new car compared to the rest of the world, I doubt they can catch up and every neutral Malaysians who got not special nationalistic fondness to PROTON suffer for it..

• “Msian govt allow Proton to do whatever they please, including pricing Proton cars higher than they would overseas”

1.where ? UAE? of course much cheaper there, they are reeeaaaaccchhhhh!!!
        2.japan and korean also have sot of protectionism for their products, why don’t malaysia?

“you don’t produce crap quality cars and jack up the prices and expect their business to subside your overseas expansion. and after 20 years, they are still complaining and demanding while never showing any sincerity on their parts to improve”

only blind bashers who don’t see any improvement in proton cars

• lchlch on May 07, 2012 at 8:48 pm

should probably go find out how much the proton parts suppliers make (also probably who they are), how motivated are the suppliers is to improve their competitiveness, probably we can understand one important factor why proton has to cost so much ….anyway no matter how high it costs…it might just be passed on to consumers quite easily with the current policy? Who and why are we paying high prices of cars for? I wonder………

• Wallstreet on May 08, 2012 at 7:05 am

Just checked out on Preve and it’s deplorable. The quality not only has not improved but it’s gettIng worst. I just can’t believe after all the hype about this global car. Cheap cheap plastic everywhere from Glove compartment, inside door handle, air con vent shut/open switch, poor quality switches feel, dashboard, etc…It’s unbelievable after all these years of producing cars.

• yuoung on May 08, 2012 at 8:26 am

please don’t bluff here
            everybody knows preve has soft touch plastic dashboard
            cheap? please tell that to other makers especially japs

• Storm on May 08, 2012 at 10:35 am

You don’t just look at soft touch. Not all the same..Compare this Preve soft touch with a Mazda 3 and you will instantly see a big difference in quality..

• preve soft touch dashboard is much better than in mazda3

• what do you expect to get with 73k car?
            preve already has soft plastic panel, it’s good enough but still cannot compare its interior with civic or mazda3 or altis coz eventhough without tax, preve is still much cheaper
            it’s a steal i can say

• preve turbo can smoke mazda3 all the way lol

• Preve turbo can smoke Mazda 3 all the way? Yeah you are absolutely correct, smoke from the Preve engine….all the way….

• Checked it out…I didn’t find the dashboard that soft. The material used in the dash in the Kia Forte felt softer..

• Wallstreet on May 08, 2012 at 11:03 pm

There are nothing to bluff here, it’s there for all to see. I feel sad actually seeing Proton all these years and still coming out with this kind of quality. Not going too far, even the old Wira glove compartment is better. Try the Preve compartment yourself and you will know how flimsy it is. Try pressing all the buttons and I can feel the poor quality springs are being used. 70K for this car after all those privileges accorded? Honestly it’s really better to pay few more thousands for a Vios, City or Mazda 2. Just speaking what I feel and not here to bash.

• tunguuu on May 07, 2012 at 12:16 pm

they have a huge market, and every maker eager to go in..so they have the leverage? what do we have? even indonesian market is bigger than us now….

• Hyundai De La Junk on May 07, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Because you can buy foreign car in China with very “Fair” price compare to Malaysia.

• It happened here because:

1. P1 screwed themselves up in the late 90’s when their sales & image were booming by producing low quality vehicle in the following decade.
      2. P1 is used as an opportunity by the reigning political party to make money by supplying inferior parts for the car.
      3. The gov imposes high tax on foreign cars to protect P1, but the gov also imposes a considerable tax on P1.
      4. At the time when the neighboring countries enjoys buying new models every 3-5 years, we are trapped with the same model by P1 for 10 years.
      5. If no political party take advantages of P1 for the last 20 years, P1 would have been an established brand overseas, making money and never sucks taxpayers money to continue operating.

NOTE: Even though the China gov is protecting the local car company, Honda Civic in China is still far cheaper than Malaysia.

• Vincent Ang on May 07, 2012 at 1:14 pm

They do not turn their car manufacturing into a pile of jaguh kampung , ‘Ketuanan’ bullshit. Go check on how much Volkswagen sell for in China compared to Malaysia before you speak. In other words the Chinese do not screw heir own people.

• tayadih on May 07, 2012 at 3:47 pm

again..pls be careful with words chosen..

• Careful with ur word to rasis

• taboogen on May 07, 2012 at 4:27 pm

then i hope my stement is not a racist one… you may return back to your hometown now lah right.. much cheaper there…. right right…

• nonames on May 07, 2012 at 7:34 pm

No one ever forced you to live here…you can go back to your hometown anytime….n let your baby drink the poisonous milk there…

• nonames on May 07, 2012 at 7:39 pm

no one forces you to stay here..u can go back to your hometown n let your baby drink the poisonous milk there…

• Never hear this brand before…?! what is this?

• Siva Bhakta on May 07, 2012 at 11:56 am

Mazda “inspired” design?

• Freddie Spencer on May 07, 2012 at 11:57 am

the front grill looks like gen2. tail lights like mazda,
    horrendous head lights though.

• underskinned on May 07, 2012 at 11:59 am

If this were a Toyota it would be a huge seller.

• Is it just me or does that car sport styling cues from the Mazda 3?

• Storm on May 07, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Yes and I can see a combination of Mazda 3 1st gen on the front and 2nd gen at the rear..Smart China man….

• bujang selamat on May 07, 2012 at 12:02 pm

interior looks better than preve…

• nabill on May 07, 2012 at 12:03 pm

looks like a bad copy of mazda 3

• Changan have JV with Ford, Suzuki and PSA. Even is copy, guess they would just leave it easy.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chang’an_Automobile_Group

• mad aly on May 07, 2012 at 12:03 pm

look promising!! but its Chinese…

• MoFaz on May 07, 2012 at 2:43 pm

promising?… it’s China, they won’t promise anything.

• Hahaha!!

I 2nd that.

• No..there are many product from china are very good…the one not good is copy or replica product…u all r to bias

• i see a mazda…

• A car which has a power name; Changan Alsvin who was contributed by a power guy called Caddilac Wong and looks like a very bad stolen Mazda design. What more can go wrong?? Zzzzzzz

• another Chinese death-box-on-wheels. seriously, when will they learn to design decent-looking cars? why must they copy and paste other carmakers’ designs on their vehicles? and they should also install larger wheels. these look puny. makes the car look cheap.

• Malcolm on May 07, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Mazda copycat?

• Today ..copy….but next several year……who knows…other makers..like to copy theirs……lately you can see that several famous car maker..introduce..abit disapointed kind a shape …of new car…..

• Gen2 + Mazda 3

• mrkthxbai on May 07, 2012 at 12:19 pm

its a mazda. eh…. is chana?? lol

• look is good. This car maybe better than proton prevent….. hahaha

• Car Driver on May 07, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Initial thought from the name is made in India.
    Name sounds Indian but made in China.
    Wonder what kind of engine is this ‘JL475QD 1.5 litre DOHC mill’
    Can editor elaborate more on the engine?

• ben yap on May 07, 2012 at 12:29 pm

initially i thought it was a mazda.

can those chinese design a car that is from scratch without trying to copy other make?

• Changan, a Cayenne inspired car…

• Tony Montana on May 07, 2012 at 12:52 pm

This Mazda3-wannabe is unacceptable and should not be allowed on our roads!

• ProtonLoverForever on May 07, 2012 at 1:18 pm

talk whatever you want, china will be coming main aotumaker later,
    despite of that, the interior eg dashboard are far better than any of proton new model
    why proton??????why it is so hard for you to make more catchy or smart dashboard
    even speedometre, no ones is impressed by your small and rectangular type font, arghhhh you always make me crying. sob2…

• triumph on May 07, 2012 at 1:18 pm

chana alsvin spotted by caddilac lol…i thought i my vision has gone seriously wrong!! thats what you call a coincidence

• Tall Pan on May 07, 2012 at 9:45 pm

They’re taking over the world, i tell u! Who, u ask? Chinese with horrible nama glamour! :p

• front grill looks like gen2 eh?

• ramun on May 07, 2012 at 1:26 pm

China is very new in automotive industry eventhough most of automotive parts made there. Indeed they might have very low sense of art in car production i.e. car they produced almost a cc of other vehicle. For me I just wonder couple of items:

1. Displacement of the cars from China mostly around 1500cc. Dont they made higher displacement cars? Or maybe better output from thier cars? Racerboy like me cant afford Golf R32, Renaultsport, Focus RS or even DS3 (eh ada ke kat sini?)

2. Why G allow China flooding our land with these category cars? 1.5l car is a direct competition to Saga. Is this is hint for Saga to be discontinued? I dont think so. Its also in P2 league (eventhouch Myvi is compact car, not sedan)

3. Any of us possessed a China cars? Need feedback fro u guys. Alado ka Cherry ka any Brand/ model welcome. lets share your unbiased thaughts on the cars. A serious road test & comparison is required here Dato Seri Anthony Lim :)

4. Yes China love to copy other model & produce the car. Dont blame them. The law allows them to do so.

Lastly jangan la bash orang lain kaw-kaw. P1 & P2 in younger years did the same too. Have fun!

• If M’sia government want to protect our automotive legacy from disgrace, why they are insist to bring in more foreign cars which is less competitive and worthless?

• Proton Prevé Owner Club. on May 07, 2012 at 3:03 pm

just want to see the test crash result.. the look is nice (since actual pirated copycat from Mazda).. for sure very hard to get Malaysian to buy it… MALAYSIAN very damn choosy people.. Malaysian born to be fanboy of Toyota and Honda.. proton preve also consider not good car for some of them… put VIOS type J… most T fanboy said is a good damn car… some more kampung2 guy really feel so damn proud if they able Toyota Vios even is made in Bandung Indonesia…

Bolehland…

• tayadih on May 07, 2012 at 3:15 pm

be careful with your words…

• sick&tired on May 07, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Caddilac Wong!!?? There is someone that actually goes by that name!?

• mamat on May 07, 2012 at 4:20 pm

ANOTHER CLONNING SERVICE IN PROGRESS…Y NOONE DARE TO SUE THIS CHINA MAN???

• ramun on May 08, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Mamat, appreciate u can study law in China on intellectual property

• taboogen on May 07, 2012 at 4:33 pm

who cares about this car… next

• Calvin on May 07, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Mitsubishi Lancer in front, Mazda 3 behind. Really? What a rip off.

• Bongcs on May 07, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Your IPHONE internal parts are manufactured from CHINA

• mr watchman, so pandai2 talk that people dun no tax in malaysia which u r the one that is ignorance bs.

Nap has been revised in 2005 n finally fully abide afta in 2009. Since 2005, non tax barrier had been moved(subsidies, rebate n etc). Tax barrier been reduced since 2005 n in 2009, abide afta already.

Thai gov mad at g gov because it takes them untill 2009 to abide afta n penalised malaysian g(actually not the g, but prtn been penalised), every prtn car has to pay 20% more tax than others such as toyota, honda, nissan n etc in thailand.

Every asean car has same tax bracket. Non tax barrier(such as rebate, subsidies n etc) are not allowed under afta n since malaysia fully abide afta in 2009, so no rebates or subsidies or what so ever.

Why toyota, honda price not reduce?

Its up to them to set the price. Tax has been reduce. Thats why non popular brands in malaysia such mitsu, mazda, ford n etc can pricing their cars which is CBU from japan n non asean region(which supposed to have 30% more import tax in their price bracket) n at the same price n better equip then toyota n honda ckd in malaysia@cbu thailand n indonesia which dont have 30% import tax due to afta.

Why dont malaysian see this? Are they blind or stupid? Answer me mr watchman?

If want to do all the bersih thing, bersih also ur mind n learn something. Learning, reading culture are really low among malaysians. What malaysia like to do, doing assumption, reading headlines rather than the news itself, read tabloids, gossip, rumours n etc than facts.

3 m my man, membaca, menulis n mengira, n seems u r failure to do so. Back to school then. Sorry.

• anjez on May 08, 2012 at 12:59 am

Even though its a china model but it looks better design than the useless proton PREVE.
    Shame on you proton fuckwards at proton.design kereta macam tahi.
    jual mahal dengan quality macam sial.
    my advise to proton is if you cant compete with the automobile industry…try selling bumiputera pisang goreng panas or nasi lemak kukus….you idiots are good ofr eating and shitting…

• syntium5000 on May 08, 2012 at 4:06 am

The dash look like OUTDATED Sentra 4 me…..

OLD Sentra dashboard..put some Botox..naa…become CHANGAN, Longan, watsoever…

exterior: Gen2+Mazda3(front)+Chevrolet CRUZE (side)+ Mazda3 bontot

haiyaa…zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• mamat on May 08, 2012 at 11:11 am

china companies are very creative and smart….any new model been introduced they can clone…..like last time got one model the front is merc W124 and the rear is Jag…..ha ha chinamen are creative on their own ways….

• looking at the name of the car…the designer’s name was probably Alvin. They are known to add an additional alphabet into a word..to make a difference…gosh.

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 14, 2014 at 10:53 am

Aaaaa the success story of Chinese manufacturing industry…can’t come out with something original, just make a copy. The back looks like the previous Mazda 3.