Groups of Peugeot 408s spotted – 1.6 Turbo and 2.0 NA

Yes, it’s the Peugeot 408 caught on camera, again! But these latest sightings are different from the previous ones – not only are the cars fully uncovered, they are in groups, as opposed to roaming/testing solo.

First, reader Khairul Affendi Bin Johani sent in a set of pics of the Peugeot 408 on trailers. Spotted on the North-South Expressway near Sungai Petani, the three trailers were fully loaded, south bound, according to the man.

Look hard at the upper right side of the boot, and the bottom car has a 408 Turbo badge, whereas the car upstairs has a smaller 408-only emblem. So two variants will be offered, we presumed.

Hours later, reader Kumar sent in pics of a group of 408s in what looks like a storage yard. According to the 406 owner, the loot was from Tanjung Bungah in Penang, but since we can see Motel Sri Pantai in the background, the good man may have got his Tanjungs mixed up :) Kumar’s pics tell us more – the cars without the “Turbo” rear badge have a “2.0” emblem on the side.

What this could mean is that Nasim will be introducing a turbocharged engine (likely to be the 1.6 THP Prince engine from the 308) and a 2.0L naturally aspirated engine for the 408.

In China, the 408 can be had with the EW10 2.0L engine with 147 PS and 200 Nm – could this be a “safe option” for C-segment buyers who are accustomed to a 2.0L engine? With the sedan bodied 408, Peugeot will be casting a wider net at the mass market compared to the 308, so it makes sense.

Sources hint that the launch is near, could be as soon as the end of this month or early June.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• anti-first on May 08, 2012 at 9:26 am

great move by peugeot for launching the 408 after VW’s polo launch.

the public can now make an informed decision as to the better option between this two contis.

• MoFaz on May 08, 2012 at 10:01 am

spec wise, 408 is much better. just don’t know the price yet… but if it’s around 308 price, then 408 is definitely the better option than Polo.

• Clean 3.0 on May 08, 2012 at 10:49 am

Why comparing to Polo???? Different segment lar wei… Polo is for 207 (B Segment contender)

• MoFaz on May 08, 2012 at 2:07 pm

then 207SV is better than Polo, only RM77k including insurance. however, the exterior of 207 is kind of weird for me…

• jonn zee on May 08, 2012 at 4:11 pm

polo vs 408?? gosh.. bro u on weed or something????

• Peugeot 408s should compared with Passat CC or BMW F10.

• 408 = jetta competitor. 308 = golf competitor. 508 = passat competitor. peugeot don’t have any car to compete with f10 or passat cc.

• wrong segment
        should be compared with altis, civic, forte, inspira and preve

• nice…

• moshi on May 08, 2012 at 10:04 am

wonder how will they price their 1.6t and 2.0na, anyone? 1.6t will be more expensive?

• underskinned on May 08, 2012 at 10:29 am

I’m pretty bummed – why does 508 comes only in 1.6 THP engine and shares the same displacement with 308 / 408 while they are in different segments?

• Paul Tan on May 08, 2012 at 10:56 am

Because in Europe, Peugeot’s strategy for the larger engines is to use diesel – the 508 GT uses a 2.2 turbodiesel with 204 PS and 458Nm.

We’ve spotted one in Malaysia before:

http://paultan.org/2012/02/14/peugeot-508-gt-wagon-with-malaysian-plates-spotted/

• 4G63T DSM on May 08, 2012 at 11:12 am

Odd to see the 2.0 NA for the 408.

After all, the 1.6 Turbo is suppose to replace the 2.0 engines….. the 1.6 offers more horsepower and much higher torque than the 2.0. I would have guessed that the 1.6NA for the base model and 1.6 THP as was on the 308 would be a more sound options.

Me thinks the 2.0 would be the base model.

• Pls bring in the 4008 suv with FAIR price. I need a suv…

• Pity ….. good car but no resale value , lack of service center and long lead time of spare parts in Malaysia. Just because here many dont appreciate french cars ! Pity !

• Beautiful car with gear box issue-esp the 1.6 THP price engine.
      So much huh-hah among 308/3008 owners.
      If only they settle this problem, and change dealership from AP king to some sincere car business people;it will shine.
      My 2 cents opinion.

• Kjryth on May 08, 2012 at 11:43 am

Proton better

• Clean 3.0 on May 08, 2012 at 11:45 am

Copying from Peugeot Malaysia’s Facebook status update:

“In conjunction with Nasim’s role as the ASEAN hub for export,we will be hosting nations such as Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei, Singapore and Nepal during the T73 importers test drive in Hard Rock Hotel Penang!!!”

So there’s an event happening in Penang…

• carnoisseur on May 08, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Go to NAZA and you can view the car there

• Naza really dissapointed ! mentioned NAZA …. mostly :( Naza :(
      Naza is proven … for its not relaibility and unprofessional way … times after times .

Cakap NAZA semua LARI ! LARI sampai usain bolt pun tak dapat Kejar :)

• Jason on May 08, 2012 at 12:17 pm

still prefer 308 turbo

• not a car enthusiast on May 08, 2012 at 12:21 pm

I almost get the 308T back two years ago. The equipment level, the engine performance, the price were perfect for me. The reason why I didn’t get one was lack of a ‘bontot’. I need to carry lots of stuffs when I travel and preferably hid them from view. Had 408 existed back then, I would have bought it (assuming similar specs and price level).

• Proton Prevé Owner Club. on May 08, 2012 at 12:27 pm

what is expectation price?… how about nationwide service center, is it available in every each state?… hopefully 1.6 turbo price are around preve price… so it will make proton management taking seriously care for PREVE product qc and quality…

heard, it take 1 to 2 month for new PREVE owner waiting list.. reason= due to tight Quality Check, some more another QC from special dept (direct report DSZ) do auditing which select randomly any production car to be check before deliver to cust.. to ensure all product deliver to customer with nil or very minimal defect..

hopefully PROTON staff mindset will be change same as their management… sales up bonus also up.. work hard for your own rice bowl…

• take long time bcoz no production made yet still tease other people with stupid marketing..bla3

• Derriere on May 17, 2012 at 2:54 am

Hah-hah, Preve price for the 408? Which asylum did they just release you from, the one specializing in serious wishful-thinking disorders? The cronies are already asking for Preve prices for the much smaller 207…. .

• mustafa on May 08, 2012 at 2:18 pm

maybe the 2.0 is for export market only maaa (referring to Peugeot post in the Facebook)…here 1 model only…romours had it that it will be about the 407 price….hope it is not true….

• kumar on May 08, 2012 at 6:25 pm

Ha ha, sorry, I should’ve said Tanjung Tokong.. I did get the Tanjungs mixed up :p

• sick&tired on May 08, 2012 at 7:18 pm

The photo was taken at a food court called Golden Horses at Tanjung Tokong. There is a Naza hotel next to the food court. I saw it too while on my way home

• kumar on May 08, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Sea Horse, you mean. It’s now called Viva if I’m not mistaken. Wasn’t quite taken by the 408’s looks (I didn’t fancy the interior) maybe because I’m more into the 508 and if my wallet allows, I’d be one to consider the upcoming 2013 Mondeo :)

• Pugs 408 on May 09, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Saw two 408s & followed by a 207 @ Jalan Tanjong Tokong ~ 2.40pm when on my way back to home. No chance to snap the picture as I was driving alone that time. Actually went to the car park in front of the motel sri pantai there to check these 408s whether still there but after found out that there were not. So when on the way back and so luck that saw these few Pugs passed by in the traffic light. these Pugs are with the plate number W xxxx X and is properly fix and not the one hanging type. each car got 2 guys in it.
    really nice look. outstanding and elegant design….

• Why not bring in or assemble one with a 1.6 eHDi engine, a.k.a diesel hybrid? Since it is hybrid, Naza can under cut the Japanese Hybrid in terms of price :)

Diesel fuel no good? Since Ford can sell Focus diesel in Malaysia, why not Peugeot/Citroen? Ford and Peugeot/Citroen jointly develop cetain diesel engines, right?

• Cowabunga on May 15, 2012 at 7:20 pm

you quickly forget how crap our diesel standard is…high sulfur and not compliant to most of the nice “greener” diesel cars in the market.

• witchy on May 20, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Hope they price it below 100k…

• CarFan on May 21, 2012 at 10:36 am

We can hope but it is unlikely to happen. Proton will jump if this was below 100k.