Geely GX7 SUV – the GLEagle has landed

Since we’re back on a bit of a roll, here’s another one from Beijing. Geely’s GLEagle GX7 is the first SUV from the company which owns Volvo, and the seven-seater has just made its market debut in China.

Shape-wise, you’ll again probably see that reinterpreted from elsewhere, but the lines look clean enough on the 4,540 mm long, 1,835 mm wide and 1,700 mm tall vehicle, which has a 2,661 mm wheelbase.

The GX7 is available in two petrol engine guise forms, these being a 4G18 1.8 litre and a 4G20 2.0 litre. Reports mention that a 2.4 litre unit is to join the lineup sometime this year. At the show, what looked like a diesel mill called the 4D20 was also mentioned, but no idea if that’s currently on the cards.

Transmission options are a five-speed manual and six-speed auto, but there’s also mention of a 7DCT unit in that mix (though the diesel does only with manual and auto). Elsewhere, items on the kit list include ESC, seven airbags, a GSG Geely Intelligent Stop-go system, 17-inch wheels and 225/65 series rubbers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hyundai De La Junk on May 09, 2012 at 11:36 am

Ha HA HAA ! Good ! Now China copy Hyundai Santa Fe, Padan Muka Bahlul !

• Kjryth on May 09, 2012 at 11:51 am

Cantik tapi proton more cantik

• Kendall on May 09, 2012 at 11:55 am

Toyota RAV4?

• pokemon on May 09, 2012 at 12:38 pm

the next automotive powerhouse hails from land of the dragon, not from land of kimchi as many dreamt of.

• Dream on..
      automotive trade are more based on the quality refinement due to brand conscious.
      will it sell? yes!
      BUT not as much as Land of Winter Sonata for sure!

• toyota rav4 inspired front end, and nissan murano side window design. shameless chinese copycats…

• quottro on May 09, 2012 at 1:39 pm

papa forester and mama rav4’s proof of love… wahhahhahahaha

• It’s a RAV4?
    Santa Fe?
    Nope!
    it’s Geely GX7 SUV!
    screw you capitalism

• ss427 on May 09, 2012 at 2:14 pm

With Volvo under their belt, I find it ridiculous and disgusting that Geely is still doing rip offs instead of at least try to design and engineer their own cars..

Obviously a Rav4 rip off with a revised tailgate and tailights.. The tailights may look different, but if you take a look at the outline of the bezel, it is actually largely still Rav4’s…

Pui. pui pui… and the chinese gov will make sure any infringment of copyright lawsuits by established manufacturers against these shameless chinese manufacturers are thrown out of the court… :(
    What kind of nonsense society are they anyway?? !@#$%^

• Ash Menon on May 09, 2012 at 5:11 pm

You’re asking the Chinese government to crack down on manufacturers who copy? That’s a good one.

• pinoy on May 09, 2012 at 6:03 pm

stop criticize chinos gomen, later they send naval fleet terrorize on your doorstep. LOL

• Lucky we still have the US to kick their asses

• the thing about the Chinese govt is that they make it extremely difficult for any foreign product to penetrate into their market. Lots of red tape and very stringent laws..but they throw their shit all over. That’s why we have lots of issues with Chinese products…from food stuff to medicines.

• Pororo on May 09, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Am i see the combination of Captiva and Santa Fe???

• Abidal on May 09, 2012 at 5:26 pm

lol Santa Fe!

• says says on May 10, 2012 at 4:00 pm

hah hah hah..another joke of the day (inspired by Geli)..

Q: What happen when you put MURANO, SANTA FE, RAV4 and OLd MEGANE in a blender?

A: You will get a GELLY GX 7…

err..isn’t 7 supposed to stand for 7 litre engine as INFINITI with its 3.7 naming convention? Ufortunately, it is not!

• I just saw this red Chery with trade plate at Jalan Pahang @ 6:00pm