Left-hand drive Proton Prevé caught testing in Shah Alam!

The Proton Prevé has been launched, so what are these testing pics doing here? Snapped by the male (it has to be) behind justanothermale.blogspot.com, these two pics are of left-hand drive Prevés undergoing testing in Shah Alam.

The first image shows the rear of the Prevé sporting an “LH DRIVE” sticker. In what looks like a highway rest stop, the blogger approached the cars for a chat with the testers and snapped a pic of the steering on the left side.

No surprise here, since the Prevé is Proton’s first global car, and exports are part of the masterplan. Traditional export markets for Proton are the UK and Australia, where the Prevé will be launched in September. More recently, the national carmaker started selling in neghbouring markets such as Thailand and Indonesia. These are all right-hand drive markets.

The emergence of LHD mules signals Proton’s intent to sell the Prevé in countries that drive on the right side of the road. Possible markets are China (where Proton has a collaboration with Youngman) and Middle East countries such as Saudi Arabia and Iran.

Click here to read our Prevé launch report and here for drive impressions.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• arroncyl on May 09, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Chrome part spotted on the first pix……

• Obama on May 09, 2012 at 4:41 pm

The chrome at the back won’t help, the plastic feel in the interior is a big turn off.

• Wisdom on May 09, 2012 at 5:51 pm

I dont have any problem with Preve rear design.
        However, the design makes the boot-lid looks not properly closed even if it is. The ducktail spoiler didn’t help on that either unless they lengthen the spoiler to the side.

• preve interior soft-touch plastic is waaaayyyyy better than civic and altis HARD plastic, really luxurious

• Proton already can not cook for the existing demand and delay the delivery to local market. PLEASE PROTON, take the local market as priority first…

• mamat on May 09, 2012 at 4:04 pm

pls treat kpg ppl first before pergi org luar

• Wondering how much they will sell preve in middle east this time! RM72K fr premium spec locally huh.. Wil wait n see

• MoFaz on May 09, 2012 at 5:36 pm

without tax in saudi arabia… will be around RM40-43k.

• armandd on May 09, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Pls share with us where did you get this info?

• MoFaz on May 09, 2012 at 10:17 pm

all cars below 1800cc are subjected to 75% excise and 10% sales tax in Malaysia, even for Proton and Perodua cars. refer to MAA website for this info.
          i believe almost everything in Arab is tax-free, including your income. Waja is RM39k there, the same price listed for tax-free price in Malaysia My 2nd Home (MM2H) program. So, Preve 1.6 Executive CVT RM63k here (same as Waja price) would be below RM40k, while the Premium CFE could be around RM45k.

• normal_user on May 10, 2012 at 8:24 am

Yup been there too

Accord/Camry/Mazda6 is in the range of RM70K.
        The 3-series is around RM120K over there in Saudi. 7-series around RM250K.

Its our government that should be blamed for the nonsense taxes even for Proton Perodua.

• Country income..if they abolish excise tax…they must subtitute with other tax or increase current tax to maintain country income…we are not US can print money as they like….excise tax is almost half total tax collected by gov…

• armandd on May 14, 2012 at 11:59 pm

It’s typical for Malaysians.. All things in life they want free, if cannot get free then at least must subsidy. Even education loans also they don’t want to pay.

• vietnamese on Nov 20, 2012 at 2:43 pm

hahaha… typical Malaysian.. stupid.. go to vietnam, and buy your fav car…You know the price????? once you know, think about it!

• It is not the tax to blame, but the government collected the taxes and not improving the infrastructures.

Why are we paying so much, but still cannot make our driving experience pleasurable? Traffic jam, uneven road surfaces, terribly paved road, inconvenient public transport, etc…

Corruption is the key of failure!!!

• the chrome bar on the boot makes it look like a squashed Jag XF more!

• xport a junk car??

• Gabla on May 09, 2012 at 8:36 pm

Others have done that successfully so why can’t Proton? Just look how many Vios are there on the road. Not to mention the Avanza as well.

• Always Look Alike on May 10, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Talk nonsense. I now officially “SLAP’ your mouth!

• pak mon on May 09, 2012 at 4:30 pm

minta proton bg cepat production utk local order…pastu leh fulfill utk oversea demand…rasenye rakyat msia lg ramai order keta ni…x perlu rush sgt utk eksport

• MoFaz on May 09, 2012 at 5:37 pm

belum nak eskport pun.. baru nak test, orang dah kecoh2… export to australia pun maybe september or by the end of the year.

• De Neiro on May 09, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Xpayah cepat-cepat pun production untuk oversea, bukan ada orang nak beli pun

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 09, 2012 at 4:43 pm

For China market? Proton must be kidding. lol. Joking of the century…

PRC people already driving big big car…. if talking about Merc….the version majority they drive is not 230 or 280. but is s500 s600 , with L Long version something…. ! Proton expecting them to drive this P cars? kidding & so funny weeiiii….

even their national car is better than this crapp yo….

• Iylia H on May 09, 2012 at 8:10 pm

one of their national car is a rebadged gen 2, rebadged persona, modified gen 2… another modified gen 2… and the list of modified gen2s goes on and on.

• China has 1.3 billion population. You mean all 1.3 billion are driving all those big cars that you’ve mentioned? I think if proton can capture some market share, it would be profitable then.

• asia’s bmw. dont pray pray..

• superman on May 10, 2012 at 8:00 am

My friend in china out of 1.3Billion people almost 90% are normal living average income to poor people and money is in the hand of the elite 10% like industry leader, Triads, government etc.. and most are traditionally from HK. so what are you talking about? even in Japan and US which people are far far far more wealthy not everyone drive big big cars.

• Always Look Alike on May 10, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Another “Alam Flora” rep talking. I now officially kick your ‘bola’ to wake you up.

• biggie on May 09, 2012 at 4:45 pm

different dept. mfg to produce car for the market and R&D to produce future car

• Littlebear on May 09, 2012 at 4:57 pm

PROTON have always prioritize the foreign market first before focusing on the local market by selling their cars cheaper & with better quality & specifications. Poor old Malaysians that supported PROTON are being given shoddy cars & they are being forced to wait for months to purchase their overpriced cars. Sad.. very sad indeed :(

• previously, they share the same production line. meaning quality is the same. the only differences is specification. for example, to enters UK market, their G put rear fog light as a requirement. so proton have to adapt. the same thing goes to abs, esp/esc etc.. nowadays, australians and EU countries make esp as a compulsory item in their cars.. malaysian G also have to set the same standards.

• Why bother? Foreigner wont buy one.

• typical Malaysian. always trust other people better than us. why not, give Malaysian product, not just proton, other brand as well in other industries to prove what they are capable of. don’t just talk, and yet do nothing to improve it.

• Always Look Alike on May 10, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Wow! this looks like “INDAH WATER” talking.

• ckk125 on May 09, 2012 at 5:05 pm

if u noticed, there is a chrome bar at the rear, which is absent from our local units

• How about Europe (EU)?

If Proton manages to get the LHD Preve street-legal in just one LHD EU country, the type certificate would be valid in all other LHD EU countries as well automatically. Proton would be able to sell the Preve in all EU countries then without further costs…

• Ah Long on May 09, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Proton in Europe will fail due to no diesel engines. If you read Fifth gear and Top Gear review. They criticising Proton due to absence of diesel engines. European customers wanted diesel engines. Diesel engines are highly demanded in Europe. If Honda and Toyota of Japan can produced diesel engines for European market (Diesel is not popular in Japan due to Hybrid technology and stricter emission standard than Euro 5 for example Tokyo Prefecture bans old diesel vehicles entering Tokyo), why not Proton? Petrol cars in Europe are declining in demand and popularity. Diesel cars is European drivers choice.

• Ah Long on May 09, 2012 at 6:50 pm

European drivers will buy Proton cars when Proton selling diesel engines for lower price than any competitive cars in Europe such as Peugeot, Citroen, Renault, Opel, Skoda, Fiat, Lancia and any other European family cars. Even Korean Daewoo Matiz and Japanese Mitsubishi Galant in Europe are sold in diesel engines (Diesel engines for this model cars are not available outside Europe). This is the strategy for Proton to sold cars in Europe but Proton don’t take this chance to promote Proton in Europe.

• Littlebear on May 10, 2012 at 8:19 am

I agree with you. Even the japanese have their own diesel engine (e.g. i-DTEC & those from the pick up trucks). PROTON has spent a lot developing their CAMPRO engine so I doubt they will be spending more money to develop their own diesel engine.

It looks like PROTON are focusing more on forced induction & hybrid technology. Thus I believe we won’t be seeing a diesel engine from PROTON that soon unless they colaborate with another car manufacturer to source their diesel engine.

• Henry on May 09, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Maybe for export to China. It is left hand drive over there.

• shawal on May 09, 2012 at 6:23 pm

not only we dunt get the chrome bar ( which the preve was obiously intended to have) , were also missing two more airbags than the export model, why?????!!!!

• dirtyoldmen on May 10, 2012 at 8:41 am

in the event of a crash, you won’t need airbags since… you’re an airhead.

• Kambing Gurun on May 09, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Hope that chrome bit on the bonnet is sold as aftermarket addition. Don’t mind Ah Beng whatever I just want that chrome bit.

• export doesnt mean you are good at quality .
    more than 25 years still cannot convince your own people due to ignorance and personal interest . shame on you proton . too much hanky panky . you should know better proton . you better be neutron and not proton .

SHAME ON YOU PROTON !

• Peyno on May 09, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Old generation thinking
      Prrfthhh

• lisa surihani on May 09, 2012 at 11:55 pm

i’m not really sure. arent you guys feel a little bit of proud by seeing your own national car is in foreign country? i’m not saying this because of malaysia boleh, wawasan 2020 or whatsoever. i still remember during the first appearance of s2000 in rally scene. people kept on bashing proton. but in anyway, with this unknown name competing with other bigger name like mmc and subaru, when other foreigner said what car is that? its proton. where does it come from? malaysia.

for myself, damn i feel quite proud.

or maybe other way around you guys will be proud seeing daihatsu boone hovering around indonesia.

• armandd on May 10, 2012 at 12:49 am

Have u been drinking too much bro?

• Diesel monster on May 09, 2012 at 9:29 pm

izzit proton factory hired those PMR educated welder?
    i saw some ‘ tait ayam’ spot welding…

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 09, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Wowww…. this car is great. will trade in my brand new Altis for it…Proud of proton weeiiii….

Hehe, write in this way will get more (LIKE) Agree? lol

Failed!

• Always Look Alike on May 10, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Looks like you just ate “ALAM FLORA” fried rice recipe.

• saw some protons in Taiwan while i was there.

• armandd on May 10, 2012 at 12:08 am

Paul, I hope you guys do a review about Preve IAFM+ with manual transmission. I would like to know the improvement that Proton has made to the previous Campro engine and the overall driving experience. I couldn’t find reviews of the manual Preve anywhere on the net.

• probably cambodia? but…a old Lexus here sold at $14K….so…who wants to buy pre-way?

• zidane on May 10, 2012 at 11:08 am

you have to be in the shoe of a Cambodian and says if you can buy that Lexus in cash..

It is not fair to compare while keeping yourself as Malaysian and having Malaysian standard of living…

• UK sell BMW1 starts at 18K pounds = Rm100K…how much Protong going to sell in Euro?

10K pounds? pity us Malaysian..

• mad aly on May 10, 2012 at 8:36 am

why pity?? 10K pounds = 55k++

Preve CFE is 72k here in Malaysia… including tax!! without Tax it only cost 40k (max)…

• russiaguy on May 10, 2012 at 12:33 am

I think they will bring into Russians’ huge market. I used to see a few protons on the roads. Btw, just wondering whether the satria GTI in Malaysians’ Ambassy in Moscow still there?

• wont be suprise.. the LH unit for EU is different engine…manual gbox with TDi Engine..though european more towards for green diesel engine for low tax due to lower emission. They might source the engine from PSA though they got alliance thru savvy & waja for engine last time…hope to see TDi version in our shore…excellent mileage and durability than the CFE.

• Top Gear overall review on Proton cars:

“We don’t know what Malaysian motorists did to upset the gods, but it must have been something pretty serious, judging by the punishment they seem to be getting.
    Still, at least the domestic audience thinks this stuff is the norm – what on earth do they think they’re doing bringing it to the UK?
    Walk away.”

Snapshot: http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/9642/27625002lz0.jpg

• ss427 on May 10, 2012 at 9:31 am

Well said Top Gear.. That pretty much sums up how Proton is being percieved AND recieved in overseas markets… esp the western markets where there’s no lack of CHEAPER, BETTER designed, and FAR MORE established brands to choose from

• Clutch Basah on May 10, 2012 at 10:26 am

Yeah we all could see your mentality is still colonized, thanks for the insight.
      Top gear said a lot about Koreans as well, guess where is the Koreans now?
      Since you have abundance of time could you also google and share what happened to British Car manufacturers, those who Topgear (and you) so proud of?

• zidane on May 10, 2012 at 10:32 am

kahkahkahkah…

i found that your quote mostly for TOP GEAR…

you accept all the sh*** they give and you support them by throwing it to our industry…

well done… you are now declared BRITISH…

hahaha…

• shawal the airhead.. on May 10, 2012 at 11:39 am

yeah spot on Top Gear… most Malaysian motorist are rude and unconsidered when on the road…let it be all car in Malaysia are high priced…

• Saw quite a number of Gen-2 in Tehran so next year is time to see more of Preve hopefully. Even my client ask me which Proton car you drive in Malaysia.

• infinity on May 10, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Dear paul, danny, anthony, chris, havinder, etc (who else did i missed?) do u mind writing an article about the maintenance cost of the Preve CFE variant as compared to that of the IAFM+ variant? As i believe not many have driven a turbo-charged car and many (including me), have no idea what are the differences in maintaining it compared to the N/A engines.

looking forward!

• bongek on May 12, 2012 at 6:03 am

a very important information, or else , when customer didn’t follow the maintenance schedule,and their CFE rosak, they keep blame proton again and again….

• a.car.fan on May 10, 2012 at 2:00 pm

How come Proton doesn’t sell its’ cars in the Philippines? I’ve seen a bunch of Wira (Lancer-rebadged) and Waja models here but there’s no official seller/dealer of the brand thus the Philippines is near Malaysia.. So how come there are no Protons here? Instead we’re being invaded with cheap, copycat Chinese cars..

• a.car.fan on May 10, 2012 at 2:13 pm

…and how come there are no Peroduas too?

• Brian on May 10, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Proton should revive in European Market and relaunch in UK to boost sale

• Ah Long on May 12, 2012 at 5:16 pm

As I mentioned, For European market, Proton must have a diesel engines first.

• tok-kok on May 10, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Halo P1, Forget about the Left Hand Drive version 1st lah..
    Better make sure the current RHD version got no defects ..
    Else the Proton service center techs will keep on saying ” Biasa lah.. Ini Proton “

• shawal on May 10, 2012 at 9:08 pm

http://www.caradvice.com.au/168691/2012-proton-preve-small-flagship-sedan-debuts/

all variants gets six airbags! wth man!

• Its very hard to find honest car reviews in local car magazines and newspaper, even the localised version of Autocar Asean sang only praises and even asked us to forgive and buy Proton Preve…wasted my hard earned money on that biased magazine

• already deliver preve manual yesterday..so far so good..comfortable n quite impress..but cannot put the speed to the limit..need to pantang untill 1st service..but for me, don take all what other people said..juz go to showroom, drive it n u will know it..u like or not depend on u. if had more money, go to other show room, T,N,H,Hy n so on..but dont tell me preve too expensive n then u go to other showroom to buy smaller car which is the same price with preve..i think u know what i mean..
      tq

• mikah on Apr 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm

hey didn’t you know, when they test drive your car they have already lenjan it, so don’t bother to pantang, and when they sent it to lorry or parking space they will high rev the engine & drive speedily, if you work in car factory you know especially P2…

• hway de Cruz on May 12, 2012 at 11:01 am

finally took the test drive… handling is good, very much better than current models, except inspira which i hv not tested. the car runs in n out of corner with the right feel, abit understeer but under control. straightline hard on accelerator, the car is powerful enuf for its segment, judging apple to apple…. the mild turbo engine feel n willing to run is available, nice for our local roads for overtaking. i like the start stop button, this is a plus sign for proton. ample legroom, soft fabric, comfortable. interior plastic could be better sourced to hv a softer touch, it feels abit hard, but having said that, the fittings are commendable, well fitting and no funny noises. the boot is huge…. one can easily fit many things inside. maybe due to weight management, the closing of the boot n doors sound abit hollow, not close to conti cars. the high spec shud bring in some potential buyers, the overall rating i give it a 8 out of 10 for high specs. well guys, any other feedback care to share…. remember, do the test drive n then u can b in a better position to comment. dun depend on hearsay…. take the test drive

• V Power on May 12, 2012 at 2:45 pm

I just test drive the executive 1.6 version…Everythinh is perfect except for the engine rev noise which is too visible in the cabin…Is it normal.??? I almost book the car but now holding it for few days untill i am very sure about why the engine noise is too loud..

• Test drove the Preve CFE today. I was surprised at the claims Proton had made. How can this even be considered a global car? it’s miles away from the Japs and even the Koreans. I’m talking about the Forte. The engine sound so unrefined…like there are some loose nuts and bolts in it…and the dreadful CVT whine. Just horrible. The interior was not too bad..altho I felt the plastic used on door panel was hard..ESP where you rest your elbow. I raised the issue about the engine sound and poor insulation to the salesman..and I was surprised with his answer. He said there are in fact a lot of issues with the car. Since this is protons first turbocharged engine, there could be parts that may malfunction. Hoses that may just snap. This guy looked rather pissed with proton as the sales people were counting on this car for their livelihood. He advices me to buy the car at least after a year..once all the problems with the car is sorted out. Apparently the sales people have sent a long list of complaints to Proton to solve. I was impressed with his honesty. So for all those who are so blinded by this car…pls wake up. Perhaps you are comparing this crap to your old saga.

• Wayfarer on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:48 am

you maybe right or maybe wrong..however it sounds odd to me..i bet no SALES MAN would and willing to do that..being honest in such way and at the same time directly expressed a strong disapproval tone to his own product..how come he could advised you to buy the car after 1 years when he himself need to sell it for his paycheck, i believed you have been spoken to the KIA Forte sales man..haha truly lol.

• Norman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:11 am

Test drive unit often abused bro,The real thing comes when you own it.I was driving a Honda Civic 1.8 on PLUS highway and have a hard time catching up Preve.