New VW Beetle ad spotted on oto.my – 1.2 TSI, RM138,888

Click to enlarge image

The Bug is coming! We’ve spotted an ad of the new Volkswagen Beetle on auto classifieds site oto.my. Placed by a Volkswagen salesman from Penang, the new (not New) Beetle is listed as having two engine options – 1.2 TSI and 1.4 TSI – and starts from RM138,888. The figure is an “estimate price for 1.2”.

The Beetle made its world debut in April 2011 and went on sale in America late last year as a MY2012 car. UK deliveries started this spring so it’s hot off the press. The Beetle’s new shape, a departure from the 1998 New Beetle’s three semi-circles, is lower, wider and has a pushed back cab. Easily more dynamic looking than its predecessor, the new Bug has been widely praised for its looks.

Click to enlarge image

The 1.2 TSI engine in question is the 105 PS/175 Nm turbocharged engine used in the Polo hatchback, paired to a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox. The also-advertised 1.4 TSI could be the 160 PS engine from the Golf TSI. In the UK, this engine is mated to a six-speed manual gearbox. Hmmm…

Click here to read our previous post on the Beetle. It has all you need to know about the Bug and a full high-res gallery. Never thought I’ll say this, but I’m strangely attracted to this little round bug. You?

Also, remember to check out our sister site oto.my. Do try it out if you have a car to sell – not only will you get to upload up to 20 high-res pics of your ride, your ad will be featured on this website. And since you’re here, it should not surprise you that paultan.org is Malaysia’s number one motoring site with the highest traffic and reach, as audited by third-party Effective Measure. We welcome feedback on your experience at oto.my – tell us what you think :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mujahid on May 09, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Me too, has been eyeing on this one…

• pokemon on May 09, 2012 at 12:45 pm

maybe we can pimp the ride to Porsche Cayman wannabe.

• Zippy Polo on May 09, 2012 at 12:57 pm

OOhhhh lovely…….

• engine at the back?

• blackrythms on May 09, 2012 at 1:53 pm

lovin it

• BeetleLova on May 09, 2012 at 1:57 pm

6 speed manual pleaseeeeeeee.

• billy on May 09, 2012 at 2:17 pm

only 2 vw models that i would “invest” in……….beetle & golf GTI……the rest lack feel & oomph factor….:)

• Ahlee bin ahtan on May 09, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Still 2 doors?

• Henry Ford the XII on May 09, 2012 at 3:57 pm

1) RM139k is way too expensive, I expect this to be priced below RM100k
    2) Proton Preve is much better
    3) In other countries, its price is much cheaper. This is all the government’s fault for imposing high tax
    4) Hyundai-Kia have better spec and can easily tapau this car.
    5) The front of the car copy XXX, the rear is from YYYY and the middle looks like ZZZZ..

Now that I have summarize all the usual/compulsory comments, please post something different and more interesting hehehe…

• Ur point is right especially the 1st and 3rd but i disagree with Proton Preve is much better.. try have a shoot out between preve and beetle in terms of fuel consumption , downforce a.k.a grip , acceleration and engine and gearbox..
      I’m convince the Volkswagen is better by almost all aspect except pricing.. @@

• 1.4 TSI can beat Preve in term of accelaration, but not 1.2TSI. 1.2TSI give 0-100km/h above 10seconds while preve 1.6CFE give below 10s.

• QC Manager on Aug 17, 2012 at 11:25 am

Preve- future generation never be better. only those that purchase it feel good with it. there are no competition with VW. Malaysia QC manager tells you too many car to sell they are busy to QC so much.. so just enjoy going back to Proton work shop most of the time. VW maintenance 15k once .. no auto oil. RM 139k is a good price.

• Kourt on May 09, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Actually what does tapao means? Char siew pau,ling long pau,bak pau,pandan pao,sardin pau i know lar.or you mean the big bak pau,they also called tapao in many places.

• phahmeen on May 09, 2012 at 5:14 pm

huh? Preve better? ………………………….where did that even came from?

• gracke on May 09, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Porsche genetic! classical design! mix and match 911 with beetle!!! it’s a coupe!!! it’s turbocharge and it’s DSG and it’s 1.2TSI and it’s save road tax and good performance and it is unique……! and finally at lease we can afford it…..no more dream!

• ohmyimportaxs on May 09, 2012 at 5:16 pm

almost 140k for a 1.2 tsi, where the polo tsi is only around 110k
    the 1.4 tsi beetle would be around scirocco’s pricing i’m guessing

extra tax for being a 2 door, thank you malaysia

• Looks much better than the previous one.

Anyway, the beetle is a special car, you have to love it. If you’re looking for a “good, fast, spacey, economic” car, then the Beetle is the wrong choice…

• Kalun on May 09, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Memories of my grandparents owning this car when my father is in Secondary School.

Porsche genetics. So it is the cheapest variant of Porsche. I like it but not recommended to use when bringing my girlfriend out. Hybrid and EV is a big No No

• @8250rpm on May 10, 2012 at 6:55 am

Hybrid??? EV??? Helloooo…did u read another topic n posted wrongly??

• Do u drove hybrid before first? Go try CRZ then only u comment on hybrid.

• Hopefully it will cheaper. Please VW

• nocomputer on May 09, 2012 at 9:56 pm

I don’t believe the price start at rm138,888, i expected the price would be higher but if this is true.. count me in :)

• souless_soul on May 09, 2012 at 11:08 pm

wah tis vw salesman sudah famous liao..haha

• This salesman is in hot soup…!!! I am sure he has sleepless nights thinking about his career!!

• Unforgiven on May 10, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Not seeing the AD since morning…

• kjryth on May 12, 2012 at 12:52 am

jangan bazir duit…beli savvy sama aje

• VW Ada Tan on Jul 28, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Cant wait to see the New Beetle

• Jussz on Aug 16, 2012 at 11:37 am

Plan to buy for my wife …red color

• Ritz Ariff on Sep 10, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Believe to German technology & quality…..

• hopefully the 1.4 will be 150-160k only… then later new NAP/new govt 1.4 will be 80k for 1.2, 100k for 1.4 and 140k for 2.0 WAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHAHA!

• Beetle 1.2tsi facing DSG problem too?