Toyota 86 – UMWT releases online teaser with spec sheet

We already know that the Toyota 86 is coming to Malaysia, and the estimated prices. UMW Toyota has now revealed more via a teaser section on its website, showing the specs and features of the impending arrival. They have some videos, too.

Manual and automatic transmissions will be offered; both have six speeds and the latter comes with paddles. They will be matched to a 2.0L four-cylinder boxer engine, a trademark of development partner Subaru. The 16-valve DOHC unit with D-4S direct injection and dual VVT makes 200 PS at 7,000 rpm and 205 Nm of torque at 6,400 to 6,600 rpm.

The automatic does 0-100 km/h in 8.2 seconds and has a top speed of 210 km/h, while the manual achieves both tests in 7.6 seconds and 226 km/h, respectively. So no, you won’t be as fast as those turbo hot hatches, but you’ll get to enjoy a high-revving NA engine in a rear-wheel drive car (Torsen LSD equipped), something carmakers don’t really make anymore.

The 86’s suspension consists of front MacPherson struts and double wishbones for the rear. All round ventilated brake discs – 294 mm rings for the front and 290 mm for the rear. The standard wheels are 17-inch, with 215/45 rubber.

A car required to pass today’s safety requirements won’t be as light as an AE86, but the 86 isn’t a fatty – the manual weighs in at 1,275 kg, the auto is 23 kilos heavier.

This is no stripped out sports car, so the equipment list is very decent. auto on HIDs with washers, smart entry and start, aluminium pedals, cruise control, dual-zone air con, auto up/down windows, 2-DIN head unit with USB and AUX-in, solar tint and seven airbags are standard. The VSC system, unlike that in Toyota saloons, has a VSC Sport Mode, which gives you more freedom.

Also, ISOFIX mounts for the tiny rear seats are available, so it’s impractical rather than impossible for guys planning to start a family, for the first few years at least! Small adults for short journeys are possible in this 2+2.

Price wise, the estimated price for the manual (OTR with insurance) is RM243,000, while the auto is expected to set you back RM249,000. Six colours will be available at launch, but one of them (Satin White Pearl) is a RM800 option.

Click here for a live gallery of the 86, and here for a first impressions story on the 86’s twin, the Subaru BRZ.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• max torque sama mcm miss Preve kita lah ;p

• Victor Hoh on May 11, 2012 at 10:54 am

True, but car’s max torque comes at 6000 RPM, meaning you can rev the car all the way pass 6000 RPM and your can still feel your car very lively. Preve will feel breathless post 4000 RPM.

• True, but no point ramming up to 6000 RPM in your daily drive.

Basically, both cars are good in their both respective category.

• No point to rev a sportscar?i dont get you

• I didn’t say there’s no point to rev a sports car.

But he’s comparing 2 different category cars. So the argument on revving up to 6000 RPM is not relevant. Why would anyone want to rev a Preve up to 6000 RPM in their normal daily drive? Got it?

• yes, u can rev all the way to red line 6,000rpm ++…..hmm, basically need to drive in 1st and 2nd gear most of the time and FC will be horrible, definitely not for daily usage

• Liew Yen Hong on May 11, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Preve can up to 6,000 rpm in 1st gear or not?

• i’m talking bout the toyota 86….its a sportscar, need to rev the engine high the rev range (will be enjoyable for a sportcar)….but not suitable for daily drive coz would need to use 1st & 2nd gear most of the time for rapid progress and after a while will be tiring & will consume too much fuel…..this is more of a weekend/track car…and will definitely be FUN!

• stiggy25 on May 11, 2012 at 8:41 pm

now all of u,HUG!

• please read carefully la brz max torque comes at 6000 RPM
        preve max torque ALL THE WAY from 2000-4000RPM
        short distance race, preve smokes brz ass

• short distance race can outrun brz/86???hahahah any very ‘smart’ comment from protong supporter..hahahhaha LMAO….

• i’m afraid you have to learn math again toyolta supporter, it’s possible before reaching 100km/h, and of course your shitty vios and altis would be smoked all the way, no chance to get in front even before reaching 100km/h lol

• the 86 has more class in one of its steering arms than the preve has in its entire body. Toyota has a lot of rally winning pedigree with Celica GT four.
          Poorton only raced with rebaged EVOs. Nuff said.

• bmpower on May 12, 2012 at 1:59 pm

please tell me preeve is from what EVO version?
            u still living in jungle right?

• alah! tinggal kat kl jalan berlopak apa bezanya!
            at least i have fresh air, no jams and an internet connection!
            preve has no pedigree at all.

• tin milo brz with 7 airbags? lol what for?
            preve much better with much tougher body

• sport on May 12, 2012 at 10:17 pm

does brz has superb ride and handling like lotus?

• brz torque comes very late, at 6,000RPM
        preve much better at 2,000RPM
        instant powwwahhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!

• “meaning you can rev the car all the way pass 6000 RPM ”

in gear 1 ? which part tells you this?

• xpayah mau samakan sgt la..preve kebanggaan yg lembab lg mau banding sama ini kereta ka?

• soyot on May 12, 2012 at 10:39 am

compare brz with preve? what the ****
        why not compare it with GTI , G-TR or megane?
        oh yes sure this brz kebanggan yg lembab tinggal jauh di belakang

• pervert on May 11, 2012 at 2:29 pm

yet we are comparing this to a piece of shit..

• I like KFC on May 11, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Correct, I don’t understand why Proton fanboy want to compare a piece of junk to such a beauty. Proton Fanboy, you should go compare your Preve to Lagi Extreme Myvi. Low life should mix together

• look at my comment..many protong fanboy thumdown my comment..hahaha really pathetic when they think their lovely protong preveh can outrun this ft86 after they saw it got same torque like preveh..hahahaha moron…

• test drove preve…ita a piece of crap. Engine is totally unrefined. Power delivery is not smooth. Cvt whine is irritating. Feels like the engine is in the cabin, wouldn’t mind if it sounds nice…but this sounds like there are loose bolts and screws in the engine. Poor insulation. Interior is better than Waja but plastics etc stll behind jap and Korean makes.

• then you are blinded with japs car HARD interior plastics
            pfffftttt

• bmpower on May 12, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Because toyota sell junks with high price. and those blinded by brand like you couldnt see this.

Myvi? Extreme? It’s rubbish with old avanza engine. not even had paddle shift prtfffxxcxx

• Still more expensive than Megane RS.

• nytro on May 11, 2012 at 10:41 am

Why would I buy this over a Scirroco, Megane RS or even an RCZ(if I wanted a sweet looking car)????

• nitroman on May 11, 2012 at 10:53 am

all bout personal preference mate.

i tell u why coz its a JDM, lighter, more modding potential, RWD and a successor to the legendary AE86

• don^don on May 11, 2012 at 11:08 am

park this next to a roc, megan, and rcz, and you’ll know why you’ll want the hachi roku instead. sexy car!

• kington on May 11, 2012 at 11:13 am

This is a FR coupe, built with handling and balance as priority. The cars you listed will be faster, but may not be as fun.

I’m not a professional drifter, but having sampled an MX-5 and a Silvia S15 made for drifters, one could realise why so many petitions were sent to Toyota back in the late 90’s for them to resurrect the AE86.

• Poor guy rages….lol

• Toyota So What on May 11, 2012 at 11:14 am

RM250,000 for a Toyota? That’s crazy. With that amount of money I will rather get the VW Golf GTI and still save RM50,000. At least the Golf GTI is more luxurious, has a more refined interior and has more space (did I mentioned cheaper too??)

• firefox on May 11, 2012 at 11:28 am

is true, better get 2.0 VW with 210 HP , germany technology …like GTI, Scirroco..RS…etc

• theanswer on May 11, 2012 at 12:53 pm

yes..i agree..but u have to think that ae86 is rwd while gti or rocco is fwd. definitely will give different kind of handling.

• Bay MH on May 11, 2012 at 12:58 pm

well the FR is for real drivers by the way…it seem you are not. Don’t worry, you have many friends out there. :)

• Then go for the Golf-R or even the Passat CC R. FR is for real drivers but they can only smell your smoke.

• nebula87 on May 11, 2012 at 11:17 am

hate the price!!! T,T

• If you want straight line and nice interior and badge, then don’t take the 86. 86 is abt sublime handling, RWD cornering adjustablility and light weight.

• blackbox on May 11, 2012 at 2:53 pm

If I want “sublime handling, RWD cornering adjustablility and light weight” I rather go for Lotus Elise. It’s cheaper to run too.

• Sexy and potent coupe with ugly and very UMWT pricing

• Rags1968 on May 11, 2012 at 11:33 am

Too bad, the main intent for the FT86 or BRZ is to bring back the fond memories of the original AE86 model, an exceptional handling, no gadget pure sports coupe which is affordable and fun to drive. Unfortunately, in Malaysia, nothing is cheap, only the salary is cheap, everything else has a Ridiculous price tag. Not sure if UMW really understood the cheap and affordable sport coupe intent when they penned this beauty. My hats off to those who could afford and would really want to spend a quarter of a million ringgit to have the opportunity to drive this beauty.

• i love coupe, but the price for this one is way over its designated segment. rather be looking at Megane RS instead.

btw we do have another cheap thing in Malaysia… some call it “Gomen”, i call it “bunch of morons” =P

• BalanceD on May 11, 2012 at 11:39 am

For that price, how many of you would be getting it for:

A. The sake it’s just a successor to AE86?
    B. For drifting purposes?

Funny how some people comment that the car comes with a ‘fun’ factor? How many of you are able to fork out that much of money for ‘fun’??

UMWT just shot themself in the foot for over pricing this ‘fun’ car … Only for the rich, which will drive this car slow and steady …

• True, true.

The ‘fun’ factor comes with a heavy price tag and consequences.

Every time you have ‘fun’ with the car, be prepared to empty your wallet…. at least to get new sets of tyres.

• tunguuu on May 11, 2012 at 11:40 am

no one denies its a gud car. but the pricing is just beyond comprehend able.

check out this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNUL9eQO5Q0&feature=g-user-u

• ezracopters on May 11, 2012 at 12:03 pm

this car is seriously OVERRATED & OVERPRICED!!!

p/s : but i love to have it anyway, simply coz of the heritage..damn Toyota, u really knew how to squeeze the juice.

performance so so only.. if i want a real drifter, i rather get silvia or better design n power, VW.. dang.. simply coz of the name!!!!! n aftersale price hehehe

• great car !!!!

• Littlebear on May 11, 2012 at 12:41 pm

I would rather get the original AE86 than this overpriced FT86 here in Malaysia :(

• AE86 is the one and only no matter how hard Toyota tries to create another 86. IMO, they’ve already lost it and better stick to producing consumer cars.

Why the Megane is more fun on the above video? Becoz turbo = fun factor x2 (or maybe 3).

• Maserati on May 11, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Stop complaining about the prices lah peeps. I rather get a golf gti over this lah, scirocco lah, megane lah. Pls lah, you cant even afford a civic 2.0 yet you dreaming about owning a golf gti?

Its not like if they price this at 200k, you guys gonna buy one .. Noobs

• there are peeps here that are replacing their civics with a 200k+ – 250k cars in here and making valid comparisons between the GTi, Megane RS, Scirocco and 86.

• And stop dreaming about your Maserati if you can’t even own a kapchai yet bashing Korean cars 24/7, noob a$$.

• i’ve got golf gti, g-tr, megane and clio in my stable, fd2r is out of my sight
      wanna add another one but dun think brz is worthy enough

• Skypirate on May 11, 2012 at 1:02 pm

You know, horsepower/torque aint’t everything to a car. This 86 is considerably lighter, rear wheel drive. The engine also sits as far back and as low as possible in the engine bay for an weight distribution of 53% of the weight up front and 47% of the weight in the rear. The low sitting engine provides excellent low center of gravity. Race the 86 against all the cars you mentioned down a twisty B road and most probably the 86 will eat all of those cars for breakfast. But price wise, effing over priced!!!

• Anonymous on May 12, 2012 at 8:19 am

There is already someone above you posted a video BRZ vs Megane, check it out yourself.

• Anti_fuel_price on May 11, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Dear readers,
    The price for 86 compare with Renault is “almost” on par but due rear wheel drive construction the manufacturing price is a bit higher. VW GTI is front wheel drive and when compare to FD2R it is almost same price but Honda lack of bi-xenon, rain sensor, etc…. And worst is when u pay for 200K car, u can’t choose any colour but championship white, where else GTI u able. Toyota is not over charge but it is our Government who still greedy & “swallow” our hard earn money!

At the end of the day, it is driver choice & self satisfaction :) thank u readers

• JeremyNg on May 11, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Bro Champion white is a Type R typical colour. If you are Type R fans you will understand about it although in Japan they offer other colour for Type R

• Anti_fuel_price on May 11, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Cheers Brader, I’m too driving FD2R but when u r paying 200K I am sure some drivers out there deserve to choose colour. Yes I do agree championship white is consider “pure” type-R colour, but in this case I’m using this example to support my explanation towards GT86 price :)
        Anyway no offend to FD owners, hv a nice weekends to all bros!

• with reference to the evo video, they were comparing a manual megane against an auto brz, further widening the performance gap between these 2 cars. should have tested a manual brz.

• I have a Mit GTO (new) many years back !! unless u hv monies to spare ? else it just remains a reading topic..to most of us

• Kambing on May 11, 2012 at 3:13 pm

UMW can keep this pretentious suedo-sport car and it’s heritage AE86. I’m getting a Megane RS for the money.

• JeremyNg on May 11, 2012 at 3:26 pm

It more expensive than Megane RS and Golf GTI. It no way faster than both of it…. The Megane RS will cruise pass it. If you get the auto version, it had the same 0-100km/h time with the 2012 Suzuki Swift Sport.

I still no yet drive a RWD car before so i know how fun or good can it be. Many people said that this car is for fun but i bet that you can have fun in CRZ, Megane RS or suzuki swift sport too. It just depend on you that how you define FUN from a car.

The worst part is you need pay extra RM800 for white colour!! This is ridiculous man~~

• Poorly-rated man on May 11, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Even the Japanese market price is much lower than the Malaysian market price… Stupid Malaysian Government who wants to protect those damned Proton and Perodua…

• MrDDR on May 12, 2012 at 11:06 am

Yeah true. Stupid Malaysian Goverment Coz give tax free for hybrid but hybrid car still expansive than japan although less spec i.e honda CRZ (No GPS) and less warranty time than other country.

• I hope more ppl w/ $$ go buy this car. then after 3 years then may be I can get a cheap 2nd hand unit to play.

btw, in Japan they do hv a Race ready ver for sale.

• Overpriced car. Better wait for few years for grey imports to come at cheaper price, same like what happened to 350Z in early days.

• oblong on May 11, 2012 at 7:01 pm

AP for recond car will end in 2015…only 2+ yrs left to get recond Toyot 86 huhu….adoi sempat ka?

• samsam on May 11, 2012 at 4:09 pm

wow, ridiculous price..

• This is out long ago, like more than one month…

• nahh better get PREVE`…better resale value..hi-tech..Luxury feeling..driving dynamics the same as BMW e90….(annoyed?..haha..joking here)

• 200 ps and 205 nm? Golf GTI or R can smoke this easily…sorry

• Littlebear on May 11, 2012 at 4:56 pm

I’ve seen the FT86 stripped down version selling in Japan for a mere Y1,990,000 which is about RM76k. Even after government tax at 100%, this car shouldn’t be selling more than RM200k.

I wonder how UMW came out with such pricing.

• BRShooter on May 11, 2012 at 10:29 pm

That 1990000 yen is most low spec like hilux
      here single cap.(kosong) Malaysia
      86 spec is same like Japan GT version. It’s about 3000000 yen.

• Poorly-rated man on May 12, 2012 at 9:06 am

I think Malaysian Government added too much excise duty for imported/non-national cars. The regular 86 (base spec/kosong) priced around old base Hilux price in Japan, but would be RM160k or above if an 86 kosong is sold in Malaysia. The only thing is, Hilux is also relatively expensive in Japan, and proved unpopular, so Toyota decided to drop the Hilux truck from the Japanese lineup less than decade ago.

• Poorly-rated man on May 12, 2012 at 9:15 am

Even the Japanese top spec (3050000 yen or RM120000) is far cheaper than ones sold in Malaysia. That’s not Toyota’s problem, but the greedy Malaysian Government added too much excise duty to imported cars, excluding pickup trucks. I think Malaysian Government favoured trucks over small sporty cars.

But in Japan, an old, used pickup trucks like Hilux (which was dropped from Japanese lineup) are still fetching relatively high prices. Even a Hilux can be priced around 2500000 yen (about RM100000) in Japan. This also happened in most countries including Europe but not ASEAN.

• BRShooter on May 11, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Actually is….. No money no talk! Same problem for like no $$ buy a new Myvi and say its very expansive better go get a proton saga!! That Myvi is slower than saga. Why almost ppl buy Myvi not saga!? ( that’s is same with a gti and a 86) why dont jus go get gtr compare with Ferrari? Ferrari is more expansive and slower than a r35 gtr, thats why u all guys like to compare the price!!

• karamsingh on May 11, 2012 at 7:25 pm

apa..daa RENAULT CLIO RS N/A..pun boley tapau..200HP..0-100 km/h is done in 6.9 seconds, while the top speed of 225 km/h, Max torque is 215 Nm at 5,400 rpm.

Then RENAULT AGAIN..Twingo R.S. 133’s 1.6 litre naturally aspirated engine produces 133 hp at 6,750 rpm and 160 Nm at 4,400 rpm. It accelerates to 100 km/h from zero in 8.7 seconds and maxes out at 201 km/h.

keter jepon macam sampah..berlagak ah beng je lebey….

• RadzLee on May 12, 2012 at 4:10 am

this one focus on handling la dude… not raw power. aiyaa… but i still x agree with the pricing

• ribena on May 11, 2012 at 8:51 pm

so much for being advertised as an ‘affordable, fun sports car for everyone’ . I really thought it was gonna be in the mid/high-100k’s .

who would pay rm250k + for a japanese car (no offence), when u can get continental cars of superior quality and performance?

if im not mistaken this car should be aimed at the younger audience (20s) , how are they gonna afford this? not bashing the car or anything, but its interesting to see how well this car does in malaysia

• danedz on May 11, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Next part 2 initial D movie will use this car….then they can boost up their sales….

• Naz@AE111 on May 11, 2012 at 9:53 pm

love the car so2 much!!! but hate the price… T_T

• deftones on May 11, 2012 at 11:55 pm

i’m at neutral..
    whatever u guys comparing golf or megane with 86, are u really going to buy them??
    or are you are just consultant just to convince afford people to buy those conti’s?

i believe most of us here are driving average joe car. People who can afford these kind of price range wont give this such of comments..

• most people here can afford those sport cars, that’s why we gave such comments
      noone here is into fd2r coz it’s just shitty sedan ‘sporty’ car

• Jackson on May 13, 2012 at 12:17 pm

I would… I’m budgeting for Megane 250 cup.. also hoping that the 265 cup will be in Malaysia soon..

• kjryth on May 12, 2012 at 12:47 am

proton saya lagi best

• so,go stick with ur lovely protong..this sportcar dont deserve to compare with protong…pffttt

• wait until neo cfe twin turbo smokes this shitty brz

• Neo with CFE sure gonna be good but still FWD. the potong people should really release the europa for msian. i dont mind its a proton and has some quality issue if its cheap enough..

• bmpower on May 12, 2012 at 2:00 pm

brz surely tapaued. but proton didn’t had rear wheel drive. cannot drift.

• mipop on May 12, 2012 at 10:54 am

yeah this sportcar has tiny boot, it doesn’t deserve to compare with ‘protong’…pfffff

• Protong is for low life such as you .

• This car should stand out for its handling capability rather than outright power. Price is a bit steep.

I think the 2012 golf R or megane rs250 cup would be more bang for buck?

• Lambo on May 12, 2012 at 11:48 am

250k++ ? for a car like that ? your gotta be kidding me …

• Tomb Jo on May 12, 2012 at 12:20 pm

This maybe part of marketing to boost their image. They dont expect msia sell it like vios….

• bmpower on May 12, 2012 at 1:58 pm

nowadays.. automatic gearbox are faster than manual in 0-100.
    name it DSG, CVT, bla bla bla.. even protronic.
    (technically lag calculation by milisecond system vs your hand on gear knob not fast enough) so this 86 auto gearbox is rubbish.

with that tag price…
    considered Scirocco with 260hp + DSG + and many more
    is far better.. (because golf GTI is just too mainstream. )
    like grass to cloud!

and you ill will be laughable when your hated (by T supporter) Preeve tapau ur precious GT86 at trafficligh 0 – tapau.

nuff said

• you pay 250k for a outdated dual vvti engine?? if me i pay 210k for a LATEST TECHNOLOGY TSI?Turbo)+Dual Clutch Sequence gear system!! What so i spend this money to buy a everything SO SO car(engine so so, exterior so so, transmission very so so, dash board design and material used LAGI SO SO, and etc so so?

• no wonder on May 13, 2012 at 11:35 am

Honda CR-Z laaa hahaha baru best… greener lagi… design cantik…. ley bawak 2 org je… xpayah sibuk2 nk bawak kawan2 awek hahaha

• mentari-o-korea on May 13, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Maybe chong wei can keep this pretty coupe along with his other expensive fleet!! World no 1 driving 86, nah that look really cool!!

• Farid Yusof on May 14, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Why Golf Gti? The Polo Gti should suffice…180ps/250nm/229 top speed/0-100 in 6.9!!! And all that at only 2/3rd the price!!!

• thanks Malaysia gov for protecting our proton pride. We are very proud with proton.

• FT-86 on May 23, 2012 at 6:01 pm

This car in japan ,Mr.Orido(japan race driver) plug a V8 toyota soarer engine to his Drift machine Ft-86….

watch this
    http://youtu.be/FUPCwolLrsY

• sedhairi on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:13 pm

hey guys… this gt86.. they made special for fun of driving. u will love it if u drive it outcast… i mean village road or so on.. the handling and speed just good enough for u to smoke others… this about legend , joy, fun ride..
    if u talk about turbo, super 0-100 fast one.. this is not the car.. every car made had their own properties.. this is legend 86… they just want to bring back na high revv engine.. if u really want damn fast car.. go for scirocco r , no one will dare to kiss ur smoke.. but as what promised by gt86.. the joy and fun of driving gt86 which you can’t have in scirocco or megane or so on..
    basiically in malaysia.. this car for fucking rich ppl… but japs.. its just a weekend car for everyone ..
    lets the legend 86 pride begin… joy and fun of drive. :)