BMW M135i – if you ever need 320hp in a 3-door hatch!

The 3-Series isn’t the only car in the BMW range to get a new body type today – BMW also announced the new 3-door body for the 1-Series hatchback, including the hot blue car you see above – the new M135i, the four model in the BMW Performance Automobiles range, which previously only included the M550xd, the X5 M50d and the X6 M50d.

Under the hood is a twin turbocharged 3.0 litre six cylinder turbo engine, making 320 horsepower. This is the N55 though, not the tuned up version of the N54 that was installed in the 1 M Coupe – that car is a different class altogether and a true M car, while the M135i is an M Performance car.

The M135i gets bespoke looks as compared to the rest of the 1-Series range, and like the previously launched BMW M Performance cars, in place of fog lamps, you get air inlets decorated with a signature horizontal slat in metallic Ferric Grey. It’s available with either an 8-speed auto or a 6-speed dry sump manual.

The specs seem a little less exciting though as compared to the 50d 5-er, X5 and X6 trio – those cars introduced a powerful new tri-turbo diesel engine, but a 320 horsepower and 450Nm tune of the N55 is nothing we’ve never seen before. It does have M-specific suspension tuning, and is delivered with a fixed caliper four piston M Sport Brake System with oversized discs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kjryth on May 13, 2012 at 7:48 pm

my proton satria neo cps turbo better

• 891238 on May 13, 2012 at 8:07 pm

CPS has turbo yet? or cheap ah beng turbo?.. dun make me laugh. and dun compare to bmw..

• rotorZ on May 13, 2012 at 8:54 pm

liked the bmw power but the 1 series design is all time buruks! dont waste money, just buy the 328 or 335i if u want both look (of course) and definitely the power. if you want 3 doors, buy the 325 or 335 ci.

• mrbusy2000 on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:09 pm

your satria neo is a joke… don’t compare it with any BMW

• I seriously think that BMW is really taking their ///M brand a bit too far. A BMW is either a BMW or a true bonkers ///M car. Why confuse things further with a ///M Performance Car???

If they want to slot in a car in between a normal BMW and a ///M model thats fine, but please do not include the almighty ///M badge in it. Use the letter “s” just like the top-range Z4 or even the “tii” instead. And that ridiculously long ///M 135i name on the rear is just not nice to look at.

Even Audi use the term “S” for their performance model, and only use “RS” for their top-range models.

• ae101 on May 13, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Good power with good handling car. But appearance too soft.

• Johnny on May 14, 2012 at 11:23 am

Rear looks like a…. VW Polo?