BMW 114i debuts with 3-door BMW 1-Series hatch body

BMW has announced a new 114i engine variant for the new 1-Series, which slots in under the previous baseline petrol model, the 116i.

The most affordable (and lowest powered) 1-er is powered by a variant of the 1.6 litre TwinPower Turbo 4 cylinder engine as the 136hp 116i and 170hp 118i, except in the 114i it’s tuned to make 102 hp at 4,000rpm and 180Nm from as low as 1,100rpm.

It looks like BMW is pretty set on a 100% turbocharged line-up for every single model in its range, even the low-end models. And 180Nm from 1,100rpm would mean good torque from low RPM, despite it running out of breath higher up in the rev range with a low peak.

Its TwinPower Turbo engines now come in various sizes – 1.6 litre, 2.0 litre, 3.0 litre, 4.4 litre and 6.0 litre, and the typical BMW engine size notation doesn’t reflect cubic capacity any longer – we’ve got 14i, 16i, 18i, 20i, 23i, 28i, 30i, 40i, 50i, and 60i all from the mentioned 5 engine displacement sizes.

Look after the jump for a gallery of the new 3-door bodystyle.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kjryth on May 13, 2012 at 9:47 pm

i think preve better

• stealth on May 13, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Yeah right Preve is the best in the world eh?

• maybe? best value for money for sub 100k car (without tax)
      even civic 90k (without tax) cannot beat its specs

• bmw is the best in the world – highest maintenance car

• Kevin Lee on May 13, 2012 at 11:39 pm

u gotta love the number, 114? yat yat sei? everyday die? maybe this car wont sell in asian region

• Mazda freak on May 14, 2012 at 12:20 am

when is it coming to bolehland?

• armandd on May 14, 2012 at 1:06 am

Looks like BMW chose to turbocharge all of it’s car engine. That must have meant something. I guess BMW bikes and Roll Royces will be next.

• matlimmutu on May 14, 2012 at 10:07 am

bmw also compare with preve??? ayoyoooo demam ke?

• yeah PREVE is comparable to any BMW..(hihihihi…annoyed?)

• BMW.. when will u be bringing the new 1-er to Malaysia??? Been waiting it for so long!! Im looking at 125i

• adwin on May 14, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Preve+turbo=138hp,116i+turbo=136hp…preve must speed…

• Keyboard Warrior on May 14, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Proton’s Preve would definitely beat this German crap in no time..
    Be it the spare parts, support and sales figure: go proton..

Also how many times you see German crap break apart on Malaysian roads..
    Not with proton lately..

Hidup Proton :)

• armandd on May 14, 2012 at 6:47 pm

I agree, I can’t seem to remember the last time I saw a Proton broke down. Last month I saw a Merc broke down at roadside (K Kangsar-Lumut) backroad. A couple of days ago saw a C-Class with the hood opened at highway..

• BMW 1600cc… how much will it possibly be selling in malaysia? any insider?