New Enhanced Black Panel for BMW F10 from July 2012

A regular Black Panel display

BMW updates the production specs of their cars twice a year – and for the 07/12 production update they have something nice in plan for whoever’s ordering the F10 5-Series – a new optional Enhanced Black Panel which features a completely reconfigurable instrument panel on the Enhanced Black Panel’s 10.25 inch display.

BMW’s new Enhanced Black Panel display

The arrangement of the information is familiar to those who drive the current range of BMWs – two chrome rings on the black surface, flanked by a fuel level and temperature displays. The temperature and fuel displays remain visible when the ignition is turned off, but the rest of the display blacks out.

Something interesting happens when you switch to certain drive modes – as you can see above, ECO PRO mode brings on a blue theme which replaces the RPM meter with a huge fuel economy meter – essentially a giant version of the small meter that’s usually positioned below the RPM meter.

Switch to Sport mode and the display turns red, with the the speedometer turning digital and the RPM meter having a huge gear indicator.

The F10 is currently offered with two different instrument panels in Malaysia – the 520d and 520i come with a lower end Black Panel cluster which only has a color display in the bottom right section. The 528i and 535i gets the full Black Panel display – the kind that goes blank when you turn the ignition off. Given that we don’t have the luxury of picking and choosing options when it comes to ordering cars in Malaysia, chances of this optional feature appearing in cars sold by BMW Malaysia would depend entirely on them.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 14, 2012 at 1:03 am

But the price in simply hard to afford in boleh land………. :(

• valaerioe on May 14, 2012 at 10:23 am

work harder then. money aint gonna fall from the sky. dont dream of driving beemer if you are an average joe getting paid monthly salary

• tishaban on May 14, 2012 at 11:39 am

I still don’t understand why people’s perspective is that you can’t drive a beemer when you’re being paid a monthly salary (as opposed to what?). There are people out there with huge monthly salaries even in Malaysia…

But yes work hard/smart instead of complaining.

• ignoramus on May 14, 2012 at 3:15 pm

There are several F10 BMW where I live. Most if not all of them are salaried employees. But I also know they don’t work at McDonalds flipping burgers.

This is just a BMW sedan. Not a freaking Lamborghini Aventador.

You can drive a BMW if you’re in the right salary bracket. Also not all of them own the car even though they drive it. Figure it out.

• waterman on May 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

i guess he means average salaried employees are unable to afford it. sad but true.. mostly professionals salaried ppl able afford it too.
          and businessman doesn’t mean they will be able to afford one, but still there’s higher chances.

however… this new panel is SO COOL!!! it motivates me to make more $$$ to get this lovely 528i!! wait for me!! babehhh~

• BlinkBlink on May 14, 2012 at 2:44 pm

In other words, you are too poor to own BMW…

• nighttrain on May 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

Options list for a car? We’re not ‘negara maju’ just yet. So forget about it.

• says says on May 14, 2012 at 11:19 am

this is what I meant before..

designing car is not about design and built..

it’s about passion throughout..

even the meter panel does not escape the scrutinisation process..

as for PROTONs’ meter panel (EXORA the culprit) …sigh!..Nuff said!

to PROTON’s new management..please take note.

TQ

• Merc=Real Euro on May 14, 2012 at 11:56 am

I wonder how much it cost when it fails….. and knowing BMW for reliability…

• ignoramus on May 14, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Have you owned a modern BMW lately? The year is 2012. Time to come out of the dark ages mate!

• dreaming of maserati on May 14, 2012 at 9:47 pm

then go and get a saga or viva. cheap to replace when break down

• Negara Maju? we will never be negara maju la.. Look at our politics and growth progression.. 2020? haha.. By that time those monkey will say “Ah… due to politics unstable, opposition obstruct the growth of the nation bla bla..” lol. Back to here, I receive monthly income yet i drive a 528i M-sport. Yes, its not meant for the average Joe to drive this. Not in overseas, certainly not in Boleh-lanD. i HAVE FRIENDS IN Germany,even its their national cars. Only corporate CEO afford to buy it. Normal average salary man tend to stick with Volkwagen or Korean n Japs cars.

• kjryth on May 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

proton lebih cantik

• I going to book for the 528i M-Sport soon. If this is going to be offered soon it will be worth waiting for.

• Just me on May 14, 2012 at 2:22 pm

same concept as CT200h.

• Muddy on May 14, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Lexus IS250 has this concept feature. The inner ring will lit orange after certain programmed RPM & speed and turn red at higher rev & speed. You can programme it also.

But its a simple system, not full screen LCD la..

• sudonano on May 14, 2012 at 5:39 pm

If i have ordered the F10, can i opt for this? and most importantly, the price???

• Based on your last paragraph, I still cannot fully understand what are the differences between the instrument panel between the cheaper 520d, 520i and the ones from the more expensive 528i and 535i.

• its mean this features is not optional when u buy new car in Malaysia.. it depend on the dealer whether to sell it as it or not

• The dashboard is definately better than the one on preve.