Proton R3 – performance parts and styling kit promotion

If you’ve been looking to kit up your Proton Inspira, Gen-2 or Satria Neo with R3 gear, then this will definitely be of interest. Came across a Proton Motorsports promotion on R3 performance parts and styling accessories while browsing the Proton corporate website.

On the going list are a number of styling, handling and performance parts – among the items are R3 4-2-1 headers for the Neo CPS and CamPro as well as the Gen-2 CPS, a Neo R3 spring set and Neo CamPro, Gen-2 and Inspira bodykits. The promo runs until June 30, so plenty of time to peruse the stuff, if you’re so inclined.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• carazy on May 14, 2012 at 2:30 pm

waww!! carbon fiber bonnet, but the price is also waww

• highschooler on May 14, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Where is that fag “kjryth” who always say proton/cps is better in Proton unrelated posts. I’m expecting him/her to comment here.

• Keyboard Warrior on May 14, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Good work proton..

Lets show those German crap what is Malaysian automotive is all about..
    We hold good sales figure here..

Awesome! Good Job Proton!

• Uiyo, what have the German done to you?

• payne on May 15, 2012 at 9:05 am

like an elephant want to fly…. hahaha… the german has invented car long before malaysia federation. showing off made u more like a clown.. ukur baju d badan sendiri la de.

• Showing to the German’s? You really believe in your own prowness.

• hahahah… u must be kidding me

• Keyboard Warrior on May 15, 2012 at 1:36 am

malaysian top seller and number 1 and always been number 1 “proton”..

just like our PM’s motto “1 malaysia”…

go proton :)

• artworks on May 15, 2012 at 1:35 am

LOL…dun malu lah. ppl say we are jaguh kg because of u

• mizzuddin on May 15, 2012 at 9:08 am

hahahaaa why laa you chose to telanjang bogel here..?

sakit mata taw

• Neo User on May 14, 2012 at 2:37 pm

RIP OFF!!!

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 14, 2012 at 3:19 pm

What package you put in also….is just a crappy Proton nia….

Is a fact and no offend!

• koozold on May 14, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Spring set affordable!

• Well done proton, should make this accessories to all models from proton, Support & Support.

• l3ryan on May 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

is the CF hood legal eventhough it came from Proton’s R3?

msian laws state CF hood is illegal if i’m not mistaken…

• mamat on May 14, 2012 at 4:10 pm

U CAN HV r10 BUT THE ENGINE STILL THE SAME! UPGRADE TO turbo….tWIN TURBO SUPERCHARGE….

• Not necessarily needs turbo everytime. But I got your point here. Maybe R3 should offer slight engine tweaked. For example ECU or crank improvement or whatever (I’m not really into engine parts stuff) that would boost about 10 to 20 hp.

• RadzLee on May 14, 2012 at 10:57 pm

they hv those ECU upgrade also if im not mistaken. saw in their page

• supersona on May 14, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Can Persona use Gen2 exhaust system? Mahalnya!

• John Doe on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Persona chassis based on Gen-2. So, can use whatever parts from Gen-2. Except for springs.

• if expensive dont buy n complaint.. support malaysian product.. n proton will produce others performance part for other smodel too if u support proton..

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 15, 2012 at 9:40 am

with this kind of mentality no wonder proton is like this. monopolizing and unproductive ;)

• If I use those R3 floormate, R3 sticker, pedal kit, will they it at least increase my Gen-2’s BHP by another 0.5?

• armandd on May 14, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Nope. The same is true with ah-beng bodykits. But R3 products are not the same as ah-beng products.

• You can’t be this serious man!
        Just say ” Yes it increases the HP by 50HP more!”

Y U NO say yes????

• yes if ure an ah beng

• danial on May 14, 2012 at 5:47 pm

anything for persona :(

• daddy_vroom on May 14, 2012 at 6:17 pm

In what way these accessories can help to improve performance??

• unknown on May 14, 2012 at 6:43 pm

If you use the CF hood. It is supposed to be lighter that the standard hood.
      With lighter weight, it should increase your power to weight ratio.
      Which then improve performance?

• And also the CF hood will lower the car’s centre of gravity which will improve overall handling. Plus the R3 spring, your car would have less body roll, improved cornering stability and improves direction change.
      Performance is not everything about straight line acceleration.

• samsam on May 14, 2012 at 9:02 pm

dont put hood can shave more weight.

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 14, 2012 at 6:27 pm

lol 3rd world pimp my ride shop HAHAHA, as if I’m in Myanmar or Cambodia, with those cheesy advert, wanna be global player la sangat. staffs in mugen/spoon/j’s racing would laugh out loud if they look at this advert.

• armandd on May 14, 2012 at 7:27 pm

If you look at mugen-power or spoon website, there’s nothing really special also. Although they’re very good, their products are way overpriced!

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 15, 2012 at 9:39 am

The thing is, they have some performance parts for the engine, whereas r3 does not really emphasize on engine performance as evidenced from this ad.

• koochai on May 15, 2012 at 11:12 am

hei fren…
          above ad is for items on “EXCLUSIVE PROMOTIONS” la…
          fyi (if u don’t already know la), r3 also have engine performance related products…
          if only u spend time to browse their website la…
          if only…haish…

• shooter on May 14, 2012 at 7:46 pm

on the contrary i think the staff at Nismo or Mugen or TRD wouldnt be suprpissed at all, finally P1 is doing what they’re doing- model specific power and cosmetics upgrade… you sir just want to run down anything that is bumi driven

• rajaiskandarshah on May 14, 2012 at 6:53 pm

for savvy still got or not ? lelong buy 1 get 2 free also boleh.

• teelim on May 14, 2012 at 11:27 pm

nothing for the CFE engine?

• /ngeTaRD on May 15, 2012 at 12:01 am

wouldn’t it be cheaper if this upgrade are source from 3rd party? i mean kedai abang can do a good job @ cosmetic enhancement

• anjez on May 15, 2012 at 12:51 am

what stupid bodykits?after all its just shitty proton only.typical “natta” attitude and brains…fix bodykits to their fucing proton.
    basically proton is a fucing useless piece of shit and wonder why this useless bn led goverment still protecting this fuckface company and this mahathir is still being the damm advisor.
    bodoh punya design just look at preve or code named proton mahathir….front look lke taxi driver face and behind looks like coconut scraper…

• johari on May 15, 2012 at 12:53 am

Waste of time !!
    Smart guys will get a better car instead cos P1 only good at replacing
    every model with wider rims, bigger exhaust. new sticker and body kits.
    At the end of the day its still a lame Proton.

• if all proton mau sumbat turbo i wonder all malaysians will drive like hell!!

• Abuya on May 15, 2012 at 5:49 am

For proton enthusiast, this news most welcome, better than brand new ah beng bodykit. The quality much better.

For full time basher, ah beng supporter, this news is big joke for them.

• waitin bodykit for my white preve..

• Real performance enthusiasts would not bother with this, only Ah Bengs are interested. Just look at M/// division of BMW, they produce real performance parts, not just for show. Like there is not enough Ah Bengs with their special body kits on the road and proton is encouraging more lol.

• Proton user on May 16, 2012 at 11:36 am

Most car manufacturer has their own specialist or division to promote,
    R&D and selling the upgrades for their cars. Example: Honda has Mugen, BMW has Ms, MB has AMG etc…

Not to talk about those reputable 3rd party tuners like Klemann, Spoon etc.

That’s nothing wrong for R3 to produce such products as they have their own marketing strategy. We don’t have to bash any of the brand, just keep it on your own for buying it or not.

Ya, it’s still a Proton after you installed those items but bare in mind that we people who has only limited budget and only afford to own the car will appreciate or enjoy the upgrades as the driving experience will be different especially after the exhaust upgrades where the powerband will be shifted. It’s the little enjoyment for those who not driving Supercars, fancy Continentals, highly tuneable Japanese Sports. So please do care about their feels.

And it’s always a tough and hard job to do something new when everyone has a preset thinking on certain brands. But taking off the protection will force somebody to make themselve competitive, which good for the consumers like us

• 1 leh kickin on May 16, 2012 at 12:54 pm

FYI, some mugen part are nt really designed and engineered by them…its more often than not a re-badge item….for example Nismo exhausts do you guys know that all teh nismo exhaust are MADE IN MALAYSIA!!!!…go figure…obviously others are ahead of us, IF we cant support our own people for sure we dun even stand a chance!….i know P1 is not perfect infact they can be shitty sometimes…lets get together and do something about it..any tom DICK and harry can write and try to act smart by posting stuff here….y dont we do sumthing about it..if proton realy suks, then hurt them where is hurts the most=boycot their cars!…

honestly have u seen inside a vios, ITS FUGLY, the preve is not much better but it is better!

• zainal abidin on May 25, 2012 at 12:17 pm

PROTON should introduce more R3 performance parts for SAGA BLM / FL / FLX. Being an FL owner ,I would certainly buy these parts. The lack of it is a big letdown.

• Darren Keiller on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Although I may be British, born in Malaysia. But I’m a proton enthusiast. Proton is cheaper and still boleh tahan la than most Japanese cars and other foreigner car.

• Floran on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:03 am

Posted on Dammit. I have long been convinced, for rnesoas unknown to me, that Rumours’ came out in 1975, the year that I was born. Kind of disappointed to realize I was wrong about that.Oh, well, I’ve still got Born to Run.’Love your discussion of the album, totally agreed. There are some great singles ( Dreams is pretty close to a perfect song for me), but put together it’s greater than the sum of its parts.I love your music writing, I hope to see more of these!

• kecikwaja on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Why all about horse power??my waja 4g18 standard performance can go 210km..senyum bila potong vios tengah pecut~ so proton have something good maaa~