CONFIRMED: Peugeot 408 to be finally launched next week

Nasim Sdn Bhd has announced that it will finally launch the Peugeot 408 next week. This doesn’t come as a surprise, as groups of unmasked units of 408 were caught on camera last week.

From the pics, we noticed two variants – a Turbo and a 2.0 NA – and Nasim has confirmed that the C-segment sedan will indeed be available in two variants, “with one variant fitted with an enhanced fuel-efficient engine that produces the most power in its segment.” Nasim also claims class-leading cabin space and 562 litres of boot volume.

“The Peugeot 408 is locally-assembled at Naza Automotive Manufacturing (NAM) in Gurun, Kedah and is ready to be launched for both the Malaysian and regional markets.

“We are targeting to produce 60,000 units of the 408 over a five-year period beginning 2012 and we plan to export 60% of that total to markets in the region,” said SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin, Joint Group Executive Chairman of the Naza Group.

He also revealed that Nasim hosted Peugeot distributors from Australia, Thailand, Taiwan, Indonesia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Sri Lanka, Brunei, Philippines and Bangladesh last week for a test drive event.

Datuk Samson Anand George, COO of Nasim, said the 408 will contribute significantly to the company’s sales target of 9,300 units this year, which will represent a 72% jump from 2011 figures.

Click here to view live shots of the locally-assembled Peugeot 408. The studio pics seen here are from the official Peugeot Malaysia Facebook page, so we presume that they accurately reflect the Malaysian spec car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kevin lee on May 15, 2012 at 5:28 pm

saw this passing by malim nawar, perak, it was nice

• gila huduh rear design!!!

• harris murad on May 16, 2012 at 1:02 pm

aiyoo broo cruell la you..
        not gila huduh, its just not that nice.
        quite okay what?

• i tot it’s ok since many use this on preve :-)
          my bad..but i really dont like the rear..

• droll on May 15, 2012 at 6:17 pm

“…produces the most power in its segment.” – if i’m not mistaken, this car is in the same segment as the mondeo. so the 1.6 turbo will have more than 240ps? sure or not? or am i mistaken?

i thought the 408 sport has something like 163bhp or thereabouts….http://autonewsupdate.info/peugeot-408-sport-is-already-available-in-argentina-including-price-features-and-technical-data/ no??

• intermilan on May 15, 2012 at 9:28 pm

not mondeo but focus.

mondeo = 508

• RejimKejamGanas on May 16, 2012 at 2:15 am

The 163THP has engine knock problems as experienced by the 308 and 3008 owners. I would think that the 2.0 NA would be much preferable.

• at the moment, the 163 hp engine is not available here yet so you won’t know if it will be the same or not. strong guess is it is an improved version of the 308’s turbo engine.

• off tangent on May 18, 2012 at 9:39 pm

well, it seems to be that the motor in the 408 is improved over the unit found in the other models but if you’re risk averse, the 2.0 makes great sense too. plus, i guess it would be easier on the wallet too considering that it has cloth interior and a lot less kit than the turbo. they’re in the showrooms by the way so you can catch them live already.

• Jason on May 15, 2012 at 6:24 pm

i wish there could be price drop for 308 turbo

• wishful on May 16, 2012 at 9:13 am

wishful thinking..LOL..but don’t worry, your wish will comw true when the NAP is abolished.

• mohairi on May 15, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Look at those legrooms….

• Septrain on May 15, 2012 at 7:04 pm

The SA in Glenmarie says the price range is around RM130k cause our Miti don’t approved a lower amt. Crazy lah if price like that.

• Peugeot fan on May 15, 2012 at 11:31 pm

not MITI but MOF la!!!!

• No wrong..excise tax made the price like that n oso based on customs price docket

• Vader on May 16, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Technically, this is 308 sedan.
      Normally the sedan version is slight cheaper than hatchback version, if the price is ~RM130k, then is too over!!!

• kenny on May 18, 2012 at 12:20 pm

this could turn out to be an ‘abnormal’ case considering the improvements it has over the 308 turbo

• Getty on May 15, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Nasim Naza, hear these two names already no confidence.

• Baba O'Reilly on May 16, 2012 at 8:22 pm

So pray tell, who DO you have confidence in, and why?

• zack randolph on May 15, 2012 at 9:48 pm

RM129888.00

5 Years/100000km warranty

• ahmadfaris93 on May 15, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Any special features for this car that’ll make it more interesting ? Maybe Sat-nav ? Wait, it’s Naza. Why bother asking..

• Ugly!

• is this 408 come with twin scroll turbo like 508?

• K-Man on May 18, 2012 at 9:37 pm

should be with the twin scroll. but it could be a new version of it.

• PetrolLeg on May 15, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Probably a chap that cannot afford!

• 130k is too exp…=(

• Baba O'Reilly on May 16, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Compared to Jetta, Civic and Altis, 130k is too expensive?

• retro on May 18, 2012 at 2:51 pm

many seem to think a peugeot should be cheap (maybe to them it is not really valuable at all). perhaps they actually really want it but can’t really stretch it. but when there are affordable peugeots, they criticise like crazy.

• waja2007 on May 15, 2012 at 11:56 pm

The truth is this 408 and the new Elantra is much better than Preve in terms of design and quality, exterior and interior. You can dislike me but the truth always hurts..

• REZAJIT ABDULLAH on May 16, 2012 at 12:41 am

IF THE 408 IS THE SEDAN VERSION OF THE 308 THEN WILL IT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS THAT WE THE 308 OWNERS ARE FACING?

• RejimKejamGanas on May 16, 2012 at 2:18 am

The one with 408Turbo should have similar issues with the 308Turbo and 3008.
      Would guess that the 2.0 model as a safer bet.

The THP Prince are not suitable for our fuel quality and weather.

• kington on May 16, 2012 at 8:28 am

Aside from knocking what other problems are you facing? Hope you don’t mind sharing.

• aroff on May 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

408 is not a sedan version of 308 although both share the same chasis. Apparently they do produce 308 sedan version but may or may not come to our shores. You can find this info in paultan.org somewhere here. Find it…

• Martin on May 16, 2012 at 6:55 pm

From what i read on China automotive website, 408 is based on 308 chassis, pretty much lots of stuff carried over from 308 in terms of interior and hardware that cannot be seen. The 308 however, is based on 307 chassis and the hardware are carried over from 307. I sincerely believe that 307 is still on sale in China.

• stephen on May 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

what the focus is not chassis….its n the engine.
          if its using the same prince turbo…..good luck

i know people who is struggling with it.
          I own a 308 VTI but no problem but Turbo seem to have all those problem on knocking……

if the interior is similar to 308 and having same air con unit.
          maybe you might not like the aircon if you love full blast 20deg c…..
          which so far i don’t care since i seldom get the temp below 24deg C

otherwise its should be a nice car…..errr hard to tell since 408 will be truly local assemble compare to 308’s CKD

• laluan sehala on May 18, 2012 at 1:39 pm

both 308 sedan (which is positioned lower than the 408) and 408 share mechanical parts and the chassis but the crucial bit is this, in the 408 application, the chassis is LENGTHENED so as to provide for a smoother looking profile as well as the most important factor for asian buyers, SPACE.

• Nope. Not same engine. Should have rectified past issues.

• kjryth on May 16, 2012 at 1:57 am

kenapa beli ini ketika ada preve

• Nasim, bring in the 1.6 eHdi enginer ler…….. Since Hybrid, the price will be much cheaper and can undercut the Japanese bybird.

Our diesel not good enough? Well, if Ford Focus TDCi can take our diesel quality, why not the Peugeot/Citroen diesel engine? Ford and the PSA group did some diesel engine joint development project, right?

• sheriuh on May 16, 2012 at 8:49 am

Bonnet nipples on a 2012 car? Instant nope.

• Still it is an ugly car. The design only good for 5 years behind.

• neckotynne on May 16, 2012 at 10:06 am

I wish to see the Peugeot 208 here… When will they arrive here? :)

• Dislike the sagging buddock…give me goosebump

• BMWz4 on May 16, 2012 at 10:55 am

kenapa beli umno bila ade pkr

• Jaybond on May 16, 2012 at 11:35 am

This Peugeot 408 is like the VW Jetta, updated design outside, carry over design inside. Anyway it’s time to see how the big T & H will respond with the influx of new & attractive offerings from the Europeans and the Koreans in the C segment. The new Civic is more or less like the latest American Civic, but how the new Corolla Altis will look like , remains to be seen..

• I somehow find the rear design of 407 much better than the new 408. The 408 looks ordinary, no signature at all.

• OMG…UGLY exterior design…

• kensomuse on May 16, 2012 at 5:29 pm

It has been said that the Prince engine in the 408Turbo has been modified to suit local fuel and weather and reduce/eliminate engine knocking and depollution, the 2 most common issues faced by older 308 4 spd models. How true is this, only time will tell but according to the folks at Nasim, they’ve tested the car for more than a year and so far it’s been running fine.

What a lot of people may not realise is that with the launch of the 408, the benchmark for C segment cars has been upped. Did you know that the 408 has:-

1) The longest wheelbase at 2,710mm …. it’s even longer than a Honda Civic
    2) The longest C segment measuring at 4,682mm. The 2nd longest is the Nissan Sylphy measuring 4,665mm
    2) The highest hp output at 163hp. VW Jetta is at a close 160PS (which translates to about 157.8hp)

In terms of warranty, both 408 and Jetta leads by offering 5 years unlimited mileage
    In terms of torque, both 408 and Jetta leads by generating 240Nm torque
    In terms of safety, the 408, Jetta and Forte 2.0 has ESP and 6 airbags

The question that begs to be answered is what’s the final selling price. Similar to VGM, Peugeot/Nasim keeps their price cards close to themselves and we won’t know until the actual launch date next week. Everything else is just speculation at this point.

• matlimmutu on May 16, 2012 at 5:31 pm

nothing special abt this car n if they r selling it rm130k, ayoyooo sorry la.

• Unforgiven on May 16, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Heard the 308 Turbo FL is coming soon too…

• poor 408 on May 16, 2012 at 11:30 pm

If they price it around 108,888 with 5 warranty also people might not consider lah. Look at the rear portion look. Bit Tak kena leh. That’s my opinion.

• The design of this 408 is nothing spectacular but decent enough. I always admired the design of the 308 which is sporty and elegant. In fact, tested the facelifted 308THP a few times before deciding not to commit.

And again, whether this ‘improved’ engine can eliminate problems faced by earlier Prince engines remains to be seen. I know Peugeot is a driver’s car, ‘value’ for money (serves well for people to start ‘conti’ ownership), but if the past problems continue to exist, good luck to prospective owners.

• Unforgiven on May 17, 2012 at 7:52 am

How’s the Naza service centre now? Improved?
      How’s the THP engine? Improved? No CEL problem anymore?
      How’s the 2nd value? Improved or worst?
      Peugeot is in M’sia for so many years, how far have we improve the services?

• NASIM Peugeot should have use the new facelift design and logo on the front like the 508.

Personally I like 308 more than the 408.

• laluan sehala on May 18, 2012 at 1:26 pm

I think they have used it on the South American version.

• Finally the 408 makes it here. Have not been a hatch fan so I do welcome this. Hope the technical upgrades are real and that this engine is really the way forward for Peugeot over the older engine in the 308 turbo.

• this crap will not cost more than 70k. if it cost more, sure will not sell well

• what you’re talking about is nothing but baseless crap. put some brainwork into it before commenting!

• CarFan on May 20, 2012 at 7:48 pm

The Preve also more than 70k already la kawan. U r talking abt Peugeot here.

• i never comment on PT but i just did it to tell you how much of an idiot you are, 70k is too much?? (You dont even need to be in the car) just look at online photos and compare, honda civic, toyota corolla and ill even the golf and focus, compare those cars interior to this, you have aluminium on the center console, door handles, meter cluster, air vents, steering wheel and even the gear cover, and im assuming the dash is padded, and like most pugs even the most basic ones are packed with gadgets
      people are willing to pay 70k for the interior alone…

• kfmah on May 20, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Guys, i have seen the Peugeot 408 Turbo today in Naza World. No official words about the pricing, but the SA says it’s around Rm138K.

IMHO, the rear seat leg room is not so big. overall, interior look just like the hatchback 308.

• ahmadfaris93 on May 21, 2012 at 5:20 am

Not sure if the rear looks like Nissan Sylphy or it is just not a looker

• kenny on May 21, 2012 at 3:22 pm

look at it live. it is in showrooms already. it is different from pictures.