Toyota Estima MPV gets a new facelift for 2012

2012-toyota-estima-fl-005

The Toyota Estima has been given a facelift for 2012, about three years after the last update which saw Toyota giving it a minor revision to the shape of the headlamps.

For the 2012 facelift, the Estima’s front end has been given a new aggressive look, with a lot of angular detailing on the front bumper, and a front grille design that now follows the bottom edge of the headlamp.

2012-toyota-estima-fl-004

There are not many changes at the rear of the car – the Estima continues to have a sleek silhouette, giving it a sportier look as opposed to the huge boxy “VIP style” look that its bigger brother the Alphard carries. There are new alloy wheel designs, a revised set of exterior colours (total of 6), and Toyota also says they’ve improved the interior tirm and textures.

Engine options also continue to be the same – either a 2.4 litre four cylinder 2AZ-FE making 170 PS and 224Nm mated to a CVT gearbox, or a top of the line 280 PS 344Nm 3.5 litre V6 engine mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission.

2012-toyota-estima-fl-007

Various gadgets that were already on the pre-facelift Estima continue with the new model, such as the Lane-Keep Assist (LKA) system which detects the lane markers on the road and takes control of the electric power steering to keep the car on course, and the Adaptive Front-Lighting System low beam headlamps wihichswivels according to steering position to help light up the upcoming road around a bend.

The Estima is also equipped with a S-VSC system, an enhancement from the regular VSC system, which can use the electric power steering to apply appropriate steering torque to help stabilize the car.

Look after the jump or click any of the images above for a small gallery.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kadajawi on May 15, 2012 at 1:53 am

Still a good looking car, which is surprising since it’s a Toyota. But the interior, especially the dashboard… not nice. Toyota should have a look at Ford to see how it is done in the Galaxy (the exterior is also quite nice). Or if you are going for sporty the S-Max.

• Alpha on May 15, 2012 at 2:01 am

Nice rims,but I have to say,the front end looks messy and cluttered now.Or in a word,very ah beng.I’d prefer the previous facelift’s front end.

• I think the new front is a bit overdone and boy-racer wannabe. On a side note, the thirsty 3.5 liter V6 only produces 280ps when the cheaper and much better Ford S-MAX new turbo 2.0 liter already produces 240ps.

And since we cannot buy these Japanese MPVs brand new from showrooms just like Alphard & Vellfire, we are better off in a brand new S-MAX if you want a premium MPV, offerings from VW is not bad either.

• kadajawi on May 15, 2012 at 2:23 am

The S-Max 3rd row seats are more like emergency seats IIRC. A bit like the Wish perhaps. It is also not meant to be very comfortable in terms of the ride. If you want that and space, then the Galaxy or Sharan (not sure about the ride in the Sharan) are the better options.

Admittedly it’s a bit ah beng… hm.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 7:48 am

But apart from Avanza, Innova, Estima and Alphard, the rest of the MPV’s are all cold door

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • silwen on May 15, 2012 at 5:57 am

The larger displacement and lower output won’t stress the engine as much as the 2.0litre turbo. It would likely last longer with less problems/maintenance issues in the long run (say 10 years or so). This is why toyota has its reputation. The cars aren’t very powerful nor exciting but they are adequate for family cars. At the end of the day, that counts for a lot.

• Kiddo on May 15, 2012 at 7:08 am

that’s because the 3.5L in the Estima is the non-direct-injection one (2GR-FE), and also because it’s a naturally aspirated engine while the 2.0L on the S-Max is a turbocharged engine. They’re of the same type of engine, so what’s the purpose of comparing? The direct-injected 2GR-FSE produces 313hp on the Lexus.

If you insist, fine. Subaru has just introduced a new 2.0L, one which produces 300hp, and it’s gonna be installed on its future line-up.

• kjryth on May 15, 2012 at 2:26 am

exora better. ford s-max, vw sharan dan estima boleh pergi mati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • Vader on May 15, 2012 at 7:34 am

thanks to you, more and more ppl having antipathy on potong..

• Better in terms of what? ride and handling? spacious? economical? interior / exterior design? ergonomic? value for money?

• hahaha hardcore moron protong worshiper..hahahhaa very2 kesian with this person..so noob in his real life

• highschooler on May 15, 2012 at 9:48 am

Do us a favor. Stop kissing Proton’s “S” too much & go die as well. You are not helping with Proton’s image whatsoever.

• Johann on May 17, 2012 at 8:57 pm

kjryth,

U shld go to hell wif your exora,……at least others go to hell wif estima, alphard, wish, 5008 and other better built up MPV. Pity of U so jealous with others but yet so stupid! Biar kita hodoh tapi jangan BODOH!!!

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 7:53 am

Exora IS NOT and nowhere near the same class as Estima. Its derived from the Persona platform

• Isn’t Estima facelifted long ago???
    2008 if not mistaken???

• alldisc on May 15, 2012 at 8:14 am

the current one is ACR50 (or GSR55 for 3.5), which is ‘like’ a totally different model to ACR30. it wasnt a facelift.

this is the first facelift for ACR50.

anyway, i believe this would be one of the last reconditioned car to arrive here in malaysia before 2015. less than 3 years left and companies like Naza or SRS in Glenmarie have hundreds of unsold Estimas/Alphards/Vellfire

• Leonon on May 15, 2012 at 10:46 am

Paul Tan mentioned in the first line “The Toyota Estima has been given a facelift for 2012, about three years after the last update which saw Toyota giving it a MINOR REVISION to the shape of the headlamps.”
        The ACR50 or XR50 or whatever it is called was introduced in 2006 and in 2008 there was this ‘minor revision’
        I believe ggh was referring to this minor revision and not ACR30 as ACR30 was made from year 2000-2006 only.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 7:50 am

The 2008 ACV 50 has a wheelbase of 2900mm, which is 200mm longer than the outgoing ACV30

• Because the car is too good, we need another 10 facelifts.

*sarcasm*

• Kiddo on May 15, 2012 at 1:50 pm

since you brought this up, i wonder what’s a better alternative to the Estima if I need one that lasts long without problems, has a decent fuel comsumption, low maintenance fee and 2 Ottoman chairs in the middle besides being comfortable and able to fit in 7.

And I’m asking sincerely, no sarcasm here.

*I always believe there has to be a reason of why is this car selling much better than the rest.

• haha, one funny thing, you do realize everyone is buying the used car from japan? not a new model, you need to know that, and the price is so sky high and it’s stupid.

Yes, it’s a good car if it’s sold here in a brand new form rather than a used car.

• kadajawi on May 15, 2012 at 3:16 pm

VW Sharan. No Ottoman chairs (you’d need the T5 Multivan in the luxury version for that), but other than that it should tick all the boxes. Plus it is more modern and you can get a new one for the price of a second hand Toyota. For a German car!

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 5:53 am

Another sour grape fella

• Nasser on May 15, 2012 at 8:04 am

When are they going to launch a ‘proper’ NEW Estima? This is still basically the same model as the one launched back in 2006. I wonder what’s taking so long?

• kadajawi on May 15, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Hm. 6 years isn’t that long. Many models last that long without a full update, although usually some components like the engines should be updated in between.

• haliaguy on May 15, 2012 at 8:06 am

I sense Estima alsong with Harrier JDM are those with long model cycle of > 5 yrs

• Whynot on May 15, 2012 at 9:06 am

Its aerodynamics design had lasted but not really much curvature design is done on the headlamp and bumper – still having retro styling. But anywhere, this is the MPV that all auto maker should emulate. Yes! It is still good looking, I must say, even in the future to come. Let us see how close can others automaker take this on right now!

• I like estima. driven an estima during family trip and like it very much. very comfortable for the whole family. a definite choice if i’m considering a MPV in the future.
    but cant help to notice front bumper on the side similar to exora. lol

• btw, go test drive the vw sharan first be4 u decide…

• jolly_idiot on May 16, 2012 at 12:51 am

Sharan don’t have such size. It’s cramp like hell for rear passenger.

• Running out of ideas, facelift again.

Malaysians forced to buy other peoples used cars at inflated price, great auto policy.

• kadajawi on May 15, 2012 at 3:20 pm

You can always buy the VW Sharan instead. In Germany it was so successful (together with the Ford Galaxy) that Toyota decided to stop importing the Estima. No point, really, they wouldn’t sell them anyway.

• So boring…..give a new model please…. like vios here….please update it…

• kadajawi on May 21, 2012 at 10:45 pm

A proper Vios update should come soon’ish. The Vitz/Yaris received a bigger update in 2010/2011, so maybe the next Vios update is based on that one. Of course knowing UMW it will be stripped down so much that it will be hard to recognize it.

• stimaaa on May 15, 2012 at 10:50 am

front bumper remind me to MYVI SE and later Exora Bolt…….why like that..???

• because EXORA RULES!!!

• noname on May 15, 2012 at 11:28 am

ACR50 should get replacement already laa, not this kind of facelift…. boring

• Unless UMW T bring the estima as an official car, might as well get the the VW Sharan at around rm240K ++…..

full 5 years warranty & mobility guarantees given by VW, not to mentioned cheaper road tax and more frugal/powerful 2.0 TSI engine compared to the NA Estima…

• kadajawi on May 15, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Yeah. The Sharan made Toyota decide to pull out of the German market… no chance competing with it. And come on, who wants a Japanese car when they can have a German one?

• Black Dog on May 15, 2012 at 1:16 pm

I always love the Estima’s futuristic designs which is light years ahead of it’s competitors. If it’s good and saleable, it’s alright to stretch it to 7 years for a major facelift. It’s not easy to improve further the already good looking current design (eg the new Honda Civic is a failure compared to it’s predecessors. They also feel the rear lights looks good as in the previous Harrier models.

Just wondering is there a rear auto sliding door which is very useful for MPVs?

• kadajawi on May 21, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Hm. But what about the Ford S-Max? Isn’t that futuristic too? Or, to a certain degree, the Galaxy. And just look at the upcoming B-Max!

The Estima is sleek, but it does look a bit dated to me, it doesn’t follow modern design trends. The Renault Vel Satis and Avantime were futuristic to me.

• bx19gt on May 15, 2012 at 2:03 pm

One of the better looking car by T.

• Julian Lee on May 15, 2012 at 3:20 pm

I prefer BMW brand

• mizan on May 15, 2012 at 5:02 pm

nice interior..i like

• Anand on May 16, 2012 at 12:57 am

overall…latest nissan elegrand more better in design…

• izack04 on May 16, 2012 at 11:14 am

Front bumper like exora…..

• dreaming of maserati on May 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

another KERETA MAYAT!

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 10:07 pm

So is an E Class Estate or an R Class

• kadajawi on May 21, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Funny how 80% of all Passat sold in Germany are estates then. The same applies for pretty much any D segment car there, as well as the BMW 3 series and 5 series, Audi A4 and A6 and Merc C and E class. Even Jaguars are commonly ordered as an estate nowadays over there.

Get over it, these cars are very practical and better looking than their sedan counterpart. It’s a shame that we don’t get them in Malaysia.

• 2006=ACR50 was introduced.
    2009=new facelift for ACR50
    2012=ANOTHER new facelift for ACR50. Why NOT totally new model?

• vitalis on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm

The Estima is a good machine.My only bitter complaint is that Toyota must improve on the Front suspention of this car.It was a poor job done.

• If you read wikipedia, 1st generation estima was from 1990 to 2000 (10 years). So, no wonder ACR50 will last for 10 years also (2006 to 2016). That’s why we have new facelifts for 2009 and 2012.

• Nice interior…

• Jason Chua on Feb 15, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Mr Paul Tan,
    do you have any news that the total new EStima is coming ?
    thanks.

regards,
    Jason

• Estima Lover on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Hi,
    I’m plan to buy estima..anyone knows what’s the lack of this car?
    How about maintenance? FYI I’m buying a second hand Estima. THANKS in advance