Mazda CX-5 launched – 2.0 SkyActiv-G, RM155k to RM165k

The covers have just been officially drawn away from the Mazda CX-5 here in Penang. Now, we’ve already seen the brochure, as well as the price that Bermaz Motor is asking for one.

As a recap, you need RM155,219 for the 2WD and RM165,219 for the AWD (both OTR, without insurance). The CX-5 comes only in one standard spec, so both variants are equipped with the same features, which means the differences between them are not immediately noticeable, apart from the number of wheels driven.

The SUV -which made its Japanese market debut in February – comes bearing SkyActiv technology. In a nutshell, SkyActiv is a holistic approach by Mazda to give better engine performance, handling, environmental friendliness and increased safety in a shell that is quite dashing.

Power comes from the SkyActiv-G 2.0 litre direct injection petrol engine. It has a 13:1 compression ratio, the highest in any production engine, the closest being the Ferrari 458, with a 12.5:1 compression ratio. The knocking that usually comes with a high compression engine is tamed by a 4-2-1 exhaust system with long pipes in the exhaust manifold.

Yes, we have a lower compression ratio compared to the original 14:1, but Mazda has said that the compression ratio is dependent on the quality of fuel for each region, and the ratio of 13:1 is still high.

The engine’s piston has a cavity on the piston crown that gives better air-fuel mixture around the spark plug. The SkyActiv-G is also 10% lighter and has 30% less mechanical resistance compared to Mazda’s current engines. This results in 15% better fuel economy, 15% greater torque output and 15% lower carbon emissions. Oh, and it runs on RON 95 fuel.

Although both variants share the same engine, the output figures are slightly different. The AWD produces 152 hp at 6,000 rpm and 198 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. In contrast, the 2WD generates 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Supposedly, there’s a reason for the slight difference in numbers; Mazda claims it measures the horsepower on the wheels and not on the engine, as other car manufacturers usually do. Can’t say it’s all that convincing, but there you are.

As for fuel economy, the AWD sips 7.3 Ll/100km (combined) while the 2WD needs only 6.9 L/100km (combined). Another thing, the AWD gets a 58 litre fuel tank and the 2WD drinks from a 56 litre tank. The SkyActiv-D, which is the diesel engine, will not be arriving here, due to the quality of the fuel available here.

SkyActiv-Drive partners SkyActiv-G in sending power to the wheels. It is a six-speed automatic transmission that works with a small torque converter unit used only when the vehicle moves from stationary. The power is transferred through a direct mechanical connection, which increases the lock-up range from 40%-60% to 80%-90% at high speeds when compared to Mazda’s current five-speed slushbox.

Mazda also said that the new gearbox shifts smoother and quicker. Mazda’s Mechatronic module, which was previously mounted outside, is now integrated into the hydraulic control mechanism inside the transmission case. Communication with the engine’s CPU is increased and a direct linear solenoid makes the shifting silky throughout the range.

The CX-5 rides on the SkyActiv-Chassis, with a new suspension system that is lighter, yet stiffer. It also features a new geometry with the front MacPherson strut suspension and rear multi-link layout. Standard grip duties are performed by 255/55 R19 rubbers wrapped around 19×7-1/2J aluminium wheels.

Mazda’s compact SUV also features the SkyActiv-Body. High-tensile steel and a new production process make this one eight percent lighter yet 30% more rigid. The metal is formed into a multi-load structure that is said to effectively disperse impact energy throughout the body structure; done mainly for crash safety. So, the SUV in its 2WD guise tips the scales at 1,522 kg, and the AWD is slightly heavier with 1,589 kg.

Wearing its ‘KODO – Soul of Motion’ suit of armour, the vehicle measures 4,555 mm long overall, 1,840 mm wide overall and 1,670 mm tall, with a 2,700 mm wheelbase. The SUV has an unladen ground clearance of 215 mm for the 2WD and 210 mm for the AWD.

The five-seater features leather seats; the driver seat gets electric-powered seat adjustment (none for the front passenger), although both seats come with warmers. The rear seats have the ability to fold in 40:20:40-split. Dual-zone air-conditioning rounds up the creature comforts.

Entertainment comes from a nine-speaker Bose Centerpoint Surround Sound System, hooked up to a 5.8-inch touchscreen monitor that controls the multimedia. The system can be connected via AUX, USB and Bluetooth. The colour monitor also displays images from the rear camera.

As for safety, the CX-5 comes with DCS, TCS, four-wheel ABS, EBD with Brake Assist and Tyre Pressure Monitor. There are six airbags in here – two in front, side and curtain. Notably, this is the first vehicle that uses a 1,800MPa ultra-high tensile steel for bumpers.

In addition to, Bermaz Motor is offering an ultimate in-total vehicle protection to keep the CX-5 in pristine showroom condition. It is called TRIBOS and it employs an active polymer shield to protect the paintwork. The treatment is also used on the glass, alloys and seats.

The CX-5 comes in five colours – Sky Blue, Zeal Red, Crystal White Pearl, Aluminium Metallic and Metropolitan Grey. Like all Mazda vehicles, this SUV is sold with a three-year warranty plus a three-year maintenance that covers the cost of parts and labour.

As you have guessed, I’ve already taken both CX-5 variants for a short spin. Look out for the initial drive impressions soon.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• theanswer on May 16, 2012 at 12:05 pm

nice price considering xtrail & crv only gives u fabric seat ;)

• Kopitiam on May 16, 2012 at 12:58 pm

How much for the set of replacement tyres for this size 255/55 R19?

Looks set to cost a bomb.

• drool on May 16, 2012 at 2:34 pm

If you can’t afford to change the tires then you can’t afford to buy this car, its not for you. You better buy a Myvi or Viva if you want cheap tires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • Kopitiam on May 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Please use a bit of your brain. I travelled more than 30,000km per due to my job. That means I need to change my tyres almost on a yearly basis.

An extra RM5,000-RM6,000 per year increase in expenses just for tyres makes no sense to me. Getting a car also means getting a car which provides a reliable and minimal expenses maintenance.

I can buy this car in cash but spending that much amount just on tyres is another matter. Who are you to tell me I can’t afford this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • drool on May 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Then don’t buy this car la…as I said you complaint so much about tires then better get a car with cheap tires. If you know how to use ur brain then you shouldn’t just look at the tires only when buying a car. Cheapskate people like you who think he can buy a car with cash and yet complaint about tires cost usually will end up buying a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 62
          • Kopitiam on May 16, 2012 at 7:25 pm

My main point was asking about the price for replacement tyres. Not only are you stupid, blind too. Obviously I would be comparing with other makes as well.

If the cost of tyres is too high, I might as well use the same amount to pay for the interest of another property.

Since we all like to make comments based on presumption. I assumed you’re riding 19″ tyres on your Perodua Viva. Must make you feel really BIG huh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
          • tokmoh on May 16, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Just change rims n tyre size lor. theanswer said Aussie gets 17″, can use their size as a guide.

Glad to see someone talks sense like you. Too many times when new car launch, Malaysians responds car manufacturers kedekut give small tyres. Stupid noobs never know tyre costs these days.

• good reason! you should buy Hybrid without a second thinking. You not only save your tire, you save alot of the fuel as well..that should be your consideration..

• Then change your tires to a 14″ on this CX5…

• donut & biskut manis taste a lot different…worth the penny to get donut

• theanswer on May 16, 2012 at 3:01 pm

aussie model get 17″ wheel. for less than 105k =)

• just dont buy this car la..aiseh…go and buy viva 660..its got 12″ steel wheel..and the tyre so cheap u can change it every month..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • I love this car ! saw this in the showroom and very nice looking !

• CRV No More on May 16, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Why want to buy tin-milo basic spec Honda CRV when you can pay RM10,000 more and buy this fully-loaded technologically advanced car?

Though I wish they would have price it at the same or even undercut Honda CRV pricing to give Honda a good wake-up call!

Malaysian has been taken a ride by the H & T brand for far too long with their expensive yet basic specs cars.

• Costwise on May 17, 2012 at 9:22 pm

To CRV No More…
        At this price, CX-5 is a rip off too…joining the T&H club.

It is a shame to rip off Malaysian…example: a Thai made Honda Accord 2.4 sold for USD50k in Thailand, USD58k in Malaysia, but only USD30k in Australia.

This is the result of protected market. Malaysian have a choice, exercise your right.

• shawal the airhead.. on May 16, 2012 at 12:08 pm

why’s the departure from typical Mazda smiling face design ? the front doesn’t look appealing and the interior look dull…looks like I have invest my 165k on other option…

• Gabla on May 16, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Sorry if I missed it but the 2WD is front wheel or rear wheel driven?

• drMpower on May 16, 2012 at 12:13 pm

this is the clearest statement of world automotive players towards the koreans – “go f with your cheap skate cars. and we dont care. the people also dont give two hoot about koreans”

while the cheapest such vehicle (regardless of the class/segment, IMHO people dont care about class/ vehicle segmentation. they just buy what they like) is the kia which not so weird i dont know the name of it – one because nobody cares about it, second because nobody buys it – mazda is selling its version of such vehicle at nearly 15k RM more.

they can do so because it offers so much more in value in terms of better technology and accessories, and while the looks are subjective the testament of mazda beauty lies in the eyes of great number of followers all around malaysia as well as the world

• not all correct. this is the clearest statement to the the other jap make like Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi, etc as well. You don’t give your best and you’ll get overtaken by koreans.

Mazda is the only jap car maker that i have faith in. H&T doesn’t make consumer cars that ppl desires anymore.

• drMpower on May 16, 2012 at 3:33 pm

it could be but i am stressing about the power of cheap sometimes doesnt do it. the only reason some cars are becoming popular these days because of they are cheap. yes beautiful but still, being cheap is THE factor.

look at mazda they are very brave to sell their car which function basically just like the cheap skate vehicle, looks like that as well, and seat as many. but even for 15k different in prices they will be selling well because in over all 155k is a justified price for such premium, branding accessories and quality. not to mention this is the first mazda SUV with the skyactiv technology a fantastic addition to the already impressive vehicle

there is one sedan vehicle from korea which starts the name with an S from the brand Hy. 2 years on, now the price dropped nearly 50k.

what is cheap, remains cheap.

• those ppl refuse to admit they are poor buying cheap cars…thus saying they know a lot about cars…LOL

• doctor on May 17, 2012 at 6:16 am

seriously, i don’t know understand why people has to call others poor and etc just because they are buying cheap cars. enough with your sentiments already.

i’m a doctor working in HKL and i drive a proton, does it means that i’m poor and don’t know nuts about cars?

its an automotive blog, you give comments bout cars, not degrading others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
          • well said doc

• dunletumnocroniesuntung on May 20, 2012 at 6:24 pm

yeah, i can afford a Civic with my current pay and i love cars so much but instead of Civic, i am driving a myvi…

• hahaha keep on saying, look at the sales of tucson, go cry baby, so much of bash for korean car, don’t like then stfu.

• hatebiascomments on May 16, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Sick of japanese wannabe, they are never non judgemental. Korean cars are not cheap skate. And the car that you dunno the name, OMGOSh. You must have been livin in THE jungle for quite some time. Because that CUV has won numerous awards for the eye-catching design and also for its value for money. U dont judge it by sales. Myvi also sell like hot cakes is it that super good? Anyway, CX5 and SPORTAGE are both cool CUV.

• skypirate on May 16, 2012 at 2:15 pm

The koreans got so many awards are mainly due to the GDI engines that they used. Now go find one Korean in Malaysia that is using the award winning GDI engine, the answer is NONE!

• goo goo dolls on May 16, 2012 at 5:35 pm

i think most awards won by koreans was for design,not so much on tech or reliability .correct me if i m wrong

• While the Malaysians here talk cock sing song about the launching of a car.
          Koreans are making progress to improve their products and are selling well globally.
          And, Malaysians’ car still stuck with power window issue.

• yup…value for it’s money means cheap lo…what so hard to understand?

• Lol.. this CX-5 also value for it’s money (compared to CRV and X-Trail), so does this mean CX-5 oso cheap!?

Value for money means that every cent paid is justified, pay less get less pay more get more. And not to forget that some stuff that are overpriced as well like most jap crap (except mazda).

• ismail saad on May 16, 2012 at 12:16 pm

mantap nie…

• HONDA CRV CRYING NON-STOP…

• “Although both variants share the same engine, the output figures are slightly different. The AWD produces 152 hp at 6,000 rpm and 198 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. In contrast, 2WD generates 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. There is a reason for the slight difference in numbers. Mazda measured the horsepower on the wheels and not on the engine, as other car manufacturers usually do.”

The above explanation makes absolutely no sense! They are quoting engine power and if the two cars have identical engines then they make identical power. 4wd transmissions have higher losses tahn 2wd so if they are quoting power at the wheels (stupid and illegal and illogical to do) then the 4wd will produce less power at the wheels, not more.

• K Tan on May 16, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Ya lah, the AWD generates less power at the wheels than the 2WD- can’t you read properly?

• AWD = 152 hp at 6,000 rpm and 198 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm
      2WD = 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm

AWD is 1hp less and 2Nm less than 2WD, which is exactly as what you stated, “4wd will produce less power at the wheels”. And why is it illegal to quote power at wheels?

But I am amazed at how little power is lost with AWD, good job Mazda.

• Riyadh95 on May 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm

I don’t want to live on this planet anymore.

• paparazi on May 17, 2012 at 4:51 pm

you won’t find cars in others planet…. it talk about spaceship hp bla bla…

• kendall on May 16, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Read properly.
      “The AWD produces 152 hp at 6,000 rpm and 198 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. In contrast, 2WD generates 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.”

AWD=4WD has lower power and torque than 2WD. Retard.

• PityYou on May 16, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Yelling the statement made is stupid, illogical etc yet you made a basic mistake that you can’t read properly shows that you are even worst than own comments you made! Period.

• Diam terus RB

• abe ja on May 17, 2012 at 1:48 pm

maybe he thought AWD = A Wheel Drive. Driven with only a wheel.

what a moron.

• funny on May 18, 2012 at 7:06 am

lol… a fool trying to act smart but failed miserably

• Gavin on May 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Mazda you’re the best for proving direct injection engines CAN WORK in malaysia, and the rest of car makers can stop playing us for fools dumping old unwanted engines on us because of FUEL QUALITY!

BS

• Skypirate on May 16, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Actually Mazda is also using our fuel quality is shit reasoning for not bringing in the skyactiv diesel engine. The skyactiv diesel is the truly revolutionary engine for Mazda.

• Gavin on May 17, 2012 at 7:24 am

Diesel i cannot argue with it because sulphur content in diesel is well known to destroy the extremely fine injection system. Plus i’m not convinced petrol stations don’y adulterate the diesel since it’s even harder to detect it.

THe Diesel CX5 made up like 75-80% of ALL CX5s sold in JAPAN!

Even japs know the beauty of diesel

• abe ja on May 17, 2012 at 1:51 pm

mazda will have headaches if they bring in the diesel because there will be too many warranty claims for clogged diesel injectors. not to mention having to replace diesel filters every service interval

• Yknow on May 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm

This car is really strange. I saw a few parked around and I must say, it looks MUCH better in person than in photos. Somehow the proportion in photos look wrong… but in person it looks so much better. Try take a look at one.

• droll on May 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm

is that a local headunit fitted in the cx-5??

• japan import .tom tom

• man101 on May 16, 2012 at 1:16 pm

No..its a tom tom unit. You can view the unit here http://www.tomtom.com/en_my/products/built-in-car-navigation/mazda-navigation-system-nb1/

• Leonon on May 16, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Everything on the CX5 is direct from Japan, including the front and rear sensors, headunit, rear camera, etc.

The only that I can think of that would have to be locally fitted is the tint.haha.

The other Mazda models made available here, like the Mazda 6 that comes with the touch screen headunit are of China makes, and the sensors are also locally fitted.

• ae101 on May 16, 2012 at 12:36 pm

the blue colour really looks tantalizing. 19″ rim. tyres price sure kaw kaw.

• ugly DASHBOARD

• MoFaz on May 16, 2012 at 12:45 pm

the high compression ratio.. 13:1.. does it need RON97 or RON95 is sufficient?
    and 19″ tyres will be headache to replace.. they’re not cheap and harder to find compared to 18″…
    now we can choose between Kia Sportage and Mazda CX-5.. but I’ll wait for more options like CRV and C4 Aircross.. perhaps DSZ can announce soon whether Proton will rebadge Youngman T5 or not.

• Sakar on May 16, 2012 at 12:51 pm

mazda is the best jap brand for driving pleasure \buy mazda.exe

• Getty on May 16, 2012 at 9:54 pm

mazda is the best jap brand for driving pleasure \deleteallothers.bat

• hway de Cruz on May 16, 2012 at 12:59 pm

think this will be selling by the truck loads… wish they out chrome on door handles too, everything else is great. interior from pics is looks normal from japanese grade. i still find the front abit out of porportion… not to say it is ugly, but the design flows abit loud for me to comprehend… think to see the car in metal will diffuse any funny/negative sentiments

• The SUV has an unladen ground clearance of 215 mm for the 2WD and 210 mm for the AWD. I supposed AWD should have higher ground clearance.

At 1st glance the price seems high, but with all its technology and new innovation to the car, plus all the full equipped gadgets. In addition to its attractive CBU, fully imported ,this SUV should be in the list of buying

• Are you sure the power is quoted on wheel instead of engine???

• theanswer on May 16, 2012 at 2:54 pm

hurmm..but if u check mazda aussie website..its true that there’s a power diff between awd & 2wd.

• ae101 on May 16, 2012 at 3:26 pm

hmmm not surprise by looking at the compression figure. if on wheel meaning the engine itself produced about 170-180hp which is very good indeed.

• kelvin on May 16, 2012 at 1:42 pm

How I hope that I have money to buy this car. Nice car.

• hway de Cruz on May 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm

bro, dun worry… make this ur wish list… wish hard enuf, ur mind will start to find ways for u to earn enuf for this car

• JeremyNg on May 16, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Last few day I saw this car at Mazda show room …….. it look brilliant especially in blue colour

• Honda CRV 150hp and 190 NM TQ VS CX5 152 hp and 198………

Weight CRV 1,540kg CX5 1589

Not much different in power to weight ratio………….

Its interesting to see the sprint of the century between this 2 vehicle but CX5 has the edge of having 6 speed auto trans. vs CRV 5 speed.

Anthony & Paul when can we have the shoot out… between Honda CRV, KIA Sportage, Nissan X trail, Hyundai & Toyoya RAV 4 ??

• They’ve done that already..try look harder in this website

• theanswer on May 16, 2012 at 2:57 pm

they already did that without cx5..no reason to do comparo again n again if evrytime got a new model in the market. btw, unless rav4 sold by umw toyota, u wont get the change the read the test drive review. its rare for local mag or auto blog to review recon or unofficial import cars.

• bawang on May 16, 2012 at 5:59 pm

cx5 is better..with 3 years or 60k maintenance free,with triboss coating coast 3k,new skyactive engine.fuel saving engine

• Loosk nice =)

• Althalus on May 16, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Is there a rear air-cond vent?

• No rear aircond vent bro. Dual zone air cond ada. They threw in everything but this and paddle shift.

• Althalus on May 16, 2012 at 6:18 pm

they should have thrown in rear air-cond at least. i dont mind the absence of paddle shift, but rear air-conds are supposed to be standard in modern cars, more so in a tropical country like Malaysia.

• truth on May 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Boring design compared to Peter Schreyer designed Sportage, however CX5 will win in terms of performance and brand value.

If you don’t like close fights, pick the CX7, haha.

• When is Mazda 3 skyactiv FACELIFT coming?
    Any news on that ChrisNg?

• deftones on May 16, 2012 at 5:06 pm

wth???
      why dont u ask when flying cars coming??

• Chris Ng (Member) on May 17, 2012 at 12:34 pm

No official news as yet.

I don’t think there will be anymore facelift for the current generation. I expect a whole new Mazda3 based on the KODO design language and have full Skyactiv technology in it – body, chassis, engine and transmission.

Also, based Mazda’s car launch schedule history, the Mazda6 will be out first then the Mazda3.

• aiyak.. i thought they might mention on it..

yes new generation mazdas will be mazda 6 then follow by mazda 3
        but mazda 3 is already 2-3 years old. facelift is already out elsewhere
        just hope they put in skyactiv in the facelift, it it is coming here..

• don’t worry… it will be skyactiv in new mazda3 facelift…. And for Mazda cx5 its will be brought to CKD and will be assemble at the INOKOM Plant facilities… And than price will be reduce…

• No test unit yet at Bermaz. But show unit was pretty nice. No Q5 or X3 interior but feels expensive for Jap car. Don’t know much about Mazdas but how is the reliability? As good as Toyota? What about after sales service?

• If you think europe car is best. The Western like Japan cars alot. In fact, it’s the top rated. It suit them good for technology reliability.

• buduk on May 16, 2012 at 3:40 pm

still, Mazda & Nissan is the only Japanese car i trust. :)

• Merc=Real Euro on May 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm

I wonder why jap are avoiding small engine with turbo concept??? and choosing to take the hard way….

• arvind on May 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

mazda is one company that does not like to follow other car makers.
      when the world was using inline engines,they stuck with rotary.
      when other japs are making hybrids and EVs,they choose to improve current internal combustion engines.

Thats mazda,and i am a proud owner of one their cars

zoom zoom and long live the rotary

• Different people different strategy.
      Time will tell which works better for the market.

• good run for my $$ for SUV for sure…

sure it takes lots out from CRV..

• the fuel consumption and torque quoted is based on which grade of fuel? frequently manufacturers state figures based on optimum fuel quality and if using RON95 there will be slight loss of power but without knocking.

• Mazda got loads of problem with their CX7 with 2.3 turbo…….engine reliability so I have heard. japs Turbo engine not as reliable as Germans………………I guess

• MoFaz on May 16, 2012 at 5:24 pm

this is the real problem.. lots of people talk about what they’ve heard… didn’t even realise whether those are real or false stories…

• u heard and u guess,but u dunno for a fact.yet u can say got load of problem.funny.and i tot japs were more reliable than germans

• ha ah.. betul. sepupu jiran belakang rumah aku ni pun dengar pakcik sebelah bini no 2 cakap memang byk problem. engine problem, seat problem, roof problem, hearing problem.. byk lah problem. baik tak yah beli nokk.

• Mazda For Life on May 16, 2012 at 6:03 pm

I bought my first Mazda, a Mazda 8 MPV back in 2010 (it’s now 2 years old), and I also own the Hyundai Tucson 2.0 High Spec (2WD), although both are different category vehicles, I I dare say the build quality & ride quality of the Mazda is way superior. The 8 may not be the most frugal MPV, but it does the job well.
    I’m not saying the Tucson isn’t a good SUV; it’s marvelous, no major issues with the Tucson since I got it 2 years ago, and HSDM does a decent job with service & after sales (not outstanding, but adequate).
    When the CX-5 was announced end of last year, I didn’t even glanced at it. The KODO Soul Of Motion didn’t appear as striking to me initially.
    Over time, the beauty of the CX-5 grew on me & there is this appealing factor which I cannot describe. Couple with the ONE specification CX-5 that Bermaz is bringing in, I found the technological advances on the CX-5 too hard to resist.
    This weekend, I will be the proud owner of a new Aluminium Metallic (essentially a darker tone silver; like Titanium, not as dark as Metropolitan Grey Mica) CX-5 AWD.
    I’ve never owned a Mazda before my 8, and I’m just happy to own another Mazda.
    Kudos Mazda, and we will see more exciting news with the announcement of the new SkyActiv Mazda 6 soon.
    As for the SkyActiv-D, it is unfortunate that our Euro 2M diesel fuel does not meet the SkyActiv’s requirements, which I have to laud Bermaz for their decision NOT to bring in the SkyActiv-D CX-5. Yes, the 420Nm torque from the 2.2L oil burner will be missed, but having damaged injectors and a whole lot of other issues when our diesel standards cannot be met will result in a lot less complaints & headaches for Bermaz.

• how come u got first? u book early?

• Josh Ling on May 17, 2012 at 6:25 am

i think the dealers have started to take in orders months ahead of the official launch already. i have been seeing the “open for booking” banner in a dealer near my house probably right after cny this year.

• Glanzo on May 16, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Great to hear about Mazda in whole. As long as there are “drivers” in the world, Mazda will innovate and build quality cars in totality. The all new Mazda CX-5 is a flagship model for new generation Mazda vehicles under the blanket of SKYACTIV technology. But it doesn’t mean the current models are far from the spirit of the new technology. Today I drove a Mazda3, which is really awesome with it’s wild engine rev. The car responded brilliantly at cornering even at 160kph. Mazda is not competing for mass volume on the road, but for those love driving.

• Mazda For Life on May 16, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Well said, Glanzo.
        It is indeed true, Mazda’s philosophy is to make driving enjoyable and fun, yet no compromises on safety.
        They may have a much smaller customer base compared to the two largest competitors in their own homeland, but the spirit of owning and driving one certainly puts Mazda ahead of the pack.

• Glanzo on May 16, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Great to hear about Mazda. CX-5 is the flagship model for Mazda’s next generation of vehicles under the blanket called SKYACTIV technology. It doesn’t mean the current models are far from the technological advancement. I drove a Mazda3 today, the car responded brilliantly at cornering even at 160kph and it can go beyond 200kph. As long as there are “drivers”, Mazda will continue innovating and building cars with exceptional quality.

• Mazda For Life on May 17, 2012 at 11:18 am

Again, well put, Glanzo.
        The crown that the CX-5 wears will soon be shadowed by the SKYACTIV Mazda 6 when it launches. And that one will certainly throw Mazda in the limelight once again, with aplomb.

• i spoke to Mazda Sales advisor they all say the same thing….They have numerous complain on the 2.3 force induction engine on the CX7 that is why Mazda is replacing CX7 with the CX5 natural aspirated engine. This Skyactive engine is revolutionary in terms of fuel efficient and emission is as green as hybrid vehicle. Thats what Boys at Mazda claim. Please view Sky active video………

• Wisdom on May 16, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Thats a load of bullshit. Mazda 2.3 turbo engine also in their MPS and that engine voted as top 10 engine in the world for 3 consecutive years. It’s been in the first gen Mazda MPS and if its problematic why do they continue to use it on the 2nd gen MPS? Yes Skyactiv is a revolution technologically advanced engine but you are comparing a 155 hp NA engine with a 2.3 Turbo engine. Until Mazda came out with at least a 2.0 Skyactiv turbo, how can that be a replacement of CX7?

• Mazda For Life on May 16, 2012 at 11:47 pm

There are many reasons to which some will remain unknown to the majority of us, whether or not there is any truth in what some say about Mazda’s force induction engines & their long term viability. Unless these words are uttered by Mazda themselves, we must often not jump to any conclusion and/or negativity.
      The primary reason why the CX-7 is “replaced” by the CX-5, namely in Australia, I believe IMHO, is because of cost.
      The main focus of companies worldwide is always cost, besides ensuring a healthy and reasonable growth in both customer satisfaction and sales. The CX-5 almost certainly makes the CX-7 redundant in every other area. Exterior wise, one cannot deny the fact the CX-7 is a larger vehicle but Interior space wise, it is almost on par. That naturally boils down to the cost of production. Mazda realized the CX-5 would appeal to a larger group, as Mazda was “missing” a compact category SUV (as categorized by the US of A) whereas the CX-7 has always been classified as a luxury medium-large size SUV with a actual sales target far lower than expected. Being in that category, the CX-7 (and/or CX-9) is naturally heavier & a higher output is required to haul that mass, resulting in higher consumption figures.
      Mazda addressed the main issues with their SkyActiv Technologies; namely reducing consumption by reducing the weight of the vehicle and in doing so, further strengthening it, introducing a new chassis and suspension, coupling it with an advanced automatic transmission with a completely new mechatronic module to address the long term inefficiency of the automatic gearbox.
      These all these technologies are then incorporated to work collectively and cohesively. It isn’t just one enhancement, but a combination of ALL the above.
      That is why the CX-5 has garnered such attention from the automotive world.
      It may be groundbreaking, and yet some may disagree. Mazda didn’t say it would be a 100% improvement.
      They just said it was something new.

• Thinkfirst on May 16, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Yes, CX-5 will replace CX-7 but the reason is not because of the 2.3 Turbo engine. this engine is the most stable turbo and it has been used on MPS across 2 Generations of Mazdaspeed 3. Here’s the write up on the story and reason.

http://content.usatoday.com/communities/driveon/post/2012/03/mazda-cx-7-cx-5-smaller/1#.T7PJLlJWKRM

• skypirate on May 17, 2012 at 12:59 am

the cx-7 is discontinued because mazda now sees the cx-7 as a redundant product. the 2.3L turbo mzr does have its share of complaints, but it’s not on its reliability, but more towards its fuel consumption issue. plus mazda claims that the cx-5 is roomier than the cx-7. so why sell the cx-7 when it only looks bigger than the cx-5 but offered less interior space.

• arvind on May 17, 2012 at 7:38 am

why is it that i worked for mazda and sold the cars for a living but never came across a customer who said “got a lot of problems with CX-7’S 2.3 DISI engine’?the reason mazda is replacing the CX-7 with CX-5 is
      1.Fuel Efficiency and emission level for CX-7 is high
      2.Pricing wise cx-7 is expensive,they wanna have a CUV that is affordable to achieve volume
      3.CX-7 is not getting lots of sale these days,cuz its been quite some time in the market,time for a change

Thats the reason.
      Every car got some problem at one point of time.No car is problem free

• Mazda For Life on May 17, 2012 at 11:15 am

Emission standards & regulations have affected a lot of manufacturers as of late, more so in Europe. That is the primary reason why Mazda has stopped production of their renowned RX8.

• _xXx_ on May 17, 2012 at 9:18 am

I think many of us here know car way better then crowns in some showroom….you listen to them? But pls do not believe.

• good jobs mazda,i’m proud of ur recent car outlook n engine.

• Mazda For Life on May 16, 2012 at 11:29 pm

I had booked the CX-5 early in the year, when Bermaz started taking in orders, after having made up my mind to replace my other SUV. Somehow, the CX-5’s appeal (to me) wasn’t immediate, I later realized Mazda put in a LOT for their first ever SkyActiv vehicle.
    While other manufacturers went the easier route implementing forced induction i.e. turbocharging (do not get me wrong; it’s not “easier” per se, but certainly more cost effective than spending millions more on research on how to further improve the internal combustion engine etc), Mazda engineers certainly are to be commended for their brilliance in improving what we had used regularly all these years and made it better. While actual long term viability is left to be seen, as this is Mazda’s first ever complete SkyActiv vehicle, I am certain most of us have no doubt confidence in Mazda’s new direction.
    I am writing this to share my own opinions and NOT to condemn other manufacturers. While we are certainly creatures that are easily biased or have a certain “preference” or liking to a certain brand/make, manufacturers have to move ahead with the times and continually enhance their products to meet today’s more discerning customers.
    I once owned one of the more popular Japanese brands, to which I am certain we all know which brand(s) I am referring to, needless to say, in this modern & fast moving “digital” age, continued improvisation & and a revolution in terms of a new model (or an existing model) carries far greater acceptance today than a mere evolution.

• TopGear on May 16, 2012 at 11:34 pm

good choice compared to crv… very high specs.. and now free tribos coatings !!

• Mazda For Life on May 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm

I intend to send in my CX-5 AWD to my tuner’s place next week if possible.
    I suppose I am just too eager to find out how the CX-5 would fare under the immense “torture” of a state-of-the fully digital Dyno Dynamics Dynamometer Quad Retarder DD-450.
    I will report further here when that is done, time & slot from my tuner permitting.

• Bro. When did u book and what color r u getting? I booked 2 months ago for a dark grey, I was told I can only get early next month. I’m looking forward to it. Do update yr dyno report. Cheers.

• Mazda For Life on May 20, 2012 at 11:55 pm

I booked mine earlier & bcs of that I got my wheels last week. Yours would be Metropolitan Grey Mica, mine is Aluminium Metallic (or silver, in short), though the Aluminium Metallic is somewhat darker than the usual silver shade we are so accustomed to.

• Jimmy on May 17, 2012 at 12:10 am

How to detect radioactive dust in those goods imported from Japan?

• A Geiger counter would help. If unavailable, perhaps seek the assistance of someone handling such goods to stand in a dark room to observe if he or she glows in the dark.

• Car Driver on May 17, 2012 at 1:42 am

I must admit for a poor man like me I cannot afford this expensive CX5.
    I will have to wait for the Mazda2 Skyactive or the Mazda3 skyactiv.

• arvind on May 17, 2012 at 7:41 am

U can get the current mazda 2 bro,trust me it is fuel efficient and hell lot of fun to drive

• Unforgiven on May 17, 2012 at 7:48 am

Remove the advantage group in M’sia, then you’ll be able to enjoy CX5 for the price of Mazda2…

• Mazda For Life on May 17, 2012 at 3:28 am

There isn’t a fast rule here. Ultimately, we are “governed” by rules & regulations which we are unable to change (thus far). We have to purchase a vehicle based on our affordability (this applies to most of us, being white collar workers), despite the fact that this is several times what it should be. As for me, I hope I will be able-bodied & healthy to continue receiving my monthly “fixed” salary to pay for the car, feed the family, and at the end of the day, just enjoy my ride. I would hope that manufacturers will not short change us & give us what is ultimately deserving; safety above all else & do not omit features for the sake of one’s profitability.

• Proton for life on May 17, 2012 at 8:43 am

I still prefer preve over the CX-5..proton for life!

• Down vote you not because Preve not good but because you are comparing potato to mango! And potato aint even a fruit!

• Mazda For Life on May 17, 2012 at 11:09 am

If you so love a Proton, go for it.
      I do not advocate any particular brand or make. As I have said, we are habitual creatures and also preference.
      Just be mindful, the Preve has a “boost-cut” above 4000RPM, a solenoid will purposely cut off the boost from the Borg Warner turbocharger, as the 1.6 Campro engine isn’t built to handle the pressures from forced induction. Otherwise, it’s a very mild boost up to just 0.5 bar below 4,000RPM.

• machai on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:40 pm

so what’s wrong with that? it’s mean you want to drive a car above federal speed limit?

• zoom zoom on May 17, 2012 at 9:46 am

I just booked one this week.
    but, i will change rim to 235/55/R18 as well when i got the car.
    anyone need the calculation for speedmeter correction pls refer here
    http://www.paspeedo.com/calculator.htm

cheezzzzz

• 18 is good. It is about 7% different only.

• when will you get the car? how long is the queqe now? just heard about the car & cant wait till weekend so that i can go book one!!!

• Mazda For Life on May 18, 2012 at 10:37 am

Congratulations on the booking of your soon-to-arrive CX5. What was the lead/wait time given to you?
      I would strongly suggest you stick with the stock 19″ rims & tires. The wheel arches on the CX-5 are unusually larger than the norm, hence 19″ alloys look just “nice”. While it would obviously be cheaper cost wise when you downsize to 18″ alloys, single forged 18″ may cost quite a bit too. But that would be a one time outlay.

• zoom zoom on May 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm

i chose white color,
        my salesman said two months can get the car after loan approved.
        he also mentioned that u wanna get ur car soonest pls choose blue color.

thanks for advised.

• vincent on May 17, 2012 at 11:28 am

I think I will rather get the new Sportage for this price.

• HENNESSY on May 17, 2012 at 2:08 pm

The sportage can never drive as well as the mazda,EVER!

PERIOD!!

• sufyan on May 17, 2012 at 11:29 am

i need help…shud i get mazda cx5 or wait for the new honda crv?????
    TQ

• Richard on May 17, 2012 at 11:45 am

Wait after the election. If Pakatan win the price will come down. May be same price you can get BMW X1

• Both oso good car. U wanna b different get the cx5 (spec/price all better compare to the H).

• Richard on May 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Forget about other things (price, second hand value, maintence, running cost & etc).

Buy Mazda CX5 as Bermaz want to get more market share. Therefore, Mazda is value for money. New Tech , New Look & more features compare to CRV.

• Richard on May 17, 2012 at 11:43 am

Nice car.

Foreman always said that NGV is econ to run but expensive to maintain.
    So, Skyactiv engine is quite new. How is the maintenance cost?

FC is low but the tyres replacement cost will elevate the overall cost to own CX5.
    Eh! All because of our govt policies on duty tax etc. If not, we no need to comment on these “RM” issue.

Or Govt should co-op with Mercedes Benz (MB) and make MB as our National Car. Logo is MB name Malaysia Boleh. Manufacture in Bolehland.

• bro where is the test drive review.

• Hyundai Fan on May 17, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Somehow, the side & rear views have the shadow of Tucson, Santa Fe or BMW X1.
    Will wait & see whether the new generation of Santa Fe which has the same price range as CX-5 can be more appealing.

• jflee169 on May 17, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Oh! Bermaz has finally launched the CX-5 with the new technology, Skyactiv. It’s good to see that Malaysian are lucky to see it so soon. I guess the reliability of Mazda product is not questionable, I am more concern on the knowledge and competency of our local Mazda mechanic. Hope they won’t give the auto industry standard reply, “Oh! It’s like that one!”

• As a information, the waiting period for this model is 6 months.

• Mazda For Life on May 18, 2012 at 9:08 am

The SA at Glenmarie told me it was anytime from 3-6 months now; however if you choose the AWD, it would be a tad shorter.

• I was at a dealer in Balakong and was told that they can deliver in 4 months which I think should be ok for me.

• Mazda For Life on May 17, 2012 at 11:49 pm

I was at the Mazda showroom at Glenmarie today, and had a chance to feel & see the actual CX-5 with the TRIBOS coat.
    I was invited earlier to the soft pre-launch of the CX-5 at Bermaz’s stockyard at Padang Jawa, and NONE of the CX-5s had the TRIBOS coat applied.
    I must admit, the TRIBOS coating feels ultra silky smooth, exactly as advertised, and when you run your fingers on the surface, it feels better than a newly waxed or normally coated finish.
    There was a Mazda 6 just next to it; and as I ran the palm of my hand & my fingers on the stock clear gloss surface of the 6, I realized how much difference the TRIBOS coating made.
    Not only that, the TRIBOS coat actually enhanced the color of the CX-5! As I had seen first hand an untreated CX-5 during the pre-launch, I immediately SAW and FELT the difference. The TRIBOS CX-5 is certainly more “glossy” and immediately gained your attention.
    Emblazoned in a printed A4 paper placarded on the dashboard, it read:
    This vehicle coated with “TRIBOS”. Please wash with water only.
    Do not use any detergent and “NO POLISH”.
    Kudos to Bermaz, for this excellent, totally surprising element thrown into the package making the CX-5 even sweeter.

• Test drove CX5 today. Handles and feels good but acceleration a bit weak. Needs more revs on the low gears but ok on highways. Those looking for zippy acceleration at low gears may be disappointed. Body roll well contained. Pretty decent brakes. Good overall package. Too bad diesel not coming. Soaks up bumps pretty well too.

• pelams on May 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

y petrol, not diesel??

• kenny on May 18, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Simply because of the our low EURO2 grade diesel. CX5 runs on EURO4 min. Why no EURO4 in M’sia, go and ask Gov. and the pointless NAP…

• Mazda For Life on May 18, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Had the wonderful experience of picking up the keys to our new Mazda CX-5 AWD today.
    Everything said about the SUV was as claimed.
    The TRIBOS coating enhanced the color of the car and the gloss and water beading was evident. 3 years guarantee for the TRIBOS coat to the paintwork, 6 months for the alloy wheels & the glass panels (i.e. windscreen etc). The shine was evident both indoors & more apparent outdoors. Brilliant & silky smooth to the touch, comparing the other non-treated Mazdas adjacent.
    At first glance, again the CX-5 didn’t appear as striking as compared to my previous SUV, the Tucson, also a world acclaimed SUV. As I shifted my eyes from the smooth flowing lines to not apparent details, I was enamored by the harmony & uniqueness brought forth. From the front grill, the chrome lines extended to the headlights and curved its way, flowing to the doors and ended up at the rear. Marvelous.
    Was given a thorough walkthrough by the Branch/Sales Manager himself. Excellent presentation.
    Opening & closing of the doors gave evidence to the engineering finesse from Mazda engineers. Everything felt neatly in place. Switches were robust and the dashboard was covered in soft plastics. Brilliant.
    With the key fob in hand, I depressed on the brake pedal & pushed the START button.
    The 13.0:1 SKYACTIV-G engine roared to life.
    I was informed by my close buddy that high compression engines use EGR to recirculate the hot gases back as they require a higher operating temperature, hence the unique & “louder” sound from a cold start.
    Once the temperatures stabilized, the sound from the twin exhaust was mellow, yet had a subtle deep bass to its note. I smiled.
    Driving the CX-5 for the first time, the accelerator required a little more “press” to get it going. I was too used to the sensitivity of the Tucson, which means I needed to change my perception. It was an entirely different ride all together.
    The steering feedback was excellent, very precise and extremely responsive, yet never too light by my taste.
    Putting the CX-5 AWD through its paces realized a few shortcomings, notably the lack of torque as reported by several reviews below the 3,000RPM band. Depress the accelerator sufficiently, and the SKYACTIV-G responds beautifully, downshifting a gear or two, ramping up the revs and once past 3,000RPM, the engine sings decently, gaining speed effortlessly.
    There isn’t a requirement to “run-in”; technically, just the 1st service when the odometer reaches 1,000km.
    The Toyo Proxies 225/55/R19 rubbers exhibited a tenacious grip when pushed through corners at up to 90 km/h. I didn’t dare further.
    The adaptive Bi-xenon headlights & DRL (the DRLs are not the typical white LEDs you may be accustomed to on Audis & KIAs, but rather it was the inner yellow smaller light that is illuminated) provided very good coverage at night.
    Sound insulation was surprisingly good. Seat comfort was excellent, with the driver’s 8-way powered seat (with lumbar adjustment). There was noticeable wind noise above 130 km/h, to my observation.
    The TPIS (Tire Pressure Indication System) does not indicate individual tire pressure, but rather a symbol pops up, implying that ONE of the four (or perhaps more) tires reached a preset threshold.
    Transitioning to Manual gear shift mode, the CX-5 proved every bit capable, shifting with eagerness and responsiveness, you would push it forward for upshifts, and pull it toward you for downshifts.
    It was an enjoyable drive. Bravo Mazda.

• Mazda Jinba Itai on May 19, 2012 at 12:36 am

Glad you love your new CBD Japanese masterpiece. I also drive this CX-5 in Australia. Couldn’t be more happier with this purchase. Great driving dynamics, fuel miser, head turner and best of all excelent after sale service.
      My major concern is the torque dip that happens between 1500 to 2000rpm. I am used to the

• Mazda For Life on May 19, 2012 at 12:46 am

Yes admittedly there is a small dip between 2,000-3,000 RPM. Unless Mazda comes up with a ECU upgrade, there is nothing we can do about it.
        Else if the kickdown/upshift isn’t quick enough with the accelerator, shift to Manual then engage the gear as required. She is pretty responsive in Manual mode & holds the RPM till red.

• Mazda Jinba Itai on May 19, 2012 at 1:39 am

Whenever the car accelerates, the transmission upshift too early and causes a significant loss of momentum. Maybe I am fond of linear acceleration and I am very light-footed… I am still experimenting the car to find a solution. I have tried RON 91 and 95. Engine is a bit roudy in 91 but milleage and power are about the same for both. Haven’t try the 97 VPower but I hope to stash some money if the price is cheaper. One note is that the car behaves better after the 1000 kilometre service. So my advice for you is to wait for the first servicr then only do the dyno test. I would love to see your result. Haha not sure if any sifu knows the Skyactive engine and transmission.The chassis is a leap forward even when comparing with some T&H&N sedans. Very planted.
        If you have time, watch the Canadian Mazda Skyactive in youtube. That is what made me a Mazda convert.

• Mazda For Life on May 19, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Is your CX-5 2WD or AWD?
          Yes agreed the auto transmission shifts too early, it is too eager to get to the 5th or 6th gear. Manual seems to work fine.
          You have actually tried RON91 or was that RON92?
          Thanks & noted the car’s engine’s response is better after the 1st 1000km service. Will wait for that to happen before sending it in for the dyno.

• Mazda Jinba Itai on May 19, 2012 at 2:02 am

Whenever the car accelerates, the transmission upshift too early and causes a significant loss of momentum. Maybe I am fond of the linear acceleration found in most cars and I am also very light-footed. I am still experimenting with the car to find a solution. I have tried RON 91 and 95. Engine is a bit rowdy in 91 but mileage and power are the same. Haven’t tried the 97 Shell VPower since the price is ridiculous. One note is that the car behaves much better after the 1000 km service. So my advice for you is to wait for the first service then only do the dyno test. Love to the curves. Haha. Not sure if any sifus know to tune the Skyactive engine and transmission.
        Besides the chassis is a leap forward even when comparing with some T&H&N sedans. Very planted.

• Mazda For Life on May 20, 2012 at 11:57 pm

One of my Mazda buddy & very close friend told me the Mazda 3 had an ECU upgrade (I am unsure as of when), but that solved some issues with the gear change & shifting. He says the his 3 responds much better after the ECU upgrade. Further details unknown.

• Mazda For Life on May 19, 2012 at 12:49 am

Bite from the brakes are surprisingly good. The modulation is great with adequate feel, but I did not have the opportunity to try it when the brakes are hot for brake fade.

• Mazda Jinba Itai on May 19, 2012 at 1:48 am

Yeah the brake is good. Probably due to the redesign of the rear castor arm geometry. Linear braking so far. Very car-like.

• Mazda Jinba Itai on May 19, 2012 at 2:12 am

Yup, the brakes are good for an SUV. The car never felt pitching forward when braked hard. Its good probably due to the the redesign of the rear lower arm geometry. I also haven’t tried driving downhill yet.

• Mazda For Life on May 19, 2012 at 8:03 am

The CX-5 has a Walk Away Lock feature, which you can disable it via the 5.8″ Touchscreen integrated display.
      When you leave your CX-5 with the KEY out of the car, the car will auto-lock the doors without you pressing the lock button (on the key or on the door handle) after a preset time, which is about 30 secs. The system will double beep to indicate that it has been locked.

• Kenny on May 19, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Congrats bro on your new acquisition. Thx for the lengthy review of your new CX5. Maybe it’s just me… I find the Tuscon’s exterior especially the side profile looks similar to CX5. Out of topic, how is this CX5 compared to Mitsubishi’ ASX? Am is considering buying a SUV for my wifey as her work place is famous with flash flood whenever there is heavy rain. Between CX5 & ASX…. Hard to chew….

• Mazda For Life on May 19, 2012 at 3:30 pm

While the CX-5 and other SUVs are very similar, it all boils down to preference & if possible, go for a test drive.
        The CX-5 would ultimately compete against the KIA Sportage, Peugeot 3008, Hyundai Tucson, Mitsubishi ASX and the ubiquitous CR-V, though pricing wise, I believe the AWD CX-5 would be placed the highest.
        IMHO the most value for money would be the KIA Sportage. Full single one spec for below RM140k.
        Though the Tucson & CX-5 seems similar, inside, they are vastly different. The seats are firmer & offer better support. Legroom wise, the Tucson’s rear is almost flat whereas the CX-5 has a small hump, obviously for the AWD transmission.
        I cannot comment on the ASX, as I have not driven nor tested one. However I am a little biased towards the CVT gearbox, I much prefer a conventional autobox that is employed on the Tucson/Sportage/CX-5.
        I must give my thumbs up to Mazda, I’ve never owned a Continental car before, but many of my close buddies ALL drive Conti cars, and I have to admit, the Mazda comes very very close, in terms of interior, spec and drive. Engine wise, the CX-5 loses to the turbocharged Audis/VWs/Beemers for sure 100%. There is just no comparison in terms of hp/torque vs the turbocharged engines.
        But I dare say that the CX-5 gives every other Conti a great fight in the area of comfort, interior and ergonomics. Kudos, Mazda, their passion is in driving and creating a vehicle that you would love to own one, without breaking the bank.

• Kenny on May 20, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Thx for the feedback. Never own a Korean car but always been adviced by others not to go for Korean car due to the engine maintainence and reliability issue. Can’t comment on that. I thought Mitsubishi with their MIVEC engines are quite reliable. Again, never driven one thus can’t comment on it. Will definitely go and test drive both on the same day to give a clearer picture on which one to choose. Am driving a conti car (beemer) and a jap car (altis), it’s hard to believe that a jap car can compete in terms of the drivability. Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe mazda has improve leaps and bounds.

• pelams on May 19, 2012 at 9:53 pm

flash flood? y not a 4WD instead..

• Mazda For Life on May 20, 2012 at 12:18 am

As for flash flooding, I think none of the abovementioned SUVs would survive. For that, you need the All New Ford Ranger with 800mm water wading depth capability.

• pelams on May 20, 2012 at 12:40 pm

only the ford ranger can survive flash flood? wat about triton, hilux, dmax, etc.?

• Mazda For Life on May 20, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Do check the Web; the All New Ranger’s 800mm water depth wading capability outshines the competition, and yes, it beats the Hilux/Triton/DMax hands down in every other area besides water wading depth.

• pelams on May 21, 2012 at 7:09 am

“despite the smaller capacity, this 2.2?s output betters that of the current Ranger and its 2.5L rivals in Malaysia, except for the Navara”

• Kenny on May 20, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Ford ranger and other truck would be a bit too big for my wifey to drive. No offense but lady driver always has some difficulty when come to parking…

• Mazda For Life on May 23, 2012 at 1:48 am

Kenny,
            I do not disagree with you with your statement.
            Pickup trucks & SUVs are totally different segment vehicles. In any case, we have to be pro-active to learn the limitations of our vehicles whether it is a sedan, SUV, or a pickup truck.
            Sometimes, as I have personally experienced, in regards to learning & adaptation, the greatest enemy is us ourselves.

• For tougher terrain and conditions, whilst CX5 is merely a soft roader in 4×4 terms, the 4wd version would be preferred in the urban setting. The 2wd may have traction control but TSC helps in maintaining control but does not provide the necessary drive like the 4wd to get you out of those conditions.

• Just wondering, why do you change your Tucson?

• Mazda For Life on May 22, 2012 at 10:21 am

Let’s just say I grew to like the CX-5 so much I decided to trade in my Tucson for it :)

• hi, just wonder whether the Malaysian version of CX5 is equipped with the anti-collision braking system (SCBS)? I noticed that, in the oversea market, it rivals Audi Q3 and VW Tiguan!

• Mazda For Life on May 21, 2012 at 10:37 am

As far as I know, our CX-5 (at least the Malaysian & Singaporean version) does not have the lane departure warning & the Mazda i-ELOOP (Capacitor-Based Regenerative Braking System).
      I am unsure about the anti-collision braking system though.

• Mazda Freak on May 20, 2012 at 10:11 pm

CX-5 does looks better in real life than the photos. The SUV is roomy and the leather looks similar to the Golf Tsi. With new tech and navi and all really worth the price of 155k before insurance.

The only thing is I’m lack of confidence towards the electronics of Mazda. After I left the Mazda showroom today and I’ve gotten myself into a minor accident while I reversed and the reverse sensor didnt beep and I hit the car behind and crashed my number plate. Sometimes, my rain sensor, and front bumper sensor didnt work properly. At times the auto headlamp lid under hot sun. How am I suppose to demostrate this to the service manager? everything work fine when you send the car in, right?

I was thinking to trade in my M6 2.5 for this CX-5, but I think I will opt for Beemer outgoing model which is on sale now. Then another pain, I have lost my entire downpayment and lost 80k in total within 2 years.Well, It is anticipated when I picked this brand 2 years ago.

• Mazda For Life on May 21, 2012 at 10:28 am

Hmm Noted & thanks for sharing. So I see you’re driving the M6 2.5, which my close buddy also has, since 2010. His M6 2.5 exhibited NO issues whatsoever with regard to the electronics.
      Perhaps your M6’s case is an isolated one?
      I admit, no manufacturing process is perfect & a car being a complex mechanical machine, will eventually fail & problems will crop up. We have to be objective in looking at the “big” picture. If a huge number of Mazdas are giving problems in the area that you mention, then I’d say there is a serious issue there.
      I’m sure if you insist that the sensors be replace, Bermaz would carry out the replacement(s)? Have you asked Bermaz?
      Also, did you mean you’ve lost 80k in terms of depreciation in 2 years for your M6 2.5?
      My buddy’s M6 2.5 was manufactuered 2010, he has to sell it within these 2-3 months because he’s going abroad for overseas posting (for 3 years). He paid RM17x,000 for his M6 back then, he was quoted about RM130k for his car now. That’s 40k in 2 years (or less).

• Mazda Freak on May 21, 2012 at 1:53 pm

If a 2nd hand car dealer is quoting his car for 130k, he better watch out. I know there is a con man going around looking for 1-2 year old cars. The same guy called me telling me he is willing to take it for 130k and his office is in pavilion. It is the pavilion part which rings the bell, something is wrong. Weeks later, someone called me telling me that he saw my ad and ask me for help if the same guy call up again. Ask me to arrange a meeting where they will go with the police.

If he gets it from a direct buyer then that is about right.the BMW dealer is taking my car for 110k, thats 70k loss outright. 2 months ago it was quoted for 120k by VW. dont forget about the interest for the 2 years instalment eg. 10k. Well that is already made known the moment I get a mazda.

• Mazda For Life on May 22, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Hmm IC Thanks for explaining. Yes no doubt every car depreciates, I guess some more than the others.
          But on the other hand, compared to the usual Japanese mainstream car-makers, at least you know while you don’t get back that much from selling your 6, it is almost safe to say that you know your 6 won’t be much of a target to thieves compared to the other two brands.

• Shark on May 21, 2012 at 12:43 am

I test drive CX5 today while raining. I notice that when raining, it is soo damn noisy inside… not sure whether the skyactive body contributes to the noise. I realized if i knock the car, it sounds like tin milo kosong.. anyway.. i booked the car since i like the design and handling.. but need to accept the “low power to get the car moving/overtaking” (Tucson is better) and to the fact that i need to wait for months.. hope i did the right thing to change from Sportage to CX5..

• Mazda For Life on May 21, 2012 at 10:23 am

Shark, I do not discredit your findings and/or opinions, but I had driven my CX-5 in rain too, and I do not think it is noisier than my previous SUV or any other SUVs I’ve sat in.
      I do think the 19″ rubber certainly adds noise compared to the thicker tires on my previous Tucson.
      While the Tucson’s gear ratios are slightly better (it has a lesser tendency to upshift), but the high end of the spectrum, the Tucson pales compared to the CX-5.

• Shark on May 21, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Thanks bro for your input.. even after i place the booking.. I’m still thinking whether I’ve made the right decision or not.. i like the design of CX-5 but prefer the engine power in sportage. 2nd hand value not sure sportage or cx5 is better.. cost of maintenance.. parts etc.. KIA or mazda better?

• Mazda For Life on May 22, 2012 at 12:37 pm

I honestly tell you the “power” in the Sportage is nothing to shout about.
          My tuner dynoed the NEW KIA Optima K5, it registered a partly 101 whp (wheel hp) on the Dyno Dynamics.
          165ps convert to hp is approx 10% loss so it’s 148hp.
          The Dynamometer registers an astounding over 30% transmission power loss.
          So you get just about 101-102 whp measured at the wheels.
          I own a Hyundai Tucson 2.0 (2010) so I can attest to the actual report.

• Andy Lee on May 21, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Hi All,

I have gotten my CX-5 last Saturday from Auto Tulin Jalan Pahang.

Have driven for 2 days, did a round trip to Port Dickson and then around town.
    Did 592KM for 1st full tank, recording 8.9L/100KM

All round good and all assecories is cool, super value, considering it got everything my 325 E92 has.

Pick up is slow, but normal drive is smooth much better than my CRV 2010 including pick up, cruise speed and handling.

Very fun and good sound system.

Navigation is hard to use and perhaps Map is rather outdated and it dont let you operate once you move your car so you got to stop and then set destination on the Navigator. Well it is good for safety but inconvinient.

Interior is very classy, using a lot gun metal metalic and leather warp on everything. They even give good carpets… with Mazda silver badget… Plus Tribos and free tinting I got from the branch… absolutely feeling… how can it be so value for money… I recalled paying same for CRV but with much much much lesser gadget.

This car is like drive off and there is nothing you want to accesories or add. It is so complete. Well unless you can add a turbo to it. Absolutely nothing else is needed.

• Mazda For Life on May 22, 2012 at 9:31 am

Andy, congrats on your new CX-5.
      Did you get the 2WD or the AWD version?
      I’ve been enjoying my CX-5 since last week. I didn’t chalk up as much mileage as you, having just traversed Klang Valley, but certainly every moment in the SUV leaves a lasting impression.
      My tuner took my CX-5 & put it through its paces yesterday, testing the brakes, steering feel, engine response and acceleration, gear shifts.
      She handles beautifully. In Manual mode, the car holds the revs and she does not upshift. That is a big PLUS because it almost certainly mimics a TRUE manual. Pity Mazda didn’t equip it with paddle shifters.
      I personally find the engine respond better as one runs in the car. The odometer shifts up rapidly and my tuner gave his thumbs up after the brutal test. We are saving the dyno until after I complete the 1st 1,000km service.
      The OEM Toyo Proxies are excellent, and just a tad short from the renowned 888 Proxies. Grip is phenomenal.
      As you’ve said, Alan, what more can we ask.
      Yes I would like a turbocharged SKYACTIV-G, but for now, I’m seriously contended :)

• Mazda For Life on May 22, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Over the last few days, I’ve got used to the accelerator pedal’s response & honestly I find the pick up improve by quite a bit as I was running in the car & more so when you floor the accelerator, she revs up very very quickly & instantaneously.
      The other day when my tuner was testing my car, we had three “huge” adult guys in it, total we weigh over 240kg just the 3 of us, and to my tuner’s amazement, the CX-5 when floored, revved up quickly & we all felt the pull.
      Bravo, Mazda!

• Kenny on May 22, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Glad to hear good review from some actual owners of the CX5, however, am still have concern on the 19″ rubber. To me, we need a good rubber as there are the only contact point between our ride with the road surface. Thus, we need to invest on the good rubber like Michelin, Continental, etc… But, the problem, to most of us, I guess, is the price…. as each tyre can easily cost more than RM1K. Thus, having have to change all 4 rubber at once could made ourself RM5-6K poorer…. If I would ever buy the CX5, the 1st thing that I would do is to change the rim to 17″.

• Mazda For Life on May 23, 2012 at 1:42 am

Kenny
          I assure you, the Toyo 19″ Proxies, is really AWESOME.
          I’ve taken corners at up to 100km/h and the CX-5 never flinched, I’ve owned the new Tucson before so I can easily compare it to. My tuner took the CX-5 through its paces, and you would easily hear tire screeches from other typical SUVs, the CX-5 held its own during corners. Proven by testing :)

• Mazda For Life on May 23, 2012 at 1:44 am

Kenny,
          Honestly one should consider the overall cost in total. Yes I do admit 19″ rubbers like the OEM supplied to the CX-5 being Toyo Proxies would cost in excess of RM1k each tire, we should bear in mind that unless we are willing to part with that amount, we must not compromise on safety by changing to 18″ or 17″ rims & tires.
          I’ve driven the CX-5 AWD for the past 4-5 days & I would dare say that I am so impressed by the OEM tires that I would not change a thing.

• kenny on May 23, 2012 at 10:12 am

I don’t think that by changing the tyre size from 19″ to either 17″ or 18″ will compromise the safety on the CX5. FYI, in the US, the comsumers have the option to chose either 17″ or 19″ rim depending on the model/spec. So, I would think that the CBU CX5 from Japan should be able to fit 17″ rim without any problem.

• Mazda For Life on May 23, 2012 at 11:01 am

That said, it will definitely not be a problem, even the CX-5 in Singapore have two options, one with the 17″ rims.
            However bear in mind, the wheel arches on the CX-5 are HUGE. The 17″ rims kind of look out of place. That’s IMHO.

• kenny on May 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm

With a higher profile tyre on a 17″ compared to a lower profile on a 19″, I guess the wheel arch will not have too much of a gap between them. In terms of look, the 19″ rim will certainly looks more sporty than the 17″. There is always a catch 22. For the look or for the practicality. Just my 2 cents worth.

• Mazda Freak on May 23, 2012 at 10:35 am

would the change of wheels cost you the lost on warranty as well.?

• Mazda For Life on May 23, 2012 at 11:00 am

Am unsure if the warranty will be affected if the tires and/or rims are changed to a smaller size. You will need to check with the Mazda Service Center or a SA.

• kenny on May 23, 2012 at 11:04 am

good question. should ask the SA when go for a test drive.

• JorSunAh on May 24, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Chris, where/When is your initial drive impressions?

• JorSunAh on May 24, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Chris Ng where is your initial drive impressions?

• Dominic on May 25, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Best CUV in the class. Ride, Handling, Interior and exterior design. A lot of great comments and positive reviews has been published in the internet. But very little is said about the SkyActiv 2.0L Petrol engine during stop-and-go and overtaking maneuvers. Anyway, there are more pros than cons for CX5. CX5 is definitely the best CUV in town. Come on, get yourself an appointment to test drive CX5 today.

• Mazda For Life on May 25, 2012 at 3:21 pm

The SKYACTIV-G is every bit as claimed. Once run in, the revs keep coming, very quick respond, and very nice sound >4000RPM, unlike the Theta-II engine from my previous SUV.
      Power band right up to redline, excellent. I’m getting used to the throttle feel, and I love every time I put the pedal to the metal. Excellent.

• M6 owner on May 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Test drove the CX-5 today, I really wanted to like the CX-5 and thought my only issue might be the lack of horsepower and torque. I was appalled at the transmission’s behavior, I felt like I could not find a sweet spot for the engine. I was prepared for the stiffer accelerator pedal and tried to compensate for it, but I felt like to add a little gas often made for a downshift and the resulting higher RPMs and a surge. It honestly reminded me of the traditional old reason for not getting an automatic with a 4-cylinder.
    I was really floored by this behavior – so much so that we went to another dealer to take a drive and make sure it was just not that particular car. Nope, same thing. I realize all this is subjective, but I was floored that I disliked the drivetrain that much. I came to the realization that the 2.0L motor is just not enough engine for the car. The way to compensate for lower horsepower is to put the engine into the powerband, but the constant up and down drove me nuts.

The interior was much to my liking, and it was pretty comfortable for me. I’m tall, but don’t have long arms and the telescoping tilt wheel was great. Everything else about the car was on par with the others.

The CX-5 was a huge disappointment after, as another reviewer has said, all the positive media attention. My experience was vastly different than what I have seen written in virtually all of the reviews.

• zoom zoom on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:50 pm

If you want to change tyre from original 19″ to other size. dont forget to calibrate ur speedmeter.
    here is calculation for you information-
    http://www.paspeedo.com/calculator.htm
    & http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

• olarchive on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Owner of cx5, pls share ur fuel consumption(hw, city, combine).

• Tlsee on Jun 10, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Any one have trade in their tyre to 17″? Any place to trade in.

• Kimlong on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Went to the Mazda showroom today to check out on the CX-5. Noticed that the under carriage has been covered up nicely. Has anyone tested cruising thru a paddle of water with reasonable high speed, to experience a “lifting” effect when the water hitting the flat under carriage will result. Tq

• htuah on Jun 15, 2012 at 5:48 pm

I like Mazda but I don’t like the local dealer. How?

• Order from Mazda Japan.

• ladydriver on Jun 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

aiyak…waiting list now goes to 9 months to 12 months..there goes my hope… i,ve just booked mine on 17th..the SA told me if i book a day earlier by one day, my waiting period would only be 6 months :( this year raya still old car lah..

• Finally got my new cx5 last week.
    I got 13.2km per Lt fuel consumption(30% city 70% hw). Others, how is yours?

• I better pay more RM10k to buy VW Passat…. more advanced n conformtable…

• Dominic on Jul 02, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Passat should reduce its price by 10k, I’ll buy. Or, Jetta comes with leather seats and Navi, I’ll buy. Otherwise, VW will continue to remain in the twilight zone. I know its powertrain is good. I just can’t go without leather seats for a 140k+ car. This is just my opinion.

• Guys,how about chev captiva? both have same prize isnt it

• warlock on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:04 pm

M6 owner,
    I guess CX-5 is just not for you. Perhaps range rover, audi, or cayene is your answer!

• Leo Ong on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Waiting list too long and I dont want the CKD version. How? Anyone can help me on this? Strictly CBU only.

• investeveryday on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Hi there, I have booked the CBU cx-5 around Apr 2012. The car is coming next week, around 1st week of Dec 2012. Planning to cancel, anyone want the booking? Pls give me your best offer. Email me at everydayinvest at yahoo dot com. Thanks