Toyota Wish facelift for 2012 on sale in Japan

The Estima is not the only Toyota MPV to be given a minor facelift this year – the popular Toyota Wish also gets updated for 2012, bringing subtle improvements such as better interior textures, trim and materials, better fuel efficiency, and of course the most obvious which is the new front look you see above.

The engine options continue to be the same choice of a 1.8 litre or a 2.0 litre unit as per when this generation of Wish was first launched in 2009. The 2.0 litre model is offered as a 6 seater only, while the 1.8 litre is a 7 seater, and includes the option for 4WD.

The 2.0 litre engine is the Valvematic 3ZR-FAE, producing 152 PS and 193Nm of torque, peaking at a relatively low 3,800rpm. These are slightly different numbers from the 2009 pre-facelift model – the 3ZR-FAE made 158 PS and 196Nm then, which are higher numbers, but the 196Nm peak also came in at a higher 4,400rpm. The engine must have been tuned to be more fuel efficient and output less emissions, while having a smoother torque curve kicking in earlier in the rev band.

The 1.8 litre 2ZR-FAE makes 143 PS and 173Nm at 4,00rpm for the 2WD model, and for the 4WD this is reduced to 130 PS and 161Nm at 4,000rpm. Like the 2.0 litre, these are also lower numbers compared to the outgoing pre-facelift car which made 144 PS/176Nm for the 2WD and 133 PS/164Nm for the 4WD.

The 2.0 litre engine is mated to a Super CVT 7-speed transmission, which has a Dynamic Sport Mode not found in the 1.8 litre model’s CVT transmission, except for the 1.8S 4WD model. Another difference between the 2.0 litre model and the 1.8 litre model is the usage of a double wishbone rear suspension on the 2.0 litre, while the 1.8 litre only has that on the 4WD model – for the 2WD it uses a torsion beam.

UMW Toyota imported the previous generation Toyota Wish into Malaysia for a relatively short period of time, but it chose not to import this latest generation in. We think it’s most likely because of grey importers easily undercutting their pricing as grey importers have no service and warranty commitments.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery of the facelifted 2012 Wish.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• VoidDance on May 16, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Okay, who put Ah Beng in-charge of JDM Toyota Styling? First the Estima and now this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Toyota MPV is the best looking so far…

• HirumaKecil on May 17, 2012 at 8:40 am

No lah… Stream and odyssey two times better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
        • Stream and odyssey still using old crap engine. Wish using Valvematic engine already hahaha

• Alpha on May 16, 2012 at 7:45 pm

I have to agree!!Their MPVs are famous for looking luxurious,not sporty.Why the sudden change??

• Vader on May 17, 2012 at 7:53 am

Haha.. is true..
      The previous generation of Estima and Wish look great that this so call latest facelift version.

• while the 1.8 litre only has that on the 4WD model – for the 4WD it uses a torsion beam.

Errr something is not right there? 1.8 litre 4WD model uses torsion beam or the 2WD model?

• Josh Ling on May 16, 2012 at 5:14 pm

New Wish is just facelifted, and we are still yet to see UMW Toyota start selling the pre-facelift ones. sigh~~

• underskinned on May 16, 2012 at 5:30 pm

The previous Wish was brought in for a quick second by UMW to dismal numbers, combating grey importers selling it by the truckloads. This and Alphard too. So I guess it’s safe to say UMW learned their lessons.

• front view = honda stream
    back view = toyota harrier

• matlimmutu on May 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

wish fl.. boring.

• Ha ha… wisdom of Toyota! Newer car version but less powerful engine contradicting trends of Korean and European.

• Hyundai De La Junk on May 16, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Korean Junk Fanboy can only grind their teeth seen this, while driving their ugly Junk Rondo & Citra.

Cool Mini MPV ! Good Job Toyota.

• Quattro on May 16, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Bila boleh tengok kat toyota showroom nii> ke dok buleh masuk mesia lg

• If I got money, I will surely buy this car.. Till then, I drive my kancil only lah. As for the so-called know-everything basher around here, u drive apa sangat? Don’t cakap ja lebih, entah2 pi kerja naik kapcai.. FAILED !

• insperut on May 17, 2012 at 9:51 am

so, basikal rider cannot say any ah??? u FAIL even worst

• Danial on Dec 30, 2012 at 10:10 am

Lucky if they, the basher ride cub-chai, but the truth is their internet bill still paid by their mother and father, school boy dude!:-D

• Cant imagine how weak the 1.8 is, its peak torque of abt 170nm is the same with the vw polo 1.2 tsi! And the vw peak torque starts from lowish 1,500rpm compared to the wish torque occuring at high 4,400rpm!

• furthermore , the polo is just a supermini…japs still king of on the paper hp, very high hp but actually the torque are at strato/rev/high wailing . euro ‘s car are made for driveability for daily usage. guess, due to most european are exposed to high low down torque of a diesels, even the petrol are made to imitate the diesels low down torque; )

• droll on May 17, 2012 at 7:27 am

to be honest, i think high torque from low rpm is even more important for a vehicle like this. why? because it’s a people mover. imagine loading your whole family into it. a diesel engine would be perfect for such applications. you don’t need high speed (i.e. high hp). you need high torque.

• apala on May 16, 2012 at 7:49 pm

aiyo….where is the second row air-cond?

• pelams on May 18, 2012 at 6:35 pm

i used to ride this wish in the back passenger seat. soo hot!

• the orange WISH FL front look like previous gen myvi se . hahaha

• odan_odc on May 16, 2012 at 10:31 pm

yeah…i kinda think the same too…looks like a myvi. a long one.

• alfred on May 16, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Proton Exora is better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Unforgiven on May 16, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Remove the advantage group and this will definitely be Exora price.

• talking about exora, the 2.0 wish equal to Exora Prime that offer seat for 6 passengers and the only diff is the displacement.haha

• plus the exora turbo have 200nm of torque at lowish 2,000rpm! not to mention acond for all 3 rows

• exora bold premium more powerful and much cheaper
    period

• BeemerFreak on May 16, 2012 at 9:12 pm

UMW is not importing this because the margin of CHEATING their customers is not enough….They will only sell a car when they can cheat their customers.

• carazy on May 16, 2012 at 10:11 pm

when i saw this pic at the 1st place.. jz remind me a honda.. stop copying toyoya.. squeeze up ur mind

• unnon on May 17, 2012 at 12:41 am

why does the grey panel looks like the honda insight?

it looks fine to me. if i have a money, i might buy this model. don’t care lah people wanna say it’s too ‘ah beng’ or whatever.

• why toyota still use archaic engine ?
    even proton can have 200nM linear torque between 2,000-4,000RPM
    this will advantage especially for mpv that needs torque rather than hp

kudos Proton!!

• Kalun on May 17, 2012 at 8:37 am

Going to see these Singapore Taxi!
    Toyota Wish for Taxi. Very wise choices because it has a big leg room, stylish and comfy for city use.

• ss427 on May 17, 2012 at 11:30 am

Unfortunately, those taxi Wishes led a very tough life… the taxi companies were msilead by our gov into believing that running of CNG (or NGV) is the way to go.

The conversion job was done very sloppily and there was a big loss of power after conversion. Valves were overheated and burnt out for CNG doesnt have enough cooling properties as compared to regular gasoline.

And then now our gov made a dramatic U turn in policy and declared that CNG vehicles will no longer enjoy any tax rebates… well yet another case of we citizens being sabotaged by our dear gov just because we followed their policies.. :(

Those taxi Wishes are not expected to last beyond 5 yrs

• agreed, spoken wt most cab driver in SG while down there for bis travel….most of them mentioned the sonata diesel are better than those CNG’s taxi.

the Sonata 2.0 turbodiesels are quite torquey and one of the cab driver mentioned, a full tank can easily last for +-800km for town driving…if highway, he mentioned, 1,000km is achievable with a light foot

• ss427 on May 17, 2012 at 10:01 am

My Bolehland frens, the current gen Wishes, both 1.8 and 2L Valvematics, are officially sold in SG… they’re not grey imports.

Compared to the last gen, the current gen is a slow seller even when COE prices were mroe sane some yrs ago…. Reason being we got the stocks directly from Japan and the cost is very high… yes, our wishes are CVTs too. The prev gen was from Thailand so the cost was lower.

Has test drove the 2L when it was 1st launched. Not bad as compared to Stream RSZ… typical of Toyota engines, low to mid rpm torque o/p is very decent so you’d have a better drive ard town as compared to Honda’s… The R18A engine needs to rev the shit outta it to get big torque haha…

The CVT is decent but like all CVTs, it is not designed for and will not tolerate fun driving well. At least the dreaded rubber band effect is not as pronounced as Nissan and Mitsubishi. CVT whine is suprising non existent….can’t say the same about Mitsubishi.

The 6 ‘speed’ manual override can be useful during hard driving, but being a small MPV, and the way the gearshifter is positioned, its quite inconvinent to use quickly. There’s no paddle shifters behind the wheel :(

Our local Wishes are surprising well equipped with standard 6 airbags, VSC, traction control. The 2L offers cruise control as well. Trip computer is standard on both models.

No HIDs though…. and the base 1.8 has rear drums! :( Toyota placed too much confidence in their drum brakes….its a MPV, you need all the stopping power to haul such heavy car to a stop quickly. The 2L is the one to go for.

see here for more info.

http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/wish/index.asp

• rapidshifter on May 17, 2012 at 10:45 am

“…grey importers easily undercutting their pricing as grey importers have no service and warranty commitments.”
    .. lot of people buying recon wish from grey importers have no complaint… it’s so good no need any warranty and the service charges so cheap…..can easily pay…

• kjryth on May 18, 2012 at 3:20 am

exora better

• cardreamer on May 18, 2012 at 9:03 am

Been using the new wish 2010 model with joy. While it may not be the best among the best mpv out there, but it is reliable and evrything are refined.

Pls do not compare this to Exora. Exora is a good mpv but it is not as refined as the wish. Well of course the CFE engine has higer torque, but in term of smoothness and engine reliabilty they could be in different league. We can always put a lorry engine into an mpv for a higher torque, but bet nobody want to feel how it drives!

Price to spec ratio can always put exora on the upper hand, but price is not everything. Peace of mind, well propotioned design in and out, precision engineering, reliablilty and other aspect to each individual also counts.

Rear air cond vents? Well, i would say, good engineering do not need those rear blowers! The new wish has a very effective dedicated rear blower on the dash that the car will be in desired temperature without problem at all. And as a comparison, i’d tested stream aircond, and as an info, wish air cond is more superior. It is now time to stop talking about rear blowers.

I’d tested almost all mpvs in the same category before finally decided to go for this wish, and i am fully satisfied with it. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • krs189 on May 18, 2012 at 12:02 pm

I Have to agree with you

Japanese is always superior to Malaysian

Malaysian should not even bother to make a car let alone MPV. Look at the Exora vs Wish

Malaysian should stay in jungle and stay that way forever….

• you are not malaysian aren’t you?
        if you are from japan, i want to say anybody can beat your makes
        koreans, indians, chinese, malaysians
        go back to your beloved country
        at least there is no big earthquake in malaysia

• japanese? no, thanks
        we can build cars ourselves

• wishful on May 18, 2012 at 3:07 pm

its his car, for sure he will says wish very good.

Yeap, its Nice to sit at the 3rd row on sunny & hot day while being cooled by the front blower. Damn stupid toyota, i’m selling off my 2009 wish for a VW Cross Touran, at least it got 2nd row acond and good/strong torque of 220nm from 1,250rpm all the above 4,000++ rpm. At the moment i need to wring/cane my wish above 4,000rpm just to get decent momentum…stopid Japs!

Btw, the 1.4TSI cross touran road tax is cheap too as a bonus!

• wishful on May 19, 2012 at 8:32 am

not to mentined 3 foc services all in for the first 15k, 30k & 45k. plus 5 yrs warranty/ mobility gurantee

• pelams on May 19, 2012 at 6:58 pm

1 question. are the wish sold here reconds car or from UMW?

• no matter what it is, it’s underpowered engine inside

• toyota salesman detected!!!

• hot mpv like hell
      like bus without aircond on sunny days
      better to get out and find another one

moreover with outdated engine

• very expensive price
      can get 2 exora with the price
      if one fails , still have another one
      if one wish fails, have to travel by taxi, lol

• looking4wish on Dec 21, 2014 at 3:34 am

Cardreamer which model u r using?

• cardreamer on May 20, 2012 at 11:20 am

Well. there you goes…i am being reasonable in giving my comments. I am not a salesman..Actually, i was waiting for the Exora turbo to roll out before i get my wish. If The exora CFE did roll out earlier, it would have find its parking under my porch.

As I said earlier, wish is not the best mpv among the best. You want to know which is the best mpv to drive around? get yours the Mazda 5! I love the 5 very much but my wife prefer the wish, and of course there are other aspect as well..roominess, while mazda 5 is good in handling, but my kids can’t have a good sleep at the back! the 3rd row sit cannot recline! they’re fixed! And while the 5 has a second row blower, it is down there and it is no different from the dedicated rear blower that the wish has, in fact the wish dedicate blower is more effective. design wise, the wish is more aero and ‘fast’..and the 5 also using the old engine with 5 speed gears..when mazda is abt to roll out their new skyactive engine very soon..

The stream is good in handling, but the engine is too outdated! and the second row has no middle headrest! not to mention abt its aircond, i tried 2 units at different places and they are the same…not as good as wish cause it doesn’t has a dedicated rear blower..and the stream is almost more than 5 years now and ready for e new model anytime i supposed…

The wish is the longest mpv compare to 5 and stream..more legroom even adult can sit at the 3rd row comfortably..and can recline too! relax…the service is cheap…

the best thing for me i can go the max of 750km for a full tank of RM98! and wish hold it’s resale value more than the rest! i am not super rich like you all here..:-)

• cardreamer on May 20, 2012 at 3:06 pm

and Touran..yes Touran is also in my wish list, only if it comes here sooner…i’d tested the Pug5008, but not Touran..

Touran is a good German car, but size wise, wish win hands down..3rd row of Touran is cramp! so if you think the 3rd row is very important to your familiy, then Touran is not for you…

Engine wise, of course it has more torque, but then again for me the wish is power enough to haul my family around…i used to travel up Penang and Johor frequently (it is my week end car though) full car with maid and 4 kids…and very enjoyable…140km/h @ 2500 RPM…you will reach 160km/h @ 3000 + RPM…smoothly and powerful enough to move your family along the highway and town…am not staying up genting! haha…:-)

• I always find that shortly after a facelift, a couple of months later, a completely new model will be launched. I am one of those who recently bought the latest Hyundai Sante Fei facelift model currently being sold in Malaysia and I get upset at being told that the next generation new model will soon be launched at the end of the year. Is it true that all car manufacturers will facelift their old models just to get rid of their existing stock in preparation for the launch of their new models?

• alucardbelmonte on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:30 am

well, still using My 2003 (Recond) Toyota Wish and still nothing to complaint about! works like a charm

• car lover pg on Jun 18, 2012 at 12:18 am

I am planning to get a TOYOTA wish. I recently sold of my 2006 model 2.0S. Is there any chance UMW will bring in any unit of completely knocked down (CKD) model in Malaysia. I prefer the local unit compar Ed to the recond ones. Pls someone advise me on this. Thx.

• Eddie on Jul 08, 2012 at 11:39 pm

I love to have Toyota Wish II but the problem is that they do not sale it in Thailand. Bring it back please. It is a damn good car.

• Wish is a good car, with all the safety measures (abs, ebd, vsc, ba and trc). If you buy from umw toyota, better in term of after sales service. For wish 2.0S from umw toyota (cbu thailand), it can go up to 230 kmh. The one from umw is sport version. Rear suspension already double wishbone with stabiliser.

• Wish from umw toyota (some peoples said it was ckd, but actually not. It was CBU thailand)was 2.0S. It was SPORT version. Odometer and fuel indicator, all digital.

• marriq on Aug 06, 2012 at 10:04 am

Most important is Wish 09 sport version got 8 airbag.nothing can compare to it even odyssey absolute rb3,estima(acr50) or even the vellfire platinum(anh20).
    Anything more u would like to ask?

• Double wishbone suspension normally being used by sport and high performance cars.

• More complex and heavier, the double-wishbone system does offer other virtues, including better ride quality than MacPherson struts can typically provide.

• Innocent Godwin on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm

I like it!

• chip1677 on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:34 pm

I use Wish 2004. Its great and proud to use Japenese cars. Use everyday and twice a year go back to Kelantan from Kuala Lumpur with no problem. Can TAPOW all type off car with easilly and comfort for my family. Last month November 2012 my freind by Wish 2006. Wish have great design and better than Exora ‘bulky’ design at back.

• hor sin hong on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:49 pm

i need help with the cps installed in the car…
    it cannot load…
    is there anything that can be done….
    i guess it’s about the map installed inside….

• Plan to get one. … like to max. .!

• taiko on Oct 30, 2013 at 8:10 am

i have already bought the T wish 2009. My advice if u plan to buy the recon car, pls do so through the establish dealer. the quality and spec is much better.they do as they say. don’t buy through the bawah pokok ceri.before i buy this wish, i have already done many research for the various mpv which can afford by my pocket, to accomadate 3 childrens, to see a look like young sporty father,and the most important around 120k only recon wish can give it all. the back row aircon is not an issues. only newbies or the one who not own wish always do blind complaint. finally at the age of 33 can get my dream car. what to do,first, need to buy a house, then can proceed with the wish.CHEERS

• So bro..at the 1st..iam WISHing u,becaused u buy the wish 2009 :). Jadi apa u rasa..? Last gua ada 2004 punya wish, so dah jual..that model gua tangkap gua sudah masuk 3RD HAND..itu punda rasa bila bawa mcm x nak turun..sedap gila bro.. skaeang tgh simpan duit lg cket nk tangkap balik wish 2009..mcm mana u rasa VALVEMATIC BERSERTA DENGAN 7 SPEEDS..? Harap bole kome cedikit pd saya..agar trus bermimpi everynight, smpai laaa dia masuk tido dalam porch rumah gua….hihihi thanxs bro..

• taiko on Dec 11, 2013 at 2:21 pm

to bro ejad.read this bro..
    Salam. setelah membuat penilaian dan pandu uji bermula jan-sep 13 di hampir pelusuk Johor bahru utk beli mpv WISH 09 sport package telah dimiliki. Mengapa jd pilihan? harga yg kompetetif.standby le bulanan rm 13++.sesuai utk bapa umur 3 series. 4 series estima/velfire lebih sesuai. maintenance yg rendah. FC adalah lebih jimat. enjinnya senyap hingga pernah 5 kali lupa nk switch off engine. nasib ada siren.push start, 8 airbag, black fabric, bucket seat,10 speaker, reverse camera, tayar baru, anti rust, 1st layer paint. xde isu 3rd row panas sbb ada blower ditgh dpn khusus utk pasg blkg.open & lock door pun main touch shj. kt japan teknologi ni kira biasa jek.apa pun jika nk beli recond car ni belilah dgn prominent dealer. percentage utk defect dan kena kelentong tu rendah lah. they do as they says. kontra japan recond ni yg paling takut kena saman sbb cermin gelap sbb akta ni masih terpakai.lain tu playernya japan language. cukup setahun ada budget tukar lah. xmahal lebih kurang 12++k dh superb.meter temperature xde. jadi kena lah rajin check water level. nk tmbh kt kedai aksesori pun ada.1.8 ni steering xde audio control. boleh tmbh. original Toyota lebih kurang 1500k. mahal tu.lainnya xde kot. engine oil pun mileage 10k.timing chain pun m 400k. kira mpv sporty yg budget lah utk hidup di Bandar. huhuhu, 6 thn lg baru cita pasal estima pulak.CHEERS!

ramai juga yg bimbangkan ttg mileage kereta recon. ia bergantung kepada nasib dan pemerhatian jugak. mmg ada dealer yg sengaja adjust utk rendahkan. ada juga pembeli yg bernasib baik mileage bwh 20k. bg yg pernah study, bercuti, kursus kt japan boleh tahu di japan ada sesetengah kawasan pengguna kereta mmg jarang bw keluar kereta utk berjalan jauh.sbb public transport system superb. dan yg paling diaorg xsuka charge parking mahal.nk tahu kereta recon tu mmg dh byk kali angkat full passenger atau front passenger shj cuba tgk dkt fabric pintu. mmg ada beza. stim wash pun x bleh bg sama. biasanya yg front passenger shj, fabric pintu blkg adalah lebih bersih berbanding depan. bg yg muslim tgk dgn teliti kesan scratch dekat dashboard dan pvc pintu ada garis halus x.bimbang jika ada ia disebabkan oleh tuan kereta kt japan ni dia bawa anjing yg spesis katik.popular jugak kt sana. enjin yg low mileage ni biasanya bunyi dia lebih halus sikit berbanding dgn yg dh 40-50k ke atas. if dgr dengan teliti boleh tahu. mcm mana nk dgr? minta salesman start 2 keta dgn mileage yg berbeza. kt situ dh bleh tahu dh. melalui pengalaman masih ada dealer atau salesman yg jujur x akan adjust mileage tu. berdoa sebelum beli agar ditemukan dgn dealer@ salesman yg mcm ni. yg boleh negotiate bg kita free gift lagi. paling kurang pun full tank. tail pipe. t-shirt. sticker. keychain.CHEERS!

mmg byk yg mengharapkan harga kereta akan turun dan sentiasa turun. harga beberapa buah prestige kereta dh lama turun. begitu juga dgn tawaran harga rendah bg beberapa jenis kereta nasional dan beberapa jenama import. ini semua market survival. dari segi produk marketing prinsipnya adalah mula dgn fasa pengenalan, pertumbuhan, kematangan, dan kemerosotan. bg recond car atau cbu japan ni ada dlm kelasnya tersendiri. agak sukar utk berlaku penurunan yg sgt berbeza kecuali model sedia ada di hit dgn new replacement produk.mcm wish 2008 ke bwh walau dh di hit new model 09 above harga otr masih x jauh penurunannya. wish 2012 pun hanya facelift shj. if nk pakai juga recond japan x de masalah.asal loan mmg lepas, ada kemampuan, boleh survive, go on shj.buat loan cepat, cepat lah habis loan tu. kelebihan beberapa jenis recond car ni adalah dlm tempoh 5 thn if nk trade in, setakat nk buat downpayment model yg sama atau satu kelas dihadapannya biasanya dh cukup. if loan pun mmg xlepas, xde kemampuan nk pakai, itu yg kdg2 jumpa manusia yg mengkondem kereta recon ni dgn pelbagai jenis sebab.manusia mcm ni if dilihat mmg typical.CHEERS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • razali on Feb 21, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Bro taiko,
    Terima kasih, very informative. Beberapa pertanyaan:
    a. kalau di JB saya hanya nampak lace motor. Ada cadangan ejen lain.
    b. Ada masaalah underpower ke dgn 1.8,

• underpower?…x de lah, ok jer…selamba ambe rembat 120 – 130km/h daki naik terowong bukit tinggi karak highway menghala ke KL…boleh pegi laju lg kalu nak… Tapi kena off eco mode la…

Nak rembat & pikap, guna ‘shiftronic’ la, ade 2 jeis gear…auto & ‘shiftronic’. 7 speed valvematic beb…

Enjin kuat sikit bunyi sebab dia pakai ‘sym’…enjin lama pakai ‘teped’ atas ‘cam’…katanya.

‘3rd row’ panas?…mana ade. anak ambe siap pakai jaket tido kat blkg. Itu pun ‘temp’ set 24-25darjah jer. Temp boleh set sampai 18darjah…ketor beb. lipatkan kerusi ‘3rd row’, setakat 2 – 3 org umur 7 – 8 tahun x de masalah.

mahal?…berpadanan la…dwpayment x sampai rm8k…bulan2 rm1000++…’recond x spec 2010′ jer…heheh

Akhir kata…sangat2 d rekomen utk kegunaan sekeluarga…insyaAllah

Allahu’alam