New Toyota Camry reaches our shores, caught in transit!

UMW Toyota doesn’t bother hiding these days, preferring to let out the news early for upcoming cars, release the estimated price and collect bookings. That’s what they’ve done for the Lexus GS, and now the Toyota 86 and new Camry. The ad blitz for the latter is in full swing, saying that the D-segment exec will be launching in June.

That’s next month, so it’s no surprise that units in transit have been caught on camera. Here, reader YF How who works in Klang saw a white coloured XV50 on the upper tier of a transporter.

Approaching the truck from the back, we can see the seventh-gen Camry rear design, which is region specific. The Thai-assembled Camry differs from the US market one, for instance. Can’t see the variant badge, though.

Speaking of that, three variants will be offered here – two 1AZ-FE-equipped 2.0 litre models (2.0G and 2.0E) and a 2AR-FE 2.5 litre V-spec version. Four colours are available, and they are Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic, White Pearl CS and Attitude Black. White Pearl CS, which we see here, is an RM800 option. Leaked brochure here.

The 2.0E’s indicative pricing is RM152,000, while the 2.0G should be going in the region of RM160,000. Meanwhile, the estimated price for the 2.5V is RM183,000. Click here for pics of the Thai-market Camry, which should give us a good idea of what we’re getting.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Paul Ooi on May 18, 2012 at 10:24 am

Hmm.. Seriously the new Camry does not look impressive..

• MoFaz on May 18, 2012 at 11:42 am

RM150k for 4 speed-auto in this era??.. perhaps it’s true that uncle really doesn’t need latest tech. they’re comfortable with their walkman cassette player and video tape recorder like in TV3 Euro 2012 advert, no point to change to mp3 player and bluray. so, let them be. for slightly younger uncle, go get Kia K5.. modern, much better looking at RM143k with 6 speed and plenty of other features. nuff said.

• Statistician on May 18, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Get a life, don’t watch too much TV ! I thought this is what you are preaching. This Mofaz fella is really a hypocrite.

• MoFaz on May 18, 2012 at 3:20 pm

yeah, get a life dude.. i didn’t say you can’t watch TV at all.

• OMG…good news to uncle…

• paparazi on May 18, 2012 at 7:02 pm

a lot of young people proud to become uncle when drive this toyocar….

• Ya lah….UMW should maintain the price and adding more features in order to compete with Korean cars….

• Statistician, you are an uncle? lol

• Rather buy the second hand C class or 3 series over this ==’ last choice maybe can choice the K & Hyundai,Jetta,Nissan,Mazda and Ford ! coz they r billion better than this old tech car !

• OMG…pls leave this ugly&expensive car on the lorry truck forever…

• nice uncle’s car

• Jimmy on May 19, 2012 at 1:14 am

UMW should just put a CAMRY badge on Altis 1.8 and sell it at RM185000.

• Kelvin Tee on May 18, 2012 at 10:29 am

Meh-ness. Toyota is dead.

• Disappointed on May 18, 2012 at 10:30 am

First time, I see a car maker actually asking the consumers to pay more for less features. Way to stick it to your customers Toyota.

• hway de Cruz on May 18, 2012 at 10:46 am

guess T thinks give malaysians old tech, nothing spend on r&d, save even further, just 4 speed will do lah, n suck millions from us. well, T… open ur eyes big big, ur competitors r way ahead of u…. just take a look at optima k5 alone, full of features. maybe u will b lucky to b able to milk some buyers, certainly not from my group of frens

• Tishaban on May 18, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Toyota in the Japan and US are all highly-specced because the buying public would go for the competitor if Toyota gave them low specced cars.

Malaysian buyers will buy whatever UMW Toyota sells no matter the specs because Toyota is second only to Mercedes Benz in people’s eyes :D Honda, Mazda, BMW, VW doesn’t have much chance :D UMW knowing this buyer preference saves their cost and gives us low spec cars and RM140k hybrids.

Willing buyer willing seller?

• Kelvin Tee on May 18, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Well said. Willing smartass and willing dumbass more like. The smart sell, the dumb buy. :D

• chelsea2012 on May 18, 2012 at 12:58 pm

yes well said bro…both T and H being money sucking company just look at the koreans they are far more advance…similar as we look at samsung 10years ago and now?i think its time to turn our head to korea enough of japan

• goo goo dolls on May 18, 2012 at 5:35 pm

enuf about the korean cars la,outside shell nice,.drivetrain,transmission and handling sucks.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:58 am

And not to mention, Korean car parts wear out much faster than Japs

• rapidshifter on May 18, 2012 at 11:04 am

less feature less recall maa… if not some batches will have recall just like in the US>…
      ..so here less problem la…

• kevin lee on May 18, 2012 at 10:34 am

time to buy passat or jetta

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 12:30 pm

But as most local Canto refers to these Euro Cars as “Sui Kwan”

So be prepared to flag down taxis and park by the road shoulder with the hazard lights on

• Kelvin Tee on May 18, 2012 at 2:57 pm

What era do you live in bro? Admittedly recond cars are more prone to overheating or “sui kwan” as their systems are meant for those countries (UK, JP). But with the CKD and Malaysianization of Euro cars, your comment is no longer valid.

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Right, going up Genting, the cars that sui kwan the most are Benz and Beemers

• dreaming of maserati on May 18, 2012 at 11:26 pm

i honestly see mostly camrys overheating nowadays going up genting

• Sam Loo on May 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Well, I have so far only seen a Camry with hazard lights on by the roadside, due to tyre puncture

• Tall Pan on May 19, 2012 at 10:55 pm

@LEE, Yi Su: based on that thinking, maybe u should go buy an old Sentra that the cabbies drive. Cos they go up like freakin WRC cars and i’ve never seen one breakdown. make sense ah? no right? stop living in the past, u fossil.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:30 am

I have seen a WWD XXXX 308 kwai tai near 1U just last weekend, with vapour coming out from the hood.

So, the sui kwan euro is not a myth, but reality

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:37 am

Given the high no. of Protons and Perodua’s on the road, I still see more Euros like Pugs, Volvos, Beemers and Benz break down on the roads.

Mind you, I do around 30,000-35,000kms a year on my car, which is a lot of time on the road

• Kelvin Tee on May 21, 2012 at 9:18 am

We have owned a Beemer for 10 years and going to replace it with another European car soon. I see no such thing of what you mentioned. I stress again that “Sui Kwan” is not applicable to local spec’d BMW/Merc/European cars. Our ‘old faithful’ 2003 E39 has done 300k km’s thus far and the problems are minor. Mostly just wear and tear.

My point: Any car, especially recond (not for Malaysian market) cars are, and will break down if not well maintained. European cars are not that expensive to buy used, just that they are not cheap to maintain. A well maintained European car will last longer than any car anytime.

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 9:09 am

Deniability only hurts oneself. Lets be truthful about these euro cars.

Mechs don’t simple give names like sui kwan or kwai tai for nothing

• Orange on May 19, 2012 at 4:16 pm

why you still live in the 80’s ? Even 1.3 liter car can go genting no hassle..

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 2:28 am

In the late 80’s and early 90’s, Nissan Sunny 130Y was the taxi of choice to prowl the KL Genting route. Then came the Sentra.

How come till to date, Korean makes don’t become taxis that goes up the mountain?

• Kelvin Tee on May 21, 2012 at 9:29 am

Sam, I have to disagree. The Sonata’s are growing in numbers. I am not a fan of Korean cars, I still think they are shoddy at best. Nice shell but lousy core.

Heck, I even think I am damn racist because I steer away from anything Korean when it comes to cars. But we all have to agree that their presence on the market has been growing. The number of Sonata taxi’s is starting to grow and I think they will be going up Genting in masses soon.

— You heard it here first.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Well, if they start to use Sonatas and Elantras as Genting taxis, I will make sure that I get the exclusive rights for tow truck operator from Genting Sempah to Esso Stn in Genting

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 6:03 am

How can being anti Korean Cars be seen as racist?

It should be seen as a prudent measure to prevent a personal financial disaster

• Kimi Raikkonen on May 22, 2012 at 11:48 am

Love your reply on korean cars being a prudent measure on preventing personal financial disaster.

So far, it has to be said. None of my friends (even the Kimchi supporters) are willing to take the risk and jump into the Korean sea of mediocrity. They rather buy something that is not so fancy and nice – a Proton.

• mondeoman on May 18, 2012 at 12:36 pm

dont forget the new mondeo too..

• dozy888 on May 18, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Totally AGREE!

• Clutch Basah on May 18, 2012 at 10:35 am

I bet all the uncles and aunties on that same road that day were crying in joy.. LOL

• pauline on May 18, 2012 at 10:36 am

gonna make sonata and k5 optima sleepless night, lol.

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Having owned a Korean Car before, I’d rather be called an old fashioned uncle than to lose big amounts on car depreciation associated with Korean Cars.

Till now, there is still poor demand for used Korean.

In mudah.com.my, there is a 2011 registered Sonata 2.4 LF asking for RM89k. That represents a massive RM60k loss for a 1 year old car, which was presumably manufactured in 2010.

• Vader on May 18, 2012 at 2:13 pm

if u really care about the depreciation, dont buy car.. end of your story!

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 10:53 pm

All cars will depreciate. Only the smarter ones will select cars that depreciate lesser

• Unforgiven on May 19, 2012 at 12:07 am

For those who need to get a 2nd hand car, definitely will get a reliable and easy to maintain car…

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:38 am

And a reliable, easy to maintain car is definitely not Sui Kwan euro or Kimchi

• Vince on May 19, 2012 at 12:57 am

Nah, people who cares about depreciation value is simply because they can’t afford the car in the first place. They know there are possibilities they can’t pay back the loan amount therefore they use the resale value to make themselves secure abit.

You can’t afford the depreciation, you can’t afford the car, boy. Face it.

• Sam Loo on May 19, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Like yourself?

Only sohai will want to lose money

• Alpha on May 20, 2012 at 9:52 pm

“You can’t afford the depreciation,you can’t afford the car.”

Wow,that’s gotta be the dumbest statements I’ve heard of in paultan.org

Your statement is saying that someone who bought a 180k japs can’t afford to buy a 143k korean car.

I’m not a korean basher,although I’m a fan of JDM sports car.I admit that recent Korean cars are made way better than they used to be.But still,depreciation is one of the main reason not to get them.

Economically speaking,it’s not wise to get a car that depreciated too much.See it this way.You bought a car today.CASH.for 150k,let say.Then,tomorrow,u saw a better,awesome-er car that u really wanted.So,u decides to sell your car.And guess what,u’ll lose around 20-30k just because the depreciation value of your car is too low.

Yeah,it may sounds a bit kiasu,but who the heck wants to lose money??

Quoting Sam Loo,although it sounds a bit crude,”only sohai will want to lose money”.

• Kambing Gurun on May 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Could not find the car you mentioned. BTW if its a 2.4 YF i.e the current model, the cheapest is 136K, if 2.4 NF then its 89K, but that of course lah massive loss since that one is the older model, not really a good looking one. I also used to own a Korean H (second hand), even that second hand one massive loss when I sold that one just after 2 years of ownership. But Korean H and K nowadays, difficult to say, those seem to hold on value better. I’d rather keep that in mind rather than buying car just because it hold on value (T and H). If the car is boring then why bother? If I want something that hold on value I’d buy gold bars.

• pelali on May 18, 2012 at 5:16 pm

are you refering to this 2011 sonata :

http://www.mudah.my/New+Hyundai+Sonata+2+4+CVVTi+Value+for+Money-7751957.htm

you must be blind. this is not the latest sonata even tho reg in 2011. this is NF, previous gen.. U very sor hai.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:42 am

But the point of discussion is this 2.4NF used to cost around RM150k. So, the owner lost RM61k in a year?

OMG, this is even worse than Pugs

• dreaming of maserati on May 18, 2012 at 11:13 pm

YUP…that ad is for the old sonata NF. probably a 2009 model. not good comparison.

i would have paid cash if a 2011 sonata YF was at 89k.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:57 am

Well, it was registered in 2011, which means that owner paid RM150k for it.

Lost RM61 in a year. Good luck to Korean car owners

• Kelvin Tee on May 21, 2012 at 9:35 am

The car is probably a pre-reg or discounted unit. Much like what ALL car dealers do when their cars reach the end of life/when they are about to introduce new models.

Who with a sound mind would pay FULL PRICE for an outgoing model. And like dreaming of maserati said. It is an old model (circa 2009). YF Sonata has been in the market for a long time.

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 10:24 am

And the YF 2.0 in 2013 will be worth RM90k

• Kelvin Tee on May 21, 2012 at 9:31 am

Your argument is invalid. The Sonata is going for around ~Rm100k.

• CamryTua on May 18, 2012 at 10:40 am

the camry looks so so old…. maybe its suit for uncle2 or aunty eh..

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Sonata looks so modern, only for the first 2 weeks.

It now looks like a deformed child

• nighttrain on May 19, 2012 at 7:18 pm

seriously, this auntie is T SA..

• RON97 on May 21, 2012 at 12:22 pm

LEE, Yi Su <—- I like this guy. got so much time to reply all comments. must be a fresh graduate

• albag on May 18, 2012 at 10:46 am

uncles love it… most importantly, uncles have plenty of cash to help toyota stay alive… toyota u cunning little ass..!!!

• 4G63T DSM on May 18, 2012 at 10:48 am

The Passat is the way to go.

Bloody overpriced Toyota.

• tunguuu on May 18, 2012 at 10:53 am

at least UMW toyota is very smart and efficient (in ripping your money off with huge profit margins)…unlike some other car maker who keeps on postponing their launch of so called world class car and a month or more after launch..its so hard to c one on the road……and their advisor says they need more capital..

• Hyundai De La Junk on May 18, 2012 at 11:01 am

Any Super Hot Seller Arrived, Junk Sonata & Optima will gulung tikar.

Just watch next couple month sales figure, all this loud mouth korean junk fanboy here will eat their own word, anyway most of them can’t afford anything beyond lousy Forte.

• Ryan.C on May 18, 2012 at 11:03 am

old car

• mad aly on May 18, 2012 at 11:03 am

no problem with the features… Malaysian dont care b’coz its from Toyota ma’… haha

• matlimmutu on May 18, 2012 at 11:06 am

K5 with full of features & up to date design from rm144k. Bye² Camry.

• Ugly as hell..probably hell will reject this car as well

• jflee169 on May 18, 2012 at 11:15 am

Consumer: Why Toyota still pair with the 4-speed gearbox and DVVTi on the NEW Camry?
    T : Oh! This is because our 4-speed gearbox and DVVTi are so reliable and durable mar. Less repair cost and our mechanic are FULL of KNOWLEDGE for this STATE of ART technology.
    Consumer: Why it is priced more expensive than the old generation camry?
    T: Aiyo! In T, there are so many ppl to feed, the MD , manager, salesman, shareholders and most important the G leh. If I don’t increase the price, how could T survive and maintain the profit margin.

• I am not a Mazda salesman but to anyone that even consider the new Camry, can you take a look at the CX-5 before you buy the Camry.

Boycott this Camry unless they drop it to 130k range.

• Rulered on May 18, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Only thing reliable and durable is DVVTI and 4 speed? The rest are all unreliable such as extra safety features such as VSC, 6 airbags, isofix, etc that’s why it’s not offered is it? How thoughtful of T.

• The usual crap by Toyota again. When its competitors are going ahead full steam, they are taking their own sweet time by introducing bs to malaysia public.
    But still some ignorant malaysia fools will end up buying this piece of junk….

• A4paper on May 18, 2012 at 11:23 am

Done with T! Very reliable car.. But booooringgg…

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:35 am

Would you rather get an interesting K5 or Sonata only to learn that 1 year down the line, 25% of your investment is gone?

• Arun 12b on May 18, 2012 at 11:28 am

one more ugly car frm toyota..

• bystander on May 18, 2012 at 11:30 am

Hyundai, Kia, Volkswagen, Ford, Mazda, Honda, Nissan all come to war with laser cannon, sniper rifle and missile launcher.
    Toyota come with pistol expecting to win the war. Why? cos uncles and aunties just love 4 speed pistols!

• all talk talk like u all driving Ferrari.. bash every single model here in paultan, like you know sh*t. if uncle afford to buy this car, that’ because he have money. how about you? go to work also naik LRT only, looser!

• gagger on May 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

has has has.. he HAS

• C15H20ClN3O on May 18, 2012 at 2:49 pm

And you’re butt hurt because? When we’re stating the obvious we don’t know sh*t? And we use LRT to avoid traffic jams so we’re losers? Nice conclusions Uncle Ash. now go away with the wind..

• C15H20ClN3O.. i’m back, Haha! (with my car, of coz)

• Kelvin Tee on May 18, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Oh I wish I can show you how much I agree with you.. Minor correction though: Some people don’t know sh*t about cars.

Blow blow away with the wind and hope it opens up your mind that LRTs are saving the world by reducing pollution! Selfish SOB.

• theanswer on May 18, 2012 at 11:34 am

to be honest i like camry. but in future to use my money and buy it..definitely no since i know with the same amount i can get better spec from other brand. to Jap brand, pls at least gives more safety features..more airbags. kedekut lah u!

• Arun 12b on May 18, 2012 at 11:38 am

ugly

• Arun 12b on May 18, 2012 at 11:39 am

ugly toyota

• Arun 12b on May 18, 2012 at 11:40 am

one more uncle car

• Kelvin Tee on May 18, 2012 at 11:41 am

Hopeless design, unrefined and unchanged over the years. Ugly as hell, technology old as hell.

What else is good about this 4 wheels on a steel frame? Even the PROTON seems better than this piece of shit. It is due to people buying the brands rather than cars that irks me. And that is how Toyota survives.

• chicken nugget1 on May 18, 2012 at 11:42 am

TEANA AND SONATA IS THE WAY TO GO. THIS CAR LOOKS ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE

• alldisc on May 18, 2012 at 11:46 am

this camry is not from thailand anymore, right?

it is on the same low-loader as the Fortuner which is a CKD. i believe this camry is from Shah Alam factory.

I think UMW realises the market is getting smaller nowdays. Not only because their models are lowly specced, but there are just too many competitors around.

in D segment alone, there are Accord, Teana, Mondeo, Sonata, Optima K5, Mazda 6, VW Passat and Peugoet 508 not to mention the smaller Peug 408 and VW Jetta which are both heavily armed with equipment just to woo buyers.

The size of cake remains the same more or less but everybody wants to have a bite. 10 years ago they just have Cefiro and Accord to worry about and perhaps, Citroen C5, Sonata, Optima and 407 which barely made a dent on them.

The lessons learnt were obvious by their lowish target on the new Avanza.

UMW need not to worry on the little profit they make by selling less cars, their main agenda now is on Oil & Gas but it is just as important to maintain toyota business entity or else toyota japan may award the business to someone else example DRB group or, Cergazam perhaps?

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Are we sure that Sonata, K5, Pugs are in the same category?

I would have thought that these should be compared with Geely or Tata

• dreaming of maserati on May 18, 2012 at 11:24 pm

you can compare your old lousy piece of junk camry to rolls royce phatom if you want. shyok sendiri only.

but everyone knows its just like an outdated garbage like the old perdana V6 which even looks better than this fugly scrap metal called camry xv50.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:44 am

I agree, how can we put Hyundai/Kia in the same bucket as Honda & Toyota?

Its like comparing MacDonalds and Tony Romas

• PetrolLeg on May 18, 2012 at 11:59 am

Whatever the price is there will still be businessman around the corner buying them, in terms or strategy I would think they should start getting the attention of the generation before them and start making the transition before it’s too late. Newer generation with that kind of purchasing power will definitely shun off this make by just looking at what it has to offer.

• uncle sam on May 18, 2012 at 12:04 pm

uncle very luv this car. oozes uncleness in every angle. Somemore the wood trimming….. make me really stim. all uncle with me on this ?

• Let me say this LOUD & CLEAR.

BUY THE MAZDA CX-5, same price more feature better technology (bigger too). And for resale value tards, it’s a jap car, resale value good good.

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Mazda cars have poor resale value, just like Mitsu, Nissan, Subaru

• OMG…u r wrong. Mazda resale value can compete with T & H. Mazda bravo.

• Kelvin Tee on May 21, 2012 at 9:38 am

As a previous owner of M5. I have to agree though. Mazda resale value is not particularly good if compared to T and H.

In the end, in the market the brands matter.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm

I like Mazda cars, but in Malaysia, its difficult to get a buyer for this make

• drMpower on May 18, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Its not all bad.a toyota is proven all round.yes this is on shoe string budget and perhaps imagination of headless person but with a great background and super impressive 5 decades of motoring, no one can fault someone else for choosing a toyota

boring it may be for you,and feel free to choose whatever u want but u never have the right for speaking nonsense about a prestigious brand that pioneered reliability

• mondeoman on May 18, 2012 at 12:31 pm

yawn…

• Its time to UMW suck the profit margin from T die hard fan..

• Iqtidar Ahmad on May 18, 2012 at 12:48 pm

For a 152k, might as well get a Jetta.182k can get u a Passat.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Jetta 1.4 and Passat 1.8.

In terms of taxes paid, i would say that VW is really ripping us off

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 10:22 am

Jetta/Corolla = C-Segment
      Camry/Passat= D-Segment

• The new Camry is to be assembled in Shah Alam.

• Edmont on May 18, 2012 at 1:00 pm

no VSC and TRC.. very dissapointed.. :(

• meteoraniac on May 18, 2012 at 1:44 pm

uncle/aunty dont care all these things one la, too fancy for them to comprehend… they just want to be seen in Camry regardless of the technology or interior

• kjryth on May 18, 2012 at 1:16 pm

proton better

• 1BatangNaik on May 18, 2012 at 1:23 pm

How come no matter what everyone says, people will still flock and queue to buy Toyota’s or Honda’s…… Stranger than Fiction indeed

• I heard from a toyota SA, there are already more than 2000 bookings up to date, wtf malaysian?!

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 10:56 pm

That is because :-

Toyotas are known for relaibility
      Toyotas are known for durability
      Toyotas seldom gives surprises, unlike Koreans and Sui Kwan Euros
      With all the values added up over the years, these popular makes of Toyotas have great 2nd hand value

• dreaming of maserati on May 18, 2012 at 11:25 pm

new toyota salesman spotted!

• That is already in HISTORY!! And with your comment, i really doubt your knowledge is up to date or you still maintain in 80’s ,like your father do !!

• Im Toyota Fan boy. My brother is waiting for this New Camry. But sorry to say that i asked my brother to look for other models rather than this old tech 4speed vehicle.
    Sudah over limit of temper la…

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:49 am

As your brother to get a Sonata. Just go ahead.

2 years down the line, when he wants to sell, salesman will point him at a Hilux.

Why you may ask? Just go to autoworld.com.my and look for threads from this guy sammyvellu

• sudonano on May 18, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Okay on a positive note, maybe UMW is planning to ‘help’ the existing Camry owners by saving their resale value. IMHO the 07-11 Camry is WAY better than this. I’d rather go with a Ford Mondeo or VW Passat or even the Optima K5. Sorry no to Sonata, too many lines IMHO, but different taste for different people?

• ss427 on May 18, 2012 at 2:24 pm

This new XV50 Camry was recently launched in SG as well. Yes it continues to hail from Thailand. We have 2L, 2.5L and the Hybrid. The 2L is so bad that the salesman advise us to get the 2.5L anytime.

It was a preview event and Toyota SG, in a strange twist of irony, shot themselves in the foot by placing the current Gen6 Camry 2.4 in one far corner of the showroom while putting the new one in the middle with some flowers ard it.

I was there together with a few strangers and all were shaking heads when they checked out the new Camry in details…esp when the current Gen6 Camry is just not far away.

The shape looks older than the current model. Those sharp edge styling really makes the Camry looked downdy and sloppy. Those tailights reminds me of a old Cefiro of the early 2000s.

The sheetmetal somehow feels thinner than before and the doors closed with a hollow clang rather than a fairly solid thug in the current model.

What irriates me is the overall lower quality of the plastic used in the cabin… No, Toyota has yet to degenerate to Proton standards… but compared to current gen Camry, you’d find alot of hard, shiny plastic at the lower part of the dash… esp on the driver side where the aux button switches are.

The central console wood looked really fake despite Toyota adding a glossy clear coat over it. And pls Toyota, don’t you know that it is 2012 these days? Fake wood inserts are passe and it will make the car looks damn dated and tired.

The worst is the gearshifter area and the rear aircon vents.. the shifter bezel looks like they’re adapted from Vios and the shifter itself is actually wobbly even though it is in Park! :(

The rear a/c vents looks extremely cheap and I swear they could break off after some yrs of normal usage.

The instrument cluster is, IMHO, not exactly an improvement over the current one. The new one looks quite cluttered and the fonts used somehow looks washout under bright sunlight.

Interior space is about the same as current model. Toyota claimed there’s more rear legroom in the new model, but me being a 1.85m tall, certainly can’t feel it

Despite touted as an all new model, Toyota still uses plenty of corp parts from the parts bin… and things eg turn indicator stalk, p/w switches and even the front seats, are carried over from the Gen6 Camry.

Major equipment list for Camry 2.5 in SG

– 4 airbags (not 6!). There’s no curtain airbags! You gotta get the Hybrid to get 6?!
    – VSC and traction control, same as current gen Camry
    – 16″ wheels… Kia Forte has 17″ Toyota, you really love big cars with tiny wheels right?
    – auto HIDs/wipers, same as current gen.
    – Factory fitted Sat Nav, but map is locally installed by dealer.
    – Plasma ioncluster filter for a/c, same as current gen
    – 2.5L dual VVTi and 6AT….
    – Push button start, same as current gen

Equipment NOT found in SG Camry 2.5L but otherwise available in Korean cars

– Factory fitted rear view backup camera (Sonata and Optima, Sportage, Sorento has it:))
    – Cheap sounding 6 speakers… (Optima has 7 Infinity speakers and a active subwoofer)
    – the HID headlamps doesn’t turn with the steering wheel angle. Both Sonata 2.4 and Optima SX does :)
    – The powered front seats doesn’t offer user saveable settings Optima SX does :)
    – ventilated front seats. latest 2012 Optima SX in SG has them. :)
    – No 60:40 splitfold rear seatbacks, same as current gen. It offers a tiny trunk passthrough only. Both Sonata 2.4 and Optima SX offers full 60:40 spliffold
    – No DRL! Optima SX has them :)

• sonyman on May 18, 2012 at 3:38 pm

bro, looks like u really dont like this car. or this current model is very disappointing to you,

get other makes loh, uncles cannot be bothered with side airbags, DRL, VSC, or even push start button.

they just want a car that dont break down at the side of the road. Very very malu u know.

• ss427 on May 18, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Well just like the new 2012 Civic, CRV and now the Camry, the Japs are degressing with each successive generation.

And then there’s the superbly awful Gen11 Corolla Axio. Although it is meant for JDM and not for export, it is a big step backwards from the current boring as hell Gen10 Corolla Axio… Toyota is finished if they continue this way

http://toyota.jp/ Hope you can read Japanese :)

Their girls are kawaii, but Japs really forgot how to build nice cars already.

Anyway, since when did other much better designed and engineered brands broke down along the road?? Have you seen the Sonata and Optima broke down before? :)

• Kambing Gurun on May 18, 2012 at 4:59 pm

They’d be doomed if they sell this one in malaysia and call it the new camry :-D
          http://toyota.jp/crowncomfort/index.html

• sonyman on May 19, 2012 at 8:52 am

bro, you probably not uncle, anyway cars today regardless of brand dont usually break down easily, probably peugeot will do.

but then again, if you put urself into 50 to 60 years old, you don’t know so much about car.

what will you buy, the most conventional car in the market. the most comfortable in the market. the biggest in size in the market. Camry has all this.

also the uncles mechanic also 50 to 60 years old will tell him too many electronics will make the car break down easily. cause the mechanic dont know how to repair.

so you see the scenario? typical malaysian senior citizen buying a car.

priority. Comfort, space, image, and resale value.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 7:45 am

What is the point of fitting a 17 inch rims on tyres for lower end cars like Forte? Do you know how much these tyres cost to replace? Rediculous !

• Maaajeeedaaa on May 18, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Uweeeeekkkkkk……2.0 is so Down…. 2.5 is too expensive…

• oko028 on May 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

new and with shitty specs

• the latest 4AT car is in TOWN!!! oh wait…are we living in 1990s?

• matlimmutu on May 18, 2012 at 3:14 pm

tell our uncles, don’t buy this car unless the price is cut.. hahaha.

• Kambing Gurun on May 18, 2012 at 3:16 pm

The title of this article “New Toyota Camry reaches our shores, caught in transit!” should be changed to “New Toyota Camry reaches our shores, caught in transit…” No need the exclamation mark, just same boring T. Old looking design, 4AT somemore…

• ss427 on May 18, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Click here if you really need to know more about the new Camry….

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product.php?model=camry

• no doubt is very good work car, still the most impresive car than other car maker, Toyota deserve to get world no,1 car maker. the rest pui pui pui

• Being a proud owner of mazda 6 2.5. No doubt spare part is hard to find but at least its pleasing to look at BUT not this one

• Toyota just gone backwards in every single way, this new Camry seriously made the current Camry look so much better!

If you really want a Camry, take this advantage to buy the current gen at a much lower price since the new one is launching soon. If not, don’t buy one at all, the new one is simply just not worth it!

• Kambing Gurun on May 18, 2012 at 6:38 pm

The same step taken by Honda in the styling of the new Civic. Seriously what happened to both T & H?

• Maserati on May 18, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Very nice car. Lets see the end of kia k5 and sonata lah for good. Anyway hardly seen a lousy k5 on the road.

Buying korean car is like getting a sexy hot gf but attitude like crap. Excitement will only last a while .

Look at the forte now in terms of design looks like its a 5 year old car already . Even the honda city which is older than the forte looks more modern and solid compared to the so called c segment forte.

Camry is set to rule the market again! Good riddance korean junk!

• ss427 on May 18, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Once again Maserati bro, thank you for making a fool outta yourself in this board and provided us with lots of witty humor… LOL

• =-='' on May 18, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Toyota fan boys…..can’t seem to accept the fact that Koreans are giving the Japs a run for their money………….

• Kelvin Tee on May 21, 2012 at 9:40 am

Agreed. YF/K5 are aplenty in the Golden Triangle, KL.

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Funny, I see more Beemers in KLCC and Bukit Bintang area than Korean Junks

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 5:48 am

I can’t wait to see the faces on Sonata and K5 owners when they sell it off 2 years on.

The word used widely in KL for these owners are “Hailat Lor”

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 6:32 am

On the contrary, the Kimchi’s are really helping out in the sales of Toyotas because the resale value of pre-owned Korean cars just gets worse by the year

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:47 am

I hardly see any K5 either. Have seen a few YF before.

If you read the chinese papers, still, the victims of car jack are never drivers of Korean cars. Just wonder why :)

• seancorr on May 18, 2012 at 6:40 pm

No stability and traction control so…fail!

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm

How do you know that these things will work in a kimchi 1 year later?

• paparadzi on May 18, 2012 at 7:19 pm

UMW for Toyota is becoming like Kah Motors for Honda. Kah Motor’s Honda had way too many accessories and low spec; UMW’s Toyota haven’t go the accessories way but the low spec thing will get them undone some day.

I’m driving an ACV40 now; not happy with the small details such as no sunglass holder and no RDS on the radio. ACV50? Not the Malaysian version, thanks.

• When the new Camry launches, I will be the first to go see it. Why?

Because it would be interesting to see what technique the salespersons would use to justify the new Camry with so high price yet so low spec.

I shall also bring along the brochures of Optima, Passat, Teana, 508, etc… Haha! Joking only, but im just saying. Pity Toyota salespersons, it’s gonna be tough to sell new Toyotas now.

• i will also bring along ‘shitty’ preve and exora bold brochures
      asking why toyota is so backward to plonk in stone-aged engines in their line-ups while ‘shitty’ proton cars already have turbocharged engines

• LEE, Yi Su on May 18, 2012 at 11:00 pm

And when you show up with the sui kwan car brochures, the salesman will take out a copy of motortrader and char you on how low the resale value of these cold door cars are

• you know the rule of thumb?
        the more expensive the car , the more you lost when you sell it back
        you do the math

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 6:08 am

Work the percentages.

2011 Sonata 2.4 NF depreciated RM61k (ori 150k).
          2010 Elantra 1.8 depreciated 55k (ori RM110)

Will you still buy a car that slides down the hill faster that the Greek economy. THink!

• that’s for the previous gen Camry. I don’t think the new Camry holds its value well.

• Guusdur on May 18, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Look how funny those Proton blind fool fanboys.

They’re cursing Toyota with under-spec cars yet still getting big sales.

But they keep quiet when Proton PREVE with ‘almost’ full-spec but still big doubts on quality and lots of rejected PREVE car loan applications.

Nothing to be proud of when you’re competing on unlevel ground.

Only small company with small mentality will always do that.

• already admittted, lol
      see now what car is under spec?
      jap cars!!!

after kicked off by koreans and europeans, now malaysians

go malaysia!!!

• toyota salesman detected!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• autojohndoe on May 19, 2012 at 5:37 pm

while talking about big company/ small company…

you just sell the car they make with their name already big…

the easiest job to do…

the simplest answer i always get is… “Japan made ma… sure good…”

• ss427 on May 18, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Oh one more boo boo to add on.

The new Camry 3rd headrest on the rear seat is now MOULDED together with the seatback! :( In the current Camry, it is a seperate, fully adj piece with anti whiplash capability…How would a fixed headrest offer the same kind of crash safety as a fully adj piece is simply beyond me.:(

Also, in the base 2L model, you get only ONE seatback pocket, and that’s on the passenger side. I guess it is very expensive to put another one on the driver seat back… You have to get the 2.5L to enjoy both!… !@#$% Oh well that certainly did boost Toyota profit alittle….

Base 2L model came with fabric seats… in SG, you can opt for locally installed leather for an extra $1200…

And to demostrate how stingy Toyota is when they equip their new cars, the new Camry still comes with conventional wet cell battery that requires freq refill of batt water!… Mannn… I thought maint free batt is the norm now? All new Korean cars in SG came with maint free batt…

And make sure you check out that slim, flimsy chrome grill when the new Camry is in your showrooms. It is startling that how much materials have been shaved off in building the new Camry’s grill as compared to the current gen. As a result, the chrome simply doesn’t have that deep, shiny look in it even when brand new. Ok, at least it doesn’t look wavy like Proton, but the sheen is certainly much reduced as compared to ACV40.

The same applies to the chrome surrounds for the foglamps. They look really thin and brittle.

The center console armrest now comes with just ONE storage bin. It used to be 2 layer… You open the hatch and all you see is the deep storage hole all the way through… And there are very visible injection mould pin marks on the lid edges… just like the current G10 Altis… :(.

• shhhoooooohhhhh get out from here ford salesman
      this is toyota la, can sell well even if they are under specced

• Jimmy on May 19, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Can you tell us more? Interesting.
      At RM185000, we better buy C-class or 3-series. Say no to Altis at Merc price.
      Similarly, say no to the current E-class as its exterior is Toyotish — ugly.

• muncy on May 18, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Maserati = toyota fan boy
    ss427/fiesta = ford salesman / ford fan boy

lol

• dreaming of maserati on May 18, 2012 at 10:47 pm

oh no!!! we gonna see this ugly piece of shit everywhere. pity my sore eyes!!!

• dozy888 on May 18, 2012 at 11:36 pm

Totally agree! Piece of shit! Only stupid malaysian will buy this car! Just because it’s a Toyota!

Wake up Malaysian! Don’t always think about re-sale value ???? If you buy this car, you are bound to be ripped off!!!

• Unforgiven on May 19, 2012 at 12:04 am

Remove the advantage group in M’sia first, then you’ll see what cars most ppl buy…

As long as the advantage group/AP kings are here to stay, we’ll still be seeing P1/P2/Naza/T/H…

• MoFaz on May 19, 2012 at 11:44 am

you mean, without AP there will be a lot more conti cars here? no AP king in Singapore, Indonesia and Australia but i still see more Toyota than other brands.. even in tax-free country like Arab too!
          yeah,.. conti cars have better tech and mostly fully equipped with gadgets, but once they break.. it will break your wallet too. this is what most people really care about. i agree that toyota is reliable but please la get rid of those 4 speed auto and give 6 speed as standard in this Camry…

• More ppl in Malaysia will get eye cancer

• Mrbmwman on May 19, 2012 at 12:10 am

In my opinion,the new camry still looks the same in terms of specs as the old one. Therefore, i feel its not worth buying n have already advise my dad to get the passat instead of Accord and Camry,as it is more exclusive n less common than both Toyota n Honda.

• Mrbmwman on May 19, 2012 at 12:14 am

The new camry really disappoints me in terms of design,specs n safety. Still the same as the old one. Therefore, have already advise my dad to get the Volkswaegen Passat than Toyota Camry or Honda Accord. The passat beats both T and H iN Performance, handling n safety features.

• Do consider the new Peugeot 508 too!

• When NAZA launch the CKD 508 at RM147k … u will cry!

• Mrbmwman on May 20, 2012 at 12:14 am

Thanks for the advice,will tell this to my dad n let him decide between Peugot 508, Ford Mondeo or Volkswaegen Passat. No more Toyota or Honda, :-)

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:28 am

When you dad sells the Pug or the Kimchi, he would yell “Hailat Lor”

• autojohndoe on May 19, 2012 at 5:38 pm

hey people….

LET THE UNCLES DECIDE LA… they are the one who will buy… dont condemn so much la…

• tishaban on May 19, 2012 at 6:26 pm

To all you posters, when you become an older uncle/auntie please put your money where your mouth is and don’t buy a Camry! :D

• alldisc on May 20, 2012 at 1:21 pm

many ‘children’ here do not realise they will become uncle one day too…

the thing is that, ppl who buy camrys are ppl who has settled down in life, not rushing into anything, has vast life experience and easily not fooled.

they have a stability in life and their concern in cars are just A to B mode of transport. doesnt matter if it has 12 speed gearbox or a simple 4 speed. and dont bother much on looks, i mean they spend most of the drives inside the car and they parked their cars in the complex like everyone else so it doesnt make much differences one arrives in what car

• Looking at the comments on this forum and topic on Camry …… this car is not going to sell well in Malaysia ??

Well, the sales numbers will tell the real story ……. wonder how many of this forumers are really car owners to begin with …. hmmm

Say whatever you guys/gals want about this so called Uncle car ….. still will sell in great numbers. I maybe “wrong” ….. from the forumers comments, KIA Optima, Mondeo, Sonata will be the next No.1 best seller …… hahaha

• catdog on May 19, 2012 at 8:43 pm

well said bro…

• Sam Loo on May 19, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Hyundai Sonata K5 as best seller?

Just look at its resale value. A 2010 2.4 NF going for RM7k and a 2010/2011 NF going for RM89k in mudah.com.my

Good luck to Malaysians

BTW, I dun mind owning a 2010 2.4 YF when its resale value hits RM90k end of this year

• Sam Loo on May 19, 2012 at 11:17 pm

I heard since 2010 when Sonata YF was launched and it was said to be a Camry & Accord killer.

2 years on, based on sales numbers published, I still do not see Sonata in the top 50.

The closest was Forte. Wonder which fictitious dreamer made this story up

• alldisc on May 20, 2012 at 1:12 pm

it was the same when Sonata EF was launched some 10 years ago, at that time sold at Corolla Altis price – said to be Camry/Accord killer.

• sick&tired on May 20, 2012 at 12:54 am

if you want to talk about sales figures, then why not talk about worldwide sales?? Kia & Hyundai are catching up fast with Toyota and has even overtaken Toyota in Europe.

• Good one

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 9:51 pm

And think that Kia & Hyundai should start selling more of their 2nd class cars to the world. This will push the RV down further. as supply > demand, plus, widens the RV gap between kimchi and sushi vehicles

• polo saga on May 19, 2012 at 10:44 pm

darn, this junk’s so UGLY!!!!!

• orange on May 21, 2012 at 12:47 am

omg…RM150k without smart key system…rather go for KIA OPTIMA K5

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 5:52 am

I year later, the optima 2.0 will be worth RM100k (if lucky) and the Camry 2.0 will still worth RM135k.

Unless you find that your money is fishy and love to lose it, please buy Korean Cars

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 9:07 am

When you sell the Kia 1 year later, you may want to beg me to buy at RM80k

• kelvin on May 21, 2012 at 1:09 am

complaint so much no use.. end up u can see the new model again flooding in very corner of the street.. just like the current one.. what the mindset for malaysian is toyota and honda the reseller value is better.. maintenance is easier.. less headache.. VW passat is good car.. anytime win hand down compared with this new camry.. but why ppl still choose toyota.. because this is malaysia.. what majority need just a less headache car with better reseller value.. because uncle aunty no money to rugi on car.. so the rest is not important anymore.. haha.. for these kind of spec.. it really not worth that much.. may be 2.0G should bring down to 110k to match the spec..

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 2:26 am

So Malaysia needs more cold door car supporters like you to keep the auto industry at a healthy balance. Please go ahead and buy a colder door car like Volvo instead.

• kelvin on May 21, 2012 at 10:32 am

yeah.. i booked a cold door car camry! :D

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 5:51 am

Good to know that you still have your humour now. Just wait till the day when its time to sell your cold door car, the salesman will point you at a Hilux, as he will not need to say the word “lei hailat lor”

• kelvin on May 22, 2012 at 11:36 pm

yeah.. the hilux salesman is you right.. look at the mirror every morning n pray.. can i sell a hailat car today? or else u jialat + hailat.. cant hit the sales quota.. boss ketuk kepala… haha.. that y every day n night take AK47 n tembak ppl who don’t like toyota at paultan to boost ur sales… name ur branch location maybe i can go and have a look… wahahaha

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 6:35 am

Would love to see the look on your face when you sell your kimchi. The RV gap of kimchi and sushi cars are widening by the day

• Hyundai Fan on May 22, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Toyota is really making a fool of people by selling a car that is still using 4 speed engine without start/stop button & sunroof but with the same high price as previous generation model.This new Camry is designed for those who loves uncle look.

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 6:39 am

4 speed engine or 4 speed auto gearbox? Looks like being a Hyundai fan, you seem toi know very little about cars, or the Hyundai Salesman sold you a kimchi Sonata YF with a Sonata NF gearbox and engine.

Better check under the hood. Koreans are a bunch of cheaters

• David D on May 24, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Cheaters? Let me correct it for you.

Sonata NF- Uses the Theta engine, 4/5-speed slushboxes.
        Sonata YF- Uses the Theta 2 engine, and 6-speed gearboxes.

You call that cheating? Well, how about Toyota, sticking with their 4-speeders for ASEAN markets like ours, whereas Honda and gang has moved up to better engines and gearboxes, even though it’s for our ASEAN market? Explain that, will you? The US/Aussie spec Camry any day over our ASEAN Camrys.

Wanna lie? Get more proper research before you keep talking crap here. And a reminder for you:- Don’t try to be a new anti-Korean, Jap, or whatsoever, who talks with his mouth rather than the brain. No better than Maserati, Hyundai De La Junk, and the likes, all full of crap but no substance.

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 9:55 pm

This is a Toyota Camry thread. Why are kimchi cabbages like you doing here in the first place.

Making commentary remarks about the Korean make that you purchase is not going to make its Re-Sale value any better.

So, its either you ditch this cabbage of yours now (and lose an arm) or ditch it 10 years later when its fully depreciated. Mind you that you might have to pay the junkyard a few thousand bucks just to accept your kimchi for scrapping.

The Camry then will still fetch easily RM50k. So, who is the sorhai now?

• David D on May 24, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Spoken just like an arrogant and ignorant person. First of all, we’re just expressing our opinions regarding the car, hence why comparisons to the Koreans and Contis take place. Got a problem with that?

Secondly, your comments about how Korean cars drop in value by large percentages is nothing but sweeping statements. Do cars drop in 100% in value? Your statements about Korean cars having 0% value after 10 years reeks of sheer idiocy and stupidity, the hallmark of a brand-obsessed person who cannot accept changes, and resort to such rubbish comments whenever his/her favourite brand gets stiff competition.

Thirdly, bear in mind that the Camry 2.0, the ACV30 model, when new in 2003, costs circa 140k, whereas the EF Sonata 2.0 costs 110k, brand new in 2003 as well.

The market price now? Well, a quick look at the market showed that a Sonata fetches 22k, whereas the Camry fetches 52k. Yes, the Camry has better resale value, but let’s not forget, shall we, that the Camry costs more to buy, and that’s quite alot of money to pay for a nearly 10 year-old car. So that’s where the extra 30k went to buying the car.

No one here is the so-called ‘sorhai’, but you’ve made a complete fool of yourself. I don’t know what else you wanna say, but i propose you use your brains before you keep pressing the ‘anti-Korean’ rubbish of yours. Grow up dude!

• Sam Loo on May 25, 2012 at 7:05 am

You are obviously one of those sorhai that could not get rid of the rotten cabbage and stuck with the inferior car for many more years to go.

It’s OK. I was there before. Just have to feel the “dog eye look you down” thingy until you sell this car and get a real car instead.

After owning a kimchi, I will swear never to own one again, I was the same state of denial as you. So, I was technically as sorhai that made the mistake. I learnt from mine. So I am just doing GOD’s work and spreading the news about this evil lurking on the roads

• David D on May 25, 2012 at 3:10 pm

God’s work? More of your bigoted mind. God never asked one to flame such childish hatred on one another, and it’s you who’s your own undoing. Don’t be a complete idiot here. This is a site for car lovers, not for people like you, keep talking about how you’re doing ‘GOD’s work’, ‘evil lurking’. What a childish adult.

• Seems a lot of trashing that is going on here. Tho I am not siding anyone, but one needs to be clear that it is a complete norm for ppl to compare models/makes. Keep it healthy and less sarcastic guys. If you really need to trash someone, be more civilized. Period.

Moving back to the comments of this new Camry, I would say that it is a tad disappointing, both in the looks department and technology deployed. Again, I am no specific Einstein when it comes to car, however believe first impression counts. Adopting a 4 speed transmission in todays’ automotive development is rather “surprising”, let alone the less attractive external design. What more with the hefty price tag, T is either over confidence or too arrogant for its own good. With the vast variety of options in today’s world (and in the coming 6-9 months period), it will be interesting to see how T intends to sell this model.

• forexample321 on May 30, 2012 at 3:36 am

Hyundai sonata and kia k5 are very good looking car on the outside. But these two korean make is not a very practical car. The roof of the car behind is low unlike camry has a high ceiling, very comfortable.

Kia K5 behind also got no aircon vent. Resale value of korean car needless to say , everybody knows. Not trying to promote camry but is just stating the facts.

Camry was the best selling japanese car in america for consecutive 10 over years. Furthermore toyota has a low cd so the interior is very quiet. It has good suspension making it less vibration when is moving on rough surface. The interior is also very luxurious, think none of the japanese D-segment car is comparable to it.

Now with another 5k, you will get a sequential shifter in the new camry. If you were to do a survey on the most popular D-segment car, there is no doubt that camry will be the one.

Although volk wagen passat is slightly more expensive and powerful than the camry, but it tend to lose out in the resale value, the spaciousness and the cost of maintenance of the car.
    n care