Volkswagen Polo R WRC Street concept, launch in 2013

Shoehorning big engines into tiny cars is what Volkswagen do best and this time, it looks like they’ve outdone themselves, again. This week, at the Wörthersee festival in Austria, the Wolfsburg-based carmaker has unveiled the Polo WRC Street concept car.

As you can see, the design inspiration for the concept is taken from Volkswagen’s WRC car. It wears new aero parts to make it look close to the racing version. These additions include a redesigned front bumper with larger vents and lip spoiler, a rear diffuser, black wheel arch extensions, a rear wing and bigger alloy wheels.

On the inside, the car comes with new sport seats and an Alcantara-wrapped steering wheel.

Powering the very sizzling Polo will be a 2.0 litre TSI four-cylinder engine that generates 220 PS, 10 PS more than the Golf GTI. And because this is the hottest street version of the Polo, it comes as no surprise when Volkswagen says they have tuned up the chassis. This Polo R WRC Street will have lowered sports suspension.

The launch is expected to happen late 2013.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• With rumors of Polo GTI reaching 200km/h, this is even scarier !

• mosas on May 18, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Polo gti already can reach more than 220km/h lor. This one can go higher than 240km/hr easily with 220bhp on tap

• @8250rpm on May 18, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Hello nowadays almost every car can exceed 200kmh oredi laa…
      Nothing to ‘rumour’ about la unless speeds in excess of 240kmh..

• Volksawgen Lover on May 18, 2012 at 11:21 am

Yum yum. I hope I can get good pay to buy this for me and my wife.

• ismail saad on May 18, 2012 at 11:22 am

perghh.. giler lahh

• Good, I gonna get safety helmet and ready to drift around the streets in Klang Valley.

• beamboy on May 18, 2012 at 1:29 pm

VW should consider new design for polo,golf cars…not just keep on face lifting every time…then whts the diff between earlier and the current and future designs?

• teelim on May 19, 2012 at 12:49 am

I like!!!

I hope it is available in 5 door version as well!

• Chaos on May 20, 2012 at 11:40 am

Could it be? That VW is taking an idea from Peugeot.

The seats remind me of the Peugeot 207SV seats!!!!