Jazeman Jaafar wins F3 Euro Series race at Brands Hatch

Jazeman Jaafar, the young Malaysian who is competing in the British F3 International Series, has become the first Malaysian to win an F3 Euro Series race, with a lights-to-flag victory at Brands Hatch over the weekend. Jazeman is a guest driver in the Euro Series.

“Above all, I am racing in the Formula 3 Euro Series this weekend in order to gain experience, to learn and to get to know the Hankook tyres. Being able to win a race on top of that, of course, is particularly great,” said the Petronas-backed driver, who won his first British F3 race in Pau last week.

Jazeman, who drives for Carlin, started from pole on the reversed 1.929 km grid and won the starting duel against Felix Rosenqvist from Mücke Motorsport. Both were side-by-side going into the first corner, but the Swede briefly went off the track and dropped back to fifth.

Sven Müller took over second place from Pascal Wehrlein and Michael Lewis (Prema Powerteam). Müller then kept the leaders within reach throughout the race, but couldn’t find the chance for a successful attack, leaving the Malaysian to claim the chequered flag for Race 2.

Jazeman, who finished sixth overall in last season’s British F3, is now second in the table, three points behind leader Carlos Sainz Jr. The next British F3 race at Rockingham will happen on June 9-10, before going to Brands Hatch later in the month. He’ll continue to guest star in the Euro Series – the next race is at the Red Bull Ring Spielberg in Austria.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wow!

• catdog on May 21, 2012 at 9:39 am

Great! well done…

• got future in f1 ah?

• efwanfan on Jun 23, 2012 at 8:37 am

no doubt if he keep continue good performance all around..and luck on his side too..

• Big fan on May 21, 2012 at 9:51 am

That’s the way to go boy…do us proud!

• taboogen on May 21, 2012 at 9:56 am

this is want I want to hear.. bravo2 make us proud even more…..

• Setiapaduka on May 21, 2012 at 9:59 am

The next Malaysian F1 driver.

• anti-first on May 21, 2012 at 10:03 am

congratulations and keep going jazeman, don’t stop!

• Bravo young Jazeman. Make us proud. Please dont rush into F1………..gain more experience and win more F3 races before u jump to F1………….prove your self first. Soon or later you’ll get your chance bro….to be an F1 driver……

• sleepwalkerz on May 21, 2012 at 11:48 am

don’t be like alex yoong eh!!

• efwanfan on Jun 23, 2012 at 8:43 am

alex was our pioneer F1 driver & even he was not successful still we can regard him as a person who made way for next big thing like Jazeman..

• Clutch Basah on May 21, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Good one JJ.. dont stop there. we want more

• teamsleepnine on May 21, 2012 at 1:56 pm

don’t la make fun of alex….i know the result takla se impressive mana pun…come on man…..he drive a minardi for fcuk sake!!!….not even a mid runners car…..gave alex a break…i bet people that poke fun at alex cant even drove an entry level single seater for 100 feet ahead….let alone lapped a proper race track with f1 cars….

btw goodluck and congratulation jazeman!!!!!

• Great win, congratulation Jazeman. Another young Malaysian Moto3 rider, Zulfahmi Khairuddin is also doing very good. Congratulation to both of them. Hopefully Danny will also cover 2 wheel racing.

• efwanfan on Jun 23, 2012 at 8:30 am

bravo..bravo..don’t beg urself compete in F1.Let this mclaren,renault,red bull or whatever competitive team in F1 after u & u will make all of us Malaysian proud to know that u go into F1 by merit…