New Honda Civic launched in Thailand – 1.8 and 2.0 SOHC

The new Honda Civic was launched earlier this month in Thailand, giving us a good preview of what’s coming. Unlike the previous gen, where our Civic looked significantly different, the new Thai Civic is largely identical to the US-market car. Extra garnish comes in the form of rear reflectors that link the rear lamps to the license plate.

The cabin has been redesigned, although it retains Honda’s two-tier dashboard that was such a revolution when it debut in the FD Civic. The upper tier is now much longer, incorporating a colour screen that displays various menus.

In Thailand, one can specify the Civic with a Navi package, and the 2.0L model comes with push start keyless entry, a new feature for the Civic. There’s also an ECON button on the right of the steering.

Like before, two engines are offered – 1.8L and 2.0L i-VTEC units. The smaller engine puts out 141 PS and 174 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm. That’s 1 PS more than our current Civic, made 200 rpm higher, so it’s probably just fine tuning.

The 2.0L is no longer the K-series engine, but a SOHC sibling of the 1.8. Chosen for better fuel economy no doubt, it produces 155 PS and 190 Nm at 4,300 rpm.

Max power is the same, but there’s 2 Nm more torque, made 200 rpm lower. Both engines continue with Honda’s slick five-speed auto, with paddles on the 2.0. The 1.8 can be had with a five-speed manual as well.

The rest of the spec sheet show some differences. For instance, Honda has traded the FD’s double-wishbone rear suspension for a multi-link unit. EPS steering is now standard across the range, turning circle is better (5.42 vs 5.8m) but steering is slower at 3.1 vs 2.65 turns lock-to-lock.

The new Civic has a smaller footprint and shorter wheelbase; the latter is down by 30 mm to make 2,670 mm. The current Civic has superb rear legroom, and we’ll have to see if there’s any real difference in space when the time comes. We’re sure that Honda would have done some repackaging magic, something it’s very good at. The Civic’s flat floor remains.

In Thailand, the Civic range starts from 773,000 baht for the 1.8 S Manual, topping out at 1.124 million baht for the 2.0 EL with Navi, the only trim for the bigger engine.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pumpkin on May 21, 2012 at 3:34 pm

That good they remain the flat floor design.

• Fail project !

• Black Dog on May 22, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Agreed. They should target the Civic at the lower end yuppies with a more sporty car. Instead, now it looks more family oriented like the Altis.

Toyota = Merc
        Honda = BMW

Totally uncool!

• Wisdom on May 22, 2012 at 4:44 pm

HONDA MALAYSIA PLEASE REVISE YOUR SERVICE INTERVAL TO 10K KM!
          5K km is pathetic. Everywhere in the world honda service 10K km.

• P1_fanboy on May 21, 2012 at 6:12 pm

New Civic 2.0 -> 155 PS and 190 Nm at 4,300 rpm

kena makan asap la dengan Preve kah kah kah

• Anakata on May 21, 2012 at 8:08 pm

I’m not sure about that. You see, Preve is only 1.6. Yes, it’s a turbocharged 1.6 but when the turbo losses its breath, it will lose its advantage. And I don’t think the additional 15NM of torque will make a big different.

• Dodgydude on May 21, 2012 at 9:21 pm

due to better low end torque and spread, the preve will be ahead of the civic by the time its turbo runs out of breath…

• suppaheero on May 22, 2012 at 8:03 am

engine performance aside, a good car isnt always about the engine and honda has proven it. I have no more to say.

• ricer on May 22, 2012 at 3:19 am

the preve is far away in front even cannot see before it runs out of breath, furthermore it’s 5,200RPM , you would rather prolong life the engine rather than revving it that hard

to sum up, preve is not civic class already, it’s already in its class / league with turbocharged engine

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Yeah, I month later, Preve’s power window kong and sound of tikus will be all over the car.

• old story already, let it be history, newer proton cars don’t have this problem, power windows got life warranty summore

• tak habis2 pasal power window.. hello u dalam zaman 80an lagi meh? Ada life warranty kot…

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 8:51 pm

That’s bcoz the last Proton I owned was sold in 2001

• Ya got life warranty but fed up also if keep sending car for repairing. Anyhow still early to judge Preve. Wait another year then we will get more user’s comments.

• as if honda cars don’t have repeatable problems, lol

• no doubt, coz civic’s 190nm at 4,300 rpm late torque, preve’s 205nm at early 2,000rpm, not to mention until 4,000rpm

hail proton!!!

• by the time preve show finished, civic show starts… but too bad speed bump in front dy

• RON97 on May 22, 2012 at 1:44 pm

huh..typical fresh graduate comments. u can ‘syok sendiri’ with your preve. in long run, this civic will smoke preve easily. and it still a proton — a lower income’s car

• not easy, especially after left behind there are other cars in front, btw it’s ‘syok’ ma since preve has turbocharged engine, you can feel the power, not like civic, a slow starter

• why buy civic when you live in lower cost flat , rather buy preve and live in terrace house, even bungalow, lol

• fazli FD on May 21, 2012 at 10:31 pm

makan asap apenya.. preve 138HP je… civic 155HP..

• fazli FD on May 21, 2012 at 10:39 pm

preve 138HP je bro… terlalu awal utk ckp civic kalah dgn preve..

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 12:02 am

Being a Proton, the GB may end up on the road if revved too much

• don’t have to rev much because the engine is powerful

• PPKia on May 21, 2012 at 11:45 pm

if cars are just about how fast it can go,
        then bolt a chopshop 1.8 engine onto a kancil.
        winrar

• unfortunately no one will give comment like this when it’s a proton. why? because it’s a proton, so pathetic

• P1_Fanboy on May 22, 2012 at 10:20 am

If Civic 2011/2012 is good car where is it at :

www.edmunds.com—>2012 sedan buying guide–>i can see :
        Elantra/Fiesta/Mazda

usnews.rankingsandreviews.com—>Car Rankings: Affordable Small Cars i can see:
        Honda Fit/Fiesta/Focus/Elantra

top picks For Small car @ consumerreports.org:
        Elantra Again.

so no Honda Civic on all top 3 car review sites

Civic 2011/2012 is a major failure for Honda score not very good at Insideline road test in term of acceleration, braking, slalom and skid pad test. Also not to mention cheap interrior as Honda try to cut cost.

• oomph on May 22, 2012 at 10:55 pm

proton baru nak up dah kecoh hebat seluruh dunia…. padahal org tak pandang pun …..

• kalau tk pandang, takkan la order sampai berlambak-lambak. pakai jer la honda kau tu.

honda wave

• hafique on May 26, 2012 at 11:45 pm

bro

preve top speed 190kmh

civic fd2 top speed 245kmh

• hafique on May 27, 2012 at 12:14 am

preve 0-100kmh = 9.6sec

civic fd2 0-100kmh = 9.35sec

• Anny*think on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:18 am

Look like mix2 up others car design only & not nice apperance

• phahmeen on May 21, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Proton Preve!

• Diesel monster on May 21, 2012 at 3:36 pm

no more twin cam????

• shooter on May 21, 2012 at 4:08 pm

yup… and yet there are those who say P1 is going backwards…

• sohc is simpler, cost less and lighter than dohc. both sohc and dohc is actually developed in parallel and not that dohc is successor to sohc. for non high speed application, the sohc is more preferable because of the mentioned advantage. only in high speed application, dohc held clear advantage thanks to quicker valve response.

• Diesel monster on May 21, 2012 at 8:46 pm

yeap…nowdays dont look down on SOHC…
          SOHC will given more torque than DOHC..
          but DOHC given more hp then SOHC..
          mostly high performance engine are using DOHC compare to SOHC, when high revving, engine breath must easier on DOHC..

• hippo on May 21, 2012 at 11:49 pm

What about DOHC with dual VVTi?

• sohc engine uses a single camshaft and rocker system to move the valve. the rocker system does weighs and cause certain amount of delay in valve opening time but in low speed and high valve opening time, this is not apparent and not affecting performance much. however at high speed, the delay would be more significant compared to the total valve opening time. therefore sohc has limited high speed potential. only one of intake or exhaust valve could be added with variable valve timing.

dohc has the cam directly opens the valve so there is no delay cause by the rocker. therefore it can be operated at higher speed. but this means it uses 2 camshaft which could be heavy and bulky engine head.

so using dohc with dual vvti would be heavier and more complex, cost more. of coz sohc would not be able to compete with dohc on power, but when it is good at what it does everyday (sans for boy racer) in a compact car, wouldn’t it be nice to save cost? especially when they are able to give good economy figure. btw, dual vvti is juz a marketting term. what u mean might be dohc engine with continuous intake and exhaust variable valve timing.

and i dare not complain if proton is using sohc instead of dohc if it is competitive in the real world. and i dare not complain the cps and cfe. even in america there are cars using ohv and produce good power and economy figure. heck even the viper uses ohv instead of ohc when ohv supposed to be a dinosaur already. it is all about the end effect, how well the designers and engineers can manage and fine tune the technology.

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 1:17 pm

@Alex – you can’t do variable valve timing with SOHC because the intake and exhaust lobes are tied together with a fixed separation. The objective of variable valve timing is to vary the valve timing overlap. If you vary the cam angle on a SOHC engine, all you’re doing is advancing or retarding the intake and exhaust cam durations simultaneously. So, you can’t adjust either one with variable valve timing – you can’t adjust them at all!

But that being said, anyone who has played with cam regrinding and pairing up with adjustable cam pulleys and other NA tricks will know how nicely SOHC engines can rev once you tune them nicely! They’ll pick up revs like crazy!

• btrbo on May 23, 2012 at 1:11 am

can it give linear torque like cfe? sure not

• Dodgydude on May 21, 2012 at 9:19 pm

wrong. Honda is just cutting cost.

• aisamuddin on May 21, 2012 at 10:18 pm

cutting cost while charging the buyer more!

• everyone is cutting cost… food prices has been rising in great order but automobiles? if u compare power and performance figure over the years, they actually become cheaper… that’s y u see a lot more plastics nowadays… but engine tech is always progressing… and there are owez rooms for high end engine and low cost engine. in this perspective, honda definitely looking to cut cost. undeniable.

• yeah sure buddy..
          honda make sohc engine u support..
          if proton makes one, sure bash..

MALAYSIANS

• well… honda is designing sohc with good efficiency and everyday usage. the 1.8l is able to achieve 39mpg hw using us epa testing. that is really good for a fine tuned ‘old’ engine. proton’s cps is not bad but not sure how it compared in terms of efficiency. the cfe is quite great… but the 1.3 is a crap… using the same 1.6 block juz down stroked, decrease in both efficiency and power juz to fill in marketing gap.

• latest ‘efficient’ engine from honda, please read :

“South Californian woman Heather Peters was awarded US$9867 ($9800) in February after a small-claims court judge agreed Honda fraudulently represented the potential fuel economy of the 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid and convinced her to purchase what she described as an “unsatisfactory vehicle”.

cps old already, latest lineups with cfe or campro + iafm+

• Butt ugly, literally. Jap needs better designer.. sigh..

• mAmA_bOsAn on May 21, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Ugly butt? Show us yours..

• kington on May 21, 2012 at 8:14 pm

I’m afraid if looks is all that matters to you then only Mazda remains a viable choice.

I just hope this model doesn;t conjure up the same problems with the previous FD, of which i suspect DRB HICOM is to blame as well.

• preve has fresh design, with beautiful led in front, of course othercars can have after market ones but not original. it reminds me of contis like merc, bmw and audi

• Henry Ford the XII on May 23, 2012 at 10:29 am

The facelift for Mazda3 comes with a Skyactive engine aite?

Woohoo!!

• no turbo, boring

• No Turbo? Get a Mazda 3 MPS with 255hp if you can afford..That will grind the Preve into ashes…

• like that better get G-TR, That will grind the MPS into ashes

• Halo..? Check if your brain still there? Why don’t you get Lewis Hamilton’s McLaren F1 MP4-27 for comparison with this Mazda MPS?

• kusochon on May 21, 2012 at 11:43 pm

at least they design their own car. not like korean shit who let mat salleh do the design.

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Then build your own house with your own two hands, what for you buy a house from a housing developer?

• You are really donkey la. We are the consumers and we expect developer to build houses and we buy from them. ‘Kusochon’ was referring to the manufacturer that build and sell cars. This is a totally different thing from building our own house and developer getting someone else to build for them.

• So what’s wrong with letting competent ppl do the job?

Of coz lots of ppl say hyundai and kia got looks only but no internal quality, which in terms translated to Mat Salleh did a good job designing it.

So again, what’s wrong with letting competent ppl do the job?

• Read properly…did I say you can’t let competent ppl do the job? I was merely referring to that ‘donkey’s’ comment.

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 7:36 pm

If you didn’t get the message, it’s better to abstain from exhibiting your lack of understanding.

• They have really gone backwards in literally everything.

• They put a sporty looking speedo which is kinda of cool and gave it a boring exterior……which sort people are they aiming this car at ? Teenagers or elderlies ….Honda, pick 1 theme and stick with it lar…….

• driver on May 22, 2012 at 3:03 am

can’t rage with that! I have the same thought after reading it as well. Maybe it’s due to previous posts.. the new Pug 408 with Turbo.. and not to mention Preve as well.

Well.. if it’s priced below 100K, than that’s a different story. Will see..

• Exterior- Too bad and ugly Preve much better.
    Interior- ok la.. preve lose in this section.

Overall this car is so Dissapointing honda’s owner hahaha..

• Anakata on May 21, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Well, the driver doesn’t see much the exterior, doesn’t it? :D

And not that Preve is awesome either, especially the butt, when you follow it from behind.

• whats wrong with you guys comparing this to Preve????

• driver on May 22, 2012 at 3:05 am

and what’s wrong to have it been compared with Preve?? why not?

• ermm.. But surely if we talk about koreans car u guys will compared to T n H right??

• agree.. i feel ashamed ppl comparing preve wif civic. preve not even near to civic in term of quality & reliablility. likes.. 15yrs behind.

• queue on May 23, 2012 at 1:18 am

civic still using normal aspirated engine like 20 years ago, proton already use powerful turbocharged engines, moreover has plenty of features that civic doesn’t have

• typical proton dia hard fan. Why not you compare it to inspira instead? why it must be Preve?? if you gotta say they are in the same segment, then proton is gonna be the first company to came with two model from a same segment i guess?

• geset on May 23, 2012 at 8:34 pm

let me guess, why not 2 models, inspira is rebadged lancer (with some enhancement in handling) but preve is more ori proton prod. so it’s not really same

another thing, the lower model of preve is n/a 1.6 the top is 1.6 turbo, inspira lower model is n/a 1.8 and the top is n/a 2.0

so again they are not really same, at least in powertrain

• thanks geset for backing me up. lol.
            so people! now, compare it to inspira instead. haha
            inspira and civic in more comparable then preve with civic

• just wait preve fl, the leather interior sure preve wins hands down

• Honda City found his long lost brother called civic

• koochai on May 21, 2012 at 3:38 pm

1.8 manual?
    good news for my left feet…

• Calvin Goh on May 21, 2012 at 3:39 pm

I really feel like throwing up looking at these photos…

• Honda Power on May 21, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Then you go and throw up in the comfort of your toilet, you basher! No money don’t condemn Honda. I think you only drive a low quality Proton!

• raven on May 22, 2012 at 12:11 pm

if said bad thing about HONDA, must be P1 basher…
        what?? TOYOTA fan never talk bad about HONDA?

if said bad thing about TOYOTA, must be P1 basher…
        what?? HONDA fan never talk bad about TOYOTA?

if said bad thing about KOREAN cars, must be P1 basher…
        what?? T & H fan never talk bad about KOREAN cars?

if said bad thing about CONTI cars, must be P1 basher…
        what?? JDM fan never talk bad about CONTI cars?

pathetics…

• Polo Saga on May 21, 2012 at 3:40 pm

disappointed with its backslid n dated design, the current selling 8th generation is much more aesthetically pleasing.

• Kinda like the 8th gen one more.. Is this the confirmed model for Malaysia? No hybrids?

• catdog on May 21, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Specs are quite ok but design wise, is vy disappointing

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 6:50 am

For Sushi cars, their design may not make a 1st wow impression, but its looks are lasting.

Fir kimchi’s they make a big bang impression, but 2 weeks on, the design looks cacat.

Look at the Sonata now. It looks like a deformed child

• kinda sad to see how this version of Civic evolve..

• prebetsabu on May 21, 2012 at 3:42 pm

The rear design somehow reminds me of a combination with past accord + merc ;) its nice.. But not too teenagers lah!

• sagablmsekid on May 21, 2012 at 3:43 pm

How much?? current one better??

• vortex on May 21, 2012 at 3:48 pm

direct conversion around MYR 112,344

• sagablmsekid on May 21, 2012 at 5:48 pm

ic. 112 is for 1.8 or 2.0?.. current civic is nicer.. but if this new one that more expensive then the current one.. i speechless…. good luck honda……

• MoFaz on May 21, 2012 at 5:48 pm

can’t use direct conversion… the ‘path’ from Thai to Malaysia is not so direct lo.. :)

• hafiz on May 21, 2012 at 3:48 pm

2.0 using sohc?..aisehhh..only uncle and auntie will buy this car.

• PPKia on May 21, 2012 at 11:52 pm

exactly as planned.
      those owning 8th gen youngsters havent finish their instalments yet.
      that’s how they maintain their sales.
      model lineup for the: young, old, young, old

good move honda.

• that rear design looks like T’s camry (one of the edition!)… that’s make T&H a twin.. both fail miserably in design and technology advancement… RIP T&H..

• Faster then my expectation. I thought it will be launched at around 2nd half of 2012.
    ohya.. when come to malaysia ady 2nd half of 2012.

Hopefully it’s CBU instead of CKD like the previous one.. FULL of problems!

• Dont want to bash jap cars but what’s going on these days. The exterior of all the recent jap cars are so… a… dull. it’s like they are manufacturing just for the sake of coming out with new cars. No new tech and stuff.

The interior for some looks so mix and match. The honda’s are still ok but nissas and toyotas not so great.

You think that they would get that surge to innovate and stay as market leaders again.

Mazda seems like the only one that tries to dish out something new.

• I drive a 2009 xtrial and 2006 saab 95.

Been wanting to trade in the saab and get a >140k car but nothing seems to be on par with it. You’d think given a 7 year gap, asian manufacturers would be able to close in on a bankrupt company’s car performance and handling.

Got it in 2010 and took advantage of the horrible resale price @ 55k. What a deal, 2.0 turbo and about 10k in maintenance so far.

• Programmer on May 21, 2012 at 5:43 pm

10,000k in maintenance so far. you are filthy rich.
        Mine just 3 time of service a year,
        brake pad RM160,
        4 new tyres (RM 1000)
        Oxigen sensor RM100 (brought at kedai potong)

• Yeah my gearbox had a leak. So added a lot. But besides that. Nothing major. Was expecting to spend abit on the car. Pet project to get it performing like new.

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 12:03 am

Most Japs will only cost RM10k to maintain (cumulative totaling 5-7 years)

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 8:13 am

Also, both the SAAB and X-Trail are cold door.

You prolly can’t even get RM50k each for trade in

• Vincent on May 21, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Only T & H lar..

Mazda and Nissan is doing OK what…

• mazda got no turbo, tak syok, lol

• Mazda got turbo on their 255 hp, 380nm torque MPS, CX7. Ada Wang kah? If not pergi main jauh jauh with your Preve.

• kereta_lembu on May 21, 2012 at 3:51 pm

No matter how ugly, no matter how expensive, no matter how disappointing, people will still buy it coz its a Honda. Nuf said

• shooter on May 21, 2012 at 4:06 pm

right on the dot bro!!! put that ‘H’ logo on kreta lembu oso ppl wil be lapping it up like hot soba…

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 5:23 pm

The Honda Grape in Bangkok, seems very sour when viewed from Kuala Lumpur

• Jetta is better…

• pravin5267 on May 21, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Prever better!

• wan preve on May 21, 2012 at 4:02 pm

IMHO , i think it’s quite nice… anyway..preve better..hehehe

• not a single pic from above hehehe

• the 2din navi is small like the one onboard preve

• At least it is slightly more appealing than the new Corolla :)

• tunguuu on May 21, 2012 at 4:12 pm

http://www.autoblog.com/2011/12/02/honda-ceo-takes-responsibility-for-poor-reception-of-redesigned/

honda says its gonna redesign it soon…this car worse than the previous model! XD

• pelams on May 21, 2012 at 4:13 pm

honda, again?? nah…

• koochai on May 21, 2012 at 4:14 pm

u guys know any promo for outgoing civic?

• m not a honda fanboy

but m i the only guy who think is good looking?

i mean is not tat baddddd

• Anakata on May 21, 2012 at 8:14 pm

You’re not alone. I also think it looks nice. If we compared the design between this Civic and Preve, I will take Civic anyday. Twice on Sunday.

• CSC-KL on May 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

again, another ugly looking, a combinations of many elements(design) and low standard spec for the SEAsian market, try sell this model in Japanese or USA market and you’ll know what i mean.

• koochai on May 21, 2012 at 4:23 pm

saw 1 ad in mudah

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+CIVIC+NEW+fmc+2+0+i+vtec+ENGINE-14990636.htm

asking price rm140,800

10k increase…crazy…

• Diesel monster on May 21, 2012 at 4:56 pm

no more DOHC..
      no more Z-arm hand brake

• armandd on May 21, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Yup. Malaysian car buyers need to be educated so that they stop worshipping overpriced Honda and Toyota cars.

• Merc=Real Euro on May 21, 2012 at 8:57 pm

bro…it is not worshiping…. ppl buy based on word of mouth past experience. If the korean and conti sold solid products in the past then they would have been able to beat the civic… as an good example…. Forte is a good car but it needs time to prove itself only the the next gen will have a strong following…. same goes for VW…etc… Remember reputation is earned not bought.. and it is built overtime and not overnight… Like it or not…reliability and servicing cost is a factor for the mass market…

• Hydro on May 22, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Totally agree.. Its about the momentum Honda has built in the past which still continues till now.. its slowly diminish, but its still there. The korean (even the proton) are catching up, but maybe need at least 2 more (good) car generations to takeover the throne from T&H (in Malaysia).

I think its a completely normal & predicted product/brand cycle.

• Omega Red on Jun 03, 2012 at 12:18 am

I agree. Actually we are paying the price of the cars more for their T & H logos. Nothing much. The qualities & specs are so so only. Not worth the high price we are paying for. I know very well because i own a toyota. Anyway we cant change malaysian mentality that always look highly at foreign products.

• Keith on May 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm

YAAAAAWWWNNNNNN!!!

• looks better than the previous civic indeed with the bodykits on…
    watch this clip, it gives a better view

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTpzgfZ5uSk&feature=player_embedded#!

• I know this is non-related, but is there gonna be a report on the recently ended 24 Hours Nurburgring race? I want to know more about it since I am not able to watch it. Thanks.

• Louis on May 21, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Cant really make a comment on the new civic by just look at these photos, maybe the exact car is not ugly as it shown in the photos.

Just to vomit out my disappointment, i’ve booked a new honda city facelift 2012, it keep me waiting for more than 2 months, booked on the end of April, look to be getting on July. This is quite looooonngggg….hope that Honda would that this matter on desk.

• Bro, just cancel the order and get a vw polo hatch, go for a test drive, ull be smitten. If got extra $$$, get a golf or if need a sedan , the jetta instead. Bet u can get good discount for 2011 stocks, dont limit urself to just t & h

• ProdukMalaysiaIsTheBest on May 21, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Tiru Preve

• Estimosis on May 21, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Perhaps the front design nowadays are Preve ‘ish. That hurts H fanboys a lot…

• UGLIEST DASHBOARD DESIGN I’VE EVER SEEN! MY EYES!!

• RedLine on May 21, 2012 at 6:00 pm

I agree 100%. The centre console looks like Quasimodo….everything is all over the place. Very weird and ugly in my opinion.

• ng ka fai on Jan 02, 2013 at 3:24 pm

kalau bagi dia free,pasti dia pilih civic than whatever crap he’s driving, tak dapat afford start to “tok kok” if u know what i mean

• 17 Inch on May 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm

COMPARE TO YOUR P2 KANCIL HA?

• 4G63T DSM on May 21, 2012 at 4:46 pm

So, slightly smaller car, and the 2.0 has one less cam. Further cheapening from switching to a multilink from its normal double wishbone setup….

current gen dashboard was unique and different, this one just looks like a mutated mixed and matched unit out of an MPV….or the equally missmatched Prius C

Now lets see if Honda Malaysia tries to sell this more expensive.

• yellowschoolbus on May 21, 2012 at 4:51 pm

They should ban this civic!!! ITS FUGLY!!!!! *cries*

Who the hell approved this design?!! I rather buy the FD over this…devolution of civic…UGLY!!! *cries* =,(

• agustagu on May 22, 2012 at 10:08 pm

agreed, now ppl are more educated and looking something worth it for money further more ppl also look for safety. ..now ppl are shifting from T & H to other brand like fr korean mazda and conti. …..T & H are over priced. ….

• Saw this car on display in a mall during my recent trip to Brazil and it’s not groundbreaking at all, I thought it’s a City

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 5:00 pm

To all my Bolehland frens who drives the FD1 or FD2 or FD3, keep your car as long as possible…

Honda has lost it and the days of crap Civics is coming to your country very soon.

In SG, the new FN Civic is so bad and so expensive that less than 5 were sold since its intro in Jan… Insane COE prices aside, this POS CIvic 1.8 costs nearly SG$170k a piece… a brand new Audi A4 1.8 TFSi cost SG$169k…. :) Go fig which is a better bet

And becos of its much cheapen built and hidous looks, our FDs are much sought after in the used car market. In fact, car buffs are willing to pay top dollar for our FDs…esp the 2009 facelift version.

Just a quick comparision between the POS Civic 1.8 and the current FD1

– No more floor mounted gas pedal! :( Applies to all Civic models. Too expensive to include in the new Civic
    – Dash looks like it was designed by someone who is high on drugs.:(
    – That tiny LCD screen next to the tach is too small to read in bright sunlight. New fonts on the instrument cluster
    – Dashboard, central console, floor console are now built with cheap, hard looking plastic. Our FD plastic is as good as Accord’s
    – No more 60:40 splif fold rear seatbacks. Its either you fold the entire back or just shut up. Too expensive to include in new Civic
    – No more 6 CD changer. The integrated HU now accepts just ONE CD…The new HU looks like its pirated from the City’s. The buttons felt very cheap to touch.
    – Sat Nav option is available in the 2L. However, locally installed maps is hard to read and slow to respond

– Very slow steering gear ratio!. FD1 and FD2 has a lock to lock ratio of just 2.7 turns. The new Civic…. 3.11! :( Elantra at 2.8 :) You will need to turn the steering wheel more to make any sharp turns.
    – Still no 6 airbags for Civic. in SE Asia. Its dual front for 1.8. 2L has seat mounted side airbags. But no window curtain bags… Too expensive to be installed in Civic. !@#$% :(

– Lesser sound insulation as compared to FDs. Our FDs is already not the last word is sound insulation but the new Civic make it even worse
    – Shorten wheelbase! :( Enought said…!@#$%
    – New paddle shifters behind new steering wheel looks and feels more like buttons than a real paddle. Its abit difficult to use it to shift quickly :(

– Honda now includes a so called ‘Econ’ button on the dash in a bid to boost fuel economy. Do not engage it unless you want your Civic to drive like turtle. It will enable the ECU to retart timing, limit throttle opening, reduce aircon compressor efficency and have the gearbox upshift very early… all these to increase fuel economy…. which in real life, doesn’t really do much.

– There’s no longer any plastic covers to cover the bootlid hinges… Its bare metal all the way. Too expensive to install such things in the new Civic.

-The new fugly tailight assembly no longer feature high intensity clear lens. It is cheap looking frosted lens that looks more at home in a late 90s car than something outta 2012.

– Softer springs and shocks for the new POS Civic. You’re not expected to drive enthustically for your mission is to save fuel.

• Maserati on May 21, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Hw is the lousy elantra supposed to compete with this? This is awesome! Its gonna sell like crazy again!

• bugatti on May 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm

lol….seriously…you are honda salesman right..???

• ss427 on May 22, 2012 at 9:20 am

No our Maserati is one of the resident joker in this board LOL :)

His superbly warped views in defence of Japs cars is simply hilarious to read :D

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Voted down?? Sad.. people can’t spot sarcasm when they see it nowadays…

• meteoraniac on May 21, 2012 at 5:03 pm

the back design is like an illegimate child from the new camry and current accord…

• Wow RM77K for a Honda Civic in Thailand. What can we get
    for that amount in Malaysia? Prevetttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttui

• shawal on May 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm

to command RM30k premium over a preve , the civic can’t just rest over its residuals ,Honda Malaysia better play their cards well

Having said that, my friend’s dad was one of the first people to buy the prefacelift FD civic in seremban, it was a 1.8 model, the father only service it in Honda serv centre, suprisingly honda malaysia posts up the prices for each service interval, not too pricey, i drove the car from jb to putrajaya to kl, still runs like new ,very fast too

• Driver105 on May 21, 2012 at 5:31 pm

The interior is a bit out. I think Korean cars are much better in terms of design.

• heeman on May 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Civic has always given an impression as a sporty sedan. But this gen with steering lock to lock at 3.1 turn, it may even be worse than an Altis. Not to mention less one cam for 2.0. Reduction in turning circle is good though.

• yelenmotorsport on May 21, 2012 at 5:55 pm

ermm that why some people quote “old honda getting faster”

• JeremyNg on May 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm

I don understand ……. SOHC engine is not outdated engine !!!!!! Honda able to make it same power as currect DOHC engine while it save more fuel than current DOHC engine. I didnt see any problem with it …….. Don forget POLO 1.2 TSI using 8valve turbo SOHC engine !!!! Is not easy to produce a SOHC engine produce so much power especially it’s NA engine

• i think it’s the human nature mahu banyak banyak even cannot telan anymore.. most are blinded by quantity

that’s why manufacture always have those kind of race.. horsepower, megapixel.. etc in order to survive

• armandd on May 21, 2012 at 6:53 pm

They ditched one camshaft obviously for cutting production cost, so that they gain more profit. SOHC has it’s own advantages, but DOHC has MORE advantages than SOHC. This is a well known fact.

• shawal the airhead.. on May 21, 2012 at 6:59 pm

because those DOHC worshiper thought themselves a racer wannabe that always drive high 7~8k rpm on regular day and forgot this civic is a commuter car… yet they also like to whine about fuel price up

• rally_fan on May 22, 2012 at 8:25 am

airhead, just because you have a DOHC engine, does it mean you need to build it into a high-revving race type engine??? please go and count the amount of cars that have DOHC engines before coming back here to post.

• polo has turbocharged engine is powderful but honda sohc only normal engine sure under powered

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Bro, the R series engines, that is the R18A and the R20A SOHC may offer similar PEAK power o/p as the K20Z counterparts… but the torque curve is world’s apart.

The K20Z has a fatter low to mid rpm torque curve…. you dont need to rev the shit outta the engine to get the fattest torque tangent as compared to the R20A

• YeapyEvo on May 21, 2012 at 6:15 pm

The 1.8Manual should be 6 speeder, look at the final gear ratio, so high… Don’t think Honda going to bring it in though. If I got 140k to spend, rather top up bit more to get 2nd hand FD2R than getting 2.0 SOHC Civic.

Korean / Contis should learn from Japanese on a good 2nd hand value formula:
    Good value = Lousier specs + Lousier looks + Increase price + Good service (cut throat)

• Kia and German on May 21, 2012 at 9:45 pm

You are DAMN WRONG!!!
      The Japs should learn from Contis n Koreans
      Advanced specs+awesome looks+affordable price=low resale value
      Our rakyat should change their mind about always tend to buy Japanese RUBBISH cars

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Kimchi cars have a very short (if any) problem free lifespan. I have owed one before.

That’s not the bad part.

When you want to trade in for another new car, the used car fella will tell you that its a cold door car, so RV Hailat. The used car fella will not even want to trade in the car in most cases.

In short, avoid Korean Cars at all cost

• Kia and German on May 21, 2012 at 9:53 pm

You are damn WRONG!!!!
      Low resale value=advance specs+awesome looks+affordable price
      This is what the Japanese should learn from Koreans n Contis

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Pls call 1800 JUMP NOW if you need a permanent solution to the headache as a result of owning a cabbage

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Bro read carefully. Its still a 5AT… and 5MT is NO LONGER being offered in the 2L :(

Too exciting for the new Civic…

• looks ok…

• Michael on May 21, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Can’t wait to order it!

• ADNOH on May 21, 2012 at 6:27 pm

will be all over the city soon

• Merc=Real Euro on May 21, 2012 at 6:27 pm

well no matter what………this thing will sell cos :
    1) Strong resale value
    2) Easy to get parts.
    3) Reasonable maint cost..
    4) Will not breakdown easily.

How many so called better cars out there in the market can meet all the criteria?.
    Honda is a strong brand in Malaysia….it is hard to be replaced by new comer with no good past track record…..

• it is hard but not impossible in near future give take 3-4 yrs..given that they still maintain like this.. look at nokia.. a good example..

• preve more powerful and much cheaper

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Look at all those VWs crawling the roads these days. And we’ve seen this phenomenon for only what? The past 2 years? Track record is not always the only thing that matters. When a brand improves its products tremendously, e.g. VW, Hyundai and Kia, the product take-up will shoot up.

• Wallstreet on May 23, 2012 at 7:14 am

VW are all over the road today because of their aggressive marketing and more importantly the main reason why there are so many buyers is because they are CHEAP. BMW and Merc will be selling like Honda volume here if they just sell their cars below 150K. If that happened nobody will even bother looking at VW Golf.

• Jerry Tan on May 21, 2012 at 6:34 pm

boring design like Preve

• EDDIE on May 21, 2012 at 6:35 pm

UGLY!!!…SAME GOES TO THE NEXT GEN COROLLA.

• Bongcs on May 21, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Rojak Asssssssssssssssssss

• slumber on May 21, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Oh…. FINALLY I can out-race, out-drag this Civic with my Forte 2.0 6speed. My wife’s 2012 Elantra 1.8 can do that too.

• I can out-race, out-drag this Civic, your Forte 2.0 6speed, 2012 Elantra 1.8, camry, accord, merc e-class, bmw 3-series with my G-TR

• Storm on May 21, 2012 at 11:38 pm

You can ‘out-race, out drag this Civic? I afraid you will end up in drains or gravels with that kind of Korean cars handling…Korean cars are for ladies…Best handling in this class has to be Mazda 3 hands up.

• mazda 3 handling sucks. G-TR much better

• Stop dreaming and get back to driving your old Kancil….

• Storm on May 22, 2012 at 2:20 pm

I said best handling in this class….why don’t you say Mazda 3 handling sucks big time, Sebastian Vettel’s Red Bull Team F1 car much better?

• hippo on May 22, 2012 at 3:32 am

mazda 3 handling is good but preve’s is much much better

• Thriump on May 22, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Why are those ppl can even bring in a Preve here?? Preve please go play far far…..shuu..

• yes agree, preve in its own class now, superior to those weaker n/a engines

• Yeah, class on its ‘own’. No one can do what Proton did with the Preve by putting in China made plastic toy quality in their door handle, air con vent etc…Truely a class on its own!

• “Yeah, class on its ‘own’. No one can do what Proton did with the Preve by putting in China made plastic toy quality in their door handle, air con vent etc…Truely a class on its own!”

lol i think you believe whatever you read on the net , grow up kid

• @ghr- you need to grow up little fellow. What I comment here is what I see and feel the actual car. Have you actually even see the car yourself or not?? If not I suggest you bring along your toys and see if it’s the same or not.

• Wisdom on May 22, 2012 at 8:01 am

Yes has to be Mazda 3, when i first drove it I thought its a rear wheel drive as the handling really feels like it. Lancer handling is quite close to this too but have to say Mazda 3 handling is excellent.

• best handling should be preve, can match those contis already, of course with turbocharged engine, driving is fun

• I have seen this car already in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia last week but could not make what model it was. Only saw the H logo which confirmed it was a Honda but but I look at the tail light I seriously thought it was 2012 Camry!

• Hmmmm exterior quite nice but the interior design is soooo… aduh!! mcm kena ribut taufan and then become kelam kabut

• wow..
    similar front design..
    stupid honda designer; no idea to design new car..

anyway..
    sure more option for “kaki tarik” and “kaki curi” to get this car..
    haha..
    buy buy buy..

then they come to your house.. shopping mall and take back the car from u

• Gunner84 on May 21, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Engine & handling part maybe more responsive than recently launched Elantra…but in terms of interior & exterior & features, Elantra won 9 streets!! No offense to Jap but it’s fact

• Kalun on May 21, 2012 at 7:41 pm

This car is not bad. But doesn’t look good than previous generation. Car Tuners do not like it!

Preve looks better but still need improvement.
    Usually the first release sucks. A few facelift later make it look awesome.

Except for Toyota. *Cough* Camry *cough*

not to be basher but I would wait for next facelift of preve.
    City, preve and KIA forte is on my mind. Which one is very reliable in term of maintainence. Suggest me more cars.

• Persona_IneedCPS on May 22, 2012 at 12:44 am

i would say if u like A to B cars, without additional features like start-stop, turbo, or any gadgets, get H.City. Why? If get boring after 5 years, sell it and u get a lot more on resale value, lower maintainance (quite basic specs) & more economical, 16km/l for H.City.. (info from colleague who owned a 2009 City & 2010 Kia Forte, his Kia Forte had problem with Start/Stop button & he find out that KIA parts are actually very expensive). He let me tested both vehicles, comfort wise Forte is better but don’t really into the seating position, but feature wise is better. Fyi, he pick H.City as he travel a lot & Forte for his wife, according to him, less travel = less maintainance cost which is expensive to maintain a Kia… City feels lighter to accelerate (better respond) & more fun to drive (easy to control). Kia Forte feel a bit sluggish & slow on acceleration, however the car feel more stable on high speed.. Tested Proton Preve, hmm.. Driving experience is not far from my persona elegance, which I get really bored of the slow acceleration, heavy steering (hand tired if driving at kampung road by 1 hand) & loud engine noise.. FYI, my persona elegance 2010 had a lot more rattling & annoying noise compare to my colleague’s 2009 H.City.. His City is a lot more quiet inside the cabin & no rattling noise found too.. but for the price I paid for Persona(Rm60k), i’m quite jealous that for just additional few thousand I can actually get a Preve Auto.. Grrrr!!

• Kalun on May 22, 2012 at 7:40 am

Thanks man!
        So will go for Honda City.
        The reason why I don’t put Toyota Vios in my list because it doesn’t look appealling to me. Forte was on my mind at first. But since you told me, I change my mind.
        I’m not sure about Korean cars. Eventhough it looks good but reliability is just sub par. Bad handling, warm airconditioning, suspension joints wear off after 5-6 years of usage.
        I have D-Max and Hyundai Matrix. My D-max is the most reliable car to date. Now it is 8 years old. Never broke down. Suspension and aircond still good, brakes works fine. But the engine is SuperB. Low maintainence. Big Wow!
        Matrix on the other hand is a let down. Engine is okay. But battery need to replace every year. :(

Most likely I’m going for a reliable car similar to my Isuzu D-max. Proton is still a bad memory for me. Not sure I want to come back. After my proton waja just broke down due to short circuit due to wet carpet due to leaky aircond due to poor workman ship. Change it after 3 years of usage. :(

• John Elevator on May 21, 2012 at 8:13 pm

The rear view is just too ugly … i dont think i can even bare having to see it in highway or in traffic in front of me! if it worth paying for it in 2008 … it’s definitely not worth it now!

• aldinz on May 21, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Never regret to own FD2 as compared to this 2012 new civic

• aldinz on May 21, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Lucky me! Never regret to own a FD2 as compared to this new 2012 civic

• PetrolLeg on May 21, 2012 at 9:17 pm

5 speed auto? 3 ratio and 2 overdrives.

• People…. kamon la…
    It is sooo prevee-ish… From front with that headlamp and with the also with PREVE’S rear lamp design (long reverse lamp)…and yet some people here defend this new civic like its has a good design???? Malaysian are just SOOO bias —> Just because it is HONDA????? like 1 said, Malaysian people doesn’t have their own pride..

• This design was shown before they make the preve bro……i know you love your country but dont be so extreme thinking everyone out there needs to copy malaysia proton..
      Hmm maybe jaguar xf copying preve eh…

• Really? isn’t preve were started since 2010?? eventhough the design is quite similar, but people still can accept this civic new design..obviously its just a safe design..like preve..nothing so fancy… why?? so, the point is, no need to say who copy who, but admit la, most people are blind by the brand only….

• skiborne on May 21, 2012 at 9:44 pm

honda is so not interesting anymore. rubbish SOHC engines and 5 speeder still? hhahahahah

• japenese designer dah hilang idea nk design kereta…..

• vertigo on May 21, 2012 at 10:08 pm

SOHC? rubbish engine

• tok-kok on May 21, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Not to say which car is better.. but if there is a fair fight of price between Preve 1.6 and the new Civic 1.8 at RM75K .. which car would you prefer? and why?

• ong chin aun on May 22, 2012 at 10:24 am

I will definately buy civic . 1.8 . No mistake. Quality and proved to the world the advance technology and reliability of the civic. Comford and aerodynamic plus stylist. gast too.

• dolah on May 22, 2012 at 11:07 am

but it’s not RM 75,000, it is freaking RM 120,000
        since i am a BR1M receiver, i chose kancil 660

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 10:13 pm

guys you can see the offcial SG brochure and curse and swear at Honda…

http://honda.com.sg/cars/PDF/civic_catalogue.pdf

How to compete with Hyundai and Kia ley Honda?!

• Civic Gen8 on May 22, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Yucks !!! The Sg Brochure for Gen8 came with complete hard covers and much better content than this boring brochure. Luckily I am still keeoing them for sentimental value. Nice.

• i saw few in hk recently (bearing china number plate)… i decided to cancel my booking once i’m back last week… this model simply unacceptable comparing my current 8th gen… might as well waiting for the new FL or 10th gen… don’t think this gen can last longer than 4 years or so…

for those asking why comparing with Preve, coz proton position Preve in C segment class…

• WhatTheFuzz on May 22, 2012 at 12:28 am

You decided to cancel your booking? Since when did Honda Malaysia do imaginary bookings?

• athlon on Jun 24, 2012 at 10:11 pm

i guess you don’t know Honda started to accept booking since early april 2012… i think you’re the one living in “imaginary” world… go and check it out before writing nonsense… anyway, don’t think you afford to buy…

• Vincent Ang on May 21, 2012 at 10:31 pm

I own an eighth generation Civic 2.0s and I can tell you this new Civic sucks. SOHC for a 2 litre engine is plain bad. Preve Premium beat the Honda Civic 2.0? A Preve Premium picked on me and I left it eating dust on a state road in Johor.

• deftones on May 21, 2012 at 11:27 pm

did u received any trophy with 100k cash?? i hope u’ll get a love letter from PDRM..really hope..

dont be so proud with your civic la…its just a machine to bring you from A to B..nothing to shout about..u are just to make your car as good as newer car while ur car is actually is aging..

cheers..drive safely..

• Polo Saga on May 22, 2012 at 2:24 pm

exactly, drive safe, be more considerable to other drivers on the road :)

• oomph on May 22, 2012 at 11:35 pm

home and hut is a place to live, why dont you live in a hut?

• A very CHEAPO looked and feel car!!

• Don’t be expect Honda Malaysia will bring on manual tranny for Civic..
    The singapore version of civic is CBU Japan versus CKD thai for thai version

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_photos.php?CarCode=11105

• ss427 on May 22, 2012 at 9:26 am

Well ours maybe from Jap… but build quality is equally bad as compared to our trusty FDs..

Ignore the 1.6L model please. Its a special SG market only model designed to evade ‘big car’ road tax. The 1.6 takes an amazing 12.5 secs to do the century sprint… a fig once unthinkable in the Honda camp… :( But now who cares…

To my Bolehland frens who visit SG often, drop by any of our Honda showroom and see the new Civic for yourself.. Last heard that the showroom at Kampong Ubi still have our dear FD2 on display alongside too.. but we still have quite a number of 2L Civics laying ard unsold in SG…

You can then compared both cars side by side and be disgusted on how far Honda has degenerated… :(

• well..no offence to anyone here…unless this car here,price reduced(current car is rm127k for d 2.0 DOHC WITHOUT insurance.)Honda is going to lose its customers to peugeot 408 with 2.0NA engine which is priced at 110k with decent specs at d same segment.So..d way I see it,Honda could still sell well because of its claim to have better Resale value and cheaper servicing compared to Peugeot.

And,I could be Wrong.no offence to Honda lovers!Just an average consumer and no..not a car pro too.Sorry if offended anyone.Peace ^.^V

• Ik Bing on May 21, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Honda (new Civic) has gone Toyota-alike, and Toyota (new Camry) has also gone Honda-alike.. haha!

• Meganea on May 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm

The rear lights hahaha very stupid el-cheapo design ! Honda and Toyota both are going down soon, skiny metal bodywork as well and they’rw asking more premium price , i’d say …bugger off !

• Our Proton Inspira ta bao Civic 2.0 at anytime,anywhere!! so to all FN civic 2.0 driver, pls keep yourself in LEFT lane when riving in highway!!

• Aroma on May 22, 2012 at 7:08 am

i plan to get this and don’t worried, I always use the left lane.

• Honda Power on May 22, 2012 at 12:06 am

If you don’t like the new Honda Civic, please don’t just keep on bashing blindly. Wait for it to be launched here, go and view it and then post your comments. All you fellas do is bash and bash. If you like the Preve so much, just go and buy the bloody car! 99% of you who bash Honda can’t even afford to buy a Honda City. Go figure! Ptttttfttth!

• honda sucks on May 22, 2012 at 3:12 am

we bash civic because honda’s offering is worse than proton, honda city? lol even accord we can afford to buy

• 99% who defends Honda can’t even afford to buy a Honda City. Because it’s their dream car, never own before you see, that’s why defend kaokao. Go figure.

I had one before, and that was the time where Honda was still desired, now, they expect ppl to shut up with any kind of mediocre job. As for you, it’s just makes Honda feels right to milk it’s customer, especially the blind ones in Msia.

Honda, please stop following Toyota’s footstep and produce cars that ppl desire again.

• PPKia on May 22, 2012 at 12:20 am

you all have no idea at all about market strategy.

the 8th gen are targeted at the young
    they have not finished paying.

this model is for the uncles/aunties.
    they will drool at this one,

next will be for the young again,
    as they will have finished paying, time to upgrade.
    uncles/aunties still paying.

so and so on.

that is how T/H maintain their sales.
    clever eh?

• syntium5000 on May 22, 2012 at 12:24 am

AS LONG ITS HONDA…MALAYSIAN SURE WILL BUY IT…EVEN WITH CRAP SPEC…

• Sam Loo on May 22, 2012 at 6:41 am

Well, you can easily sell this car 1 year on with 10% depreciation.

If your choice was Elantra, set to lose at least 25%-35% within a year. Buy the Korean if you feel that your money smells fishy

• jolly_idiot on May 22, 2012 at 1:11 am

Honda trying to rip us off from their lost from Japan Earthquake & Thailand flood.

Same to Toyota. Look at their new Camry. So expensive for a 10 years old engine & gearbox.

Who still want to support them?

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 10:07 pm

Well, kimchi owners that is hoping to raise their car RV by invading into Japs car thread and belittle a sushi creation that took 30-40 years to built up its repo is most welocome.

This is because the more they advertise, the less majority will even believe that kimchis are worth buying because of cosmetic skin deep appearance but its cancerous organs will fail prematurely.

Good thing is that majority of Malaysians are aware and only the sorhais get conned

• driver on May 22, 2012 at 3:19 am

I sense a similar “single graphic” concept at the front. Where did I heard this term from?? ow.. it’s Preve.

But the rear is fugly. The identity of civic has been toned down from aggressive and agile, to softy and slomo-wy..

Wait for the price first, then can talk more.

• NeedACar on May 22, 2012 at 7:26 am

Advice needed, planning to get a car in June or July, budget 110 to 120 k max.

Altis , old fashion design
    Civic , disappointment
    Proton, sorry

Input needed please

• goo goo dolls on May 22, 2012 at 8:28 am

Havent test drive dun bash blindly

In the flesh the car actually looks good
    Handling has been improved over current civic yet its comfortable,not as bumpy and stiff suspension like current civic
    The steering is really sensitive now and the digital display is oso futuristic
    those who say Korean car is God like now,please la,like all koreans,plastic surgery looks nice,but once drive sucks

The new civic,can say its more conti like with clean lines and drives well,just a slight delay in response due to SOHC.

• ss427 on May 22, 2012 at 9:38 am

Bro, how did you manage to do any test drives in Bolehland when the car hasn’t even been launched yet?! Did you do the test drive in SG? And mind you, due to our insane COE $$ these days, and the utterly expensive Japs Yen, our distributor brings in the base 1.6L only. The proper 1.8 and 2L models can be had on special indent…

And please bro, before you start your BS, you gotta at least check if there are well informed FD owners in this board ma….. LOL :)

With a lock to lock turn of 3.11 vs FD’s 2.7, you can actually claim that the new FN Civic offers better steering feel? Honda is in danger of turning the Civic steering into an Avanza! :( You need to wind the wheel like mad just to make any meaning turns…

The upcoming CRV is even worse… the ratio is 3.18 :(

A futuristic display?? Have you tried to play with the integrated HU (with or without the GPS screen)?? When you rest your sight on the cheap feeling buttons on the HU, logic dictates that the corresponding display should be next to, or at least close to, the buttons array itself…

In the new Civic, you have to strain your eyesight all the way to that tiny low res LCD screen beside the tach to read your FM channel, CD, MP3 tracks etc…! :( Why make things so difficult for its drivers, esp with such a small LCD screen? And despite having a bigger display screen as compared to the single line layout in the FD, the new HU still CANNOT display unicoded MP3/WMA ID tags… meaning it can’t display chinese, Japs, Korean etc characters…. !@#$%

Don’t bash Korean cars just becos you know the Civic is a goner when placed against the new Elantra :(

• goo goo dolls on May 22, 2012 at 9:54 am

Steering feeling is dependent on the EPS setting la my fren.High ampere EPS can provide easy maneuvering capability.
        as for how i managed to test drive i cant reveal to u and neither do i have to justify.

As for ur complaints about the display,i do find the multiplex meter as attractive with as its colour changes according to driving style,n the multi info display has way more functions if u had taken the time to look into it .instead of complaining that it’s not visible even with colour displays i suggest u get ur eyes checked.

As for koreans,i dun deny that the do look good in the design department.and thats all they are good at.Take time to test drive different cars before making it sound like u know what u r talking about

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Whether a car’s steering feels responsive or not doesn’t depend on the electrical current draw of the EPS motor.

• goo goo dolls on May 22, 2012 at 2:32 pm

how does not it affect?higher ampere results in increased sensitivity.of cuz there are those EPS that feel disconnected from the wheels but thats not the case for Honda

• ss427 on May 22, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Bro, how heavy or light your EPS is really depends on the manufactuer, not the AMOUNT of current or voltage la.. WTF… :D :D

The electric system uses a computer controlled motor to assist in steering. On some cars this motor can be located in the steering rack itself or it may be mounted outside. Some of these system have a computer to monitor road speed, and adjust the motor speed to provide different feedback depending on speed. This allows for better low speed assist and better road feel on the highway. Another advantage is that because their is no power steering pump to draw horsepower away from the engine. It would have a slight effect on engine load.

But EPS will never offer the kind of steering feel a conventional hydraulic setup could. In the EPS, if you want a heavier steering, you’d reduce the electric motor assist, which may not in turn increase steering feel.

In simple language it means the engineers will have to specifcally tune the electric motor for a predetermined amount of assist. Turning up the current is not going to get you anywhere… LOL

• goo goo dolls on May 22, 2012 at 5:34 pm

that is what i m talking about la,of cuz i m aware it is determined by manufacturers.u didnt read my comment properly my fren.i did mention that steering feeling is dependent on EPS setting(which is set by manufacturers) and the “lightness”/”heaviness” feel of the steering is determined by the ampere reading,so the higher the ampere the lighter it feels.and subsequently the heaviness at certain speeds is determined by ECU as u said.

Easy to copy and paste answers for wiki.answers.com

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Come on, it depends on the gearing and the rotation rate of the EPS. High torque, high current motor + tall rotational ratio might not be as smooth as low torque, low current motor + short rotational ratio. Do you think the motor is directly driving the steering pinion or rack? Whether high or low current, it doesn’t translate to steering feedback. Steering feedback depends on other factors besides the way the EPS motor assists the steering.

• goo goo dolls on May 22, 2012 at 10:00 am

oh yeah one more thing,i drove the Elantra too.it sucks.using cheap Torsion beam setup that makes it floaty,weird dashboard design and air con vent

Not to mention the steering had no feeling wat so ever,delayed engine response despite high performance figures and a jerky 6 speed transmission.

It looks nice and thats all it is

• Leonardo on May 22, 2012 at 8:41 am

I hope the Malaysian version comes with Dark Grey interior as in this photo.I also hope local distributors are not deaf and color blind, as Beige interior is very hard to maintain, especially in our Tropical conditions.

• matsatay on May 22, 2012 at 9:10 am

The exterior is OK. ‘safe’ design. But the interior? The only good thing about the interior is it will look exactly the same before and after a crash!

• seriousdude on May 22, 2012 at 9:14 am

at least this version the front grille looks much better than the US version ^^

• ong chin aun on May 22, 2012 at 10:52 am

Fine, Civic come with Manual. Pray it come to M`sia. Don`t you think M`sian can`t drive Manual ? Let have more option and driver choice. Driving is a skill. Also, driving need concentration and alert cos lives is concern. Safe driving is of vital important. Fast driving with concerntration and skill not necessary dangerous and cause accident.

• squall_shinoda on May 22, 2012 at 11:06 am

Ouch. Too bad. Exterior’s a failure. Interior…boleh la. The European 2012 Civic designed by our penjajah is much better. The only good thing is that this Civic finally got push-start button, which even Preve also got it earlier, to replace the ancient wave-blade keys.

• DKBOSS on May 22, 2012 at 11:16 am

Was Honda watching too many Knight Rider series ….the interior is cluttered with too many small lcd screens and all out of place …..let not even go to the exterior !!!

http://www.ohgizmo.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/01/knight_rider.jpg

• squall_shinoda on May 22, 2012 at 11:19 am

It’s more like ordinary 4AT + an extra tall overdrive. Even the mechanics of Honda’s 5AT is totally different than normal auto gearbox, because Honda’s auto gearbox consists of ordinary gears (like manual gearbox) plus hydraulic multi-plate clutches, a valve body, electronic servos and actuators, and a torque converter of course, as opposed to planetary gears in normal AT ‘box. That’s why Honda cars cannot use normal ATF.

• Donkey Kong on May 22, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Which makes them capable of handling high torque well, because this sort of setup (similar to those GM Hydramatic gearboxes) do not use braking bands to grab on to planetary gears.. and their ratio spread doesn’t include combinations of tiny sun gears transferring rotation in the middle of a nested gearset. Gearboxes with such nested rigneveaux or lepelletier gearsets are often very compact, but potentially have more wear and tear, hence requiring gearbox fluids with friction modifiers and metal protectants.

• kenny on May 22, 2012 at 11:24 am

looks more and more uncle like… this car should aim for youngster. The interior looks a bit out of proportion, or maybe just the optical illusion?

• Calvin Foo on May 22, 2012 at 11:28 am

I think I like the current design better. More unique and has the wow factor and futuristic.

The new one. is like… just another regular sedan…. and it has some Accord shadow.

• I do not know why everybody say that there is wow factor in the current model compared to the new civic. All that is different is the front and back light plus the grille. The body shape is almost the same, cant’t see any diff.

• ss427 on May 22, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Sigh…. if only Honda and Toyota can get their acts together and keep up with the Koreans… Being in financial difficulties is one thing, but to perform severe cost cuttings and subsequently degenerate your halo products to meet your financial goals is just plan stupid. Is Toyota and Honda fully expecting the competition will stay where they are and will wait till your financial health is better?? LOL :)

If only T&H can build something like this and sell at similar prices… No, I don’t think I’d want to spend so much $$ on a Lexus LS 460 just to enjoy the following… not when the Koreans have shown that you can have all the bells and whistle for far less money…

http://youtu.be/RtzicfCDG1Y
    http://youtu.be/_hkV8uenSKY
    http://youtu.be/V14qZj_AtsA
    http://youtu.be/XKfZMgkOICA

To Maserati and Hyundai De la Junk Bro, let’s hear how crappy and junk the above are going to be… LOL :D

• Why are comparing an animal with a car here? K9 should be in the police dog unit..

• Civic Gen8 on May 22, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Yeah !!! Got every reason to hang on to my Black Civic 1.8 2006 model. Still look fresh on interior and exterior after 6 years. Many eyeing to buy from me at 80K (good resale value). Honestly speaking, have no regrets in buying this car. Wait to hand down to my 17 years old son. :-)

• Jarred on May 22, 2012 at 6:22 pm

with all these mr know it all attitude and technical scientific comments, sometimes I wonder, what cars do you guys drive in real life..

• bonbon on May 22, 2012 at 6:25 pm

ok,,, let try to be relevent (at least base on what i need for my next car)

i am seriously looking for either this
    1. Civic 1.8 S A/T or
    2. Preve 1.6 Executive A/T
    i dont think i need 2.0 or soft turbo…because i need a car that could good for my money
    either
    1. good FC and give me prestige(kononnya lah)
    2. Low payment and allow me to spend money on a quality life
    so my decision would be depend on new 1.8 Civic pricing ….

• Dun get your hopes up. You can buy 2 Preve for the single price of the 1.8 Civic. My advice, go for Mazda 3 base, won’t go wrong with that.

• preve of course, much cheaper than mazda3, go for turbocharged cfe, even though you don’t need it, but it’s fun especially at highways

• Civic Gen8 on May 24, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Even though it is irrelevant to compare, but for argument sake,
      Proton Gen2 1.6 (2006) : Brand new (RM58K); 2nd Hand Value (RM28K)
      Honda Civic 1.8 (2006) : Brand new (RM110K): 2nd hand value (RM80K)
      Both depreciate above 30K for 6 years. Comfort, tecnology, safety, quality (including quality of life)…go figure…..

• bonbon on May 30, 2012 at 1:52 pm

ok, so i have to go figure base on my how much money i willing to spend, i guess….,

so new civic price >50k then new gen2 …, depreciation value is same. ermm…. but can i say gen2 owner have more 50k to spend on several vacation? auto gate? good bicycle for sport? (this is what quality of life i refer to) … maybe for 6 year(2006-2012) i can say 30k instead of 50k? … ermmm 30k/72month= RM416.67 only … look like better for me to look go civic …

• cut cost civic on May 22, 2012 at 10:59 pm

Out dated SOHC, It’s all about cut production cost. H is always give out old engine to ppl.
    Not believe, try drive Honda SOHC to genting, then try Toyota DOHC to genting, or drive Honda civic 2.0 DOHC to genting, i 100% sure u will buy DOHC.

• alldisc on May 25, 2012 at 9:40 am

poor proton campro got DOHC also but lacking to deliver its power.

• at Rm110K…PUG 408 is waiting there..

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2012 at 9:37 pm

1 year later, RV for 408 RM75k
      1 year later RV for Civic 1,8 will be RM95k

You decide

• Muhammad on May 23, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Wait for new ford focus la . Better review than civic in us. If can fork out extra get golf tsi la. Eversince change to continental no turning back to japs or korean. Driving must be pleasurable . Just not a to b . Nvr too late to find out.

• teelim on May 24, 2012 at 1:12 am

Seriously, I don’t know why the comparison between the Preve and the Civic (and probably any other car out there)

I am NOT saying Preve is a lousy car, its just that:
    1) It still a Proton (so you have to be comfortable or not care about the image, and probably also after sales service)
    2) If you get one, you’ll just be among the MANY who also got one (does not stand out)
    3) The lack of premium feel of a Proton
    4) Desirability (at the end of the day, its still not your first choice for a car if you had more money – not applicable for all people though)

So to everyone out there, enough with the “Preve is cheaper but still can smoke XXX or YYY, etc.” Deep down inside, we all still prefer the image and reliability of foreign cars (esp. Japanese and German)

—-

Anyway, back to the New Civic. I think with its NA engine and 5spd autobox, on paper it looks really outdated when compared with the Pugs or VWs. Sure, the typical chinaman will be championing the resale value of the Honda and Toyota, but seriously, Toyotas now only appeal to “uncles” while Hondas mostly appeal to “ah bengs” (or those who like to modify their cars alot).

If you look at the equipment levels of Hondas and Toyotas for the price you pay in Malaysia, they are a total ripoff when compared with Pugs or VWs. To me, it does not really matter if their resale values are lower at the end of the day. Whats more important is that you get what you pay for in terms of equipment.

and yeah, I hope that Honda changes the service intervals to 10k-15k km instead of the current 5k km

• gktong on May 24, 2012 at 6:14 am

“3) The lack of premium feel of a Proton”

preve like contis already in someway , please read reviews
      honda still normal jap car

• teelim on May 25, 2012 at 12:38 am

when I said lack of premium feel, I meant the hard plastics used in the preve and also the feel of the steering (only the CFE preve has leatehr wrapped steering).

• penang born... on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:51 am

baru launch ler beb….tunggu after year..conti feel or local feel….quality improve…but sc remain…biasalah proton

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 8:18 am

But Pugs sui kwan wor

• just forget the feel, premiumness is the reality. just look at the smoothness of trasnmission (ok it’s a cvt, but as long as it’s smooth nearly as dsg, why not), superb handling with comfort ride like contis and very quite cabin, powerful turbocharged engine it’s just match the contis already, while civic and toyota left as overpriced car

• Roadie on May 24, 2012 at 9:59 am

With 2,000 years of automotive experience, this is all u can come up with, Mr Honda?

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Are you a kimchi car owner that has 2nd thoughts about it and can’t sell because the RV is hailat?

If so, call 1800 JUMP NOW

• bonbon on May 30, 2012 at 12:51 pm

2000 year, that mean H have more experience to cheat their customer maa

• squall_shinoda on May 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

No wonder why American Honda is now resorting to get Linkin Park to promote the car via 2012 Honda Civic Tour, where a(n un)lucky winner will get a 2012 Honda Civic Si specially airbrushed by them.

Looks like Honda Malaysia will have no choice but to bring Linkin Park here to make a concert to promote this fugly Civic.

• awang Preve on May 25, 2012 at 2:38 pm

I love my Preve very much!

• Omega Red on Jun 03, 2012 at 12:22 am

the front look like a wider new honda city.
    the rear look like wider old honda city.

• penang born... on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:47 am

what waste if 2.0 using same engine like 1.8…..to much from Honda….now current 2.0 going more reliable than the new one….kena makan asap dengan model lama……

• penang born... on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:59 am

to all preve or proton owner…ur comment not to be liked here…better dont comment ma…useless commentary bcz u know it urself…..Honda known it for it engine and quality….please dont waste our time to see ur comment….dislike urs

• EIEi5555 on Jun 16, 2012 at 12:57 am

I’m in Thailand and I have seen it last month at motorshow . I think it’s ok

• AMG63 on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:23 pm

NOTHING SPECIAL

• jojie on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:38 am

berapo riyal nih?

• Go Magazine on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:17 am

Paultan please consider doing video reviews like this I’m sure your website traffic will quadruple in no time! (:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2nR7SVvvQY&list=UU-MByr5LRnWmVN94Ija4XJg&index=1&feature=plcp

• just accept the fact that this CIVIC 2012 is ugly.. finish!

• ok, I’m a 17 year old here. Was looking at Elantra and Civic. The reason is because I’m gonna aim for a scholarship to college, then my father get me a car at this range. Went to see the elantra, at first, excited cuz design looks amazing. But inside, nahh. So-so. Without paddle shifts. Went to see the civic yesterday, at first sight, the car was quite sporty in my opinion. The back of the car very special. The front only looks abit like the city. Only the civic hybrid’s front looks very identical to the insight. Went into the driver’s seat of the civic, and wow. The steering felt magnificent. I just literally raped the steering wheel. Its so comfortable. With the handbrake, I prefer it there instead of the leg-brake. More sporty feel. Gear feels like a joystick. At the rear, I could sleep there. Seriously. I will go for this and by the time I get it, probably a facelift model ad. Can’t wait! Resale value is quite important really. And civic’s resale will be better than elantra, no doubt. And Honda spent loads on R & D, thus, the engine. Really? You guys want the DOHC engine that produces the same power but burns more fuel? I won’t want to pay more for the petrol. Plus, this car is only a little behind elantra on fuel efficiency. Not a big difference. So, Civic 100%. This look is refreshing. The previous model’s looks was around for 7 years or so. Its kinda outdated for me. New look, anyone?

• Pororo on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:07 pm

the difference between civic snd preve is…
    during heavy accident preve sure died. Malaysia boleh!

• messi10 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:48 pm

so frust because it come with SOHC..i want to buy this 2.0 civic but now i must think again..maybe i should choose Lancer GTE