My Proton Makeover: Madam Lee’s 1991 Saga revealed!

The sixth and final My Proton Makeover project car was unveiled this afternoon, when R3 Head of Engineering Tengku Djan Ley handed back the keys of this 1991 Saga Aeroback to its first and only owner, Madam Lee Koon Gaik. The 54-year old homemaker was ecstatic, and couldn’t recognise her ride, which has been thoroughly “overhauled” by the R3 team.

Lee said she liked the new colour and “comfortable seats” the most. “The whole appearance of the car has changed,” she exclaimed, going on to explain that the although the 21-year old Saga was difficult to start at times, and the air con wasn’t as strong as she liked, it had no major problems. It’s the only car that serves her and her retired husband, and she uses it to visit the market and fetch kids to school.

The thrifty lady from Seri Kembangan even sewed the car’s torn cushions herself, although none of that can be seen now with black leather and alcantara covering the cabin. The “furry” material is also found on the dashboard and original steering wheel. R3 also threw in red piping and a Sony single-DIN player.

Tengku Djan explained that the goal for this car was to “keep it as stock as possible” with some R3 touches. The top drifter also revealed that Madam Lee’s Saga was one of the easier cars to do – some of the previous chosen ones had specific requests, and some cars looked decent but were less pretty under the skin.

“Understanding her driving patterns as she uses her car for daily errands, we worked to give the car a more pleasurable drive. The engine and gearbox were rebuilt without adding any performance enhancements or mods, with the exhaust system being tweaked to improve torque without making it loud or noisy.

“Considering that she does a considerable amount of town driving, the car’s suspension was upgraded to improve ride comfort. To improve the car’s stability, we went with 16-inch wheels which will enhance the car’s overall road holding ability,” Djan added.

As a Saga owner myself, I really like the fact that R3 chose to maintain the “classic feel”, retaining the car’s original grill and logo. They would have put in original tail lamps too, but new OEM ones are no longer available. As seen in the work-in-progress images posted yesterday, exterior enhancements include a slim rear spoiler, gunmetal highlights and subtle red pinstripes.

Let’s give the final word to Madam Lee. “I have always maintained that this car would be sufficient to serve me a lifetime. Thank you Proton for your commitment towards simple customers like me, going the extra mile to help me keep this car going,” she said.

Previous My Proton Makeover projects include Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga, Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 1994 Wira, Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri’s 1996 Iswara Aeroback, Hafiz Mohd Hashim’s 2001 Satria GTI and Amirul Azim’s 2001 Satria 1.3.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• patricia on May 24, 2012 at 6:12 pm

hello any1 know…how can i join this contest….my wira tercabut here and there…

• Julian Lee on May 24, 2012 at 6:16 pm

BMW Better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • solen on May 24, 2012 at 6:24 pm

OMG, i like the exhaust, like water pipe

• they should choose the car type.. so sad cant see proton waja version

• Nissan on May 24, 2012 at 6:31 pm

the only one that do not get the momo steering.

• lol..modified like didnt modify like that

• deftones on May 24, 2012 at 6:48 pm

one nice makeover…i’ve driven saga before..but i would say proton should put some noise insulation at the engine bay since they have stripped the whole car…at least that would make it more comfortable..not that expensive though…same goes the saga blm..no sound insulation..noisy inside..

any, nice by proton here..looks original..that what we want..old saga should be maintain original instead modify to some mitsubishi

• nebula87 on May 24, 2012 at 6:53 pm

I WANT…..the rims only…xD

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 24, 2012 at 7:34 pm

JPJ close one eye on this?, illegal num plates. as usual.

• but why no power steering for auntie atleast?

• Jeff Lim on May 24, 2012 at 8:47 pm

1.5 Saga Aeroback Auto already comes with standard pwr steering if I’m not mistaken. Anyway, RARE CAR!

• But lost an useful rear wiper instead.

• gtmaniac on May 25, 2012 at 3:45 pm

I believe they installed the LMST boot to the car. That’s why no rear wiper.

How to spot LMST boot: Long 3rd brakelight, rubberless glass surround (2006+ LMST) and no reverse-light on no. plate panel.

• I agree with the writer, actually. I love that they chose to keep it as close to stock as possible while giving it some subtle upgrades to ride comfort and interior. For some reason, I like this better than the previous ones that look too tacky.

• HirumaKecil on May 24, 2012 at 10:29 pm

But i think the rims look to big.. I mean.. it look great just nampak macam x kena.. its ok they put the rims in the previous car, but for this car i think 15” rims is the best… Maybe coz we read it and we know who drive this car and for what purpose.. Overall it is of good looking car.. I’m a fan of saga aeroback my self and i like this car so much.. Good job proton..

• d.o.b 1887 on May 24, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Anyone remember this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgugzGITFdw

• nebula87 on May 24, 2012 at 8:13 pm

how bout this??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=LwC6fF3SR9w

• policeman on May 24, 2012 at 8:23 pm

I wish i had a time machine. Saga was good then. Traffic wasn’t so bad, food tasted better, everything had quality, women looked better, music was better, movies were better, porn wasn’t readily available, no Banglas, weather was cooler. Life in general was better.

• Stranger on May 24, 2012 at 8:10 pm

The plate number font size are not the JPJ approved ones….

• Nice!!! Love the exterior but i think they should put in some noise insulator, and change new aircond dials!!

• Tiguan on May 24, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Dash mat is designed for senior citizens.

• alldisc on May 25, 2012 at 8:18 am

i tot dashboard is dirty! ha ha ha… reminds me of someone in the last makeover review – who cannot differentiate why the dashboard looked ‘
      dirty’.

• udasalleh on May 24, 2012 at 9:32 pm

hmmm… its a good job… but could’ve given it a more stronger metalic color… n alamak..! couldn’t they give her rear doors new electric windows???

• Chubbi on May 24, 2012 at 9:55 pm

awesome effort, except the furry dashboard material. also they should install the original 1980s tail light. would look much more authentic and classic.

• Chyan on May 26, 2012 at 12:29 pm

That furry material is alcatara. A fine replacement for leather/vinyl-esque wrappings.

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 24, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Everytime read this kind of make over news…………. i feel sorrow to Malaysian. Have to use a car for more than 20 years…and still have to re-condition it and continue drive for another 20 years…!

Malaysia are not developing! but is going backward!

All the best…….!!

• squall_shinoda on May 24, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Hi Danny, I just got an announcement via Facebook that Linkin Park is teaming up with Lotus F1 to develop an app called Linkin Park GP, can you check it out regarding that? Thanks! :)

• squall_shinoda on May 25, 2012 at 7:32 am

Many Americans still drive their old 1960s-70s muscle cars and restore them as new, so are you going to say that they are going backward? They do this because it’s a part of their national history. Same goes to here through My Proton Makeover.

• azhar on May 25, 2012 at 9:06 am

from 13″ to 16″..she wont be happy when its time to replace her tyres!

• _xXx_ on May 25, 2012 at 9:11 am

uncle n auntie so happy coz get free refurbishment….resale price up from RM1500 to 5k now…
    I suggest they quickly sell the rims at RM1500 via mudah.my so that the entire car is actually a free car from proton..hehe

• _xXx_ on May 25, 2012 at 9:14 am

Proton engineer can’t even paste a sticker properly. Take a look at the bubble trapped under the VIP decal….tiew.

• Cosmo Artemis on May 25, 2012 at 11:17 am

Tiewww la you xXx…that is not bubble. Lighting from lampu lah. Nak bashing pun kena kaji dulu.

• _xXx_ on May 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

I was talking bout the decal under the spoiler, not the one on the door. Click the picture to view the enlarged photo kepala butoh…

• Mandingo on May 25, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Yikes, wonder all these profanities can get pass the admin.
        Bahasa jiwa bangsa bro. control la sikit.

• korop on May 26, 2012 at 4:37 pm

why so jelly?

• ben yap on May 25, 2012 at 9:21 am

Aunty, so when are you going to sell off this car for a profit?

• Mou Mou Ren on May 25, 2012 at 9:33 am

It is makeover proton. Not PIMP MY Proton…. hahhaha

• mindwealth on May 25, 2012 at 9:39 am

i usualy bash proton cars…always…but sometime i felt they deserve second chance…chance to fight back to show the world.they are trying to be loyal to their customers by arranging programs such as make over…atleast we should appreciate our brand.

• DSC_0139b photo with happy face = priceless :-D

pity now the aunty is going to start worrying about her makeover car being stolen for its “new” accessories :-(

• albag on May 25, 2012 at 10:31 am

looks clean and maintain they retro saga feel…

• Lauyiachia on May 25, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Proven that mitsubishi engine still reliable and going strong. Not sure about the campro, waja 1.8 (peugeot engine), and Tiara (citroen engine) still running around after 20+ years on. Would like to see the makeover for TIara.

• After final make up, i do hope Mdm Lee could keep as a vintage last for another 21 years. Good work.

• no front speaker?.. give her a 4-speaker audio system la… at least…

• noname on May 25, 2012 at 6:29 pm

overall look good, but sohai tail lamp spoil the looks…

• this car looks so pathetic.no point the make over.after 3 months it will look the same old shitty proton.
    proton is a shitty car…same goes to the moron who invented this crap piece of shit.

• 13mei12 on May 26, 2012 at 2:39 pm

bash bash bash … boom boom boom.. hater gonna hate … those who love proton keep on supporting …. those who love honda , toyota, mitsu , etc etc .. go buy those car you all have your own money to buy and no one kacau ur money liau….. for one keep a positive mind that malaysia has his own company cars unlike others… indo , Philippians, singapore , that don’t have any… so i think be thankful .. instead of condemning proton why not help make it better … – just my two cents-

• Dr Mamak on May 26, 2012 at 4:56 pm

They must stop flogging a dead horse already.

• Ik Bing on May 27, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Why is the exhaust pipe sticking out..?! So ugly..

• CANAI on Jun 04, 2012 at 4:55 pm

This is the most ugly and heartless proton make over car ever in the contest..WTF is this rojak thing?! totally saja buat… kesian lah madam lee…

• Jasni Bin Hassan on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:39 am

This is a good move by Proton to have the project called Proton Makeover, the contest only limited to only 5 winners. I suggest Proton should open it for 5 winners every 3 month. OR Proton should limit the contest for owner of the Proton Saga(1st model)only.

• Soh Yean Pheng on Apr 23, 2013 at 6:09 pm

I got a 1991 Saga 1.5(A) 2 years ago, I hate the auto drink petrol like no tomorrow! I change to manual save 1/4 to 1/3 of petrol when driving to KL. Do some simple modified such as air intake Suspension and exhaust. The car become more powerful, overtake Exora. So far the top speed I try reach 170km/h.

• kecik on Sep 11, 2015 at 4:47 pm

hii .. boleh tak terangkan mcm mne pengiklanan My Proton Makeover ni??

• kecik on Sep 11, 2015 at 4:56 pm

hai .. boleh tk terangkan My Proton Makeover ni mcm mne??

• Mohamad Hilmi Bin A'la on May 06, 2018 at 7:35 pm

saya nak makeover saga lama saya macam mana ya?