Mazda CX-5 test drive review: driven to the beach!

All things considered, the freshly-launched Mazda CX-5 is the company’s most important vehicle to date. The company is really banking on this one for two reasons – the CX-5 is Mazda’s first compact SUV and this vehicle gets the full SkyActiv treatment.

I have touched on the SkyActiv components in my launch report, which I urge you to read. As a short recap, SkyActiv is an umbrella term by which the body, chassis, engine and transmission are conceived from a clean sheet of paper.

This means that all the components are developed in tandem so that they will make the vehicle handle brilliantly and give excellent performance without sacrificing economy. And you know what, it works.

Back to the CX-5 and how ‘unsharp’ it looks. While it does stand out among the current crop of SUVs, the Kodo-based design does not immediately leave cuts in your eyes the way the Takeri concept did. Still, the CX-5 has all the folds and creases in the right places. Incidentally, the design gives a drag coefficient figure of 0.33 Cd.

Nevertheless, the front grille and headlamps combination does follow the Kodo design philosophy quite nicely. Seen whole, the CX-5 has a stance that brushes away any impression of it being matured and serious. Nice to see a Japanese company that still knows how to have fun.

You can find all sorts of creature comforts inside. The seats (only the driver’s chair is power adjustable) are wrapped in leather. It cradles the posterior quite comfortably and gives nice back support. The CX-5 does not skimp on space; the 2,700 mm wheelbase ensures that there’s plenty of room for a long pair of legs.

Mazda has a good reputation for having tight fit and finish and I’m glad it has carried forward that same level of quality into the CX-5 as well. The materials used are a mixture of plastics, some softer than the other. But more importantly, it has fluffed up all the important contact points.

What the designers have left behnd is the sheer amount of buttons that used to permeate Mazda dashboards. The CX-5’s interior – and this is my only beef with its insides – looks too clean and simple; a contrast to what you see on the SUV’s metal shell. Oh well, can’t have everything.

Bermaz has also packed lots of goodies with the CX-5 too. The Special Accessories Package, valued at RM6,000, includes 225/55 tyres with 19-inch alloy wheels, electric sunroof, audio system with sat-nav (which runs on TomTom), leather seats, nine-speaker Bose sound system and a reverse camera with colour TFT touchscreen.

Mazda’s local partner says that the special accessories come standard only for the time being. The additional bells and whistles will become optional in the near future.

Before I bring up the topic on the engine and how it drives, let me touch on the SkyActiv-Drive first. It is a six-speed automatic gearbox that uses a torque converter to get it moving from standstill. However, once north of 8 km/h, the gears lock up to eliminate the need of a fluid coupler to change the gears.

This means the transmission establishes a mechanically direct link with the engine quicker than the competition. What this also does is surgically remove the lag you would expect from an auto gearbox.

It feels crisp, no matter if you leave it in ‘D’ or flick the gears through the manual interface. The transmission is also smart enough to always be in the right gear at the right time. Very promising indeed.

Shifts are fast and very direct, much like how a dual-clutch gearbox behaves. It is also creamy smooth, like a CVT only without the noise. There is virtually no loss in rpms as you go through the motions of getting the CX-5 up to speed.

Things get a little bit complicated from here. In spite of the fact that both 2WD and AWD CX-5 variants breathe with the same SkyActiv-G engine with the same stratospheric 13:1 compression ratio, there’s a slight difference in power figures. And this is just the start of what makes the variants different.

The 2WD gets to run with 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The AWD’s figures are a hair’s breadth lower with 152 hp at 6,000 rpm and 198 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

Mazda claims that the figures are measured at the wheels instead of the engine. The loss of one horsepower in the AWD, as Mazda says, happens when power is sent from the engine to all four wheels.

Personally, seeing as there is only a miniscule difference in figures, they could have measured the power at the engine instead and no one would know the difference.

The AWD is not quick off the line as you’d expect it to. Standing on the accelerator only yields a laboured groan, but not much speed. But then again, the engine had barely registered any kilometres.

Once up to speed, the AWD comes together and settles down nicely. There is some good mid-range power and pace to be enjoyed. The engine and gearbox responds quick to the accelerator, needing only the lightest taps to downshift for overtaking.

There’s adequate feedback from the steering, definitely more than the current crop of SUVs in the market. It is weight-adjusted according to speed, making it easy to navigate around tight parking spots, feel assured on the highway and sensitive around the bends.

Speaking of going around the bends, the AWD system constantly makes small adjustments to keep going where you want it to go. It’ll put you through the motions, going from oversteer to understeer and back to oversteer. All the while keeping the nose pointing to the right direction without needing further steering input from you.

It does feel ‘iffy’ at first, but once trust is established with the system, the act of stitching up corners will be all too easy. And it is precise too, putting down rubber in all the right places to trace a nice curve. The more I drove the AWD, the more fun I got out of this compact SUV.

Yet, it is the 2WD that I would have on my driveway. It gives better fuel economy, 6.9 L/100 km versus 7.3 L/100 km on a combined cycle. It is also a lighter vehicle. The 2WD weighs in at 1,522 kg, which is 67 kg lighter than the AWD version.

Out of the bag, the 2WD is the one that is easier to drive. Acceleration feels more willing, hence quicker away from zero. The engine also feels less strung up in spite of it having about the same amount of mileage than the AWD model.

The two-wheel drive CX-5 feels just as relaxed and confident when cruising at the national speed limit. And like the AWD version, this CX-5 gives good mid-range aggression and respectable high-speed overtaking.

It is in the corners that the 2WD and AWD models feel different. The two-wheel drive CX-5 feels more balanced around the corners, going around them with much enthusiasm and grip.

OK, there might be some understeer due to its front-wheel drive nature, but you almost won’t notice of any meaningful loss of traction. Do you really need the AWD then? In normal driving conditions, the 2WD CX-5 handles better than you might expect.

The test drive was not a long one and it ended far too early. The CX-5 has a nice party bag of tricks but due to a lack of time, I wasn’t able to dig deep into that bag.

Still, if you are in the market for a sporty utility vehicle, you can’t really go wrong with the CX-5. As it stands, Mazda has put together a really nice vehicle to drive and live with.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Mazda For Life on May 25, 2012 at 7:37 pm

I share your initial driving impressions & sentiments. I have to admit, it took me a few days to get accustomed to the way the CX-5 shifts, but once I’ve got used to the transmission logic, it’s absolutely marvelous. Some may balk at the “lack” of power or thereof, but IMHO it’s there, just you need to give it a jolt. While the SKYACTIV-G will NEVER compare to the award winning 1.4 TSI in the Golf, it’s a good start by Mazda. Who knows, in the future, a SKYACTIV-T (T=Turbo) may just be on the cards.

• alamak on May 25, 2012 at 9:50 pm

same impression, well say

• Redwings on May 26, 2012 at 12:48 am

I like your name.. Mazda for life.
      Zoom Zoom

• Mazda 4 life . U are a liar. And u r a sales man for mazda n u own either a old junk proton or rubbish bike. Dont lie coz the rear seat sucks n only bring backache.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
      • I sat at the back of the car – it’s not as laid back as a sedan but I think it’s comfortable. More comfortable than a Hilux twin cab or a Avanza. Not as plush as a Merc or as laid back. Granted, I have not sat at the back when the car is moving (I am too kotak to let other people drive my car for now) but the passengers I ferry seem to think it’s no different from their Harrier or X-5. All of them did complain about the lack of a rear air-cond vent though!

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 4:34 pm

lu, speak for yourself. I never insisted people agree to my opinions & comments.
        If you don’t like what others say, keep your zip shut.
        If you’ve nothing nice to say, keep quiet.
        DO NOT ACCUSE others of being a “liar”, when you do not know the FACTs yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • The ECU learns and adapts to the driver’s driving style. I noticed that the car now overtakes without hesitation unlike when I first got the car, it felt a little sluggish and the transmission was everywhere. Now after 500km on the odo – the car seems to fit me very well. Overtaking and going up hill seems to be met with comfortable torque. So if a friend wants to take it for a spin and their driving style differs, they may not like how the car has tuned itself but it fits me like a glove! :)

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 4:35 pm

I have to second your opinion & finding(s), RW. Well said. I didn’t realize the ECU was “adapting”, but it now makes sense :)

• russiaguy on May 25, 2012 at 8:01 pm

A good option for those who prefer a SUV.

• Kia and German on May 26, 2012 at 11:43 am

I have to admit,this Jap car looks great.
      But i will still prefer Kia Sportage.

• Sportage are far behind when it comes it driving dynamic and beside Sportage really look very girlish to me.

• mickey on May 25, 2012 at 8:10 pm

super cool SUV.

• Maaajeeedaaa on May 25, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Am looking forward to swap my lightning mcqueen mazda 3 with next hudson hornet look alike mazda 6 skyactive once it’s launched…..go Mazda!!!!

• imran on May 25, 2012 at 8:14 pm

i test drove.. very impressive indeed
    but the rear seats are too upright.. my kids hate it… so i will wait for the new crv instead

• Agreed with you back seat is not very comfortable…..
      Anyway, I’m getting my CX5 next week!!

• manfisto on May 26, 2012 at 12:12 am

My parent just test drove it few days back.
      Seems like quite a number of people do not like the backseat.
      Too upright.

• A friend of mine complaint that his 2010 Camry’s backseat is too upright also…
        Not sure why they made it like that…..for safety reason maybe?

• hway de Cruz on May 26, 2012 at 9:02 am

where u guys test drove it? i was at glenmarie n ipoh showroom, they say no units available yet for test drive. also, waiting period almost 6 months…

• Mazda For Life on May 27, 2012 at 1:30 am

I used to own the (new) Hyundai Tucson, so I do believe my points do carry some weight.
      After I had driven the CX-5, I sat in the rear seat(s). I was apparently NOT impressed initially & felt the seats were too “upright” & too “firm”.
      Having driven the CX-5 & sat as a rear passenger over the course of a few days, I grew to appreciate the firmness & seat angle on the CX-5 over the Tucson. I felt the Tucson (or Sportage) was a little too soft & resulted in less overall satisfaction. Having owned the CX-5 for >1 week now, I can attest to the fact that while the rear seats may appear a bit firm & too upright, I am now convinced that is now ideal & to my liking.

• I’ve brought a bunch of 60 – 70 year olds around as rear seat passengers and asked them for their comments. 5 total passengers all of whom liked the rear seat. I prompted them about the seating angle, they agreed that it’s more upright than their cars but it doesn’t effect their comfort. These people own and drive:

– 1999 Perodua Kembara
        – 1999 Honda CRV
        – 2004 Honda CRV
        – 2011 Golf R
        – 2011 Mercedes E300
        – 2011 BMW X5

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 4:36 pm

RW read my comments regarding the rear seat(s) below, I’ve extracted from the official Mazda Brochure from Japan.

• MFL, I did read it. That’s why I decided to test it with my circle of friends and relatives. Result is positive. Even going over potholes at speed – less jarring than a sports car but not as sea-sick inducing as some SUVs and MPVs.

• bohtakchek on May 25, 2012 at 8:20 pm

the tech is a hype la…. the one boleh pakai is the diesel but not coming to msia … pity.

• Five Mazda powertrain technology division researchers were awarded by the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers (JSME) for their outstanding work with the SkyActiv-G 1.3-litre engine used in the Mazda Demio SkyActiv-G in Japan.

The award is in recognition of Mazda’s discovery that a low-temperature oxidation reaction (in which bonds within molecules of fuel break and produce energy) occurs before ignition at high compression ratios. This leads to a reduction in knocking and increase in output. The reward also praises Mazda’s innovative use of this discovery in the development of its vehicles.

Every year, the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers awards JSME Medals for the best research papers in each field and for developing new technologies or machines. The awards are presented in an effort to encourage research activities and the development of mechanical engineering.

• The tech is not hype… I’m enjoying the 1 litre to 16km on country roads. In town, if you are not moving, you are wasting – so the 1 litre to 17km does not apply in this context. In fact, lots of other cool (and award winning) tech was not included in the Malaysian units – particularly due to our environment – tropical heat, bad road markings etc. The CX5 is not perfect… I’ve owned and driven H & Ts – I must say the CX5 is up there in it’s build quality and confidence.

BTW, I’ve also driven the Mazda 3 which was assembled locally. I can’t compare that to my locally assembled CRV (granted this was in 2005)… The CRV I received (brand-new) wouldn’t pass for “export finish” – even the engine was faulty as it knocked and trembled on it’s inaugural drive to Port Dickson (badly installed cam-shaft). I can accept that I was an unlucky buyer but this was the kicker: All I received from Honda Warranty services was denials and a lot of wasted time.

• defunk on May 25, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Really nice SUV indeed!

• defunk on May 25, 2012 at 8:24 pm

A really nice SUV indeed

• JeremyNg on May 25, 2012 at 8:35 pm

153 on the wheel ??!! Wow …… If the engine produce 160bhp,. it only has 5% engine loss through de transmission and other little stuff ~ brilliant

• Kia and German on May 26, 2012 at 12:04 pm

U want 160hp go for Kia Sportage,it produce 166hp
      At least I have seen a good looking Japanese car,unlike the current ugly n junk Honda CRV.
      So I think this Mazda will be a real rival to the Sportage,so lets see.

• JeremyNg on May 26, 2012 at 3:11 pm

I don think so sportage produce 160 bhp on the wheel ….., and i think that u misunderstood about wat i try to deliver

• Kia and German on May 26, 2012 at 8:59 pm

If like that,so what you mean by 153hp on the wheel?

• Mazda For Life on May 26, 2012 at 11:03 pm

The Theta-II on the Sportage/Tucson only produces approx 101-105 whp on wheel (wheel hp).

• satrian on May 25, 2012 at 8:55 pm

I like the car very much..test drived …almost in a mid of booking one….very much powerful and well equiped compare to my 1 year old crv……….now the question is …i want to trade in with my 2008 camry 2.0g p.white….it is worth? please give me some input…sorry abit off topic……..im in trauma…..

• RadzLee on May 25, 2012 at 9:07 pm

TRAUMA or DILEMMA??? lol

• Tony Montana on May 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm

I believe he meant trauma with his 2008 Camry. ;)

• satrian on May 25, 2012 at 10:23 pm

yah as u said dilemma….kinda ….any input……its worth or opt for 2013 camry …

• TurboMan!!! on May 26, 2012 at 7:39 am

I would say trade in your camry and start experiencing car technologies in the 21st century.

Not from the last century.

• TurboMan!!! on May 26, 2012 at 7:40 am

From the 21st century.

Apologies. Slight hangover.

Haha

• TopGear on May 25, 2012 at 10:28 pm

traded in my 09 CRV for the new CX5… nice suv

• hope mazda will be leader of jap car 1 day, to beat T,H,N.

• Actually, I hope they remain the underdog and maintain itself as a successful and innovative car producer with soul. Born from the ashes of Hiroshima… (sniff sniff)… It has to have soul.

The reason I went with the CX5 was that it (SkyActiv) shared my views on hybrids. Hybrids are still harming the environment even before they get on the road with inadequate battery technology (still dirty to fabricate and too heavy to provide efficient weight/power ratio).

If I’m not stuck in traffic, it’s one of the most efficient engines available now. If I’m not stuck in traffic…

• Mazda For Life on May 27, 2012 at 1:35 am

When we are stuck in traffic, no hybrid, SKYACTIV, etc will be able to help us.

• Shark on May 25, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Sportage vs CX5? I’m in deeeep dilemma :(

• Cx5 bro

• joesatriani on May 26, 2012 at 9:17 am

alamak broo…cx5 la…ur dilemma settled. ..easy peezy dilemma

• I don’t know why there is a dilemma, CX5 is a crystal clear choice. By the look of this, actually CX5 is the only choice. Mazda has grow by leaps and bounds in term of technology..definitely my next car.

• RedBeanBun on May 27, 2012 at 1:57 am

say no to AP king..

• Nothing Impressive!!

• manfurb on May 26, 2012 at 12:05 am

those who hv test driven it….plse elaborate on CX5’s suspension!! I currently own a 4-yr old grand vitara n im planning to trade it in with CX5 if the suspension system is much softer than that of the vitara…vitara’s suspension is hard despite its smooth engine

• Mazda For Life on May 26, 2012 at 5:46 am

The CX-5’s suspension is quite taut. Firm but not jarring. Very European like, comparable to VW and or Audi (but not quite in the same league, but very very close).
      IMHO I much prefer the “firmness” of the CX-5 compared to my outgoing Tucson which was much softer.
      The AWD handles corners beautifully. The 225/55/R19 Toyo Proxies R36 are well planted during maneuvering & as Chris says, it keeps the car pointed forward. Brilliant.

• To me, the suspension of the CX5 is confident. I take corners with much more confidence and sometimes, I catch myself smiling. Almost feeling 5 years younger.

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 9:39 pm

I cannot agree with you more, RW.
        The CX-5 exudes confidence & the grip is just phenomenal!

• the rear looks a bit too similar to the Tuscon.

• driver on May 26, 2012 at 2:10 am

Initially I couldn’t be bothered to read another Jap’s so call “invention”. But now after completing it, I think it’s a wonderful philosophy. Nonetheless, the implementation and translation of the idea is still subject to reviews, and durability test.

I still go with Germany anyway~

• Ok i’m driving a VW ‘ so called German car ‘ but Mazda and Nissan r the best affordable Japanese car ever built !

• driver on May 26, 2012 at 8:49 pm

“… but Mazda and Nissan r the best affordable Japanese car ever built..” I second that.

If we’re looking at the whole package, the japs made cars have their own strength, e.g. design, costing, etc. But focusing purely on technology side, germany still ahead with real invention. In my opinion, the japs are very good at innovation as opposed to invention.

For instance, the infamous Mazda’s Renesis engine is initially developed by Felix Wankel, a german engineer. Looking at adaptation and economic point of view, the japs’ way of innovating things maybe good, but still it’s subject to the limitations set by the inventors.

• Hii,..guys I’m not sure if its a gud idea to replace my 2 yr old CRV with this. It looks nice and refreshing. Back seat can be adjusted like CRV?? The 2010 CRV feels a bit slaggiest if you have 5 adult in the car during acceleration but once you have the momentum its ok. I have issues with CRV sometimes during overtaking u need to press over drive button then it will drop to 3rd gear. The power peaks at around 140km/h then to get more power it is slow may be due to Single cam (SOHC) but the 2001 CRV which is DOHC is a different animal…..

Still any comment. Paul or anthony and comparison shootout with CRV

• orange on May 26, 2012 at 9:17 am

Y don’t have rear aircon vent like conti’s, Y no temperature gauge

• I would like a rear aircond vent – the black leather upholstery and sunroof makes the car particularly warm and putting the fan of the aircond up (which is quite powerful) makes it feel like a typhoon is blowing through… It needs a rear vent… I hope they make it an available option.

• Orange on May 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm

yes that’s me point exactly…particularly hot climate here, even side vent is also necessary and conti’s like merc understand this

• Tested The FWD model few days ago, My Impression: Need pedal kick down more to harvest the engine speed, road noise very well isolated, lots of winds noise from a pillar on highway speed. Chassis very well made.

• Me Again on May 26, 2012 at 12:32 pm

amazing theres a totaly lack of any view on the ride quality….

• Kuang on May 26, 2012 at 12:50 pm

I like tha Black colour. The other colour come with black skirting is durable but result in some aesthetic loss.

• I’m very happy with my AWD CX-5 – I’ve had it for almost a week now and have the following nitpicks to pick at (driving experience aside):

1. Driver side seat belt warning only – no passenger seat belt sensors installed. Hopefully future batch could do a feature swap, heated seats for passenger seat belt sensors?

2. I find that road grime gets into the internal bottom part of the front doors (not into the cabin). The optional accessories (mud flaps) should be a built in for the Malaysian market

3. No way to open the lift gate from inside the car. I believe it’s also locked when the engine is running – still working out some of the locking logic… :P

• 3. Locked when engine is running and the gear is not in [P]ark. Unlocks when in [P]. Makes sense. Automatically unlocks when all doors are locked but key fob is close to the tail gate.

• Not a car enthusiast on May 28, 2012 at 10:52 am

I just booked mine last week. Waiting period 4-7 months. Sigh..

The SA mentioned something about special glossy coating on the painted surface that can last up to 3 years. The maintain this gloss – you shall not wash your car with soap – use only water. With the amount of dirt, grime and what-not we see everyday on our roads, I’m skeptical that washing with water alone is enough. What’s your experience on this?

• According to the TRIBOS instruction, LOW ALKALINE shampoo should be used.

http://www.triboscoatingsautomotive.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/Tribos-Car-Paint-Warranty-guide-20-12-2011.pdf

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Thanks for the pointers, RW.

• Black Dog on May 26, 2012 at 2:44 pm

With this selling price, i’ll prefer my sorento, 2.4L, very spacious, CBU, AWD with every accesories imaginable. So far 1 year no problem, touch wood! The only downside is naza’s shitty service.

• The new CX-5 might not look the prettiest of SUVs, but has the most advanced technology from Mazda to date, so in terms of specs and reliability, well done Mazda. I thought the Japs would start pairing their technology with force induction since the Europeans have flooded the market with turbos and superchargers of late. Mazda cars are well priced here, value for money and sleek design compared to T and H. :)

• metalbod on May 26, 2012 at 4:08 pm

went to test drive lastweek. 2wd unit. not impresssed by power, moving from standstill. floored d thing, loud engine noise. however, downshift once moving was brilliant. daylight light is amber? instead of led. wanna book, but turned off by waiting time: 6 mths to deliver!

• Dr Mamak on May 26, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Not very pretty to look at. i’d wait for the new CRV.

• man101 on May 26, 2012 at 7:49 pm

No offence but the new CRV is shittier than the current model. Just a facelift IMHO. I’ll get this unit anytime. Lovely SUV.

• To each their own…

Mazda CX5: http://www.netcarshow.com/mazda/2013-cx-5/

Honda CRV: http://www.netcarshow.com/honda/2012-cr-v/

To my eyes, the CX-5 has fun chiselled into it. The CRV seems to be wearing granny under-pants or pantaloons. The CRV’s rear end seems nasty.

• edward on Jun 30, 2012 at 11:15 pm

I was in Brunei and saw the CRV. A real ugly piece of shit.. opps… metal.

• Topgear on May 26, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Driving it for about 1 week, quiet ride, good handling… Well spec..

• driver on May 26, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Side note to Paultan.org:

I have no problem with this new layout, but I like the rating function — i.e. thumbs up or down to individual comment.

A quick suggestion is to have the most rated comment at the top.

Keep up the good work.
    Cheers~

• shawal on May 26, 2012 at 9:06 pm

CX-5 : 6.9L/100km , RM 13.11
    Preve : 6.6L/100km , RM 12.54

That’s skyactive tech….

hmmm… skyactive VS earthdreams …. excited to see
    the new takeri inspired 6 VS the new Accord ….

• The Preve’s curb weight is 15% lighter than the CX-5. Fuel saving is 0.3L on paper – or 0.04% lower than a heavier car with a larger displacement. Hmm…

• And the MyVi has a 6.4L/100km … Apples and oranges.

Maybe we should compare something more tangible like NCAP or IIHS (Institute for Highway Safety) ratings.

• shawal on May 26, 2012 at 10:49 pm

whut im trying to say is, for such a big car , with bigger interior , boot, higher ground clearance , less aerodynamic, it uses almost similar amount of fuel to a c-segment car, cuz our assumptions has alwiz been dt suvs are gazz guzzlers…

• Sorry about that Shawal, it’s just that when you place a Ringgit figure at the end, it seems to finalize the matrix and the “cheaper is better” assumption is made.

Yes, Mazda’s design was to have CX5 compete with present generation conventional small cars. It shakes the SUV segment and brings the environment and economy to zoom-zoom.

• shawal on May 27, 2012 at 4:27 pm

itz ok ,
        yeah, compact crossovers are a big hit in europe like the kuga / qashqai, cuz its more of a complete vehicle ,

but i’d still prefer a 3-box sedan , waiting fer d 6

• Stretched her legs this morning. Filled her up and took a ride to the beach.

Model: CX5 AWD
    Route: Kuching to Sematan beach
    Road type: Country
    Total distance travelled: 107.4
    Average fuel consumption: 7.1L/100km
    Average Speed: 69km/h
    No of passengers: 0 (the driver weighs 125kg so assume one passenger and a normal driver)

The route was slightly hilly with lots of quick overtaking opportunities. Transmission still needs some getting used to – instant flooring causes the transmission to think too hard and you end up red-lining the engine but graceful force of the accelerator will be met with ample torque. Accelerating or overtaking when going up a hill also requires study…

Overall quality of ride was great for the road condition travelled – I arrived at my destination fresh with a healthy appetite.

• Reached home – got back to the same gas station and filled up.

Total distance: 213.3km
      Avg. Speed: 66km/h
      Avg. Fuel Consumption: 7.1L/100km
      Total RON95 refilled: 14.7L

With the confirmation of the re-fill (before the trip, I filled it to the brim and re-did the same after the trip), the efficiency of the engine is no hype.

Yes it doesn’t beat catalogue figures (6.9L/100km) as opposed to what I’ve experienced but catalogue figures were probably taken with different specification and conditions (e.g. i-Stop and air conditioning switched off) – whereas the outside temperature during my drive is 35 deg C and I’ve got the air-conditioner set to 19.5 deg C and I encountered 3 police road blocks. With this in mind, I’d say it’s close enough or even better.

• shawal on May 27, 2012 at 5:24 pm

cool , thanks fer d info~!

• Mazda For Life on May 27, 2012 at 10:46 pm

RW, yours is the 2WD or AWD?
        Yes we never achieve manufacturer’s claimed figures for FC; they are normally in “controlled” environments & done at 90 km/h constant speed.

• Mazda For Life on May 28, 2012 at 1:07 am

My bad, saw your post; yours = AWD

• Hi, just wanna ask. How much is the price for cx5?

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2012 at 2:38 pm

full price list here:

http://paultan.org/2012/05/16/mazda-cx-5-launched-2-0-skyactiv-g-rm155k-to-rm165k/

• navin on May 27, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Can anyone tell me what is the 0-100 and top speed figure for 2WD model?

• vansgoh on May 27, 2012 at 10:45 pm

just tested this morning, the SA told me it’s around 9.6.

• allanwong on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:15 pm

ha????? 9.6 how come in you tube same spec cx5 2.0 auto show 11.3 sec…. Your SA are bult shit la.

• malskywalker on May 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm

hi navin….

watch this vid…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZcuIizv-b9I&feature=g-vrec

• Toyota Harrier on May 28, 2012 at 9:15 am

I own a 2nd generation Toyota Harrier (Lexus RX) and it has been amongst my most comfortable and relaxing SUV in my stable. I have also owned or driven the Triton, Pajero Sports, Hilux, Fortuner and X-trail; and these paled in comparisons to my Harrier during city- and highway-driving; although for the weekend jaunts to the forest reserves and off-beaten jungle paths, the other SUVs were more tough, rugged and more at ease. The CX-5, from the pictures, looks just not-very-SUV-like to me and for some reason, reminds me of the Pig in the Angry Bird game (perhaps due to the front grill). Let’s hope it looks and performs better in real life. Still, Mazda has given us many terrific sporting cars and I hope that CX-5 brings them to newer heights.

• shahrol on May 28, 2012 at 2:53 pm

guys…for 7 seaters SUV…which one better Santa Fe or sorento….please advise

• Shark on May 28, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Changed last minute from Sportage to AWD CX5. Hope can get the ride next week. Lucky me somebody decided to change from AWD to 2WD so my SA told me I don’t need to wait for 6 months to get the AWD version.. Hope I’ve made a good decision to add another 30k to get this compared to Sportage.. by the way.. 1 question to all here.. 2WD is better or AWD????? for me.. i prefer the AWD since it feels heavier and secured.. performance is ok I think.. any comments?

• Hi Shark

I dont want to burst your bubble but I think the 2WD IMO is a tad more value for money and better to drive than the 4WD unless you actually take it off road. The 2WD is easier to steer and hence drive, the 4WD driving experience takes some getting use to and is not as easy to navigate at low speeds like around parking lots or tight spots.

But the difference is not vast and if you cant take the 1/2 year wait which is perfectly understable, go for the AWD version

• JYT, I would agree and yet disagree. I own the AWD CX5, it’s much more fun to drive than my 2004 CR-V. The area around my house is rather hilly and the roads are quite slippery, I’ve done a few 180s trying to accelerate on to the hill (main road) – the intersection (is on and incline and almost always oily) is notorious for this.

Yes the 2WD is more fun and is even more efficient than the AWD but the insurance the AWD gives is worth letting that 1 horse behind (for me).

• Euclid Centorus on May 29, 2012 at 6:17 pm

CX5 owners are unlikely to take their SUVs offroad in Malaysia. Primary consideration for AWD over FWD would be grip and traction on varying surface condition, for example, slippery surfaces after light rain.

• Honestly a really nice car which handles well for its size and weight as well as returning a very healthy FC. Very good build quality and materials used having an upmarket feel.

I can’t see why more people aren’t lightening up to it. For the amount of money you are paying, you are truly getting a feature packed car, with great technology that will save you loads of money at the pump, and with the special accessory package featuring the sunroof and the bose sound system, 19 inch rims, sat-nav etc. (each will already cost more than 6K in other continental marques) and the tribos coat which gives the paint a deep glossy appearance and helps to deter dirt buildup, I think its a truly sensational deal. Much better value than a toyota camry or the upcoming honda crv.

At the end of the day, when you just want something reliable, safe, cost effective and dont want your car to be the 1st target to be stolen or the 1st window to be smashed when you park in an off street in bangsar or in a shopping centre car park, but want to driving something a little luxurious,a little ‘zoom-zoom’ I think the CX-5 has to be up there at the top of the list.

If you want something really cost effective, reliable and CHANGING TYRES will not break the bank as well as paying 92RM road tax then the Honda City and Toyota Vios is waiting for your order

• Mazda For Life on May 28, 2012 at 9:20 pm

This excerpt from Mazda CX-5’s official brochure from Japan (English version of course) regarding the AWD:

The CX-5’s AWD system features an active torque control coupling that delivers linear control of front/rear torque distribution from 100:0 to 50:50. In combination with the high-performance SKYACTIV-CHASSIS and SKYACTIV-BODY, this compact, lightweight drivetrain radically reduces internal energy loss for enhanced fuel efficiency.

Optimum torque distribution to match varying road conditions is achieved by control technologies that not only monitor front/rear wheel speed difference, but also ambient temperature and the amount of power steering assist. The results are superior driveability on any surface: on roads with good grip you get nimble 2WD-like handling, while on slippery surfaces you enjoy confidence-aspiring AWD controllability with 2WD fuel efficiency.

• Euclid Centorus on May 29, 2012 at 6:05 pm

The AWD is more sure footed with less understeer. The FWD no doubt is lighter by nearly 70kg, hence changes direction better, feel more nimble. The CX5 AWD is a newly developed system engineered for lightweight and fuel economy without sacrificing performance – it is 40kg lighter than the AWD in the CX7. So, this new generation AWD in the CX5 is definitely better in every sense. Fuel economy figures are very close for the FWD and AWD.

• I’ve test drove it… it handle well, easy to drive, and the power is there when you need it. Built quality, as usual, Mazda never fail on this.

• Mazda For Life on May 29, 2012 at 8:21 pm

My wife’s CX-5 went for the 1st 1,000km service. Took it to the Main Mazda branch & 3S Center along Federal Highway.
    Apparently was told by the Service Manager, that the CX-5 had a “chip” to “limit” the performance of the car before the 1,000km service was up.
    Once the car was sent for the 1st 1,000km service, they would have removed this “chip” and would result in an improved performance & responsiveness, i.e. more powerful & responsive.
    Any idea on this, for those of you who have sent in your CX-5 for the 1st service?

• Hmm… I don’t know if there is a performance limiter – as the manual states “run in precautions” for the 1st 1000km. However, I do feel a daily improvement of performance! (I’m @ 600km) and I believe this is due to the ECU learning my driving habits. The acceleration sensor in the CX-5 even has an integrated auto-learning function to better adapt to an individual’s driving habits.

So I believe it’s a combination of run-in and technology which makes the CX-5 more fun to drive after a few hundred kilometres.

• zoom zoom on May 30, 2012 at 9:55 am

more powerful after removed chip?

• was wondering which SM that mentioned about this to you… i just came back from the service center and they said no such thing as removing a chip during the 1st 1000km service.

• Shark on May 29, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Interesting fact here bro.. hope others who have sent their car for the first service can share their experience as well. Just want to make sure all service centres have the equivalent knowledge. By the way bro “Mazda For Life”, do you feel any difference after the 1k service?

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 11:10 am

I’ve yet to test my car after the 1st 1,000km service, as I’m abroad. My son drove it to the service center & took it back. Will report further. The more “run-in” the engine is of course the better.

BTW just been informed from the Unit Branch Manager I got the CX-5 from that the so-called “claims” about the increased power from the removal of the “chip” is un-true. I’ve reported to him to follow up on this matter, and he has contacted the service manager at the 3S Center along Federal H/way. This is a serious matter because consumers & us CX-5 owners may be lead to believe something that isn’t true.

• Got my CX-5 today…..so far I loved it!!!

• Shark on May 30, 2012 at 9:29 am

Congrats bro.. please update us on your experience. You got the AWD or FWD?

• I’ve got the FWD….
        As compare to my last car – 2.0 Toyota Wish. The first thing I notice is the cabin is very quiet….noise is very well isolated, there is just a little noise coming from the tire when cruising at high speed.
        Ride quality is also good. Not as smooth as T/Wish on well paved road but handle cornering and bump better than T/Wish with minimal body roll.
        Many people may worry about the lack of engine power but after 2 day of driving it around the city and hwy. I can say that the power is there, you just need to push it a little harder. Not quite powerful as the Wish on low rpm though, but definitely not underpower.

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 11:17 am

Congrats on your new ride! Welcome to the CX-5 owner’s lounge :)

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 11:14 am

Anyway for those of you who are displeased with the rear seats being too “up-right”, I’ve thoroughly read the Official CX-5 brochure (Printed In Japan, in English) which states that (on Page 17 of the Brochure):
    Welcoming, spacious, comfortable – three words that perfectly describe CX-5’s highly functional cabin. From the instant you open the door, CX-5 invites you to settle in and get comfortable. Thanks to a 2,700mm wheelbase – the longest in the class – CX-5 gives all passengers the room they need to stretch out.
    Head-, shoulder- and legroom are all at or near the top of the class and the upright seating posture minimizes fatigue on long journeys. In particular, passengers in the rear enjoy class-leading legroom of 997mm, so even tall passengers ride in comfort.
    The seats are designed for both comfort and good support, especially during spirited driving through the curves.

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 11:16 am

I would tend to agree that:
    “… the upright seating posture minimizes fatigue on long journeys.”
    Because having sat in the CX-5, I then tested my outgoing SUV the Tucson ix35; though the Tucson’s rear seats were in a more “reclined” position, the seat support & posture didn’t feel good for long distance driving.
    I truly agree with Mazda’s claims. The CX-5’s rear seats indeed do offer better support & more so to those with back issue.

• Mazda For Life on May 31, 2012 at 11:24 am

With regard to the SKYACTIV-G’s engine “power”, try this, compared to your outgoing ride:
    Simply take note of the time, when you put the pedal to the metal (the accelerator) and watch the tachometer rev up to red-line. Even better, engage Manual gear mode.
    The SKYACTIV-G’s much more responsive engine revs almost instantaneously, and the needle reaches redline and in manual mode, the redline is “maintained” until you upshift.
    Compared to my outgoing Tucson’s Theta-II’s 165PS engine, the Dual CVVT does rev quickly, but not as quick as the SKYACTIV-G.
    And high compression ratio engines do require higher octane fuel for maximum performance. While the CX-5 is fine with RON95, I’ve filled her up with 2 tanks of RON97, and add a dash of Octane Booster (Lucas) I got from my tuner. And the engine literally SINGS when it is above 4,000RPM. Power and torque comes in nicely and you feel the push back to your seat.
    We were impressed nonetheless when my tuner took my CX-5 for a spin before the 1,000km service, and the fact is we had 3 huge adults in the car, our total weight exceeded 250kgs.

• JorSunAh on May 31, 2012 at 11:29 pm

I just deposit mine today… hopefully no need to wait for 5 months. Anyone starting a FB or forum for CX5 owners? Keep me posted yah !

• Mazda For Life on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:28 am

Will try to start a FB page instead. Congrats on your booking for your new CX-5. I seriously think you won’t regret (don’t compare the SKYACTIV-G to the award winning 160hp 1.4 TSI on the VW Golf; that one is hard to beat).

• Shark on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:35 pm

I got a bomb from my friend today saying that the AWD version will have high maintenance cost… Gear box will cost 40k if kaput after 3 years later.. And currently people are queuing only for 2WD model and not AWD.. Is this true or just a myth? I’m quite afraid after receiving this info.. Thinking of chang to 2WD but i really like the handling and stability of AWD

• Mazda For Life on Jun 02, 2012 at 10:22 pm

These are relatively bold claims. We will only find out later as the CX-5 is entirely new & unsure even if the AWD system was carried forward from Mazda’s previous implementation.

• Euclid Centorus on Jun 03, 2012 at 8:47 am

I think it is pure myth, better to take it with a pinch of salt. Unless your friend works for Mazda Japan. The CX5 AWD is newly engineered, so we won’t know of its reliability. When we buy we just trust Mazda with its Skyactiv technology. Note that the CX5 is CBU and is a global car. Any issue with its AWD will be bad publicity. If you are still unsure, better go for FWD – you do not lose much unless you drive at insane speeds on wet road.

• Shark on Jun 03, 2012 at 10:33 am

Thanks guys for your input.. I decided to stick with my AWD since i checked with different sales dealers and they said the difference are only i need to change my tires all 4 in 1 shot, fuel consumption a little bit hire about 13-14km per liter vs 16-17km per liter for the FWD and extra axles needed. Other than that it should be the same.. even gear box is the same.. However they said Mazda’s gear box can be trusted.. :) Plus.. AWD give me more assurance when I’m on the road when travelling about 50-80km everyday in various road condition

• There has been quite a few crash tests videos going around but I think this one illustrate where the value of the Mazda SkyActiv technology when it comes to safety:

NCAP: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dr5QHOTN5hc

• Shark on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:54 pm

All, may i know what is the mileage of the CX5 when u received the car from dealers? I checked mine yesterday and it is 160km.. :(

• zoom zoom on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:21 am

OMG, they give u domonstration car? Do u request more discount for that?

• Shark on Jun 15, 2012 at 2:47 pm

I decided to not accept the unit and now I’m back in the line.. heard that the delivery will take around 10-12 months..

• opaixx on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:51 am

already bookk.. ngeeeee :D … bye bye jetta..

• olarchive on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Owner of cx5, pls share ur fuel consumption(hw, city, combine).

• olivia on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:14 pm

i love SUV very much & plan to have one. BUT i’m quite confuse dunno which brand to buy? My budget is below RM150K, there is brand like Hyundai Tuscon, Kia sportage & ASX & MAZDA CX5. Which brand is more worth to buy among these four? Anyone can give me some advise?

Thanks

• My wife tested out the Tuscon, Santa Fe and ASX. Ended up ordering a CX5 AWD. Good build quality and drive – although she complains about it being underpowered. Cant go wrong with a CX5 – read the reviews in US – even CRV owners have converted to CX5.

• Tlsee on Jun 10, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Where to install door auto lock system? Will it void the warranty? Thanks.

• Mazda For Life on Jun 12, 2012 at 10:37 am

You can install the auto door lock system from GS Auto; warranty won’t be void, because GS Auto is an authorized Mazda installer/retrofit company. Check with Mazda Malaysia first.

• Hi Just ask the auto lock system need to add additional electronics brd or just programming of current security system? how much?

• hi TIsee,
      I m lee, interest on auto door lock system for my cx5 also. Hv u installed? need to add additional electronics brd or just programming of existing security system?

• Kimlong on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I went to check out the CX-5 in the showroom today. Noticed that the under carriage of the cars is fitted nicely with flat sheets to cover up the uneven and ugly joins and such. I wonder if anyone has tested cruising thru paddle of water at reasonable high speed, to see if the vehicle get “lifted” when the water hitting the flat sheets. TQ

• Mazda For Life on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:51 am

That is great, I didn’t even notice the undercarriage of my car :)

• Jeff Lim on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:04 am

Checked with Daniel Sim of Bermaz PJ (Along fed highway) last friday. Apparently, waiting lists now 10 months for 2WD and 8 months for 4WD. Test driven the car though. Very impressive. EXHILARATING!

• Shark on Jun 15, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Anyone has any update on the new NAP review? Hope there will be no drastic changes to the car prices. If yes then 2nd hand value sure jatuh kow kow..

• just placed a booking fee for CX5 on 13 June’12, but the SA told me have to wait for 4 to 5 months, Can anybody tell me is that true? when is the 2nd batch of the production will release to m’sia ….really can’t wait…tqvm

• Mazda For Life on Jun 17, 2012 at 1:39 am

4-5 months is pretty good, as far as I know it’s >6 months wait time to be realistic.

• Hi Mazda for life & CX5 future owner,

Would like to inform that i received my dream car on 24th Sept’12.(Only 3 mths my Luck maybe :). This crossover SUV really fantastic to drivo & enjoy.

for those future owners of this car i hope you all SABAR and believe me your waiting is worth…Cheers

• JorSunAh on Jun 17, 2012 at 5:02 pm

http://m.facebook.com/?_rdr#!/groups/299991153427736?ref=bookmark&__user=1048641385

To all owners and future (like me) let’s get together at above and share updates.

• Hmmm.. The CX-5 does resemble the Lancia that we saw on the movie Angels and Demons; especially the gaping smiling grille. Its the car that Prof Langdon was ferried on with the Vatican Police. Any idea on whether there’s any lineage with the Italians?

• http://www.facebook.com/?sk=nf#!/groups/299991153427736/

• ladydriver on Jun 19, 2012 at 1:39 pm

aiyak…waiting list now goes to 9 months to 12 months..there goes my hope… i,ve just booked mine on 17th..the SA told me if i book a day earlier, my waiting period would only be 6 months :( this year raya still old car lah..does this apply to all dealers?

• hi

i have just book for the cx 5 for a month from balakong branch too. but yesterday i have recieve a sad news that my booking need to wait for 12 MONTH!!
    that this all about?? beside the price that i need to pay is base on the market price on that time which is they are going to increase the price soon!! any ppl here are facing the same issue with me??

• where and which SA that giving u such an info that Mazda will increase the price?

• ladydriver on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:45 pm

just emailed to mazda this morning, concerning the ‘very-long-waiting-period’ (in my case 9 -12 months) after 5 minutes, they called me (wow! that was a super-duper fast reply)…they’ve confirmed, it is true due to over-whelming response. how nice if their immediate email response also involve cx5 ready stock :(

• 12 months? That is really crap. Bermaz better do something. Is the global demand that good which resulted in backlog or is the alocation for Malaysian market too little? I reckon that by the time most of us get the CX5, the new Santa Fe will be out and ready for delivery.

• Finally got my new cx5 last week.
    I got 13.2km per Lt fuel consumption(30% city 70% hw). Others, how is yours?

• Lawrence on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Hi All,

I’m booked my CX5 on 17th June, hopefully can get it by next yr before cny la..I having some comment from the SA, said that it will be locally assembly very soon in order to cope up the demand…dunno is it true or not..but i requested to them, i wanna have the CBU unit from Japan, not from anywhere else…

• mon'tee on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:33 am

1st is mazda 3 and next ckd will be mazda cx-5, it’s confirmed going to local assemble and possible available in the local market sometime 1Q/2013.

• Guys, Has anyone come across this Ultra-high petrol compression 13.0.1 ? For our petrol RON95 might have some issue after your engine start to age. I’m afraid that it will bring knocking sound to the engine. You might not see it coming now because its still new.

The new skyactive engine has a very high compression of fuel octane. Usually normal N/A cars of all made are only 10.0.

I have a friend driving a honda vtec mod. and his fuel compression is 13.5.0 , just .5 higer than the current skyactive engine and he said the only petrol he can use and wont caused jerking or tapping sound is V-Power. Even Ron97 cant make it.

Hope to hear from you guys on this comment. I’ve booked the car and have to wait for min 8 months =(

I’m also confuse on whether should take 2wheel or 4wheel. my style of driving must be fast and fly if possible .. haha

• Cx5 JAK on Jul 11, 2012 at 7:41 am

Greetings All, I am a CX5 owner in Indonesia. Just took a delivery of CX5 last week. One thing I realized right away was the missing central door lock/unlock button. Just wondering if the Malaysian model has that feature? Thanks

• Hi all, i also book mine 2mths ago (FWD)have to wait until next year.
    Don’t understand y it does not come with an autolock system even the cheapiest car had it..sigh!!

• got name,style,quality..and main reason,got 4wd

• CX-5 getter on Sep 30, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Went to Mazda showroom recently to test drive but no CX-5 unit available. Heard frm SA tat waiting period is 9-12mths. Booking now onward will most likely getting ckd wit no sunroof & cheaper bout 10k. Got to go bak again to test drive & place my booking…

• Randy on Feb 18, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Nice car. I’m wondering if this car comes with DSC/ESP or any form of stability control? i know it has TC but not sure if it has the rest, because i only see a TC button on the dash. Im sure if there’s DSC there should be a button to turn it off? correct me if im wrong.

Thanks

• suv man on Apr 29, 2013 at 8:52 am

I’ve test drove the new crv, x trail and cx5, performance and comfort, definitely the x trail, although doesn’t look that appealing, the yes trail is still a better car compared to the other two..

• suv man on Apr 29, 2013 at 8:54 am

I’ve test drove the new crv, x trail and cx5, performance and comfort, definitely the x trail, although doesn’t look that appealing, the yes trail is still a better car compared to the other two.. seriously..

• shamus on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:06 pm

huhu just finished sign all loan and registration doc. getting my first new cx5 next week in blue.Will share more comment as ower soon^^ Actual Just thinking to get a Mazda3 but unfortunately te car is too small for me since i am now driving a honda civic.