New Camry spotted again – 2.0 and 2.5 with bodykit

The new Toyota Camry has been spotted in transit again, this time by Muhammad Riduan Othman who saw these trailers on the North South Expressway near Lembah Beringin. What’s new, you ask. Well, for one, these shots are a lot clearer than the previous trailer set, and they also show the XV50 with a bodykit for the first time.

We can see that the “rear diffuser” element in the bodykit has two “bumps” at either end, rather like the M-Sport bodykit for the F10 5-Series, but not nearly as hardcore as the Toyota Aurion’s. This differs from the smooth item seen on the Thai-spec Camry, taken by BKK prowler Anthony. Like the Thai Camry, the pics show a slim bootlid spoiler.

There’s another thing to note. Riduan’s pics show both the 2.0 and 2.5 litre Camrys. How do we know? Look at the wheels of both the silver and pearl white car – both are multi-spoke designs, but the rims on the white car fill the arches better. According to the leaked spec sheet, the 2.0 (G and E) wear 16-inch rims with 215/60 rubber, while the 2.5V gets 215/55 R17 tyres.

Click here for the estimated prices. The next time you see the Camry here, it will be a gallery from the launch!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• LuqMAN on May 28, 2012 at 12:07 pm

wow….”yawn”.. put this next to a peugeot 508 and suddenly this feels outdated in terms of kit and design. heck, put it beside a optima K5 or even the Sonata..

• Gabla on May 28, 2012 at 4:55 pm

No wonder people said that Toyota has a high resale value, to some the latest Camry is almost identical looking to the one from 2003. Even the 2.0 model has the same engine, gearbox and technology.

• Sharvind Varma on May 28, 2012 at 7:02 pm

could it get anymore uglier??…lol

• Sam Loo on May 31, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Put the Pug next to Camry 2005 a year later, I will not be surprised that the Camry will have a higher resale value than the Pug

• Clutch Basah on May 28, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Yawwnnnn…!! next story please

• OMG…pls leave this on the trailer forever…

• Wow I’m so excited and I am 24 years old!

• klguy on May 28, 2012 at 1:26 pm

OMG, looks like the 90s camry

• Camry lover on May 28, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Prefer the Thai Camry bodykit design. Looks so much better. This one looks like ah beng style.

• *yawn* i can see uncle and aunties from here…

• Nelson Chow on May 28, 2012 at 1:34 pm

This looks like the singapore cab sonata ! Seems toyota’s designer all went to korea , lol

• as u can see clearly that K5,Sonata are better than this but if me i will chose K5 because value for money and got alot of features. But please dont drag about resale value here ok.

• Sam Loo on May 29, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Comparing the Sonata/K5 with the Camry is like comparing Rotten Cabbage with Blue Fin Tuna.

Please compare the Korean makes with Geely, GreatWall or Lotus as they are in the same bucket when it comes to quality

• David D on May 30, 2012 at 1:49 am

Sam Loo, you really cannot accept how backwards they’ve become, don’t you? When we give opinions expressing our disapproval, you compare nonsensical things with your nonsensical mind. What’s your problem? Bad experience? Yeah, you have a bad experience, but by no means, should you keep talking such repeated cannon fodder which makes you look stupid.

Get a life dude, talk only when you have a sensible mind, not like one you’re having now:- worse than a rabid zombie.

• Sam Loo on May 31, 2012 at 10:11 pm

It’s OK to own a Korean car. You will help the cold door car industry, and benefit the fella that will buy your 2 year old car at 50% discount (if you are lucky)

• Kia and German on May 28, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Ugly junk…
    Lets go for Kia K5

• Sam Loo on May 30, 2012 at 6:16 am

Yes, please buy Korean to support the cold door car industry

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:54 am

Yeah, lets support the cold door car, and benefit the 2nd owner coz the K5 will be worth less than 50% 2 years on

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Yes, Kias Salesman is so desperate nowadays that they will come to your doorstep with the car for testdrive

• m4xspeed on May 28, 2012 at 1:47 pm

boxy like design..not much sportiness and sleekness unlike their competitors like K5, Sonata or even Peugeot 508!

• Sam Loo on May 31, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Go ahead and buy a Korean. I would see how well you would beg me to buy your car a year from now

• Crasher on May 28, 2012 at 2:29 pm

I have no problem with the design, it’s not great but it’s not worth complaining about. What I have problem with is the specifications, it’s outdated!

• Toyota Civic

• wishful on May 28, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Wow, uncles having hard ON looking at this (wt the help of Viagra)

• Wisdom on May 28, 2012 at 3:47 pm

I want one! (to be destroyed by JC)…

• wolfsburg on May 28, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Best in class 4 speed automatic transmission! An automatic with 4 speeds!!!

• carnoisseur on May 28, 2012 at 3:54 pm

I must say, yawning is contagious but after looking at this design ,we wont need sleeping pills to sleep Yaaaawwwwnnnn ! so a boring design with outdated specs ………

• limsm on May 28, 2012 at 4:05 pm

1st the (design)exterior look never attract me, hundred years no to break through. 2nd the technology or safety like 20 yrs , even korea car technolgy is more hi-tech now T& H still not moving forward! Time to see when their knock-out competition ! last but not least im owned toyota b4.

• ss427 on May 28, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Don’t you guys find the new Camry side profile alot similar to the tiny wheeled Gen5, ACV40 Camry? Esp in these 3 quarter side shots?

Well you guys have 17″ for the 2.5L in SG, its 16″ for 2L and 2.5L. You will need to get the Hybrid if you want 17″… :(

I believe there’s no need to critize the new Camry anymore, for it is already out of date even before official sale started… haha :D

Sigh… Toyota has to resort to plastering lots of tacky looking bodykits into brand new models in a bid to make them interesting looking. :( It was the same with G10 Altis in SG too.

But come on Toyota, don’t you know that no amount of ‘makeup’ will ever conceal the fact that the car is boring and ugly to look at??

• DewaSemut on May 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Honda and Toyota’s designers theme for 2012 : Go retro!

• David D on May 28, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Expected more from this car. At 152k for the base 2.0, it really is insanely pricey for what’s essentially a reskin of the XV40. The 2.5V, no doubt, IS the Camry to get, but the specs given for such pricings, as well as the lacklustre design as opposed to the American Camry, makes it an also-ran in the insane competitive world of D-segment family sedans in Malaysia.

Shame, they could’ve brought the USDM Camry, as it’s alot more fun to drive, and much, much safer in terms of kit and safety equipments.

• Albert on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:42 am

I don’t understand why Malaysia do not deserve a good spec of vehicle. May be because of Toyota brand makes people feel very elegance. Event the Myvi UK spec is better than Malaysia spec.

• I believe at the final minute, Toyota realized that their new Camry offers no value-for-money in terms of power and spec whatsoever so they do what they do best. Go slap in some free bodykit…oh wait they will charge us for that too.

• Suddenly the ACV30 looks brand new again.

• BeemerFreak on May 28, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Hey Danny the real unit is already on display in showrooms. I saw the 2.5L fully kitted with skirts at UMW Subang Jaya, in black colour smack in the middle of the showroom.

• shawal on May 28, 2012 at 9:27 pm

WOW , its so ugly…

• Chow 1 on May 28, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Yes, it’s super boring, but I don’t mind driving it.

• dreaming of maserati on May 28, 2012 at 10:21 pm

no wonder 10 year old camry still got value…it still looks like the latest model with same 2.0 engine n gearbox.

• Like it or not, there will be plenty of this car on the road.

• Wah so fast give bodykits already, so unlike them. Toyota/UMW must be desperate.

• The latest price for Camry is out. Check in Toyota Malaysia Website.

• Masked Ryder on May 31, 2012 at 11:54 am

Another HOT selling from Toyota guaranteed ! Good job Toyota/UMW

• hey guys out there…..i feel ‘sick’ after reading all the ‘un-realistic and unreasonable comments on the all new camry’
    …..’you got to say because you got nothing to say about’ please accept the most promissing car at this moment….the other cars are good also….you like it, you buy it, you dont like, dont buy it! no money to buy these cars….put effort and work smart, puting unreasonable or unacceptable comments will makes no change to your stand or the car makers. Here should be the place to share experiences, knowledge etc…..dont miss used it please!