Volkswagen Malaysia DSG Service Campaign

Click to enlarge screencap

Volkswagen Malaysia is having a “Volkswagen DSG Service Campaign” to address possible issues with the firm’s twin-clutch gearbox. The company is in the process of sending letters to owners, inviting them to bring their car in for a software update. It will be free, of course, since VWs come with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty.

Below is a quote taken from the Volkswagen Malaysia Facebook page. You can also click the image above to view the screencap.

Hi everyone, we’d like to announce that we are currently carrying out a Volkswagen DSG Service Campaign. This is being done to address possible issues with the DSG transmission. However, we would like to remind everyone that these possible issues is not in any way safety related.

Letters are being sent to Volkswagen owners inviting them to bring in their cars for a software update at a time of their convenience. All Volkswagen vehicles are covered by a 5-year unlimited mileage warranty and a 5-year mobility guarantee.

Those who have not received their letters or for those facing similar issues with their cars, please contact us at 1-800-88-8947, via our email at [email protected], or visit the nearest Volkswagen authorised dealership near you

In the said FB posting, Volkswagen Malaysia answered a question, elaborating on the possible DSG issues:

Currently, the software supporting the 7-speed DSG may (in rare cases,) cause inefficient gear engagement. The software update will help to optimise gear shifting in the DSG for improved gear efficiency. As of yet, the update has not been known to cause any other problems.

Besides going to the dealership, VW owners can call 1800-88-8947 or email [email protected] for more info.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano on May 28, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Finally? A bit late for this recall. So much so my friend sold her Golf TSI off cause the service from VW was so bad on her DSG box.

• gavin on May 28, 2012 at 9:35 pm

if volkswagen they are doing good job, they are honest, they are the best, they are righteous

if proton means man the torches and pitchforks

• Gabla on May 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Das Auto ist kaputt gegangen?

• jab fierce strong! on May 28, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Well, at least they are being honest and start sending letters out. I doubt the manufacturer that start with a P and ends with a N would do the same if they had issues with their vehicles and will most probably leave the public in the dark. Been there and experienced that before and hell, it was dreadful. Keep up the good work, VWGM!

• VW Polio on May 28, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Proton also does service campaign that includes ecu reflash. When germans make mistake it’s okay but when Malaysian makes one, it’s curses and swears from all :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Mienzz92 on May 29, 2012 at 5:16 am

Biasalaa…org malaysia lah katakan….

• jab fierce strong! on May 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm

my apologies to burst the bubble but the truth hurts and I’m speaking as of experience. I do hope that they will have better QC in the mere future and step out from the “local” box soon enough

• P actually have a different quality control method compared to VW or any other manufacturer. They keen on letting the customers be involved in the QC. The customer will test the car and send it back to SC if got problem. Thats why P rarely have recalls cuz they have frequent RETURNS!

• silwen on May 28, 2012 at 9:47 pm

A covered way of saying, “guys, we’re recalling the car, not a major thing but a recall nonetheless; and oh, if you don’t bring it in, your gearbox might shred itself, don’t worry about it though, it’s only a small possibility.”

When toyota did this for the lexus, people were up in arms. Journalist called it another recall.

I do agree that it’s a bit late, this problem has been around for quite a while.

• Jimmy on May 28, 2012 at 10:31 pm

How much can we trust the words of a good businessman saying that their cars are of high safety standards and yet they are cutting costs everywhere?
      GOAL?? I doubt it.

• lithium on May 29, 2012 at 10:32 am

yup ……recall mai call it recall la. what service campaign? vw=lol

• Been a year using the golf, only noticed it in the jam but seldom stuck in traffic ( yup, lucky me). Its the crawl at d1 to d2, sort of like if u are using a manual and not so good in controlling the clutch at a crawl. Yeap, the dsg is actually a manual, sort of a robotised manual….hence the clutch control not as good as human. But other than that, been excellent esp for me whom seldom affected by the jam. Anyway, for crawling in traffic….a cvt is much bttr ( the other car is using cvt) but, normal driving a bit like riding a scoot, sort of rubber band feel… Guess, thts wat cvt is good for, crawling ; )

• lonelyobserve on May 29, 2012 at 5:54 am

Correct. UK Top Gear reviews also said twin-clutch performs not well as the convetional auto, CVT and manual in city driving condition (unless you willing to use the manual mode to drive). It’s well suited in highway driving and circuit racing.

• yippi33 on May 29, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Mazda claim that their skyactive-drive transmission is the best of both CVT and Twin Clutch..good in crawling and smooth shifting

• ahmad loy on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:33 pm

..yours very good info.

• At least they re doing something and acknowledged it. Not like honda, lots of prev citys & jazz hv issues wt its cvt gearbox but nothing was done!

• Merc=Real Euro on May 28, 2012 at 10:22 pm

DSG..issue never ending….. unproven technology…why implement. DSG was introduced back in 2003 to mass market…. 9 years ago…. still having issue is unacceptable!!!!. Is this what you call German Engineering.

• VW Polio on May 28, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Which is why VW Malaysia will be changing all DSG models to conventional AT gearbox next year onwards

• BeemerFreak on May 29, 2012 at 9:47 am

Haha totally not true…..and there is no way you can prove that cause credible stories are enevr from VW salesmen but rather from Ricky Tay himself which i happen to know. DSG is not only here to stay, it will be for a long time to come accodring to VW AG

• ahmad loy on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:46 pm

..so, play save to use MPI engines?

• Merc=Real Euro on May 28, 2012 at 10:23 pm

I seriously wonder if this has anything to do with ppl dumping the car so early?.

• sudonano on May 28, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Actually yes. I think we are a bit carried away by the fact that its a VW. we think its on par with other german brands, but actually its a mass market car company la. means we should not expect like super features on par with beemer and Merc. The only reason why Msian thinks that VW is premium is the price way higher than japs and koreans, thanks to p1 and p2. in germany VW is their p1 and p2, but no protection la. yet see how they have improved…

But SG is not acceptable, come on 9 yrs they never improve? You are right on the dumping part.

• In Europe they even have a permanent column in their website for you to key in your chassis if there is any recall on your vehicle. Over here, VW Malaysia love their customers so much that they want you to come back regularly to visit them. My friend’s Golf has been in and out so often it’s like him going to Golf club to play ‘Golf’. it’s unbelievable that he mentioned that his car is in the workshop more than running on the road.

• nippon on May 28, 2012 at 10:29 pm

german precision engineering my ass

• omanjedi on May 29, 2012 at 8:47 am

Buy japanese…bland but safe

• ahmad loy on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:55 pm

..but too expensive in term of engines & gearbox technology..also for resale value, e.g: altis VVTi 2007 edition sold by RM72K..same as brandnew proton preve..verdict?

• koochai on May 29, 2012 at 8:52 am

mine too

• I had mine updated today. They took about 30mins. Gear changes smoother. Much more smoother especially in start stop traffic and the 1st and 2nd gear which normally jerks a little when gear changes now 1st gear very slight the rest all good. But one down side the pick up/take off speed is not there. I can feel the DSG a little bit lazy or sluggish. No more instant torque. Pulling power not as strong as before.

• Merc=Real Euro on May 29, 2012 at 10:01 am

Bro I heard they detune the power..not sure true or not…

• I think so that’s why like not so powerful as before. Mine original 0-100km/h 8.5secs. I think the new software is 8.7secs that applies to all B7 models. Mine is B6.

• ahmad loy on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:07 pm

..to suite pricing strategy for malaysian market..putting spec with lesser performance to get cheaper price..janji you are driving VW..better than dual vvti altis 2012, the performance lesser than 2007 edition..to get the same as 2007 edition you must drive dual VVTi 2.0..the price is RM132K..at the end..VW 1.4 TSi with DSG RM148K is the best buy car today..invite second opinion.

• Im still waiting for Proton to recall their “semi automatic” power windows problems for my 1994 Wira…

• sudonano on May 28, 2012 at 10:57 pm

and the 2007 Saga LMST. The shaking rear view mirror effect.

• Wisdom on May 29, 2012 at 9:03 am

I rather have a 27K car with shaking mirror than a 150K car with faulty gearbox…

• sudonano on May 29, 2012 at 4:04 pm

@Wisdom Then again, I have to agree on that. I’d rather have the shaking mirror too, rather than the gbox frying itself (which it has on some VWs, my friend’s CC gbox was fully replaced, all goreng already, luckily under warranty).

• JeremyNg on May 28, 2012 at 11:41 pm

I love the way they “cover” out this recall ……… smart marketers

• i tot VW was solid german engineering…these kind of things are not suppose to happen.Super reliable german brand or is it. these recalls are not just in malaysia but in Singapore and China as well. the problem is actually quite major. Once a dsg shreds it is ko for the owner…..

• ahmad loy on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:18 pm

..because of 7 speed..it is practical MPI engines with 6 speed..proven technology..w/pun dah lama..eg: hyundai elantara the latest.

• VW broke the news last Thursday the 24/5/12. They call me straight away. I said I can’t make it on Friday. So Monday they call again. I was busy and call again and again keep reminding me to come and do the ‘campaign’ very urgently. Anyhow I’ve got mine updated.

Honestly the car feels heavier and drives more like a V6 N/A than turbo 4s.

• Gabla on May 29, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Looks like they changed the throttle map to limit the torque and this will lengthen the life of the DSG. I don’t think that this is a proper solution as this will only delay the DSG failure until you are out of warranty. After that, you are on your own.

• Wisdom on May 29, 2012 at 9:01 am

Its proven then. They could never address the issue with minor resetting nor software update.

Wake up VW. The box itself is problematic. U have to change it.

I bet few years down the road, there will be plenty cheap VW (Golf, Polo) on sale with faulty gearbox. The is a lesson for an automaker tried to hide behind ‘german precision’ while in actual fact, they offer cheap car at premium price.

Some Malaysian so stupid & buying it. With proud summore. Proud to be stupid huh?

• ahmad loy on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:27 pm

..don’t like that..please be technical wise before buying.

• They offer cheap car with premium price ONLY in Malaysia, because they have no choice

• Merc=Real Euro on May 29, 2012 at 10:14 am

Like I said many times in the past. VW cars carry 30K premium over any other brands and it is unacceptable to have these kind of issue. This is just a tip of the iceberg. There has been report of ignition coil failure, piston cracking etc.
    The 1.4 TSI engine will be discontinued according to VW citing the engine is too complex to manufacture. U mean the PHD holder engineers in VW never realized this when building and testing the engine. Tell me how to believe VW and their technology when there issue they sing a different tune!!.

Go to Singapore VW club forum and you will me amazed on the issues faced by owners. Some Ppl may say got warranty mah… Do u think u want to pay installment and have car sitting in service center?.

Remember the car is there to serve you not the other way around.

• KambingGanas on May 29, 2012 at 12:51 pm

So true! Recently there was a forum discussion VW owners dissing the Peugeot THP, so lansi like hell. Kononlah 1.6 THP is overused across the Peugeot range with issues. If they think their TSI bagus nak mampus, then why the Passat isn’t using the same engine as the Jetta? Since both the 1.4 and 1.8 TSI also produce similar torque and hp! Bile takleh nak jawab mengarut lak DSG is superior. What they don’t realise is they have both an engine and gearbox that is equally unreliable!

• IMHO… There is always higher chance that cars with more tech in it will have some problems ler. Not only VW but also BMW and merc. Basically the more electronics the higher chance of rosak. But its the electronics that makes the car special, efficient and interesting. VW had made it possible for us to own an affordable turbo car with super fast shifting gearbox. To experience other dual-clutch will be from other makes like GTR, BMW & porsche. And we all know how much those cost.

• KambingGanas on May 29, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Halo, there are other better alternatives than the overpriced VW! Ford and Peugeot are examples.

• Merc=Real Euro on May 29, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Not properly testing new technology OR rushing to implement new technology in order to say your the first is unacceptable. It goes to show proper and extensive testing was not carried out otherwise all this issue would have been discovered. All I can say is they must have cut the development budget and gotten the consumer to do the testing……

• Apernie on May 29, 2012 at 10:46 am

Never own one but heard a lot of complaints many many years ago regarding this matter even before it was introduced here, seems not an isolated case, so it’s true then, sigh…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on May 29, 2012 at 10:51 am

This is what the message is really trying to say: Sorry guys, German engineering can sometimes be overrated. Many DSG gearboxes are already experiencing issues and we are giving this software update to dumb down the performance so that it won’t become a fiasco of the “sticky throttle” proportions.

• wishful on May 29, 2012 at 10:55 am

Guess lots of ppl here are still not aware that the DSG is NOT an auto, basically the software update to improve the computerised clutch action when crawling in traffic. Its for fast driving not for crawling, if most of daily drive involved cawling…get a CVT, thats a great BOX for CRAWLING….or,for DSG… just treat it as a manual in the jam, and shift the gear yourself ….AGAIN, iTS not an auto…thats why DSG have hill assist but most torque convertor/CVT dont need the hill assist (GET IT)…drive a DSG like a manual(coz it is a MANUAL)

• lonelyobserve on May 29, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Let me iterate more, DSG is very similar to robotised manual transmission, i.e. manual gearbox without physical clutch pedal. Plus it has two clutches instead of one.

• KambingGanas on May 29, 2012 at 11:22 am

Hah padan muka! VW owners very lansi some more. Look down on Peugeot owners. THP a failure la, bla, bla, Peugeot unreliable etc. Jetta/Passat owners lansi their car better than 308T/508. VW lagi mahal dari Peugeot some more, in the end not say any better!

• chaos on May 29, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Its ok for your Peugeot owners then. Now with the detune DSG. You can smoke a VW no problem.

But thats how it is, VW is too reliant on new technology thats not stable yet. Without TSI and DSG? VW is just a brand with no substance.Some of my friend who bought TSI models have failure on the engine and DSG. I believe the old Mark 5 Golf 2.0 is better.

• kutty on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:15 pm

i.e. you’re too poor to buy a VW, so bought a Peugeot (doubt you can pronounce it right) and still pissed seeing VWs on the road. Inferiority complex, much?

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 03, 2012 at 4:29 am

Time will tell if VW resale value will hold better than Peugeot. So far it does not look good, have a browse in muday.my for a preview of what is to come.

• ichiban on May 29, 2012 at 11:35 am

Not only shouldn’t you buy a new VW now, but neither can you get a used one for fear of a gbox that is bound to fail!

• anonymous on May 29, 2012 at 11:39 am

some of u guys are really need to understand brand perception…in the rest of the world, VW is just like proton in other countries. ppl who’ve stayed overseas for more than 5 years either in europe or the states would understand my point. i swear that even a lady selling vegetables at a sunday market drives a VW golf as well

• sudonano on May 29, 2012 at 4:06 pm

And yet, people buy VW thinking its some luxury car. Only in Malaysia….

• Come on, I don’t think there is another company that can be rightly compared with Proton! Because of that company, ALL other cars have HIGHER taxes! VW is cheap overseas but NOT 20-30% cheaper than other cars. Please check before making baseless comments. Just because they sold a lot of cars don’t mean they are the cheapest. Case in point, cheapest Golf TSi 5 door in UK is 17.8k pounds while a Hyundai i30 is 14.5k pounds. Peugeot 308 VTi 1.6 is 16.9k pounds. Focus 1.6 105 Edge is 16.2k pounds. I can find a whole bunch of cars cheaper than the Golf. Looks like your perception is WAY off.

Oh, and why that lady overseas can drive a Golf and not Malaysians??? Yeah, please thank Proton.

Now, coming back to the subject. Every type of transmission need to be handled differently. You can’t drive a CVT like an auto and if you’ve driven a manual, it’s totally different. DSG is an automated manual, using advanced mechatronics. Don’t expect it to work like an auto slush box. It is a bit jerky on the TSi but hey, the Lambo and Ferrari have the same jerkiness as well!

• kutty on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:17 pm

if according to your logic (really, we’re stretching the definition of logic here), vw just like proton in other countries, then the protons, peroduas, hondas, toyotas are like what? kereta lembu is it? lembu.

• huh..so much for “German quality” konon

• KillBox1alpha on May 29, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Why keep comparing another nation when you’re living in Malaysia ? Deal with it, we have the tax etc…so what if its a common car overseas…here in Malaysia it’s not….even the Mercs are cabs here…does that mean its even less prestigious ?

Dumb arses…

• well its the effects of too complicated technology. but the entire vw campaign is based on technology but what good is it if its failing or unreliable.
    cars are nothing much to look at. from a polo to a toureg they all look the same. boxes on wheels. boring.

• luckily i managed to sell my 2006 Honda City wt is reknowned CVT gearbox issues….but am a bit surprise that ppl still buy the 2nd hand city. My have started jerking already and quickly dispose it early this year …phew…but Honda had nvr admitted such issue, Kudos to VW for the recall

• Lots of comments here but I think after reading them, less than 10% of you has ever driven a car with DSG before.

• RejimKejamGanas on May 29, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Have you taken your car for the recall yet? My friends and cousin that own these have complained about this issue and are waiting for their appointment.

I have driven my cousin’s Passat and have found it nice to drive but the car has had its many visits to VW as well. My cousin is thinking of replacing his car with an Accord.

• sctin on May 29, 2012 at 4:54 pm

hahaha… volkswagen is the very bad in customer service. I can tell you upgrade of the firmware wouldn’t resolve the problem, the clutch pack has to be changed only will resolve the jerking issue when the gear shifting from 2nd to 3rd.

• RejimKejamGanas on May 29, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Unfortunately, even if the clutch pack is replaced, it is just a temporary solution. The fact that VW owners have protested over it and VW had to provide a 10-year warranty is a testament that this is a much larger issue.

• sctin on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:46 am

Agreed, VW just crapped. now the car is having another issue, suddenly the “Misfiring catalytic converter” indicator is on. The car sometime after switch on, push the gear to ‘D’ and the car doesn’t move. got to switch off and switch on the engine again.

• ApaSaJa on May 29, 2012 at 5:26 pm

It only affects Golf 1.4 TSI

• RejimKejamGanas on May 29, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Based on what I have read at the VW club forums, it also affects Jetta and Passat.

• perfectincision on May 29, 2012 at 5:48 pm

haha lots of jealous ppl of non VW owner i see. so funny seeing these ppl taking advantages of this DSG update lol!

• Merc=Real Euro on May 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm

jealous that is the first… I wish I can afford a VW so that I can go through countless problems…

• kutty on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:19 pm

ferrari kalau buat recall pun, puak2 ni jugak yang paling bising sekali. lol i love poor people. they’re amusing!

• shawal on May 29, 2012 at 6:57 pm

can’t it automatically update thru internet…?

• Henry Ford the XII on May 30, 2012 at 9:12 am

Sure can, just like updating your android smartphones hehehe…

Make sure you bought a VW with GPS or Wifi :P

• SC will plug the computer into our car and download from Germany.

• Merc=Real Euro on May 29, 2012 at 9:01 pm

I bet PUG 308 Turbo owner are laughing cos their car are in the same class as Golf TSI but so much cheaper and alot more reliable. You pay more and get less…

• Carnatic on May 30, 2012 at 8:38 am

Bring back the good old manual gearbox.problem solved

• kakabidi on May 30, 2012 at 9:31 am

vw should do recall not service campaign, happened to my car & milleage just 20,000, engine can start but gear cannot engage…need to towing to vw & waiting for 1 week to be repaired & sadly no replacing car for me………gearbox ECU damaged & base on towing operator information many vw car with TSI + DSG spec always happen brokedown problem…….VW FUCuK

• Wow, your English….Lol I know you are trying to say this but ‘fucuk’? Sounds like a delicious bowl of Yong tau foo.

• ‘Hi everyone, we’d like to announce that we are currently carrying out a Volkswagen DSG Service Campaign. This is being done to address possible issues with the DSG transmission. However, we would like to remind everyone that these possible issues is not in any way safety related.’

Not in anyway safety related?what about if your car suddenly stall at highspeed and someone rammed at your back?

• sctin on May 30, 2012 at 10:20 am

As usual for VW to let the customer to wait for replacement part. One week, i think you need to wait longer because normally 3 weeks to get the parts and need 2 – 3 days to replace the part. I think better VW printed in their leaflet saying their car only suitable to be your second car and not first car. because no immediate part replacement and wait is the only resolution for you. so you need to have another car to use while waiting.

• HeyDude on May 31, 2012 at 12:36 am

it’s funny in malaysia vw owners always think they are high class and so proud like owning a bmw or merc… it’s just cheap car selling at high price, wake up kids…

• Congrats to all VW owners with DSG problems…
    Thats bcos you never read up before buying.
    DSG problems are worldwide, not only in M’sia. So what chance do you have of it being ‘kautim’.
    Go change car before warranty expires le, lest hole is burn in pockets!

• VGM_sucks! on Jun 12, 2012 at 6:26 pm

My wife’s MK6 Golf GTi has been having issues with the engine since we first purchased the vehicle. I didn’t suspect anything serious and have been complaining about the warning lights turning on when I bring my car to service at Old Klang Road. However, after many times of complaining and all they did was reset the ECU, the problem got worse. Two months ago while my pregnant wife was using her car, the engine lost most of its power while she was driving home one day after work. We decided to send the vehicle to Jalan Ipoh VW for major inspection and found that the engine was faulty.

We sent in the car end of April and waited for more than a month to get the new engine fitted. Now that they have completed replacement of the new engine, we have been waiting for nearly 3 weeks for the vehicle to come out. We have been calling our service advisor and supposedly the delay is due to some authorisation letter from VGM. Been calling VGM directly everyday and none of the officer in charge is helpful. They have been avoiding and not returning any of our calls. We are very unhappy with the long delays in releasing our vehicle even though all repair works have been fully completed. Furthermore, VGM is unable to provide a replacement temporary vehicle and this has caused great inconvenience to my wife.

• VGM really suck on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:48 pm

just sent back the GTI for a catyalytic converter replacement after 6 months. it came back up, replace it again and it came back up two days later…. something is really wrong. but i have it sent to old klang road service centre. does it coincident ????

• Myself just planed to own a passat soon…
    look at the feedbacks from u all, i have to really think about it..
    ..any comment or advice..

• kelvin on Jun 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm

i also plan to get a passat b7.. after hearing all this.. really have to think twice.. what you guys advise? if not VW.. what else to buy? no recon car pls.. TQ!

• faircomment on Jun 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm

@Merc=Real Euro. Kindly check your facts b4 shooting your mouth off. Golf TSI is not in the same class as Pug. Golf = 2009 world car of the year, Pug= zilch; Golf = 2009 & 2010 international engine of the year, Pug= zilch. And then there are the Golf GTI like handling and performance, Pug?? Errr….zilch. And engine tech Golf Twincharger is years (or light years) ahead of Pug. I take it to mean that you have not driven one hence the comments. You should try….perhaps you may be poison to buy one….

• fair comment on Jun 21, 2012 at 7:41 pm

@Merc=Real Euro. Kindly check your facts b4  shooting your mouth off. Golf  TSI is not in the same class as Pug. Golf = 2009 world car of the year, Pug= zilch; Golf = 2009 & 2010 international engine of the year, Pug= zilch. And then there are the Golf GTI like handling and performance, Pug?? Errr….zilch. And engine tech Golf Twincharger is years (or light years) ahead of Pug. I take it to mean that you have not driven one hence the comments. You should try….perhaps you may be poison to buy one….

• i really love to have passat

• I know 7 people owning VWs of various models, all about 6 months – 1 year old. Guess what? 5 of them already had to send their car back to VW to replace the DSG gearbox. I was doing research, trying to see if the Passat would be a good buy. I dropped the idea of buying any VW when I heard that.

• buduh on Aug 06, 2012 at 4:46 pm

wahahah…comments here are hilarious
    as an owner of golf tsi, i’ve got to admit after 6months the DSG and engine start to give funny response. From beginning i already felt it not effiecient in heavy traffic..my kelisa fared better than my golf in traffic jam..

but then…the DSG and the twin charge engine is not meant for crawling in heavy traffic!! wahaha
    if you want something good in traffic jam then buy cvt car or conventional car lah bodo..wait… better still, while in traffic jam i noted that even pedestrian has higher speed than any car wahahahahah..so go buy a bicyle la bodo..u can go faster than a ferrari in the traffic jam la bodo

but on highways…its different stories altogether..the 308turbo has no chance, mazda3 no chance, beemer320 no chance..thats why these people post nasty comments on golf

granted the dsg and twin charge engine have reliability issues…but its a TWIN CHARGE lah…learn mechanical engineering a bit la bodo..
    the piston and cylinder are under much higher pressure and temperature..of coz la senang kaput bodo woi

• So. how? In short, should I buy Golf TSI? Any other options?

• sctin on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:23 pm

if you don’t mind to keep sending car to service center and you don’t care about the car stalled at high speed. Then i guess you can consider to get one.

• polo owner on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:34 am

I own a Polo since 1.5 years ago. DSG problem is my recent problem :-(. Car stalled at LDP, got towed. Ppl driving Viva is snickering, guess they say ‘apa la beli vw tapi rosak tepi jalan’. Yes the car is excellent at high speed, but if VW do not overcome this issue, it’ll bring down VW’s value.

• golf TSI 1,4 on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:12 pm

i had upgrade my software 1 month ago, is worse felt like equal to downgrade ,jerking when 2nd gear turn 3rd gear , especially in start stop traffic and the 1st and 2nd gear which jerks a little like manual car But one down side the pick up/take off speed is not there. I can feel the DSG a little bit lazy or sluggish. No more instant torque. Pulling power not as strong as before.
    i would like to conclude said that this is downgrade gearbox software and i felt so dissapointed with this RM160k VW golf , the VW servicce centre really alway can’t solving the problem when ur car face on, whatever u complaint they will told u that we had done the readjustment for u. but the condition will worse even before. poor service. never buy vw car to remind all malaysian

• I decided not to buy VW, but still love it when I see on the road. But I said to myself, good in looking, but not ‘problem free car’.

• VAG-PSA fan on Nov 26, 2012 at 6:42 pm

I have both peugeot 308 thp facelifted model, just two month after keluar kedai change hydraulic unit of the gear box, n till now still have tht jerkiness, when driven fast or aggressively, sometimes out of no where the wiper came out to rub what?! In a middle of hot afternoon. Fyi i also have audi with dsg, abit jerky, but perform well when drive aggressively. So my point here is every car have there own weaknesses and fault, bcoz its built by human not God. Anyway, innovation is good, to tell u my experience, my peugeot is a smooth drive, but going aggressive its not as fun as the audi dsg… Launch control, dsg fart… Wow super fun… Smooth n refine.is the french, explosive performances VAG car.High tech means high maintenance.

• Adle T on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Does the gearbox update take place in the mk6 gti too. I also feel that my mk6 golf tsi after the gearbox update feels slower and dsg a bit lazy. Anyway to tune it up like it was?

• Well, the action to update the software and replacing the clutch doesn’t fix the issue. It comes back again to my car! The famous mechatronic failure is juz like another nightmare that u would not know when this will happen but it can happen anytime when u driving.

• My Golf TSI spent 6 weeks in the workshop for Piston & Clutch failures. 1 day after collecting the car, I re-sent for Air-Cond noise and vibration. I had enough with VW! Fisrt & Last VW car!

• James Woo on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:49 am

All this is very interesting. For a while, I have to admit, I liked the Golf TSI. In one of TopGear’s episode, the Golf is deemed the car to save the environment & keep enthusiast drivers happy. Although I like cutting edge technology, being an early adopter means being prepare to encounter headaches. Not only for cars, electronic gadgets as well. I still admire the high tech twin charge engine that VW made but will probably stick to proven technology myself.

• japan old school on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:22 pm

That’s why people stilll choose the Japs over pegeuot and VW, Old technology but reliable and problem free at least no prob on gear box and engine. I see few cases of the brand new Pegeut and VW got stalled on the road. No matter how much we condemn Toyota, they are still the most realiable in Malaysia as well as in the world. even most sellable. I am not into conti as they are only beautiful in the eyes but not in the heart. Plus maintenace damn high. Woooh…..who’d want a so called high tech brand but with so much problem. Gearbox n engine isn’t a small issue, it;s like the heart of the car.

• Kucing on Apr 16, 2013 at 5:02 pm

You are rigth, I owned Civic and Camry since 2010. So far no much problem and only normal service la… Civic and Camry not a performance car however make your life much more comfortble. I’ve test drive passat recently and found that not much different with my Camry, only that the handling and performace of passat a bit better

Why should we pay more and facing so much problem. Dont make your life miserable

• My experience is different. Last time I drive ACV30 2.0. The power and handling can’t compare the B7 passat I driving now. No doubt its gave some problems like fuel pump/battery/clutch failures..hehehe…and dashboard got sound…but all these solved.

• mumthaz on Apr 15, 2013 at 10:29 am

regret buying polo sedan. Useless car. From day picked up, vibrating and almost 2 months same problem. Useless after sales service too. My advice.. NO..NO.. NO..TO VW