‘WWW’ vehicle registration series – tender list is out

In our report last week, it was revealed that “WWW 1” had set the record as the country’s most expensive vehicle registration number, with the bid for the plate registered at RM520,000. The price paid for it surpasses the previous record, which was RM300,100 forked out for “MCA 1” two years ago.

In total, the bids received for the series has amounted to more than RM64 million, and the entire “WWW” series is set to rake in an estimated RM11.3 million. The top 10 registrations alone were worth nearly RM2.3 million, which could bag a supercar, but surely no issue for those able to afford such items.

In all, the “WWW” series set a host of registration number records. A total of 18,243 applications were tendered for 4,908 numbers in the series during the bidding period, from April 30 to May 14. The remaining 5,091 numbers have become running numbers available to the public.

Essentially, all major value numbers, interesting and popular numbers, including the usual numbers that might have sentimental value or a specific purpose to the bidders, were all snapped up. The JPJ has released the results of the tender list on its portal, which can also be seen below. The official letters informing bidders of the bid outcome will be issued from June 6, and registration of WWW plates begin from June 15.

An interesting aside: the portal lists that the tender for the Penang “PKR” series is currently running. Wonder if that one is creating any fuss.

[scribd id=95017388 key=key-6gawhh7uyqdflwg4xin mode=list]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Matkota on May 28, 2012 at 2:35 pm

with half a million..one can buy another car..suppose the car must be worth more than that..huhuhu..

• I like KFC on May 28, 2012 at 3:29 pm

yup. My car worth 160 times my car plate no. so I assume the car that carries this WWW1 at least 100 times higher, that will be MYR 520 000 X 100, and voila my calculator run into error…

• I knew it, Sultan of Johor has too much money,,,

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Tax payer monies?

• ..which he gave back to the system. it is interesting that a sultan also have to bid with the rest of people for things he want. i think this is good.

• nabill on May 28, 2012 at 2:54 pm

In another news portal… Its says da sultan of johor won da bid…

• Jack Leong on May 28, 2012 at 3:40 pm

This WWW1 plate should look better in his majesty’s bugatti.

• Pororo on May 28, 2012 at 3:48 pm

RM520000 for WWW1?? Wah, for that kind of price I can buy one lot of Semi D house in Johor…

• hafix on May 28, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Opposition party found a topic to debate in Parlimen. Another new Parlimen’s drama.

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on May 28, 2012 at 3:49 pm

there’s more to just spending money on numbers.

• Ah Long on May 28, 2012 at 4:01 pm

WWW 15 – Minister Dr Liow Tiong Lai
    WWW 2707 – Rahim Thamby Chik (Thai Porn Video actor)
    WWW 4444 – Tan Boon Chin
    WWW 5 – Agong

Read by your ownlah because even small companies tendering WWW such as WWW 5335 belong to Kedai Runcit Rozita.

Most WWW tenderer is Chinese and Chinese owned company even small companies like kedai dobi, restoran, kedai basikal, kedai runcit also tendering WWW put onto their lorries or cars.

I belive PKR also receive high bid especially PKR members and PR supporters. I also wanted PKR but I live in Selangor.

• Pegawai Khas Kanan Johor on May 28, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Remove that photoshopped car with the plate WWW1 immediately

Thank you

• Daniel on May 28, 2012 at 4:13 pm

This seriously a a broad day light robbery. Sulton of Johor should not have splurged so much on 4 Letters & Number on a black plastic plate. Its nonsense. Non heard of. Majority of the money goes to taxpayers as well as funding and feeding the royalties and ensuring they all live a pampared lifestyle for their entire lives. The sultan instead, could maybe upgrade the facilities on Johor and also the SAFETY in Johor. People are steeling and fighting for money and food but the Sultan is spending it on licence plates? Pffft!! This might be a sensitive issue, but no matter how one tries to cover up or defend as well as manipulate, the facts always speaks for itself. And with the help of the Internet today, facts and stories can never be hiden from the public anymore.

Thanks for your time.

• sultan johor byk harta la bro,

• BeemerFreak on May 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Totally agreed, these so called royalties get their money from the people, they are supposed to give it back as charity to the needy….Even the Rakyat cant afford that number, why should they be able to…Without the rakyat they are nobody

• he bid lor, and he won. it is good what, they entitle for allowance and spend it on car plate which the money goes back to gov.

you give so much comment aa.. next time they wont bid but simply ask the number for them, how? which one better, they bid as the rest, and spend the money internally or they ask things for free but spend the money oversea?

• lubodo on May 28, 2012 at 7:21 pm

What cover up, the list was published on jpj website la dey.sure there are 1001 ways to better spend the money but it is his money.

• armandd on May 28, 2012 at 7:56 pm

You don’t teach a man how to spend his money. Seems like sour grape to me, haha..

• ..don’t be tooo emo bro, lookslike you read malaysiakini too much. I think what SOJ hve done is very wise giving his money to the gov by buying the plate, not buying luxury items.. by the way johorean lives happier than ever now..even singaporeans want a piece of johor happiness..buying house in johor (safe no roberry maa..adapun skali skala biasa la) or if not..shoping on weekend..all you need is open your eyes n ..dont 4get open your mind.

• soltan ohh soltan on May 28, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Ini adalah satu penghinaan kepada taxpayer seperti kami..do they really pay the taxes? we’re the middle class income suffer more than higher and lower. coz we are the majority. we got nothing!! i hate this worldd!!

• so you want JPJ to abolish numbers bidding and forgo millions of RM they made every year? so you think they just simply going to forgo revenue like that aaa?… dont be stupid, if they lost millions they going to top up via road tax and other tax, which me and you will be paying.

now at least they can make money for those who crazy about numbers and spare for people like me who dont care, just pay rm50 i got whatever number available.

• armandd on May 28, 2012 at 8:06 pm

sour grape la you…

• Shitoyota on May 31, 2012 at 3:18 pm

lu suka grape ka?peeeeraaaah bodoh…kasi u makan wo punya grape baru tau, maniske sour?

• kerelbort on May 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm

i guess nobody tries to cover up anything here… he got the money, it is up to him what he is going to do with his money….

so what if he wanted to buy a number… the money goes to JPJ. and the money goes back around to the rakyat.. so fair square… if he bought another car.. the money goes to a foreigner..

so.. in the end.. big whuup!

• Rakyat Miskin on Dec 22, 2012 at 10:34 am

Errr…since when “monies that goes to JPJ is going back to us, the Rakyat?”
      You mean the JPJ will give their Kakitangan Kaunter extra bonus for a good financial year ah?
      Or do you mean that JPJ pays for taxes as well?

My point is, if JPJ is truly channelling the monies back to the Rakyat, perhaps they should also abolish PUSPAKOM (which is a subsidiary of DRB Hicom) and make it part of the JPJ outfit. Then there won’t be monopolistic practices…

• jendol on May 28, 2012 at 5:47 pm

I see the irony

• nebula87 on May 28, 2012 at 6:16 pm

anak malaysia yang kaya kaya belaka~!!

• WWW54 MOHD KHAMIL BIN JAMIL RM7260.00

DRB-Hicom boss also won the bidding…

• LeongWK on May 28, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Really Sad case in Malaysia.

All these sump of money will definetly help alot of the charity and the needy societies in the country. It is even more teribble to see the royal family leading this madness which by right they should care for the rakyat, after all the rakyat who is paying them with all the taxes impose.

Is this what Malaysia is proud of? Sometimes I need to double think again when I donate money to charity, it makes me really sad knowing the rich and power choose not to help them more and we the rakyat with a low salary is willing to donate….

• dont be sad lar bro. this is small thing. if you think this is sad, i think you are really having a miserable live. just look at around how much money people spend on liquor, night club, prostitution, rumah urut, gambling, etc. look further west and see how much money those people spend on weapons and bombs that killed and will kill thousand of people.

what really sad is someone announce that he need to double think when doing charity! no need think twice bro, just do if you want to do. and no need to be jelly or sad to those who dont do. no point. go find happiness in your life.

• ..they done their charity la bro, BUT DON WAN TO TUNJUK, call all medias, LET THE EVERYONE KNOWS…just go googling look for yayasan or Amanah u will see whose behind. Malays have their own tradition own ways in giving charity..n most of them prefer to stick tht way.

• DArkerMarker on May 28, 2012 at 7:48 pm

There are so many things can be done with 500k.

There are many unfortunate ppl in Malaysia. Not enough to eat, not enough for education, the unfortunate ones (father mother died, etc), the handiccapped ones, the ill ones…..

MAybe the rich one should realistically “taste” the living in Malaysia one week surviving on RM100.

So, what is the REAL benefit for one owing plate no. WWW1?

Because:-

You can manage it?
    Ego?
    Respect?
    Too much money, donno where to spend?
    My money, my business?
    All the above?

• policeman on May 28, 2012 at 8:39 pm

LOL at WWW1996 owner’s name.

Anwar Ibrahim got 2 numbers. Different Anwar ibrahim obviously.

Should save this list, can know the owner’s name when they act funny on the road.

• the car evens out all men and women; from royalty to politicians to corporate players to cronies and some conmen, thieves, pimps, drug dealers etc I am sure.

that this list gets published is itself a good show of transparency. lets move along this direction shall we?

well done to all petrolheads !

• dreaming of maserati on May 28, 2012 at 10:17 pm

i thought agong’s car no need number on the plate? just the royal logo

• Johor sultanate is among the richest in this country. He got lots of business. Guess with who? Chinese businessman. So if you think he do not do anyrhing for the rakyat. I think you better go and check for yourselves. The sultan is much better takjng care the rakyat than the wakil rakyat themselves. Dont dont need our tax money. They already have millions. Most of the allowance were geven away to tephe needy. Do you really think they need to tell you eveything that make donations? Grow up!

• _xXx_ on May 29, 2012 at 9:14 am

Izzit a sin to BN ppl driving car with PKR prefix?

• ex mufti pkr on May 29, 2012 at 9:58 am

last time i checked with both side’s majlis fatwa, it was not. i dont know if they come out with new edict for the additional sin.

• budak baik on May 29, 2012 at 10:57 am

i believe JPJ should tender it even higher than this since the beginning. riches pay higher for what they want, normal people like me pay little for what they need without hassle. isn’t it a better income for the government?

• dunhillfree on May 29, 2012 at 11:09 am

Come one guys.Tuanku Sultan has lot of businesses and asset in Johor,Malaysia and even in the UK. That 520k would from the dividend he received.
    No need to say that he’s using tax payers monies. Please at least show some respect and find the facts. Remember his families contribution in building up the nation and brought your forefathers here to enjoy better life.

Come to think, it’s the govt jobs to cater all our needs, i.e education,infra,jobs,economy. Thus use your vote wisely la. Sultans has limited power since we are negara berpelembagaan.

• For those still think Johor Sultan wasting money. Why dont you read this

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-0G7_l_sjbho/T8OSu8w7SuI/AAAAAAAAV5A/ZDXmDwu_NG0/s1600/ds.png

• realist on May 29, 2012 at 12:26 pm

sd… you PR rep for the Johor royalty ke? If just based on things said in twitter, I also can say anything.
      Just because he does not use his government allowance does not mean he is not taking anything. What about the state resources? Should be royals be businessmen as well and get contracts? If there is a request from the palace to the MB for a project, can the MB say no? Is that not an abuse of power?
      Bottom line is that all royal families in the world from olden days till now live off the backs of hard working men and women. Either through taxes etc. Blowing 500k on a number plate is okay for a business man but its not ok for a public figure.

• Most johorean’s (especially those in mersing) knows this is the case. The Johor royalties have never taken any allowance from the Government at all.

Even the program where the sultan meet the johor people are funded by the palace.

• get real pls on May 29, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Please don’t say anything if it just based on your assumption and rumour. Bad rumour is called fitnah. And fitnah can make you stay in hell for very long time.

• skiborne on May 29, 2012 at 12:00 pm

i think this particular paultan post should be DELETED immediately to prevent all these so called tax payers will think those are their monies and hating and insulting to all these bidders… why oh why

• curiosity on May 29, 2012 at 12:02 pm

First of all, i am very surprised that the government has announced the bid result to the public. As this could be very sensitive due to the bid figure and names in the list.

Rich people won the bid with the ridiculous ( at least to me ) amount of money they pay for, How will the government spend the money? Will they use the money to improve the public transport and facilities?

This has always been my question, every year they receive huge amount of money from the number plate tender. What have they done with the easy money?

• skiborne on May 29, 2012 at 12:04 pm

delete this post please, it bubbles up issues such as “thats my money!!!” “wasting tax money!” etc etc. and then trying to be heroes by insulting the bidders and Royals for nothing. grow up la chinamen

• I know it’s no one else’s business how people want to spend their money, but I just don’t get it. What’s so special about WWW? Is it because it’s the acronym for world wide web? So what?

• niceone on May 29, 2012 at 2:07 pm

it’s their money, they can do whatever they like with it. so stop whining on paultan and work your ass off people.

and don’t tell people to do charity unless you’ve done so with YOUR OWN MONEY first.

• Aku nak jadi Sultan on Dec 22, 2012 at 10:42 am

I like how you tell everyone to work their as$es off.
      Hmm..It made me think, if I really really work hard and frond my as$ off, would I get to be a Sultan someday?
      Hmmm…

• Aku nak jadi Sultan on Dec 22, 2012 at 10:42 am

I like how you tell everyone to work their as$es off.
      Hmm..It made me think, if I really really work hard and grind my as$ off, would I get to be a Sultan someday?
      Hmmm…

• RedLine on May 29, 2012 at 2:22 pm

I don’t see this as an issue at all. The Sultan bid like every one else, so that’s fair. But more importantly, the money goes back to the Government. That’s like the Sultan is “donating” his money to the government. So okay la, it goes back to the system. I see some people always asking what does the Government do with the money they earned? Well, a lot of things….pay teacher’s salary, pay nurses and doctors, pay hospitals operations, pay the for rural development, pay for the FREE medicines given to the public from government hospitals…give subsidiary to farmers, fishermen and all of us for petrol and countless other subsidies….the list goes on and on….

• daulat tuanku on May 29, 2012 at 11:52 pm

wow so many comments repeating the same fact, donating back to the government whatnots. Im not surprised. Some people live with dishonesty by spreading propaganda and lies. All in all, i dont give a slight damn on my car number, even though i’m not rich, i kerja makan gaji, pay hutang because i have to, and live the rest of the month repeating the same routine. Asalkan halal, i’m happy. I dont need to rob from the others. Bila masuk kubur, hanya amalan yang akan dikira, bukannya harta, darjat, dan darah. Unless you live in Mars, you bled blue. So make a wise choice people.

• soltan ohh soltan on May 30, 2012 at 12:25 am

useless

• hanim on May 30, 2012 at 3:35 pm

ha…finally..we know the owner of WWW 1..no wonder la the price bapak higher..haha but ok la at least the plate number not put at ‘honda kapcai bulat’..i m excited to know more about WWW plate number now..huhu