Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin resigns from Proton

It looks like the speculation made by The Edge last month about Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin resigning from his post has turned out to be true. Proton has just released a statement confirming Syed Zainal’s resignation. Here’s the statement in full

Following a number of media queries, Proton Holdings Berhad today wishes to confirm the resignation of Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir as the Group Managing Director of Proton Holdings Berhad, effective July 4, 2012.

Syed Zainal has been with Proton for over six years and we are grateful for his contributions to the company. He has decided to leave Proton on his own accord to pursue his own interests and we respect his decision. We also wish to announce the resignation of Chief Financial Officer Azhar Othman from Proton, effective July 6, 2012. We wish them all the best in their future endeavours.

Following the departure of Syed Zainal, the Executive Chairman of Proton, Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil, will continue his leadership role in steering the company forward.

We wonder who will replace Syed Zainal in the hot seat.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vyseus on May 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm

man!!! what will happen to proton now….

• Gabla on May 29, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Thr question is, what will happen to DSZ after this. Most probably we will hear that an oversea company will get his expertise, much like Hassan Merican.

Afterall we live in a country where the leaders still have the “Singapura dilanggar todak” mentality. They can’t appreciate a great figure leading a giant company. Maybe with a lackluster figure heading a giant company, it is easier to manipulate the spending…

• Vyseus on May 30, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I really hope some one can continue his legacy. I know Mahalel won’t but I will try to believe the “replacement” can do it. If the 1st decision he make screw things up. That’s it. I better save up money for my Fiesta S or something better. And keep my BLM till it rot.

• greasemonkey on May 30, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Of course to manipulate unexplained spending and giving us rubbish products.Always thinking we are fools. Cheers!

• Just be happy that proton will finally close shop and finally you can buy quality cars for cheaper price and the BN gov dont have to protect another company like proton anymore.must sent the inventor of proton to jail.

• This is our 22 years EX-PM wanted.

• Gabla on May 30, 2012 at 4:02 pm

To add icing to the cake, Perodua is planning a Sedan in the near future.

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20120530144053/Article/index_html

• maiznur on May 30, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Datuk Lukman Ibrahim will take over DSZA and lead Proton to a greater height.

• Proton New MD MUST be an ENGINEER!!!

• Akram on May 29, 2012 at 6:46 pm

What?

• kimi_ on May 30, 2012 at 3:00 am

I would be happy IF the chief designer and styling of Proton leaves.

• Me too…the chief designer must be wearing those stupid thing on his damm head.that’s why cant think of any proper design.

• Vader on May 30, 2012 at 7:51 am

Yup, that the answer from the board of Potong!
      Still remember that the board still claim that they are totally not aware on his resignation few months ago…

• manche on May 31, 2012 at 10:57 pm

potong, potong, kalau tak itupun tak reti nak eja baik tak payah komen la. budak tadika lagi pandai eja proton

tak tau malu ke?

• Gabla on May 29, 2012 at 6:46 pm

All the best DSZ. Your input has improved Proton products greatly.

• At least you can give a convincing speech without reading the text and you can pronounce Malaysia without an accent…

• Talk as if you can do the same good job that he did while in Proton.

• DSZ has done a splendid job at Proton. I would expect from someone who is leading the so called national pride to be able to give a public talk confidently without reading the text.

Not only that, he must be able to talk in malay fluently and it is totally unacceptable if the word Malaysia can’t be pronounced correctly.

DSZ did the above well during the Prevé launch, truly remarkable as he was representing the national brand. I could not do a better job than him, I hope the one that will replace him will at least be able to match his ability but I really doubt it.

• are you crazy?proton improved in which sector? conning the rakyat sector?
      useless and tasteless design with buck tooth rear design I mean…WTF?

• Kongbingleek on May 29, 2012 at 6:47 pm

ohnoo tengku Mahaleel is back NOOOOOOOOOOOO

• kamal on May 29, 2012 at 6:53 pm

So sad…good luck to you DSZ…you serve Proton with termendous achievement

• GTR 2.0 on May 30, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Good luck to Proton and their customers too. I do believe they need it more than DSZ especially the customers *sigh*
      Cheers.

• Fared on May 29, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Ya ALLAH, Selamatkan laa proton T.T

• WEll No More protonz carz In ma list after this.. Keep Ma Persona Elegance baby until reput!!! R.I.P Proton!!!! May God Bless U!!!

• Chyan on May 29, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Proton without this guy? This is going to be interesting. But for me, it’s more like a bad news. Good luck to P1 though. They’ve just lost an asset.

• Quattro on May 29, 2012 at 6:58 pm

People tinggalkan proton bukan kerana proton tidak baik> tetapi tidak tahan dengan bos baru> begitu juga dengan glc lain spt maybank dan tnb.

• SAGA FL on May 29, 2012 at 6:59 pm

This few year we have seen proton improve alot compared to ten year ago.after Syed Z leave, don’t know what proton will become, maybe will go back to just like 10 ago

• Black Dog on May 29, 2012 at 7:02 pm

a complete change of blood for the top. A lot of P1 middle management is shitting in their pants now.

• Fariz Cong on May 31, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Tahniah.. Karana maningalkan Proton Dgn Cemerlang.. Hidu-p mesti di teruskan

• ajisji on May 29, 2012 at 7:03 pm

RIP

• It’s a big loss to Proton, the advancement he brought to Proton over the 6 years is much more than anyone else in the past 27 years.

• udasalleh on May 30, 2012 at 1:13 am

Totally in agreement here. Was looking forward to P1’s suv/crossover vehicle next year. Not anymore. Not without DSZ at the helm.

Expecting anything with any DRB guy with limited involvement and less successful achievements in the auto industry to helm P1… its like buying facebook shares! Oh dear god!

• ayamxxx on May 29, 2012 at 7:08 pm

good proton management..
    1st lotus chaos things, now they remove their MD

• Next mahathir is going to design his own car code named PROTON MAHATHIR

• Apernie on May 29, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Hope you deserve somewhere else better DSSZA, don”t know what TSSMA is thinking…

• Uh oh… If he’s gone I wonder what will happen to proton…

• mamat on May 29, 2012 at 7:19 pm

does it mean the lifetime warranty of proton cars come to THE END? sad to hear he’s leaving….

• Arrr. Another brain drain

• WiraLution on May 29, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Please… not Tengku Mahalel..

• Yeay!!!

• sasuke887 on May 29, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Definitely datuk lukman will succeed him.

• All the best to DSZ..but i hope he will stay with Proton

• so sad..lost for proton.. but at least might be he can be as observer as dr.M.

• nabill on May 29, 2012 at 7:37 pm

DRB hicom wil probably bring one guy whos been in DRB board of directors for 200 yrs ….i find it hard to believe they will bring someone better than DSZ to manage….

• SGBLM on May 29, 2012 at 7:43 pm

No suprised … as a lot of ppl saw this coming ever since the takeover from DRB …

• megat johan on May 29, 2012 at 7:49 pm

All the pride he had about Preve being a global
    car is now in ashes and washed down the drain.
    Sorry DSZ your blood, sweat and tears was not
    appreciated by DRB.
    Time for the Govt to remove whatever protection granted to Proton to guage where they stand globally. DSZ go back to P2 and make them
    continue dominating the local market and whack the day lights out of P1.
    We will remember you for offering lifetime warranty to P1 cars.

• Pencinta Proton on May 29, 2012 at 7:50 pm

FIRST

• jamal on May 29, 2012 at 7:58 pm

too bad. i hope proton fail miserably after this.

• Steering the company “forward” or “backward”?

• Just Another Dude.. on May 30, 2012 at 9:13 pm

you can only steer to the left or to the right. you move forward or backward.

• 4agze on May 29, 2012 at 8:31 pm

according to TV3, Datuk Khamil Jamil will take over as MD..or perhaps the newly appointed deputy MD by DRB Datuk Lukman will step up

• Works on May 29, 2012 at 8:32 pm

i smell the dark period for proton will come back…good luck proton…

• Time to sack Mahathir as well

• I love you man!!!!
      Mahathir should be sacked and kicked in his arse long time ago,because of mahathir many malaysians are deprived of owning quality cars.useless and tasteless proton.crap design like coconut scraper.

• Politikus on May 31, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Right, because practically single-handedly developing Malaysia from a backward country to what it is now is nothing when you cannot let your citizens own “quality” cars. Just look at our roads, 100% proton what. Of course you have to sack the guy.

PS: “arse”? Seriously? How long were you in the UK? Biasa la orang Malaysia, baru makan kat Victoria Station dah perasan nak pakai British slang.

• and replace it with dsz

• He sets the standard so high that I don’t know if anyone can emulate his success. It’ll take P1 years to find his replacement with such credibility. My question now, will DRB-H ditch DSZ next project after P3-21A?

• mystvearn on May 29, 2012 at 8:39 pm

A lot of people are not happy. Lets hold judgement of DRB until 2014. After DRB is totally in charge and then we can compare the net profit from the group.

• ExoraB on May 30, 2012 at 9:38 am

better profit at the expenses of the people?

• start on May 30, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Yeah..that’s what DRB will do.

How to reap huge profit
      1) Break-up LOTUS and sell it by pieces
      2) No more new model developed from scratch – only 10 year rebadge car. Sell it at high price to poor Malaysian
      3) Sell Tanjung Malim plant – by producing VW cars and other models such as Mitsu

Yes, they will earned more profits but at the expense of people’s money and people’s pride. Proton will come just another Perodua. So if you only care about Proton’s P&L, then DRB is right choice. But to see Proton become global players that you can be proud of, then you should forget abt it..

• After all the consolidation talk, I think that DRB wants to move all Proton operation to Tg. Malim, took over the Shah Alam plant for some property development since it is a prime location and finally sell Proton back to the government after they have rake in the cash.

• Well all the best for DSZ..well, its a sad sad day for Proton indeed..don’t believe that whoever replace DSZ will be as good as him..

• Paint on May 29, 2012 at 8:44 pm

All these years we have always felt that sense of ownership for Proton, more so since it belongs to the government, hence the public. Yes, it has had series of misadventures along the way. We cursed, we cried, and we cheered because we care for Proton. We just couldn’t have enough of our national car.

We take pride for every screw, nuts, and bolts of that very car were made with blood, sweat, and tears of our fellow Malaysians.

I guess that feeling is slowly fading away now. I guess when you lose that sense of belonging, that sentimental feeling is just detached from your mind right away.

The new owner can do whatever they want with their own company. Adios Proton. Thank you for the joy we shared together this past 30 years. I will find something new to cherish and love.

• gmail on May 29, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Godspeed DSZ. I saw him eating lunch alone at one of my usual place near Capsquare last time.

• Well, he could always return to Perodua.

• squall_shinoda on May 29, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Looks like what everyone fears when DRB-Hicom took over Proton has finally came true – they want to wipe out the previous management team clean without even a single trace. When we hoped that Proton would be free from being dictated by some ‘fuhrers’ in Khazanah, it turned that DRB-Hicom is actually worse.

R.I.P. Proton (1985-2012). Time to read the talkin to Proton. As for DSZ, may Allah bless your life always.

• Unforgiven on May 29, 2012 at 11:37 pm

If you ever work with ppl from Khazanah (top mgmt), you’ll learn how to get the millions (free money in the pocket system)…

• superman on May 30, 2012 at 8:02 am

as long as Mahathir is in proton, proton will never progress. his “business” friends are sucking proton money each day. he should go..

• sean zx-10 on May 30, 2012 at 11:22 am

I agree on that..that old man cannot accept intelligent honest people..he will get all itchy and swelling..alergic..stupid corrupted evil assholes are his remedy for immortality..senile old man. I told u guys..sekarang baru nampak kah?

• Brahim on May 29, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Datuk Syed yang nak keluar,bukan DRB yang halau.
    Selamat menunaikan umrah DSZ. Semoga selamat pulang nanti. Jasamu tetap dikenang dan akan dirindui.

• Estimosis on May 30, 2012 at 8:38 am

You just don’t get it, do ya’?

• sean zx-10 on May 30, 2012 at 11:25 am

Drb mau halau la…if not why create deputy ceo under dsz from day 1 occupied by dato luqman? A redundant position..its funny actually..a company which have exec chairman,md and a deputy ceo..hahaha

• ini orang kena halau la bro…sebab 2 project yang total failure iaitu inspira and preve…another one yang tak sempat launch code named proton mahathir,anak mahathir mukriz is the next MD.I vote for him because his taste is for posh cars…but father was the moron who invented proton and deprived many malaysian…Saga to Preve…semua hancur…ini la bagi orang nyanuk jadi advisor..hancur la automotive industry negara…bermehag dengan kereta nasional…KNN

• apa yg fail? please describe with numbers/stats? or else you are stoopid kid

• KillBox1alpha on May 29, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Nobody can keep a job forever…time to move on….his expertise and experience can be used elsewhere….besides…Proton will always be Proton…no matter who helms it..

• monopoly on May 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Time to hit the road……on a camel. Good riddance.

• autojohndoe on May 29, 2012 at 9:25 pm

the man who is going to replace him will have difficult task to do…

to outperform DSZ achievement in order to say that he is better than what DSZ…

• Ekspresi Ruang on May 29, 2012 at 9:30 pm

d-day for Proton.
    this man represented the WHOLE image of Proton.
    only one man that came in my mind that can perfectly take DSZ’s seat and bring Proton forward…
    Carlon Ghosn of Nissan

• Gabla on May 30, 2012 at 5:49 am

DRB can’t even afford a top management from Dacia so forget about Carlos Ghosn. Look at the latest annual reports for both DRB and Proton Holdings, see which company got a higher revenue.

• pedobear88 on May 29, 2012 at 9:32 pm

must be new ERA of Proton coming up

• Azham Ahmad on May 29, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Hard to find a replacement of equal calibre! Sad to see him. Mixing business with politics?

• tricycle on May 29, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Bad for Proton, but good for the rest of us.

Hopefully Proton will kaput quickly, then there will be no reason for cars in Malaysia to be so damn expensive.

Before we had Proton in 1980s, car price was very reasonable. After the PM at that time launch his Protoncrazy project, all cars price went up.

My father even had to sell is Toyota Camry with a 10k profit after 2 years of driving due to Proton birth.

No more AP or Recon business which enrich the Elitist that are closed to …

• nenen on May 29, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Because of your stupid mindset, Malaysia will never succeed if you keep wishing that our local car company to close down… Look at korea, they supported their local made, and see where are they now?

• Gabla on May 30, 2012 at 5:56 am

Look at Thailand, they don’t have any local brand but the automotive industry is bigger and stronger than us. A lot of global players invest there due to their policy. Now they are proud to export cars made in Thailand with huge quantity even without having their own brand. Don’t whethee Dr. M will admit that his Proton is a mistake.

• zidane on May 30, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Gabla…

Since Thailand already become the Hub for Auto Industry in SEA… Investor will not really going to Malaysia, they may still go to Thailand… So, if Proton shut down, how you really sure that you can get cheaper cars? if you being the Govt, you lost one of your revenue source, so, do you think you will keep the tax lower?

• alldisc on May 30, 2012 at 2:33 pm

camry? in the 1980s, sure or not??

in malaysia that time only Cressida GLi6, Corona AT/ST151 and Corolla EE80/AE82. Camry was a JDM until after mid 80s.

• niceone on May 29, 2012 at 9:53 pm

bad news. DRB guys will takeover both proton and lotus. i wonder what these people have achieved in DRB before?

• Rambo Ramsey on May 30, 2012 at 8:43 am

How about guys from Honda Malaysia? Isn’t Honda achieve tremendous growth in the past 3 years?

Or leader from supplier like HTS? They manage to supply big OEM/export, even surpasses certain darling in Rawang (P*****tex).

• Honda Malaysia? What a joke. Can even compete with UMW Toyota even when they have similar brand strength. Problem is they are short sighted, a lot of the dealership is outsourced, so they can’t compete against the service provided by UMW Toyota.

• omanjedi on May 30, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Honda M’sia? filthy overprice piece of Jap car in M’sia..Even they shorten the service interval which is supposed to be 10k to 5k to make more money.Hope somebody (especially NAZA) can take this Brand and at least perform an honest Servicing Schedule

• thinktank on May 29, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Good brain with talent is not always welcome in this kind of organisation. Definitely same thing thing will happen. When Tan Sri Hassan was forced to resign, Conoco Philip,Sembcorp, Singapore Power, Sesco,etc immediately take him as their board of director. I see same situation here whereby I anticipate a lot of offer from competitor especially from Thai operation or perhaps our own Naza group. Let’s wait and see…..

• Langit dijunjung on May 29, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Proton has no difference since the first day he join till the last day he leave. Only depending on domestic market and handout from the RAKYAT. I have faith that BN government can appoint a more capable leader to steer Proton to International playing field. I have faith in BN and Mahathir !

• LOL… kind of ‘katak dalam tempurung, digantung pula kat daun pisang tua laa…’

• Kmsbzd on May 29, 2012 at 10:22 pm

There are other who are better than him, yes he improve proton quality but after full bashed from the public. He did not develop new business to proton. Tengku mahale has better vision with proton city, big assembly plant, 6 car platform, own engine production. Him nothing except good public relation. Good to be vp PR. Where is own transmission plant, fuel injection engine, electric car, hybrid.

• At the end, we have crappy cars.

• Gabla on May 30, 2012 at 6:02 am

Yeah, own everything, pay more than what the big player paid fir and get lower quality from the vendors. That is what Proton was like under the visionary Tengku Mahalel… Perodua on the other hand did not own anything but were able to sell a lot more cars since they can build a better quality products.

• number of thumbsdown is enough to judge your crappy comment. congrats!

• driver on May 29, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Now now.. wuttafee is DRB’s thinking??? Sigh!
    DSZ is the only figure in P1 that makes people still “hanging there” for P1.

OK, this is sooo sad.. and frustrated!

• driver on May 29, 2012 at 10:27 pm

To Paultan.org,
      We (i.e. your readers) would really appreciate if you could conduct an interview with DSZ and ask him about this matter.

just a suggestion.
      cheers~

• ayaneo on May 29, 2012 at 10:27 pm

All the best to DSZ. Proton, all the best to you too..

• teamsleepnine on May 29, 2012 at 10:40 pm

lol…always saw him buy groceries,pakai flip flops carry his own plastics bags in usj taipan …
    humble man///always smile back at me…

• he surely is..

after wolfgang, now him.whats left in proton? sigh..

• thinktank on May 29, 2012 at 10:43 pm

agree with driver. DSZ is the one that make people still believe is P1. But still, maybe there are someone there that can do better. Who know.

TM always like grand thing. Built mega plant, build sport car, build own engine, etc. In my view, it is pointless due to inefficiency. what is the point of building and plant where you only utilise 50% of its capacity.

As of DSZ, yes the P1 is still not up to our expectation but he is on the right track. Revamp the supply chain, terminate the bad vendor (but how to terminate those with politic influence behind). With only 100k units proton car sell in Malaysia, no wonder proton still making loss especially when we intend to spend huge CAPEX and OPEX every year to do everything on our own. It is best to focus on what we do best and outsource the rest. I believe proton should develop the car with out the engine and transmission. Just buy the engine from third party such as Toyota VVTi, gearbox grom Getrag and focus their effort on the QA/QC of the car itself. Yes,true we will end up paying royalty for the parts but the saving will be pass down to us customer and vendor. Just imagine our local vendor are building parts for Proton engine (imagine the market capitalization if that engine is actually well known engine such as VVti). Definite we also could get cheaper part when the market size is huge.

• Heard rumors that DSZ has been proposed by PM to be one of the candidate in the coming election. Is it true Danny?

• Henry Ford the XII on May 29, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Woohoo.. Dany Bahar is coming to Proton!
    Hahahahahahaha…

• tan sri wan on May 29, 2012 at 11:22 pm

MAS could do with DSZ marketing strategies.

• so sad on May 29, 2012 at 11:25 pm

DRB has failed to manage air asia and sold it to tony fernandes. wonder what is gonna happen to proton :(

• Apalagi! sell to VW la. That’s what the G (our over ambitious G) is going to do eventually to make M’sia becoming rich nation (btw rich nation don’t make cheap products), or isn’t this the ultimate goal of all this unfolding event? Maybe our G’s current (unseen) motto is ‘LOOK BRITAIN. Ditch all cheap making industries to foreigner and focus on service and entertainment.

• tokmoh on May 29, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Six years. Ahh, it has truly been Proton’s best six years. From the darkest and most despairing age, after its reputation and honour torn apart by the despicable TM, then comes hope.

A hope that delivers, a hope that shone brightly the nation took notice and wanted to believe once again.

Then a tragic befalls, as the penyamuns are making their moves to plunder and to drown us in despair yet again. That perhaps maybe their intention, for which they will succeed… at their own peril.

We may lose the greatest asset for our hope, but we’ve already won enough. Let us raise a cry of victory for our beloved Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin!!

ALL HAIL DSSZ!! ALL HAIL DSSZ!! ALL HAIL DSSZ!!

As for DRB, fucuk you very much.

• superman on May 30, 2012 at 2:32 pm

pls stop saying bad words to DRB guys, they did not fire DSZ, he resigned himself. we all love DSZ and his style and the way he controlled the P1 but the main problem ius still Tun M. he is the one who contorled the company and brought his own friends from other countries to supply and destroy… Sorry to say that I always respect Tun M as a visionary and very smart politician but people around him are using his vision and creating all headaches in Malaysia and P1.

• cristiano gaynaldo on May 30, 2012 at 12:07 am

leave when the applause is the laudest
    just like pep guardiola
    tq DSZ. u will be missed!

• noneofurbusiness on May 30, 2012 at 12:27 am

Langit and kmsbzd.. i dont know which place u came out but u r one of the brainless idiot dimwit sarcasm no logic sense.of. ppl.. definately u need to go dig urself ur grave n hide there.. msia ppl dont need u. Useless brad!

• eediooot on May 30, 2012 at 12:58 am

My theory is, Tun Dr M’s crony or sons are losing money under this MD’s control due to his strict control on quality of parts from vendors who are cronies. Put under DRB, less objective control on vendors therefore cronies become happy, and then the politicians can win more votes from influential businessmen. Not that I like this guy very much, in some sense his business risk taking in over-expansion of Lotus (up to 5 models being launched) and also especially the loss of Lotus F1 control which is now under Genii (not Proton nor DRB nor Lotus cars) is the highlight of his flaws.

• muixmuix on May 30, 2012 at 1:05 am

they should bring Tony F. to proton..

• Arrghhhh!!Y U NO STAY??!!Mann..DSSZ is a really really humble and nice chap.met him when i was considering neo CPS at HQMutiaraDamansara.He personally greeted me (although I was wearing shorts and wornout t-shirt and selipar jepun,does not seem like a possible buyer.but hey,thats how I roll..) and explained about the car in and out! Even the SA also malu-malu already. still remember what he said..”one day we’re gonna turbocharge this model..and this baby will flyyy!!”.and I swear his eyes were glistening when he said that.his enthusiasm could not be hidden.true visionary.Salute to DSSZ.InsyaAllah,with a mind, passion and vision like yours,you will fly as well.first class. i pray for your health, wealth and future.Salute dear Sir, and GodspeeD!!
    (p/s: true fact: i always listen to his speech in English before any of my presentations.turbocharges my confidence.)

• driver on May 30, 2012 at 2:51 am

Lucky you!!!
      I also like how he projects himself, and the company in public. He makes it “ours” rather than “theirs”…

Somebody says that TM has a vision, and that’s good as well. But DSZ doesn’t only have a mission, but he implemented it. And implemented it right!

Maybe it’s just me, but every time he speaks in public, I sense a Steve Job’s influence — aura. Indeed.

On the other side, I’m looking forward on what’ll be his next step. All the best DSZ!

• Yes dear driver Sir,Im lucky,indeed. Starstrucked,to be exact.He has got the charisma of a great leader. He knows what he’s doing and what is happpening and whats going to happen around him.Real CEO material.but the humble part is quite rare for someone of his status. And he’s not faking it,thats important.he knows a lot of smiley faces out there if he decided to initiate NEO CFE. Hehehe.but…now…perhaps…maybe…maybe?..perhaps..

• Now that you mentioned it, he really kinda resembles Steve Jobs. Skinny, spectacles, short hair, performs great presentation, just without his black long sleeve shirt. Hope he doesn’t die like Mr. Steve.

Wish for good in the future Mr. DSZ.

• I’ve attended few of his presentations. May i say, they were marvellous…

• bought on May 30, 2012 at 8:37 pm

so mr selipar jepun, did u buy the car or not that time?

• pizi87 on Aug 23, 2013 at 9:45 am

ya, did you buy the Neo CPS back then? :) DSZ is truly a leader i respect, a well balance one as he is also religious and very active at his local masjid

• Shiraz Faruqi on May 30, 2012 at 3:27 am

DSZ really did make a difference in Proton. Proton was finally listening to what the customer wants and not taking us for granted. i sincerely hope that Malaysia does not lose the talent and caliber of DSZ. The Malaysian economy needs industry leaders like him.

• great loss :(

• catty on May 30, 2012 at 7:52 am

it’s time to cancel Preve booking..

• sir jacob on May 30, 2012 at 7:54 am

tan chong or naza motor , why not take him….b4 other foreigner take him

• He’s just like Steve Job of Proton.
    RIP- Really Inspiring Person, DSZ.

• one of the reason i joined this company because of him which i thought i would present my paperwork in front of him via research program to get his comments and expertise. it seems like , i never have that opportunity .

• Kalun on May 30, 2012 at 8:01 am

There is always Volkswagen to saves the company. Volkswagen is still interested. Maybe they could call back DSZ.
    Plus, they won’t ruin Malaysia name in Proton. Just like what the did in Skoda.
    Skoda is still Chech republic.

DRB-H will fail this time like they did with Air Asia. They want profit not R&D plus, they have no experince in automotive industries.

• alldisc on May 30, 2012 at 9:47 am

dont forget, DRB already failed once with P1 when petronas came to the rescue in late 90s, hence Usahasama Proton-DRB became Proton Edar Sdn Bhd.

• albag on May 30, 2012 at 8:09 am

guys, still getting the Inspira or Preve? good luck for the after sales service lol!

• Carnatic on May 30, 2012 at 8:23 am

Pls just sell of this stupid company and abolish the stupid taxes for foreign cars.That way we all can move on
    But DSZ did more for proton than anyone else did.In that sense ,live long and prosper my man

• Kmsbzd on May 30, 2012 at 11:17 pm

Right move DRB, sure Proton will success when manage professionally, not politically. What have he done either than acting humble.

• Kmsbzd on May 30, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Proton is now belong to private company no more government so they will manage like private company not like MAS. Manager playing Politician has to go.

• proton kata bye bye..singapore kata lai lai lai

• Good job..!! well done..kalau x kerja dalam proton x xakn tau apa sudah DSZ buat..dia juga ada vndor dia sendiri…!!..afta all dia x suka R&D ..we should improve our R&D..utk anak bangsa Malaysia setanding dgn org luar…bukan buat kereta bodo and he doesnt knw anything about CAR…

• tokmoh on May 30, 2012 at 10:07 am

Oh? Tell me about how Perodua has sooooo many R&D, and become the bestseller for the past 6 or 7 years.

• Improve R&D? How to improve R&D if everything must rely on consultant?

• JENDOL on May 30, 2012 at 5:53 pm

consultant for sure…but E & Y ..P & W Coopers are rotten to make things worse..their report leading to engaging consultant. Most of the auditors very young & doesnt know anything on what they audit…tong kosong..

IT HAPPEN TO ALL GLCs…see how many agree !

• tokmoh on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:05 pm

PWC and E&Y are accounting firms, not engineering firms. Their job is just to make sure Proton doesn’t lie in their financial statements.

• alldisc on May 30, 2012 at 10:24 am

kalau betul R&D kita bagus, ramai org luar beli keta proton. masalahnya tak laku kat negara luar waja, savvy, gen2 dan persona.

maknanya R&D proton byk syok sendiri saja. cthnya kata exora cukup kuat boleh naik 7 org dan panjat genting tapi akhirnya akui juga underpower sampai keluar versi turbo. benar, power cukup tapi yang tak nampak pulling power yg rendah. org muda2, belum cukup ilmu. he he he.

• ok je exora cps tu siapa lak yg ngaku underpower? kau je yg pandai-pandai bawak mulut bau longkang, pigi dah!!!!!!!!

exora turbo pulling power dr rpm rendah la woi, kalau kau terer sangat kau reka la enjin sendiri, tau komen banyak-banyak pun tak guna gak

• R&D bagus tak semestinya popular, suara penyanyi kalau tak best pun boleh jugak dapat juta-juta, paham tak? suara bagus pun kalau takde killer song tak laku jugak.

ingat kalau bagus je ramai yang beli, punya la singkat pemikiran, kau ni dulu belaja kat mana ha?

• svtre on May 31, 2012 at 11:04 pm

ko cakap mcm pandai sgt, ko nak pegi mana mpv laju mcm super car, nak pegi batu dua boleh la

• Biasala, sebaik-baik nabi-nabi pun ramai juga yg menentang… (got what I mean?). ‘Vendor dia’ tu just sucking P1 money for lousy parts? Or was that because of the group, he dared to give ‘lifetime warranty’ to Proton’s customers. Anyway, nobody is perfect. Hanya Nabi2 yg ma’sum.

• hope to see proton price goes up soon…the price is not competetitive against perodua or other makes…those who want to buy P1 …get it fast !

last time..DRB did push up Iswara base price until 46k for 1.3 manual car..crazy..adding stupid sticker along doors and clumsy rims

• alldisc on May 30, 2012 at 11:12 am

yeah i do remember that.

they even came up with around 10 accesories pack called Type A, Type B until Type J because at that time they do not know that overseas there was something called – trim level spec example what was done by Ford. A Ford Escort may have a base called L, then up 1 level called LX, then GL, then GLS, and the final one is top-specced Ghia.

but funny thing, Protons in UK do have as such known as GE, GL, GLS or SE for both Iswara and Wira.

• Rambo Ramsey on May 30, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Those are the days when proton salesman earned commissions in 5 figure every month. And dump it in stock market. Then came 1998.

• Henry Ford The XII on May 31, 2012 at 10:03 am

That time you can get Proton Type R, with NOS! Oppss.. wait, that’s not a NOS cylinder, it’s just a fire extinguisher hehehehe

• yeah and now even proton can beat ford cars handling

• start on May 30, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Yup… 110% agreed

• Kevin Lee on May 30, 2012 at 8:57 am

hopes DSZ finds somewhere awesome to work. we’d buy cars from you!

• alldisc on May 30, 2012 at 11:07 am

Great Wall Motors, perhaps?

would you? but Naza is negotiating a deal with 2 major car companies, right? he may land a job there to lead either.

it can be Seat, it can be Vauxhall/Opel, it can be Dacia Renault… anything.

• suppaheero on May 30, 2012 at 8:58 am

Truely a great loss to Proton and the local automotive world. Hope he’s still in the automotive organization.

DSZ is a man with great passion in building cars. “Selamat Maju Jaya Dato’, semoga usaha Dato’ sentiasa diingati dan mendapat balasan setimpal.”

• tiadaid on May 30, 2012 at 8:59 am

Perhaps DSZ should head up another Malaysian sinking ship – MAS.

• alldisc on May 30, 2012 at 11:04 am

MAS is already 3/4 deep in the water. hardly breathing. not easy to salvage, all there will be are wrecks.

• I like KFC on May 30, 2012 at 9:02 am

Well, he is smart to leave this company ASAP since he smell the Preve is going to be a big failure together with Protong. Now Smart people run fast.

• alldisc on May 30, 2012 at 11:02 am

a top person like DSZ is normally required to give a 3 monhts notice in resignation, this is hardly surprising since the day DRB gained major stakes in Proton, againn…

DSZ was with Datuk Nazmi Salleh planning to take over proton shares from khazanah, and they both were competitors to DRB. DRB wont expect to have someone who competed or have ideas to compete with them on board.

it is just natural for DSZ to leave, either that or he will be requested to leave. the pressure will be there.

• kakabidi on May 30, 2012 at 9:07 am

To save P1 frm the PAKATAN if they win next PRU is to sell it to your friend company….remember that Tun mentioned, Najib still weak to win majority in next PRU. Tun already prepared for the worst scenario & make sure he still got the income…..DSZ just become another KORBAN politic….Thanks DSZ, you are inspired us a lot

• kerelbort on May 30, 2012 at 9:17 am

i feel like DRB hicom is always on cost cutting and looks good..

so the lifetime warranty will go down the drain as I guess they wouldn’t believe their own product and so long Proton.

My day of supporting Proton may come to an end, your last hope could be P3-22A.(if that ever come out)

• _xXx_ on May 30, 2012 at 9:23 am

who cares? But Im interested if they bring in some reputated mat salleh designers…

• pingu on May 30, 2012 at 9:46 am

ade takde proton still same – with all the useless designer and lousy decision makers

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on May 30, 2012 at 10:08 am

Have my fullest respect, also a masjid man, being head of Masjid Falah USJ9

• DSZ has contributed a LOT to Proton improvement for the past few years, so much so that bcos of him I ‘dare’ to buy a Persona last year…

• …the day he resigned, the day my Persona’s battery gone kaput. Ermmmmm…..

• SAGA FL on May 30, 2012 at 10:22 am

Jacky Chan can be the next managing director.. tech proton ppl play kungfu

• I really hope he reads our comments and messages for him.just want him to know how much we appreciate what he had done for Proton.All the best to him and Proton.Thank you DSSZ.God bless.

• Faizul on May 30, 2012 at 11:48 am

Datuk Seri..you should write a book so that your experience at P2 and P1 can be shared with public just like what lee iacocca did.. in that way malaysian in general can delve in your management skill.
    anyway thanks for revamping proton into what is is today and good luck in your future undertakings..

• Jebat on May 30, 2012 at 12:05 pm

After this no more national brand..personal brand…everything DRB want to sell..including workers..so sad..

• Jebat on May 30, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Good luck for DSZ and thanks to him bring up back Proton & workers dignity to high level…

• So what kicking out Bahar and DSZ? Suspected of songlap? Funny lah this Protongkat when itself the biggest songlap in auto industry that suffer millions of carbuyers here since 1985.

Worst part is that, eventually Protongkat still fail and causing DRB runs out of cash but many rich uncle willing to bail out again:
    – Uncle EPF
    – Uncle Tabung Haji
    – Uncle Petronas
    – Uncle Berjaya Toto
    – Uncle Astro
    – Uncle Felda
    – Uncle San Miguel Beer
    – Uncle Nazak
    – Uncle Robert Kuok
    – Uncle Lim Genting
    – Uncle Khazanah (again!)

Therefore, United Nation should create special award to Protongkat lah:
    “8th wonder of modern world heritage – world’s most protected car species”

• msiandriver on May 30, 2012 at 1:35 pm

My fellow Malaysian. Just want to hear from you all. If our local car makers is not longer in business, will our average car prices increase or decrease in general? What’s your view?

• zidane on May 31, 2012 at 12:43 pm

well…

the prices may be same or decrease as time goes on…

we have to think that… ppl is blaming car is so expensive that they have to bear the burden in their monthly expenses… because of 5,7,9 years loan…

well, the same situation will happen without Proton around but instead of paying for Proton, they happily pay for Honda, Toyota, Nissan etc…

In the end, ppl will still complain for not enough money for monthly expenses…

• iven so much monopoly, protection yet still Protongkat making loss and sell crap cars. Why???

Hmmm…Maybe due to poor education system? Given free and easy education yet still schools produced Mat Rempit and junk jobless graduates?

Hopefully a full-blown economic recession will happen soon in Bolehland.

I’m first to laugh at those lazy bums, gaji buta scumbags, village idiots that taste how good life during recession HA HA HA!

• NasUrudin aidid on May 30, 2012 at 2:04 pm

The only model that are being produce by dsza is preve and the under powered exora. The rest are just a face lift. No big deal from him. look at new Nissan Syplhy 2013 . Any designer frm proton can come out with something like this .?

• matlimmutu on May 30, 2012 at 3:22 pm

all the best to DSZ and also Proton.

• hanim on May 30, 2012 at 3:27 pm

nothing much to say..just piece of luck to DSZ..me as a malaysian really appreciate wht he done to proton over six years..hope the next will become good as him

• He will be fondly remembered. A great man indeed.

• start on May 30, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Told you so..

Next : They are going to sell LOTUS…

• Shamshaww on May 30, 2012 at 5:52 pm

I met DSZ last eyar when i went to USS singapore. He was with his child. When i saw him, i remember Proton, when i saw Proton, i remeber him. For me his image is all blending well wi th proton. I never knew who was the previous Proton MD. I bet he knows what he’s doing. He knows where he’s heading. Wish him luck. Goodluck DSZ.

• thinktank on May 30, 2012 at 6:13 pm

even read proton review or test drive. What interesting there is only ‘tune by lotus’. Can’t imagine Proton without lotus nowadays.

• kamaji on May 30, 2012 at 6:22 pm

When new towkay take over, they normally replaces or removes all old exec & that’s common practice.Anyway, if or with the 2 maha..L & T around in P1,then we can see the thundercat transforming into stray mieow.

• rendang on May 30, 2012 at 6:45 pm

I am so sad. This is the wrong decision. DSZ is the one find out Dany Bahar and fully support him and Dany Bahar hasn’t finished his job in Lotus. The new models are still under development and the money is already spent. If Dany lose support from DSZ and leaves, his other companions like Wolf Zimmermann, Billy Baldwin and Donato Coco will leave too. Those talented people are the one who can compete with Porsche, AMG und Ferrari. Lotus hasn’t realised his new models and these are gone. It will be totally hopeless. SO RIP Proton and Lotus. Malaysia local car industry loses its future. No malaysian player in world auto arena. Bye bye!

• thunder cats on May 30, 2012 at 7:01 pm

This is a big loss to proton,,,proton seem to had hope when he was incharge but now…let’s hope perodua or foreign company take him n appreciate him

• nasurudin on May 30, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Campare to a Nissan engine HR 1.5 de or Toyota Dual VVT-i, the Proton Campro bolt-on have nothing to be proud off. And this is a product of DSZA and predecessor Mahaleel.The new CEO/md of Proton will produce a similiar sh$% but with a different smell.

• zidane on May 31, 2012 at 9:38 am

wey Smart-S…

Study before you speak la…

where is the proof of Campro Bolt-On?

Suruh baca, malas… nak bercakap mcm orang pandai semua ilmu…

• car tax or income tax on May 30, 2012 at 8:46 pm

to the idiots out there who are ranting about abolishing foreign car tax. If no foreign car tax (mind u, local car also kena tax albeit lower tax), gov will lose income! Then they have to compensate loss of income by increasing individual income tax just what countries like UK, Sweden, Norway, US are doing! You buy roti canai also kena goods tax nanti, that’s the type of thing that gov are doing in advance countries! Korea totally almost ban import of foreign cars, you idiots should research into this practice in Korea and how Korean cars are able to progress very quickly due to their gov support. Korean people dont complain about not afford BMW. Now, with loss of car tax, they will then have to increase individual tax. So if now you’re paying 10-26% income tax, that will potentially go up to 40-60% as in UK and Sweden! Think about this further. We are not small country like Singapore which can afford lower tax, there is so much land areas to develop.

• tokmoh on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Tax issues probably wouldn’t be an issue if Proton is on par as Hyundai-Kia today.

Or if public transport is as good as developed countries.

Tax become issue because instead of achieving that that I mentioned above, we get below world standard cars, crappy public transport.

• SGBLM on May 30, 2012 at 9:34 pm

You can go ahead and kiss all those future projects like P3-22A and its variants goodbye then, for sure Mahaleel and crony will look at the blueprints and toss it into the fire …

• Absolute Rider on May 30, 2012 at 9:39 pm

It was a very sad news when (the late) Tengku Yahaya Ahmad passed away.

Today, a very sad news again in Proton because DSZ is leaving Proton.

Good luck to DSZ and feel sad cannot meet you in person. You are a great person and have changed Proton a lot. Always like you especially when you are on stage giving speech without reading from paper.

All the best to you, DSZ and to Proton. Proton’s new MD, I have nothing to say but make sure you can do better job if not better don’t sit on this place.

• rossi46 on May 30, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Mana boleh 2 orang title Dato Seri dlm satu company…..tu sbb seorang kena tarik diri

• There’s no place for smart and sincere person in Malaysia.

• Preve, at last something good from Proton.
    Hoping I can afford it in the near future.
    Thanks DSZ.
    May you be blessed with good health and I believe you won’t be a “penggangur” for long.

• dino omar on May 30, 2012 at 10:41 pm

This was expected from conglomerates who also owns pos malaysia.fire those who have the brains and bring in their own comedian.enough said and really sorry for proton.

• Goodluck to Proton..Please improve the quality of your car and dont take advantage due to our NAP (National Automotive Policy)…DSZ maybe its time for you to work with other automaker / other company….Sometimes changes in working environment will motivate and improve ourself…..Goodluck to you too DSZ:-)…..New owner = new management:-)

• What with these emotional statement of DSZ leaving Protong? DRB take over? Who cares?

THIS IS ALREADY A FORESEEN FUTURE!

This is what Malaysians have been saying all this time for the past 28 years, Protong will finally gulung tikar.

This is the SIGN!

But it will not gulung in one night (we wish that would happen). It will suffer by losing itself bit by bit. Factory at Tg Malim to be sold or rent. Workers retrench. Company helm hostile take over (or rather hostile sell over). CEO quitting. These are all a clear signs of a sinking ship.

Hard lesson to be learn; Cronisme and Nepotisme does NOT work well with business.

The rest are self explanatory.

My only regret it happened too late. Too much damage has been done. We the Rakyat have to suffer 2nd most expensive investment after Property.

Then again, better late than never.

• zidane on May 31, 2012 at 9:35 am

What if Proton close shop?

you can buy Honda Civic cash?

No la… you still have to make loan with the bank with 5, 7 and 9 years repayment period…

it just that, you can BUY a Honda or Toyota at cheaper price… instead of Proton…

Your monthly expenses will be the same…

then, comes the talk to close Perodua, then Naza, then CKD Toyota, then CKD Honda…

biasa la Malaysian… hanya 100% yang dipercayai…

• Meanwhile the Hyundai Kia group total export sales easily hit 1.5 million units worldwide…

Protongkat better close shop and let their factory put up for good use eg.assemble Hyundai Kia cars…

Hyundai Sells Over a Million Vehicles, Kia More than 630,000 in the First Quarter of 2012
    Monday, April 30, 2012

Business is booming for South Korea’s Hyundai Group that reported its first quarter results. The Hyundai brand sold an impressive 1,072,679 new vehicles worldwide (domestic: 154,800 / overseas: 917,879) in the first three months of 2012, up 16.7 percent from the same period a year earlier.

Hyundai Motor’s net income climbed 30.6 percent to 2.45 trillion won (US$2.16 billion) in the first quarter, while its operating profit jumped 24.9 percent to 2.28 trillion won (US$2 billion).

The company’s second brand, Kia, saw its global sales rise 12.6 percent to 636,398 vehicles in the first quarter of 2012. In the same period, Kia’s net income rose 26 percent to 1.2 trillion won (US$1.1 billion), while the automaker’s operating profits jumped 33 percent to 1.121 trillion won(US$990 million).

In comparison, the VW Group as a whole recorded a sale increase of 11.3 percent to 2.3 million vehicles in the first three months of the year, with the Volkswagen Passenger Cars brand delivering 1.2 million vehicles (+9.3%) globally.

Hyundai has said that it expects global sales to rise 5.7 percent to 4.3 million units in 2012, reaching 7 million when combined with those of the Kia brand.

• zidane on May 31, 2012 at 9:27 am

so… with the above news extract…

You want to be Korean or German?

• bthyt on May 31, 2012 at 11:13 pm

another butthurt guy whose car has always been smoked by proton cars

• geaseBanana on May 31, 2012 at 9:58 am

This is Malaysia style .
    Why ?
    Those Big company CEO are under BN management. They been pay for no open duty free for car.
    And now was the time to change other people to site and see only.

• mig29_ria on May 31, 2012 at 11:45 am

More politic, office politic, all is politics nothing else to get easily $$$$$ with less…..

• The farewell email from a true leader, DS Syed Zainal.
    ex-CEO Proton.

========

Assalamualaikum, Salam Sejahtera dan Salam 1 Malaysia pada seluruh warga PROTON yang saya kasihi.

Semoga warkah saya ini bertemu saudara saudari dalam keadaan sihat sejahtera, ceria dan bersemangat tinggi dalam menjalankan tugas-tugas harian.

Seperti yang semua sedia maklum, saya telah pun melepaskan jawatan saya sebagai Pengarah Urusan Kumpulan PROTON berkuatkuasa 4hb Julai, 2012. Dengan mengambil kira cuti yang saya perlu habiskan, hari ini yakni Khamis 31hb Mei, 2012 adalah merupakan hari terakhir saya berada di PROTON secara fizikal.

Saudara saudari yang saya kasihi,

Terlalu berat untuk saya menulis surat ini sebagai penutup tirai kepada lebih enam (6) tahun perkhidmatan saya di PROTON. Berhari-hari saya mengadap skrin komputer yang kosong kerana ternyata tidak ada perkataan yang dapat menterjemahkan apa yang ada di lubuk hati saya. Bagaimana mungkin dapat saya melepas perginya sesuatu yang telah memberi impak yang dalam dan bermakna kepada kehidupan saya? Bagaimana mungkin dapat saya berjabat tangan dan mengucapkan selamat tinggal pada rakan-rakan yang sudah saya anggap sebagai ahli keluarga sendiri? Tiada ucapan yang dapat saya ungkapkan untuk mengucapkan ribuan terima kasih saya kepada setiap individu yang telah berusaha bersungguh-sungguh dalam membantu saya menjalankan tugas saya sekian lama. Tiada mampu dalam diri saya yang kerdil ini untuk membalas pengorbanan, kegigihan dan masa yang telah di curahkan oleh semua pihak dalam usaha merealisasikan impian PROTON tanpa mengenal lelah dan jemu.

Apabila saya imbas kembali detik-detik perjalanan saya di PROTON, saya menganggap sayalah yang sebenarnya beruntung. Saya beruntung kerana dapat menerajui sekumpulan tenaga pekerja yang saya anggap permata-permata yang amat bernilai. Saya bersyukur kerana dipertemukan dengan sekumpulan warga Malaysia yang kental semangatnya. Tatkala masyarakat umum memberi persepsi negatif pada PROTON, saudara saudari masih bangun dinihari untuk ke kilang dengan penuh rasa bangga. Tatkala kita ditertawakan atas kesilapan lalu, saudara saudari menerima kritikan dengan sikap terbuka. Tatkala kita berada di bawah, saudara saudari bangkit dan menyahut cabaran perubahan. Semangat saudara saudari lah yang membakar semangat saya untuk terus berjuang memulihkan PROTON. Kematangan saudara saudari jualah yang telah mematangkan diri saya untuk berani mengambil pendekatan baru demi melonjakkan nama PROTON. Saya yakin berdiri di atas pentas kerana saya berdiri di atas keyakinan saudara saudari. Ternyata hari ini, saya lah yang kehilangan sesuatu yang besar nilainya. Bukan saudara saudari.

Saya yakin saudara saudari akan meneruskan perjuangan ini dan mampu membawa nama PROTON ke tahap yang lebih tinggi. Saya percaya saudara saudari akan terus memberikan sokongan yang mampan walau dalam apa jua keadaan sekali pun. Segalanya tidak mustahil jika kita tanam keyakinan yang tinggi pada setiap sesuatu. Di mana ada kemahuan, disitu pasti ada jalan, Saya telah melihat kehebatan saudara saudari, jadi saya menyeru agar di teruskan kegigihan ini. Percayalah pada diri sendiri, kejayaan pasti memihak kepada saudara saudari dengan izinNya. Saya yakin dengan suntikan dan anjakan paradigma pengurusan baru, di bawah pimpinan YBhg Dato Sri Hj Mohd Khamil Jamil, PROTON akan terus meraih namanya di persada automotif, insyaallah.

Sebagai manusia yang dhaif dan lemah dalam pelbagai aspek, saya menyusun sepuluh jari memohon kemaafan dari setiap warga PROTON atas segala keterlanjuran bahasa, tingkahlaku, makan minum, hak-hak saudara saudari yang tidak dapat saya sempurnakan sepanjang perkhidmatan saya di PROTON. Saya pasti terdapat banyak kekhilafan dan serba kekurangan dalam pentadbiran dan pengurusan saya, Yang baik itu datang dariNya, yang buruk itu adalah kelemahan saya sendiri. Saya mohon juga disampaikan kemaafan dan salam saya pada keluarga saudara saudari sekelian. Walaupun saya mungkin tidak berkesempatan bertemu dengan mereka, doa saya akan sentiasa mengiringi mereka.

Hukum alam menetapkan, setiap yang bermula pasti akan berakhir. Setiap pertemuan, pasti ada perpisahan. Walapun jauh dimata, PROTON akan tetap di hati saya. Saya akan sematkan ingatan dan pengalaman berharga ini jauh di lubuk hati saya. Semuga takdir mempertemukan kita semula dilain tempat, dilain masa, insyaallah.

Akhir kalam, saya memetik lirik dari nyanyian Faith Hill dari lakun layar Pearl Harbour dan kata-kata ini saya tujukan khas kepada semua warga kerja PROTON.

“There You’ll Be”

When I think back
    On these times
    And the dreams
    We left behind
    I’ll be glad ’cause
    I was blessed to get
    To have you in my life
    When I look back
    On these days
    I’ll look and see your face
    You were right there for me

In my dreams
    I’ll always see you soar
    Above the sky
    In my heart
    There will always be a place
    For you for all my life
    I’ll keep a part
    Of you with me
    And everywhere I am
    There you’ll be
    And everywhere I am
    There you’ll be

Well you showed me
    How it feels
    To feel the sky
    Within my reach
    And I always
    Will remember all
    The strength you
    Gave to me
    Your love made me
    Make it through
    Oh, I owe so much to you

‘Cause I always saw in you
    My light, my strength
    And I want to thank you
    Now for all the ways
    For always

Salam hormat dari saya,
    Syed Zainal

• Ah Beng on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:23 am

Why not ask a bangla as CEO?

• Mayan on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:11 am

He’s smart that he leaves before the world ends.

• All the best to u Syed Zainal

• All the best to u Datuk Seri Syed Zainal

• Al Rashidin on Jun 06, 2012 at 1:15 am

mungkin masa kejatuhan bermulaaaa… 7 thn bersama proton memerah keringat bekerja seikhlas hati kerana ALLAH taala hingga proton diberkati dilimpahi kemajuan,jualan & peningkatan kualiti… 7 thn mlahirkan 3 new model with good car quality for malaysian such as persona,exora bold,preve,saga etc compare than B4 produce more bad qlity…hopefuly gov will convince DSZ to stay with proton… utk DSZ jihat lah utk agama, bangsa & Msian product! “proud to be a msian product”

• Well, he is actually a competent CEO. The only problem is that he is heading a national car maker company, where every Malaysian including the critics give seriuos attention and closely monitor to whatever product that Proton produce. Even Politicians also like to raise and use Proton dilemma as an issue so as they can be seen as Patriotic.

However, judging on how the whole story unfolded, it is clearly the idea of introducing Inspira could have been one of the reason why Proton has recently been potrayed a company without future that result in DRB takeover. While the idea of rebadging Inspira is a good business strategy, as no point for Proton to build something costly like 1.8 & 2.0 car segment on their own and ended up no demand, Syed Zainal and few other Proton management could possibly still save their position should Preve has been launced much earlier, as Malaysian just want to see that Proton capable to build a good quality car on their own.

• fafau80 on Jul 01, 2012 at 12:40 am

DSZ..I wish u all the best…sob..sob..sob