Ferrari SP12 EC – Eric Clapton’s one-off is a 458 Italia with styling inspired by the 512 BB

You’re looking at a one-off belonging to guitar master Eric Clapton, a Ferrari enthusiast and owner. Designed by Centro Stile Ferrari in collaboration with Pininfarina and the engineers from Maranello, this Ferrari “SP12 EC” was created as homage to Clapton’s career and his experience as a Ferrari owner.

Clapton is very attached to one particular Ferrari, so much so that he owned three of them over the years. The model in question is the 512 BB of the late 70s. So his desire was to drive a car inspired by the Berlinetta Boxer, based on the modern 458 Italia of today.

“Meticulous attention in terms of style and technology was paid to the proportions and architecture of the SP12 EC – which is part of Ferrari’s One-Off Programme – making this exceptional car even more significant. Just like music is created, applying the right notes in the right places to build a musical score, so was the creative process behind the Ferrari SP12 EC,” Ferrari said in a statement.

Following through with the project was “one of the most satisfying things I’ve ever done,” said Clapton. I remember the V12 powered 512 BB as one of the top trumps in top trumps, and there are definately hints of the old timer in this reworked 458. Classic looks on a modern icon – never thought I’d call a 458 graceful!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Forza Italia on May 29, 2012 at 6:46 pm

The 512 BB is a beautiful legend. Great to know a musical legend is bringing it back to life once again.

• shawal on May 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Its more expensive than the veyron…

• i never thought i d call 458 beautiful either…

• uratura on May 30, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Tapi sayang tak pakai enjin Boxer..Clapton tak cukup duit nak bayar Ferrari wat R&D kot…

• hangbodoh on May 31, 2012 at 10:48 am

Hang tu mangkuk hayun btul!…u ingat Eric Clapton tu bapa ko ke?u buat R&D dulu sebelum kp kpmen kat sini!
      this is the stupid mentality of our people…shit on u!

• Rempit on May 31, 2012 at 9:44 pm

I think what Uratura means is Eric Clapton should ask Ferrari to do flat 12 boxer because it is the engine type of an original 512 BB…But in order to make that engine,it would probably cost ridiculous amount of money(40,50 millions,possibly even 100 millions)so he stick to V8.Who could blame him.He is rich,but not that rich.Nobody will be that brave/stupid to pay such ridiculous amount of money just for the engine,not even the royals of UAE.

• kjryth on May 31, 2012 at 11:55 am

u pay an extra a lot just for bodykit, macam proton r3 project aje

• LGBT approved this car.haha