Toyota Camry XV50 snapped with aerokit at showrooms

The new XV50 Toyota Camry may not be officially launched yet (it will be by the end of this week – watch out for our launch report), but it appears that a few showrooms already have them on display to whoever wants to see them.

Two nice readers Puven and Zaim sent in these photos of a white and black Camrys respectively, snapped from the Segambut and USJ showrooms. The white one here is a 2.0 litre model and has an aerokit, while the black car is the 2.5V model.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SureWin on May 31, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Not nice..still very uncle-look.

• Vader on May 31, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Seldom see the new generation of car is damn ugly once compare to its predecessor..
      i think only the 9th civic still on par with this XV50…

• blablabla on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:01 am

This kind of design Uncle also Dont like lah…
      Very disappointed.

• PPKIA on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:32 pm

This car for uncle like me,
      me like the design very much.

The wood trim on the dash makes me stim.
      wooooooo, many shiny chromes!

Me got money, me booking New Camry.

You go buy Vios/Preve/Myvi.

• Back to square design…

• Shitoyota on May 31, 2012 at 3:10 pm

im sad with this crap!…look at the stereng, look like “Sony ” playstation console!!!
    Shitoyota

• Kelvin Tee on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:58 am

I like! ShiToyota! The front design is just HORRIBLE! I really would like to see the faces of people who buys these cars.

F.U.G.L.Y. is one word to describe it.

• dozy888 on May 31, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Why call it new model when it’s just a facelift ?

• Toyota No More on May 31, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Such a rip-off. Old engine and transmission but increase price. The look is nothing but a facelift at best.

• fuaaaa..the car at the back there..

• along on May 31, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Hi All,

Even though this car hasn’t been launch yet, I do think that it will be in around 140k price range. I don’t think this is very healthy since, we as customer and citizen need to take 5 or 6 or 7 and even 9-10 years loan to own this car. This is ridiculous, why we need loan for so long to own a good car…

Day in – day out, week in – week out, month in – month out, year in – year out, we talk, discuss, analysis about what should the government do, what should MITI do, now what should MAI do, what should bank do….

Its always about what others should do, to make sure the car price drop to a more reasonable level (don’t need 9 years loan)… but 20 – 30 years of time should be enough to tell us that they wont do anything to our benefit, its always about what manufactures get, what AP king get, what OEM supplier get, so what about us, the customer, the biggest stake holders…

Its us that send the wrong message to gov, car manufacturers, AP kings… when the price increases every facelift, we are the ones that que to book and some do book the car for 9 years loan even before the launch of the car, preve for example…

Let talk about, as consumer and citizen, what should we do? regardless what policy maker, gov agency and companies want to say. Personally, I will maintain my current ride (which is second hand) and refuse to buy any new cars. I will also convince my children, my friends, my family, my boss, my office mates so that they they wont be buying either… and justify it by ridiculous price or cars in Malaysia…. If we do this and play our part, we will gain mass and trust me they will succumb to our knees and price will drop… They can say a lot of thing, but if we aint buying, what the are saying is irrelevant…

So come on guys, let boycott buying any new cars for some time until we see a reasonable priced cars.

Let play our part and dont hope others to do this, we need to do this ourselves…

If we work together, we can win this…
    When the buying stop, the killing can too…

• tiong on May 31, 2012 at 4:00 pm

hi,
      just book the new elantra this morning.

• zidane on May 31, 2012 at 4:38 pm

wahhhh…

speech text…

Politician alike…

• very simple answer to your explanation.because of mahathir who rip off the the country for years and invented proton and since proton is a crony company and need assistance form the BN gov to run the show and many middle man involve to produce one crappy proton so the price of other quality car is hicked up and you need more money to buy quality car.
      All because of the idiotic mahathir we are all deprived of owning quality cars and afford shorted repayment period.simple.Close proton then MALAYSIA will prosper.

• Manoq on May 31, 2012 at 8:45 pm

John,

That is a very serious accusation and a huge rude to a former leader …… “who rip off the country for years” and “idiotic”.

Let’s keep it civil and you don’t have to stoop so low.

It just shows your poor sad and tragic upbringing and your lack of intellectual capacity.

Grow up!

Manoq

• Manoq on May 31, 2012 at 8:47 pm

sorry ……….. not huge rude but “total lack of respect”

• John Doe on May 31, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Manok voted for Apanama and probably is a beneficiary of Apanama’s policies at the expense of 28 million other Malaysians.

Yes Apanama was idiotic, cruel and ripped off Malaysians. This is a fact.

• zidane on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:08 pm

simpler answer is…

while others is grabbing the opportunity… you just whining around hoping miracle to happen…

• Shitoyota on May 31, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Whoa…tahnk god…at 1st glimpse i saw you r Nick”Along” then the 1st paragraph sound like why we have to borrow from Bank then i confirm 50% that you are an real “ALONG” until i finish read the whole…
      Pheww…wht a long comment but worth reading!
      Thumbs UP man!!!!

• Price already out
      2.0E 149,900.00
      2.0G 157,900.00
      2.5v 180,900.00

• Statistician on May 31, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Fully support your proposal, let’s start snowballing this from THIS MOMENT. GUYS PLEASE PASTE THIS ON YOUR FACEBOOK AND LET THEM EAT THIS. Start now and punish those who bully the rakyat !

• kutty on May 31, 2012 at 10:50 pm

every paultan post must be accompanied with a broken record saying govt this and govt that. WE GET IT. say your opinion during the elections. i don’t bloody need to read it in EVERY SINGLE POST about a CAR.

Macam la DAP nak mansuhkan AP pon. Entah2…..SAMA je. Padan muka ko

• driver on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:18 am

I think u didn’t read the whole post.. if u’re lazy to even understand what he’s trying to convey, then don’t bother to reply. Sigh!

He has a valid point. In economy it goes back to demand-supply chain. When there’s demand, there’s supply.

• encikpadil on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:41 am

at least selangorean dapat gak air free. moron!

• Lim Kopi on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:05 am

Some good points there, but … if everyone does what you suggested (not only for cars but maybe for lots of other commodities), the country’s economy will go down and we will have a deep crisis on our hands.

‘When the buying stop, the killing can too’- refers to Sharks Fin soup by Jackie Chan, not cars.

• No substantial improvement from previous models only more expensive! Seems a lot of people thinks it looks worse.

The 2.0 model has the same engine from like 10 years ago and 4 speed gear. If I go to the showroom, I will ask the salesman to give feedback to their management that this is a rip off and I am not happy! I think they need to hear the complaints if not they will continue to think they can ‘take us for a ride’.

Cost of ownership of a Camry is approx RM2000-2500/mth which is a lot for average Malaysians. I agree with comments by Along

• preve is already a nice car.. go get em

• kamaji on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:41 pm

I,m with you totally,car prices are costing more than we can affort these days & I hv not change my car since 6 years ago.

• Riyadh95 on May 31, 2012 at 3:19 pm

I think the front bodykit made the car look even worse.

• Hope Toyotas don’t have any braking system failure!

• David Chong on May 31, 2012 at 3:25 pm

I dont know how you guys think. But…… I really feel that white color really dont match with the car. Maybe is the front bumper problem. Black seems to be better color for this car.

• Walao eh…I must have been mistaken that this year is 2012. I think we are in 1986?

• got any more stock left of current camry cos this one looks terrible inside and out. the digital clock on the dash is a classic touch from the 80s.

• Ryan.C on May 31, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Fuyoh!

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on May 31, 2012 at 4:55 pm

what fuyoh?nothing to fuyoh here. maybe you “fuyohing” the orange hilux belong Felda perhaps.

• rao2100 on May 31, 2012 at 3:39 pm

For a moment there i though it was the new Vios at the background.

• it looks like the older camry 2 gens bck..my god its ugly..

• ss427 on May 31, 2012 at 3:41 pm

I’m sorry Toyota, with that clumsy, awful looking bodykit on, the front end sure looks like some pirated cars from China! :( Something from say BYD or Geely…

If you want sporty looking, get rid of that big, heavy looking chrome grill. A dropping front kit and chrome grill just doesn’t mix…

And the front kit makes the front chin sticks out so much, there is a real danger of scraping it when you’re coming down from, say a steep car park ramp.

And in typical Toyota’s fashion, they like to install big and loud body kits ONLY to pair them with tiny wheels as shown… LOL :D

Such setup doesnt make the Camry owner looked sporty nor confident. instead of trying to compete with the Koreans and the Europeans for subtle classy look, the body kit makes the already dated looking new Camry looks like a tasteless clown who thinks one can add an ‘extra’ 100hp but using body kits…

sigh….

• target market must be 50 years and older….
    the bodykit is a comedy…i think ah bengs also have more taste than this….

• kjryth on May 31, 2012 at 3:51 pm

proton better

• Faizul on May 31, 2012 at 3:56 pm

speechless.. dunno what toyota is thinking..the fact that akio toyoda had promise to make toyota cars sporty looking and fun to drive didn’t materialise.. or is this toyota interpretation of sporty and fun?

• droll on May 31, 2012 at 4:00 pm

good for toyota. they will scare away the uncle drivers. the xv50 bodykit looks a bit too “loud”

• droll on May 31, 2012 at 4:01 pm

btw, are those headlamp washers i spy??? current camry doesn’t have it right?

and DRLs at the bottom of the front bumper?

is the aerokit a local add-on?

• Krasher on May 31, 2012 at 4:03 pm

This is more like a facelift XV20

• Shooosh. on May 31, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Yuck.

• Maaajeeedaaa on May 31, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Urrrghhh…..disgusting

• MycarMylife on May 31, 2012 at 4:14 pm

How can anyone get a high looking at the mundane design year in year out ,boring car at ridiculous RMMMM

• Enlarge version of Altis, design wise is really like 90′ design, no wow at all, only aiyo nand yen wong.

• Elwin on May 31, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Uncle style, like accord…

• Still in love with Lexus GS 350 F Sport

• donadoni on May 31, 2012 at 4:23 pm

not a fan. thank you

• hippo on May 31, 2012 at 4:27 pm

The interior looks more uncleish than the current one. The steering wheel is cluttered and awful. I feel that the current one looks much better insight out. Such a let down.

• KillBox1Alpha on May 31, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Ugly….really gaudy chrome grills….

• H4dRi on May 31, 2012 at 4:33 pm

close my eyes a bit, not bad, i could mistaken it for a lexus, then i scroll down & open my eyes wide open, my gawd, i see najib with his tight fit shirt dancing to k-pop song, it just doesn’t look right

• palehotak on May 31, 2012 at 4:34 pm

buruk macam babun tua

• n2nios on May 31, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Looks so innova….what an inovation!

• The interior bright wood and the gear knob really cannot make it man. At least the interior is now black instead of beige.

• exgrande on Jun 03, 2012 at 5:26 pm

yeap.. black is rocks!. but just for 2.0G oni. 2.5V & 2.0E still in biege (2.0E in fabrics). i’m not this new design fan tho.. but i think 2.0G blackish interior color could be a hit, just like what Accord ’08 did before.

• wan good exterior design just get hyundai or kia la.

• Critique on May 31, 2012 at 5:02 pm

I can see a 35+ yr. old person driving the current version of the Accord. It somehow fits..

That unfortunately is not with the case with this Camry. It’ll be really interesting to see the demographic of owners of this new Camry.

Cheers :)

• The saying “Flogging a dead horse” comes to mind !!!

• just a nice car

• fenderbender on May 31, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Doesn’t the bodykit looks like an afterthought? It does not fit with the rest of the car’s aesthetic. Also, the look of the interiors is the worst — I don’t even have to touch it, the fake wood paneling and the panel around the auto-gear look like cheap plastics. And the steering wheel looks like some Toyota designers decided to add a Nintendo gamepad on it.

Fail!

• Ooooo….my eyes…my eyes…XV50 hurts my eyes…

• Mr. Toyota on May 31, 2012 at 5:16 pm

I love my latest Camry design but why did my engineers leave out the safety features like ESP?

• Me Again on May 31, 2012 at 5:19 pm

looks like sting chinese car makers wd design…or old korean design….i dont know if its the design or the stupid bodykit or jus too much chrome….its ugly…

• piece of shit

• keluangman on May 31, 2012 at 5:29 pm

FUGLY….nuff said. well done toyota!

• luqMAN on May 31, 2012 at 5:35 pm

the ONLY thing that looks nice in this “new” camry is the steering wheel..other than that just plain boring

• Danny on May 31, 2012 at 5:39 pm

meh…..not exciting at all….

• pedobear88 on May 31, 2012 at 6:24 pm

I just when there yesterday.
    already got display. Official launching on this Sunday. Price also confirm is 182,xxx.00 for 2.5v

• _xXx_ on May 31, 2012 at 6:25 pm

kasi install high mount rear spoiler, vertex generator, carbon bonnet, wing doors maa…skirting/lips je mana cukup?

• Littlebear on May 31, 2012 at 6:29 pm

The design ain’t that bad. Once you get used to looking at at, things will get better :)

• bimmerdude on May 31, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Wow!!! Fooooooyoh!!!!! What can I say… Looks like Toyota hired Chris to Bangle up the butt and the entire car. Well done Toyota. Excellent new design… if you’re blind!!!

• Josh Ling on May 31, 2012 at 6:56 pm

The black one is with bodykit installed as well.

• Camry Kaki on May 31, 2012 at 7:03 pm

disappointed..:-( got a good reason to keep my 2010 Camry. XV50 is cheap looking and mismatched body kit. so ugly that it MAY compete with Mahindra Scorpio…:-)

• DArkerMarker on May 31, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Fuh!!! vey nice and exciting design. Very attractive la….Inside and outside. Thumbs up!

for

Uncle and Auntie buyers only la….

• toyota managed to built a time machine! back to the olden days! new tagline.. toyota.. moving backwards

• It’s worse than US’s version which is plain and nice. Malaysia’s Camry is overpriced and ugly design, we pay more but get less…………..

• gdsob on May 31, 2012 at 7:26 pm

At the end of the day it’ll still sell like hot cakes above and beyond other manufacturers within the price range…

Rather than being dismissive and anti Toyota, try to understand more about why they make cars that sell.

Just my 2 cents as an average motorist (read: the majority).

• Oh god Paultan.org, can you guys stop posting any thing related to Camry please? It’s horrible to see any articles related about it on the website.

• Kelvin Tee on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:11 am

I strongly disagree. More posts of this rubbish piece of shit of a car will educate people more. More posts on this shitty car please!

We Malaysians (in general, not only car nuts like us) needs to be educated. Hell, please publish articles like these in the major news streams / social media. Then Toyota will really feel the heat.

I feel really sad for Toyota supporters, I was never one but the recent products from Toyota really only deserve to be in the drain. LONGKANG!

• Shitoyota on May 31, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Guys there are still some crappy dumb ass fellows clicked “excited” ceh apa punta taste woi..
    i prefer to say this guys im sorry…
    “PREVE BETTER THAN THIS CAMRY”
    :p

• Justsomedude on May 31, 2012 at 8:39 pm

This is a sad piece of shit of an automobile.

• Camry2006 on May 31, 2012 at 9:32 pm

FUGLY

• swaik on May 31, 2012 at 9:36 pm

this seals off the deal. Im going for Nissan Teana 250xv.

• guyver on May 31, 2012 at 9:50 pm

this version looks like the old US/Japanese version of camry

• wow, so nice, now the tread is retro, steering like joypad, transformer like that

• Suarez on May 31, 2012 at 10:28 pm

The designer must have lost the actual design plan during the Japan earthquake and replace with this crap! Bye Toyota!!!

• eurohead on May 31, 2012 at 11:08 pm

DAFUQ i just saw? i dont think you can design a car uglier than that, you could try, and you must try extremely hard to beat how bad this car is looking now… even if toyota pay me 140k to drive this.. i had to think it out .. nope im not doing it.. i had to be gay to drive this…

• go honda ‘the power of dream’.toyota is suck cock one.

• ToyotaPJ on May 31, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Pls guys come over have a test drive and look for yourself this car is very nice ! Top quality from Toyota and high resale value for sure. No regrets buying Toyota cars.

• Toyota designer totally loss to honda….

• ss427 on Jun 01, 2012 at 9:18 am

Funny that you put it this way.. Honda itself is in equal mess these days too. See how much the Gen9 Civic has degenerated? And how cheap and ugly it looks?

The new CRV ain’t much better either. Severe cost cutting measures is very apparent in the cabin and overall design

• first glance i terkejut… wassup with the kitted bumper yo? like going to scoop water. :P

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:11 am

toyota had too many left over stock of the fugly XV30. so they decided to facelift that model and resell to the public! slap in some bodykit, raise the price a bit a voila!!! XV50!!

• driver on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:20 am

dah la mahal.. tawar pulak!!

• OMG! whoever buy this junk is really waste of money. Whats more? go for Kia K5!!! u can see the shape very2 different futuristic vs backristic LOL.. So box-ish.. what a lame car and toyota just make their company into shame..

• shawal on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:43 am

not toyota’s finest hour, japan always does this crap, theyl just ruin 1 gen purposely to make way for the next one, in two years theyl b teasing2 the next camry’s head lights n cup holders

• jflee169 on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:16 am

Consumer: UMx T, what’s wrong with you guys with the NEW Camry? And the BK really don’t jived with the car.
    UT: We have the purpose for such design. In view with the gen before this NEW Camry, there were a lot of criminal cases reported, i.e. car hijacked, car robbery and break-in house to steal car. The demand were so high in the black market. Therefore, we have engaged the Seafood Sdn Bhd to come out with this BK, and no one will demand for such car, BUT uncles and aunties still buy. When the demand is reduced in the black market, T drivers will no longer worry about their car being hijacked, robbed and house break-in. Therefore, the price increased is relevant and reasonable.
    Consumer: Are you this will work?
    UT: Sure! You see all the responses from the forums. It works! Everyone is vomiting now.
    Consumer: Hmm… I guess that I will buy one as I can drive safely on the road.
    UT: Just to add, our products are based market survey and data analysis from the public.
    Consumer: Oh! But, I am not in the statistic.
    UT: How old are you?
    Consumer: 35
    UT: You are not OLD enough.

• SAGA FL on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:05 am

I live in labuan, every see Toyota, Honda only….”boring..” When will Naza bring their kia to labuan ????

• Justsomedude on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:10 am

anyone noticed that the front bumper spoiler colour tone is noticeably off compared to the bumper? Its one thing to fail the design…they also failed the process control….nice…

• ichiban on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:31 am

You know how Hyundai has their “Hello Impossible” tagline for the Elantra… Toyota, how about “Hello Uncle” for this one eh?

• funniman on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:52 am

No need to say so much. Just listen to the exhaust sound….Beeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaa……..
    The you listen to others…Accord or even Preve…Judge it your self…

• pauline on Jun 01, 2012 at 9:17 am

hey this actually looks like previous gen sonata !!! :D

now toyota needs to copy too

• I think Toyota has just killed their own market in the Camry segment and give Honda and Hyundai more chance in expanding their sales.

Really ugly! If only they can just bring in the USA version of camry, it would be another big success!

• Honestly the first time I ever say the XV50 in pictures I was completely turned off by the design.. But once I went and saw it in front of me, the more I looked at the car, the more luxurious and expensive the car looked! I swear that I was very happy with the design when I saw it up close.. The car is not photogenic at all I can assure you. The pictures this guy took does not do the car any justice. I had the chance to start the car yesterday and with all the lights and buttons on, the car is stunning inside and out! Please give the car a chance and go to the showroom to have a look! The fittings are tight and firm and the layouts are simple and clean but still very luxurious looking once you sit in the cabin. Again, I can’t emphasize more when I say, this car through pictures does not do the car any justice.. Upclose it should be stunning. The interior colour combination is very well done! (but not from this horrible pictures above)

• PetrolLeg on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:46 am

as what Mr. Toyoda says in his youtube video, this will be the best Camry ever. I wonder if he had woken up at the wrong side of the bed before he made that video. Just look at other car makers, or is it just only in Malaysia that we are taken rides time and time again.

• brazbuz on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:58 am

http://cdn.assets.toyota.com.my/assets/pdf/camry/1.%20Pen.%20Msia%20(Ind.%20Pte).pdf

• Anand on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:04 am

Whatever u guys complain bout this junk…still our ah bengs will buy this camry cause of TOYOTA…hehehe..
    For me even current accord looks 100 times better than this junk..just imagine how this camry looks without the bodykits..imagine when this camry parked in between optima and sonata…then u can see the REAL CONTRAST!!

• Mayor81 on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:09 am

You guys know right that toyotas assembled in Thailand is subjected to a very low tax already?! So why the price and spec like this, can sell at that price? Consumer la… That is us. Exercise our consumer rights la… They sell high, we don’t buy la… If no one buys from them in a year, end of the year for surely they will reduce the price. Look at KIA or other makes la. A car is car, if you want security buy a house.

• Anand on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:13 am

Im sorry but im sure even the ‘Target Audience’ will find this absolutely unacceptable. Shame on you Toyota.

• This car is better without the aerokit, front bumper just doent blend with the car plus the rims size are too small, should be at least 18′. To those who are ‘planning’ to buy this, just change the rim

• Derrick C on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:41 am

Ehmmm… can anyone help me to cancel my “Toyota Fans Club” membership?

• Just thought to say it ugly but too many comments already said that.. poor camry.. hahahaha..

but still dun worry umw.. u still have many T admirer out there no matter how shit is the look..

• v-power on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:45 pm

On any model line-up, the 2.5 spec will always be the looker than its poor 2.0 cousin…but can’t see it here…same chrome trimmings, same grill, etc (maybe the rims are a tad bigger on the 2.5)…Curiously, the fully kitted 2.0 looks like the more premium option…not that I’m going to drop a deposit on either one…

To be fair though, loyal Camry customers probably won’t care too much how it looks…or what people would think. Toyota know they have cornered the ‘uncle market’, and sales of the new Camry is set to rise, and Toyota salesmen will again be laughing all the way to the bank. So all the brickbats will be swiftly forgotten…and everything will be rosy once again. It’s the cycle of life, you can’t fight it, hehe…

• seriousdude on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:36 pm

they try to please the uncles and boyracer ^^

• chili on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:56 pm

So ugly car!!

• T & H on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Forget it T, might as well get a passat instead ….CBU 180k or cheaper CKD at 170K

• porkie on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:58 pm

This car reminds me of my wife…

• I have one of it, Grand 3.5 model, it is so nice, every thing well. Much better than Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, Mazda and so on.