Bentley Continental GT V8 and GTC arrives in Malaysia

Bentley Kuala Lumpur saw the addition of two models into its current lineup with the introduction of the Continental GT V8 coupe and GTC W12 convertible. Both models, which made their debut last night at the marque’s showroom at the Pavilion, go for RM1,350,000 and RM1,988,000 respectively. These are base car prices, inclusive of import duty and sales tax.

The GT V8 joins the W12-cylinder variant that made its local debut last year in June, and the 4.0 litre twin-turbo lump – which produces 500 hp at 6,000 rpm and 660 Nm from 1,700 to 5,000 rpm – is mated to a close-ratio eight-speed automatic transmission. Performance numbers include a 4.8 seconds 0-100 km/h sprint time and a top speed of 303 km/h.

Features include cylinder deactivation technology that ensures a seamless and imperceptible transition from V8 to V4 mode under light throttle load, offering an improvement in fuel economy by 8%.

The V8 model is identified by a black gloss matrix grille with chrome frame and centre bar, a red enamel Bentley ‘B’ badge, and a black matrix three-segment lower front bumper divided by distinctive body-coloured strakes, while at the rear, unique chromed ‘figure eight’ exhaust tailpipes, a dark lower valance and red enamel ‘B’ bootlid badge help distinguish the variant.

Inside the cabin, there’s a new Dark Fiddleback Eucalyptus veneer that’s unique to the V8, Eliade cloth headlining and pillar trim, an optional two-tone leather colour split and a choice of four hide colours to pick from. A short centre console in place of the W12’s through-console further identifies the V8.

Meanwhile, the second-generation form of the GTC, which debuted in Frankfurt last year, arrives in 6.0 litre, twin-turbocharged W12 form, offering 567 hp (up from 552 hp in the previous incarnation) and 700 Nm, and the mill is partnered with a ZF 6HP28 transmission. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.8 seconds and a 314 km/h top speed.

There’s the promise of a more dynamic driving experience, with a wider track front and rear, sharper steering and retuned suspension offering improved handling performance.

The new GTC’s cabin features additional rear legroom, new storage solutions and must-have items such as touch-screen infotainment, automatic seat-belt presenters, Naim for Bentley premium audio and a Bentley-designed Neck Warmer for comfortable roof-down motoring.

The four-seater features a new, even more spacious and sumptuous hand-crafted cabin, and owners can dress up the GTC’s interior from a choice of 17 hide colours, six colour split combinations and seven veneers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bentley on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:00 am

Superb, power with luxury package, wut to do only afford lousy preve..

• persona on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:37 am

bentley how you know preve is lousy la? hahahaha. but if you bought then have to live with it lor.

• ong chin aun on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:39 am

Great car, 6 liter. so, how much exactly is the roadtax per year? And also, 300km/h. top speed. Malaysian high suitable?

• Black Dog on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:26 pm

For royalty, esp. the sultan down south

• Million ringgit car, but please hire better models

• I like KFC on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Agree, for such n expensive car, they should be able to afford a much nicer model.

• proton fan on Jun 02, 2012 at 3:12 pm

hell yeah! i thought what MIC car is this!? but i think it’s more the entire outfit (check out the socks man) than the model to blame :p

• Madame ahso chow kit road on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Ahso also nice model

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 01, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Grotesque cars for the corrupt to display their crass tastes.

• let me save my money for the 4 wheels first

• What are the reasons most high-end cars like Bentley and Lambo do not tend to release the prices of their cars on launch day?

• I realized most paultan readers are biased.. Camry may be ugly to many of the readers here that’s why all of them condemn the design.. This Bently exterior design looks much worst compared to the Camry but I don’t see anyone condemning it.. Simply because of its Logo…and I know many of the readers here don’t like the Toyota logo, hence the attacking of whatever you can think of.. Lol..

• DontBlameProton on Jun 02, 2012 at 7:49 pm

ayooo are you blind or something? THis is the subtle loook that’s missing in Camry which Toyota intends to sell at uncle auntie. the design is horribly ugly with awkward angular desing. bdw if you want to kiss ass toyota here is not the suitable place. go to XV50 and praise the car till the nuts and bolts.. and also wait for angry reply hewhew

• Harry on Jun 10, 2012 at 1:05 am

nothing much I can say, As much I love the car,but I cant just afford.

• Jlaimei Calasou on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Wonder how is the FC of this car. How big is the fuel tank and how far it can go per tank?