Toyota Camry XV50 launched – RM150k to RM181k

We’re here in Sepang, where UMW Toyota earlier launched two Toyota models at a go – the much-anticipated 86 and the seventh-generation XV50 Camry. You’ve read Danny’s piece on the 86, so here’s the one on the Camry.

The sedan makes its debut in three variant grades, these being the top-of-the-range 2.5V, followed by the 2.0G and the 2.0E. The 2.5V, as its moniker suggests, wears a 2AR-FE 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i mill, with 181 PS at 6,000 rpm and 231 Nm at 4,100 for output numbers, paired to a six-speed Super ECT automatic transmission with sequential shifter.

As for the 2.0E and 2.0G, they share the same engine, which is the 1AZ-FE 2.0 litre VVT-i offering 148 PS at 6,000 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,000 rpm, and the partnering gearbox for both variants is the tried and trusted four-speed Super ECT automatic transmission with sequential shifter.

The 2.5 litre unit is supposedly a bit more frugal than the outgoing 2.4 mill – unofficial fuel consumption figures are 7.85 km per litre (7.69 km per litre for the 2.4) in city mode, while highway driving returns 9.27 km per litre compared to the 2.4’s 8.22 km per litre, according to the Camry’s chief engineer. No figures were available for the 2.0 litre unit.

The car measures in at 4,825 mm long, 1,825 mm wide and 1,470 mm tall, with a 2,775 mm-long wheelbase. As for weight, the 2.5V tips the scales at 1,480 kg, while both 2.0 litre variants weigh in identically, at 1,445 kg.

Plenty of chrome to be found on the outside, with the radiator grille, hood moulding, fog lamp cover, door belt, rocker panel moulding, rear garnish and exhaust muffler tip featuring the shiny stuff.

All three models feature wood-grain trim, with the 2.5 V and the 2.0 G adding chrome finishing for the air-conditioning knob, inside door levers and door scuff plate. The 2.5V features a beige leather interior, while the 2.0G gets a black leather one, and the 2.0E’s cabin is also in beige, though the outfit is in fabric.

Common kit found on the trio include HID headlamps, Optitron meters, electric power steering, dual-zone automatic climate control, ABS with EBD and brake assist, as well as a four-spoke, tilt and telescopic adjustment leather-wrapped steering (the 2.5V’s has additional wood grain trim). Both the 2.5V and 2.0G get cruise control and eight-way power adjustable front seats.

Unique to the 2.5V is a 6.1-inch touchscreen display with DVD player and reverse camera, sun shades for the rear and side windows as well as a push-start feature; the 2.0 litre variants continue on with a keyed ignition. Speaking of the interior, the company says that compared to its predecessor, the XV50 features significantly improved noise insulation, thus resulting in a quieter cabin.

As for remaining kit, the 2.5V also gets four airbags (front and front side), while the 2.0 litre models have two. It also features 17-inch alloys and 215/55 series tyres, while both the 2.0 litre variants wear 16-inch ones, wrapped with 215/60 rubbers. Interestingly, there’s no VSC on call across the entire model range – it would have been expected that the 2.5V would have had it.

Four colours are available for the locally-assembled car, and these are Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic, White Pearl CS and a new shade called Attitude Black. Going for the White Pearl CS means forking out an additional premium of RM800, and the shade is not available for the 2.0E.

Pricing for the XV50 Camry is RM180,900 for the 2.5V, RM157,900 for the 2.0G and RM149,900 for the 2.0E, all on-the-road-with insurance. Chris Ng is having a go with the Camry as we write, so we’ll have the first drive impressions on the XV50 soon.

Looking for the XV40 Camry instead? Look for good condition used Toyota Camry on oto.my!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mikey on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Why the center console head unit and air cond controller looks cheap?

• ss427 on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Because it IS! Just feel the plastic quality and you’d be disgusted how much Toyota has cheapened the XV50 and compared to the XV40.
      Try to go to a showroom with both the current Camry and the new Camry on display… then you can see exactly how times has changed for Toyota… :(

This is a real POS..

• Boring!

• Hangjob on Jun 02, 2012 at 11:09 pm

I was wondering if its possible to make Camry even more boring. Looks like they succeeded…

• Lim Kopi on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:51 pm

THESE DAYS I WONDER WHO IN THEIR RIGHT FRAME OF MIND WILL BUY A CAR WITH AN OLD 2.0 ENGINE WITH 4 SPEED GEARBOX THAT COST RM150K ??

And then, put that next to the VW Passat or Ford Mondeo ….

• Steve on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:52 pm

No VSC at this day and age? No matter what, safety is always a must! Talk about cost saving Toyota!! Shame on you.

• ss427 on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Well Toyota believes Malaysian buyers won’t turn corners so quickly that the new camry flips over lor.. Uncle can’t handle fast corners ley… LOL :D

SG market Camry 2.5 has it though, but over here we still can’t get window curtain airbags.. :( only 4 airbags like yours :(

Elantra, Sonata, Tuscon, Forte SX 2L, Optima, Sportage, Sorento all comes with 6 airbags as standard… :D :D

Oh yes, Korean cars will forever be junk no matter what happens.. Thanks for the reminder Maserati bro haha :D

• BeemerFreak on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Err ammendment on the statement, sg’s camry has the vsc, but only in the 2.5L Hybrid model not on the 2.5L model. Try checking out Borneo Motors Singapore website to confirm…. Eitherway this Camry still suck, big time.

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:36 pm

And the standard answer from used car salesman should you trade in your Korean Car is “kar cheen hailat lor”

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 4:03 am

US baseline Camry has VSC and 10 airbags.

• if i’m looking for this class of car, will get the passat instead….ckd at 170k wt all the safety equipment..esp/6 arbgs..etc..5 stars EuroNcap….

• John Sham on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:10 pm

My 90 years old grandpa just booked this Camry 2.0 as his coffin.

• leech on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:52 pm

it looks damn fugly

• In terms of design and ONLY design, I think the Kia Optima K5 looks wayyy better than this.

• Gosh, Paultan site really infested with all the Korean car supporters these days. Inferior complex of driving a Korean car really getting into them now.

• Yeah agreed. All Japanese car stories will have these people mention about K5, Sonata better and they will thumb you down including this comment as usual…

• Hangjob on Jun 02, 2012 at 11:12 pm

I drive a Jap D-segment car (albeit a 2009 model). Isn’t it a bit obvious that Jap cars don’t look as good as Korean cars. That’s what Mr X said (design & design only). I’m seriously considering buying a Korean car for the better looks (but I doubt I will, VW looks more appealing).

• donnatello on Jun 04, 2012 at 10:32 pm

no lah.. Preve better..

• Hyundai De la Junk on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Absolute Macho Car ! Beat those hairsylist Sissy Sonata & K5 anythime.

• I like KFC on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:45 pm

hmm, this is an example of a blind Jap supporter….in term of looks and style, the K5 and Sonata beat the hell of this junk. Well, anyway, again a one man’s poison is another man’s meat…but still hard to think that your so called meat is a JUNK

• Vader on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:53 pm

u all misunderstand this reader..
      all the automobile news surely he will link to Korean cars, so, it prove that he really a super fans for Korean cars..
      he try to be the bad guy to blindly bash on Korean car, and his actual purpose is to attract more ppl to
      good things on these Korean car..
      pity guy…

• I think he was being sarcastic laaa.

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:01 am

But he is always like that. In every single post.

• David D on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Nope. This guy is just a pathetic attention-seeker, judging by the way he suddenly came up and started bashing Korean cars without talking sense. Arrogant and snobbish.

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:42 am

But seriously, any used car dealer will tell you that Korean Cars have poor resale value

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:06 pm

but when you are dead due to this junk’s lack of safety features ( VSC ,airbags), can you bring this scrap (resale value) with you to the grave?

• Friend, you are insulting your own judgement. Not only in Malaysia, this Camry’s design received very bad feedback all over the world. Further more, it still use 4 speed transmission, my god…

• auto-lover on Jun 02, 2012 at 6:00 pm

In a statement – I think some other Japanese Auto Manufacturer has paid this new Camry’s chief designer zillions of dollars to design this piece of shit.

• Disappointed on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I hope you give these cars a fair review, if the ride is no different from the previous gen and the spec is the same then please tell it as it is and not give some candy coated review. I believe some tweaking by Toyota will improve the ride and drive qualities somewhat but those improvements can’t be that significant given the fact that the engine and tranny are both the same as the Camry model of 2002 /2004

• sudonano on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Are there rear LED lights just like the previous gen? I think the previous gen seems better than this, personal choice i guess…

• Sigh & very disappointed indeed! Boring and yawning again! Cina Apek looking design and 2.0 still using 4-speed auto gear box and same engine (horsepower almost the same). No VSC even for 2.5??? Not looking forward to it :(

• tokmoh on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Brace yourselves, here comes “Optima K5/Mondeo/Passat better”

*grab popcorn*

• pumpkin on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:18 pm

OMG… -_-“

• ah meng on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:19 pm

looks boring and aged design, even with the skirting.
    engine and transmission also boring.
    the facelifted outgoing model looks much more better.
    something is wrong with the toyota designers.

• no VSC? what a joke!

• Love this camry….but not with aerokit…..still remain classy looking car….. might bought for dad….

• RON97 on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:24 pm

seriously, the girls are better than those at ’86 gt and Bentley launching..
    the cars are all dull

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:03 pm

The girls are there to convince uncles to buy the car, since the cars hove nothing going for them.

• NONICKNAME on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:37 pm

2.0 version still on 4 speed auto GB, korean already go for 6 speed auto GB.

• man toyota going backward in term of design

• tiger760li on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:43 pm

stop buy T&H and now is the time to go for other continental brands where by they offer TURBO CHARGE ENGINES and highly advance GEAR BOXES and prices are same.
    Resale value shows customer trends means if customers trend to buy continental cars so ultimately demand high and resale value would be same as jap products.
    buy this camry got no value and it looks same like 90 years old women MAKE up so much to show that she become 35.

• Not that I support H&T in which I never like a Toyota but you have to look further than just saying buy conti because they have Turbo engine and advance gearbox. BMW doesn’t have turbo in all their engine and so as Merc. So in this case you must be referring to VW. Now the reality, VW turbo and DSG trans are in the workshop most of the time now. Many are facing problem with these issues on their VW. We need a car to go to work, bring family around etc…so which is better now? You decide.

• Simon on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Pls check new BMW….got turbo engine…is a trend..

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:21 am

The F30 (latest 3 series) only offers turbocharged engines. For the F10 (latest 5 series) 2 out of 17 engines are non-turbos, the rest is. I think it is safe to say that BMW has switched to turbos. For Mercedes the 4 cylinder engines are turbocharged in the C class, while the 6 and 8 cylinder ones aren’t.

Ford also turbocharges their engines nowadays. Most continental manufacturers do.

• allo bro!!, nowadays merc & bmw are all Turbocharged…merc C & E class is actually using a mere 1.8 turbocharged engined….while the Beemer IS using the 2.0 Turbocharged engine..all with different state of tune…..Volvo/Ford/Audis….etc..etc…european are all into downsized/efficient engine

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Contis and very low R V

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:13 pm

but contis have much much better safety. is your life worth more or is so called resale value worth more?

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:34 am

And which car did Princess Diana and Dodi Fayed died in?

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:35 am

And the recent traffic accident in Singapore involving a Ferrari and Hyundai ……..

• Chris on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:44 pm

what’s with Camry’s bodykit?

these Kits pops up like a desperado last minute push for outgoing/boring model such as so called “TRD” Special Edition “Racing” Vios Edition.

Can’t Camry just design for Uncle with some character? they don’t have to look far, just look at Lexus, Uncle-ish but with character.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Uncle with character? Is there actually such a thing?

• anonymous on Jun 01, 2012 at 9:31 pm

LEXUS IS UNDER TOYOTA, why would they design similar cars, it would just lose the whole point of brand differentiation and perception

• RadzLee on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:47 pm

thats UMW point, want character? go for lexus. if not bear with the car until your eyes bleed

• Still the damn four-speed gearbox for 2.0 model. Sighs…..

• stcharts on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:50 pm

This is one boring, boring car.. Only for apek, uncles, retirees… Toyota need to send their designer to Hyundai/Kia and learn how to make a 21st century car.. shame on you, Toyota…

• It is sad to see that our Malaysian market is getting the lowest specs of Camry. In the Australian market, even the most basic version of Toyota Camry Altise is set to have a standard 2.5 litres engine with 6-speed automatic gearbox sold for $34K driveaway. Equivalent to RM108,800 (With AUD $1 = RM 3.2)
    With these as standard:
    Anti-Skid Brakes (ABS) – All wheels Standard
    Electronic Brake Distribution (EBD) Standard
    Brake Assist (BA) Standard
    Traction Control (TRC) Standard
    Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) Standard
    Front airbag – driver Standard
    Front airbag – passenger Standard
    Side airbag – front seats Standard
    Side curtain airbag – front and rear Standard
    Knee airbag – driver’s side Standard

Taking into account of taxless Langkawi’s price of RM119090 the highest specs with 4 air-bags and 6 speed auto, 2.5 litres.

(RM119090-RM108800 = RM10290) RM10290 = Cost of implementing safety pack of VSC, TRC, and all the side air-bags?

Sigh…Malaysian are still getting lower specs Camry, yet people still want to buy it.

Here is the link

http://www.toyota.com.au/camry/specifications/altise-auto

My 2 cents worth of opinion. Cheers.

• myr532 on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:28 pm

UMW should have considered their customers’ safety at least. even if they wanted to skimp on so many ‘tech’ features, VSC , BA (both of which are electronic features and I imagine it wouldn’t cost that much to implement), and 4 airbags should have been standard on all trim levels.
      UMW’s done a good job tricking many Malaysians who are willing to give a hoot on resale value instead of their own family’s lives. And a good job at that. Poor Malaysians, lied upon out of their own ignorance.
      This is being cheap and skimpy on peoples’ lives.

• Dear klk kudos for the detailed article you’ve written but honestly think that it is unfair to be compare pricing with Australia. In no way am I supporting how UMW and Toyota can justify charging such a premium for supplying an essentially reworked body and the same century old internal bits as the previous generation(SSS) but bear in mind when you pay 34K Australian dollars for a car which is produced and built in Altona, Victoria, Australia and not just locally assembled like in Malaysia, there is definitely a significant saving in terms of transportation cost.

2nd, the Malaysian Camry’s body is the Australian Aurion,not the camry, which has a driveaway price of AUS$45,248 for the cheapest model (Prodigy) but granted it has a 3.5L engine compared to UMW’s 2/2.5L engines.

Furthermore, the Msian government tax for the 2.5L is 181K (Peninsular) – 120K (Langkawi) = 61k TAX? Compared to Australia AUS$1.09K motor vehicle Duty.

But the Aus government claws its money back in other ways with the annual Road tax in Australia being AUS$680, petrol RON91 is AUS 1.38/litre,on street parking in Melbourne CBD is AUS$4 per hour so making a direct comparison of list price is really inaccurate when you compare the real/everyday cost of the car.

Besides, think we all have to spare a thought for our city-state neighbours who pay almost 400K for a 2L camry. The piece of registration paper aka COE already cost more than a 2.5L Camry from UMW

Hope we all vote with our feet and go to other marques to make T & H wake the blinkers up.

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:25 am

The difference is that Singapore has no space at all. The COE is also there to limit the number of cars (hence the bidding process… never let there be more than a certain amount of cars, and as money focus as Singaporeans are they instead of giving a lucky draw installed a bidding process).

I mean imagine everyone in Singapore driving a car. The country would be one big traffic jam, and people would die in their cars because they’d starve to death.

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Well, cars cannot be sold unless the price is approved by the ministry of trade. So much for free market.

• My grandad rushed out to place booking dy!

• hway de Cruz on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:53 pm

oh,my… time travel by toyota… back to the 80’s where 4 speed auto is the in thing. that was last century. in this century, car makers go for 6 speed to 8 speed. i certainly wun go back to the 80’s, thank u

• Sam Loo on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:12 am

In the 80’s, it was 5 Speed Manual or 3 speed auto with overdrive :)

• nurmisnan on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Not bad 4 me..

• jennifer liow on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Look at the rear design, and side and front. tis is one most non-exciting car ever to be release tis year. whoever buying it will have to keep reminding themselves its good resale value or maybe branding. but whenever a K5, Passat pass thru them, it gonna be really hurtful coz tis new camry is a piece of junk.

• Sam Loo on Jun 06, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Whenever I see a K5 or Sonata driving past me, I really wish them good luck, as these cars will kwai tai/sui kwan. If owner wants to sell, the price will be hailat

• Old KIA true. But ever since Forte came into the picture, resale value for KIA has gone up. I have a few friends selling used cars and they all say that the difference of resale value between KIA (KIA models since Forte) and Toyota/ Honda is only 5 to 8%. Demand is pouring for KIA cars especially Forte. K5 looks to be the same. When demand is high, resale value goes up.

Just don’t understand how people can rate a car as good or bad based on resale value. Volvo’s resale value is not that good, but does that mean Volvos are not good cars?

Resale value is based on demand, and with the momentum that KIA and Hyundai are showing right now, you can be sure that their resale value will improve.

Don’t try to ease your pain seeing K5s and Sonatas by saying they don’t have good resale values. Toyotas are not producing great cars anymore, KIA and Hyundai are really going up with great cars. So, just swallow the fact.

• azhar on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:02 pm

CKD at shah alam..but still the same price as a CBU siam…UMW sure knows how to make profit!

• ben yap on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:03 pm

2.0: 4 speeder and 2 airbags and no VSC (at least 6 speed, 4 airbags and VSC)
    2.5: 4 airbags, No VSC (at least 6 airbags and VSC)

We don’t expect dual clutch, turbo/supercharge or panaromic roof. at least toyota can provide some decent specs with the price increase. Don’t give us a rubbish spec just because it is a “toyota”. at RM150K, i would rather go for a Jetta or even a Pug 408.

• Lagi Power Lagi Best on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:08 pm

4 airbags man!!! So high spec-ed!!! Wait, did I mentioned that my great grandfather’s VW Passat has 6 airbags and it is RM10k cheaper???

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:30 am

Did I mention that my 2002 Citroen Xsara 1.4 (75 hp…) has 6 airbags? The 1.6 had ESP/VSC on top of that, so anything but the very baseline 1.4 had it? That was in 2002, in a cheap C segment car without power windows at the back, without parking sensors…

The Proton Preve CFE has 4 airbags. The Fiesta sedan 7. Even the TOYOTA (!) Prius C has 7 and VSC. It is also a hybrid and costs around 100k. But that was meant for other countries, so of course it is safer.

• and i thought Passat looks boring…

• Chow 1 on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:19 pm

seems TOTALLY no different than the previous version

• VWAudiLover on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Optima k5 and Sonata have better looks, better specs and better price!!

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Kimchi’s looks only last for 2 weeks and looks like a deformed child thereafter

• Ryan.C on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Fuyoh… the price… the car…..
    Toyota moving forward??
    backward, i guess…

• tiger760li on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:29 pm

malaysians dnt buy this crab,raping money to buy this
    highest price=lowest specs
    so why we should buy
    UMW justify???

• tok-kok on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Preve better!! got Turbo somemore!! Muahaha

• ss427 on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Anthony, I FULLY DISAGREE when you said in your report that the new Camry is quieter than the current XV40 Camry.

In SG, I’ve test driven the new Camry 2.5 together with one of my friend who owns a current Camry 2.4. When we close the doors of the new Camry, he immediately said that the new model feels and sounds much hollow than his XV40. :(

When I was nav the test car ard the parking lot at the dealership on the way out, the new Camry shuddered with very noticable suspension clank when we drive over several metal railings on the ground. :( When we roll over the same railings in his XV40 on the way into the showroom, there’s NO SUCH suspension clank at all!

On the road, ambient traffic noise is quite noticable really. There’s loud road noise even at ard 70+km/h… and the new Camry doesn’t feel as tight as the XV40. Bodyshell felt flimsy which discourage you from doing fast corners..

The steering is super light and lifeless.. A big contrast to my FD1… steering ratio seems slower than FD too.

Engine noise is surprising loud at anything over 3000rpm. In fact its is as loud as my FD at 4000+rpm. FD makes a sporty engine note, the new Camry engine noise sounds boomy and gruff, very much like the old G9 big eyed Hipporolla that I once owned back in the 2000.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:13 pm

ss247,

I did not say that, Toyota did.

“Speaking of the interior, the company says that compared to its predecessor, the XV50 features significantly improved noise insulation, thus resulting in a quieter cabin.”

• Jujubes on Jun 02, 2012 at 7:07 am

Then Anthony you should put that disclaimer in. We are reading your article for your thoughts not Toyota’s…we get that from a brochure.

Its your review not Toyota’s.

• disappointed on Jun 02, 2012 at 8:27 am

I strongly suggest you down an app called SPL if you have an Iphone. The app converts your phone into a sound meter and you can actually get actual decibel A weighted readings while driving.

Whatever readings you get, you will need to deduct 6 points off of it and it’ll be an accurate reading like an actual sound meter.

Problem solved and you can verify those claims. The numbers speak for themselves, the lower the dBA readings, the quieter it is.

• Anand on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:40 pm

preve got 4 airbags..shame on u camry 2.0…

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Yeah, Preve has 4 airbags. Chances are, they will not work in an accident

• rajas on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:56 pm

toyota cars have more chances won’t work, just look at massive recalls all over the world due to defect parts

• armandd on Jun 02, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Yeah, better than Toyota malfunctioning accelerator pedal…

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:48 am

Well, if you had noticed recalls, Toyota and Honda did the right thing recalling cars.

Proton? So many people had died for nothing due to defective parts and poor workmanship.

As for the kimchis, my former Kia was breaking apart at 4 years olf. Dash cracked, ABS lights on all the time, airbag lights behave like disco lights, brake craaak craaak sound. So much for kimchi quality. Just go ahead and find out the hard way

• Anthony, you’ve drawn the short straw over the 86 huh.. I feel u mang.. i feel u…

• Peter on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:10 pm

the design n the tech.. is so outdated la toyota!

• ah meng on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:10 pm

pathetic and ugly. no reason to buy one.
    i looked down on korean cars before. now, i think twice.
    K5 is 10 times better looking than this car.
    i think toyota just confirmed that camry is for uncle.

• armandd on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:11 pm

The 4-speed autobox is a joke…

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Can I get one without those ugly skirtings? It looks bloody hideous

• Kia and German on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:29 pm

K5 is the best!
    It has LED running lights,HID lights with bending function,escort lights,rear view camera,6 speed auto,18 inch alloy wheels,panoramic sunroof…and its only RM 143k!!
    Does Camry 2.0E and G hv all this advance features?

• Camry targeted at the uncle & aunty category ma..

Panoramic sunroof- uncle and aunty will say eh our sun so hot, temperature so high why need sunroof, faster close, eee, that lorry’s smoke is entering my car, faster close!

LED light and HID with cornering function- Ai ya for sure breakdown and must replace, sure very expensive

And the most hilarious will surely be the one adapted from the Mazda CX-5 forum… wah 18 inch tyres.. Changing tyres for sure very expensive

Feel your plight, K5 is definitely more value than this series of Camry but well it is going to be the top seller in the D segment thanks to all the conservative middle aged-elderly generation who value reliability and dont dare to venture out of the safety of T&H that they are so accustomed to.

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Watch out for resale value and spare parts prices

I swear never to own a Korean Car again

• ah seng on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:40 pm

fugly skirtings. fugly car. looks like it is suppose to have twin exhaust, but the exhaust tip for the left side of the rear bumper is missing

• Megane on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Para2 Uncle semua bila bangun pagi siram pokok bunga jangan lupa siram air bateri sekali masuk itu Camry baru …seriously what a piece of automative junk !!

• Hyundai De la Junk on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:25 pm

Nice ! Love it ! Grand looks ! unlike cheap korean junk Sonata & K5.

• klguy on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:42 pm

hmm, looks more like XV30 facelift.

• Hmmm…no VSC, 4 airbag for 2.5 and only 2 for 2.0… 4 speed auto? OMG.
    I know it’s different category altogether, but my Ford Fiesta has ABS, EBD, ESP, TSC, 7 airbags,6 speed dual clutch tranny… which make it a much better car than this Camry.

• yeah and the cabin is so cramped

• Dude…i alrdy mentioned different category? Cramped? Not for me…usually i drive with only 3 person in the car and it fits nicely. Unless u are big in size….

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:50 am

Same chasis as ACV 40. So, how can it be any more cramped that the previous model?

• Uncle on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Uncle here speaking. My kind of car has arrived. Uncle feel so happy!

I drive with Autie only. So two airbag is enough la. Got power steering somemore. Uncle loves this feature.

Btw, what the heck are VSC, AFS light and DRL? Uncle cannot understand laa..

• driver on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:21 am

Uncle, some of the tech does not need your understanding to function. On top of it, it’s for your safety. No offence, but as people get’s older, the biological limit is bolder. Take reaction time for instance, older people will response longer. Don’t make me start with eye sight, and muscle mass. By the way Uncle. Don’t you want to bring along your grandchildren in the car as well?

Also, the 2.0 model only has 4 speed gear ratio. I believe that will effect the comfort level (vibrations) of your driving. Not to mention the fuel efficiency. I’m sure you don’t want to spend too much money for fuel right?

You know.. if you save the money, then you can also go to many other places.. bole jalan-jalan.. hehe..

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:32 am

Fake uncle, you must be a kimchi or sui kwan euro owner,

These remarks will not help you increase the RV of your car. You will have to pray to God to make that happen

• oko028 on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:13 pm

don’t be fool by UMW…..

• This toyota has been launched in aussie a month ago, i’ve even viewed it myself there as im living in aussie rite now. All i can say is that the car looks even better when u see it on road, im not a toyota fan but its just my opinion, ive even paid a visit at the showroom and to my surprise, the interior is splendid. Everything looks solid, i hope it will be same for malaysians specs

• Hai, at the end of the day, we all cry and squeal about toyota but when was it ever a brand for enthusiasts like us? It is for all those middle age uncle and aunties or for you if you want to impress onto others how stable (and boring) you are.

Imagine uncles and aunties looking at a Hyundai Veloster..ee-yeer why got only 3 door wan…so funny..better not buy no resale value..or kia K5 yucks korean, sure break down and no resale value, or a coupe, why only 2 doors but so much more expensive than 4 doors? Then show them the “All-NEW 2012 Camry” With 4 DOORS, alot of shiny chrome, a 2L engine, proven, trusty and reliable transmission, big boot and cheap servicing, and SEES THEIR EYES POP OUT AND THEIR MOUTH WATER…

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Why the meter clusters are so small? Are the expecting uncles to squint while driving or what?
    http://paultan.org/2012/06/01/toyota-camry-xv50-launched-rm150k-to-rm181k/img_9028/

• Jaybond on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Live won’t be easy for Toyota this time, most customers are no longer content with the so-so look despite the reliability. Koreans are already catching up on the engine performance and reliability, and their designs are ages ahead.VW has the cutting edge tech and looks, Peugeot as well.

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:46 am

Why is everyone focused on the looks? Is it pretty? No. Is it ugly? No. Take a look at the Fiat Multipla to see the definition of ugly. The Camry was designed to be inoffensive and to look serious and business-like. Could you imagine a bank employee picking up a high level customer in a pimped fashion item for youngsters? If you look at it, all cars in this segment are rather dull.

Peugeot is spicing things up a bit, but they have to since apart from that and price people wouldn’t buy one. Hell, even with an exciting design they don’t (talking about overseas). Peugeot just doesn’t have a good reputation in terms of reliability. The Koreans have to attract younger customers, because the unkles will obviously go for Toyota. Younger ones are more flexible and more interested in getting good value for money. The Ford Mondeo, while absolutely stunning, is still a rather serious car, the design language is IMHO toned down a bit.

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Peugeot is know for sui kwan/kwai tai and most of all, ultra poor RV

• OMG…my dealer’s said my camel will be ready next week minus the WWW’s.
    I still take it…gosh…sudah pak…cik.

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:39 am

Why do you buy without knowing what you’ll get? 150k at minimum isn’t a small investment.

• sudonano on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:56 pm

This is all a plan fot UMW to protect the XV40 owners. Now, people will WANT to buy a used XV40 cause got more value for its asking aprice (approx 100k or so for a 08 model) BAGUS! Malaysia Boleh. Time to wait for the XV60 or get the Pug 508/Ford Mondeo.

• No matter what the fugly design the jap fan will still support this junk!
    To people who r realise that this car is a waste of money lets go for K5! SONATA! PASSAT! 508! muahaha.. just leaves this car to the old man..

• Aaron on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Sometimes I do wonder if people who bash the Japanese cars really do buy the other car brands. I wouldn’t be surprised if they are also driving Japanese cars because they want to switch cars every few years and the only way to do it is to own a Toyota or a Honda.

Best u do look in the mirror first before u start to criticise others

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:38 am

I’m driving a Citroen and a Renault. Sometimes VW and Ford (not mine though).

Wouldn’t want to drive a Malaysian spec Japanese car. Prius C and Prius ok (though not really exciting), 86 would be nice, Infinitis and perhaps Lexus too, of course the GT-R, and overseas spec Toyotas etc. are fine too. Just not the life threatening rubbish they make for our markets.

• says says on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:09 pm

sh%t..dashboard inspired by PREVE!

• sudonano on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Compared to the XV40, which had many positive comments, this is so disappointing! http://paultan.org/2006/10/06/2007-toyota-camry-cbu-launched-in-malaysia/ for reference

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:34 am

Back then there was little competition. Now Toyota is selling the same car with some makeup, where there are so many competitors. Passat? Mondeo? K5? All better cars. And if you want to move upmarket into the executive saloon category you can get the Skoda Superb for 200k, which is on the same level as Audi A6, BMW 5 series and Mercedes E class. Also essentially a German car. So why exactly go for the Camry?

• Sam Loo on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:15 am

I agree, ACV40 is probably the best Camry to date

• shawal on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:54 pm

150k ,what exactly are we getting…?
    Kia optima K5 143,888

• Sam Loo on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:30 pm

1 year later, the RV for Optima will be RM90k (if lucky).

For the Camry, lose 10% max

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 4:57 am

1 year later you will still be happy with the Optima. The Camry will feel like the old outdated car that it is and you’ll want to sell it. ;)

• shawal on Jun 02, 2012 at 7:05 am

nobody buys a car and sells it off after 1 year.
        All cars RV drops exponentially regardless.
        Optima has its looks, 6 airbags, panoramicsunroof, all black sporty interior, seems it’ll make more sense than an uncle looking car with lack of kit, and dirty stained beige interior.
        C’mon la, Korean cars are well worth consideration already, I have a feeling the big 3 can no longer rip Malaysian off nemore

• Sam Loo, it’s people like you that cause the rest of us car loving people to suffer for lack of choices.

• why do u want to sell your car after only a year…ooooo, for those camry buyer ler, after a year…realised they made a mistake and would like to trade in..

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:52 am

For kimchi buyers, there is no way to sell the car off after one year without losing an arm an possibily 2 legs.

Just try it. The used car fella will say, lei hailat lor

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:32 pm

with such poor handling and poor/near zero safety features on this junk called camry, you’ll be lucky to survive even 1 year.

• Fandango on Jun 01, 2012 at 9:26 pm

I really cant stand the addition of the garish body kits, and the chrome strips here and there…makes the car look cheapish…
    No doubt the Camry is a good car, but why does the 2.0 still have to soldier on with the archaic 4-speed auto? Toyota is really milking the market the max…MMM…the 2.5 is waaayy overpriced…for that kind of price, you can almost touch the F30 320D with some pre-reg discounts thrown in…

Me? I’ll have the Passat anytime…

• procarloVe on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:12 pm

cannt agree more. very true. really a joker car, noting much to cheer wif this new camry.

• Yusof Rahman on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Apek car! Japanese cars are so boring!

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:11 pm

But generally Japs have much better RV compared with kimchis and contis

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:35 pm

and generally much lower spec and safety too! 2 airbags is a joke for a 160k car. time to value you family’s life more than resale value!!

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:08 pm

What’s the point of having 10 airbags when the kimchi’s build quality is so poor that the cabin structure will crumble like Kelisa?

• for grandpa sam reference. u may watch this video. where’s the cabin structure crumble part?

forte’s crash test: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7X0s3dLUN8A

kia optima’s crash test: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmTCxkavzKU

sportage’s crash test: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aAWB-UEdxxQ

maybe the malaysian spec car has less airbags. more importantly there are no such thing as crumble cabin structure as u said.

i’m not kia salesman by the way. just hate those u write without any facts supported sentences

• seancorr on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:53 pm

The exterior is not bad IMHO but Toyota should have offered a sporty interior as another option and not offer just wood grain interior. Its a real shame the Camry does not have VSC which is a very important feature in any car.

The previous Camry trashed all its competitors with the sales numbers so lets wait and see if this new model will continue to dominate the D segment category.

On a side note I can hardly see any Sonata or K5 on the road these days….what happened to them?

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:11 pm

I agree, the so called Camry killers (K5 and Sonata) is hardly visible on the road.

I strongly believe that the majority of Malaysian are not fooled by the Korean gimmicks that sell more accessories that make the car appear more dai mai

• still ‘power of dream’ better than this cock sucker toyota.

• procarloVe on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:08 pm

is this car designed purely for 55 years old & above? OMG…still..OMG…i rather buy a protong instead…this car is just a joke of the year..sad

• is this a facelift? …..cos it looks like the same old car..

• RyanL. on Jun 02, 2012 at 12:17 am

Would rather take the CBU Passat x1000 times than this. So much worth the money we’re paying.

• Sam Loo on Jun 02, 2012 at 9:50 am

Passat may look nice now, price wise about the same.

2 years later when you sell, the Camry lost 20%, the Passat will lose at least 40%.

How do you feel now?

• why u want to sell after 2 years, most conti are kept by the owner longer than tht coz its very satisfying to drive and solid…but the camry, agreed…maybe cannot “tahan” being the laughing stocks, need to let go…furthermore, finally admitted it a mistake & would like something safer for the whole family

• TurboMan!!! on Jun 02, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Then u should buy a 15 year old saga at RM 4k. Then drive for another 5 years, and sell for RM 3k.

Yes, the passat has a higher cost of ownership ( Current price – RV ), but im sure he derives greater pleasure and greater safety for this family while driving a passat as compared to say this Camry without VSC and 6-8 airbags. VSC/ESP/DSC saved my life before and i can tell you, when you start skidding in the wet even at 80kmh, the VSC will make a difference between a slight brush with the divider and a overturned car that has fallen into the ravine.

So let me ask you, how important is driving pleasure to you? Have u driven a car that begs you to take the longer way home and still refused to get out from the car just because its so fun to drive?

From your posts and replies, it seems that you have not. And the only thing u care is resale value. Well, as a fellow PT commentator to another PT commentator, u are losing out in one of the greatest pleasures in this life. Then driving is not a hobby for you and you should seek out other hobbies, like fishing.

• RyanL. on Jun 02, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Let me add in. I wouldn’t mind the depreciation. Every car depreciates, just a matter of time. Atleast i’ll be paying for the quality, engine and also comfort & enjoy it for a few years before selling it rather than being laughed at every traffic light stop & smoked by other rides.

How do you feel, uncle?

• Medic on Jun 04, 2012 at 1:31 pm

The more expensive the car,the higher the depreciation value.Buy car for convenience that comes with safety,driving pleasure.If you’re so worried bout 2nd hand value,just use public transport.

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:39 pm

you want resale value then just buy a kapchai at 4k la. use for 5 yrs can still sell for 2k. but u sacrifice safety for the sake of resale value just like this junk. only difference is now u pay 160k and still get pariah safety.

• teelim on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:24 am

RM150k for a 2.0L car with 4spd auto? Toyota, are you kidding me?

• I currently own a Camry and the specs are already less than what we can find in the same car in Thailand. The design looks awful and the for the price, they are short changing our Malaysian buyers. When will this stop!!!!

• David D on Jun 02, 2012 at 3:09 am

Is Toyota kidding us? I mean, come on, it’s supposed to be an ‘All-New Camry’, but what i see is more of a mild reskin rather than a thorough update.

Exterior-wise, this car has really went backwards. While the outgoing XV40 Camry looks elegant, despite being 6 years old, this new model, sadly, looks like someone just decided to design a car using only a chisel. Really, Toyota? Heck, the Teana has gone from a lumpy, big car to one heck of a understated, elegant design. And don’t get me started on the Koreans, Contis, let alone Mazda and Honda!!

Interior-wise, need i say more? While the previous Camry gave a real soothing feeling, one of being in a luxobarge, this time it’s simply off the mark. Did this dashboard come from a bloody Vios? That’s the question!! Place the Camry next to all the other competitors, and the differences is obvious, Heck, i hate to say this, but the Sonata’s interior is not only simpler to use, it oozes more style and swish, something that used to adorn the XV40.

Worse of all, is the technology and powertrains given to this XV50. I mean, a 4-speeder??? While the others have went down the CVT, 6-speed slushboxes, not to forget twin-clutch wizardry, Toyota has simply shot themselves in the foot when they decided to retain the antiquated engine and gearbox.

No doubt, the 2.5V is the Camry to get, thanks to the new engine, which i must say, is great. Very responsive, and works well with the 6-speeder. But, at 183k, locally assembled, it simply makes no sense at all, considering the fact that for that sort of money, you can get a Teana 2.5, Accord 2.4, Mazda 6 2.5, Sonata 2.4 Premium, as well as the Passat and 508, all for less money, and will be more satisfying down the road.

And, if anyone comes to me and keep ranting the word ‘resale value’, you deserve a huge slap to the face. No car appreciates in value, and, for heaven’s sake, the extra money spent in getting a Jap, is the amount you’ll get back when you sell it off. Sheesh!!

• TurboMan!!! on Jun 03, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Teana offers a creamy smooth V6 engine, Mazda 6 offers great handling and a smooth 4 pot. Honda accord has a wonderful VTEC engine that sings >6000rpm. Sonata offers a futuristic design and decent handling.

I wonder what does a camry offer? I doubt its reliability as nissan 6 potters are practically bullet proof. Resale value? Accord and Teana has good resale value too. Design? No freaking way its gonna look nicer than a Sonata. Basically its offering nothing but it wants 183k of our hard earned money.

• kadajawi on Jun 02, 2012 at 4:09 am

I’m ok with the looks. It’s not exciting, but cars in this class usually aren’t, and that is fine.

But safety? I mean come on Toyota, the Prius C, which apparently is B segment, or at most C segment, has 7 airbags and VSC, for around 100k. But the D segment flagship has 2 or at most 4?

The reason for this is rather simple. The Prius C isn’t meant for the Malaysian market. It is for countries where the lives of people are valuable and need to be protected. Obviously Toyota and UMW thinks Malaysian lives are not important.

• Jujubes on Jun 02, 2012 at 7:01 am

No VSC? Since the design is also going back to the 80’s, they should also make it a 3 speed automatic and safe EVEN more money for themselves.

Also what’s with that fake stitching on the dashboard, in my opinion they should have taken that out as well…more money to be safe. Can someone please tell Toyota that the digital fuel consumption meter should digital….not manual…even BMW gave that up!

A 2.5 liter TOYOTA CAMRY does not mean anything…give me a VW Polo 1.2 TSI for 112K and it will beat the flagship Camry both in terms of NVH and in the handling department. You can take that to the bank!

Guys honestly…this is a sack of SH**! Why am I even wasting my time writing comment. But for you die hard Toyota fans…please do what you must…go buy one and keep guys like me entertained on the road….be the butt of our jokes!

Toyota Moving Backwards!

• shawal on Jun 02, 2012 at 11:15 am

http://www.toyota.com.au/camry/gallery?WT.ac=VH_Camry_TopNav_Gallery#item-images-tab-1-blind_spot_monitor_camry_atara_sl_and_camry_hl

RM 180k and we’re not getting a real full-specced camry, just a cheap knock off, shame on UMW toyota

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 6:01 am

I agree that the local assembled version is too watered down in terms of specs.

However, i think its a blessing in disguise as the quality of local assembly is a big question mark. So, having less to assemble is prolly a good things for a local workforce that that has typically the tidak apa attitude

• al0nG on Jun 02, 2012 at 11:16 am

meant for PKR state government only?? … limo-like, for old men, for politicians, for some semi rich executives who can’t appreciate beauty in automobile design …

looking forward what Honda will offer to replace accord …????
    hope honda don’t give another facelift version lah .. shame on u toyota … koreans can offer totally new, fresh exciting designs … go engage koreans lah in your design dept …

• A clear piece of junk. Toyota has repeatedly screwed Malaysians especially the loyal blind fans by selling junks at a high price. Yet the blind continues to be blind. That’s why our car industry is slow to mature. And because of that, we don’t get good choices here.

Btw, the definition of a junk is a car with substandard features and looks but sold at a premium price. So even a coffin car doesn’t fall into this definition – it may not look good but at least it doesn’t come with premium price.

• Made for ‘uncles & aunties’ who like skirts…. Whahaha

• Omega Red on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:32 pm

First of all, I own a Toyota car also.
    From my observations on toyota cars in the past few years,I think there is something wrong going on with the designing dept of the company. When ppl are waiting for the all-new whatever toyota, what we get is the same design as the previous models with little touch ups. Example Vios, only add some chrome on the grill. Avanza like a dented here and there old avanza. I read the camry 2012 spec, everywhere mentioned “with chrome”. Toyota is utterly disappointing. Its like they have no idea to design cars.
    Look at at least Honda & the Koreans, each models varies a lot from previous models and gives a new look and appeal. Sad to say also, even proton is coming up with better design and spec. OMG, Preve have 4 airbags, 7 speed GB, TC, ESC. What about this supposed to be high end toyota? Pathetic.

• riffy on Jun 03, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Good point, look at the fortuner. Only changed light shape and added chrome. How Stupid do Toyota think people are!!???

• VSC has saved me from potential accidents during heavy rain. Im suprised 100k+ cars have it and this doesn’t!

• Devil on Jun 02, 2012 at 6:03 pm

I pity those buying 2.0. Remember what happened when the launched the ‘all new’ altis? Came out with 4 gears also. 1 yr later, changed to 7 gears. I was one of them who bought the 4 gear and regretted. 4 years later(now) , I trade in for an elantra and never looked back. Bye bye Toyota and thanks for been with me the past 10yrs. (ex was vios). U have really moved backwards in terms of price, features and quality

• Maserati on Jun 02, 2012 at 6:42 pm

The more I look at the Camry,the more awesome it looks.Whereas the K5 at the beginning looked great but as time moves on,the K5 gets more and more fugly.

And somehow no matter how good you say Korean cars are,their sales are rather pathetic.How often you see a K5 on the road? This is what happens when you try to price Korean junk at Japanese prices.You get utter failure!

And these are the people who are gonna cry to their mama when they found out that not everything is about looks,but the ease of servicing ur car,the ease of getting parts etc etc and the amount you gonna get back when u sell it off.All financially intellectual people will think of this before buying a car unlike some people who say “Aiya,why you think of resale value before you even buy the car?”

Yeah its easy to say when u are not selling,but a time will definately come when u need to sell it.And thats the time u will be saying to yourself “I should have got myself a Jap car”

Then they will be selling off their piece of junk at prices which will make them cry even more.Cause they lost such a huge amount of money in such a short period.

And of cuz those Korean driving fellas now who just bought korean cars will never ever regret buying their POS in public.But deep inside ,they are regretting every moment since they bought their junk.

Please guys,Koreans have decades to go to catching up with the Japs.Its not about putting VSC,and all those 3 letter acronym into cars.Its about making a car that has soul and passion!And korean cars are desparately lacking those .Thank You

• Jujubes on Jun 02, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Mr Maserati I love how you say your last line…”its about making a car that has soul and passion!And korean cars are desparately lacking those “…. which can only mean your idea of soul is this CAMRY!

Dude you seriously need to search your soul…and don’t bring peoples mama into this….that’s below the belt. Sorry :(

For what its worth, I actually do think the Koreans have caught up with the Japs on designing cars….KIA & HYundai both share a new design team they’re all ex-Audi folks.

Yeah you could say the Koreans still lack finesse on putting their product together but you have to agree that they’ve made a quantum leap to get to where they are today.

Now the Japs, Toyota in particular are taking a step backwards, I agree with you its not all about those irritating acronyms but if offered in previous models and the safety value was up-sold then no reason why it should not continue in this generation unless Toyota is saying to us that our lives are not really important but they still want more money from us in the new generation which to me seems unfair.

• Jujubes on Jun 02, 2012 at 8:50 pm

OK further to that…if you must buy a Camry then please buy the current generation because it actually does look better then the new one!

See…I do actually like the Camry ;)

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:42 pm

There are too many Korean Car owners making neagtove comments here in hope to raise the RV of their cold door vehicles.

You really have to pity them as they will lose an arm and 2 legs when they sell their cars

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:10 pm

you will virtually lose and arm or leg ( figuratively) when you sell an old korean car BUT you will definitely lose and arm/leg or your life (literally) when its rains and your junk camry skids and crash at 70kmh.

• Ugly body kit really unnecessary.

• Devil on Jun 02, 2012 at 10:17 pm

My gawd, can’t believe Maserati still selling T cars? T have souls? LoL. Souls of overageing product not willing to die off bcoz of loyal blind supporters like u. I see the design I can really zzz. I have not even mention the specs and price yet. Poor lost soul. Continue been content about your T. I have already walked the talk, left T which i had loved for 10 yrs and never regret.
    Btw, shuddup and look at Hyundai sales fr MAA reports next month. Don’t make a fool of urself. The younger generation are very smart now and no longer following badges/trends blindly. Like it or not. Korean product acceptance is rising, and Im not just talking about cars. Hyundai might not beat T bcoz of all their hilat and trucks, but it will be above N & H

• K5 emblem on Jun 02, 2012 at 10:27 pm

My beast K5 can tapau this uncle in no time!

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:53 am

Your K5 will sui kwan when it reaches 100,000kms. And we will say hello to you when you sit in the tow truck drivers seat with your cabbage being towed to the junk yard

• Sam Loo on Jun 06, 2012 at 11:46 pm

K5 will be your worst nightmare when it Kwai Tai and when you try to sell

• Boring…old design..look bulky…at this moment Peugeot 408 best choice at lower price

• Sam Loo on Jun 02, 2012 at 11:19 pm

And the Camry/Accord is still the D-Segment car with the best resale value

• Actually it looks rather great and sporting, i mean somehow the look grows on u unlike the Korean Sonata and K5… the Korean cars design looks good and exciting for the first few times but quickly grow dull and old, especially the Sonata and Forte

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Agreed, the now Sonata looks great in the first week but now looks like a cacat monkey

• Rajveen Singh on Jun 03, 2012 at 12:07 am

The previous version of Camry is so much better.

• Point on Jun 03, 2012 at 1:58 am

Any Toyota salesman here?
    What is your marketing point?

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:16 pm

The no. of sour grape kimchi owners here clearly outnumber genuine manly drivers that do not believe in sui kwan/kwai tai low RV 3rd grade vehicle manufacturers.

They are here trying to promote kimchis and sui kwan euros in hope that it will jack up the RV of their cold door cars. It is not working, at all

• chee choo gow on Jun 03, 2012 at 10:56 am

Very very boring…!

• chee choo gow on Jun 03, 2012 at 10:58 am

New CAMRY Model very boring…!

• riffy on Jun 03, 2012 at 12:32 pm

I drove the new Camry already! As a hire car in US last week (launched already there la). Drove 800km. Horrible, much worse than old Camry. Feels cheap inside. Doors close like Wira quality. I am waiting for new Accord!

Toyota designers must be blind. Pls pls don’t buy this car.

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:58 am

This is where you are wrong.

Even at UMW Section 14, the sales manager told me that they had more than 200 bookings oledi.

Surprisingly, more than 2/3 are for 2.5V

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:39 pm

US rental car camry are the no frills version leh.

Cannot compare with the typical household spec version

• Nice FC 1L = 7.7km for city and 1L= 9.7km for highway.

Take petrol like drinking water.

• This car fascinate me and It looks good to , except for the price but well done Toyota ,

• tycoon88 on Jun 03, 2012 at 4:06 pm

mark my words. i can say 95% of the comments here are bad but camry will still continue to sell 1100 units per monthly. points 2 highlight:-

1) still many uncles in malaysia with stereotype mind. hard to change!

2) perceived higher resale value

3) no frills, easy to drive and no need crack head with those advance gadgets

4) low maintaineance cost

5) front part have lexusish similarity appealing to those who crave the “L” badge but not enuf dough 2 own 1.

my 2 sens worth!

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:56 am

And K5/Sonata can’t even sell 200 units a month combined. Why? Because most Malaysians know that Korean cars will sui kwan and need to call tow truck operator for rescue

• sharon on Jun 03, 2012 at 4:33 pm

My first impression. Toyota is trying to give their new Camry XV50 (2.5V) bumper looked aggressive and make the car sportier. What Toyota did is to give this big ugly piece of bodykit. Since many people say Camry is uncle’s car. So this Camry especially 2.5V is for the Uncle Beng not Ah Beng (young generation).

• Mike T on Jun 03, 2012 at 7:20 pm

The awkward moment when I realized the Preve had certain features more advanced than the Camry.

Toyota ” Moving Backward”.

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:57 am

Preve is different category of cars that will not sell even 1/3 in numbers compared to the Vios

• uncle seng on Jun 04, 2012 at 10:17 am

will continue to drive my mercedes w210 1997 version.
        at least 1 have 4 airbags and 6 cylinder engine, traction control and abs. all for rm38k only.

can save 140k instead of buying this stupid fugly car called toyota camry xv50.
        what a ripped from umw toyota. anyway also we must thank them to convince us to stay with our current cars.

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:35 pm

But W210 sui kwan all the time wor

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:20 pm

hey sam loo. u r getting very irritating asking everyone to buy your toyota cars. what happened? no sales this month in your showroom? seems to me you got a problem with every other car whether merc, bmw , vw , koreans , proton.

go get a life la dude!

• Sam Loo on Jun 06, 2012 at 11:48 pm

I am asking people not to buy Kimchi’s and make the same mistake I made.

I am also a Honda and Audi supporter, FYI

• U cant blame the uncles who continues to support n buy Toyota and Honda..actually there is not much choice, european models from korea or Naza and Inokom, Peugeot, Citroen, Ford, Volvo etc are often outdated models and even worse resle values and expemsive parts, and the models often discontinued very fast…read the NST motor section today, one dude thought he got a bargain discounted 2009 Hyundai Elantra but the second hand dealers told him it was 2007 stock, if u order T and H u sure got latest new stock as waiting list months, for other obscure brands, the ad often claimed ” immediate stock”

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:38 pm

And most of all, Euros and Kimchis Kwai Tai on the road shoulder most of the time

• Jimmy on Jun 04, 2012 at 1:31 am

What D-segment car to buy?
    The answer is UMW-Share.
    BTW, why are Mercedes Benz Malaysia and BMW malaysia behave like Toyota Malaysia? They are relatively low-specced. Many have only 6 airbags, among other things.

• faizal on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:50 am

design still kotak2

• tags.my on Jun 04, 2012 at 10:34 am

Not really aesthetically pleasing…

• Adilz on Jun 04, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Japanese Sashimi vs Korean BBQ vs French Toast vs German Sausage. Ha ha ha ha But the new Camry design boring. All the current Camry owners must very happy, means their car resale value will still be good. Then can sale and buy BMW.

Plus, good lah that Toyota spare parts cheap and easy to get, coz after 3 years or 100,000 km, whichever comes first, warranty expires, then have to fork out own money to buy parts and repair. Kalau spare part mahal, menangislah, dah lah kereta mahal, road tax also mahal.

Kia, VV and Peugeot owner kena simpan duit coz resale value lower. Lucky a bit coz 5 years unlimited warranty, so no need to fork out money for repair.

Either way, simpan duit, kerja kuat2, dapat income lebih, semua boleh upgrade pakai Mercs, Beemers, Audis. Yang lebih kaya, boleh beli Porche, Lamboghini or Ferrari.

Best is, dont buy car expensive car, resale value high or not, still loose money. Just buy Preve and then invest in house. After 5 years, sale house, can also buy Merc, Beemer or Audi.

• Sam Loo on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Correction.

Its blue fin tuna sashimi vs rotten preserved rotten cabbage kimchi

• Johnny on Jun 04, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Why doesn’t every post never fail to have a bunch of flamers having a go at each other? (eg. Jap vs Korean fan boys?) Whatever it is, everyone has their own preference!

• mythbuster on Jun 04, 2012 at 3:02 pm

as i know this new camry’s specs are determined by UMW rite. so, the real culprit is not Toyota actually, but the UMW itself. eventhough, im owning a toyota car also, i felt this new camry is really poor design, lack basic features and overpriced. Is that bcoz UMW is so overconfident and greedy? we should teach them a lesson by boycotting this nonsense Camry. going backward toyota@UMW.

• Which do Malaysians take priority, looks or safety ? I guess Toyota chose looks, and they could very well be right. Who needs more airbags than the number of fingers on 1 hand ? Fingers can be stitched back mah. Must look stylo when get hit in an accident mah. Don’t know meh ? :-D

• I was driving behind an old 2005 version camry where the butt looks boxed as well.. I almost thought this looked familiar to the new 2012 version. This is just wrong… totally opposite feeling as compared to when I first laid eyes on the 2.4 XV40… everyone will feels the same

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 8:04 am

I think the RV of ACV40 will pop up by RM10k with the arrival of XV50

• MOMOKO on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:45 pm

unbelievable!!

or should I say as expected?

2 airbags???
    even the highest trim gets only 4 airbags??

no wonder all the UMW dealers & salesman are quite rich~~
    once again, UMW, you have done a good job maintaining your chain of distribution… and expect we as buyers will still blindnessly continue buying it (juz for the badge, for god sake!)

UMW, where is your “take from ppl, give it back to ppl” spirite? never….

• Devil on Jun 04, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Quote:
    1) still many uncles in malaysia with stereotype mind. hard to change!
    2) perceived higher resale value
    3) no frills, easy to drive and no need crack head with those advance gadgets
    4) low maintaineance cost
    5) front part have lexusish similarity appealing to those who crave the “L” badge but not enuf dough 2 own 1.
    Which part of maintenance is ‘low’? My ex altis 40/80k service is over rm1k. My beep beep lock/unlock speaker spoilt they quote me 500+ for a stupid small speaker under the hood.
    Those who say low maintenance must have not service in 3S b4

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:22 am

Looks like we now see the devil in you.

It’s OK to have bought a cold door car. The cold door car industry well thank you very much

Typically, cars are being labelled cold door because they do not sell in large numbers. They attract instictive buyers that think that having the mutiple gadgets and accessories is a good buy. As they name suggests, these are add ons.

So, typically, most Malaysians are smarter. Key reason being cars are so darn expensive here. They want to protect their investment (no double that many now sees cars are liability, not asset). So they will opt for cars that are durable, reliable, dependable and lowest cost to maintain.

Those of you that have bought a KOrean, it’s either you bite the bullet and sell it off now or use the car for 10 years (like I did). Be caution of the fact that the Korean car is a pain to maintain after 100,000kms / 5 years. Parts are scarce and expensive. Mechs also say that all Korean cars behave that way

• Don’t compare your old Korean car with the new ones. That’s simply stupid. Forte, K5, Sonata, Elantra, Sportage, etc are the new generation Korean cars and they are all very good cars. Go ask any used car dealers about these new Korean cars and they will all say that these new generation Korean cars have better resale value than before and the value keeps going up due to high demand. Friends of mine who are selling used cars acknowledge the fact that the difference of resale value between the new generation KIA and Hyundai and Toyota and Honda is only 5 to 8%. This figure is expected to get lower by looking at the momentum that KIA and Hyundai are showing right now.

I am a K5 owner by the way and also own the Honda Accord (2009) and I am proud of both of them. Japanese cars are good (though now not doing so well), but Korean cars are definitely doing very well (good design, good quality, good performance, improved resale value).

With various awards and recognition won internationally, the K5 and Forte has proven that Korean cars have improved a lot.

Honda and Toyota need to do something about their cars as the cars that they are producing right now are no longer as great as what they used to be. Relying on their brand alone may prove to be insufficient, and before they know it, KIA and Sonata may steal the market from them.

So Sam Loo, stop condemning Korean cars just because you had a bad experience with your old Korean car. Old Korean cars and the new generation ones are totally not the same.

As for the 2012 Camry, with negative reviews worldwide, I wish TOYOTA goodluck. Improve your product or you may lose the market one day.

• so much ugly..i prefer the old one..damn so ugly,and feel cheap inside.and 2.0l still get 4 speed???

• uncle seng on Jun 05, 2012 at 9:42 am

proton saga also have CVT these days. this 2.0 liter with 4 speed only?
    shame on you UMW!

• faizal zal faizal on Jun 06, 2012 at 4:33 pm

kalau ini mcm arr…wa sangup tuggu honda maaaa….honda bulan 7 keluar baru maaa..sebelum laya maaa…..

• jalal on Jun 06, 2012 at 4:42 pm

preve pun ada 7 gear..malu lah camry…itu engineer toyota buat camry kasi buang kerja lahh….

• forexample321 on Jun 12, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Hyundai sonata and kia k5 are very good looking car on the outside. But these two korean make is not a very practical car. The roof of the car behind is low, difficult to get in the car although look more sporty which is not important. On the other hand camry has a high ceiling, very comfortable.

Kia K5 behind also got no aircon vent. Resale value of korean car needless to say , everybody knows. Not trying to promote camry but is just stating the facts.

Camry was the best selling japanese car in america for consecutive 10 over years. Furthermore toyota has a low cd so the interior is very quiet. It has good suspension making it less vibration when is moving on rough surface. The interior is also very luxurious, think none of the korean and japanese D-segment car is comparable to it.

Now with another 5k, you will get a sequential shifter in the new camry as compare to the previous model. If you were to do a survey on the most popular D-segment car, there is no doubt that camry will be the one.

Although volk wagen passat is slightly more expensive and powerful than the camry, but it tend to lose out in the resale value, the spaciousness and the cost of maintenance of the car.

• Flyguy70 on Jun 18, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Compare to Toyota Altis 1.8G spec, I think the “ALL NEW 2012” Toyota Camry 2.0G spec is way too LOW spec, OUTDATED engine and UNSAFE on less-ideal road!! Well, please see the below comparisons for the spec [pls note that despite these 2 cars is on different segment, but I’m pointing the comparison on the spec, rather on segment of the car]:

Toyota Altis 1.8G spec VS Toyota Camry 2.0G spec

1) Dual VVT-i with ACIS VS DOHC with VVT-i
    (New engine) VS (Old & Outdated engine)
    (More power & torque) VS (Less power & torque)
    (Consume less fuel) VS (Consume more fuel)

2) Super CVT-i with 7-Speed VS Super ECT with 4-speed
    (better fuel efficiency) VS (less fuel efficiency)
    (Advance gear box) VS (Old gear box)

3) Safety on less-ideal conditions (such as on rainy day, slippery road & uneven surface road)
    – with VSC & TRC VS – without VSC & TRC
    (MORE SAFE!) VS (UNSAFE!) Hope God will bless you then!

MY PERSONAL CONCLUSION: Driving a Toyota Altis 1.8G is seems to be MORE SAFE on the road than driving a New Toyota Camry 2.0G!! Yet, you need fork-out additional RM35,000 for a LOW spec, OUTDATED engine and UNSAFE “ALL NEW 2012” Toyota Camry 2.0G!! UMW TOYOTA is very “BRILLIANT” on “hiding” the above spec comparison when come to promoting this New Camry! You don’t see info of VSC & TRC in 2.5V (indeed 2.5V equipped with VSC & TRC, but not for 2.0G or 2.0E). No “comparison” info means less awareness to the potential buyer, especially those Uncles!!

Despite Camry is much better on exterior looks, but the spec of Camry 2.0G shall deserve more or less the same as Altis 1.8G since both cars is same G spec, especially the extra SAFETY feature, such as VSC & TRC that equipped in Altis 1.8G! This VSC & TRC extra safety feature might able to save your life and your passengers when you are driving on less-Ideal road conditions and on emergency situations, such as on rainy day, slippery road & uneven surface road. Is UMW TOYOTA trying to IGNORE extra safety of the driver and the passengers of new Camry 2.0G !? while put EXTRA ATTENTION of extra VSC & TRC safety on the driver and the passenger of Altis 1.8G instead!? The price of VSC & TRC is just mere few thousand Ringgit only! Of course, the rationale behind by not equip VSC & TRC on Camry 2.0G is make EXTRA profit on D-Segment car for UMW TOYOTA lah!! more UNTUNG lah!!

Well, I’m also a Toyota car owner at the moment. But to upgrade to this New Camry, I would put on hold until UMW TOYOTA upgrade the spec of this Camry or look for some other cars. Simply Not worth buying this New Camry at these kind of LOW spec and OVER-PROFIT TAKING by UMW TOYOTA!

In fact, couples of days ago, one Toyota salesman told me that there was quite number of cancellation of booking order for this Camry 2.0G. Simply b’cos the potential buyer disappointed with this LOW spec Camry. To buy 2.5V with HIGHER spec is overpriced at RM181K!

• Camrylover on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Saw a few new Camry on the road already. I still think my ACV40 is still a better design. More sculpted and proportioned. New Camry seems to have a bigger head, smaller wheels, less exciting look. As for me, there is no reason to upgrade.

• Selvakumar Manickam on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:11 pm

I drive a 2012 “Not New Camry”, I mean ACV40. I was waiting for the new model but when I saw leaked photos of the new ACV50 online, I didn’t think twice, immediately booked ACV40 and got it 3 months ago. Supposed to be early this year but was delayed due to flood in Thailand. I parked my car beside the new Camry the other day and I am extremely glad I bought the outgoing model :).

• CamryLover on Jul 01, 2012 at 6:48 am

you did the right thing. New Camry dont even have VSC. How sad…

• me too, like camry very much and plan to buy one.. but got to cancel it because no ESP., maybe now i hv to find 2nd hand 2.4 camry year 2010/2011

• For those driving camry 2.0, how many kms it can go with a litre of petrol, for highway driving? For 2.4, about 9.27 kms. Nearly 20 cents (to be exact 19.4 cents) per km.

• toyotathenvwnow on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:54 pm

ahh…i was grateful for choosing VW Passat over Camry 2.5v….so power one the 1.8 TSI engine one..can beat this toyota one

• Sam Loo on Oct 01, 2012 at 9:05 am

You will cry much louder trading in the Passat 3 years later, coz it will easily depreciate by 60%.

For Camry, 3 years on, it will retain 70%-75% of its ori value

• AccordFAN on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Personally..
    (1) In term of this car body design.. It is definitely Toyota’s fault. Previous XV40 has better design. They really moving backward.

However,
    (2) In term of this car engine (2.0 1AZ-FE).. It is not Toyota’s fault.. Toyota may stop supplying those 2.0cc class engine in it upcoming Camry models. However, our country’s high tax rates cause them to maintain those engine in local Camry models. It is due do to locals affordability and marketing factors.

Toyota’s may stopped their R&D for 2.0cc engines for Camry’s chassis.

NO OFFENCE PLEASE.

Agree..?

• Are you sure your 1997 mercedes air bags still working? Would they disintegrate into fragments when deployed?

• Candice on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:15 am

Why mine no wing? 2.5v

• sohail on Sep 11, 2018 at 6:12 pm

hi i have camry 2.5 .I want to know how to operate my navigation.i don’t have SD card of navigation