Changan Alsvin YueXiang sighted with trade plates

Reader Eddy Liau spotted this Chinese-branded sedan with trade plates near his house. After a brief Facebook conversation and some Googling, we managed to identify it as a Changan Alsvin, also called by its Chinese market name Changan Yue Xiang. It looks alot like the 1st gen Mazda 3 sedan. It’s powered by a 1.5 litre engine and has a 2,515mm wheelbase.

Changan is sold in Malaysia by a Berjaya Group company called Changan Berjaya Auto Sdn Bhd under the Chana Era name, and there are currently two passenger models available – the Chana Era CV6 which is a Changan Ben Ben, and the Chana Era CM8 which is a compact MPV. Looks like they might be adding a sedan to their model line-up?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kendall on Jun 03, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Please don’t!

• copycad mastered on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Bila tgk kt depan, mcm kembar Proton Gen2
      sebijik betol laa.. hahahaha..

• gtfo, malaysians aren’t interested in it.

• confused on Jun 04, 2012 at 12:06 am

Finally. Something else is at the top of PT news.

• based from Mazda 3 ????

• Paul Tan on Jun 04, 2012 at 12:14 am

I’m not sure, could be copied from, but I don’t think it’s based on, because the wheelbase is much shorter than the Mazda3 generation the styling is copied from.

• Whynot on Jun 04, 2012 at 12:36 am

This looks better than Preve!

• aisamuddin on Jun 04, 2012 at 12:51 am

my god ur wrong…..where hv ur eyes fallen into?

• cicaklaut on Jun 04, 2012 at 2:07 am

Hating Proton is fine but please be reasonable.This Crap from China is far uglier than Preve but it is prettier than Juara.

• koochai on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:28 am

hail the changan BEN BEN :)
    what a name!

• Yuks!
    another China crap on our road.
    blunt copy-cat design with questionable quality.
    wonder who gonna buy it?

• squall_shinoda on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:22 am

What a bloody insult. I thought that Chinese pirates have been dead already, when more and more Chinese carmakers start to offer authentic designs and stop pirating other carmakers’ designs.

HAPUSKAN CFETAK ROMPAK…!!!

• Hyundai De la Junk on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:56 am

The Bloody Korean Pirate Junk KIA is also copying VW & BMW what ?
      HAPUSKAN LANUN KOREA !@!!!!

• squall_shinoda on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Many major carmakers started up by copying other carmakers’ designs, including Toyota. The difference is whether they copy legally or not. If they pay original carmakers some ufti aka royalty, then they are copying legally. If not, then they are nothing more than pirates.

• Niadruob Ynohtna on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:29 am

For me, this car screams saga. The exterior design is what saga should have been.

• kensomuse on Jun 04, 2012 at 9:41 am

I’m guessing Berjaya is planning to launch this model in conjunction with its official launch of the Changan showroom that will occupy the corrent Mazda showroom in Glenmarie once Mazda shifts over next door. The current showroom will house both Changan and Skoda … if this is true, I wonder what the management in Skoda is thinking …. sharing “house” with Mazda is one thing; sharing with a perceived inferior brand such as a China made vehicle will only serve to bring down the continental branding of Skoda

• Value Car on Jun 04, 2012 at 10:08 am

Seems nice and probably nice price as well at RM40k range.

• v-power on Jun 04, 2012 at 11:43 am

Changan Alsvin YueXiang? Sounds like a very proper person’s name! Chana Era CV6/Changan Ben Ben? LOLL!

Seriously, Chinese carmakers should consider hiring capable copywriters to come up with more decent names for their cars/brand. With public perception already what it is…you could do worse. Changan Ben Ben FTW!

• Anand on Jun 04, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Believe me, when i went to china and hong kong, i did not see even 1 china brand cars..

• Spritz on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:24 pm

there are lot’s actually. you probably mistake them for japanese makes.

• mamat on Jun 04, 2012 at 1:29 pm

cheap to buy expensive to maintain! tats the reality of chinaman’s car….

• ben yap on Jun 04, 2012 at 3:06 pm

look at the small wheels. LOL…. looks like taken from my baby nephew’s stroller. LOL….

• Keyboard Warrior on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Another pakai buang product on malaysian road :)
    cayalah.. Malaysia boleh :)

• kereta cap ayam…far better p1 and p2 than this crap,how come can enter malaysian market

• Masked Ryder on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Hope there bring EADO model which look great.

• alfred weinberg on Jun 04, 2012 at 6:15 pm

outdated design !!

• can we not bring in these nonsense to malaysia?

• Check the 2nd prices of China cars eg Chery Alado in the classifieds…u will probably suffer heart attack

• Jeff Lim on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Yup, a 2005 Chery Alado selling at RM15k only. One of my friend’s 1 yr old Chery Eastar selling RM50k only. Horrendous 30k depreciation.

• haih..what is this?

• Selling at RM 15k, but probably dealers taking trade in for Rm10 k only…almost same depreciation with some korean models eg Kia Optima 2.0, now u understand why uncle andn aunties continue to sapot Toyota Honda

• Jeff Lim on Jun 06, 2012 at 12:55 pm

I disagree… Chery Resale value is WORSE than The koreans. 65% retained value in 1 year for 1 yr old Eastar (trading in for Exora CFE). The Koreans achieved the same 65% retained value but in 3 years. That’s A LOT of difference…

• mrkthxbai on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:52 pm

totally rubbish!

• Norman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:09 am

I dun mind if inside the hood is a Japanese 1.5 engine but sorry,Ive enough misery with China cars be it from quality to reliability issue.Proton Campro at least 50% more better than this piece of shit.