Perodua talk of going the sedan route continues

The talk that Perodua is mulling the possibility of producing sedan cars in the near future has resurfaced. It was initially reported in February that the second national car company was looking to go down the path of building cars with an engine capacity larger than 1.5 litres.

The company’s managing director Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh told reporters yesterday that Perodua was currently studying the idea, but didn’t elaborate on details. “This is my aspiration. If there is opportunity and allowed by our partners and shareholders, this is what we would like to do,” he said.

The company showcased a sedan concept called the Bezza at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show back in 2010, but going down the sedan route will quite possibly see the involvement of a JV with UMW Holdings, according to reports. Incidentally, the rendering above is Theophilus Chin’s take on a Toyota Etios with Perodua badging.

Aminar added that Perodua would not be heading down the hybrid or electric vehicle path. “It’s expensive to build these cars and we don’t have the technology and research and development facilities,” he stated.

Learn more: , ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• No need to go above the 1.5 litre engine route. Just turbo charge it to compete against larger engines and produce sedans! Trend nowadays are down sizing engines with forced induction!

• koochai on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:51 pm

not wise to go turbo path.
      not available in current petrol-powered toyotas.
      just a frugal 1.6 na will do…

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Thailand have Turbo Vios, P2 can too use YRV 1.3 Turbo, Toyota have plenty of small turbo charged engine.

• Plus add a CVT or a modern 6 speed tranny like the mazda skyactive.

• vios_suck on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:29 pm

preve has 7 speed cvt (ok it’s virtual) tranny summore lol, beat mazda skyactive anyday

• You obviously have no idea what Mazda SkyActive transmission is about.

Go read.
        http://www.mazda.com/mazdaspirit/skyactiv/transmission/skyactiv-drive.html

• riehl on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:08 pm

http://www.mazda.com/mazdaspirit/skyactiv/transmission/skyactiv-drive.html

very bias ads, nice try

• mazda_salesman on Jun 06, 2012 at 8:45 pm

mazda salesman detected!!!!

• skyactive engine got turbo? don’t tell me only for mps

• Without Turbo also faster than many Turbo cars coz it’s P2 ! u know what i mean :)

• cl_qwertyuiop on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:50 pm

1.5L sedan. could be a re-badge Toyota VIOS since the price of VIOS is high.

• Kongbingleek on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:54 pm

“we don’t have the technology and research and development facilities” Since when they research and develop engines? They just took an engine from Daihatsu and planted straight in right? :p

• Shahrul on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Exactly Mr Kong! Hahahaha! What kind of PR pull was that? :D

• Gangga Negara on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:56 pm

wow.. i was bout to type the same thing when i read yours!!!

even the front design/bumper they just draw, pick the best design and mold it up.. no RND, no wind test, no aerodynamic test etc. Perodua engineer himself said it on youtube!!

Perodua never was a cheap brand.. dont be fool by ranges of their small engines 660, 850, 1.1 etc.. plus considering Japanese-Imperial-Quality DNA it supposed to have, Perodua can be considered as “ANAK OKU (ORANG KELAINAN UPAYA)”

p/s : taking Myvi 1.5(m) as a benchmark, RM51k is the cheapest offer it had. wonder how much a 1.5 sedan will cost, starting from RM55k maybe???? – MPI engine, 2 airbag, simple ace with usb & folding side mirror hehehe

• people can say perodua overpriced, no new tech, etc2, but in the end of the day, they are selling more cars..even myvi is on top of the sell list for many years..until now..few people on the internet can say bad things, but about 6k-9k of new myvi owners per month are the real benchmark of how much better it is compare to the other similarly priced cars..

• Kongbingleek on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:17 pm

mr. triple a, I dont think that how much does it sell reflects on how much better it is right? Viva is better than Saga simply because it sold more than it? Have some logic please.

• pauline on Jun 06, 2012 at 11:04 am

all butthurt saga supporter here.

if sales figure doesnt mean anything, then you must be a funny guy indeed.

just admit it when ppl prefer myvi viva more than the lesser quality product of another company.

• render on Jun 06, 2012 at 1:53 pm

sales figure means many things, popularity is a must/necessary , but not quality or best make, please open up your mind

• only proton supporters think top sales figures do not meant anything. what is the point of proton then if not to make cars that sell well?
        if their cars do not sell then proton will gulung tikar, perhaps that is what they want?!
        clearly butthurt proton supporters with sour grape syndrome.

• Kongbingleek on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:48 pm

So Camry is the best D segment sedan because it sold the most? Where is Nissan Teana, Ford Mondeo? Pug 508? Inferior? Fear not. Plus im not an owner of Saga, just a disappointed owner of a hot japanese compact sedan :)

• PakAbu on Jun 06, 2012 at 11:56 am

You took it out of context.
      He was referring to development of hybrid cars.

• ss427 on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:54 pm

The indian market Etios is essentially what the super crap Gen11 JDM Corolla Axio looks like… :(

It is meant for poor countries, so customers have to settle for really awful styling, cheap construction, outdated drivetrain etc…
    Yet customers from these poor countries are expected to pay dearly for such junks… :(

Fancy a 1.5L with GDI, Turbo and Valvematic from Toyota? And a 6 speed DCT? Hey… it is Toyota people, they’re incapable of offering such technologies for such econobox without adding at least $30000 into the selling price..

Not to mention they don’t even have such engines in their lineup currently.

• Gabla on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:20 pm

They can use Etios as a base but they will modify it quite a lot since they will have the volume here based on Saga & Persona sales. Even Vios can sell here at a high price.

Just like Myvi which is based on Sirion, the new sedan will be different from the original car.

• Vader on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:56 pm

more model mean more choices for customer.. that great!
    But surely not from etios, this is damn ugly!!!

• be sensible on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:13 pm

ohh….sedan??? in this overcrowded compact market, that’s hardly a breathing space…perodua shd stick to its best producing small car at affordable prices…

• pathfinder on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:40 pm

…at affordable price? did you mean affordable loan installment?

• superman on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:16 pm

I dont get it. why no one complain on re-badging here. but if P1 does it all hell brakes lose???

• silwen on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:51 pm

The difference is that Perodua is owned by UMW and Daihatsu/Toyota. UMW has rights to Toyota in Malaysia. Long story short, Toyota basically has control over Perodua’s engineering and research interests.

Perodua is basically just the branch for the super compact market of Toyota. There’s virtually no possibility we will not see a rebadged Toyota.

Toyota has got almost every segment of the car market. Viva all the way to the LS600h. Got to have to hand it to them, for all the crap we say, they have got it all. It’s a little hard for VW to compete in this regard, whereas Toyota has the Viva at about 30k, the cheapest VW comes in at a shade under 100K.

• Kongbingleek on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:21 pm

the thing is that Mitsubishi used to have 15.86% of Proton stakes. So basically its partly owned by Mitsubishi that time where all cars are rebadged Mitsu models. And why do people start bashing that time?

• p1 has been bashed not only because of their on-off rebadging of cars but more so of their ability to produce lemons.
      i for one am upset, that they continue to paint themselves as pride of the nation when their cars attract ridicule.
      if your child did homework the way p1 makes cars, would you not be ashamed and angry?!

• pauline on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:17 pm

they wanna go head to head with toyota ? (Esp Vios )

forget about proton. they are out of the picture without DSZ.

• Karlk on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Assembled at Perodua facility but sell it through Toyota channel and just call it Toyota Bestgiler sure top sedan of the year

• pravin5267 on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Ugly like shit!

• can named it …Perodua Gembala….haha

• Semut on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Wagon body please……

• 2.0 supercharged please

• casper on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Yeah, I also think it is best for Perodua to stick with small cars. I’m hoping that Perodua will resurrect Kelisa with better engine and fuel efficiency. I love Kelisa!!!!

• apishz on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:35 am

DONT TALK ABOUT KELISA, ALL ABOUT REBATCH CAR.. NOW OLD FASION CAR DONT EXIST ON PRODUA. LOL

• Always thought that Perodua is suppose to make cars 1,000 cc and below?

• chew kliang on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:00 pm

new toyota camry concept with supercharged please!

• Henry Ford The XII on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Unless Perodua is thinking about overseas markets, there is no point for them to expand.
    (And the question now – even if Perodua want to go abroad, would their “Masters” permit them?)

• They do sell abroad…singapore, uk…..

• Henry Ford The XII on Jun 06, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Mr kzm,

Care to share the sales figures of Perodua in those 2 countries for the past few years?

• sucre on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:42 pm

rebadging….as always….

• Gabla on Jun 05, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Profitable, as usual. Who cares if they are rebadging or not. As long as they can deliver a product that meets the customer demand, they can make money a long the way.

No point of doing a lot of R&D but the products always fall short of the customer expectations. This will then lead to a loss and in the end the company will suffer or be a target for a takeover.

• “rebadging….as always….”

Coz Perodua people don’t understand the meaning of manufacturing. hehehe….

• whats the point of doing r&d on ur own when u can just grab the existing toyota and daihatsu techs for free or little amount of money?..

• Manufacturing mean something is produce….rebadging produce something rite? If u said R&D i can understand

• kerelbort on Jun 05, 2012 at 5:08 pm

haha. why not rebadged BRZ to perodua… surabu used to take myvi as a rebadged too right.. :P

• Chris on Jun 05, 2012 at 5:23 pm

does not make sense for P2 to manufacture sedan.

P2 demographic is mostly ah bengs or girls. i would say higher percentage of girls. and we know why girls like Turtle cars, for easy parking.

• protong driver as usual..hahahahah

• Who wants to buy from a company that keep changing owner?

• Yeah.. that’s why they got mirrors on drivers seat like the one in viva… for makeup lor.. lol

• crappydriver on Jun 09, 2012 at 10:41 pm

hey… Vios also girl’s car. Mirror at driver seat :-)

Chris.. you have a valid point.
        MyVi/kelisa/kancil all selling like hot cakes coz don’t have ass.. easy to park :-)

• Don’t worry. They will do it as long as “allowed by our partners and shareholders”. Emmm…..

• driver on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I was about to comment on this. I don’t think there’ll be any significant R&D even if they’re going to build a new sedan, as opposed to merely “adaptation” from toyota’s old catalog.

Boooring~

• Of course not as exciting as company sold off or new model with broken underarm or lousy welding.

• the biggest copycat ever! just copy the unwanted or unpopular in japan and paste it here to fool our people…

• udasalleh on Jun 05, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Maybe P2 should concentrate on building a safer town car… a bit stronger n heavier build so they don’t sway in the hiways… n something that doesn’t turn turtle..!

• kuncisudu on Jun 05, 2012 at 6:42 pm

“This is my aspiration. If there is opportunity and allowed by our partners and shareholders, this is what we would like to do,” he said.”

aspiration? you dont need aspiration to rebadging a car. you just need permission.

““It’s expensive to build these cars and we don’t have the technology and research and development facilities,” he stated.”

you dont? after all these years?

• go-all-the-way on Jun 05, 2012 at 6:58 pm

personally i think p2 should remain as it is. There’s still a lot to achieve with current models. do what you expert in and make it even better.

• Audi Owner on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Let’s kill the Sakua and the preve

• hippo on Jun 05, 2012 at 8:30 pm

I feel that the Proton Saga offers better deal here. No point getting at Perodua sedan car. Not worth the money, if sedan is that you want, go look for others

• Robert Ooi on Jun 05, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Does this mean, you will buy a car and decide what Badge u wan to put on your car? Cool …

• CL3899 on Jun 05, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Very Ugly ,don’t come to Malaysia .@@

• Unforgiven on Jun 05, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Rebadging = blood diamond = blood money.
    Indirectly taking advantages of the poor.

• proton, NAP, car prices that are very high relative to income! all directly affect the poor!

• Perodua should re badge the Potong Preve and rename to Perodua PlayPlay

• Soon, there will be no more P2 for us to bash as Toyota gonna turn them into their own. G need to intervene otherwise…

• Gangga Negara on Jun 06, 2012 at 9:02 am

what do u mean.. Perodua will be own by Toyota?.. just like Datsun to Nissan?? just like Daihatsu & Hino??

great then, instead of mix-blood, we’re likely to see the real face of Perodua in a future.

if u must, 1 thing goverment should intervene is – RELEASE PERODUA FROM “KERETA NATIONAL” TITLE.. The Gov. of Malaysia only owns 10% interest in this company (thru PNB) while the rest own by private & foreigners. Why the heck the government entertain certain people more than it should, what abut the others??

• They had to consult share holder first…gov has big share in perodua

• He He He look at those Protongkat goons sounds very scared even the Perodua sedan not yet come out

Even funnier those Mazda Skyactiv and CFE tech comparison…he he he really? Stone age stuff better than space age tech??? He He He

Such a pathetic sense of insecurity by Protongkat! Or admit defeat before fighting kah?? Ha Ha Ha!

Lets see Saga FLX can beat Perodua Etios…finally Protongkat get real match in B-segment small cheap sedan

Another brilliant move by Perodua, it’ll send Protongkat sweating and force them to incur more cost to redesign Saga and also bigger cost to redevelop Savvy to tackle Viva and Myvi when Saga being attacked by Etios

Sadly for Protongkat the car buyers now no longer fooled by car/patriotism crap anymore. Whoever can give simply decent quality car will win sales. In fact, Saga sales is due to NO direct small sedan competitor with similar price range – it’s winning by default, nothing to be proud of.

So let Perodua bring in Etios with similar Saga-price range. Give car buyers more choice. Jangan Takut Lah…Lawan Tetap Lawan…!

HA HA HA PROTONGKAT KEEP ON LOSING MONEY WHILE PERODUA DID NOTHING MUCH BUT GET BIGGER SALES

SORRY LAH PROTONGKAT…YOU’RE DESTINED TO BE DOOMED GONE BUST SOON HA HA HA

• vios_fan on Jun 06, 2012 at 1:49 pm

skyactive is the best? come on, any automakers would say that their solutions are the best, don’t get so fanatic, get a life dude

• Hei produa introduce this because of loosing to SAGA stupid who a lot of money Proton la don’t be so blind

• i think you believe all the ads on the net, no wonder your gave crappy comments ha ha ha

• T die hard fan.. sigh

I don’t even think you can replace a bulb of the car on your own right? Need to send to a shop to do that right?

Keyboard warrior.. yay. (Pathetic)

• kamaji on Jun 06, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Back in the 80’s,Daihatsu already hv charmant with 1.6 engine but sales was relatively poor.So in 2012 they are looking into the possibility again.However, this time they package this P2 with the smell of toyota for which I believe the fanboys will definately adore even it’s an overprice fugly pcs of shit.

• Sumo_Boy_Berlin on Jun 06, 2012 at 1:33 pm

No matter what, both proton and perodua should produce cheaper car yet better quality and safer car. 1.5L Myvi or Preve with the best specs are still way expensive for majorities of Malaysian! These natiional car should really focus on helping people with low income like us to own a good and safe car, not letting us to own cheap and low specs car.

• Henry Ford The XII on Jun 06, 2012 at 2:08 pm

1. Perodua produce and sell sedan cars – mainly for local market (seriously guys, do you think Toyota/Daihatsu gonna let Perodua sell overseas in a huge numbers?)
    2. It is a pretty good car (it got Toyota/Daihatsu DNA, remember?) and has an excellent sale.
    3. It affected mainly Proton’s sale (who else?)
    4. Proton is about to close shop (as most of you predicted in earlier posts here)
    5. Those-who-shant-be-named (read: M’sia Govt) will bail Proton out.
    6. Whose money is it that going to be used? Money that supposedly to be spent for better purposes.

Hence my opposition on this plan – Either Perodua or Proton have to venture out for them to expand. Our market is too small.

And to those who think it is a good idea because we gonna have more choices = more competition between car makers = cheaper cars eventually, how many cars do you want to put on the roads?
    The roads esp. in the big cities are clogging with cars, wasting petrol (and diesel) – sourced from a finite supply.
    Instead of demanding for cheaper cars, I would rather have a better public transport system, one that is more energy efficient.

• Produa please until when you going to be independend grow up be wise don’t just copy copy and still talk big.

• paparadzi on Jun 06, 2012 at 7:15 pm

Perodua should just forget about the engine capacity crap. Just build a car they can sell. These days a small capacity engine doesn’t necessarily mean a cheap, small, underpowered or fuel-efficient engine.

• If perodua rebadge camry and price it at rm78k who want to buy? lols

• Both forever jaguh kampung, forever selling 1.3, 1.6cc engines, look at Koreans, they not afraid like Potong, went to produce bigger engines 2.0, 2.4 cc etc and challenge Lexus in the USA

• different ma, korean cars have been aiming for international market from day 1. proton been aiming only for jaguh kampong that is why it took nearly 15 years to produce waja. engine and gearbox still need to source from other makers.
      protongkat fans are right, cannot compare p1 and koreans because their aims are different, koreans go global, p1 go kampong.

• If you read wiki, korean car companies started in 1940’s and only produce own cars (not rebadge) probably in 1990’s, more than 45 years??

• if you read an actual book called “The Miracle” by Michael Schuman. Hyundai auto repair was what was started in 1947 not a carmaking business. but the vision by Park Chung Hee was to grow by going global, your dr m tried to copy that but like all copies not as good as the original. please do read some books, wikipedia is not always right.

• I want Kembara Replacement.
    CKD Nautica at RM55k – 65k range pls…

Why Toyota/Daihatsu make it kembara replacement.. Perodua call it a new name… very sad.

• seyed on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:09 am

it’s so ugly…:(…but produa is trustable brand ever..in Malaysia

• bmpower on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:34 am

Perodua, 18 years of existence already but still don’t know to make his own fully build car? body? engine? compare to the hated p’one’… seems too far away.

Perodua… please close your shop!.
    Waste rakyat’s tax money.

• bonbon on Jun 07, 2012 at 4:26 am

eh… gov still pump rakyat money into both P? i only know this happen in 1997-98…
      i tot now ,they have to survive by their own, gov only protect their local market right? if we said both P waste money,,it not fair,,gov who receive the NAP tax money….so gov decide how to spend our tax money…

• According to wikipedia, that Etios has no safety ratings as it never tested for crash test. Aiyark!

• Ajo haterzs on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Dont worry la. Sure cannot approve by toyota and daihatsu one lah. Not till 2015 i guess. Till then p2 only will do with 3 models.

• John Player Special on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:44 pm

If Toyota and Daihatsu have better margin why wont they?

• Better than preve, at least no power window problem.

• how do you know no power window problem? my viva got stuck on all power windows.. but i managed to repair on my own. can you??

• Proton Salesman on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:30 am

Rebadge Toyota 86 is better, can call it Perodua BRZ.

• Even if the koreans made their first rebadge cars in the 60’s and 70’s they still needed about 20 years to make their own cars. Yes I read not only wiki, but auto encycleopedias and auto magazines and has written in this blog since 2000 when this blog was still young.

• amanic on Jun 11, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Is it running on timing chain or belt ?

how about proton saga flx model ? timing chain or belt

• WATCH OUT, Toyota Vios & Honda city, u gonna have a new Enemy, because of Perodua for sure gonna sell cheaper than both of u. (Perodua consider as National car)