RON 97 fuel to cost 10 sen less – now RM2.80 per litre

RON 97 fuel to cost 10 sen less – now RM2.80 per litreIt has been announced that the retail price of RON 97 petrol will cost RM2.80 from tomorrow, June 7. This is a 10 sen drop from the previous RM2.90.

Second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah said the price drop was line with the dip in average global crude oil prices in May.

Unlike the regulated and subsidised RM1.90 per litre RON 95, which most cars can use without issues, the RON 97 price is fixed based on a managed float whereby the monthly price was determined according to market forces.

Some high compression ratio naturally aspirated engines in cars like the Honda Civic Type R and Suzuki Swift Sport require RON 97 fuel.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bowie on Jun 06, 2012 at 11:57 pm

SxxT… just pumped RON 95 to my swift sport today …

• diesel monster on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:42 am

lol, even you pump ron97 also not enough..
      saw this information at suzuki website..

Type M16A with VVT DOHC
      Number of cylinders 4
      Number of valves 16
      Piston displacement (cm³) 1,586
      Bore x Stroke (mm) 78.0 x 83.0
      Compression ratio 11.1
      Maximum Output (hp(kW)/rpm) 125(92)/6,800
      Maximum Torque (Nm/rpm) 148/4,800
      Fuel distribution Multipoint injection
      Fuel type “98 RON”

lets buy diesel car

• in suzuki website ron98??????

• Lim Kopi on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Another Governmental Gimmick to please some people just before the election ….

Don’t fall for it guys …. if and when they win, it will be back up again …

• blablabla on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:26 pm

RETURN TO US OUR RON97 AT RM1.92!

• romzee90 on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:37 am

Yeah! down, traditionally it will raise up 30 sen more after election. Another political trick!

• LOL! RON97? Bet those who opted to wait before filling up today are feeling a bit silly, right?

• maverick on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:29 pm

did anybody knows when the Inspira 2.0P facelift 2012 will be available..?

• ordinarycitizen on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:10 am

“go to work, send your kids to school follow fashion, act normal walk on the pavements, watch T.V. save for your old age, obey the law Repeat after me: I am free”

• mystvearn on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:10 am

General election is very very near

• yuhuu on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:34 am

kasi turun ron95 punya harga la pulak.. rm1.50 ker.. gula-gulakan lah kami utk pilihanraya ni.. nak dekat dah ni.. huahuahuahua

• jalan54 on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:34 am

wow… This is really a huge drop (seriously??? ^_^||| )

• duhh. RON97 only? so funny

• i still remember last time when i first bought my car everyone pump ron97 with ron95 only few cent gap, wat happen to our goverment & our country, we have oil field and everything

• Mael Ah Cai on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:54 am

only 10 sen..haiyaa so stinky lor…puihhh…

• Luncai Kota on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:42 am

RON95 without subsidy RM3.45. RON97 at floating market price RM2.80. What a wonderful world! :)

• Yes..true..they cheat us for long time..why not they give subsidy to RON97???????????….damn clever gov..

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:30 am

Not RM 3.45 latest May price RM 3.53 :-(

• Don’t try to fool us.. they (govt) claimed that RON97 is floated based on market price. So now it’s RM2.80 per litre… In line with global crude oil price.
    But the last time I checked, RON95 is supposedly at RM3.45 per litre. So the govt subsidize us RM1.50.. But why on earth Ron95 original price is higher than ron97??? Please don’t treat us like school kids.. We are not stupid anymore ok?
    If you are trying to win votes, please be more sincere.. RM0.10 hardly give us any saving.

• Actually wouldn’t RON97 be the cheaper fuel if subsidized instead of RON95. So RON97 subsidized RM1.50 => RON97 = RM1.30!

WOW MY MATH IS SO AWESUM! TOO BAD THE G IZ NOT GOOD AT MATH! THE MUST HIRE ME, I KNOW MAGIC TOO!

• That bcoz RON95 gov subsidized that y it lower.. RON97 actual price much higher than malaysia floating price….

• Because you are indeed stupid. :) Sorry, it was Ismail Sabri who implied this, not me.

The gas stations are supposed to separate the subsidy and tax components of the petrol prices. Then it will be clear that if the government removes the RON95 subsidy, the RON95 price will be (1.90 + 0.70 = 2.60) per liter. If the government also collects the tax that it is entitled to, then the RON95 price will be (2.60 + 0.58 = 3.18) per liter. Similarly, for RON97, the current unsubsidized floated price is 2.80 per liter. If the government collects the tax that it is entitled to, then the price will be (2.80 + 0.58 = 3.38) per liter.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/6/7/nation/20120607184618&sec=nation

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:05 am

Also in that news release:
        “I hope the public understand that when the price of RON97 goes down, it does not mean the price of RON95 is also down, as the government still bears the subsidy of 70 sen per litre for RON95,” he said.

Ismail Sabri must take everyone for a fool. If the base price of RON97 decreases, then the base price of RON95 should also decrease before any subsidies/tax. How is it that the base price of RON95 magically always stays the same? If they are subsidizing to maintain the price, then they must come clean on that by adjusting the subsidies so that the people can know how much is actually being subsidized and compare it with crude prices. This however, would mean that the govt can’t easily just cheat us.

His comments about govt being kind by exempting sales tax is also insulting. The amount of taxes everyone is forced to pay for their vehicles should cover more than enough for that minuscule sales tax!

• RedLine on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:10 am

Leo, your entire argument is based on wrong fact. The price for RON95 today (as at 1 June 2012) is RM2.72, not RM3.45. You can check this out yourself. Even Petronas station shows the current RON95 price without subsidy. So RON95 price is not higher than RON97. Please check your facts before misleading other people.

• Dr Mamak on Jun 07, 2012 at 4:59 am

Too little too late. Barang Naik regime is feeling panicky now. Ppl will rise against tyranny soon.

• eims @ gold on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:49 am

this means nothing..

• How about 10 cent increase? Mean nothing oso rite

• sleepwalkerz on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:50 pm

the ron 97 users are rich people (coz they can afford using expensive cars). so, increase the ron 97 price to subsidize the ron 95 users…

• 5 cent increase mean harga brg naik. 50 cents decrease mean harga brg tetap sama. got it??

• MCdog on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:11 am

Anyone here know the secret formula that determine the price?

• Yuzdi on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:38 pm

I know d secret….. those rakyats not clever in maths. Nxt election go for opposition. They promise to reduce d price somemore.

• Abuya on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:18 am

Don’t try to show clever you fool. And don’t say you don’t know what G do when the price fluctuate everyday.

• faizal on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:35 am

thanks g..
    but no point..

• haiya on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:39 am

naik salah, turun pun salah ka? haiyyaaaaaaa!!!! typical malaysian!

• AkiPahang on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:27 am

Bukan macam tu kawan, nak naik ka, nak turun ka ok jer…tapi jangan la kelentong! RON 95 w/o subsidy RM3.45; RON 97 ikut hrga pasaran RM2.80…logik ke? Lagi satu masa nak naik, suruh jurucakap peniaga minyak war-warkan, bila turun, asal tak suruh jurucakap peniaga minyak announce…bak kata Sherlock Holmes “it’s elementary, Mr Watson”

• RedLine on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:18 am

The price of RON95 without subsidy RM3.45??? Where on earth did you get this figure from? And not just where, but also WHEN? The price of petrol fluctuate over time. The RON95 price without subsidy today (as at 1 June 2012) is RM2.72. You check this out yourself on the internet, or the easiest way to check is to go any Petronas petrol station, they show you price of RON95 without subsidy, updated on monthly basis.

• turun tak ihlas LOL

• xsalah bro..but why now? when they should do it months ago..are they really implementing their so called floating strategy?

• sleepwalkerz on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:51 pm

coz they have lower down the ron 97, if they have lowered down the ron 95 price, then everybody will be happy!!

• ron97 on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:41 am

dah bagi betis nak peha pulak

• dozy888 on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:51 am

how does it affect 80% of malaysian ?

• Leong on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:03 am

wow.. i guess some of us still at kindergarten.. increase RM0.10 some of us barking.. turun RM0.10 still barking.. useless foolish dog! ungrateful rakyat!! ptttuuuihhh!!

• deftones on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:12 am

well, try to fill up full tank on your car..u save about only rm3..thats only 1 packet of kinder bueno u can get.. is it enough??

• AkiPahang on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:29 am

Ha ha ha Leong oh Leong, I pity you and your generations

• no one on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:37 am

Exactly!! just a bit too extreme… m’sians r like tat one only… expected!!

Should be thankful for even got subsidize for RON 95, they can even remove the subsidy… whos gonna stop them?

• RON95 without subsidy RM3.45. RON97 at floating market price RM2.80. What a wonderful world! :)

Read this!!!…u should see it at petrol pump

• Read this!!!…u should see it at petrol pump

RON95 without subsidy RM3.45. RON97 at floating market price RM2.80. What a wonderful world! :)

• true but saying your fellow countrymen as foolish dog only makes you look less educated than kindergarten kids.

• RedLine on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:18 am

I think the Government should just completely free float the Ron97. Let every petrol station determine their own Ron97 price and compete with each other, just like the petrol stations in the UK or other countries that does not have petrol subsidy.

• wowww…’big news’…so harga barang boleh turun la sekarang? is it?~~~

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:52 am

still expensive lerrrrr… T_T

• Kalun on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:57 am

Give me a minute!
    Increase the price of fuel ron 95,97 and diesel back to market price and add more tax by 20% of fuel price.

To compensate with that, Tax Free cars.
    Like a JackA**!

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:11 am

Or better yet provide reliable public transport with good coverage. This is something they have promised but failed to deliver every single damn time!

• Hadi1975 on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Ron 95 unsubsidised price rm3.45/ltr
    Ron 97 floated price rm2.80/ltr….
    Errr…how come ron97 is cheaper than ron95….

• kambinganas on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:42 pm

This is the key thing some dungus in the comments don’t understand why other logical comments are bashing the govt.

Floating/market price la konon our RON97.

• clutch_plate on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:46 pm

turun at least RM0.50 la.. baru terasa beza..

• DArkerMarker on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:52 pm

waaaaaaa……I’m sooooooo grateful to the govt!!!

NOT!

• Not a significant drop. Anyway, not many ppl using RON97 nowadays.

• LOlz all This electionz trick ler… If u ask me just stop the stupid ron95 oil and just subsidise the ron97.. We malaysia will be happy… So much of drama due to electionz!!!

• gulagula on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Vote for PR and everything will be ‘free’…free education…free water…freedom of speech…free to do gathering everywhere (except infront of someone house – nanti jiran marah)…but most important tax-free automobile & free petrol (we dig oil in our own soil what)…hehehe!

• kambinganas on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Which is better then? Barang naik govt, constantly cheating us of our hard earned money?

• BULLSH1T on Jun 07, 2012 at 4:22 pm

THIS IS LAME. WHEN CRUDE OIL PRICE WAS ALMOST USD110, RON97 WAS AT RM2.90. NOW CRUDE OIL PRICE DROPPED TO USD85(AROUND 20%++ DROP) AND OUR RON97 PRICE ONLY DROPPED 10 CENTS. DONT JUST GIVE US SOME BULLSH1T. ANY WAY, WE ARE THE ONE WHO PAY THE SUBSIDY WHEN WE BUY OUR CAR WITH THE HIGH TAX.

• kambinganas on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Lets not forget that cooking gas price has only been going up. Why no reduction in that? Because most Malaysians fail basic maths and keep voting the same bunch of thieves everytime.

• matjimat on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:03 pm

ron 95 is better than ron 97. Without subsidied ron 95 price will be rm 1.90 + 1.45{subsidies} = Rm 3.35.Whereas ron 97 price 2.90 without susidies so you think which is better in term of price or quqlity. Stupid cheated by the government in daylight hours.

• Bayang Putih on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:43 pm

if you all are more clever and more smart. i want anybody please answer me, how much the price for RON 98, 100, 102 (world market and malaysia price)?

• My Nissan Skyline used Ron 95. No problem. But the top speed drop. RON 97 more powerful & increase top speed.

• Who cares bout 97 prices? We ordinary rakyat being forced to pump 95, and my Wira so many bloody problems since started using 95, white smoke coming out, whole engine overhaul, knocking sound etc etc…

• cardreamer on Jun 08, 2012 at 9:14 am

They reduce the price of “rich people” petrol, but stripped off study loans for needy students to UNISEL. And we still want to vote this G into power?

Let us join hands to kick them out once and for all…we need to teach their arrogant a lesson!

• Cosmo Artemis on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:58 am

Price to rent an oil rig: USD250-500k a day.
    It takes to drill about 20 days to rig one well.
    Each platform have around 12-16 oil well to produce about 3,000 – 5,000 boe (Malaysian standard).
    One rig is never enough, nor economical to develop.
    Total oil rig rent cost about USD60 mil to drill oil from one area.
    Then add the cost for development (CAPEX) for each platform, circa USD1-1.5 billion. That count for your jacket, topside, FPSO, pipeline.
    Then add cost for manpower, utilities, operational (OPEX)…cough up another USD50-150 million/year. FPSO rental alone cost you USD90-USD150k/day.
    Then kebabom! After two or three years, from peak of 5,000 it drop to 3,000 boe. Alamakatok!
    What to do?
    Do you think our sea have a mega-size field like in Majnoon (Iraq) or Halfaya (Iraq), Tupi (Brasil) or Ghawar (Saudi Arabia)? Their production is 3-4 mb/day. Ours is 600-800 boe (oil, condy and gas totalled).

Just a point to ponder for anyone who think we have everything and deserve a low oil price like in Venezuela or Saudi.

Selamat Beramal di Hari Jumaat.

• Tarro on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Bro, ? Please provide us proper documentation for Malaysian Oilfield.Please entertain us on YOUR economics. How much you put your oil price during your economics evaluation? I still remember we are put average about USD60/barrel and it is still viable to produce. With current market of USD 80 – 110, Oil companies make a lot.

You seem smart. but apparently we are not discussing with Saudi/Venezuela. We are discussing when global crude price drop and our price not followed.

Selamat Hari Jumaat.

• Cosmo Artemis on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:21 pm

You also seems smart by guessing USD60/barrel. And I don’t need to elaborate more since you already know the secret. But one thing you must remember, from 600-800 boe (barrel of oil equivalent), it is not all crude. It is a combination of amount of gas and condensate converted to amount equivalent of per oil barrel oil equivalent. Also top up the crude; the total is let say 600k boe. Mind you, the gas price is measured in per million BTUs; in which we Malaysia sell at USD ‘cents’, our neighbours (they also produce gas) sell to their customer at ‘bucks’. And from the condensate you can get some money. And please don’t forget, my posting before is just for upstream operation (a pricipal driller could get up to RM2.4M a year!) ; downstream have not been counted yet – the distribution cost, terminal cost, plant cost, manpower etc.

Don’t you realize that, once the world crude prize drop, means our profit also drop? How about the investment which we made during the oil price is high? Oh yes, we need recoupe back.

I wonder, all whole world housing price is dropping like crazy, only in Malaysia always keep on increase.

• tanpa nama on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Wah.. malaysia do / provoke comparative analysis wrongly..
    where can compare with singapore/thai/indon as most Asean region are not oil producing nation except Brunei..

Some factual of oil producing nation price RONs..
    Saudi RON95 @ RM0.51/L
    Qatar RON97 @ RM0.875/L
    UAE RON98 @ RM1.59/L
    BruneiRON97 @ RM1.32/L

Go figure..
    yes if u compare to non-oil producing nation it will be more expensive!