Peugeot 308 facelift set for local introduction

Those eyeing the Peugeot 308 will be pleased to know that the facelifted form of the five-door hatch is set to be introduced here soon. As before, the car – which made its debut at the Geneva Motor Show last year – will be available in both Turbo and normally-aspirated VTi forms.

The facelift features a reworked front end, replete with a floating-style front grille and striking boomerang-shaped LED daytime running lights. The car also gets minor revisions to the rear. There are no details on specifications and features for both variants, and all that’s known thus far is the pricing of the Turbo, which is listed at RM121,888 on-the-road, a RM3k increase from the pre-facelift.

No idea if the 1.6 litre Prince mill in the Turbo features the increased output as seen on the 408 Turbo, which brings the THP 156 unit’s 156 hp up to 163 hp, but we’ll find out soon enough. Word has it that the official announcement will be in two weeks time, once the VTi pricing is finalised.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Butt is the same? No image?

• Vader on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:29 am

Facelift version should remain the price to attract more customer.
    Here facelift is another method to suck more money from the customer.
    However, still prefer the previous version design.
    Let wait and see what additional “add-on” worth RM3k.

• Jawabandar on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:50 am

This facelifted model had been introduced earlier in the uk market.

• faceslam on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:47 am

Nice, but partial fail because of the old-school whip antenna and bonnet nipples. C’mon, get with the times Peugeot, even Proton has got this right with the Perve! Leave these cheap design elements for the cheap brands like Perodua.

• confused on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:20 pm

1. Perodua’s antenna is collapsable and removeable. Not like 308’s.
      2. The bonnet nipple, as you called it, no longer exist in Alza and new Myvi.
      3. You’re a complete utter disgust to auto industry with that stupid comment.

Note: I don’t own P1 or P2. Just an automotive enthusiast.

• corny on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:00 pm

I love the nipples on my wife’s car bonnet!! suckz it daily u gonna luv it more each n every day with a peugeot!

• I got to say big improvement to the front end of the car.. the headlamps now comes with projectors looks stunning.

• shahril on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:54 am

One of my favorite! But review says so many gearbox problem from this 308..

• kambinganas on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Which review would that be? All the complaints that have been circulating are about the THP engine.
      I think you are confusing this for a VW.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:08 am

Hi Anthony, the advert for the facelifted 308 is already in the star paper yesterday. Price quoted at rm121,000

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:00 pm

BF, yes, am aware of it, hence the notation about the FL Turbo’s pricing.

• ben yap on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:23 am

awesome! the design now looks fresher. I believe most likely it will get the 163hp mill.

no pictures of the rear for the 308?

• Spritz on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:24 am

ben,

same engine as previously. only the 408 gets the 163hp powerplant.

• ben yap on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:47 pm

I called Peugeot today. you are right, it’s still 156hp, not powered by 163hp mill.

• Masked Ryder on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Too bad not the latest award wining Prince engine :-(
        Peugeot have to work hard on reliability issue, current 308 have long list of defect. :-S

• optimus on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:38 am

no more smiley face…looks better
    but that butt need more rework. looks the same.

• Kimi Raikkonen on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:52 am

Good car. Not-so great price and resale. :(

• theanswer on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:24 am

actually the price is not that bad..considering the amount of power and spec they provide us. but thinking abt the resale value…naa..i buy a car to drive, to enjoy..not for resale.

• don’t worry, you can’t even afford it

• kambinganas on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:39 pm

If you are worried about resale, then buy second-hand. All new car prices are over-inflated that is why it suffer during resale.

• tikus on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:15 am

Nice to have a upgrade engine 163bhp.

• alxand on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:30 am

its oredi in showroom. powertrain remain same.
    changes r on front view n it on interior plus some add on to the rear

• seancorr on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:35 am

Very rare do manufacturers launch a facelift and the price is still the same as the pre-facelift model….but I do agree that prices should remain the same. If it keeps increasing then in the future our Protons will be priced @ Honda prices and Honda prices will be priced @ BMW prices and so forth.

Anyhow….Naza sure has been taking its own sweet time to launch this car. It has been more than a year since its world debut and by the time sales start to pick up….a whole new model would have been launched!

• Nasim has the clear their stock before launching this new facelift model. Peugeot is not a fast selling car.

Too bad for those who just bought one yesterday for the old design.

• Jason Lim on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:12 am

From the pic i prefer the current design

• QChan on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Eaxctly my thoughts.

To me, the current 308 is more like the facelift of this new version. The current 308 appears to be more “in-the-face” as it were. Perhaps the current 308 may have less gizmos like LED running lights…..etc, but it obliges you a second look! Not this one…….sighh…. too polite looking.

• Espresso! Quick! on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:25 am

actually, if you stare at the new front for some time, it starts to look pretty good too. maybe we’re all too used to the current look already and need to get used to the new look. but, the 2 fronts of the 308 will surely divide opinion.

• Jackal on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:41 am

Is the interior is as what shown in this picture…
    Hope it is, like the slide up panel….

• kensomuse on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:22 pm

The price is officially set at RM121,888 as advertised in the papers yesterday but no news on the pricing of the VTi. Specs wise, they’re the same as the pre-FL except for some minor changes. Full review of the 308FL has been done … just do some googling and I’m sure you’ll come across it.

• kereta_lembu on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:58 pm

I think I’m not alone when I say that the exisitng model looks better than the FL model. Somehow the current model has a more fierce look to it. This one is more subtle but the DRL is a good update as most of the current cars have it these days. I read some comments on resale value. It always puzzles me when people buy cars they don’t really like because they can sell it off at a higher price later on. Before you enjoy already think about selling. Its sad because if you love cars with passion, then you should not think of resale value as your main point. If you need a car to get you from point A to point B, then such cars are not meant for you anyway.

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 07, 2012 at 4:04 pm

I still believe that this wouldnt come with SatNav even though there should be. Knowing Naza ~

• ichiban on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:17 pm

It’s not a deal breaker in my books. I’ve surveyed cars in this segment. They don’t come with SatNav either. Apart from the Slyphy I guess, if you can consider that to be in the same class at all…

• kambinganas on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Nasim should resolve the SatNav issue in the 508 first. No point in them jacking up the price with a feature we won’t be able to use.

• racotua on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:06 pm

you should know the french. they don’t make maps for this region, so no point paying for and having hardware that you can’t find software to use with.

• Philo Souffi on Jun 08, 2012 at 9:48 am

Mr. Bahar finally axed by DRB.
    http://www.businessweek.com/news/2012-06-07/lotus-fires-ceo-bahar-after-investigation-of-conduct

• F Fiesta on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:44 pm

This new Peugeot 308 the front exterior copying Ford Fiesta new facelift but I do I like it.

• mustafa on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:31 pm

who is copying who?…this design already on the 308 since last year face lift launch in europe…only now we see it in Malaysia…the fiesta face lift only seen on spy shot at the moment…..

• teelim on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Are we getting the paddle shifters as seen in the interior pic as well?

If no, I think the RM3k increase is a little too much for no real hardware change (aside from the cosmetic changes)

• Unforgiven on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Yup, they should include paddle-shift, GPS navi, leather seats, 5 years free services…

• racotua on Jun 09, 2012 at 7:37 pm

maybe 18″ wheels and a full body kit with full leather interior to make the price worthwhile… and the list goes on isn’t it? oh, don’t forget the projector lamps with auto swivelling feature as well…

• Jason Lim on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Anybody know where i can get the pre FL 308 turbo?SA told me out of stock d..now they only sell the FL one

• Spritz on Jun 09, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Jason,

No more pre-facelift. All facelift models already. If you want pre-facelift, only got VTi. That also finishing already.

• Sam Loo on Jun 12, 2012 at 7:15 am

Sui Kwan car wor

• Spritz on Jun 17, 2012 at 1:36 am

where got ‘sui kwan’ nowadays? maybe you ‘fat siew’ lah.

• Terry on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Facelift 308 VTI not released yet… no news on pricing so far.

• mustafa on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:15 am

Saw this in Oto …
    Peugeot 308FL
    New 308 Face Lift

1.6 Turbo On The Road Price RM121,888.00
    1.6 VTI On The Road Price RM102,888.00

• Terry on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Any idea what the average life cycle is for a Peugeot Car (particularly 308)?
    I read in wikipedia that the car was launched in 2007, facelifted in 2011 (which should be this FL in Malaysia), and is highly likely to be replaced with a all new model in 2013… =)

• adolf on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:19 am

Own the 308 turbo bought in 2010. nothing but problem. valve leaking. then somehow battery died less than 6 mths after purchase. now have problem with the depolluting system. service advisor said i drove too slow hence the system could not clean the air properly. wtf i drive on average 180kmh on highway, always racing against golf gti. regretted buying this. now using mum’s car cos the problem needs two weeks to be solved. Plus the 3 weeks I had to wait to get a service slot, it will be 5 weeks in total. I am left ruing my luck and wondering, is it the car problem or the service centre problem? cant wait to get rid of the car and get a new hatch. and no preve comment pls! i dont need a big car.

• K-Man on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:28 am

maybe the new sc near the old ks will help reduce waiting times. the sales guys been telling that there will be more sc set up in klang valley. hope it smoothens the servicing appointments.

• adolf on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Yeah really hope so. By the way, I dont understand why the sc needs to have ladies to entertain customers at the counter. I think I shd call them service advisors but I dont care. No offense, but they know next to nothing abt the car. Bring back the old mechanic pls to explain to me what happened to my car.

• K-Man on Jun 29, 2012 at 8:01 am

maybe what’s really needed are more service centres right here in the city. more centres mean more cars get a chance for a shorter appointment period to get service and also to have their car serviced or repaired and it gives customers choice of location. i think the girls are oklah. maybe they just need to brush up on their car knowledge.

• My friend’s 308 car battery can only last for 1 year or shorter even though he is not travelling much. Something wrong with this car.