Aslam Farikullah is new Lotus Chief Operating Officer, Dany Bahar sacked!

It has been officially confirmed that Dany Bahar has been sacked by Lotus. Group Lotus issued a statement that Bahar has been terminated from his employment as chief executive officer of Lotus, with immediate effect.

The statement adds that the decision was made by the Board of Group Lotus following the results of an investigation into a complaint made against him by the company’s parent, which is of course DRB-Hicom. Bahar was suspended two weeks ago.

There was no mention of the reasons behind the dismissal, though reports indicate that DRB-Hicom apparently didn’t think much of the way the Lotus’ boss used the company’s money. Bahar was reported to have spent hundreds of thousands of pounds to spruce up his rented home, and racking up a million quid in chartering private aircraft to fly him to F1 races and other global events undoubtedly added to the axe falling.

Lotus announced the appointment of Aslam Farikullah as the company’s chief operating officer. The 51-year-old, a permanent resident of the UK, has over 26 years of working experience, most of which has been in the automotive industry.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wayangkulit on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:32 am

the brain drain starts!

• good riddance to bad rubbish

• Tengku Rex on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:32 am

Bad karma for this guy. From Sauber to Red Bull then Ferrari and now Lotus. I’ve got bad feeling about him before and it turned out to be true. Adios Bahar.

• persona on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:37 am

or its just dr m removing them to put his ppl there? just like DSZ?

• anti-dugong on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:00 am

wow…really amazing!

• Don’t you ever read the article properly? On how he spent the company’s money?
      Doing some speculation and blind accusation eh?

• Lim Kopi on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:50 am

Think people, try to read more on what other websites are talking about …. of course, no one knows what really happen apart from those in DRB.

It could very well be the problem on Danny boy’s part, or it could be just another typical scenario of internal politics,eg DRB may just want to put their own people at the helm now that they are the owners of lotus, i mean thats possible right?

Read more before judging:
        http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/industry/bahar-dismissed-group-lotus-boss

• hmmm might be too…there are possiblities too bro…
      very well said…

• Dictionary on Jun 08, 2012 at 5:27 pm

You probably don’t know what the term ‘very well said’ means. Just…stop.

• johndoe on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:35 am

put someone like ceo of japan airline…
      http://boingboing.net/2011/02/25/japan-airlines-ceo-p.html

• udasalleh on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:51 am

so… there goes the five year Lotus turnaround plan half way there… does this mean drb gonna come up with a new five year plan?

• I still think 5 cars is way too many for a company in current situation.. Lotus shud just focus on 2 or max 3 cars only.. and make it really a great car! I suggest those 2 are elise and esprit. make the elise as people sport car, just like it current pricing and esprit a ferrari competitor.. where buyer dun ask how much is the price of the car…u take it or leave it! Go Lotus… Go Proton!!

• Evora on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:54 am

Sad to hear this, sacking someone halfway through a transformation project on very lame reasons.

The Lotus is a gem covered with dirt but to the small minded people, its just an a piece of rock. It takes time to polish the gem by a master to bring out its glorious colors. Unfortunately for Lotus, the guy hired to polish it have been fired.

For me, Dany had done a great job at Lotus, transforming its image and prioritizing its products so that it can compete with the best in the sportscar market.

So now we are left with a company without a visionary. It will likely doom the company and probably will be sold very cheaply to the Germans or the Chinese.

• well unfortunately the guy hired to polish it ate and waste so much money. hundred thousands pounds of Proton’s money that supposed to be used on the Lotus five-year plan, spent on his house? sapa tak marah?

a million pound spent for private jet? WTF? low fare flight is enough la. even DRB-Hicom’s own officers only took public transport/drive own car to their destination/event venue.

• underskinned on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Do you expect him to be very frugal and fly with Air Asia? First class makes more sense.

• This could be the downfall of lotus. and i hope im wrong.

• DewaSemut on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:26 pm

This is a classic case of “harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi” laa bro… :)

• Nuffsaid on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:44 pm

It was a bad call for Proton to take over Lotus in the first place. Why a young and governmental-support automobile company of a developing country needed a low-volume unpractical sport car company in the first place? Is the Lotus-tuning really work magically well for average-joe’s daily ride?

If it was privately funded, I do not care any tycoons in the nation allowing his employees to fly gold plated private jet or pouring millions for individual enjoyment. We already had enough debates of the existence of Proton and its significance to our country’s economy and automotive industries.

While I still skeptical what and how DRB would turn Proton into, getting rid of high-roller Bahar and maybe later Lotus definitely making some business sense. I don’t know how many percent of the taxes I paid for my car had eventually gone into financing Lotus’ survival. But being a citizen of this country working hard to meet basic needs, I welcome any decisions that help reducing the unnecessarily spending one way or the other.

If Bahar’s removal will help Proton to save millions of USD, and the savings will eventually help making better or cheaper cars, why not?

• Henry on Jun 08, 2012 at 8:04 pm

DB should be clever enough to sign himself an ironclad contract with Proton when he joined subsidiary Lotus. The compensation would be very generous I’m sure.

• Whynot on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:20 am

You r sure damned right brother’s. Proton should had used Lotus engineering on all Proton’s car both inside and outside in design. Sadly using or rather selling Lotus to make more monies is a very bad choice. Everyone dreams of having a sport car at an affordable price should have been Proton main aims when acquiring Lotus. But unfortunately, selfishness ended in one minds of trying to make himself rich only to see this sad ending of the story. What a pity to this capitalist dream in a rubbish moment right now!

• King George VII on Jun 11, 2012 at 3:33 pm

part & parcel to host commonwealth games

• fraz006 on Jun 12, 2012 at 8:27 pm

hey,it makes my sister savvy handles godlike! hehehe. true story, bro. myvi ftw?

• mikey on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:01 pm

This is called shiok sendiri!
        It is cool to own Lotus even though it is losing money and will bleed Proton even more.
        Same like MV Agusta. Lots of millions lost. Why buy a motorbike company in the first place?

• Dictionary on Jun 08, 2012 at 5:30 pm

You’re obviously not familiar with corporate strategic planning. You don’t depend on ONE PERSON to transform the company. He’s not Steve Jobs. The plan will have already been laid out in detail. Any competent CEO can carry on with the work. I find your boner for Danny very curious.

• Kambing Gurun on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Ermm.. you mean he’s doing well in announcing a number of almost similar looking sports cars with different names to be launched in few years time?

• ignoramus on Jun 08, 2012 at 7:42 pm

mannn.. you obviously have no clue on the infamous Bahar. You’re not from the industry are you?

• actually according to other news report , selling to chinese is what danny wanted because there is a clause in his contract that he will get 5% of it. and he creaed acompany lotus youngman with himself as director

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:55 am

Hambek kau!

• rosdi on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:17 am

How come I feel happy reading this news?.. weird..

• Lotus seed paste on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:18 am

Lotus is only for ‘Cari Nama saja’ and play thing of auto big wigs in Malaysia…in truth it really
    doesn’t benefit the majority man in the street…who wouldn’t care less even if David Copperfield takes over.

• akula on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:20 am

really proud, Malaysian now can fired mat saleh, show to the world we are true master.

• elarejim on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:54 pm

See you in court! DRB..Sue DANY BAHAR! SUE Dany Bahar! SUE Dany Bahar! Sue this org putih!

• albag on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:31 am

the hell is this Aslam Farikullah guy?

• http://www.drb-hicom.com/cms/Lists/Published%20Content/DispForm.aspx?ID=1062

Mohd Aslam Farikullah
      Head,
      Vehicle Manufacturing Projects
      of Hicom

• Jonathan Lee on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Never thought of Bahar as a particularly honest guy, but he did have vision.

I’m not sure about Aslam Farikullah, either. It just seems like DRB-Hicom is just putting their own people in. I’d expect them to find someone more…recognised for his talents. Nevertheless, I hope he has the chops to run the company. More importantly, I hope he has the guts to turn the company around and the will and the capability to make it succeed. It would be a sad day if/when Lotus ceases to exist.

• donnatello on Jun 08, 2012 at 7:58 pm

wtf.. putting a local ppl inside lotus?

• Tengku Rex on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Google is your best companion, read it up here http://bit.ly/Knev82

• it is amazing how these big corps allowed funds to be unmonitored for years, only to cry when the disaster hits… what has their auditors been doing for the past years????

• Baba O'Reilly on Jun 08, 2012 at 3:22 pm

A good case study.

1. Risk analysis of Dany Bahar’s business plan by Proton.
      2. Risk analysis of Dany Bahar’s business plan by the banks
      3. Financial analysis of Dany Bahar’s spending.
      4. Human Resources – why didn’t they notice that something was amiss until DRB-Hicom got into the picture?
      5. Board of directors – what is their take on this?

• Hanis on Jun 09, 2012 at 11:49 pm

covering up…

• silver on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:46 am

i seriously dont like the new design concept that is coming out from lotus.. hope they decide to change it though…

• Arashikage on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:47 am

When, you put an accountant in charge. Everything to them is ‘wasting money’. You don’t see any South Korean ‘chaebol’ headed by an accountant. That’s why they’re not afraid to spend money to make more money.

• Not true…Air Asia’s Tony Fernandes is an accountant before. He surely know how to make more money from a little money.

• u might want to check properly of AK’s so-called amazing performance.

• QUATTRO on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:44 pm

same goes to TNB CEO > all teh stragegic land and properties was sold and believe or no TNB profit that year clock 4Billion, but the next year only can archive 2 billion only > you know what > all the prospective land alraedy sold like Felda Hotel Car Park in kuala terengganu. sighh…

• Dictionary on Jun 08, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Tell me how flying around in a private jet is spending money to make more money? Or renovating one’s house? More money for HIM la.

• 1.8MT on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:05 pm

possibly he will be in Sauber Petronas after this…huhu

• ben yap on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:06 pm

that’s the man with a dishonest face. He must have learn that from our G.

• LOTUS = Lots of Trouble Usually Serious!

• 1000horses on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Wonder if his frens tat supported him earlier would be next in line too….I’m sure he’s not the only one living like a king while all other top guns live in slums….bet they are all now sending out resumes….

• Wazzup on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:27 pm

let’s the engineering do the talking….instead of some miami vice lookalike dude lead the company.

LOTUS been winning and sitting considerably high on the F1 ladder lately. This fact alone will attract more attention towards the brand…but sadly! LOTUS dont have enough cars in its stable…

Release the ESPRIT…..please!

• waoh, pandai2 je ko mat salleh eh..erm…how to apply that vacancies..anyone know?..hehe

• Gavin on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:29 pm

You’re welcome Danny, on behalf of all the tax paying malaysians, don’t let the door hit you on the way out

• “Aslam Farikullah as the company’s chief operating officer. The 51-year-old, a permanent resident of the UK, has over 26 years of working experience, most of which has been in the automotive industry.”

Wow, his CV were in auto parts, truck and buses. That is just great for lotus!

• hmmm, seems like drb is appointing someone whom is very meticulous on costing and can help in reducing those leakages….yup, thats why his experience in auto parts/trucking will come in handy due to those industry very tight margin & price sensitive market…i do believe, if Lotus manage their costing wisely…they’l be profitable

• policeman on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:46 pm

I guess new lotus cars will ride like buses and sprint like trucks.

• Hanis on Jun 09, 2012 at 11:57 pm

the level of ignorance of this person is too annoying that i had to comment.. sigh…

• Azlan on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Give the guy a chance bro. Even Tony who was in Music Industry can turn around Air Asia to be one (if not the prime) low cost carrier in the world now.
      They should start somewhere

• start on Jun 08, 2012 at 5:30 pm

LOTUS Trucks on the way…

• mikey on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:04 pm

can’t wait to ride in a Lotus RapidKL bus

• Good riddance.

• pekan on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:01 pm

I had the privilege to work for him when he was attached to Hicom Automotive a few years ago.

• This is obviously drb trying to take full control of lotus and own it. By the mean of sacking bahar and replace it with a malaysian. They might be a big plot behind this shit… Surely malaysian govt is interventing this issue as always. Sibuk buat kacau orng lain punya pasal.

• danielgks on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:12 pm

proton oh proton
    last time was king kenny with his moto gp.
    nothing much came about from that.
    now this fellow.
    proton is just a cash cow for all this mat salleh.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Dany Bahar,

Please send your resume to [email protected]

Many benefit to successful applicant. Free house renovation.

• challenging times ahead, but hopefully cool heads shall prevail in hethel…

interesting to see how the brit press react to all these…

1) cardiff ditching their blue strip for red
    2) malaysian consortium won the bid to redevelop the battersea power station
    3) and now danny bahar sacked

malaysians messing-up their revered institutions….

for the good perhaps?..

• What happened to the billions pumped to develop 5 sports car?

• KillBox1Alpha on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Bungkus la Lotus.

• kerelbort on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Aslam Farikullah is the Hicom-Potenza Sports Cars Sdn Bhd CEO which manufactured Westfield Sportscars.
    (correct me if I’m wrong)

Hopefully he could steer back Lotus into the right lane. Fast lane!

• evolva on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Tony Fernandez will be super genenrous tonight at the pub he’s going tonight, most probably free flow to all the customer…..Finally “Sweet Sweet Revenge”.I still remember he quoted this “In the end the good will always win” not sure if this the case he’s referring to. :)

• DanyBoy on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:58 pm

You msian dont know how the european works, to them they are entitled to all these perks ! Private jets, lavish gifts, 5 star travels are their special rights of a CEO. You pay peanuts you get yourself a monkey to work for ya !

• oblong on Jun 08, 2012 at 5:23 pm

We (Malaysian) FIRED him ala ‘European Style’ because we (Malaysian) watch to much EPL & La Liga and learn how they just fired their manager when things gone slightly wrong hahahaha!

• adam4u on Jun 08, 2012 at 5:43 pm

Oh… Welcome to malaysia. You must be new here.

• Thats y european are in trouble now…they have so much debt to cover cost of their living that bring their economy down

• no wonder european economy is falling down. so many wastage. so many debt lol.

• Preve on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Good job drb hicom

• Anti mat salleh on Jun 08, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Hahaha that is a good move by DRB HICOM. Dany Bahar can go back and sell peanuts. Foreigners ni especially mat salleh ingat depa tu pandai sgt ke? I’ve work with few consultants and top mgmts especially org putih ni. You know how to talk only goreng sana goreng sini in the end semua bullshit. You always think you are far superior from other races especially asian. Now you know asian is more superior than your races. One day you will beg from us asian for lunch.

• Dewata on Jun 08, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Check this out => http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/markets/article-2153702/The-high-living-Lotus-boss-row-1m-flying-expenses.html

• Jonathun Lee on Jun 08, 2012 at 5:04 pm

A wise man once said “If the nectar of the deliciously ever fulfilling fruit is presented to you, drink it like there’s no tomorrow “. Who is the
    wise man who said that? Why its Danny boy who said it to himself just right
    before penning his contract in 2009…

• endOFtheYear on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:11 pm

yaya…no problem man..go ahead private jet to watch F1 & yaya…go ahead renovate ur rented home bcox u deserved it. Than the game started….y..y..tell me y? ahhha

• Julian Lee on Jun 08, 2012 at 7:10 pm

BMW CEO better

• Henry on Jun 08, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Next thing for Proton to do is sell Lotus. We have no business propping up the economy of a 1st World Nation like the UK. Unless sombody tells me Lotus is making beautiful profits. They may need another loan of GBP240 million.

Charity begins at home.

• first of all you lozer (keyboard warriors) here typing crap need to chill out..
    you have to read Danny did what he did as per mandate of his appointment as per contract (** assuming people here know english)..
    also he is managing a super car not so call people’s car or lozer’s car..
    so im pretty sure u dont go around with normal airline; 1st class or biz class..
    regards to that u have to show image and thus travel on private jet/copter/cruiser..
    its about prestige/recognition..
    nothing to do about spending..
    R&D require large sump of $$; same to promotion..

• MrDDR on Jun 08, 2012 at 8:31 pm

What so super about Lotus Car anyway

• Toyota engine?

• Whynot on Jun 09, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Not so great of a sport car as compare to Lambo and Ferra. That is why you can’t sell many and should had use the design on all Proton model stock cars. At least we Malaysian can very proud with our Govt. good intentions and drive Lotus Proton Saga with pride and looks sporty everyday on Malaysia road. Sadly it is just a bad nightmare of selfishness and greed.

• insider on Jun 08, 2012 at 8:55 pm

assuming you know how to use proper English at all, we don’t have to read the contract because it’s between Bahar and Lotus/DRB! you speak as if you’re the one who drafted his contract or something?

of course R&D require large sum, not the sump that we remove when draining the engine oil. still, prestige or recognition aside, it does not mean you have to spend excessively in order to do effective promotion.

but in the end, it’s good to know that he screwed up and paid the price for it.

you seem sad to see the guy go, aren’t you? you got some ‘duit kopi’ from him or something?

• Expats on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Totally agreed with ya ! Imagine Mr Bahar travels in your Airasia ! Going to LCCT check in with all the “Foreign Expats from the 3rd world” ! How the image of Lotus going to be presented ? DRB Hicom is making excuses to get rid of him thats all and that is a disgrace and bad taste. Now they can really save some money paying the new CEO in Ringgit, flying him around in Airasia peanuts not included somemore ! hahaha…

• You won’t post this your comments if you REALLY KNOW what was going on and the reputation that precedes Dany Bahar. Btw Lotus is not a ‘super car’. Never was, never is. It is a sports car but nothing in the vein as expensive, exclusive etc. Lotus cars have traditionally been no frills and inexpensive and with small engine. Know the brand first!

• Probably Proton could sell 20% of Lotus and see how it goes. Dany thinks Lotus is his dad’s company? Really angry with what he did.

• Kalun on Jun 08, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Well, Volkswagen.
    If you see this, please buy Proton and saves the world.

Don’t give up. We know that you guys wanna give up on buying automotive brands due to on low budget.

But Please, we would love that to happen. No more rubbish cars and rubbish management like this “Dany Bahar”.

Please! Superior quality and cheap solutions is the way for proton is Volkswagen bought Proton.
    That’s How Skoda become awesome and favoured by Top Gear hosts due to it’s cheap price(Same price as Proton in UK), superior quality and great reliability.

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 08, 2012 at 9:14 pm

$&@# off back to mother England, you dirty English pig. And get buried in shit when you die. Bring along dssz with you into the pig sty graveyard

• ignoramus on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Hei you racist pig! Do you know that he is not English (neither is he British). You’re IGNORANT! Typical racist!

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 08, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Hey Dany , go back to your pig sty home of yours

• Expats on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Hey dont need to get nasty and calling ppl names…and he is Turkish btw !

• JEAN ALESI, you’re next!

• Joe Jambul on Jun 09, 2012 at 8:42 am

We put an engineer to turnaround Proton – results were better products no doubt, but not so great financials.

We put an ex-sales marketing and communication or in short, a celebrity, in Lotus – result is we are whining about his lavish lifestyle of which has been a nature to him even before joining the company. would you change your lifestyle for the sake of a company? I wouldn’t think so. After all its just a company not like ‘bapak dia punya bisnes’ like Porsche family if it collapses they’d die too.

Who wants to bet the next CEO candidate would be a tough and frugal accountant?

• Hanis on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:12 am

if we put an accountant, we’ll have a box car.. no pun intended.

• Can’t blame him, he had learnt a lot from BN..

• big deal….we have politicians who run our country eating more money than this Bahar guy. that small amount is nothing compared to what DRB and Proton directors songlap

• Azydy on Jun 09, 2012 at 10:49 pm

agreed.. DRB just give a reason to sack Bahar, so they can afford their people.. politic corruptions and conspiracy

• Sorry no! DRB sacked Bahar because he is a con man. Ask RedBull and Ferrari. Oops you can’t coz you’re not from the industry.

• jualkapet on Jun 09, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Aslam Farikullah?? Habisssss….

• Talk about cronies, what do the directors or executives in DRB Hicom or proton drives? What house do they stay? They sacked the person who made the transformation plan for Lotus and replace with their own crony, what does that tell you? Replace the good guy with the bad guy?
    Corrupted politics? So, where’s the source of these problems? It’s the creation of P1! No P1, no corruption, no money lost, no acquisitions of Lotus, no problem. But because P1 want to jaguh kampung, they bought Lotus and hired many directors from different companies to build sports car for them. If P1 trust themselves, they should use local people to design and build Lotus cars. Obviously they don’t! How can you trust a company that don’t trust their own people? If you’re smart, you’ll stop buying proton cars. When they no money, proton close shop, corrupted system will end and by this all cronies will close shop as well. Rakyat will then be happy.

• “..what does that tell you?”

It tells me that you have absolutely no clue what is going on and what you’re talking about

• Joe Jambul on Jun 10, 2012 at 11:47 am

errr…don’t u think most of their exec still drives proton or perodua being the cheaper options of a car in our beloved country?

in my opinion, the root of the problem is the fact that some of us are soooo emotional when it comes to Proton or Lotus in such a way as if those companies belong to ourselves. Come on la, they are just corporations, a totally soulless entities, they don’t affect your wellbeing pun if they do anything that is out of your order. keep in ur mind whenever u feel soo emotional, proton is proton, not syarikat rakyat malaysia or even kebanggaan malaysia. DSSZ and Dany is out, so what? On Monday most of us will still start our proton again and go to our workplace regardless.

• Anwar Ibrahim on Jun 10, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Hello Danny boy……how would you like to meet me tonite at my condo. We can discuss your future and we can sodomy each other. Interacial ok too….muahhhhh

• Danny Bahar on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:57 am

Hi Anwar,

I would love too……i’ve been waiting all this while to have 3 some with you. I’ll pm you okay baby.

• Yeah, we actually love Proton and Lotus. Now Lotus should now concentrate on replacing the Elise and release the espirit. Lotus is known for producing excellent, no frills and cheaper sports cars, that is its strength, concentrate on that. Good luck lotus. Cheers

• Daddy Anwar on Jun 10, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Dannyyyyyyy i loikeeeee

• mikey on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:08 pm

I wish those corrupted politicians of ours can be just as easily fired. They swindled much more of our hard earned money than this Danny boy