Honda 2NH MPV based on Brio being developed

Honda has unveiled that it is developing a new affordable MPV based on the Honda Brio. The new Brio-based MPV is codenamed the Honda 2NH, and it will be produced at Honda’s new RM1.05 billion automobile production plant in Karawang Industrial Park, Jakarta, Indonesia, alongside the Brio.

The new MPV is designed for Asian countries, and we expect it to be sold in markets such as ASEAN and India, and it will have local content of approximately 80%, which is up from the current level of about 50%.

Just like how Thailand is famous for their affinity towards pick-up trucks, Indonesia is the ASEAN MPV haven, and many automobile companies have based their ASEAN MPV production there. Even European companies have invested in Indonesia for MPV production – Volkswagen invested RM166 million in 2009 to assemble the Volkswagen Touran, Volkswagen Transporter T5 and Volkswagen Multivan there, with full fledged manufacturing to be considered in the future.

Honda’s existing small MPV the Honda Freed is also built in Indonesia for the region, but perhaps the Freed is a little too expensive and of not the right shape (it’s very JDM-inspired) to really compete with other ASEAN MPVs such as the Toyota Avanza and the Nissan Grand Livina. We expect the new Honda Brio-based MPV to follow a more traditional MPV shape, trim and price tag.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• abdul123 on Jun 10, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Hail Mahathir, the father of Thailand and now Indonesia motor industry.

• labour cost in Thailand and Indonesia is cheaper than here.

• polo saga on Jun 10, 2012 at 9:31 pm

not to mention the share have to be ripped off by our greedy government

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 10, 2012 at 10:24 pm

You should have a chat with DRB manufacturing floor workers to see how wrong you are with your statement.

• lonelyobserve on Jun 10, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Not only that, vehicles there are not subject to heavy duties imposed like in Boleh Land, which foreign car makers are delighted to set up plants in Thai & Indon.

• Excise tax is impose to car buyer not car maker…it is clearly stated in custom act

• I bet ur reason is NAP….Give me 1 part of NAP that coz manufacturer dont want to setup plant here? Dont say excise tax..all car tax here

• Car production bet thai, indo n boleh not much diff….549k for thais, 561k for indos n 496k for for bolehs 2011 statistic….boleh lacking commercial vehicle production… 929k for thais, 276k for indos n only 44k for bolehs…..2011 statistic..that fact

• Gabla on Jun 10, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Proud to have a national brand?

I would be even more proud if we could make cars that can be accepted in open markets although we do not have our own brand. Looks like Indonesia will overtake us soon.

• pumpkin on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:01 am

yes,pround to hav national brand. but shame on our national vehicle industry.

• yrauzim on Jun 10, 2012 at 9:39 pm

pls move to thailand. nobody want u. short thinker.

• hanifhamzah on Jun 10, 2012 at 5:23 pm

front head lamp design quite similar to viva’s.

• I wonder when honda malaysia will introduce this ‘baby honda’ in malaysia?

• I sense NAP, Proton, TM..story will come

• Jimmy on Jun 10, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Expect an accordish price in Malaysia: RM78888.00 for a H-Biba, with toyotish spec.

• kuncisudu on Jun 10, 2012 at 10:11 pm

im not impressed. they (thai and indon) just be a place to assemble cars. no real tech or knowledge transfer given to local. in this case, perodua is better than them (at least, perodua can design front grill better than brio).

• wishful on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:34 am

i dont mind as long as they can generate more jobs & stimulate the supporting economies. guess, msian will soon have to work in indon in the future. and my maid will be more richer & wont need to work here. once her country overtake us, she can work / starts business there

• koochai on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:09 am

just bring it on…the sooner the better…
    freed is mega disaster!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 11, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Freed is a disaster here because of the price. Only Honda thinks they can sell that disaster at the price they put it up. Its no way as competitive as the other “midi”vans like the Grand Livina, Eastar and the smaller and cheaper Alza.

• YeapyEvo on Jun 11, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Affordable ? hahaha… No Toyota and Honda are really affordable in Malaysia, they will never be allowed, and they don’t even care coz Malaysian will just buy anything with T & H

• ezracopters on Jun 12, 2012 at 12:23 pm

new Viva???