Jazeman Jaafar wins at Rockingham, leads the British F3 Drivers’ Championship after four rounds

Jazeman Jaafar is truly on a roll. The 19-year-old Petronas Talent Programme driver celebrated a dominant win at Rockingham Motor Speedway in Corby, UK over the weekend, the fourth round of the British F3 International Series. He finished sixth and fourth in the other two races, and now leads the British F3 Drivers’ Championship.

A storming start off the line in the first race catapulted him into the lead and the Malaysian’s Volkswagen-powered Carlin Dallara led the field for 22 laps, building up a healthy 2.1 second gap to take the chequered flag. Jazeman also posted the fastest lap of the race. Three Fortec Dallara-Merc drivers finished behind him.

“I’ve had another really strong weekend of racing and with an outright win in the first race I’m very happy. Leading the championship is good, although there’s still a long way to go and my focus is on each individual race at the moment, with a win each time being my ultimate goal.

“In the races today I was very competitive but this long, sweeping track is difficult to overtake on and with a similar pace, the field was quickly strung out. Three top six race finishes, including a very special win, and a haul of 37 points is a good weekend’s work,” Jazeman reflected.

This good weekend follows Jazeman’s first ever British F3 win in Pau and an F3 Euro Series win at Brands Hatch the following week. He was also on the podium at the F3 Euro Series round at Red Bull Ring Spielberg. His next British F3 race is at Brands Hatch, so there could be more good news to come!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ouldmenaz on Jun 12, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Well done JJ!!

• taboogen on Jun 12, 2012 at 2:11 pm

wow… now malaysian are invading UK…. go go jazeman….

• I wonder what the ‘meh’ people are thinking….

• Hotel on Jun 12, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Way to go Jazeman! Keep up the good work maybe one day we’ll truly have a world class drive in a bigger motorsport stage…

• Atta Boyy……You make us Malaysian Proud……

• anti-first on Jun 12, 2012 at 4:22 pm

keep it rolling, jazeman!!!

• Kumar san on Jun 12, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Brilliant work Jazeman,you make us proud.

Keep up the awesome work dude.

Cheers.

• kuat kong kek on Jun 12, 2012 at 9:05 pm

we going to have a truly f1 driver…alex yoong…hmmm…

• If ever Caterham approach you pls don’t accept, repeat don’t accept! You deserve to be a top team driver. Congratulation.

• Littlebear on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Your advice is wrong fird. If Caterham do offer him a seat, Jazeman should take it. He needs to show to other big teams what he can do with the car. Fernando Alonso started off with Minardi & was always a second faster than Alex. Even Mark Webber was with Minardi when he started off with his F1 career.

• Awesome..!!! :) :) :)

• JJ fan on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:37 am

Caterham ???? NO coz JJ big sponsor fm PETRONAS !!

• alex chan on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:14 am

waste of rakyat and tax payer money only..he must have relatives in BN…waste..

• Leonardo on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:07 am

Way to go JJ. Keep your results coming, as one day some team owner will notice you. Stand out from the crowd. Ignore negative comments from people like Alex Chan here. Good luck and make Malaysians proud.