Art of Speed show to feature ‘Kustom Kulture’ and hot rods, the first such event in Malaysia

The Art of Speed show will be happening on 23-24 June at Publika, Solaris Dutamas. Art of Speed is billed as Malaysia’s first “Kustom Kulture” and hot rod show featuring all things “custom”. The show’s tagline is “celebrating art in automotive culture”. Still don’t understand? Viewing the pics below will help :)

Switchblade, a rockabilly (rock n’ roll + hillbilly) lifestyle boutique cum diner based in Publika is the organiser of this event. “We have been planning this show since the past one year. It should be able to entice various crowds that are into hod rods, body tattoo, fixed gear bicycles and photography. We are also inviting airbrush artists to display their work,” said Asep Ahmad Sastrawidjaja, MD of Switchblade.

To be held at Publika’s The Square and White Box, Art of Speed is modeled after the successful Mooneyes Yokohama Hot Rod & Custom Show that recently celebrated its 20th anniversary. KickAss Choppers from Jakarta and Thor Chops and Kustoms from Bangkok will be flown in for the event, along with their jaw dropping machines, of course.

Besides modified metal, visitors will also get to view artwork in various formats – canvas, poster, moving visual, sculpture and rolling art. Decky Kaitaua Bahjanoon, am Indonesian director of photography that made his name in Europe, will be setting up a gallery within the show.

The highlight of the weekend event will be the Midnight Cruise where traffic police will be escorting a parade of customised choppers and hot rods around KL city.

Organisers are expecting 50 machines (American muscle cars, Japanese old school, hot rods and choppers) displayed and 10,000 visitors over the weekend. Performing artistes include Altimet, The Malayan and LOKA Band, among others.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• droll on Jun 13, 2012 at 9:13 pm

wow!! nice! never knew there was such a movement in m’sia. on the other hand, a guy who stays a couple of houses away from me has a very nicely maintained holden hot rod!!

• whysoserious on Jun 13, 2012 at 9:33 pm

wow..this is cool!

• Lim Kopi on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Who else out there thinks this place won’t last more than a year … gimme a thumbs down! :)

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:09 am

That Chevy using Kuching plat number!!

• peeche on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:23 am

we call it back wheel bithes.. but the impala is bleeding.. hehe..

• peeche on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:24 am

we call it back wheel bitches.. but the impala is bleeding.. hehe..

• At first, when I scroll down the page i thought that the bolt’s m3 was in the custom section… :D

• paparadzi on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:41 am

Can those modified Wiralutions and Wajalutions be considered custom cars too? If so, custom is alive and well in Malaysia!!!

• carazy on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:38 am

right hand drive Impala, cool..

• Ah, the good ol’ days where the ABC of safety doesn’t exists, and it wasn’t given a damn.
    These cars were for real men who knew how to drive like one. :-D

Today’s drivers are now such pussy, so pampered. Me included.

• EDDIE on Jun 14, 2012 at 3:56 pm

That impala is damn sexy!!! Me likesta

• Art of Speed on Jun 14, 2012 at 7:02 pm

Dont forget to join us on 23 & 24 June!

• Victor on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:26 am

A bit off topic…
    All I know is that I was at Switchblade 2 nights ago with the family for dinner and the burgers were awesome! Try the lamb burger and chicken burger :)

• I wish I still had my ex = a custom 8 feet long old skool hard-tail chopper (no springs under the seat), twisted metal springer front end, 250cc old Kawasaki engine. Riding it was fun on the highways. Gave it up because my kidneys couldnt take anymore of bumpy rides! Regret til now for selling it, i shouldve just kept it on my garage for art’s sake!

• indera on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:03 pm

we are from volksel.com will be there on that event..

• Mumtaz on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:56 am

Not mistake the Impala was own by one of minister in Kuching, Sarawak… The classisc Thor will coming… Like… :)

• i think its good