Auto transmission vehicle driving test postponed

The government has postponed the implementation of driving tests using automatic transmission cars. It was scheduled to start last month, but has been delayed by pending approval of the allocation to print relevant books and material for driving schools with the new driving education curriculum.

Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri told Bernama that the estimated expenditure was RM5 million. “The new curriculum is ready and we expect the tests to be implemented within this year,” he added.

It was back in 2009 when the government annouced that auto-only driving licences would be issued. The May 2012 target was released late last year. This move is to make it easier for older folks and women to obtain a driving licence. It is said that the new curriculum stresses on producing courteous and disciplined drivers, instead of just comprehension of traffic rules.

Read more here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• they should train Malaysian to use signal when changing lane, not to hog others driving slowly on the fast lane..teach them defensive driving gosh they need to teach malaysian driver so much oh for goodness sake

• diesel monster on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:26 pm

and teach them, 1 car 1 parking lot…..
      always see 1car, use half left side + half right side parking lot

• honestly all of u giving signal when change lane? As far when im driving most car don give signal or not complete…its like im the one who wrong when giving signal…….n most annoying when i see car drive at emergency lane during traffic jam…

• Diesel monster on Jun 15, 2012 at 5:44 am

everyone was not perfect…i’m too, maybe sometimes i forget to turn the signal light, but when i overtake car that drive 40km/h at fastlane, after overtake i switch from slowlane to fastlane, yes willout signal, bcoz i’m faster than the car….but BEHAVE OF MAT REMPIT….

• ericT on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:28 am

The skills of Malaysian drivers are already bad enough.. And they want to make it EASIER for women and old folks to drive.. How not for the accident rate to go up?

• tiadaid on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

It is not so much the issue of skill but more of issue of attitude.

It doesn’t matter if they teach defensive driving or racing techniques that qualifies Malaysians to drive in F1 – it’s all nothing if attitude doesn’t change.

And that’s hard to change – hence the reason why the whole country’s going into the shitter.

• Kumar san on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:25 pm

I agree with you dude,it’s all about changing of the attitude and having more awareness on the importance of it all.

Needless to say,this has never been a focus point at all by our government,before or since.

Which leaves us exactly in a precarious situation as it is.Sad but true,a lot of lives have been lost due to this.Appalling to say the least.

Cheers.

• alldisc on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:05 pm

then, the curriculum for driving school must emphasize attitude. should anyone failed the attitude test, they wont be allowed to proceed.

perhaps 6 months bar from taking road tests. they must wait and in that order they will be taught on some attitude like not selfish, road sharing means caring for other road users.

and oh, to learn that yellow light doesnt mean accelerate.

• Lim Kopi on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Can’t you people see …. its a ploy for the govt and their cronies to make more money from “print relevant books and material for driving schools with the new driving education curriculum.”

• Steve on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:41 am

That interior looks like the 86. :)

• sleepwalkerz on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:54 am

from 2009 till now oso so long..but still cannot implement…ayooo…

• hway de Cruz on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:33 pm

this is call govt efficiency mah… simple things to implement take 2 to 20 years. major policy maybe 200 to 500 years lor. afterall, this is bolehland mah

• Gavin on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Good move, we dont need more mad people on the roads

• BUT HOW COME YOU CAN ACCEPT MAD PEOPLE RUNNING THE GOV? YOU WANT CHANGE PLS VOTE FOR OPPOSITION AND KICK NAJIB OUT THEN ONLY WE CAN SEE CHANGE IN GOV POLICIES.
      OTHERWISE FOR THE NEXT 100 YEARS….ITS CRONIES HIDUP

• oblong on Jun 13, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Change gov from B to P also the same maa…they can change the policy but the one which will benefit them only maa…

• carnoisseur on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:33 pm

firstly , teach the new drivers what are ROAD MANNERS ,its not about me me me ! Secondly , learn how to use the instruments in a car , thirdly , know how to maintain the basics of the car and most importantly , use your BRAINS & COMMON SENSE even though we know the new drivers have little of that !!!!!
    So to know the basics of a car , learn MANUAL gear driving first!!!!!!!!

• diesel monster on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:30 pm

nowdays all sifu that teaching in driving dint teach them properly.. parking, already marking on the road, or lamp post, reach the marking, turn steering wheel until habis… get license P until P license habis, still like this style…CV joint kong soon…

changing lane without signal.. this one i very angry..
      or changing lane with signal just one blink, the road like his dad brought already..

• oblong on Jun 13, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Perodua Kancil driving test car only got 4 manual gear…new car got extra 1 or 2 gear so can pecut kawkaw…

• JPJ should include driving attitude in their curriculum..

• Visitor on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:14 pm

I believe those driving school instructors (well, based on my experience) are very critical of road manners and they lectured us as the then soon-to-be new drivers very well on road manners. But, at the end of the day, it is up to the drivers to decide whether they want to follow road rules or not! I think the federal government has done more than enough to create safety awareness and all of that. So, it’s up to us to either practice ethical driving skills or not.

• ramun on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:15 pm

IMHO I believe this is the worst developement RTD ever made in this century.

• eXAMINATION WITH MANUAL CAR OR AUTO CAR THE OUTCOME IS STILL THE SAME.YOU PAY YOU PASS,IF YOU FAIL TO PAY THEN YOU FAIL.END OF STORY.CONFIRM “LULUS”
    ORANG GILA PUN ADA LESEN MEMANDU INILAH WAWASAN 2020 MAHATHIR UNTUK ADA RAMAI PEMANDU DAN RAMAI LAGI ORANG BOLEH BELI PROTON DAN BERMEGAH DENGAN KERETA NASIONAL SAMBIL BALIK KAMPUNG UNTUK TANAM JAGUNG.SIAPA PEDULI TAHU MEMANDU ATAU TIDAK…YOU BAYAR CONFIRM PASS…COME ON YOU GUYS….EVERYONE KNOWS THE LEVEL OF CORRUPTION IN MALAYSIA IMPLEMENTED BY MAHATHIR THEN WHY ALL THE FUSS ABOUT AUTO AND MANUAL? ITS EITHER WAY YOU STILL PASS AND CAUSE A NUISANCE ON THE ROAD THE DUMB ASS CHINAWOMAN/MAN BUY BIG ALPHARD/ESTIMA/OTHER VERY BIG MPVS AND FIND IT SO DIFFICULT TO DRIVE AND BE A TOTAL NUISANSE ON THE ROAD.

• Cayang bucukbucuk on Jun 13, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Ni dah tak sabar nak mengundi ke….kesiannya…kurang kasih sayang masa kecik-kecik dulu ek..

p/s: i did passed the driving test successfully. no extra pay

• My eye feel sick looking at those big letter

• Black Dog on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:26 pm

FIRSTLY, get rid of the f**king corruption! It’s an open secret. Every 18 year old is exposed to their first taste of corruption while taking their first driving test. If you don’t ‘pau’ the failure rate is very high since you’ll be the scapegoat. This has been going on far too long.

• Black Dog on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Speaking up against corruption also get thumbs down. Many readers here are just as corrupted or even encourage corruption, so sad. Without corruption, all this talk about incompetent drivers don’t even exist.

• Its all coming back to us rite….i u don give there will be no corruption…..if u give then.think bout that..it people around us who bribing to get away from prob or mntak tolong….jpj/polis only get the money..where the money come..its either from u or me or other people

• seriousdude on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:43 pm

why the hell u need to do test using auto transmission????? put it in D and drive.

• driver on Jun 13, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Yes, “driving” maybe just about moving a car.. BUT “driving safely” requires more than just motor skills.

Some don’t even know the difference of putting the transmission into “N” and “P”.. what’s more to use 3, 2, or L.

Many commenters here highlight about the need to install attitude into the new drivers. The question is that, you can’t change attitude within just “some hours” at the driving school. It takes time to change values within a human. And it should begin from the parents, and the society.

• Johnny on Jun 13, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Actually learning to drive from a manual car is good because it activates part of your brain and gives you better feet + hand coordination. If you can’t even drive a manual from the beginning, you’re better off not driving at all!

Teach them some road manners instead. Some ppl have got some really advanced cars, but not advanced brains.

• TatakHelan on Jun 13, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Japan started implementing this kind of “AT limited driving license” since 1991.

So I can’t understand why there are some opinions opposing this system. Attitude and corruption are different things which inappropriate to be included for evaluation.

BTW, AT driving license is slightly cheaper than MT license. Actual cost in Japan:

AT License: 269,750 Yen (RM 10801)
    MT License: 283,920 Yen (RM 11353)

• Orange on Jun 13, 2012 at 3:57 pm

why u postponed?! implement it already la! I just have my daughter take that auto driving, so don’t have to prep her to drive manual in the middle of parking lot..buat headache only…

• BadBET on Jun 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm

hope we can have more driver with common sense with this new system. no more changing lane without signal, no more dangerous overtake move, no more the ‘very selfish’ use of emergency lane at the highway.

p/s: what i hate the most is the convoy of government official lead by police that force me to stop at road side when the road is jam.

• Ah Long on Jun 13, 2012 at 6:02 pm

I disagree Auto Licence. It is troublesome and impractical to implement. Since the aim to make old folks driving, old folks able to buy second hand car, most second hand car in kampung is manual, therefore must learn manual. Manual licence must maintained for skills and safety reason. I drove for 5 year with automatic car, I still able to drive manual car perfectly. When passed licence, you can drive auto car as you wish. Learning must drive manual except OKU’s. fullstop. If auto licence to be implemented, used family manual cars must be scrapped. Although recent figures by Perodua that manual cars sales declining but there still have a market, with manual licence, middle income trap will buy manual cars for family use. Sales of automatic transmission increasing due to many people commuting by driving.

TatakHelan, In Japan, most cars are automatic in Japan due to necessacity of driving, Manual considered optional for sports car driver and commercial vehicle driver. Even many heavy vehicle in Japan are automatic. Heavy vehicle in Malaysia mostly manual therefore manual still must to learn.

• tunguuu on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm

this one i have to disagree…many coaches/buses and lorries/trucks are automatics… i think auto is norm in malaysia since the 2000s? its already 12 years ago…everyone who buys car nowadays, be it sports or normal cars go for auto….rarely would anyone request for manual..heck even kancils were produced in autos because of the demand.

• Ah Long on Jun 13, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Typo error. “Necessity”.

Family cars in Japan no longer manual, that’s why auto licence is available in Japan whereas in Europe and Malaysia it is opposite. Family cars are 90% manual in Europe.

• TatakHelan on Jun 13, 2012 at 8:03 pm

I wonder, back in 1991 when Japanese implemented the system, were majority of the Japanese people drove auto?

Besides, the owner of the AT License only valid to drive AT vehicle. It’s illegal for them to drive MT. So whats the problem? If I decide that I want to drive AT for the whole of my life, whats the point for me to take MT license?

Government would like to add an option for those who want to drive AT. We have the rights to choose which is suitable for us. Doesn’t it good for rakyat to have two options, instead of the current system?

• Ah Long on Jun 13, 2012 at 9:11 pm

You can’t compare with Japan. Family cars in Malaysia majority still manual. Used cars is an issue, middle income trap are affordable to buy manual transmission. Learner must drive manual but car ownership it is up to you. At least if you have skill driving manual, so no problem facing emergency situations. I also driving automatic car for 5 years since I got licence but I can drive manual car perfectly. Licence restrictions troublesome. When learner driving auto, in case of emergency, only manual car available, it is pointless. Even in UK have automatic licence but it is not popular at all. Everybody learns manual. Learning to drive must driving manual transmission!

• Speeder on Jun 13, 2012 at 7:38 pm

As if there aren’t enough old people and women slowing down traffic with their 50 km/h driving already jeez

• Kopi Money will ensure anyone a lesen. Who cares if they cant even drive, ada wang ada lesen. Problem solved.

Why do you think our licence is not recognized for direct conversion to UK/British licence whereas Singapore’s is recognized.

• transformer on Jun 13, 2012 at 9:56 pm

as i said many times, i really hope authorities can clean off all those driver with fake license once and for all…. Rm20 can get one piece… a license to kill…. DAMN CHEAP!

the current format of auto license are so so easy to fake, gov should change it to something like MyKad type to prevent fake….

• Carl Wong on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:02 pm

My car is using a 5 speed manual stick shift transmission. The turn signal lever is even on the left side (so called European standards…?). So my left hand is the busiest (gear changes + signals). And I still can drive with both hands on the steering wheel with the correct posture learned from ‘Honda Safety Driving Course’ and show the turn signal to the correct direction for changing lanes/turning………….whenever necessary.

So I still can’t understand why those who drive automatics without using their left foot still have trouble showing signals correctly or drive in a civilized manner in general. My goodness gracious theoretically you only need 1 right hand and 1 right foot to be able to drive automatics LOL :]…………………………………………!!