Usain Bolt – lightning does strike twice with the M3!

Usain Bolt is undoubtedly very good at running, but when it comes to driving, well, he might need to hone those skills a bit. Proving that lightning does indeed strike twice in the same type of car, the Jamaican sprinter smashed up his current BMW E92 M3 somewhere in the outskirts of Kingston a few days ago. The car took a fair bit of damage to the front end, but Bolt escaped injury.

The latest mishap is the second time the multiple world record holder has done the dirty with the M3 – in 2009, he put his E92 M3 Coupe into a ditch, where the car proceeded to flip over a few times before landing upside down. In that one, Bolt needed some treatment for minor injuries to his feet.

The triple Olympic gold medalist also happens to like Nissans, or more specifically, the GT-R, and is currently headlining Nissan’s latest global brand campaign. Wonder if he’ll be driving the GT-R a bit more now, until he gets another M3, that is!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Calvin on Jun 13, 2012 at 7:07 pm

I doubt that would call for a new M3 – it ain’t that serious an accident, although the feller might be rich enough to get a new one instead of fixing this one. That is a sad sight.

• armandd on Jun 13, 2012 at 7:29 pm

usain really needs to improve his driving skills, if not his R35 GTR will be the next victim.

• G-TR R35 handling tuned by Lotus, might help a lot in handling, not like those crappy M3 or F10

• “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.”
        ? Albert Einstein

• Ordinary Joe on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:03 am

What are u talking about? Tuned by Lotus? Crappy M3? Kids that don’t know how to handle a proper RWD will say so la. In any case, u can have the best handling car in the world, but if ur crap at driving, u will crash it…

• Bet u cant even owned a crappy M3 or F10..

• GT-Ridr on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:55 pm

yup, lotus were involved in the tuning of GT-R suspension, of course in high-speed handling, GT-R has more advantage over puny cars like F10 and M3

• John, are you a viva driver?

• droll on Jun 13, 2012 at 9:13 pm

he needs to really improve his driving skills. sigh.

• Gavin on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Put the joint down mahn

• danedz on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Usain Bolt…you should try Exora Bold…

• ahmad norman on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:55 am

Both cars given free to him by puma…..crash another one please bolt.crap driver

• seriousdude on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:26 am

he can run fast but he can’t drive fast ^^

• Spoilt on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Actually he is quite fast in the top gear Stars in a Reasonably Priced Car. Then again, driving on a track is different with driving on a road.

Driving fast on the road must have reflex like rally driver =D

• A friend once to me . Nothing good happens after 2 am in the morning if you are still awake and out. Einstein was right, as for bolt a wake up call might be in order, he seems to not be aware that all it would take is a mild crash that smashes one of his legs and the career vanishes just like that , all for a lousy night out chasing tail,… Is it really worth it?? The same friend told me to never bite the hand that feeds me, usain! The cash flow will dry up as soon as it is known that you are on crutches or in a wheel chair! Hire a chauffeur dammit!

• carazy on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:43 am

M3 over Nissan GTR, NA win over turbos, M3 win anytime :)

• xynsis on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Let him drive a 660 Kancil with big L sign on front and back instead b4 the GTR. Safer.

• azreen on Jun 18, 2012 at 10:41 am

A retirement plan maybe? He can’t run forever. So maybe BMW will employ him as a human crash test dummy next.

• fique d on Jun 24, 2012 at 5:55 pm

usain… fast sprinter doesn’t mean he’s a good driver… get a good instructor… or he will be harm to others…