Apple to license TomTom’s maps after ditching Google

At Apple’s recent annual developers conference in San Francisco, the Mac maker showed off the next iOS 6, the operating system for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch. iOS 6 has a BFF relationship with Facebook and is deeply integrated with the popular social network.

However, things aren’t so cordial with the other Internet giant, Google, which of course is the force behind Android. The Android OS powers smartphones from Samsung and HTC, among other brands, which are Apple’s bitter rivals both in the marketplace and in courts.

The firm has abandoned Google Maps, which has provided mapping data for the iPhone since 2007. Apple says that its new mapping system features turn-by-turn navigation for owners of the iPhone 4S, iPad 2 and new iPad, which could be a threat to sat nav makers. The new maps are also fully compatible with Siri – the voice controlled ‘personal assistant’ can now plan trips and answer queries en route.

Who will provide the maps in Google’s place? The answer came to our inbox in the form of a brief press statement by TomTom, saying that they’ve signed a global agreement with Apple to provide the latter with maps and related info. “No further details of the agreement will be provided,” it tersely added.

Founded in 1991, Amsterdam based TomTom calls itself the world’s leading supplier of in-car location and navigation products and services. They also claim to have the world’s most up-to-date digital maps covering over 200 countries and territories, encompassing more than 35 million km.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tiadaid on Jun 14, 2012 at 5:06 pm

I’m not a big fan of TomTom on the iPhone – but I’ll wait until iOS6 is fully up before I decide to ditch my Garmin app.

• alamak on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:53 pm

android all the way…yes

• cynical on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:36 pm

This kind of news also can make it to paultan? Stick to car news please..

• Cynical: This is a news related to automative. In fact, it is a good news as we can stick to our iphone4s and utilize it better as a GPS device with a new and updated map app from Apple itself. It does open up more alternative for us car driver, right? Instead of buying a fully dedicated GPS for driving, we are given more choice =)

• cynical on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:03 am

Adam, ios has google maps before, and this new map is no different than the previous map with the same functionality. So what new ‘alternative’ are you talking about here? Unless you’re an ifag, then, this news might be useful to you. And Danny Tan, I’m looking at you too.

• anonymous on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Yeah, cynical.. just STFU. You don’t know nuts about the new map and claimed that it has the same functionality with the previous map. Check your facts before posting.

• Watch your mouth Cynical.

The new maps now works more like a dedicated GPS as it has turn by turn instructions, previously it was just a dot on a map. Also it utilizes Waze for crowd sources traffic information, which it will also use in determining the best route to a place. Not sure if that feature will work in KL yet though.

Point is, the article can be argued to be relevant. Even if it wasn’t you don’t just go personally insulting people, so either say something useful or STFU!

• niceone on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:15 am

prefer garmin to tom tom, but if it’s free to use, sure a welcomed addition to iOS 6

• sigh… what else after this? iOS wont access google search anymore? possibly apple wanna debut its own search engine? hehe…

• mamamiya on Jun 17, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Obviously the new iPhony 5 is not FOC haha….
    Well, good luck to all you sheeps out there. Now you only have a Map system to choose from (I am sur eApple going to ban every map & navigation map from their App Store) which lack info & may barely work in US. Mark my words. This new Map real reason to be here is to sell u the iPhony 5. Just like the half baked SIRI is used to sell u iPhony 4ass.