Ford 1.0L EcoBoost is the 2012 International Engine of the Year – bags first title win for the Blue Oval

Ford’s new 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine – which debuted in Frankfurt and was officially launched in November last year before making its market debut in Europe in the third-gen Focus C346 earlier this year – has been named the 2012 International Engine of the Year, beating Volkswagen’s 1.4 litre TSI twincharger and Ferrari’s 4.5 litre V8 to the title.

The turbocharged three-cylinder mill also hauled in two other awards – Best New Engine and Best Engine Under 1.0-litre. Aside from the hattrick, the little lump has the honour of giving the Blue Oval its first International Engine of the Year win in the award’s 13-year history, in the process garnering the highest points total ever in the competition – 401 points to the second-placed VW 1.4 TSI’s 288. Voting was cast by 76 journalists from 35 countries around the world.

The innovative engine – small enough to fit on an A4 sheet of paper – was designed at Ford’s technical centres in Dunton, UK as well as Merkenich, Germany, and is built in Ford’s plants in Craiova, Romania, and Cologne, Germany.

Available in two output forms, 100 PS and 125 PS, the engine will next be offered in the C-MAX and B-MAX later this year, and globally will make its way into Ford models in the US, Africa and Asia Pacific next year. Those expecting to see it in the Fiesta and upcoming Focus here will have to wait a good while, as it stands – at the ASEAN launch of the new Focus in Thailand, it was mentioned that there were no plans as yet to introduce the unit anytime in the near future.

Meanwhile, in Europe, Ford plans to triple annual production of vehicles equipped with efficient EcoBoost petrol engines to approximately 480,000 by 2015, from 141,000 in 2011. The company projects that more than 300,000 of those vehicles will be equipped with the 1.0 litre EcoBoost.

The 2012 International Engine of the Year results:

1. Ford 999cc three-cylinder turbo – 401 points
2. Volkswagen 1.4 litre TSI Twincharger – 288 points
3. Ferrari 4.5 litre V8 – 224 points
4. GM 1.4 litre range extender – 212 points
5. BMW 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder petrol – 199 points
6. BMW/PSA 1.6 litre turbo petrol – 162 points
7. BMW 3.0 litre turbo six–cylinder gasoline – 160 points
8. BMW M 4.0 litre V8 – 128 points
9. Audi 2.5 litre five–cylinder turbo – 126 points

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Carl Wong on Jun 14, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Well done Ford :].

• hway de Cruz on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:26 am

this is the kind of engine we r waiting for, but with the immediate attention to europe, maybe just maybe we might get this in 2014? depends on how ford study market n our f@#k up NAP… they may not be so keen here

• Malaysian Will Always Be Cheated on Jun 15, 2012 at 5:34 pm

No point all the praises for the marvellous Ford engine when we are NOT getting it. Malaysians are again being compromised. Do you know why the new Ford Focus is not being sold with this 1.0 engine in Malaysia? It is because, by convention, they will have to categorize the new Focus as a 1 litre category and we all know that category is priced well below the RM90,00 bracket.

We Malaysians are a stupid lot because we encourage such situations of compromise by buying whatever given to us. It is a double whammy as well, not only we are “forced” to buy the outdated 2.0 engine, our consumption remains high compared with the ecoboost 1.0.

The government wants us to use more fuel so that, we can give the petroleum companies a free ride. If you use the 1.0 Ecoboost engine, your consumption would probably become half. So, if you were spending RM800 per month, your consumption would be RM400 now. Who loses? The government loses. The petroleum companies will pay lesser taxes.

Malaysians will always be stupid. Whatever thrown at us, we will, like dogs, pick up and eat. Even dogs got more dignity, they are nowadays selective at what is given to them.

the best part is the comments section. Everybody is giving praises to the new Ford 1.0 ecoboost engine but none are questioning why we are not given this engine. In the UK, besides the TDCi, every Ford Focus bought is the 1.0 Ecoboost engine.

• CleverEuro on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:13 pm

I think many people commenting here because they appreciate knowledge. Me myself a mechanical engineer, did design a one piston engine (just followed textbook, though) on third year during my degree study. Calculation itself (simple version) took about 60 pages, and I did draw the crankshaft, piston, engine block etc manually by hand on several A1 sheets. It’s really gave me a good experience even though i know that my design is totally useless compared to the real-world engine design.

Why don’t we open our mind, be humble, and keep learning so that who knows maybe someday we can create our own engine or at least some simple machine for domestic use, rather than importing from Taiwan, China or even Thailand.

Malaysian who arrogant and selfish who think that he knows everything, is maybe the most stupid creature on Bolehland.

• JustInfo on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:33 pm

@bonbon: “but no Jap engine in the list? are they have NAP too?”

THESE are the Japanese finalist.

Sub 1-litre CATEGORY:
        4. Toyota 998cc three-cylinder
        6. Mitsubishi 999cc three-cylinder turbo

1-litre to 1.4-litre CATEGORY:
        6. Nissan 1.2-litre supercharged

1.4-litre to 1.8-litre CATEGORY:
        3. Toyota 1.8-litre gasoline-hybrid

1.8-litre to 2-litre CATEGORY:
        4. Mazda 2-litre skyactiv gasoline

2-litre to 2.5-litre CATEGORY:
        3. Mazda 2.2-litre skyactiv diesel
        5. Subaru 2.5-litre turbo
        6. Honda 2.2-litre i-DTEC

3-litre to 4-litre CATEGORY:
        5. Nissan 3.8-litre Bi-turbo (Nissan GT-R)

• banyak masuk workshop on Jun 14, 2012 at 7:09 pm

another awesome milestone for engines!

• Which 1 diesel engine?

• ‘The innovative engine – small enough to fit on an A4 sheet of paper’

This I don’t understand. Even an EX5 engine doesn’t fit on a A4 sheet of paper?

What does it mean?

• Chris on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:30 pm

I could be mistaken, but played with chop shop engine long enough, I guess this means if you put the engine straight up, the engine’s footprint(area of oil pan touching the floor) could fit within the area size of an A4 paper?

• It means the horizontal cross-section area is smaller than an A4 paper.

• @Chris & @WD: Thanks! ;)

• “there is no replacement for displacement.” is now a past tense.

For those who didn’t know, the 1.0 ecoboost is designed for a turbocharger, not your so regular slap it on turbo. The one that doesn’t work that well is usually the latter. :)

• iLoveCFE on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:22 pm

CFE is also borned as a TurboCharger. totally different mechanism from Campro.

• I dun understand what you mean? Care to explain?

• artworks on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:50 pm

just anything about turbo, u like link to CFE.aduh. this engine use GDI, CFE not

• udasalleh on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Its geat to see serious effort in producing, designing and at last manufacturing smaller efficient engines, burns less fuel thus lowering our dependency on fuel, but still can carry the oomph..!

Kudos to ford… utilising technology to be innovative while still environmentally friendly… hope others will follow this trend.

• zippypolo on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Bravo Ford

• Anthony…

5. BMW 2.0 litre twin-turbo four-cylinder petrol – 199 points

Should it be “Twin Power Turbo”, which the N20 engine has only 1 “Twin Scroll” turbochargers…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Ah, yes, correct. I merely listed it as written on the results from the IEotY site.

• encik boss on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Awesome!
    Hope this engine will be coming in new Focus by next year

• “at the ASEAN launch of the new Focus in Thailand, it was mentioned that there were no plans as yet to introduce the unit anytime in the near future”….

Why is it that ASEAN always get the obsolete/outdated engines? With Europe going bust on the economy and US heading south, shouldn’t the manufacturers start to focus on the EAST?

• racotua on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:59 pm

congratulations ford. it has been a long time coming!

• mana campro?

• ss427 on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Now this is what I call a TRUE WORLD CLASS engine! :)

Proton, you get world class status by offering real earth shaking products, not by some baseless, hot air from your CEO…duh! LOL :)

Did Ford go around the world telling people how world class they are?? We sometimes lead to believe that Americans are arrogant and proud in their mentality, well in this case, I wonder who is being arrogant and proud here.

Like I said before, do NOT shout performace when you can’t deliver, do NOT proclaim you’re world class when it is obviously not.

Seriously, the Americans Big 3 may be caught sleeping from the 70s till the end 90s, but today they’re anything but and they have the products to proof it.

And who says manufacturers who build big V6 and V8 can’t do a superb 3 cyln engine?

• where is the ‘mighty’ i-vtec? why no ask them?

• outdated.

• ss427 on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:20 am

iVtec? Well Honda used to be able to put up a great fight against all these super high tech engines.. but… sigh… look at what has happened to them now? Those K series engines are being dropped from many models now..

The R18A, R20A are pretty ok by themselves, but they’re hardly earth shaking in terms of power o/p, and low rpm torque continues to suffer.

R series and the L series (in the Jazz) doesn’t have have valve lift function in the iVTEC. Their iVTEC controls valve timing only, no cam profile change.

All in the name of fuel economy… which is NOT that good in real life despite what Honda engineers wanted you to believe

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:05 am

Where is those copycat Korean Junk Engine Theta 2 & Nu ??

• artworks on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:54 pm

L series in new City and Jazz/Fit hv camprofile system, 2 stage on intake cam. but the engine is without VVT. sumting like old version of D16.

• Proton never said they world class(that mean status) but they said first global car(that mean product)..2 diff meaning…but their tanjung malim plant is world class

• donadoni on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:28 pm

kei car anyone?

• peaceaim on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Its unbelievable that this one litre ecoboost engine produces almost equivalent power and torque to 1.6 Campro CPS engine. For anyone want to know how Campro CFE fares, its only lacks 10 Hp compared to 1.6 ecoboost. Quite an achievement. See wikipedia for some insights.

• ecoboost is a direct injection engine, that’s why can beat cfe. if cfe also use direct injection, sure can tapau ecoboost easily

• Of coz can tapau, no regulation of exhaust gas emission here, you can do whatever you like. Mind you that the ecoboost is Euro 5 compliant (certified) and should be able to pass Euro 6 with a breeze as well.

• farghmee on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:47 am

so CFE what euro?
        hehehe

• brett on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:03 am

cfe also Euro 5 compliant lah haih

• JeremyNg on Jun 15, 2012 at 2:29 pm

But CFE do nt hv independent VVT

• JeremyNg on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:53 pm

where’s the Multiair used by Fiat and Alfa ??!!

• JeremyNg on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:53 pm

where’s the Multiair used by Fiat and Alfa ??!!

• Raja Azhar on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Imagine putting this engine in an Austin Mini :))

• rear light on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:41 pm

We won’t get this engine..slow…slow…slow!!!

• Poweeerrrrrrr on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:20 am

I only buy car with big engines ie v8, v10 and v12. Tiny engines will never replaced bigger engine with more poweerrrrr.
    What the world has got into everything need to be downsizing. The world is not fun anymore like it used to be..since when they become more eco friendly when they created more sofisticated war machines & bombs? This is just another scam aka propaganda created by the world police?

• mustafa on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:27 am

BMW/PSA engine still in top 10 …

• kaminski on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:46 am

Unbelievable its still winning awards when one considers the global issues they have had with this engine,particularly in Peugeot/Citroen cars,ranging from timing faults, carbon build up and top end oil leaks.

• yanes on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:11 am

im thinking of a kancil swap lol.

• toyolta on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:47 am

mana enjin toyota?

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:36 pm

i think there is a mistake. where’s my vios 1.5 vvti world class engine?

• JustInfo on Jun 15, 2012 at 7:39 am

CAPACITY CLASSES:

To qualify for inclusion in the class categories listed below, an engine must have been housed in a passenger car that was on sale in more than one country as of June 2012.

Sub 1-litre
    1-litre to 1.4-litre
    1.4-litre to 1.8-litre
    1.8-litre to 2-litre
    2-litre to 2.5-litre
    2.5-litre to 3-litre
    3-litre to 4-litre
    Above 4-litre

International Engine of the Year 2012:

The winners of the eight capacity classes and the Green Engine of the Year are shortlisted for the overall International Engine of the Year Award.

SCORING:

In every category, the panellists judged each shortlisted engine using their subjective driving impressions and technical knowledge, and took into account characteristics such as fuel economy, smoothness, performance, noise and drivability. The jurors each had 25 points to award to their five favourite engines in each category. A maximum of 15 points could be allocated to an engine, and the minimum was one point. An engine could not be tied for the top spot.

• Gavin on Jun 15, 2012 at 7:51 am

looks like old lister diesel engine, that still runs 60-70 years down the road, put put put put put

• arcana on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:43 am

Agreed, we are always last in getting latest tech, especially small sized engines for cheaper/budget models. The only ecoboost we have here cost nearly RM200k which most cant even dream to buy.

Waiting to check out the B-MAX with this engine in the future.

• put inside the b-max sounds like a winner

• sepucps on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

This engine still use timing belts instead of timing chain still score the best modern engine in present, shows cfe is not outdated at all..

• artworks on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:57 pm

everthing is linked to CFE. LOL

• bonbon on Jun 15, 2012 at 6:13 pm

yeah,,,if paultan.org write about EX5 enginer… most malaysian will say that EX5 engine can beat CFE…

• sepul on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:30 am

actually timing belt is common for newer engines compared to timing chain.. even the 86/BRZ boxer uses timing belt

they helps reduce engine weight and improves efficiency, smooth operation, less noise

• anthony,

whats your take on the engine’s real on the road performance?

i mean, it only churns 100 – 120 BHP but install it in a proper car weighing close or a bit over 1 tonne, will the bhp translates into a viable WHP?

• ONLY 100??? Did you know that the Mini One’s 1.6L is only pushing 90BHP???

• carnut on Jun 16, 2012 at 1:05 am

you need to look at torque figures for that.. the 125ps version of this engine makes 125ft/lb, or about 170nm of torque from 1,300–4,500 rpm .. thats pretty decent. but its not meant to be a racer, with low carbon emissions and fuel economy, its primary role.

• That is some incredible work, Ford! A 1.0L engine that can fit within an A4 paper is mind boggling! It’s so small that someone can create a car with 2 engines, driving 2 front wheels independently or front and back like that crazy A-class made for Shuey.

• fairsyah on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:39 am

and u can have a total 4wd system. 1 engine per tyre. or u can have 2 engine running, 2 engine backup. or run 1 engine when the load is light. full 4 engine when the load is at maximum. :)

• no 10 : Campro CPS