Proton Prevé bookings pass 10k mark in two months

Proton announced that the Prevé has received 11,310 bookings in two months after its launch, making it the most popular 1.6 litre sedan in the market. Decent figures, although the “most popular” tag is academic, given the lack of 1.6 litre sedan rivals with national car status.

Of the 11,310 names, almost 1,000 were collected as early as March, while another 4,893 units were booked in the month of April. The Prevé can be had in three variants – 1.6 CFE turbocharged engine with CVT, IAFM+ with CVT or the same NA engine with a five-speed manual transmission. They cost RM72,990, RM62,990 and RM59,990 respectively.

“With more than 10,000 Prevé booked to date, and with the numbers increasing every day, it has quickly established itself as the consumer’s preferred choice of compact sedan. This is a very positive sign for us and further proof that Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products,” said Proton Holdings Berhad Executive Chairman, Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

“It was a vehicle that was eagerly anticipated by the market and continues to be well received, not only because it is affordable and offers owners a low cost of ownership, but excels in the terms of styling, performance, safety and equipment level,” he added.

Read all about the Prevé in our launch report and test drive report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hilmi on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:29 am

5000 bookings per month for the high price Proton car (60k-73k) consider very good sales performance. Looks like Proton manage to recover middle-high income customer == higher profit margin

• It’s indeed a good news, but I am allergic to bulls**t like this:

“This is a very positive sign for us and further proof that Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products”

I don’t think good sales would directly mean good product quality. I’d like to see if the sales would stay on that way should the AP be lifted off, haha.

• Which AP u talking about? AP for AP king or AP for car manufacturer/official distributor?

• tokmoh on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Prrfffttt

People buy because DSSZ built it. Nobody wants DRB’s junks last time around aka the disastrous Tiara.

Here’s whats gonna happen: the next few financial quarters, Proton will make record-breaking profits, but accountants know better it’s orchestrated so that DRB can say “see, we takeover Proton, they become profitable. We are better than previous management.” After that all the cronies songlap buy Ferrari, vacation overseas. Make substantial losses, then come crawling back at Khazanah wasting taxpayers money.

• driver on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:34 pm

second this! there’s a lot of other correlated factors that contribute to the high sales, but it doesn’t necessarily mean that “Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products”.

It may be, but it also may not be. P1 need to other specific indicator to claim this statement.

On other note, Mohd Khamil Jamil sendiri pn beli tak Preve ni?
        Jgn cakap je berapi2, tp ko sendiri pn xyakin.

• woah..what a lovely family you have…

• cfe manual + hatchback plz~~..mm, like p1 going to hear me..

• PPKia on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Back to earth.

Bookings =/= Sales

Over and out.

• Donkey Kong on Jun 14, 2012 at 6:18 pm

So, you’re saying that there are people who book the cars without any intention of buying them?

• Lim Kopi on Jun 16, 2012 at 3:35 am

Datuk Seri …
      U in your own world ke??

Just because Preve manage to do well in the OVERPROTECTED DOMESTIC MARKET, u oredi want to go around praising urselves so soon??

Remove the unfair advantage you guys currently enjoy, and compete properly in global market laa, see how that goes …. baru buat claims macam ni ok?

• Please replace the engine with timing chain (instead of timing belt) and with variable valve timing (VVT).
      That Campro engine is outdated, pls lah.

• trbch on Jun 18, 2012 at 12:14 pm

i’d rather have turbocharged engine rather than archaic engine with timing chain and vvt. anytime can smoke those sissy engines, lol

• Hilmi on Jun 18, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Campro CFE got VVT already… and timing chain does not always better than timing belt.

• xavier lert on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:09 am

middle-high?

• Viknesh Rau Subramaniam on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:36 am

Hilmi, dont Proton always sell alot of cars? Always makes profit..but the sad part is, and still a million dollar question…the company still losing money no matter how good the sales is…hahha

• “Decent figures, although the “most popular” tag is academic, given the lack of 1.6 litre sedan rivals with national car status.”

I like your honesty. :)

Other than that, I think the 1.6T should be the standard (and the only) engine available instead of fragmenting to CPS, 1.3, 1.6 IAFM.. etc etc.. Shear volume of that engine should make maintainability better/cheaper, production cost lower and R&D so much faster.

• Obama on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:34 am

Imagine 10k car heading to Proton Service Center claiming warranty within 6 months.

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Are you a forecaster or what?

• Johnson on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Yes I agree with you.10K preve awaiting warranty claims.how mahathir going to cope up? this is bullshit claim by proton just to win sales market.actually how many of this coconut scraper on the road now.I have seen a handful ones with very pathetic looks and colour.many people buy not by choice but by no choice cos ather quality cars are far beyond budget thanks to mahathir and his UMNO cronies who rip off the rakyat.but yet still many people support rotten cars like preve.

• takNakP1 on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:44 pm

i also agree, 5k claim power window, 2.5k claim turbo bocor, 1.25k claim dash board issue and the balance… misc… :P :D

• imagine big automakers like honda and toyota had massive recalls all over the world, in much much bigger number of units

• PPKia on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Proton Saga BLM had better booking performance. Proton still losing money. This are all bullshitz.

KUALA LUMPUR, March 24 (Bernama) — Proton Holdings Bhd will be holding special weekly draws for those who have booked the new SAGA model amid overwhelming response for the model, with 42,000 bookings received since its launch in January.

• OMG…got more orders…but P1 production slow…so bad…

• are u stupid or what?
        saga blm is cheaper of course it have better booking.. and its a great second car..

douchebag

• surprisingly. wonder why not so many on the road?

• because they are not delivered yet. just booking.

• Booking doesn’t mean sold. Many would like to buy a car but their income doesn’t want one. Guess this car only appeal to people that doesn’t qualify.

• I had booked a unit of preve in return i need to lego my current car.. But in the end had to cancell the booking because of nowadays 2nd hand car doesnt have high trade in value especially proton. Balance loan still devastating high since last time the interest is damn high. Some people out there maybe experienced what happen to me. Booking is just a booking, nothing more.

• Hotel on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:47 am

Good job Proton!!…the real test and what I am more curious to know is how well Preve gonna perform in international market. That’s the true benchmark that we can be proud of. Most indicators points to decent take up so we’ll see

• Carlifornia on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:06 pm

I always travel to japan and korea. Most of the car over there are local made. Even well known european car manufacturer also very difficult to enter their marker.

• true, that’s because they feel proud with their national car maker.

• alamak on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:59 pm

i been live in Japan 2 year….never see a Proton there, but toyota passo have many….haha

• tanke on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:53 am

yes I agree just been to korea in may 2012
        taxi is made of sonatas & many good looking cars.
        best part of it taxi drivers have zero english.

• GTR 2.0 on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:52 am

“”This is a very positive sign for us and further proof that Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products,” said Proton Holdings Berhad Executive Chairman, Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

“It was a vehicle that was eagerly anticipated by the market and continues to be well received, not only because it is affordable and offers owners a low cost of ownership, but excels in the terms of styling, performance, safety and equipment level,” he added.”

So, why you let DSZ go?

• profiler on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:43 am

good question. Why let DSZ go? without him, proton would have dead long time ago

• coz he is THE BOSS!

• rosdi on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:32 am

Proton didnt ‘let’ DSZ go… DSZ wants to go, they tried persuading him to stay but I guess that guy doesn’t like taking orders from someone anymore.. he was supposed to be the one giving orders..

• keep it short simple on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:02 am

wow… good proton.. but then soon it will be more then 10000 preve with problems :)

• armandd on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:35 am

I think you are the one with problems, not the Preve.

• Johnson on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:27 pm

you buy one proton then you comment.proton have never improved in any aspect.they only improved by conning the rakyat with expansive price tag for local car and high maintenance cost and high fuel consumption.after all its proton no quality and the numskull mahathir once said proton was invented for poor malaysians.but who is poor in malaysia?he made many malays rich with his cronies system.no sitting and counting his days and how many years is he going to spend time in jail after PKR take over putrajaya.

• Superman on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:38 pm

I can’t believe how some people bash the national car here. You go to Korea and Japan and see if anyone dare bashing their national cars. Even in Korea which is a very hard market for imported cars, each Korean Regardless of income has one Korean made car in his driveway. If we think like this our cars will never be successful. We need to back them up. Remember Hyundal Excel in early 90’s it was a problem car but in Korea it was considered as a pride of an emerging nation.

• mind you, he’s got phd

….
        ….(permanent head damage) lol

• very stupid comment from “keep it short simple” describe his short brain.

• style on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:55 pm

wah relax bro/sis..
        all here keyboard warrior what..
        type what ever u like and want..
        like who cares..
        besides; like u gonna buy this stupid piece of poorly quality metal..

• Johnson on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:32 pm

you are even more stupid and more over an idiot to support cars like proton.Rotten cars with crappy design and crappy look and looks so bumiputera.you go buy one yourself..you might get 7% discount and special form to join UMNO and RM500 to wear BN shirt.cant you idiots see that the malaysian gov conning the people with proton?pay high price for crappy car.because of proton many are deprived of owning good quality cars.but mahathir son drives a posh and a veyron why cant he drive a preve…because he knows proton is rip off and no standard and invented for poor malaysian.The chinaman & indiaman buy proton to support those lazy malays bumps so that they can buy alphard and estima.this was mahathir;s vision to make many lazy bumps rich.

• At this rate I think you’ll probably get to 10000 thumbs down first.

• shahrul on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:42 pm

go away!

• mrkthxbai on Jun 14, 2012 at 3:14 pm

babo ah beng!

• Orange on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:14 am

Kudos to Proton ! Though I have to say this Preve is a good car in term of well equipped modern vehicle but still far away to be called a global product

• booranje on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:57 am

anyway, how do you define the so called a global product. so I can learn.

• ss427 on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:30 am

” This is a very positive sign for us and further proof that Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products,” said Proton Holdings Berhad Executive Chairman, Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

“It was a vehicle that was eagerly anticipated by the market and continues to be well received, not only because it is affordable and offers owners a low cost of ownership, but excels in the terms of styling, performance, safety and equipment level,” he added.”

Oh mannn, I nearly choked on my breakfast when I read this.

Encik Jamil, apa world class products? Do you dare to stand by your claims when your Preve started their sales overseas, esp in places like Singapore and Australia? LOL :)

I want to see how world class the Preve is when they’re subjected to the same amount of taxes (or the lack of it) in overseas markets…

How ‘cheap’ it can be when it’s placed against the Forte SX and the new Elantra LOL :D

FYI, Encik Jamil, you’ve yet to introduced the Preve into SG market… what’s taking you so long? Or are you afraid that it too, will have ZERO sales per month just like your ‘world class’ Exora over here?

• driver on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:42 pm

bro, there are points that I agree with you, but why are you so inferior of Temasek — as in using them as the benchmark of success. There’s a lot of other markets out there that is more potential for P1 to succeed.

Doing well in Temasek doesn’t necessarily mean doing well globally either!

• world class product is not necessary mean the number sold, it can be its features too. why you narrow your minded? go and open up your mind so your life can be much nicer

• DewaSemut on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:34 am

Any comments from satisfied/ dissatisfied owners? Share your thoughts here! :)

• raj kumar on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:40 am

people want to learn about the latest cars and technology, not sales figures….

• WakKang on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:41 am

jangan lambat2 deliverynya proton…noticed that Mazda is aggressively upgrading their showrooms service center under the distributorship of ex Hyundai Sales Persons. lambat2 nanti sebhg customer lari pergi Mazda.

2) Ex Proton CEO pulak pergi Toyota…anticipating anticipating tough fight ahead for proton…

• Tony Montana on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:40 pm

To compare Mazda To Proton is an insult…to Mazda of course.

• driver on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:43 pm

give reason, why not?

I hate when people trying to project their so called “high values” onto others without proper justification.

• zidane on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:12 am

to compare you Malaysian to a Japanese is an insult… To Japanese of course…

can you see how your words reflect to yourself???

• Are you serious? Comparing a Proton with Mazda??

• even mazda5 doesn’t have some bcm feature that exora has, hail proton!!!

• alamak on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:01 pm

proton compare MAZDA? i guess many other country get respond ?? when you ask proton instead of Mazda

• Great to hear that there will be a lot of guinea pigs or beta testers on the road. I am sure the next batch will not have issues anymore.

• driver on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:45 pm

bro, it’s not nice to call them “guinea pigs” etc.
      can u imagine if people say the same thing to you. maybe some of them don’t even have other choice with their economic status..

cheers~

• works on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:07 am

Since DSZ are gone now, I hope they come up with new model after 5 years from now…don’t sell the same model for 20++ years like last time..

• maman on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:29 am

so the success of preve, can be credited to dsz. even their bread and butter product ( the saga) was under dsz.Yg pi kasi dia resign sapa suruh???

• Johnson on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:51 pm

mahathir nak dia pergi sebab crony dia tak bolah cari makan.nanti siapa mau supply steering preve rupa sama dengan exora.ini proton tak ada inovasi langsung sebab asyik nak makan belacan mana itu otak nak pikir?siap makan cili dia rasa pedas.proton is long gone.when people stop buying crappy car then they will close shop.just look at waja.when it was launched…wow!!! many malaysian blinded…cakap mitsu la…lancer la…but at the end waja…serupa jawa…seperti negara orgin org gila.no value…high fuel consumption…expensive spare part…no comfort…good for taxi use only…what happen to arena and juara…the worst crappy besides gen2 and gen2 extension aka persona…all the names given are very local…no inovation…sit and eat…then you have have inovation bursting through the sky…bloody proton

• tokmoh on Jun 15, 2012 at 3:29 am

Dafuq is this shit u talking about waja?

No comfort? You must be chauffeur driver in a Rolls Royce all the time.

Expensive spare parts? Either you kena troll or fakir miskin to say Waja’s spare parts expensive. Even some Volvo S40/V40 (share same platform with waja) owners use waja suspension cuz cheaper than original volvo parts.

High f/c? All the time floor it confirm la fuel high, stupiak. Your RR anytime higher f/c than waja.

No value, so what? Good for young fresh grads just started working la. Rather than bankrupted to jaga waterface buy brand new cars, better get this car, from under rm20k can get. Bulletproof reliable mitsu engine and gearbox, spacious, comfortable, decent f/c, cheap maintenance.

• zidane on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:19 am

Hey man… WTF are you bringing origin of kin into matters???

As javanese is running in my blood, that’s a f**kin insult… just leave the racial matter out of picture can you???

speak like an intellect, not like a loser…

• so you are running out of bullets? lol
        waja spare parts are not expensive, just google around and you will know

• tokmoh_suck on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:24 pm

got rm7k per month, freshie like me don’t go bankrupt if i buy brand new car. a new hot hatch is already in my stable, guess what’s it (not shitty japs car of course)? don’t need sedan now coz i’m still young, lol

• WhiteFox on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:37 am

Well i do hope these 11k owner happy with their car and also hope more incoming new model from proton to impress us.

• 2 weeks with my Preve..happy with it:D

• Tony Montana on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Proton salesman detected!

• meh..im just gonna ignore this dumb tony montana..haha

ecka: performance is quite impressive especially when you press the pedal to the metal..its kinda fun actually especially when you’re doing a traffic light sprint..haha, but im happy with it..its not bad, but still i love my 3 series more..but for a 73K car..i cant complaint too much..its ok at least for me..but i wish proton could improve the sluggishness of the cvt..from N to D, its like driving a manual car with the clutch half way down..have to tekan the pedal until 2k rpm and bam!..turbo kicks in..

• i wonder you can’t even own 3 series, picture or it didn’t happen. lol

• how was the performance of the car???
      since i never seen preve go on right line yet

• 2 weeks with your Preve and happy that nothing breakdown yet…

• DArkerMarker on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:23 pm

just 2 weeks and soooo proud that nothing is broken??

Try 20 years later bro……

• i think you are the one who drives 20 years old car

• sy8_j on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:58 am

one thing that is good about proton, they started to build a world class car, but still need to improve in management side, why do u kick out a person that help proton to recover? He got great idea and get the idea to be from drawing board to a real car, proton and DRB should see this prob when they decided to remove DSZ

• driver on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:49 pm

That makes 2 of us!

Reading what Mohd Khamil Jamil said puts me into uneasy conditions. Pardon me, but he sounded stupid to claim that having a high sales figures “is a very positive sign for us and further proof that Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products”

wait n see~

• mustafa on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:01 pm

The chairman trying to take credit for what is DSZ baby…

• This is a good job from Syed Zainal, congratulation to him and his team, the consultant from proton may not happy with this result, in the past, the consultant only can create a problematic car like Savvy & GEN 2 to our consumer.

• sudonano on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Saw one new Preve at the petrol station yesterday, I must say they have improved, the owner closed the door also sounded solid. And the engine sounds good, but still new, how about proton give the media (ie Paultan or NST) a few Preves and get them to do long term testing? that will be good.

• Johnson on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:38 pm

after 6 months…you will be awaiting warranty claim at centre of excelence near kesas highway.all the best.call kartik.he will tell you.how good proton is.door sound good?are you ok or not?
      go see other car.preve is shit crappy car wonder who is the chief designer.need a slap.

• J6046 on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Good job proton !!!….proud to be Malaysian…

• Johnson on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:35 pm

are you proud of proton or proud of malaysia?
      you must be one of those nuckle head who does not know anything on cars.buy a bicycle and ride.no one in right sense of mind will ever be proud of proton.A crappy ripp off car invented for poor malaysian.thank you.bermegah dengan kereta nasional.KNN

• many times saw proton cars cornering like boss, why not other makes, they are crappier aren’t they?

• glyar on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:26 am

why u so butthurt? preve smoked your ugly old car?

• matlimmutu on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:31 pm

proton is different now, good cars indeed. i am also proud of proton. but proton must continue to improve further. all the best proton!!!

• Tested the preve.
    Personal comment:

1. Outside looks better than inside (dislike the taillight though). Interior parts fitting and gap. Bad HU.
    2. CVT serious rubberband effect, is this really a turbo car? Only feel the power after 2.5krpm, but rpm still rises slowly. Is like the combination between gear and engine got problem. Have to press and press to get more power. Wondering if the CVT can stand the abuse if need to press so much to feel the oomph @.@ If remember correctly, even last gen city CVT has a better feeling. Very disappointing if one is looking for a spirited driving.
    3. Suspension is good, car stable, but “music” like “ngek ngek” start to come out when driving across uneven road like parts are rubbing together. Wonder if this is due to the assembly.
    4. Very heavy steering even for hydraulic.

Maybe I have a high hope. Eventually, it is still because of the price of Preve and high price of the other C-segment car, then only I will ever consider to buy this. Proton still have a long way to go.

• normal_user on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:41 pm

The new Altis also got “ngek-ngek” sound when driving over bad roads. Because I have driven one from KL to JB.

• apeng on Jun 18, 2012 at 1:58 pm

yeap..agree..my altis gen10 also have sound “ngek nhek”when go through uneven road…my fren mini cooper also same..
        true fact is no car are perfect…

• Storm on Jun 14, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Precisely when you mentioned the CVT and the engine combination. Many people always ask why no turbo, why no 6 speed, why no this and that. The one point they failed to understand is how well car manufacturers combine the transmission with the engine. A 6 speed trans is not necessary better than a 5 speeder. I dont want to mention which 6 speed i tested but I can 100% sure, at least for myself, the 5 speed i tested earlier feel much much better than the 6 speed. Its far smoother and you could feel both trans and engine are happily working together as compared to the 6 speed that feels like they are fighting against each other. End of the day, its how you feel and like about the car for yourself and not how editors or other tell you.

• Just wonder if 5 speed = Civic and 6 speed = Forte?

• i am ok with toyota with its archaic 4 speeder and civic 5 speeder until preve comes with not 5, not 6 but 7 ! preve > all

• @vrsd. Preve is using a CVT which is why they can have 7 speed which is virtual only. A CVT even can have 10 speed. This 7 speed is already in the old City CVT which Honda already ditched and switched back to conventional transmission.

• That is called simulated 7 speed, not actual 7 speed. Do your research first and understand what is CVT.

• @huat
        i dun care it’s virtual or not, 7 speed surely can save fuel consumption. more modes available in gear like CVT S and D mode, SAT, plus minus gear, paddle shifter, it’s surely entertaining and fun than lame old gearbox with only paddleshifter

• @vrsd

It is funny you like CVT (which is gearless) but you want to drive it in using virtual gear mode. I would take a VW 7spd DSG or even Honda 5 speeder over this CVT anyday.

I don’t care it give paddle shift, +- shift, whatever shift. The problem I want to point out is it has one of the worst combination between gearbox and engine, and it is very unrefined, serious rubber effect.

You are buying a turbo 1.6 car, performance is very important. If you want fuel efficient, buy a viva.

• @huat
        performance? anytime can smoke weaker 2.0l cars, 0-100km/h below 10s. try out the real pro car, not pp
        cheers. more gear options = enjoyable driving
        cheers

• forte and civic no need 7 speeds , not powerful enough, let preve alone lol

• civic and forte 2.0 boring already, now the trend is downsizing engine, H, T, N and K not up to date, not trendy plus feel very old driving those cars

• nylon on Jun 15, 2012 at 7:02 pm

honda civic still with 5 speeder, what a shame

• @vrsd

Really that powerful? Do you own a Preve? Smoke all 2.0 car? Have you test driven it? All keyboard warriors here. Talk only.

I have test driven it, from 0-20km/h is much slower than even a 1.6NA car. Have to press pedal more than 50% to get it going, feel like the car is damn heavy. After 20km/h, the power starts to come, but the weakly tuned CVT rubber band effect comes in, have to keep on pressing the pedal to get the RPM up, if not it will stay at around 3k-4krpm.

Seriously it is a <10s car? I don't feel the turbo at all unless I floor it. The engine is powerful don't get me wrong, just that the combination with CVT has to be reworked intensely.

• @vrsd
        Maybe you have to test drive a peugeot 308T to know what a properly tuned 1.6 turbo car is like, let alone VW golf.

• vios_fan on Jun 16, 2012 at 8:04 am

single turbo preve versus twin on 308T, what a comparison. preve smokes 2.0l cars? why not, even vios can tapau bmw!

• @vios_fan

No wonder people call vios a god car, always see alot of vios speeding on the street, like they are Keiichi Tsuchiya. If both BM and vios crashes, guess who will meet the creator 1st.

• klore on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:10 am

then read also what previans said about their cars, the so called initial lagging has gone after maintenance service

• If this is true, then it is a good sign. My main point is what are their engineers doing? What are the marketing doing? Have you heard of 1st impression is the most important? I have to say again, maybe my expectation is high, as I am putting high hope on the 205NM figure as claimed.

They should put “drive it [after maintenance] to believe it”

• @huat
      308T has twinscroll turbo engine but cfe has single, so no wonder has difference. again you drove a pre prod car, not prod one. just read what the owners said about the preve, mostly said it’s better performance after 1k service

• Black Dog on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:13 pm

I hope they’re not using some developer’s tactic who announced 90% booked, but actually many are available when requested!

Thumb me down???

• ”This is a very positive sign for us and further proof that Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products,” said Proton Holdings Berhad Executive Chairman, Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

I don’t know how he comes to that conclusion that Preve is a world class product.

People buy Preve mainly because of the price. We can only say Preve is a world class product if there is no more price protection for Proton, and everybody compete at the same price / performance.

Eg. If Civic, Peugeot 308Turbo, Altis, Selphy…etc. is at the similar price range as Preve, then only is a fair competition.

• all car now in malaysia are tax same eg 75% <1800cc incl proton…dont u know that?

• Absolutely agree. Proton has spent billions and after so many years finally they have come out with a so called global car that only able to sell well in Malaysia due to the huge price advantage. Even now I heard that they are adjusting the pedal to torque ratio on batch 2 to address the bad engine response complaint. Also, there seem to be some interior different between 1st batch and batch 2. What are the engineers doing? Pity to those early birds who got the batch 1.

Besides car, when are they going to improve the infamous QC standard and assembly quality?

Should they really proud of this? Stop cheating themselves and syok sendiri. Sorry I have to be straight forward. No offence to Proton supporter, but ask yourself, if Preve is priced at 100k – 110k, will you still buy?

• So how many of these 11K orders are by malaysians and how many in other countries. To be a world class products it should be accepted globally as well.

• even without tax, cannot get civic or forte cheaper than preve, check out maa site and do the math

• Tony Montana on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:17 pm

I pity those who bought Proton Preve. The engine sounds like an airplane.

• ss427 on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Actually that’s the sound coming out from the CVT… CVT boxes are known to emit high pitch whine at speed, more so when under load. And when when it can make so much noise when shifted in Reversea that it wakes your neighbor up in the night, its time to replace the CVT..

and the cycle continues after that

• taboogen on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:49 pm

either you are moron or just plain sarcastic,unable to differentiate car and airplane… hey if i have a car and the engine sound like airplane… i would be proud….

• While many people spend money to improve the NVH, this idiot proud to have airplane sound in his car.

• You are not driving a sports car or you want to show off to others you are driving a Preve?

• Shook on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Then i suggest you remove car bonnet of your Preve and put a loud hailer, that will sound as loud as airplane engine..What idiot want their car sounds like airplane…lol.

• tanke on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:14 am

big fan of big ekzos pipe huh

• Not as bad, you are exaggerating. From my test drive, it has improved if compare to Persona, but still a big gap compare to the foreign competitor.

• what gap? foreign competitors got turbocharged engine? in your dream

• tanke on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:17 am

bro I who have drive conti or us badge
        cars do not like it. If you shift from down up yes I think it seem better. If you go up to down
        – no thanks

• @lait

You are the one who is dreaming I guess.
        VW Polo? Pugeot 308T?

• that’s for how much? already more than 100k, like that i also can say other cars like jetta and 408

• brazbuz on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:39 pm

better to have sound like airplane outside so that person inside d car feel cool n comfortable isn’t it?

• mrkthxbai on Jun 14, 2012 at 3:19 pm

basher spotted

• alpha999 on Jun 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

i pity that you have listening and hearing problem

• Really? I like airplanes. I will go to the Proton dealer today to arrange a test drive ;)

• gesser on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:55 am

then something is going wrong with your ears, even some merc and bmw have loud engine sound

• P'Fanz on Jun 15, 2012 at 7:26 am

U know nothing about the car, about the engine…

• pak mon on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:36 am

airplane sound doesn’t it mean powerful? hehehe… sorry man, i don’t have any problem with that…enough with the ride comfort and pleasure of driving

• Saw a few on the road but somehow I do not think it looks good (persona looks better).

• I would prefer the exora bold over this with its price tag… Saw 1 on the road the other day and I really can’t accept the butt design

• Maserati on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Bookings only mah… 3/4 of those will hv their loan rejected as people who are buying this are ppl who are from the 50k category and trying to upgrade . Unfortunately they cant afford a preve!

Besides, with that kind of quality must as well look at japanese car..proton will forever be a piece of thrash!

• montana on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:29 pm

aiseh..takde harapan la proton nk buat rebate 6k mcm inspira..hahaha

• Now that Proton can survive on its own. Bloody G please take off AP system and lower the import tax la..

• Mohamad Zaim on Jun 14, 2012 at 2:50 pm

you guys should PROUD of Proton.. not to think negative.. if other people comment negative on ur work, how do you feel?? same as Proton work team.. plis, mind ur word..

• A student take 20 years to graduate with 2nd class, while others take only 5 years. Should he feel proud? But right now, we still don’t know if the student will graduate yet as from this news, Preve only proves to sell well in Malaysia only.

We need to improve and stop syok sendiri.

• zidane on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:30 am

bcoz it is yet to be sell in australia and indonesia…

lazy to read… ini la hasilnya…

• @ zidane

Lets see who is right and who is wrong.

• How do you feel when big chunk of your hard earned money goes to drain because of the same work team?

• I’m sorry but a company who tries to succeed at the expense of the Rakyat is NOTHING to be proud of. Proton was an UMNO project and even with DRB Hicom, it is still an UMNO project. I will not support anything done by that mad hatter. I will not buy a Proton, or eat his bread. End of story.

• Anand on Jun 14, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Black preve looks better than others cause it covers all the bad rear design..2days bck i saw a truck loading 2 gold color inspira with bodykit and new rim design…(but not the 2.0 E newly launched)..isit 2.0 manual trans?

• Peaceaim on Jun 14, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Tapi tak bole lawan MYVI, 10k only in one month. See this http://paultan.org/2011/12/08/maa-vehicle-sales-data-for-october-2011/

• Absolute Rider on Jun 14, 2012 at 6:16 pm

ya, tetapi Myvi prestasi tidak dapat lawan Preve.

• tanke on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:25 am

talk about speed preve vs myvi .. bro you better chk how effecient it stop from 140 to stand still
        in emergency case. you life depend on it.

• myvi how much? 72k? duhh
      more expensive cars of course lesser sold number
      watthe…

• better compare with saga bro, that’s myvi competitor

• ae101 on Jun 14, 2012 at 4:08 pm

saw few preve at my company car park. nothing look special from outside. through my exp, perdana and waja really can give comfort yet feel safe when driving at speed around 150. just wanted to know how’s the driving exp if compare to both.

• Victor on Jun 15, 2012 at 1:30 am

You’re not going to get a better driving or equipped car for below RM100k. Period. It makes the VW Polo look ridiculous.

• tanke on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:31 am

std myvi feel like it will abandon the road anytime soon – perdana ? who is your gearbox? ok ka

• it proved that still lots of stupid fellas out there… lol

• driver on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:03 pm

now that’s too much!!
      I don’t drive Preve, but that shows how insensitive and selfish of you to post that comment. I think you need to apologize.

take care~

• I like KFC on Jun 14, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Preve? Proton? How to be positive when all its past models were nothing but a big failure? Even the brand new Preve are loaded with issues and problems, just a check on google and you will see. Well, now all the hardcore supporter will be coming out and claim that “all cars will have issues even luxury cars like BMW and benz” but the problem is that, did they realize on the difference in Yield between Proton and other car manufacturers??

• checked google right now, just to find out that you are a liar

• Kalun on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:25 am

If there is problem,
      PROTON,
      Y U NO RECALL BACK ALL CARS?

Maybe the road safety minister is not that strict as in United States.

• bmpower on Jun 14, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Shiiit….
    All thought I like the news. But It’s damn really feel different now coz DSZ not around anymore. :(

I hate those taken credit by others hard work .

Gonna miss u cool and humble look DSZ

• sy8_j on Jun 14, 2012 at 5:06 pm

prob with malaysian mentality, when u drives a proton u can drive thru the pot holes and bumper, because u have this idea which is its ok what, sooner or later ‘rosak jugak’. But when malaysian drive imported brand cars, they will drive carefully and try to avoid driving thru pot holes and bumper. To me that’s the reason why malaysia made car got a lot of prob

• Partly correct, partly incorrect I would say. It is a chicken and egg theory, which come 1st. Is the Malaysian mentality got problem or is the Proton got problem in the 1st place.

• sy8_j on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:12 am

good argument, when u put it that way, to me if proton wanna eliminate coz having lousy parts, they should buy parts from manufacturer that is as good as honda and toyota, then after that we can gauge the durability of the car, if it is still the same, means the driving habit of malaysians, and even-though if the parts coming out from the same vendor and same quality, people will still say proton pick lousy parts, so i guess malaysian mentality and at the same time, proton’s predecessor fault as well for putting proton name in such manner

• tanke on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:40 am

the tax make the imported one expansive and local one seem cheap and m’sian who can’t afford will buy what they can only. who else but spin doc who create this vicious circle. Given any time with no tax – all will abandon Proton except the xxxxx one. I can bet no one here hols proton share. only proton car.

• sy8_j on Jun 15, 2012 at 5:33 pm

yup tax is just too high in malaysia, but again malaysian keep on buying more and more car, since there are demands, the gov would see it as even-though with high tax, malaysian still wanna buy lots of car, i think we should hold on to our car, and make sure that the industry cripple for a while until they push the gov to reduce the tax, same goes to car loan as well

• Kalun on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:23 am

True but not all of it.
      A real car goes onto a lot of potholes and suspension test. Until the suspension breaks.

I saw it in Top Gear USA. Every manufaturer has to undergoes that test. Maybe except Chinese cars. Cut cost mah!

• Jolly_idiot on Jun 14, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Malaysian like to buy junk. Even given choice of many in the range of RM72k

Hahahaha

Thumb me down!

• example?

• driver on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:05 pm

I’m interested in your comment especially on this:
      “Even given choice of many in the range of RM72k”

but it would make you more credible to also provide some examples to justify your claim.. difficult huh? hehe..

• pak mon on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:46 am

of coz i want to buy toyota at 72k but the only choice is vios SPEC J…so better i get preve CFE 1.6 PREMIUM CVT with that amount of money

• murah crap on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:40 pm

buruk.. barang murah :)

• Tok-kok on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:51 pm

If our Gomen were to remove the NAP and make it a fair fight between Proton and other brands.
    Will you go for Preve?

• zidane on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:23 am

yes…

sure i’ll get thumbs down for being honest, am i??

• tanke on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:44 am

spin doc

• Omega Red on Jun 16, 2012 at 10:30 pm

still ppl will go for proton…u know why?..if tax to be reduced for foreign makes, so does the the tax will go down on proton makes also..becoz gomen still implementing tax on proton also…so if u can get a 90k Toyota for say 70k, u will get a 72k preve at maybe 50k…i believe proton’s market price is determined by gomen…

• Another launching, another ” world class” car? But how come still mainly ” jaguh kampung” in Malaysia only?? Everytime, only the statement is ” world class”… And i can count with one hand how many Preves i saw since the launch

• that’s because you see too much ugly ugly cars like T, N and H until you are blind to see preve, lol

• topgun on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:11 pm

did anybody knows when the Inspira 2.0P facelift 2012 will be available..?

• c3lvin on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:36 pm

I’ve read from The Edge newspaper on 11th June, only 494 units were sold in April and 2,699 units in May. Proton has a booking of 4,000 units as at beginning of May and hit 10,000 units as at 6th June. Interestingly, Proton’s plant has a capacity of 5,000 units per month but delivered 2,699 units only in May. Hence, personally I am thinking no. of bookings in its initial 3 months is too early to say anything..

• Seriously I dont understand the appeal of Preve. It is such an ugly car no matter which angle you look at. Why cant proton produce something closer to their concept car design? Quality needless to say…you get what you pay for…hence proton can afford to sell it cheaper and then bla bla we made a global car cheaper than other manufacturer. Well the spare parts are cheaper but you will have to service most of the time. If proton continue to make shit design, they will never be achieve the global status. Proton will never improve unless they change their mindset…the management nid to listen to customer feedback..

• gesser on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:51 am

preve look is better than aging civic, civic is like an ah beng’s car while preve already has conti touch

• mikey on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:47 pm

“With more than 10,000 Prevé booked to date, and with the numbers increasing every day, it has quickly established itself as the consumer’s preferred choice of compact sedan. This is a very positive sign for us and further proof that Proton can engineer and manufacture world class products,” said Proton Holdings Berhad Executive Chairman, Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

How come local sales performance is taken to show that it is a world class car? Jaguh kampung is not the same as juara dunia!

It is a global car when you can sell in Europe, US, Australia.

Although it is good and a success for the car, such statements about “world class” is 100% shiok sendiri.

You win gold medal in SUKMA doesn’t mean you can win Olympic!

• u all just pandai kutuk aje . today i open paultan website and show dashboard pic of preve to my sg coll. He was asking thats a good looking design.Then i tell him its a proton.On the way back saw an exora park by the roadside , i tell him its an exora and he looked few times at it. I say its not really very good looking but its a 1.6 turbo. He say proton got turbo engine d? wow….at that point i feel proud we can manufacture cars… i tested exora before , its no F1 car but for that price and space , its a good buy already , ugly? there are uglier european car out there…

• Kalun on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:18 am

Chinese car looks ugly.

I don’t really like Renault’s car. It got no taste. Yuck! Whenever I think of Renault, i think of Truck!

Korean car are ugly too. “Back then before Peter came”

Toyota has no taste too. Most of buyers are brainwash by aftersales services.

• matlimmutu on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:24 pm

good job proton. all the best!!! my wife own a saga fl for several years now, good car indeed, no problem at all. really value for money!!!

• DArkerMarker on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:28 pm

booking doesnt mean anything……Nothing solid. Some even book with “air liur”…..

Ownership is better indication.
    Satisfied ownership is even better indication
    Repeated ownership is good….

So, Proton…dare to publish such figures?

• Yes, especially with the tighter bank loan requirement, loan is much harder to get. A lot of people don’t even know what is the pain of taking a 9 years loan.

I also wonder why I didn’t see much Preve yet on the road, hmm.. (Penang)

• Jimmy on Jun 14, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Limited budget? Don’t buy Preve.
    Wait for the upcoming Nissan SUNNY.
    Sunny is going to be nearly as cheap as Preve.
    Don’t put your downpayment on Vios J as well, wait ya.

• Kalun on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:08 am

I’m not sure about this car.
    It looks beautiful in showrooms and in picture. Don’t get me wrong. I do like it.

A few week back, I saw a tall car with some ugly sides. (That time, that car is at an opposite road and only can see half of it, only the roof and the doors.)

When i look at the back mirror, it’s a preve. On the road, doesn’t look appealing but when parking yes.

It looks tall! Looks awkward on the road.

• Agree. The rear is over-designed IMHO, too tall and huge. Maybe look nice in the 1st look, but don’t last long. Proton built it so tall maybe because they know Malaysian road has alot of high humps and holes.

• matlimmutu on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:01 am

this johnson guy promotes racism. 2012 already, please grow up.

• Calling It as It is on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:30 am

All you Proton lovers would drop it like its hot and go for an imported model if it was not for the loopsided pricing and heavy taxes.

Cooing uhhs and ahhhsss just because the price is the cheapest?

Whats the point of buying cheap? Penny wise pound foolish.

• Gurmit on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm

that 10k figures are audited or self-created?

• lenchikang on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Nice to see Preve at night with LED and foglight.

• mikey on Jun 15, 2012 at 5:05 pm

I think people should stop calling it cheap. It is cheap because our gov makes all the other cars expensive. Check how much cars are selling in Langkawi.

All cars are taxed 100% in the form of excise duty.
    Local cars are given 50% rebate by the gov including the “badge-engineered” so called local cars.

Currently our gov provides protection for this “world class car”. Is this needed if truly world class?

Lin Dan comes to Malaysia to play with LCW need to give him extra 5 points advantage so that he can compete better with LCW?

If it is truly world class. It will do well in Europe, Australia, USA, etc. A world class cars sells more cars overseas than home country. Eg. Corolla, Elantra etc

Car that sell more locally than overseas = Jaguh Kampung

• Malay on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:59 pm

In Korea all Korean
    In Japan all Japanese
    In China all Chinese
    In Malaysia got Malay from Tanah Melayu (KTM), Chinese from China and Indian From India,
    The only 100% loyal to country only Malay… no other place to go. The rest dont care much about Melayu and Malaysia…
    Their soul and mind partly still with original land.
    They dont care much… yang penting cari makan.
    Tak dapat Melayu salah, UMNO salah.

Semua harta dia nak bolot..

• Malay on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:14 pm

MIkey is another trouble and sick person.

Are you is a world class citizen?. Talking nonsense.

Talk aloud, what is your contribution…. you talk like a Jewish whose received a Honorable peace medal from Barak Obama (twisted hand)

• My mum’s and dad’s future cars.

• Let your parent go n see the new elantra. Then let them decide which one is their new future car.

• Sports Toto on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:05 am

Let your parent go n see the new 3 series. Then let them decide which one is their new future car.

• Of the 10000 bookings, how many have complaints? Proton, can you provide us with a stats of customer satisfactions?

• BabaNyonyaMalacca on Jun 16, 2012 at 8:48 am

After i have gone through all the comments here, my first respond is, pls do not put polictic, races comment to this thread. No matter you are chinese indian malay, we are Malaysian, stand united if you love this country.

Of course rich ppl will not go for those valueble car like Preve. If you are rich enough like what you ppl did mention about why the son of Mahathir do not buy and try, you will definately go for the better car based on your capability to support. If Malaysian keep condenm a Local car like Proton, how do they need to go beyond a step.

ps: Most of the Chinese like to give negatives comments, actually is good to have cause can improve.

I myself already bought and i will get within this few days.

• David on Jun 17, 2012 at 2:03 am

If the son does not support his dad’s creation, why do the rakyat need to support his dad’s creation?

• monet on Jun 17, 2012 at 11:40 pm

am very pity on you, my advise is work harder, don’t ride bicycle like your father did for his entire life just to show your blind support for him

• monet father on Jun 18, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Monet, if not for your father, you will not exist. Pity you that you cannot show some gratitude to your father. You should be called monyet.

• monet on Jun 18, 2012 at 7:08 pm

monyet? what is that? your real name?
        no thanks, it’s suitable for you

• Sean ZX-10 on Jun 18, 2012 at 9:25 am

The thing for the immature BabaNyonyaMalacca to apprehend is…we don’t like the fact most of big companies in Malaysia mix politician with business where politicians make all the decisions. U dont have to like it but we need to comment on this evrytime so tht 1 Malaysia knows what should be done.

• Herman Low on Jun 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm

By end Jun, total sales might exceed Rm1B,that can already cover R&D costs.Looks like Preve can repeat Waja 00 sales ifnot exceed.

• hi, i just bought executive cvt just yesterday got car. And i found that the engine is quite noisy when i accelerate the car. It’s that normal or is there a problem with the engine? i test drive with the premium one have no sounds like this. So i need to bring the car back to service centre or no need? thanks.

• goo luck……let us know how they fixed it…..ha.ha…they will tell you off.

• There are 2 possibilities for this scenario:
      A) They will tell you this is normal for proton because they don’t know how to fix.
      B) They will tell you that you bought the wrong car and ask you to sell the car and buy other brands.

• now Proton, 200++hp of Preve Sapphire should be in line already! dont let us Malaysian wait any longer, surprise us will ya?

• Thank you for supporting the car i will never buy.

• Son of DrM on Jun 17, 2012 at 1:37 am

Only suckers buy this car.

• Daughter of DrM on Jun 17, 2012 at 1:39 am

So cute for Ah Bengs.

• Say Tak Nak to P1 if you don’t want to go to proton service center.

• seems normal to me, even giant auto makers like toyota and honda got massive recalls

• Alamak on Jun 17, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Wake up Malaysians, proton is trying to con you all, they use the tax to make the imported one looks expansive and local one seems cheap. If the car is so good, why are there so many selling at oto.my? This is simply because they can’t wait to get rid of the car after buying it. Good for proton, pity the rakyat.

• Singaporean on Jun 17, 2012 at 2:00 pm

If Malaysians like to buy junk, let them be.

• Kambing Kampung on Jun 17, 2012 at 3:03 pm

World class car should have worldwide sales performance, not local sales performance. Proton, stop trying to con the rakyat!

• Arabs on Jun 17, 2012 at 3:33 pm

We rather have camel than proton’s car.

• why so butthurt? kena smoked by preve ? lol

• Arabs on Jun 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm

In Abu Dhabi, we have lambos and ferraris. Even camels can smoke preve.

• sure, camel can smoke even ferrari and lambo when they run out of petrol, lol

• Enginehead on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:27 am

The design of the car is good. The engine is outdated.(Campro)They should source or design ( remember they have Lotus), I hope they are ( mat sallehs) not sleeping over there too. Come up with engine using timing chain and variable valve timing(VVT) and if possible dual clutch automatic(DSG). Then only the dream to be a world beater is nearer.We the car buyers are well informed in age of IT. We know what you are putting inside the bonnet, brother.

• now cfe lah, turbocharged summore

• Hilmi on Jun 18, 2012 at 1:55 pm

i repeat my answer at the top : Campro CFE got VVT already.

• petrolhead on Jun 18, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Yes, Campro CFE got VVT(Very Very Tired) alraedy because it is still using timing belt lol.

• like proton only using it, lol

• very very tired is special tech in jap cars that give more tired nesss and crappy handling at high speed cruiing

• toyol on Jun 18, 2012 at 5:01 pm

dah test preve mgu lepas…kecewa sgt bila tgk dari dekat…selama ni aku rasa keta ni top list aku..tp bila test…x beza dgn proton sebelum ni…jalan x rata je rs gegar…cmne proton buat ride n handling ni…huhu..pastu sale person lak x brp tau pasal keta..klau x tny ..xde di terangkan..klu di tny 10patah 1 je leh pkai…yg lain ikut sdp dan rasa logik akal..hehehe…yg dia tau set gps je..
    interior very bad..the surface patern look like exora..huh..very hard touch at dashboard…
    the engine ok..but from 0-20km/h need to press more..overall engine ok la….drp tak de..baik ada..xde rotan akar pun jadi la….

• Azrigon on Jun 19, 2012 at 2:00 am

Hahahah…so many automotive expert. WTH? For those haters with nonsense,talking shit about Preve,Proton etc….are u guys well worth to be recognize for your comment???….most heaters that I personnelly met, drive outdated japs, continental and american cars not because of the good quality of the cars. It is rather to ” jaga air muke”. When I ask, ” eh! Your exhaust is like serombong kilang la, go repair la” or “apa bunyi ngek-ngok2.. Ni”… they always said, “better then pakai proton ape?” What the heck? Cakap je la takde budget! Hahahaha….If u guys really rich, just bought ur self imported car and not to condempt local cars. Ingat buat kereta mcm buat lempeng ke? Kalau tak kaya sgt, jgn berlagak kat sini la. Bos aku yg kaya raya tu pon masih ade bli Proton. Hahaha

• Pariz on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:37 am

Secara overallnya semuanya ok saja.tapi bab finishing tidak memuaskan.Tak kemas.Harap proton kena improve menjadi lebih elegant.

• Resha on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:26 am

i cant understand why some people won’t stop bashing proton buyers. if u hate the car so much, hate it. people buy proton either cause they like it or in most of the case, it is the most affordable car out there. not everyone has the financial capability to buy imported cars. you guys say civic is better, altis is better.. but knw this, not EVERYONE can afford these cars. so hate proton all you want, but dont go around insulting proton buyers.

• Singaporean on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Ha ha, typical Malaysian supporting junk, love the company even it con them. The buyer will say it is cheap even though it is expansive but as they say, “willing buyer, willing seller.” Proton, after 20 years, still want to con the rakyat? Haizz

• Resha on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:05 pm

it’s not about supporting here, but more about having no choice? the point is, not all proton buyers are idiots, instead there is no choice for not all people are rich. if proton cars are all one can afford, what’s wrong with it? that’s why i said hate proton all you want, but the buyers are somewhat innocent in this.

• lapers on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:53 pm

we don’t need such comment here, if you are singaporean just get lost with your hatred and envy.

• rosdi on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:11 am

At least we can afford to buy cars. Can you even afford to bid for the COE? Kah kah kah…

• Spiderman on Jun 20, 2012 at 5:00 am

Resha, we always have a choice in what ever we do. It’s never too late to do the right thing. It’s just whether we dare to take the initiative to change or not. In this case, if we stop buying proton, they will close shop one day, then we will be free from this NAP crap that suppress the rakyat and gain access to a better and more affordable choice of vehicles. Right now, it seems that we are’forced’ to buy the ‘cheap’ and ‘superior’ proton. If we continue supporting them, what they produce is more crap and people will again complain why they can’t afford a better car at a lower price. Don’t we Malaysian have enough of this? If we unite as 1Malaysia, we can break the cycle and change the situation. It’s time to change for a better future and the time is now.

• Voice of Malaysia on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Proton buyers are the best. Thank you for supporting the company that con us Malaysians. If you think that is not true, see how much proton is selling in the uk and compare it here. What is the quality we are getting and how much we are paying. Do we need to support their product if what they produce is crap? Proton buyers just support without thinking. Think before you buy proton.

Think, not just in terms of being a consumer, but as a whole system. If we abolish NAP, we can attract more car manufacturers to our land and advance our automotive industry to the next level like Thailand. As a consumer, we get better quality cars at a cheaper price. But if we cannot step out of our narrow mindset, we’ll just continue what we have being doing for 20 years i.e. giving money to cronies that benefit from NAP. The rakyat suffer because of 1 man’s idea for our own national car. There is nothing wrong about having our national car, but not at the expanse of the rakyat.

Think, why are there so many complaints about proton? This is the voice of Malaysia. G, listen to the voice if you care about the rakyat but i guess not. G is more interested in their money than the benefits of the rakyat. If you think some people have no money to buy other cars, ask what is the cause. If you found that the cause is proton, you will not support them any more because they are the cause that our cars are not affordable. If we unite as 1Malaysia and stop buying proton, our children will have a brighter future.

• Resha on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:10 pm

but if one needs a car but can only afford to buy a proton, do you mean that he/she shouldnt do so because it will becoming supporting proton instead?
      once perodua gets into sedans i think the problem will be solved though. many people buy proton because it is the cheapest sedan in the market, dont ya think

• cars are still expensive if proton extincts due to tax, even proton has to pay quite high tax to gov

• Am looking at Preve only because other makes of car is beyond my financial need. Otherwise would have prefer Honda Civic or Toyota Vios. He, he, but better than using an old car I suppose.

• Andy R on Mar 05, 2013 at 2:00 pm

why the LED’s does not bright as the other cars.. like Audi, Kia or Volkswagen.. they are totally bright than p.preve?? .. ==